"We have a lot of big stars, someone is Pakistan's nose and someone Pakistan's 'shan'" : Younis Khan

shah_1

"We have a lot of big stars, someone is Pakistan's nose and someone Pakistan's 'shan'" : Younis Khan

I was watching him on Game on hai. He also said that he was suppose to travel for six months all over Pakistan to hunt talent. He would have base his office in Karachi because of her ill mother.

He was very much looking forward to do U19 job and criticised PCB

===

"Today we have a lot of big stars, someone is Pakistan's nose, someone is Pakistan's 'shan', someone is Pakistan's head, ear, etc. Someone is in this committee, someone is in that committee. These people played with Pakistan. They did that with their mother, I can't say that word. So I was lucky that I had a good family and I had a good person (Rashid Latif) who told me how to progress in my career. And I kept meeting good people like Bob Woolmer and some players. All credit for my 10000 runs goes to Rashid bhai"

Seems like NCA mafia is too strong who were against his selection. If we can afford misbah at such a high pay why not give good package to legend like younis who can be game changer for our 19 cricket which are getting worsened with the time

Younis not too happy it seems at being ignored - seems Misbah knew his value and used it to max

YK as usual throwing toys out of the pram. Great player, but a downright toxic individual.

For all of Misbah's faults, he knows how to carry himself with dignity.

I was watching him on Game on hai. He also said that he was suppose to travel for six months all over Pakistan to hunt talent. He would have base his office in Karachi because of her ill mother.

He was very much looking forward to do U19 job and criticised PCB

===

"Today we have a lot of big stars, someone is Pakistan's nose, someone is Pakistan's 'shan', someone is Pakistan's head, ear, etc. Someone is in this committee, someone is in that committee. These people played with Pakistan. They did that with their mother, I can't say that word. So I was lucky that I had a good family and I had a good person (Rashid Latif) who told me how to progress in my career. And I kept meeting good people like Bob Woolmer and some players. All credit for my 10000 runs goes to Rashid bhai"

What is this word salad?

YK as usual throwing toys out of the pram. Great player, but a downright toxic individual.

Misbah is the silent politician. Knows how to play his cards well.

Worst person for any coaching or management role.

Apparently the PCB were happy to meet YK Rs 1.5 million a month demand. However they were unwilling to give him comprehensive powers i.e. the coach and chief selector of the U19 and A team. Big blunder by the PCB.

Would of loved him as Pakistan under 19 coach, we need role models in those roles not people with shady past

Younus has always been an odd character.

As a batsman in test cricket, he was almost impossible to dislodge - outstanding temperament and ability to judge which ball to play, which to leave, which shot to play and which shot to leave. His work ethic was also unquestionable - along with Misbah, he was the fittest guy in the team despite being a whole decade older than most of the team.

However he has had several instances where he's left people questioning his mental stability. At one stage, as Inzis vice captain, he showed absolutely brilliant level of tactical and game awareness in the field; then when given the chance to be captain, he threw a strop saying he didn't want to be a 'dummy captain', whatever that means. Since then he's made several ill tempered comments that don't live up to his stature an all time Test great not just of Pakistani cricket, but world cricket.

What is this??The nose and ears and something about the mother?I dont get what exactly is he saying??

Ex player not getting his own way syndrome.

Is this guy really fit to be a coach or mentor?

The domestic competition was so tough that I could not play for Karachi. I could not even play for Peshawar when I moved there except for injuries to certain players and then I broke through to Pakistan.

Pakistan had a tough domestic system which was destroyed from 2002 onwards.

This is a good statement

So what I don't get is that why did he not get the U19 gig?

- PCB said he was asking for too much salary.
- YK is saying it was because of...what? I don't get his statement at all

Doesn't really matter.

He will quit any position given to him in a month. Just like he did in the past and like his mentor Rashid Latif.

Doesn't really matter.

He will quit any position given to him in a month. Just like he did in the past and like his mentor Rashid Latif.

Well exactly.

And that's why many feel they should steer clear of him.

I would take YK on my team, as captain or regular player, any day of the week over Misbah.

YK knows what a phony Misbah is imo, and it must also rankle YK to have his name constantly coupled with Misbah, as if they were equal in performance and talent, just because they retired at the same time.

Well exactly.

And that's why many feel they should steer clear of him.

I don't understand why Mohammad Yousuf isn't considered for batting coach roles. He was a better batsman and much more stable person than Younis.

In fact YK even once pointed this out to the press, as the dummies kept acting as if they were one unit or somehow equal in achievements. How pathetic is that. One guy is arguably the greatest test batsman Pakistan has had and the other not even in the picture...and yet, they were constantly talked about together, as if one was equal to the other.

I don't understand why Mohammad Yousuf isn't considered for batting coach roles. He was a better batsman and much more stable person than Younis.

MoYo is persona non grata also. He doesn't worship Misbah and therefore he will be nowhere near the setup.

Those denigrating YK should remember how highly his younger team mates spoke of him and how much they appreciated tips and mentoring he gave them. He's a proud man to be sure and one of integrity and that is admirable, not a negative quality.

I would take YK on my team, as captain or regular player, any day of the week over Misbah.

YK knows what a phony Misbah is imo, and it must also rankle YK to have his name constantly coupled with Misbah, as if they were equal in performance and talent, just because they retired at the same time.
They will never be equal in terms of performance and talent. YK is miles ahead in that regard.

As a human being however, YK needs to grow up.

Can you find anyone at Yorkshire County Cricket Club who doesn’t admire and respect Younis Khan?

Shoaib akhtar is going on a youtube recruitment drive at the moment with former players, said that younis will make his own channel. Hopefully that will help him stay occupied post retirement, along with psl mentoring.

In fact YK even once pointed this out to the press, as the dummies kept acting as if they were one unit or somehow equal in achievements. How pathetic is that. One guy is arguably the greatest test batsman Pakistan has had and the other not even in the picture...and yet, they were constantly talked about together, as if one was equal to the other.

Those denigrating YK should remember how highly his younger team mates spoke of him and how much they appreciated tips and mentoring he gave them. He's a proud man to be sure and one of integrity and that is admirable, not a negative quality.

Agree with every word and it shows we do think alike, contrary to what you mentioned several weeks ago.

YK has every right to feel aggrieved, not only is levels above Misbah as a batsman but he actually has a far superior cricketing brain, as evident from the way he led his side to glory during the 2009 WT20 campaign. Amir's maiden wicket taking over against Dilshan epitomises his ingenuity.

As a far greater batsman his expertise on batting would have been of much higher value compared to Misbah's limited skill set in this aspect of the game.

YK might have had an emotional past but that doesn't excuse for a tactical failure like Misbah (along with the conflict of interest) to be given the nod over him and subsequently secure a position with the powers that he holds today as a Chief Selector and Head Coach at his expense.

The criticism towards YK on here is disgraceful, but I'm not surprised because he's never got the respect he deserves on here.

Worst person for any coaching or management role.

Don't pretend that you care about Pakistan cricket, you support Misbah more than the team.

Anyone who sincerely cares about the best interests of Pakistan cricket would pick YK over Misbah as Head Coach & Chief Selector because he has a lot more to offer to the team, as he was not only a far greater batsman but also has his superiority over him in cricketing intelligence. As a result our players (especially the batsmen) would gain a lot more out of him.

Don't pretend that you care about Pakistan cricket, you support Misbah more than the team.

Anyone who sincerely cares about the best interests of Pakistan cricket would pick YK over Misbah as Head Coach & Chief Selector because he has a lot more to offer to the team, as he was not only a far greater batsman but also has his superiority over him in cricketing intelligence. As a result our players (especially the batsmen) would gain a lot more out of him.

Younis is miles better then him in every aspect. But, unfortunately he isn't a yes man like man hence he gets ignored. If misbah can get all the posts for the national team then why not for younis the u19 team. Considering he's a much better coach then misbah.

Exactly this but eventually his time will come within the next ten years. Misbah will not last long unless PCB ofc decide to lower their standards as they did when he was captain!

Tbh they already did my making him the coach let alone given numerous role which no one ever got before.

They all a bunch of cry babies finding ways to release their tensions like it’s not pcbs fault that they don’t want to pay you 50 lakhs a month for a role in the pcb like what do you even have on your resume

This culture of entitlement. Only works in Pakistan. Rest of the world you know your value, you negotiate, you take or reject position and move on.

This reminds me of my gardener, i ask him to do something and says yes, then I ask how much will you charge, says anything you like, when I pay him what I think he deserves, "this is too little" comes the reply!

This culture of entitlement. Only works in Pakistan. Rest of the world you know your value, you negotiate, you take or reject position and move on.

This reminds me of my gardener, i ask him to do something and says yes, then I ask how much will you charge, says anything you like, when I pay him what I think he deserves, "this is too little" comes the reply!

I can totally relate to this every time I go to Pakistan and a guy comes to fix something in my house he says the exact same words jitna app ka dil chaye utney de dena and than when you give them they are like yeh to ziati hai Ye boht thorey hein than you should have asked straight up. This third grade culture and pityful culture has totally ruined our society. If you don’t know your own works value why are you even doing it. Guys like Younis Khan think just cause he’s made 10000 runs for Pakistan he automatically qualifies for the highest position and salary in PCB. Than there is Rahul Dravid 2x the player Younis was who is happily coaching u19 side.

Some posters here hate Misbah so much that out of spite they rather see any Tom, Dick or Harry in the position. Guys like MoYo and YK are so fickle, they wouldn't last a few months in these positions.

I think some former players thought they would be handed a role by the new PCB regime, almost as if they had a God-given right to a position.

Why not if they are the best candidates for the job?

India has Rahul Dravid while we are still stuck with sticking to the likes of Intikhab Alam, Wasim Bari, Shafiq Papa, Mansoor Rana while our legendary cricketers do nothing at the grass roots

What did Rahul Dravid have on his resume coaching wise before he got the job at India's U19 and A team coach?

Offer the same roles to Younis Khan and see how he reacts.

You've seen it all. No need to act so naive. This is same guy who refused to stay a night at NCA because a previous tenant had left some of their belongings there.

Younis is mentally unstable and is not fit for any professional job.

For starters he’s not a cry baby and knows his value and he’s actually coached at the NCA before under 19 and India A.

Offer the same roles to Younis Khan and see how he reacts.

You've seen it all. No need to act so naive. This is same guy who refused to stay a night at NCA because a previous tenant had left some of their belongings there.

Younis is mentally unstable and is not fit for any professional job.

Younis Khan has not been in the same role yet and in a country which is short of quality legendary players in coaching roles in domestic cricket we can't keep him out

I think you're just trying to play devil's advocate for the heck of it.

Younis khan's long list of tantrums is well documented. There's no need to keep repeating the same mistake when the results isn't.going to be any difference. As I said, Younis khan is mentally unstable and unfit to be a part of any professional setup.

I think you're just trying to play devil's advocate for the heck of it.

Younis khan's long list of tantrums is well documented. There's no need to keep repeating the same mistake when the results isn't.going to be any difference. As I said, Younis khan is mentally unstable and unfit to be a part of any professional setup.

Beggers can't be choosers. We don't have an illustrious list of stellar candidates willing to get their hands dirty and coach at the U19 and A team level, if 80 plus legends in Pakistan Cricket refuse to get involved at that level but if someone like Younis Khan is willing to work at that level, you do not shoot yourself in the foot by neglecting your U19 and A teams best needs and future prospects which is your pipeline for the national team by refusing to hire him especially given that you don't have quality candidates in the first place.

For starters he’s not a cry baby and knows his value and he’s actually coached at the NCA before under 19 and India A.

Younis Khan knew his value but still sold himself short at Rs 1.5 million a month to make things affordable for the PCB.