"We challenge India to play bilateral cricket with us - they are scared of our team" : Shahryar Khan

Shahryar Khan speaking at the PM's reception of the Pakistan cricket team:

"We need to build on this victory. It's not enough, we need to go a lot further."

"All cricket teams in Pakistan should take example from this team. Be united with jazba, give importance to fielding and fitness and include youth in all teams - FC, division, university teams."

"After our win, we challenge India to come and play bilateral cricket with us. They don't play us, they are scared of our team. They say we'll play you in ICC matches but they won't play us otherwise."

"After this win, every team will want to play us. They should now come to Pakistan, there is complete security. God-willing, teams will start coming. We are in negotiations with Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and West Indies. They can send their teams first for a short tour, maybe for just T20Is."

"Our team's victory has brought happiness to people around the country. This is important because all people of the country are united. They don't care where who is from, everyone is united and that has brought us victory."

"I took advice from Inzi and everyone about Sarfraz as Test captain, I felt he is the best candidate. But first I wanted his acceptance. Today I met him in the elevator and asked him if he is willing to be Test captain, he said 'as you wish, I am ready to help'. So Sarfraz becomes captain of the Test team."

Another day,another stupid statement from Shehryar Khan sahab.

But it's not his fault [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION].

At this moment of time, this is all I have got to say to this:

:facepalm::facepalm:

Only another 2 months with him at helm.

At this moment of time, this is all I have got to say to this:

:facepalm::facepalm:

Only another 2 months with him at helm.

DUDEEE these 2 months are going to be hell!!!

He's going to do IRREPARABLE damage to Pakistan and PCB!

We have really managed to embarrass ourselves after winning one fluke match against India after a gazillion losses. The celebrations and chest thumpings never seem to end. We have showcased our minnow mentality and the frustration of getting battered for years is pouring out.

As always, it will take a thrashing for us to come back to Earth, and we should be careful what we wish for. All the teams ranked above us (with the exception of NZ) will beat us in bilaterals.

We caught SA, England and India on their bad days which can happen in knockouts. In bilaterals, these things even out.

This guy is really getting people to think if they jumped on to that fixing boat blindlessly.

We have really managed to embarrass ourselves after winning one fluke match against India after a gazillion losses. The celebrations and chest thumpings never seem to end. We have showcased our minnow mentality and the frustration of getting battered for years is pouring out.

As always, it will take a thrashing for us to come back to Earth, and we should be careful what we wish for. All the teams ranked above us (with the exception of NZ) will beat us in bilaterals.

We caught SA, England and India on their bad days which can happen in knockouts. In bilaterals, these things even out.

Agree that we've been showing true minnow mentality these past few weeks.

I actually like Shahryar. How many 83 year olds anywhere can troll us?

Yeah, sometimes I think he really is trolling everyone.

None of the boards take him seriously too, because he's 83, they just ignore whatever drivel he comes up with. :))) :)))

I actually like Shahryar. How many 83 year olds anywhere can troll us?

shahryar khan is just the puppet here to be honest, why is it that he always gets appointed when there is nawaz government?

he reeks of nawaz and the nawaz puppeteer dictations nothing else

Our supporters, board members (including chairmen) are behaving like Tottenham supporters after they win a match against Arsenal, or finish above Arsenal in the league...

There's this famous saying about Tottenham by Lampard : 'Its always bad to lose to Tottenham, because they make DVDs of it for the next 10 years'

This is straight up embarrassing, he's fast turning into Ijaz Butt.

Well not quite Ijaz, but it's still embarrassing nonetheless.

Is this after or before the 'we should not beg any team to play us' statement from Nawaz Sharif?

Before this match it was Afridi's two sixes against Ashwin, and my did Shahid Afridi cash in those two sixes for a long long time... it was the only thing our tv showed, our signifcant cricketing victory over India for 3 years

Surprised Shehryar didn't repeat his favourite "honour the MOU" catchphrase.

This guy is embarrassment but nothing will happen because he is personal friend of Nawaz Sharif.

Indians are surely scared otherwise they will play a full series. It's about time that statement like this came from PCB head rather than a random poster in PP.

Your one of the few that can give competition to SK. I mean to call this win a fluke shows your level.

You can call the win all you want except label it a fluke. With due respect in ICC games PAK knows what it is to win SA and ENG not so much. They can win all the JAMODIS.

India just got blown away by pure passion, skill and quality in the biggest game between both since Mohali.

Take that....

That goes to show how unprofessional management PCB has....

Today I met him in the elevator and asked him if he is willing to be Test captain, he said 'as you wish, I am ready to help. So Sarfraz becomes captain of the Test team.

This is gold. I mean wow!

:shkhan : Oye Sarfu acha hogaya tu idhar lift mein mil gaya, Kaptaan ban na hai terko test mein?

:sarf : Haanji huzur, jaise apki marzi

:shkhan : Oh chal ethe ground floor pe utar, press conference mangwayi hai

At 83 years this guy should be retired... Definitely not taunting India on national TV... This is embarrassing :facepalm:

Your one of the few that can give competition to SK. I mean to call this win a fluke shows your level.

You can call the win all you want except label it a fluke. With due respect in ICC games PAK knows what it is to win SA and ENG not so much. They can win all the JAMODIS.

India just got blown away by pure passion, skill and quality in the biggest game between both since Mohali.

Take that....

Any world cup match is greater than this match. Icc champions trophy was never there from the start and will not be there by next time. Everyone knows. World cup fever is all together different. Ask anyone .

Looks like Chairman himself is bored with this long break - kaisey kategi prahar sanam, hum to ..... it's just the 1st week of July, still 13 more to go.

When I first came to Canada, started to throw Resume & Cover letters at bulk rate - initially, it was fun; almost every day some new type of job opening & I had to cater Resume/CL according to job :), In couple of months time, it started to become difficult - I had used every bit of my skills, experience, qualification, story..... In one company, I can sell may be 3/4 Resumes or stories, but if it goes to 10-12 level, then the CEO might get scared :( Eventually, it almost went to a level that - I can speak in 4 languages, can read Arabic & know few words of French & Punjabi, while I worked with Chinese people & visited Shenzhen :thumbsup

Similarly, this PCB Chairman has run to media in a month more than what someone of his status should do in 5 years tenure - now he is struggling to find new words/stories. After MoU, legal notice, financial compensation, kanspiracey ........ this one avenue still was left.

How about India beat mighty West Indies in 1983 World cup final ? Was not that a fluke ? Did not they continue to talk about it all the way till Miandad's six demoralized them. According to your silly definition all victories in sports are fluke. Gibbs dropping Steve Waugh and Klusener/Donald choke was fluke for Australia in 1999 ? India winning in 2007 via silly shot by Misbah was a fluke ? They still talk about it by the way until we thrashed them in final. ODI Pak 73 Ind 52, Test Pak 12 Ind 9, Hockey Pak 82 Ind 57. We have superior record against them before you pass some immature statements here. By the way England winning Edgbaston test by 2 runs and winning the Ashes was fluke as well.

Yess my friend if pakistan wins its always fluke.
Then why have the overrated english team never won a 50 over icc tournament. And india was not only beaten but proper Humiliated why did't you say anything when arrogant indian media and ex players before the finale where saying and now can not celebrate.
PS i dont agree with SK statement.

Some people ( who are Sarfraz haters) are not happy with this win and are therefore spreading venom to disrupt the unity of Pak team supporters on this forum.

Any world cup match is greater than this match. Icc champions trophy was never there from the start and will not be there by next time. Everyone knows. World cup fever is all together different. Ask anyone .

Uhmmm fact is this was an icc event final. The first ever 50 over icc event final between the 2 sides.

It was a HUGE game. Downplay it to make you feel better but in the last years only mohali was a bigger match.

Looks like Chairman himself is bored with this long break - kaisey kategi prahar sanam, hum to ..... it's just the 1st week of July, still 13 more to go.

When I first came to Canada, started to throw Resume & Cover letters at bulk rate - initially, it was fun; almost every day some new type of job opening & I had to cater Resume/CL according to job :), In couple of months time, it started to become difficult - I had used every bit of my skills, experience, qualification, story..... In one company, I can sell may be 3/4 Resumes or stories, but if it goes to 10-12 level, then the CEO might get scared :( Eventually, it almost went to a level that - I can speak in 4 languages, can read Arabic & know few words of French & Punjabi, while I worked with Chinese people & visited Shenzhen :thumbsup

Similarly, this PCB Chairman has run to media in a month more than what someone of his status should do in 5 years tenure - now he is struggling to find new words/stories. After MoU, legal notice, financial compensation, kanspiracey ........ this one avenue still was left.

hahaha. Nice analogy.

Uhmmm fact is this was an icc event final. The first ever 50 over icc event final between the 2 sides.

It was a HUGE game. Downplay it to make you feel better but in the last years only mohali was a bigger match.

hmm may be you are right it was huge game
and i am not trying to downplay it . but dnt know we didnt get vibes before the match as we usually get in world cup ,may be we were expected to win against pakistan but we surely got vibes after we got thrashing loll..

Relax. I know you don't like being happy but try it, it's good for you. We destroyed India and we'd destroy them again, if the same teams played an ODI tomorrow. Not to mention that we won four KO matches in a row. That is not a fluke, that is destiny.

India scared of possibly losing and making millions of dollars.

Indians are surely scared otherwise they will play a full series. It's about time that statement like this came from PCB head rather than a random poster in PP.
Pakistan are fast becoming the most obnoxious fans in the world. India use to be it but the ICC success has actually humbled them somewhat. No idea how, but I guess their recent success has made them take the sport less seriously?

We'll beat Pakistan, we've done it with the dead weight and a weakened side.

i have doubt that he was served as diplomat in past .
Most incompetent man who dont known what to speak & how to speak .
Thankfully God his tenure is Finishing soon.

How can we stop Mr. SYK from embarrassing us from his completely non-sense press releases.

This thread sums up the inferiority complex we have as a nation. In the Sehwag thread barely a few Indians attacked Sehwag or said that he was embarrasing India and that Pakistan should stop being so sensitive and that it was just a tongue in the cheek comment.

And here we have everyone attacking the PCB chairman whereas as true nationalists we should stand by him. Pathetic stuff really to be honest.

What a Legend :14: :salute
[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] Bhai can we please please please ask Sherry uncle to come and officially join Pakpassion once he retires.....

I would literally pay to read his posts here !!!
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] [MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION]

How about India beat mighty West Indies in 1983 World cup final ? Was not that a fluke ? Did not they continue to talk about it all the way till Miandad's six demoralized them. According to your silly definition all victories in sports are fluke. Gibbs dropping Steve Waugh and Klusener/Donald choke was fluke for Australia in 1999 ? India winning in 2007 via silly shot by Misbah was a fluke ? They still talk about it by the way until we thrashed them in final. ODI Pak 73 Ind 52, Test Pak 12 Ind 9, Hockey Pak 82 Ind 57. We have superior record against them before you pass some immature statements here. By the way England winning Edgbaston test by 2 runs and winning the Ashes was fluke as well.

Pak win was not a fluke,but in 1983 we won against Windies twice in the same tournament so not sure why that is a fluke.

Nothing is a fluke ,don't justify statements that don't hold any value when a team is winning a trophy and some poster is just fishing.

What a Legend :14: :salute

[MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] Bhai can we please please please ask Sherry uncle to come and officially join Pakpassion once he retires.....

I would literally pay to read his posts here !!!

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] [MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION]

I'm down to chip in.

In fact, I'm down to pay extra if that means he replaces a certain poster or two on here!

We toured to Pakistan and Sharjah with our weakest and rubbish and traitors-filled/match-fixer teams! Not sure why would we bothered about playing Pakistan now! Whenever we cancel a tour/match against Pakistan, the Pakistanis (including players, media & even fans) tell like this that we are scared of playing! This is as stupid and idiotic just like Sehwag comments & Indian media's mocking at Pakistan Cricket! If getting scared is something, then we should have boycotted playing WI in 70s, Pak in 80s, Aus in 90s. It is better to develop some matured thinking in today's fast growing "professional" cricket and just don't get overwhelmed by winning a cup after long time!

And why this head-to-head tally is brought up time & again? West Indies still has superior head to head record against most teams, does it mean anything today? Proper Indian Cricket fans are actually depressed of not playing Pakistan in last 1 to 1.5 decades and improve the record (even if it meant somehow Pakistan get motivated playing against India. We definitely would have done better than we did in 80s, 90s... for sure) Definitely we are not scared of playing you!

We toured to Pakistan and Sharjah with our weakest and rubbish and traitors-filled/match-fixer teams! Not sure why would we bothered about playing Pakistan now! Whenever we cancel a tour/match against Pakistan, the Pakistanis (including players, media & even fans) tell like this that we are scared of playing! This is as stupid and idiotic just like Sehwag comments & Indian media's mocking at Pakistan Cricket! If getting scared is something, then we should have boycotted playing WI in 70s, Pak in 80s, Aus in 90s. It is better to develop some matured thinking in today's fast growing "professional" cricket and just don't get overwhelmed by winning a cup after long time!

And why this head-to-head tally is brought up time & again? West Indies still has superior head to head record against most teams, does it mean anything today? Proper Indian Cricket fans are actually depressed of not playing Pakistan in last 1 to 1.5 decades and improve the record (even if it meant somehow Pakistan get motivated playing against India. We definitely would have done better than we did in 80s, 90s... for sure) Definitely we are not scared of playing you!

Like you did at HOME vs pak in the last full series between both sides?

Believe me, when I say so, that average Pakistani fans etc. don't have that feeling.

I believe in UAE (in Test cricket) we would have given, with YK/Misbah, India a proper phainta had they dared ( :yk ) visiting us.

Also, consider we are depressed as well that in 90s y'all didn't play us in test cricket much.

No but Bangladesh is better than Pakistan, remember!?
Last decade

ONGJvy8.png

Last 5 years

jDPqwHy.png

Note:
Two of those Pakistani wins were against a B side in the UAE, that B side went on to win the series 3-2 :salute

He started off really well with the following;
"We need to build on this victory. It's not enough, we need to go a lot further." "All cricket teams in Pakistan should take example from this team. Be united with jazba, give importance to fielding and fitness and include youth in all teams - FC, division, university teams."

Major downhill after that. No need to tell us u asked sarfaraz in the lift!!

Sahi baat hai...if they ain't scared why don't they just play us?

Yeah, sure. Let's just say India is scared of playing the mighty bottom-ranked Pakistanis. How about England, Aus, NZ, RSA, etc.? When are they touring next? Or are they scared too?

What really bothers me is that this guy is a Diplomat by profession ! If people who have held such high offices talk like this no wonder India doesn't want to do anything with Pakistan - cricket or otherwise.

By any chance, does anyone know that Shahriar was a Prince of Bhopal State & 1st cousin of Tiger Pataudi? Mansoor Ali was the 9th & last Nawab of Pataudi, while Princely state of Bhopal was abolished & the title of Nawab ended with Sir Hamidullah Khan - Shahriar's grand father; otherwise, had British ruling still being there, SK could have been given a Knighthood by Lady Di's mother in law. His Graduation is from Indore & Dehradun, before going to Cambridge & Tafts. One of the best ever CSP officers & well reputed administrator by both side of PAK before '71.

His last few years actually indicates, why PAK's cricket team needs a drastic reduction in average age - every dog has it's days counted; a 40 years old cricketer is an equivalent of a 80 years old diplomat :(

LOL i think he is fed up in trying to convince the bcci in every way possible which have resulted in burst out at the verge of retirement

Last decade

ONGJvy8.png

Last 5 years

jDPqwHy.png

Note:
Two of those Pakistani wins were against a B side in the UAE, that B side went on to win the series 3-2 :salute

Comment was directed at Bangladeshi fans who still think they're better than us.

Who cares about bilaterals? :amla

By any chance, does anyone know that Shahriar was a Prince of Bhopal State & 1st cousin of Tiger Pataudi? Mansoor Ali was the 9th & last Nawab of Pataudi, while Princely state of Bhopal was abolished & the title of Nawab ended with Sir Hamidullah Khan - Shahriar's grand father; otherwise, had British ruling still being there, SK could have been given a Knighthood by Lady Di's mother in law. His Graduation is from Indore & Dehradun, before going to Cambridge & Tafts. One of the best ever CSP officers & well reputed administrator by both side of PAK before '71.

His last few years actually indicates, why PAK's cricket team needs a drastic reduction in average age - every dog has it's days counted; a 40 years old cricketer is an equivalent of a 80 years old diplomat :(
He is very well educated as can be seen in your post.He also lectures occasionally at LUMS(a Pakistani Uni that is very good by SC standards).Infact he said that after retiring from the position of chairman he may start teaching at LUMS.

Mamoon;936u0584 said:

To call the games against England and India flukes is frankly an insult to Pakistans excellence in the CT.
Granted - the country has maybe gone OTT over the celebrations. But can you blame them?? Pakistan as a country has had very few things to smile about. Lets not underestimate the meaning of thrashing India in a major final. It avenged the many embarrassing defeats in icc games against India. It signalled the re-emergence of Pakistan as a cricketing force. Most of all - it made180 million Pakistanis very happy. It made them smile. It made the poor forget their daily struggles and rejoice. Can you really begrudge them this??
So what if they have over celebrated. What matters is how they progress from here. Hopefully, they will take great confidence into the future. Do you want them to hide? Of course, there will be an overeaction.
You have overeacted also to be fair. You are analysing this way too much and being over harsh. Let them enjoy their fun. To call their victories a fluke and claim they will be thrashed in bilareral series against the top 5 shows your negativity and bitterness rather then sound judgement.
Yaar - smile. Cheer up. If you find negativity in this situation, I woukd not want to be with u in a real crisis.

Honestly, everything aside, the Indian government and BCCI certainly are afraid of playing Pakistan. Yes, you heard me. I'm not making Pakistan out to be some world class, invincible team. We could be minnows but they would still be afraid of us because if things go wrong and Pakistan somehow come out as winners at the end of the day, it wreaks havoc in India with people going on mass strikes, burning buildings, breaking into homes of cricketers and even their friends at times! It's a sorry sight and it takes a lot of time for normalcy and sanity to prevail. Therefore, there's no doubt about the fact that India most certainly is "scared" to play Pakistan - if you can call it that. Especially with Pakistan's​ much superior record and how we've bullied them in bilaterals, I don't blame them. Better to safe than sorry.

So what havoc was caused after the CT Final loss ?

When MS Dhoni's house has to be guarded by policemen and other security personnel, I don't think I need to say much more. Also, it's no secret that Indian media likes to keep things clandestine in order to maintain a false sense of superiority. Who knows what else would have happened?

So basically nothing happened that would be classified as "havoc " but you somehow feel it in your bones and naturally your instinct trumps all other sources . Since you obviously don't trust Indian news agencies do you also by any chance feel that foreign news agencies were silenced ?

To be honest, I like this guy. He speaks up his mind.

There's always a person who may talk non sense but he truly believes himself and tries to represent.

And this comes from bottom of their heart.

I am far from agreeing with him but his innocent replies is worth reading a post about him.

So basically nothing happened that would be classified as "havoc " but you somehow feel it in your bones and naturally your instinct trumps all other sources . Since you obviously don't trust Indian news agencies do you also by any chance feel that foreign news agencies were silenced ?

Comedic how you conveniently ignored the first thing that I said.

No I did not ... because its nothing that can be classified as a havoc even if it is MSD or Kohli or the entire cricket team. A havoc is Mumbai terror attack (2008), the Tsunami of 2004 or events like that which will set you back. Not some piddly nuisance like people getting upset over cricket matches.