"We cannot afford any miscalculation at this time. Better sense should prevail" : Imran Khan

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/mN4FxKEv1HM" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Wednesday afternoon addressed the nation after Pakistan Air Force (PAF) jets successfully targeted non-military targets across the LoC earlier in the day and later shot down two Indian Air Force jets that had trespassed into Pakistani territory.

Two pilots were also captured by Pakistan's armed forces following the aerial combat. One was identified as Wing Commander Abhi Nandan. The other as yet unidentified pilot is receiving medical care at a military hospital.

"I wanted to take the nation into confidence over the developments since yesterday morning," the premier began.

"We offered peace to India after what happened in Pulwama. I understand the pain of the families [who lost family members in Pulwama]. I have visited hospitals and seen the pain of people affected by violence.

"We offered India that we would investigate. We wanted to cooperate and were ready to do so. I feared that India would still take action, and I had therefore warned India against aggression."

"When India stuck yesterday morning, we spoke to our army command and waited to take action till we assessed the damage caused.

"Our action was only intended to convey that if you can come into our country, we can do the same. Two of their MiGs were shot down (in the ensuing action). From here, it is imperative that we use our heads and act with wisdom," he said.

"All wars are miscalculated, and no one knows where they lead to. World War I was supposed to end in weeks, it took six years. Similarly, the war on terrorism was not supposed to last 17 years.

"I ask India: with the weapons you have and the weapons we have, can we really afford a miscalculation? If this escalates, it will no longer be in my control or in Modi's.

"We understand the grief that you have suffered in Pulwama and are ready for a probe and dialogue.

"Let's settle this with talks," the prime minister concluded.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1466364/p...han-addresses-nation-after-paf-strikes-on-loc

Short but a very powerful speech by IK. Still talking about peace talks no chest thumping, no big claims, even talked about the families of indian soldiers who died. Here is PM Imran Khan for you a real leader of peace...

Good reply again, but he should have avoided the part of that Pakistan didn’t know how much damaged IAF caised and hence waited for reply. Indian media will use this against Pak and keep fooling their own people.

And what do you propose? A declaration of war? Don't be so childish.

(I don't know why I can't quote people, should be obvious who I was replying to)

And he should have praised PAF more. But jo hou gaya so hai gaya.

That’s what I call a leader.

A fantastic response by Imran Khan, calm and measured. Pakistan couldn’t have a better leader like Imran in this time.

Compare this to the warmongering nutcase parosis have as their PM lmao.

MY PRIME MINISTER.

Great Leadership by Imran, delivering exactly what Pakistan wants and showing objective morality unlike the Indian side.

Imran's got a special ability to speak sensibly, diplomatically without the typical drab, deadpan face you see in other leaders. It seems casual but powerful and sensible.

Compare this to the warmongering nutcase parosis have as their PM lmao.

MY PRIME MINISTER.

I almost feel sorry for them... but then I remember they voted for this reckless imbecile and all I can do is laugh at them.

Indian leaders crossed the line despite Pakistan's caution and question the integrity of our words. A military response from our side was necessary to make it clear to them that our words hold meanings.

I agree with our prime minister's approach and his initiative to leave the emotional chest thumping aside and hold talks from man to man to address the issues between the two nations.

Decent speech. But need to less conciliatory next time. India has gone too far.

He needs to be conciliatory.

It is Pakistan's REQUIREMENT at this point.

Do we WANT to fight a war when he has other things like healthcare, education and economy in mind?

Its time to think with logic and not emotion.

Such a disappointed adress to nation. Coward

We shot down their aircraft and have at least one pilot as a prisoner thats enough of a response for the start. They threw a punch at us we threw a punch right back. They flexed their biceps, we did the same.

Now bith nations can once again decide to solve the relevant issues in a peaceful and diplomatic manner.

What did you want him to say? You wanted him to declare war?

No. I don't want him to beg for peace and talks. Hes been doing that since first day and Indian pigs only understand one language and that is war.

He needs to be conciliatory.

It is Pakistan's REQUIREMENT at this point.

Do we WANT to fight a war when he has other things like healthcare, education and economy in mind?

Its time to think with logic and not emotion.

We have the advantage. We have been too nice. Time to change.

MashAllah. What a guy. Modi will look like a total lunatic if India's jets knock over some more trees tomorrow night.

Brilliant from the man.

We shot down their aircraft and have at least one pilot as a prisoner thats enough of a response for the start. They threw a punch at us we threw a punch right back. They flexed their biceps, we did the same.

Now bith nations can once again decide to solve the relevant issues in a peaceful and diplomatic manner.

Yeah. Pretty much this.

Only worried that Modi was waiting for Indian military to be targeted. An excuse to declare Emergency or something like that.

This has been well played by the Army.

Pakistan has responded to what happened yesterday, and in the narrative stakes, by taking down a plane, and having an Indian pilot in custody, won the optics - no matter how India will try and spin things.

The only option India has is to either respond through aggression - however, neither side will be want to seen, or to be honest, have the stomach to escalate things further.

Or to now sit and talk, which is what Pakistan has been saying consistently since Imran was elected. It is hard to see how Modi gets himself out. He boxed himself into a corner, and now he is stuck with no honorable exit.

Priceless that a chap sitting in Aberdeen wants Pakistan to escalate this mess. Utterly moronic.

I have criticized Imran Khan for his lack of leadership and foresight when it comes to the economy, but he must be applauded for this speech. Absolutely brilliant.

Priceless that a chap sitting in Aberdeen wants Pakistan to escalate this mess. Utterly moronic.

I have criticized Imran Khan for his lack of leadership and foresight when it comes to the economy, but he must be applauded for this speech. Absolutely brilliant.

Did I say escalate?

Brilliant response. Compassionate to the victims of Pulwama, but resolute in Pakistan's defence of it's borders while offering India a dignified way out. Sadly I don't think Modi can afford to back down now without looking like a liar, but hopefully sense prevails and he puts the nation's interests ahead of his political ambitions.

Most global leaders are in it for themselves......Not the nation occassionly you get a gem like Imran khan

Actions speak louder than the words. Let's see what actions he's willing to take against terrorists within Pakistan. It's upto him to maintain peace in the subcontinent region or the war will be imminent.

Well he said in the first place to provide him actionable evidence, which India failed to do so..

This is as similar as the US calling IRAQ having weapons of mass destruction where they could only find oil and killed million people..

No the ball is in Modi’s court.

He started his stupid misadventure that achieved nothing but hitting some trees. Imran Khan confirmed this.

Now Pak have gave a fitting reply and deescalation and talks are the only option.

Modi may have been a hero yesterday in India today but he’s come across a failed loser today.

He’s boxed himself in a corner and can only blame himself.

You are being fooled by the BJP politics on war, weapon and business... they want everyone to forget about the rafale deal, question about BJP party members and their son's looting, demonetisation etc etc but just this war and warmongering..

Indians are being deceived here under thick carpet... hope they could find some one as good as IK to rule their country instead of chaiwalas who could only be a puppet of Ambanis and Mallyas..

Well he said in the first place to provide him actionable evidence, which India failed to do so..

This is as similar as the US calling IRAQ having weapons of mass destruction where they could only find oil and killed million people..

The whole attack was planned in India. Top Indian government officials know this otherwise they would have shared any info to USA.

If India had any evidence someone like Donald Trump would have backed India 100%.

But he’s been neutral because they have no evidence to point to Pakistan.

Imran's got a special ability to speak sensibly, diplomatically without the typical drab, deadpan face you see in other leaders. It seems casual but powerful and sensible.

Classic traits of a leader of men :ik

There are no victors in wars.

The whole attack was planned in India. Top Indian government officials know this otherwise they would have shared any info to USA.

If India had any evidence someone like Donald Trump would have backed India 100%.

But he’s been neutral because they have no evidence to point to Pakistan.

Exactly, they dont have any concrete evidence to stake their claims in UN.. Pakistan is asking them to provide actionable evidence, and this bhakths are just warmongering as they were asked to by the BJP and fulfilling their expectations...

India forgets that they are dealing with an actual leader from Pak unlike the past...

Imran Khan! Gotta love it! Short concise and addressing the Indian people respectfully but firmly.

Better sense should prevail. I think difference is IK. He has come a long way and is a very good reader of geopolitics and war history. With IK, People of Indo-Pak are in safe hands.

Biggest advantage of IK here, and we can't overlook it, the fact that Imran Khan has 4.5 years and Modi has 3 months. IK with his potential 4+ years will gain more weightage at ANY FORUM, domestic or global. So we people of Indo-Pak are in safe hands for the time being.

I am so thankful to GOD that FINALLY we have a leader who, despite having a large number of illiterates in the nation, presenting Pakistan in a positive manner. Respect PM Imran!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There is always a one and you decided to be one.

Every Bhakths should be disrespected, insulted, discredit by every sensible Indian.

Takes years to develop that quality.

India’s accusations against Pakistan are factual. As a nation, we have long been a safe haven for terrorists and very little has changed on that front.

Our anti-terror campaigns are only limited to terrorists who are not on our payroll. The ones who are are allowed to room freely and join politics.

India had the upper hand till today, but they have been humiliated because Pakistan were successful in executing their mission but India were not.

Had IAF done some damage yesterday instead of uprooting some trees, our response today would have evened things out.

However, since they botched their mission, Pakistan have clearly won this mini war.

Modi’s aggression looks misplaced in hindsight because the Indian forces failed. Had Pakistan botched their mission today, Imran would have looked stupid as well.

Ultimately, India has been let down by the IAF.

I am sure Imran Khan means well and he has a nice message but on occasions like this a leader needs to show strength and reassure its population of its ability to defend itself not bring up WW1 and other catastrophic scenarios. He can easily use the back channels to sent his diplomatic message across.

Well that strength was shown today

Imran can show aggression and when he does there is no better sight bein cricket or politics but at this stage he is not at all interested in engaging with India he has more then enough on his plate hence the continued push for peace

Well that strength was shown today

I don't want get into pity semantics. Just looking at this from a neutral lens (I know its hard to believe) I think a leaders needs to be a pillar of strength in these sort of occasions.

I liked Imran Khan as a cricketer. Now I like him as a political leader. A very good person!

It is painful to see humans killing other humans for land, religion, or plain ego! I also see lot of war mongering from people on both sides, more so from Indian side. Right from my school days I was made to believe that Pakistan was always the aggressor and India was the defender. But, the sentiments expressed by Indians and Pakistanis in the last couple of weeks shows Pakistan wants peace while India is not ready for that. I am really sad to see this situation.

Now, I think the age of social media and connectivity gives me a clearer picture. I regret that I had wrong opinion of Pakistani establishment. While I still believe military powers in Pakistan is harboring terrorists as strategic lever against India, the political leaders/government and Pakistani public wants peace.

It is unfortunate we human race is hell bend on killing each other. Hope we can raise above the pettiness, hatred and love each other and live a meaningful life.

Well, Hitler was a great leader ?

India’s accusations against Pakistan are factual. As a nation, we have long been a safe haven for terrorists and very little has changed on that front.

Our anti-terror campaigns are only limited to terrorists who are not on our payroll. The ones who are are allowed to room freely and join politics.

India had the upper hand till today, but they have been humiliated because Pakistan were successful in executing their mission but India were not.

Had IAF done some damage yesterday instead of uprooting some trees, our response today would have evened things out.

However, since they botched their mission, Pakistan have clearly won this mini war.

Modi’s aggression looks misplaced in hindsight because the Indian forces failed. Had Pakistan botched their mission today, Imran would have looked stupid as well.

Ultimately, India has been let down by the IAF.

Please yaar. These are not 90s anymore. A lot of things have changed. Pak army and ISI may have played double games in the past but they have put genuine and sincere efforts in the past 10 years to eradicate terrorists.

India has its own mess to deal with in Kashmir. This was an act of a native Kashmiri with history of abuse by Indian army. Pak has nothing to do with it.

Our men are risking their lives while this namak haram member is sitting away posting filth about our nation.

People like him should be made stateless.

IK should stop begging for peace all the time. Indian jets crossed the LOC yesterday initiating this response from Pak. I don't know what "miscalculation" he is on about here with his wimp like comments. Pak has not claimed killing hundreds of India soldiers at all. Unlike India what we have said we have proved.

IK and Army are on same page. 1 hour before IK speech DG ISPR in his press briefing said exactly same thing he said we are not feeling good taking down 2 jets we want peace war is not an option so don't force us.

No one is begging here otherwise Pak army would not have responded with a counter attack. This is a sensible call for calm heads before things escalate to such a degree they can't be pulled back. Developing countries can't develop much if their resources are being spent on military adventures.

No one was begging for peace- he was calm and authoritative. But he needs to offer an olive branch to Ind because nobody can win this war.

A well balanced speech. Nothing controverisal or arrogance shown. Excellent. Proud of IK.

To the above posters saying IK is not begging I strongly disagree. There is a balance between wanting peace and being afraid of war. He has been going on for peace since assuming power doing my head in with it. The army's response was natural after yesterdays events. If India wants peace then shut up and sit down now.

Where does IK say that he is afraid of war? What he is saying is that only a fool would invite it. If Pakistan is pushed into a corner they will clearly fight back. Learn to read between the lines.

When he keeps doing my head it with his "peace" gestures every day surely gives the impression of being afraid of war. He has been going on about this since he became PM. For goodness sake give it a rest man! There is nothing to read here at all other then he acting like a wimp! If India provokes us then we will retaliate. Both sides realise the consequences of war so he doesn't need to tell us about it every day.

An eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind. You do realize that this war could lead to a nuclear fallout, right? Approximately 1/4th of humanity lives in SC. So taking all that into account a proper man would always talk peace and a hot headed man-child-wimp would ask for war.

That's what I read.

An eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind. You do realize that this war could lead to a nuclear fallout, right? Approximately 1/4th of humanity lives in SC. So taking all that into account a proper man would always talk peace and a hot headed man-child-wimp would ask for war.

That's what I read.

This is no longer Gandhi's "eye for an eye" but Modi's fascist India that needs a proper spanking. If there is a nuke war then both countries will be destroyed. Acting like a wimp is not the answer here at all. IK often accused Nawaz of being to soft on India and now acts like a complete coward coming on TV every day with the same lecture. If India provokes us then we will answer back with venom nuclear war or not. If Modi does not want peace then no point begging for it.

He's not telling us about it every day. He gave one speech where he spelled out Pakistan's position and left India with a face-saving way out. Just because you are reading it every day doesn't mean he is repeating it.

This is no longer Gandhi's "eye for an eye" but Modi's fascist India that needs a proper spanking. If there is a nuke war then both countries will be destroyed. Acting like a wimp is not the answer here at all. IK often accused Nawaz of being to soft on India and now acts like a complete coward coming on TV every day with the same lecture. If India provokes us then we will answer back with venom nuclear war or not. If Modi does not want peace then no point begging for it.

I have family near the border, i dont want war with India, i live in UK, anyone who wants war is crazy however if country gets attacked they have right to defend themselves.

India has much more to lose, they no longer will have dreams of being super power once Pak throws a nuke.

Likewise pak will be over if India does the same.

Yes we can be patriotic but no war.

He's not telling us about it every day. He gave one speech where he spelled out Pakistan's position and left India with a face-saving way out. Just because you are reading it every day doesn't mean he is repeating it.

agreed

an avatar change, nice

I liked Imran Khan as a cricketer. Now I like him as a political leader. A very good person!

It is painful to see humans killing other humans for land, religion, or plain ego! I also see lot of war mongering from people on both sides, more so from Indian side. Right from my school days I was made to believe that Pakistan was always the aggressor and India was the defender. But, the sentiments expressed by Indians and Pakistanis in the last couple of weeks shows Pakistan wants peace while India is not ready for that. I am really sad to see this situation.

Now, I think the age of social media and connectivity gives me a clearer picture. I regret that I had wrong opinion of Pakistani establishment. While I still believe military powers in Pakistan is harboring terrorists as strategic lever against India, the political leaders/government and Pakistani public wants peace.

It is unfortunate we human race is hell bend on killing each other. Hope we can raise above the pettiness, hatred and love each other and live a meaningful life.

Outstanding post.

It's war mongering from people that aren't ever going to see the frontlines of any battle. And from people that don't even live in the country.

Modi has politicized the Indian Army to win the elections this year and unfortunately nationalism is a dangerous thing. It makes people blind.

Pakistan has made the right move by offering peace while not showing weakness. The right thing now would be to make a move on the likes of JeM because historically they have harboured terrorists even if they don't anymore. I don't know what the move will be because these organizations have a very vocal support that can bring the country to a standstill using mob mentality. That's why it is difficult for Pakistan to make a move on them without proof and in the open.

That being said, I have no doubts that the Pulwama attack was something that originated from within India. It was a Kashmiri using bombs made in India. But with JeM claiming the attack on twitter, India had an easy scapegoat that implicated Pakistan as well.

Are you volunteering to be the on the frontlines when war breaks out? Because that's very admirable of you.

Dude, you got no idea what you're talking about.

Go to a shrink or something.

"Nuclear war or not" :facepalm:

Do you even live in Pakistan?

Dude, you got no idea what you're talking about.

Go to a shrink or something.

"Nuclear war or not" :facepalm:

Do you even live in Pakistan?

Unfortunately most civilians in both nations haven't experienced the horrors of war, so they are talking in delusion. Only the soldiers of battlefield know the terrible effects of a full War scenario.

That's what I read.

Plus on the international front we seem sane india doesn't. And will help destroy last few decades of indian diplomacy against us internationally.

The maturity and composure displayed by IK during this entire episode has been outstanding! He has projected Pakistan as a responsible and capable state whereas the idiot on the side of the border can't do much else but thump his chest to feed the frenzy of a jingoistic nation.

Well done, IK! This was the need of the hour.

How does it compare to Musharraf's speeches against India?