What’s the most famous dish from your hometown?

Major

We’ve got a lot of posters here from across the subcontinent (and beyond), and every place has that one dish it’s known for, whether it’s street food, a family staple, or something with real history behind it.

So let’s turn this into a bit of “food diplomacy”

When you reply, try to include:
• The dish name
• Your city/town
• What makes it special (taste, ingredients, vibe)
• A bit of history or origin (if you know it)
• Bonus: where a visitor should go to try the best version

Idea is simple, we all learn something new, and maybe even build a travel food list along the way.

Let’s keep it non-toxic, no trolling, just good food and good stories.

- Chicken Pulao

- Rawalpindi

- Pulao Rice, with beef shami kebabs and a steam roasted chicken piece.

Rawalpindi has become famous for its chicken pulao, particularly because of a restaurant we have called Savour food. Basically what these guys do is they make rice pulao, add 2 beef shami kebabs to it and a steam roasted chicken piece. This food use to be very cheap and affordable for the lower and middle class.

What made this food even more famous was the fact that pulao rice was not a food you would find easily in restaurants, as you would have to order catering if you wanted pulao from outside, or have it cooked at home. No single servings. Because pulao making requires expertise's due to its broth making.

The quantity that savour would sell was enough to feed two people back in the day. and this is during the 80s and 90s when fast food concept did not exist. These guys would have their own special rice pouches or bags in which they would sell their rice in.
Because of Savour, every chicken pulao restaurant that opens in Pakistan now has to sell it with shami kebabs and chicken piece, thus making it the standard.

The origins of pulao might be from Northern side, but because of Savour foods Pindi has its own Chicken Pulao standardized

- Chicken Pulao

- Rawalpindi

Rawalpindi has become famous for its chicken pulao, particularly because of a restaurant we have called Savour food. Basically what these guys do is they make rice pulao, add 2 beef shami kebabs to it and a steam roasted chicken piece. This food use to be very cheap and affordable for the lower and middle class.

What made this food even more famous was the fact that pulao rice was not a food you would find easily in restaurants, as you would have to order catering if you wanted pulao from outside, or have it cooked at home. No single servings. Because pulao making requires expertise's due to its broth making.

The quantity that savour would sell was enough to feed two people back in the day. and this is during the 80s and 90s when fast food concept did not exist. These guys would have their own special rice pouches or bags in which they would sell their rice in.
Because of Savour, every chicken pulao restaurant that opens in Pakistan now has to sell it with shami kebabs and chicken piece, thus making it the standard.

The origins of pulao might be from Northern side, but because of Savour foods Pindi has its own Chicken Pulao standardized
Good read. Gotta try chicken pulao some time it looks like.

very familiar with pulao and shami kebab combo with a little bit of green mint raita / chutney and sliced tomatoes and onions on the side. No chicken in it though, this is Karachi ofc

I am just going to go with Aloo Gosht, a dish usually cooked at home. Growing up in Lahore, this is what we used to have quite frequently.

Everybody cooks it differently but this is the recipe and cooking video I found on the internet:

Vada Pav 😬 however Mumbai is pretty much a culinary capital of South Asia. You can spend a lifetime and still not discover some cool spots.

@Major I know you’ve been to India, did you visit Mumbai?
Naa, mostly Punjab, Delhi, and some areas of Rajistan and UP.

Will be sharing my thoughts on Pindi Cholay in a few days aswell.

Interestingly, that dish doesnt exist in Rawalpindi, so must have been a pre partition delicacy which has been lost but exists in Delhi and Punjab

Going to break away from the generic biryani / nihari answer since we are including everyday meals as well- whatever is iconic.

In Karachi that would be Aloo Qeema, for us personally a lot of times with Timatar Ka Salan (tomato chutney) with Daal and plain rice.

Coming back from school or work, and this is probably one of the first dishes that comes to mind, you can almost smell the fragrance of the daal, chutney and qeema intermixed.

Ofc the Aloo Qeema (always beef qeema I don’t think there’s any other substitute unless I’m wrong) is the main star and many have it with just chapati too.

IMG_9434.jpegIMG_9435.jpegIMG_9436.jpeg

Going to break away from the generic biryani / nihari answer since we are including everyday meals as well- whatever is iconic.

In Karachi that would be Aloo Qeema, for us personally a lot of times with Timatar Ka Salan (tomato chutney) with Daal and plain rice.

Coming back from school or work, and this is probably one of the first dishes that comes to mind, you can almost smell the fragrance of the daal, chutney and qeema intermixed.

Ofc the Aloo Qeema (always beef qeema I don’t think there’s any other substitute unless I’m wrong) is the main star and many have it with just chapati too.

Never understood the fascination of aloo keema that people love it, probably because i never tried it. Is there a restaurant that does it the best??

I only tasted chicken keema just 3 years ago for the first time and fell in love with how soothing it was lol.

Need to try beef aloo keema some day

Never understood the fascination of aloo keema that people love it, probably because i never tried it. Is there a restaurant that does it the best??

I only tasted chicken keema just 3 years ago for the first time and fell in love with how soothing it was lol.

Aloo doesn’t belong in a meat dish. Tomato, onion, garlic or maybe cilantro etc for garnish. That’s about it: but no other vegetable belongs in it. Seems more of a Pak and Bangla (not just Bangladesh but West Bengal also) thing.

Palak-ghosht, Aloo-ghosht, Bhindi-ghosht- I mean what the hell. People ever heard the concept of individually eating a vegetable curry 🤦‍♂️

Honestly aloo keema is one of those dishes much like pulao that’s best done at home.

It’s the go to in a family home in Karachi where you whip it up quick, make daal / timatar ki chutney alongside while the rice are cooking and bam- done.

Am sure there are other contenders for signature dish of Karachi that have a richer and more involved prep time, but if we’re talking signature dish that you can slot in whenever, this would be it imo.

A comfort food in one of those cases, where you almost always make it at home vs going out of your way to have it in a restaurant since you go there to have options there which you may not be able to make that well at home.

But honestly any Dhaba that’s known for home style meals would do the job I would think 👍

Aloo doesn’t belong in a meat dish. Tomato, onion, garlic or maybe cilantro etc for garnish. That’s about it: but no other vegetable belongs in it. Seems more of a Pak and Bangla (not just Bangladesh but West Bengal also) thing.

Palak-ghosht, Aloo-ghosht, Bhindi-ghosht- I mean what the hell. People ever heard the concept of individually eating a vegetable curry 🤦‍♂️
Depends upon how its cooked.

Like going back to biryani, if the aloo is well cooked and spiced, it makes the biryani more tasty.

Aloo gets alot of hate, but well cooked aloos in any dish will surprise you :inzi

I really like this dish, tastes great with parathas and equally with chickpeas rice
I am just going to go with Aloo Gosht, a dish usually cooked at home. Growing up in Lahore, this is what we used to have quite frequently.

Everybody cooks it differently but this is the recipe and cooking video I found on the internet:

yaar anything with aloo is good and aloo qeema is prime dinner dish for me. I have noticed for qeema, its more flavorful if its baray gosht ka (beef).

Even chicken qeema aloo is wonderful.

You should try the afghan mutton aloo, which is very similar to lahori aloo gosht, they call it Shorwa, we call it shorba. Man, you dont know what you are talking about unless you had it.

We do it both ways. We are not bound by idiotic standards like individual curries. Why when you can combine and make a flavorful dish?

At the end of the day its about what tastes good. Its good protein, its got veggies, its got carbs .. its perfect!

This is a wonderful thread. I would like to hear what Indians have to say. Would like to hear more about their personal childhood home cuisine than whats sold in restaurants.

I have had plenty of dosas, pav bhajis, idli, etc. but have not experienced home cooked indian food too much.

You should try the afghan mutton aloo, which is very similar to lahori aloo gosht, they call it Shorwa, we call it shorba. Man, you dont know what you are talking about unless you had it.

Seems more Afghani style in nature. Usually their food is extremely bland compared to most Indian cuisines. Then again based on my personal experience and could just be the circumstances based on that specific experience, so don’t claim to be an expert

Lots of South Indian people's love idli sambar but I really don't like it. Just my personal opinion. :kp

This is a wonderful thread. I would like to hear what Indians have to say. Would like to hear more about their personal childhood home cuisine than whats sold in restaurants.

I have had plenty of dosas, pav bhajis, idli, etc. but have not experienced home cooked indian food too much.

Finally we agree on something. Not in a curry anyway. It's fine as a side to western dishes like roast dinners or fish/burgers.

Seems more Afghani style in nature. Usually their food is extremely bland compared to most Indian cuisines. Then again based on my personal experience and could just be the circumstances based on that specific experience, so don’t claim to be an expert
This was actually afghani, but you can compare the two videos, this one and the one I posted earlier about Lahori aloo gosht. its basically the same dish. Lahori one is a bit spicier.

But overall, I agree, you guys load up with spices. Pakistanis dont do it. If you overload with spices, you lose the natural flavor of the meat and vegetables, basically all you are tasting is the spices.

Its a matter of personal preference. Pakistanis certainly prefer less spicy stuff than Indians. This is a trend that I have noticed with respective restaurants in US as well.

This was actually afghani, but you can compare the two videos, this one and the one I posted earlier about Lahori aloo gosht. its basically the same dish. Lahori one is a bit spicier.

But overall, I agree, you guys load up with spices. Pakistanis dont do it. If you overload with spices, you lose the natural flavor of the meat and vegetables, basically all you are tasting is the spices.

Its a matter of personal preference. Pakistanis certainly prefer less spicy stuff than Indians. This is a trend that I have noticed with respective restaurants in US as well.
The spice thing i assume is because how Indians tend to make their spices from scratch by sun baking chillies and spices and purchasing each spice separately and than using them which enhances the spice levels. While we Pakistanis grew up on Shan and National mix masala boxes that had all the spices pre mixed thus keeping it more mild comparatively.

Like MDH masalas do exist in India, but they dont have that much demand like Shan and National masala boxes do in Pakistan

Some absolutely mouth watering dishes in this thread already!

Any fans of desi ghee wala saag? Best one I've had was at Haveli rooftop. Out of this world!

The spice thing i assume is because how Indians tend to make their spices from scratch by sun baking chillies and purchasing each spice separately which enhances the spice levels. While we Pakistanis grew up on Shan and National mix masala boxes that had all the spices pre mixed thus keeping it more mild comparatively.

Like MDH masalas do exist in India, but they dont have that much demand like Shan and National masala boxes do in Pakistan
No, thats not the case. We, and I know of a lot of households in Lahore, Islamabad, etc, never used the packaged spices.

In fact I never knew anyone who used them while I was in Pakistan. I see this trend more overseas because its convenient. In our households it was always individual "khullay" spices.

I think Indian dishes are mostly without meat, and they tend to use more spices. I could be completely off.
One justification for my logic is the trend you observe as you move from east to west. The Baloch, Pakhtoon cuisine is more meat based and dry and hence less spicy. As soon as meat enters the picture, the spice scale goes down because higher spices kill the flavor of the meat itself.

Speaking of Baloch cuisine, here are some mouth watering pictures:

Sajji:
1776187957569.png1776187863585.png

Chicken Sajji:

1776187927231.png

Chole Bhature :yk :inti

4832483B-A5AA-43E3-9350-EB38158550A8.jpg

Some absolutely mouth watering dishes in this thread already!

Any fans of desi ghee wala saag? Best one I've had was at Haveli rooftop. Out of this world!
A staple dish in the summers in Lahore.

Desi ghee ka saag, makai ki roti. Kia baat hai yaar. I have not had it in over 20 years. That brings back memories.

Chole Bhature :yk :inti

4832483B-A5AA-43E3-9350-EB38158550A8.jpg
Abeyyy yarrrrrr

Kyaa yaad dilwaa deya.

From my time in Delhi, one of the best things i ever had was chole bhatoray. The best one was from Haldirams.

In Delhi the concept of Halwa puri is very alien, and instead they have this chola bhatoray which can be eaten in brekfast or even at lunch. The bhatora is flaky and crispy that balloons up. Interestingly, its never too crispy and has itsn softness intact that still allows you to make a nawala (bite). I think i only had halwa puri india from ferozpur.

In pindi, we dont have cholay bhatoray, we instead have halwa puri, which is kind of same but puri is made from maida, so becomes heavy.

In some places you do find them like in lahore but never as good as the ones you get in Delhi.

The way Cholay bhatoray is sold in Delhi, is like how Halwa puri is sold in Pakistan

You’ve never heard of the English phrase “meat and potatoes” ? 🤭 :dw :asghar

If you are hating on aloo in a meat dish and live in the UK, then next Ramadan visit your local brelvi masjid for an iftari and open your roza with aloo gosht and pulao rice. Better food than you will find in any restaurants!

Abeyyy yarrrrrr

Kyaa yaad dilwaa deya.

From my time in Delhi, one of the best things i ever had was chole bhatoray. The best one was from Haldirams.

In Delhi the concept of Halwa puri is very alien, and instead they have this chola bhatoray which can be eaten in brekfast or even at lunch. The bhatora is flaky and crispy that balloons up. Interestingly, its never too crispy and has itsn softness intact that still allows you to make a nawala (bite). I think i only had halwa puri india from ferozpur.

In pindi, we dont have cholay bhatoray, we instead have halwa puri, which is kind of same but puri is made from maida, so becomes heavy.

In some places you do find them like in lahore but never as good as the ones you get in Delhi.

The way Cholay bhatoray is sold in Delhi, is like how Halwa puri is sold in Pakistan
Yes, aloo ki tarkari and halwa puri

Very surprising Delhi doesn’t have it 😮 but man that Puri looks done beautifully @Bhaag Viru Bhaag 👌🏼

Yes, aloo ki tarkari and halwa puri

Very surprising Delhi doesn’t have it 😮 but man that Puri looks done beautifully @Bhaag Viru Bhaag 👌🏼
Yess aloo ke tarkari. I think aloo ke tarkari with puri started after 2010 cause before that never saw it with puri.

Btw what bvb shared is bhatora. I think its made with a mix of atta and maida, does giving it a more fluffy texture compare to puri which is maida and turns more crispy.

Yess aloo ke tarkari. I think aloo ke tarkari with puri started after 2010 cause before that never saw it with puri.

Btw what bvb shared is bhatora. I think its made with a mix of atta and maida, does giving it a more fluffy texture compare to puri which is maida and turns more crispy.
In Lahore, we always have aloo ki bhujia, and chholay with halwa poori

Interesting. This trend started in pindi after 2012. Because before 2010, it was just puri, halwa and channay.

Or maybe i dont remember it correctly.

halwa puri and aloo ki tarkari after a morning cricket match before the blistering Karachi afternoon heat kicks in - regain all lost calories and then some
:yk

Interesting. This trend started in pindi after 2012. Because before 2010, it was just puri, halwa and channay.

Or maybe i dont remember it correctly.
I’m really finding out some differences amongst Pak cities that I never really realized before lol.

Aloo ki tarkari has been a staple with puri for as long as i can remember in Karachi. Surprised Pindi got it after 2010

I’m really finding out some differences amongst Pak cities that I never really realized before lol.

Aloo ki tarkari has been a staple with puri for as long as i can remember in Karachi. Surprised Pindi got it after 2010

Do you know what they have in Mianwali?

Here is another one,

Chicken Kachori

Now i dont know in which Pakistani city Chicken Kachori started but i do know bit of its history in Rawalpindi through what i have seen and also through my mom

Chicken Kachori has always been a delicacy that was only sold in Ramadan in Rawalpindi. It was never a mainstream snack and was only sold in Kashmiri Bazaar of Rawalpindi. This is the same Bazaar which was known for its halwa puri, especialy siddiqui sweets. Slowly chicken and beef keema kachori started to become famous around the city and during ramazan every samosay wala would also sell kachori.

Interestingly, the people who made it even better was Fresco sweets on murree road. They would come out with a even more crunchier version of it filled with good season chicken. They dont have the same standards nowadays, but back in 2006-2008, Fresco made the best chicken kachori and no one was able to match it. Our iftari was incomplete without it.

Even today Chicken kachori is only a Ramazan tradition, as in Pindi its very difficult to find it in non ramadan months.

I was quite surprised that while kachori existed in India, chicken kachori did not. They have dal kachori that is available all months, which has its own fans

1776190220717.png

Another one

Afghani Burger

Origin: Islamabad

Now truth be told, you will never find Islamabad having its own food. Probably because Islamabad is a city that was made it 1960 and was carved out of Rawalpindi. So it doesnt really have its own food history to be honest. However, in the short they have, they did somehow came up with their own snack aswell.

Behold the Afghani burger. It is basically a sausage and french fries wrapped around in an Afghani nan with some afghani chutney added to it. Made mostly by Afghan's that were living in Islamabad and sold as a street food. One reason why it became famous is because the people that sell it are open 24/7, and because late night hash users tend to get hungry, Afghani Burger was the go to snack. This snack i think started around 2016ish.

I dont really like it, but it has a cult following
1776190832015.png

Other popular dishes in Delhi: :inti

Bedmi Puri with Aloo Sabzi

images

Amritsari Kulcha with Choley

images

Rajma Chawal

images
Looks so damn appetizing.

I love kulchey. It is so fascinating how we are programmed to show affinity to stuff thats in our zone, even if it is across the border. Anything from Delhi and Amritsar area appeals to this Lahori boy.

Man, I miss those days in Karachi.

- Chicken Pulao

- Rawalpindi

This dish is now available on Cheetham Hill Rd Manchester under Savour Pilau.
Tried it yesterday was same as the Pindi one if you ask me.

This dish is now available on Cheetham Hill Rd Manchester under Savour Pilau.
Tried it yesterday was same as the Pindi one if you ask me.
Sadly for many of pindi walas, the product life cycle of savour pulao is complete. They need to expand their menu to biryani and qormas

IMG_9446.jpeg
gotta throw in some meetha as well :wenger

For me personally by far the best dessert of the subcontinent. Yes I know bold claim but I don’t care. Elevated ice cream to the next level- Falooda.