What career paths have our fellow PP's taken?

Ali T

Administrator
What industry are you in and are you happy with your current job / role ?
Are there any regrets in the paths not taken ?

For me, I work as a commodity trader where we import and export agricultural commodities from Myanmar, Pakistan, West Africa and other regions. Quite enjoy the job with no major regrets. Sometimes we have to travel to funny countries which I don't particularly mind.

The industry in large is quite old and archaic in many ways so I do sometimes wonder what life would have been like if I ended up in the modern day tech world. Feel like it's a whole different ballgame. But then again I hardly know how to back up the storage on my iCloud so good luck to me.

What industry are you in and are you happy with your current job / role ?
Are there any regrets in the paths not taken ?

For me, I work as a commodity trader where we import and export agricultural commodities from Myanmar, Pakistan, West Africa and other regions. Quite enjoy the job with no major regrets. Sometimes we have to travel to funny countries which I don't particularly mind.

The industry in large is quite old and archaic in many ways so I do sometimes wonder what life would have been like if I ended up in the modern day tech world. Feel like it's a whole different ballgame. But then again I hardly know how to back up the storage on my iCloud so good luck to me.

In my previous life one of my shipping routes was Bagged Rice from Pakistan to West Africa, then bagged sugar from Brazil to East Africa/Yemen, followed by Phosphates from Aqaba (Jordan) back to Pakistan...
when everything was in line the only big ballast was from West Africa to Brazil..

In my previous life one of my shipping routes was Bagged Rice from Pakistan to West Africa, then bagged sugar from Brazil to East Africa/Yemen, followed by Phosphates from Aqaba (Jordan) back to Pakistan...
when everything was in line the only big ballast was from West Africa to Brazil..
Sounds fun !

We also do bagged rice and cement to WA from Pakistan and some containers exports from WA to other parts of the world.
Our company is also involved in operating / owning of vessels where we do freighting for others.

Sounds fun !

We also do bagged rice and cement to WA from Pakistan and some containers exports from WA to other parts of the world.
Our company is also involved in operating / owning of vessels where we do freighting for others.

Yeah I was in drybulk cargo shipping for twenty years... retired in 2014

Just starting out in the tech / software dev world myself. No regrets thus far, excited to see where it'll take me - hopefully someplace interesting (geographically).

I have been active in SEO and internet marketing industry for more than a decade and it has been going very well for me.

I am currently working as a technical writing associate for a manufacturing company.

But, this was not what I studied in college. My academic backgrounds were in both business and programming (did bachelor's in business and later on did a 2-year diploma in computer programming).

I didn't quite enjoy programming and so I am looking to change career again. Looking to get into data science field.

Working as a software developer for the past 15 years, it has been my passion and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

However you have to stay updated in tech industry to remain urself on track.

I am a semi pro cricketer and part time fashion model.

(Kehnay mein kia harj hai)

I do belong to legal profession and besides the practice in law, I have been working as a columnist and journalist over the years and has thoroughly enjoyed that stuff.

I'm curious what profession forum members are in.

Can help understand viewpoints

I have done these works since I started working in 2007:

Clerical/administrative jobs (2019-present)
Software development internship (2018-2019)
Restaurant kitchen jobs (2010-2017)
Flyer delivery (2011-2013)
Online freelance works (2008-2014)
Beach volleyball crew member (volunteer) (2007)
Door to door salesman for a painting company (2012)

So, I have done wide range of works over the years (both blue collar and white collar).

I am now looking to get a career in AI/machine learning/data science field. I am studying for that.

Recently moved to Corporate Strategy after several grueling years in Strategy Consulting. Did my MBA at an M7 (think HBS / Wharton / Kellogg / Columbia).

No big regrets. I don’t think I’ve achieved a lot in life (my peers / friends have very high expectations from me) and I don’t think I will. Especially now that I’m starting to prioritize work life balance.

I sometimes wish I was interested in and pursued computer engineering / coding. More money and less stress than your typical high flying MBA roles.

I am a Financial Accountant and I have been since 2017.

I do regret choosing this field, as there is a lot of competition and it is extremely hard to find a new job and progress in your career. I have been searching for a new job since 2021, but to no avail. I thank God that I currently have a decent job that pays me well enough to survive, but I want to further my career, but it is extremely hard to do so, where there is not much damn competition, not to mention the ever-increasing reliance on doing everything online, resulting in fewer and fewer jobs.

I think you are not the only one in this dilemma. Most young people are facing extreme challenges with AI looking on the horizon. I am old and probably don't have to worry about it but for the sake of my children, I am keeping an eye on this thread to see what careers are good for the future in the next 10-20 years.

Mainly work as a contractor/consultant now across different tch fields. Lots of free time, I'm in a position where I can pick and choose when/where I work. Could have pushed more and tried to get into top tier consultancy but didn't have it in me. I spend a lot of time arguing about the dangers of AI while actually using AI to do my work :inti

What career field would you recommend then for a high schooler in the western world? I think you are probably best situated to speak on the subject. What college majors are best recommended in the upcoming world of AI.

In IT integration, I like my job been doing it straight out of college , is there a future in it no idea but currently its decent.

Recently moved to Corporate Strategy after several grueling years in Strategy Consulting. Did my MBA at an M7 (think HBS / Wharton / Kellogg / Columbia).

No big regrets. I don’t think I’ve achieved a lot in life (my peers / friends have very high expectations from me) and I don’t think I will. Especially now that I’m starting to prioritize work life balance.

I sometimes wish I was interested in and pursued computer engineering / coding. More money and less stress than your typical high flying MBA roles.

Lol and I was thinking of doing MBA, did you do full time or online?

What career field would you recommend then for a high schooler in the western world? I think you are probably best situated to speak on the subject. What college majors are best recommended in the upcoming world of AI.
Bro genuine answer is I don't know. I am not from CS background. My own use of AI is for reports and slide decks. I am encouraging my nephews and cousins who are in school/college age to make their soft skills as sharp as possible. Every industry will be effected but I think if you are STEM + Law and Finance you can still go along way in any career. For every 5 jobs 4 will go and the one who has the most soft skills will stay imo. Avoid things like marketing, graphic design etc, they will be wiped out first.

I have similar views. I have a STEM background as well, and I noticed so far in the industry, AI is not the deathknell of everything we touch, although it might get there. Maybe another 15-20 years and I will be very close to retirement then, if not already retired.

Do not fear AI, learn to harness it. Like DV Bhai said, learn soft skills, but also, whatever industry you go into, if it has potential for AI, learn how to use AI in that space especially if it’s something more abstract like marketing, sales etc

If you can’t beat em, join them.

Certain careers will be unaffected by AI, others will either be swept away by it or enhanced if you learn to use it.

No, I do not work for Skynet.

Do not fear AI, learn to harness it. Like DV Bhai said, learn soft skills, but also, whatever industry you go into, if it has potential for AI, learn how to use AI in that space especially if it’s something more abstract like marketing, sales etc

If you can’t beat em, join them.

Certain careers will be unaffected by AI, others will either be swept away by it or enhanced if you learn to use it.

No, I do not work for Skynet.

Indeed.

I am mesmerized by AI. I am embracing it instead of fearing it. I am currently preparing toward a career in AI field.

As per DeepSeek, here are some potential AI careers:

=========================================

The field of Artificial Intelligence (AI) offers a wide range of career opportunities across industries such as technology, healthcare, finance, automotive, and more. Here are some of the most in-demand AI careers:

1. Core AI Research & Development Roles

• AI Research Scientist – Works on advancing AI algorithms, deep learning, and neural networks (often requires a PhD).
  • Machine Learning Engineer – Builds and deploys ML models for real-world applications.
  • Deep Learning Engineer – Specializes in neural networks, NLP, and computer vision.
  • Computer Vision Engineer – Develops AI systems for image and video recognition (e.g., facial recognition, autonomous vehicles).
  • Natural Language Processing (NLP) Engineer – Works on AI models for speech recognition, chatbots, and translation (e.g., GPT, BERT).

2. Data-Centric Roles

• Data Scientist – Uses statistical and ML techniques to extract insights from data.
  • Data Engineer – Builds data pipelines and infrastructure for AI/ML systems.
  • Big Data Engineer – Handles large-scale data processing for AI applications.

3. AI Application & Deployment Roles

• AI Software Developer – Integrates AI models into software applications.
  • Robotics Engineer – Develops AI-driven robots for automation and manufacturing.
  • Autonomous Systems Engineer – Works on self-driving cars, drones, and automation.

4. Business & Strategy Roles

• AI Product Manager – Oversees AI product development and strategy.
  • AI Consultant – Advises businesses on AI adoption and implementation.
  • AI Ethics & Policy Specialist – Ensures responsible AI development and compliance.

5. Emerging & Specialized AI Fields

• AI in Healthcare (Bioinformatics, Medical AI) – Develops AI for diagnostics, drug discovery, and personalized medicine.
  • AI in Finance (Quantitative Analyst, Algorithmic Trader) – Uses AI for trading, fraud detection, and risk assessment.
  • AI in Cybersecurity – Builds AI-powered threat detection systems.
  • Generative AI Engineer – Works on models like GPT, DALL-E, and diffusion models.

6. Support & Infrastructure Roles

• MLOps Engineer – Manages deployment, scaling, and monitoring of ML models.
  • AI Cloud Engineer – Implements AI solutions on cloud platforms (AWS, GCP, Azure).
  • AI Hardware Engineer – Designs chips (e.g., GPUs, TPUs) optimized for AI workloads.

Skills Needed for AI Careers

• Programming: Python, R, C++, TensorFlow, PyTorch.
  • Mathematics: Linear algebra, calculus, probability, statistics.
  • ML/DL: Supervised/unsupervised learning, neural networks, transformers.
  • Tools: Scikit-learn, Keras, Hugging Face, OpenAI API.
  • Big Data: SQL, Hadoop, Spark.
  • Soft Skills: Problem-solving, analytical thinking, collaboration.

Education & Pathways

• Entry-level: Bachelor’s in Computer Science, Data Science, or related fields.
  • Advanced roles: Master’s or PhD in AI, ML, or Robotics.
  • Alternative paths: Bootcamps, online courses (Coursera, Udacity), and certifications.

Well it's clear and obvious that some have chosen a life of bribery and corruption

2 Year Full time. I don’t regret it honestly. Why do you want to do an MBA?
Good on you to do full time.

On MBA , To move up the ladder of business decision making, strategies etc.

Right now kind of stuck in the Technical layer. Would want to mostly do Online with Flex probably.

Well it's clear and obvious that some have chosen a life of bribery and corruption
It’s considered to be a top one even in India- IAS IPS all the major officers.
Small level officers, heck other day I read some traffic cop made 700 crores worth of assets lol

It’s considered to be a top one even in India- IAS IPS all the major officers.
Small level officers, heck other day I read some traffic cop made 700 crores worth of assets lol
You're talking generally about India, I'm talking about certain posters 🫢

I'm in E commerce. I do performance marketing + Analyse store data via shopify reports and create strategies to increase sales.

I don't do any content marketing related work though such as landing pages, Seo etc etc.

I am.fine with paid ads.

Previously I wanted to pursue game development and animation and took a course in motion graphics and graphic design.

I can use photoshop, AE, Illustrator and a bit of unreal engine although I am now permanently satisfied with my field.

Running paid ads isnt hard and its easy

Anybody who chose veterinary medicine as a career here? I have never seen a desi person here in the profession.

Studied physics, ended up in banking after working in education, trading, and a boiler room. Within banking, I've worked in treasury, trading, investments, real estate, and dabbled in various other areas as and when needed.

Scared of dogs
A white lady teacher once asked me when all the Asian kids crossed the road when she walked the dog.

LOL!

I used to be scared of dogs. I remember I was once at a park and I started to run once I saw dogs. The dogs were not on leashes and they started to chase me. :yk

Anyway, I am now more comfortable with dogs. I think all the YouTube dog videos have helped me to overcome my fear of dogs.

Anybody who chose veterinary medicine as a career here? I have never seen a desi person here in the profession.
Desis throw rocks at a street dog if it barks at them, and know just how crazy a dog in the wild is. Anyone who chased or attacked by one before knows.

westerners sleep with them in the same bed. No surprise which one becomes vets. They’ve even cross breeded them for deformities to make them look cuter… strange people

Nothing against dogs if they are treated well and used for guarding and within Shariah bounds.

Desis throw rocks at a street dog if it barks at them, and know just how crazy a dog in the wild is. Anyone who chased or attacked by one before knows.

westerners sleep with them in the same bed. No surprise which one becomes vets. They’ve even cross breeded them for deformities to make them look cuter… strange people

Nothing against dogs if they are treated well and used for guarding and within Shariah bounds.​
I live near a university with the best veterinary medicine program in the country and tons of Muslims who study here (including overseas Muslims), some examples from the top of my head:

To begin with, every professional slaughterhouse in the world (Muslim or non-Muslim) has to have a veterinarian oversee the health of the animal (Halal or Haram) before it is slaughtered.

Every chicken Farm in Pakistan (over a certain limit) must have a veterinarian before license can be issued and same in Turkiye.​

All licensed "Halal" from Australia and New Zealand is inspected by veterinarian "post slaughter" before being shipped.

Every major zoo in the world has veterinarian on board.

Major commercial fisheries have veterinarians on board.

The British and Australian Halal (Government) boards both have Muslim veterinarians on board, those two I know, other countries probably do too...

I live near a university with the best veterinary medicine program in the country and tons of Muslims who study here (including overseas Muslims), some examples from the top of my head:

To begin with, every professional slaughterhouse in the world (Muslim or non-Muslim) has to have a veterinarian oversee the health of the animal (Halal or Haram) before it is slaughtered.

Every chicken Farm in Pakistan (over a certain limit) must have a veterinarian before license can be issued and same in Turkiye.​

All licensed "Halal" from Australia and New Zealand is inspected by veterinarian "post slaughter" before being shipped.

The British and Australian Halal (Government) boards both have Muslim veterinarians on board, those two I know, other countries probably do too...
Ah didn’t know that, good to know that such care is taken that they look for licenses

All my family is in to medical. As u said desis will treat any vet as scum. Even if they take dental thag kid wont be spared.so no chance of vet .lots of prestige and ego is involved. So families will spend fortune to make their kids as a doctor than dentist/vet.

Ah didn’t know that, good to know that such care is taken that they look for licenses
Every large animal which is slaughtered is inspected by veterinarian before slaughter by law in Australia, NZ, UK, US & Canada and then after slaughter the liver is tested on site for toxins. Then the meat is tested before International shipment to ensure proper freeing procedures.

Random checks are done on slaughter conditions, animals and gizzards of chicken. Western countries have different stunning procedures to equipment is checked pre and during stunning.

Have you never been to a farm and seen the process? :)

All my family is in to medical. As u said desis will treat any vet as scum. Even if they take dental thag kid wont be spared.so no chance of vet .lots of prestige and ego is involved. So families will spend fortune to make their kids as a doctor than dentist/vet.
True.

I did Medicine from a very good government medical college. Now Doing masters in public health and will try my hand at professional research.
I don't think there could have been another career I could have chosen. But even after 15 years in this profession, I still feel lost.

Most of those roles you have mentioned involve making sure the animal is ready to eat at the end :ROFLMAO:

It is rare to find a desi becoming the type of vet that involves making the animal healthy again.

In fact I have never met a desi life ever in the whole of the UK and my travels across the world.

My parents wanted me to do medicine. I wasn't interested. I am happy with my current profession.

But honestly id have my kids go into dentistry or medicine assuming they are passionate about it.

Dentistry preferably. No emergency, easier house jobs, and enough money + chill life.

They dont need to worry about excess Money, we already have way too much. I will take a stake from mapleleaf and kohinoor and supplement myself and them.

A pro in the STEM world. I don’t have regrets because my boyhood dream was to study at a reputable uni & train in the national cricket academy, it took me a while to achieve this goal; I also had the chance to avoid the 9 grand a year, but it would have meant not being able to go to the uni I wanted. Got into a decent company direct, avoiding the grad scheme which is brutally competitive and been there since, I’ve had the flexibility to move around internally which has kept me invigorated. You don’t get into STEM for the dough but for the love of the subject matter, after sometime you can reach a point where you’re comfortable, and hopefully I will get there to god willing (on paper I am, but the UK economy is still experiencing the after effects of drug abuse).

Would you consider opening your own practice one day? A friend of a friend did so recently, he lives at home with his parents still in an inner-city area so the expenses are low and he is putting everything into the business, I am not sure where his office is set up, though it wouldn’t shock me if it was his back garden shed. Keep at it bro, the positive with your role is you can scale as a self-employed pro when the circumstances allow. In my area, after I’ve done a few promotions iA my aim will be to marry the bosses daughter :ssa

Is he also your personal physician?
No he's a vet and actually a very good one who doesn't con people, isn't a supporter of crooks and complicit in the murder of millions of innocent poor people..

He's also an Arsenal fan and doesn't make stupid predictions about the team winning this and that only to run away when they've clearly been exposed as a fraud...

Given a choice, I think my life would be safer in his hands then someone claiming to be a doctor but actually becoming one to make money, have job security for life and not concerned about saving the lives of their patients...

Anyway, enjoy your Pawri

No he's a vet and actually a very good one who doesn't con people, isn't a supporter of crooks and complicit in the murder of millions of innocent poor people..

He's also an Arsenal fan and doesn't make stupid predictions about the team winning this and that only to run away when they've clearly been exposed as a fraud...

Given a choice, I think my life would be safer in his hands then someone claiming to be a doctor but actually becoming one to make money, have job security for life and not concerned about saving the lives of their patients...

Anyway, enjoy your Pawri
I can’t understand your language. All I am hear is bhao bhao bhao.

Would you consider opening your own practice one day? A friend of a friend did so recently, he lives at home with his parents still in an inner-city area so the expenses are low and he is putting everything into the business, I am not sure where his office is set up, though it wouldn’t shock me if it was his back garden shed. Keep at it bro, the positive with your role is you can scale as a self-employed pro when the circumstances allow. In my area, after I’ve done a few promotions iA my aim will be to marry the bosses daughter :ssa
IA, I do hope to open my own practice one day, but that would depend on how many clients I have and whether it would be profitable for me to open my own practice.

Do you know of any desi who chose the profession of a "certified zoo keeper" or a professional "firefighter"?
I am sure there will be some of those in the UK but I have yet to see one in the US.

IA, I do hope to open my own practice one day, but that would depend on how many clients I have and whether it would be profitable for me to open my own practice.
Best of luck to you on your endeavors, continue to work hard and evaluate your opportunities and you will progress.

Do you know of any desi who chose the profession of a "certified zoo keeper" or a professional "firefighter"?
I am sure there will be some of those in the UK but I have yet to see one in the US.
You have not seen any Muslim firefighters in US? Mohammad Salman Hamdani (Pakistani Muslim) died in 9/11

Asians overall don’t take such professions in US..

Sikhs and Haryanvi jatt do become firefighter though..in US..dunno abt zookeeper

Best of luck to you on your endeavors, continue to work hard and evaluate your opportunities and you will progress.

You have not seen any Muslim firefighters in US? Mohammad Salman Hamdani (Pakistani Muslim) died in 9/11
That is interesting, I honestly did not know about him. RIP to him and kudos. I was actually thinking specifically in terms of Pak-o-hind and I guess BD as well. Our people tend to be more money and comfort chasing people. I have seen Arabs in all sorts of professions but with "desis" its usually highly educated and qualified STEM or business professionals or personal business owners, very few beyond these categories.

Twelve years after moving to the United States from Bangladesh, Didarul Islam sought to join the ranks of the nation's largest police department because he "got inspired" by the "blanket" of protection the NYPD provided to his community, according to an essay he wrote as part of his police academy application.

Islam, 36, was one of four people killed in the July 28 (2025) mass shooting in an office building in Midtown Manhattan.

Asians overall don’t take such professions in US..

Sikhs and Haryanvi jatt do become firefighter though..in US..dunno abt zookeeper
That's interesting. I have never seen one myself in all these years. I am not questioning your view, just sharing a personal experience and I have spent time in quite a few states. I think the probability of Sikhs being in such professions in CALIRFORNIA is pretty high though. Yuba City has a massive Sikh population.

Truck drivers across US and Canada are dominated by Sikhs.

Twelve years after moving to the United States from Bangladesh, Didarul Islam sought to join the ranks of the nation's largest police department because he "got inspired" by the "blanket" of protection the NYPD provided to his community, according to an essay he wrote as part of his police academy application.

Islam, 36, was one of four people killed in the July 28 (2025) mass shooting in an office building in Midtown Manhattan.

I have seen plenty of desi cops. I think police is still a very well paid profession in terms of the overall benefits and pension and retirement packages, etc on offer. I don't mean to dilute or sully the sacrifice of this NYPD officer though. I think its still a very noble profession and I commend those who take it on.

Yup, Yuba city etc have Sikhs before partition but the ones I read is from NJ:

once again, another highly paid profession. Truck drivers make more than entry level STEM college graduates.
There is a lot of racism in US against Sikh truck drivers apparently from what I have read and also this profession is under threat due to driver less Trucks

Once again that's the threat of AI, isn't it? LOL.

I am not sure what this AI takeover curve would look like, but if you are a father, I would highly recommend exploring career options for your children right now and start planning. Highly educated and trained careers of surgeons to menial stuff like cabbies and truck drivers, all are facing competition from AI. I know there will always be a need for humans but the landscape will look very different in a few years.

Once again that's the threat of AI, isn't it? LOL.

I am not sure what this AI takeover curve would look like, but if you are a father, I would highly recommend exploring career options for your children right now and start planning. Highly educated and trained careers of surgeons to menial stuff like cabbies and truck drivers, all are facing competition from AI. I know there will always be a need for humans but the landscape will look very different in a few years.
Already happening in the schools, students are now expected to consult AI for their assignments in the US...see what our kids are doing at school already so they know the threat and are getting used to it.

AI is already having a devastating impact on all jobs and all sectors but in the short-to-medium term those who know the limits of AI will prosper.

See my post about using AI for PakPassion and its limitations in response to @emranabbas and @Major and see Dr @Mamoon pointing my mistake and displaying the limitations of AI

AI is no magic bullet and at this time research cannot be done based on AI as it is merely aggregating data for you.

Nobody can invent credible and irrefutable research from AI, for example nobody can invent evidence of non-corruption of Pakistani Military generals and politicians using AI because it doesn't exist.​

Already happening in the schools, students are now expected to consult AI for their assignments in the US...see what our kids are doing at school already so they know the threat and are getting used to it.

AI is already having a devastating impact on all jobs and all sectors but in the short-to-medium term those who know the limits of AI will prosper.

See my post about using AI for PakPassion and its limitations in response to @emranabbas and @Major and see Dr @Mamoon pointing my mistake and displaying the limitations of AI

AI is no magic bullet and at this time research cannot be done based on AI as it is merely aggregating data for you.

Nobody can invent credible and irrefutable research from AI, for example nobody can invent evidence of non-corruption of Pakistani Military generals and politicians using AI because it doesn't exist.​
I agree with that assessment. Anything that requires further research will always be more human centric than others but most jobs in the workplace are operations, services, manufacturing, etc. I think you can fit most professions in those three broader categories. Research is always going to be an outlier.

While true… tools made for research are getting eliminated.

Anthropic’s(Claude) research option is remarkable even with the limits, I have never ever seen anything like this.

I don’t know what will happen to our brains, we went from being able to recall to google to now research functions with AI.. but it’s extremely different, give it a try in any field you are in.

While true… tools made for research are getting eliminated.

Anthropic’s(Claude) research option is remarkable even with the limits, I have never ever seen anything like this.

I don’t know what will happen to our brains, we went from being able to recall to google to now research functions with AI.. but it’s extremely different, give it a try in any field you are in.
I think we are still in the early stages of figuring all this stuff out and our roles as workers in the workplace in the upcoming age of AI. I still feel like LordJames mentioned that there will always be the human centric approach to research overall using AI tools and perhaps that's where it will count the most, not exactly completely downplaying the role of AI in various forms of conclusion and decision making.

The observation you made about the functions of our brain is very interesting though. I was just thinking the other day that back in the day I had all the phone numbers and addresses, etc of family and friends memorized and now its very convenient to just put it somewhere on the phone and forget about it. I don't need to memorize directions anymore, I have GPS that does that for me. So the capacity of the brain is bound to be impacted by such stuff because at the end of the day its like a muscle and more you use it for such stuff, better and "well oiled" its state. But these days most of us are probably using it more to watch social media reels, entertainment based stuff on digital devices than the actual productive work at school or work.

Unfortunately I count myself in that group, if you happen to be in the minority staying away from such stuff and remaining old school, I have a lot of respect for you.

I think we are still in the early stages of figuring all this stuff out and our roles as workers in the workplace in the upcoming age of AI. I still feel like LordJames mentioned that there will always be the human centric approach to research overall using AI tools and perhaps that's where it will count the most, not exactly completely downplaying the role of AI in various forms of conclusion and decision making.

The observation you made about the functions of our brain is very interesting though. I was just thinking the other day that back in the day I had all the phone numbers and addresses, etc of family and friends memorized and now its very convenient to just put it somewhere on the phone and forget about it. I don't need to memorize directions anymore, I have GPS that does that for me. So the capacity of the brain is bound to be impacted by such stuff because at the end of the day its like a muscle and more you use it for such stuff, better and "well oiled" its state. But these days most of us are probably using it more to watch social media reels, entertainment based stuff on digital devices than the actual productive work at school or work.

Unfortunately I count myself in that group, if you happen to be in the minority staying away from such stuff and remaining old school, I have a lot of respect for you.
Last 1 year I have been studying how brain works(passtime), with the help of couple of books (Upward Spiral) and AI and you are right on how brain is getting impacted.

If you are unable to enjoy a lot of activities that excited you before, I can assure you its social media and the continuous dopamine producing activites.
Even if your work and challenges aren’t exciting you, and you reach out for the phone or procrastinate a lot of brain circuitry is unfortunately responsible.

The weirdest activity I have been told is stop frying/stimulating the brain, that even after I’m working/Studying, to take a break just relax by staring at an empty wall for 5 mins , insanely it actually worked and I felt amazing to get back to work/studying.

I do Instagram at night with my partner (time controlled), and it still affects me, nothing beats sleeping after reading.

The brain is getting affected, even the black cab drivers in London who had to memorise the map, had better brain health than us.

I’m sure you already noticed how older folks in US give directions in Intersection(lunch talk)..whereas the newer generation almost gives it in a retarded way.