Wasim Akram's Pakistan World Cup squad

Hafeez is a far batter batsman than Asif. All Aamir, Shinwari, and Junaid are better than Hasnain.

Wasim dropped the wrong senior. Drop Malik not Hafeez. Ideally we should move on from both but Hafeez at least could have utility batting at 6 and as an extra spinner.

Also Amir's 50 over form has been woeful since CT17. Don't think I need to comment on Umar Akmal's inclusion.

I like this squad, particularly good to see two six hitting batsmen UA and Asif are there. Overall an average team but the best available.

Hafeez should be our 3rd choice after Babar and Fakhar. One doesn't simply drop Professor Sahab

Wasim dropped the wrong senior. Drop Malik not Hafeez. Ideally we should move on from both but Hafeez at least could have utility batting at 6 and as an extra spinner.

Also Amir's 50 over form has been woeful since CT17. Don't think I need to comment on Umar Akmal's inclusion.

He dropped hafeez because he thinks that he will not be match fit returning from an injury or not available due to injury

Interesting choice.. picking umer akmal over Hafeez and Hasnain over shinwari..

I think those two will be the difference in the actual squad

Hafeez is 40+. He might take longer than expected to recover from his injury and start playing. So that is why i think wasim doesn't have him in the squad.

Old, +40, unfit and many fast bowler's bunny, Hafeez is excluded for a reason.

In that case I would go with Rizwan over umer akmal. Yaar umer akmal .. seriously? Waz seems to have his own personal favorites here. No compromise on discipline and fitness. What sort of message are you sending those who worked hard to perform like abid and Rizwan?

I would pick my grandmother over Umar Akmal and she passed away almost 15 years ago.

I don't understand why people don't want UA in the team.
I know he isn't the best but he is definitely better than Asif Ali. Tomorrow 100 confirmed from umar akmal.

I don't understand why people don't want UA in the team.
I know he isn't the best but he is definitely better than Asif Ali. Tomorrow 100 confirmed from umar akmal.

You have to have played cricket in a team to understand that. If you show up on time for practice and matches and abide my team rules all the time, yet another player who does exactly the opposite and yet gets picked over you, how would you feel?

Those who have not played team sports at even amateur level will find this hard to digest but looking flashy and being talented is no good to the team if you don’t do the little things expected of you as part of the team.

So Its a combination of his indisciplined habits, bad fitness and always underperforming when it matters most that puts off some of us.

Of course everybody has their favorites and if you like him, you like him, but I also hope you understand why some of us don’t!

Like Was’s squad, and like the bowling picks. I’ll make just 2 changes from that - MoHa for Mian & another pacer (Rauf/Shinwari) for Asif. So many games will stress pace bowling arsenal.

Dont see how one can pick malik and akmal for WC, one is passed his prime and other is useless.Looks like waseem doesn't rate shinwari and junaid.

Dude can’t seen to look past Amir although he knows Amir has lot that ability to bring the ball in. Everything else is just favoritism.

I would personally pick Hasnain and then shinwari over amir.

We will need 1 of Umar Akmal or Asif Ali . I don't know how many other options there are but someone who can hit boundaries and bat at 6 is needed.

Can't have too many similar type of players.

We don't need either. If we score 270-280 in every game, we will be in the semi-finals with games to spare.

I'm sure Maxwell,Finch,Rohit,Roy,Bairstow,Warner,Guptill, Lewis,and Gayle are crapping their pants at chasing 280.

You have to have played cricket in a team to understand that. If you show up on time for practice and matches and abide my team rules all the time, yet another player who does exactly the opposite and yet gets picked over you, how would you feel?

Those who have not played team sports at even amateur level will find this hard to digest but looking flashy and being talented is no good to the team if you don’t do the little things expected of you as part of the team.

So Its a combination of his indisciplined habits, bad fitness and always underperforming when it matters most that puts off some of us.

Of course everybody has their favorites and if you like him, you like him, but I also hope you understand why some of us don’t!

Yeah but you sometimes need to look past these small things at the end of the day UA is a better batsman than Asif and should be chosen over him. Asif is no good.

I'm sure Maxwell,Finch,Rohit,Roy,Bairstow,Warner,Guptill, Lewis,and Gayle are crapping their pants at chasing 280.

We don't have a good spinner, had we gone with 1-2 genuine spinners and if our fast bowlers were at their best, than 280 runs would have been enough against most opponents.

Yes you will need a good spinner as well . But I don't think 280 will be enough against most teams. If the pitches are flat , 330 will be minimum.

Yeah but you sometimes need to look past these small things at the end of the day UA is a better batsman than Asif and should be chosen over him. Asif is no good.
Just the fact you called them “small things” tell me your frame of mind.
In a professional and fair and honest setup, those are NOT small things, my friend. And your opinion is biased because you favor UA, whereas there is no solid stats based empirical evidence to prove so. He has played for so long and the others have not, hard to say if he is truly better or is it just lack of data on the other options.

Its not a very well educated conclusion I am afraid and I think Waz is doing the same thing as you are. Its just personal favoritism or opinion at play here, nothing more.

Bit of an X factor in this squad.

But Umar Akmal at this World Cup, I can't see it happening.

How much did these guys score against the Pakistani bowling attack in 2017?

No Hafeez? Tabiyat theek hai Wasim bhai?

As much as all of us want to think we will do great without Hafeez it's important to understand his importance to the team. He balances the team perfectly as is a more than capable number 4/5 batsman. I would infact take it further and say he is a match winner.
Yes it hurts my ego as a Pakistani cricket fan to say a 39 year old is crucial for our team but it's simply facts and we are gonna have to deal with it.

How much did these guys score against the Pakistani bowling attack in 2017?

We are in 2019 now. Australian batters and New Zealand batters didn't play against Pakistan in the CT but they did beat them black and blue in NZ and Australia did in the UAE

Junaid Khan should be there. I have a soft spot for his bowling!

Poor squad .

Asif Ali is very inconsistent.

Umar Akmal is finished.

No second WK

Thats why u need asif, when you say that akmal is finished, then you need to draft in asif even though he is inconsistent.You need some power players, packing side with rizwan,malik and harris won't do any good.

Asif Ali has been very disappointing in his 30 or so LOI's. To add, he averages 26 in List A

A power hitter needs to know how to bat as well, not just have 'power' to hit 1-2 sixes every few games

We are in 2019 now. Australian batters and New Zealand batters didn't play against Pakistan in the CT but they did beat them black and blue in NZ and Australia did in the UAE

Where is the World Cup taking place?

Hafeez will take Akmals place & Shinwari will come in for Hasnain that will be the final squad

Whats wasim Akrams obsession with Shoaib Malik? Just replace shoaib malik with Hafeez and thats the best team they can take. Also I would replace Mohammed Hasnain with M Rizwan.. 4 fast bowlers are enough because 1 of them will warm the bench anyways.

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
haris sohail
hafeez
sarfaraz
shadab
faheem
imad/ shaheen
hasan
Amir

Rizwan
umar akmal
Asif ali
Abid Ali

He should play the 5 ODIs against Eng with his remodelled action and then in WC bowl like he used (with right angle bend if he has to) and then retire at the end so he can't get tested, will also ensure he goes out on a high.

Yup, thats why he hasnt bowled to much in our previous games, cant afford him getting banned again.

Asif Ali has been very disappointing in his 30 or so LOI's. To add, he averages 26 in List A

A power hitter needs to know how to bat as well, not just have 'power' to hit 1-2 sixes every few games

Who says that he hasn't been poor? the problem is beggars can't be choosers, he's the best we have so he needs to be in the squad, especially when our batters like Imam,Harris,Rizwan,Malik like to play selfish slow innings.

Where is the World Cup taking place?

That's a ridiculous argument.

There have been many tournaments held in England before that Pakistan failed to win.

And they have won too like in 92 and CT 17.

But assuming that just because its in England so 270-280 is enough every time will leave you in for a rude shock in one of the knockout games.

That's a ridiculous argument.

There have been many tournaments held in England before that Pakistan failed to win.

And they have won too like in 92 and CT 17.

But assuming that just because its in England so 270-280 is enough every time will leave you in for a rude shock in one of the knockout games.

270 will not be enough for every game but if the batsmen can put that much on the board consistently, we will most probably make the semi-finals. People are grossly overestimating the par score during the world cup and underestimating Pakistan's bowling attack.

Pakistan plays better in England - everyone knows this and so, it is not unreasonable to expect that the bowling can reach top form like they did two years ago.

270 will not be enough for every game but if the batsmen can put that much on the board consistently, we will most probably make the semi-finals. People are grossly overestimating the par score during the world cup and underestimating Pakistan's bowling attack.

Pakistan plays better in England - everyone knows this and so, it is not unreasonable to expect that the bowling can reach top form like they did two years ago.

If our target is semi finals it's in the bag already.

I was thinking more about winning the Trophy.

Enough or not enough, if we can score that many runs every time, than regardless of the result of the match its an improvement in Pak team.

Then we have improved already as we hit 270 plus 4 times out of 5 in UAE with our second string team.

Who says that he hasn't been poor? the problem is beggars can't be choosers, he's the best we have so he needs to be in the squad, especially when our batters like Imam,Harris,Rizwan,Malik like to play selfish slow innings.

how is he the best we have - he has been awful other than a couple of PSL matches. I would rather have one Anwar Ali as the pinch hitter

And nothing wrong with going with someone like Harris / Rizwan / Malik - atleast they can bat more than 15 balls in an international game. Best case scenario with Asif Ali is something like 12 (14)

I am sure this guy doesn't even know the names of Saud Shakeel,Kashif Bhatti,Sadaf Hussain and he's tellings us his WC squad lol. People like him,Ramiz and Imran khan think of themselves as Godfathers of Pakistan cricket when the fact is they don't know anything

Where is Sir [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] ? I want to know his opinion too on this squad of Wasim Akram. If, possible then Sir plz put ur team that u think might compete.

This is the best possible "realistic" squad at this point. but I would swap Asif for Hafeez.

As far as my team is concerned, I don't believe that there is a group of 15 players in the country who are good enough to win the World Cup unless plenty of things go their way like in the Champions Trophy two years back. However, I would have preferred a specialist spinner instead of Shadab who serves no purpose except for overacting in the field.

My squad, although its not going to be the one announced in coming week, not even close.

Fakhar
Imam
Abid Ali
Babar
Asif
Iftikhar
Umar Akaml
Sarfraz
Imad
Shadab
Hasan
Afridi
Amir
Husnain
Wahab

So the man talks about not being able to compete if you’ve got players eating biryanis yet goes on to have Umar Akmal in his team who is clearly unfit. :facepalm:

Can't take both Umar and Asif. Both are equally pathetic so the choice shouldn't be difficult.

Replace one of the above with Hafeez and that's a solid squad.

My question for Sir [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]. Sir, whats ur take on Umar Akmal as a cricketer ? I mean he has got talent , can score fast, hit big sixes. What is the problem with him ? He started his career in 2009 and Kohli in 2008 and was more talented than him. But is it just the dedication that he lacks or is it the disciplinary issue with him or both? Another question is that whether he should be in the playing 11 for the world cup ? Although he hasnt been even called in that group of 23 players for fitness test but u said that he might be in the team if Md. Hafeez or any other batsman is injured.. Final question, who is better Asif Ali or Umar Akmal according to u and why ?

Sir [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] . I see many ppl wanting Md. HAFEEZ and Malik to be removed from WC squad. Whats ur view ? And how do u rate them as players ?

Okay pretty standard squad and the only surprise being Hasnain. Not sure about Asif Ali. Does not seem to be a ODI player for me. Good for T20s.

Sir [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] . I see many ppl wanting Md. HAFEEZ and Malik to be removed from WC squad. Whats ur view ? And how do u rate them as players ?

They are both average/above average players, but they play important roles for this team. People have been keen to see the back of both for a long time, but as we have seen, we are not exactly blessed with world class middle-order batsmen.

Pakistan's biggest problem is Sarfaraz himself and also Asif, who is simply not cut for international cricket.

Hafeez is a fairly consistent scorer with the ability to score quickly against both pace and spin. The problem with him is he lacks confidence at times and goes into his shell in order to protect his wicket. However, when he bats with purpose and with a clear head, he is capable of doing very well.

I would like to see him take over the Asif role at number 6 and go for the kill from ball one. If he can average around 30-35 at a SR of 100+, he will really help the team.

As far as Malik is concerned, it is no secret that he struggles against pace. However, he is still efficient against spin and I feel that we will need him in the middle-overs against the likes of Kuldeep, Chahal, Rashid, Zampa etc. He rotates the strike well and can also attack them.

If the likes of Fakhar, Imam and Babar fire, Malik will not have much of a role to play. Unlike Hafeez, he cannot come out and immediately make an impact in the last 15-20 overs. However, if Pakistan repeatedly finds itself 2-3 down in the first 10-15 overs, he will have to do hold the innings together like he did the Asia Cup.

The problem for the team management at the moment is that the performance of Haris and Rizwan against Australia have made it very difficult to ignore them. Pakistan cannot accommodate Malik, Hafeez, Rizwan, Haris and Sarfaraz in the same team. Since Sarfaraz is a certainty, I believe that they will go with one experienced (Hafeez or Malik) and one inexperienced (Haris or Rizwan) option.

If someone like Hafeez fails the fitness test, it will make their jobs very easy and solve the conundrum.

They are both average/above average players, but they play important roles for this team. People have been keen to see the back of both for a long time, but as we have seen, we are not exactly blessed with world class middle-order batsmen.

Pakistan's biggest problem is Sarfaraz himself and also Asif, who is simply not cut for international cricket.

Hafeez is a fairly consistent scorer with the ability to score quickly against both pace and spin. The problem with him is he lacks confidence at times and goes into his shell in order to protect his wicket. However, when he bats with purpose and with a clear head, he is capable of doing very well.

I would like to see him take over the Asif role at number 6 and go for the kill from ball one. If he can average around 30-35 at a SR of 100+, he will really help the team.

As far as Malik is concerned, it is no secret that he struggles against pace. However, he is still efficient against spin and I feel that we will need him in the middle-overs against the likes of Kuldeep, Chahal, Rashid, Zampa etc. He rotates the strike well and can also attack them.

If the likes of Fakhar, Imam and Babar fire, Malik will not have much of a role to play. Unlike Hafeez, he cannot come out and immediately make an impact in the last 15-20 overs. However, if Pakistan repeatedly finds itself 2-3 down in the first 10-15 overs, he will have to do hold the innings together like he did the Asia Cup.

The problem for the team management at the moment is that the performance of Haris and Rizwan against Australia have made it very difficult to ignore them. Pakistan cannot accommodate Malik, Hafeez, Rizwan, Haris and Sarfaraz in the same team. Since Sarfaraz is a certainty, I believe that they will go with one experienced (Hafeez or Malik) and one inexperienced (Haris or Rizwan) option.

If someone like Hafeez fails the fitness test, it will make their jobs very easy and solve the conundrum.

Interesting analysis.

For me, if I were to choose between Hafeez and Malik, I would go with Hafeez. 1.) His form recently has been good and 2.) He can score quickly of both pace and spin like you said. Secondly, I think when he comes after say the 30 over mark, his batting is very different to when he bats in the first 30 overs . . so he needs to bat at number 5 as far as I am concerned . .

Now coming to the second conundrum . . Malik vs. Haris? I would go with Haris again for 2 reasons 1.) His ability to play pace is definitely better than Malik and 2.) He breaks the sequence of right handers that we have after Imam at the top of the order . . and obviously the form has been decent . .

Where does that leave Malik? Unfortuantely, you can't have so many of the same players in the team . . It will take a tough captain (and decision makers) to put Shoaib on the bench . . I do think Shoaib can have a role to play in the world cup, epecially if 1.) pitches start turning a bit towards the second half of the tournament and slower bowlers start coming more into play and 2.) For teams like India, I think Malik is a good option because of the reliance on spinners in the middle overs . . (so may have to adopt a horses for courses method) . .

Rizwan to me is not an option . .

I have said it before and will say it again . . Pakistans biggest ODI problem is numbers 6, 7 and 8! And it manifest itself in all its glory in the recently concluded series against Aus. If we had half a competent lower order, we would have won at least 3 games. And that problem will remain in this world cup too because people like Shadab and Faheem are useless!

So basically, if Pakistan has any chance of doing well in teh world cup . . you need your top 3 to be doing most of the work and Hafeez and Imad having a good tournament with the bat in the last 15 overs!