"We are here to beat them, We are here to play good cricket, We are here to fight" : Imad Wasim

jeetu

PPCL Hall of Famer
"We are here to beat them, We are here to play good cricket, We are here to fight" : Imad Wasim

Pakistan sniff ODI series win over Aussies

http://wwos.nine.com.au/2017/01/17/15/32/pakistan-sniff-odi-series-win-over-aussies

Pakistan insist their lowly ODI ranking isn't a fair reflection of their true talent as they attempt to notch a rare series victory in Australia.

The five-match ODI series between top-ranked Australia and No.8 Pakistan is locked at 1-1, heading into Thursday's clash at the WACA Ground.

Pakistan, who are even ranked below minnows Bangladesh in the ODI standings, are riding a wave of confidence following their six-wicket victory at the MCG on Sunday.

It was their first victory in any format against Australia in Australia since 2005, ending a 16-match losing run.

Pakistan spinner Imad Wasim says his team are full of belief they can pull off a series win.

"I personally believed before coming to this tour that we could beat any team in the world in shorter formats, because our team combination is very good," Wasim said.

"Number eight in the world ... that's the ranking, but our side is better than that.

"If you don't believe you can beat any opposition, there's no point coming here.

"We are here to beat them. We are here to play good cricket. We are here to fight."

Wasim has been a key contributor for Pakistan this series, returning figures of 2-35 and 2-37.

He said the absence of Australian stars Mitchell Starc (rested) and Mitch Marsh (shoulder) at the WACA would be a big boost for his team.

"Starc is a world-class bowler and Mitchell Marsh is a great allrounder," Wasim said.

"Marsh has been a match winner for Australia, and Starc as we all know is the best bowler in the world in all formats.

"It's a good thing for us.

"But Australia have good back-up bowlers, and I think they're going to come hard at us, and we're going to be ready for it."

Imad has been the stand out with the ball for Pakistan for mine. The quicks have done a great job up front but the spinners have been brilliant. The series is nicely poised now.

Imad is right but he should really be looking to get rid of the excess fat that he has gained.

Imad has been the stand out with the ball for Pakistan for mine. The quicks have done a great job up front but the spinners have been brilliant. The series is nicely poised now.

If we keep dismissing them for 220 every time, I am happy to predict a series win. but the batsmen need to stand up in one of these matches.
Its good that Imad feels confident - I hope they feel the same internally as well.

I like this guy, I was his biggest critic during the PSL, but he's turned it around quite a bit.. he's been our best bowler and spinner for a while now in ODIs, and his performances in England were exceptional with the Bat

InshaAllah we r scoring 330 at the waca with sharjeel and babar doing the scoring.
show the aussies how its done.
need to put hazelwoods new ball partner under the cosh

This is a balanced statement and one to boost the team confidence, hope he will not be carried away with statements and will continue to prove in the field what he is saying.

Why our players talk to much instead of performing continuously.

Just zip it and play cricket, these guys never learn.

Win series and than you can waffle all you like.

Why do these players start talking big after 1 win? We saw the same after 1st test against australia too.

Bhai aek match kya jeet liyay asmaan pe orna shoro kardiya..

Neechay ajao Maddy warna Aussies apko khud hi neechay leh aingaye aglay match mein.

"I personally believed before coming to this tour that we could beat any team in the world in shorter formats, because our team combination is very good," Wasim said.

Except for this statement (which was unnecessary), he made good points.

Like his attitude and confidence.

Love his line and length.

Pakistan needs more players like this guy (attitude wise).

This lad's attitude is great.

Just needs to keep his feet on the ground and maintain his cricketing focus and he could be a very consistent performer for Pakistan in the years to come.

Too many people complaining about Imad's answers but when you are asked what probably are blatantly leading questions, what are you gonna do?

Media loves asking questions like "DO you think you can win the series now?"

No one is going to be dumb enough to say "Sorry bro. Can't win. I mean we can but I am not sure. It's just one game bro."

You show confidence because the opposition is watching and if they sniff blood, they will pounce on you.

Pakistani players (Shehzad, Umar) are a rich source of facepalm-worthy quotes but Wasim did not answer anything wrong here. The media needs to watch it's line of questioning and actually be responsible journalists for a change.

Has put in his worst performance in a Pakistani shirt, for a while after making this kind of statement.. that's what happens when you are a bit too overconfident, went nowhere with the bat and is shambolic with the ball

So we are finding it strange that a Pakistan player expressed his desire to fight?

LOL @ people criticizing him for the statement.

"We are here to surrender , mauled and completely owned " would have gone well with these guys.

So we are finding it strange that a Pakistan player expressed his desire to fight?

I would've agreed with that assessment if he makes half-dives making misfields of his own bowling, the lad can hardly make a dive when its required from him..

His batting was just a few cross-batted hoicks, that only killed the momentum,

His bowling has been his real asset but even that let us down too..

I dunno when we get to criticize these 'allrounders', because when they underperform with the ball, but they usually compensate for it with the bat.. or vice versa,

but what can you say when the player is poor in all 3 components of his cricket? You still can't criticize him then?

Imad Wasim said something which he felt from his heart. Pakistan did play outta their skins in the 2nd ODI and I am sure they will be disappointed but lets not shoot down our guys for expressing the will to win.

I get it [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] but we are so behind other International sides, that showing an intention doesn't even matter.. we are simply not that good..

this is not even like the Aussie sides of old, so many newcomers coming in playing the their first games.. its just disappointing for us fans.. Steven Smith is experimenting the heck out of the side and its still not a level playing field

On the other hand we have a side that has got these players playing for quite a while (Rizwan, Shafiq, Hafeez, Malik, Junaid, Azhar, Imad, Sharjeel, Amir)

I get it [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] but we are so behind other International sides, that showing an intention doesn't even matter.. we are simply not that good..

this is not even like the Aussie sides of old, so many newcomers coming in playing the their first games.. its just disappointing for us fans.. Steven Smith is experimenting the heck out of the side and its still not a level playing field

On the other hand we have a side that has got these players playing for quite a while (Rizwan, Shafiq, Hafeez, Malik, Junaid, Azhar, Imad, Sharjeel, Amir)

Bro the fact that we are behind other sides is not Imad's fault! He is doing what he can do motivate himself and his team to better things.

This guy's sloppiness with the ball, and with his mouth is costing us big time.. got too overconfident after one good performance

We are here to embarrass ourselves. Can't wait for the tour to end.

Well at least in words we seem to have a lot of fight

I dont think there is anything wrong with intent or words. If doesnt come off, so what? Move on, but always aim high.