What brand of cricket should Pakistan play against New Zealand?

RyanRyan10

Should they include someone like Hurraira and play attacking & entertaining cricket?

Or

Should they become boring but effective like they were under Misbah in UAE?

Which allrounder should be persisted with and who should be dropped?

How many Pacers and spinners should they assemble in the line up?

Hurraira should be included either ways after the retirement of Azhar.

Its not about entertaining or boring, its about playing quality cricket with intent. Australia has been the most consistent side ever I believe and still is going strong, they dont go into the gimmicks of Bazball or playing slow etc. They groom players well, produce quality cricket, they put bad balls away even if its the first ball of the match and respect the good deliveries until they start feeling the momentum needs to shift which they have the quality to do so. They bowl consistently in good areas as per the wicket and understanding what's their biggest chance to take wickets on different surfaces and having a backroom staff decent enough to assist in all this.

So Pakistan needs to come out of the the extremes of entertainment and being boring rather should work towards playing cricket the way it should be and that is to be able to bowl 6 balls around the same spot consistently with decent seam position for seamers, revs for spinners, catching well, putting the bad balls away and defending the good balls and if the opposition is bowling really well then using bit of crease and angles to disrupt the bowlers lengths. This is just what basics of cricket are meant to be and Pak lacked that big time vs Eng.

OP thinks Huraira is some kind of Harry Brook who will score at a run a ball

Hurraira is another timid player. He will have a strike rate of 40 in international cricket

Wickets should be supportive and they need to come out of their comfort zone as the results were horrible in the kind of wickets they thought might work.

Select the three best seamers (Ideally one who can bat a bit), the best spinner they have and one spin bowling all rounder for that no 7 spot (Nawaz, Shadab if fit, Mubasir deserves long awaited debut or a batting all rounder but pointless if you are not gonna bowl him).

Hurraira is another timid player. He will have a strike rate of 40 in international cricket

If thats based upon Abdullah also having a 61 SR in QAE then I believe the point to note is that there is a difference in terms of how Abdullah and Hurraira approach the innings. The SR we look at in the QAE where one is at 66 and other at 61 tells only half the picture.

Abdullah's SR goes considerably up when he crosses 50 and until then its around 40s as an example his last innings for CP he scored 55 off 126 balls. On the other hand the last 50 Hurraira scored was 58* off 66 balls, he plays his shots (His range is wider) from the very start generally.

So overall there is a difference in terms of how they construct their innings. Hurraira is more expressive from the word go while Abdullah after he gets to his 50 opens up his range of strokes a but more.

OP is falsely assuming that Pakistan has the ability to play a different brands of cricket. This team is a joke, they do not have the luxury to pick a playing style. It is all about survival for them.

Having said that, Pakistan will do the worst possible tuk tuk against New Zealand because they will finally breathe a sigh of relief that the Bazball nightmare is over & New Zealand batsmen will not smash them around at 6 an over.

However, I would love to see New Zealand take inspiration from their former talismanic captain & attack Pakistani bowlers in the same fashion.

Rattle Pakistan & make them feel like Bazball never left the country. If they do it they can whitewash Pakistan as well & it would be absolutely beautiful to witness.

He smashed a double hundred at a strike rate of over 90 in QEA final. Also check Titan's response. You are underestimating the next big thing in Pakistan cricket. I had recommended Muhammad Haris for T20s and see what he did in the T20 WC :ua

They should play a positive brand of cricket. Players must be given the freedom to express themselves on the pitch and make headlines.

He smashed a double hundred at a strike rate of over 90 in QEA final. Also check Titan's response. You are underestimating the next big thing in Pakistan cricket. I had recommended Muhammad Haris for T20s and see what he did in the T20 WC :ua

Chalo

Yeah bhi aazma lete hain.

I am sure he will be too scared to bat with a sr of above 40.

The most suited style us fortress stadium designer copy brand.

All bling on the outside. Garbage inside.

I would say they should forfeit the series and they should hide in their homes.
Fans don't want to see their faces again.

They should be ashamed of themselves for playing like that.

They should play the brand of cricket they are know for and are comfortable with. They should play tuk tuk brand of cricket.

Rambo got shitz scared of bazball after first test and ordered sluggish spin tracks. Now that there is no question of bazball, expect roads like fist test throughout the NZ series.

Should be a dream series for the stats padding bats.

Attacking cricket is the only way to go. Versus England we were to afraid to take the fight to them. At least we won't be tortured to death by Azhar Ali anymore.

Mere bhai. Kis dunya main reh rahe hain aap?

How do you wish to play attacking cricket with Abdullah ‘technique’ Shafique and Shan ‘stylish’ Masood in your top 3 or 4?

Attacking cricket khelni hai tou out hone ka khauf dil se nikaalna pare ga

How do you expect a nation to change its batting DNA in the space of 5 days?

How do you wish to play attacking cricket with Abdullah ‘technique’ Shafique and Shan ‘stylish’ Masood in your top 3 or 4?

No matter what brand we play losing seems o be a certainty with this team. We should just play an attacking game even if we lose. No need to change anything other then the attitude.

Hurraira and Kamran Ghullam should be brought into the squad.

I think they should give Mubasir and Jamal a chance as the (all rounders)

I would include Mir Hamza,Sameen Gull and Ihsanullah and for experience I may recall Hassan Ali.

Pakistan should look to keep rotating strike and put the bad balls to the boundaries we can't expect them to go at anywhere close to 5 RPO but we can expect to get close to 3.5/4 RPO which is more realistic.

You can't it takes time and picking the right players which pakistan don't have.