What happens to Sarfaraz's vocal cords when it comes to the foreign players in the Quetta team?

Savak

World Star
We all know he loves to shout, tell off players as captain in the national team but don't see him behaving this way with the likes of Russow, Pietersen, Watson, Joffra?

Pretty cowardly to push around only people that you can while being a chicken in front of giants.

In Urdu, it's called Doglapan... Suddenly, that's not how he played his whole life.

In all honesty when was the last time you saw Sarfaraz mouth off to Malik or Hafeez? It's not about foreign vs domestic, rather seniors vs juniors.

Because they are not as close to him as the other players i doubt they even talk to each other that much.

In Urdu, it's called Doglapan... Suddenly, that's not how he played his whole life.

Exactly. This.

Apparently, he does not have the ability to control his anger against youngsters just because it's "against his nature."

Why would he yell at foreign players? It's obvious he is close with his team mates and at times loses his cool at them. If he does need to say something to a foreign player, he would do so with respect.

Probably because he only shouts at people he is close to. And he doesnt need to shout at 40 year old veterans who know what to do.

Lol it's true that he's more muted towards the guests (probably rightfully so). But the pakistani players in the national team are essentially his family, so he feels its okay to have a go at them.

There are two very valid reasons

He is not close to the foreign players and feels they might not understand his tone.

Language barrier. One can only be dominant in the language they are comfortable with

lol what a pointless thread

Sarfraz doesnt yell at Malik, Yasir or Professor either

what they have common ?

I dont know what games you guys watch, Sarfraz has yelled and at least raise his voice when it comes to Hafeez. "Hafeez BHAI (bhai with venom) sirf single tha yaar" has been said many times, and now he's dropped which shows how much he cares about this senior.

Why yell at Malik, how often do you see him mess up in the field ?

Probably because he only shouts at people he is close to. And he doesnt need to shout at 40 year old veterans who know what to do.

He only shouts at Anwar Ali domsetically and the "junior" players in the national team.

Poor thread. Some people want Sarfraz to shout at those who are helping Pakistan cricket and making PSL a good brand.

You know some threads show you just how bias some users are for a subject, or against the said subject.

This is one of them.

You guys are reading too much between the lines. He’s not comfortable speaking English. That’s why he don’t have enough words to exercise his vocal cords.

There's no witch hunt. Everybody in a public position is open to criticism.
Criticism just for the sake of it is not a good thing. Sarfraz has his own style and he should be allowed to exercise his rights as captain as he sees fit. He has shown a lot more potential as a LOI captain than Misbah did in four years. The constant criticism from media, fans etc will destroy his confidence.

What he does better than Misbah is not the point here. When he did well, he was applauded. When he is not doing well he will be criticized. If he is so sensitive and if the slightest of evaluations would "destroy" his confidence he should have opted for another job.

Also in his interviews he seems fine, it's just the fans that seem to be taking offence.

What he does better than Misbah is not the point here. When he did well, he was applauded. When he is not doing well he will be criticized. He was so sensitive and if the slightest of evaluations would "destroy" his confidence he should have opted for another job.

Also in his interviews he seems fine, it's just the fans that seem to be taking offence.
I guess you missed his emotional interview on GEO recently. The journalist under attack proceeded to promote Imad Wasim as Pakistan captain in his subsequent shows. I don't have an issue with opinions since it's everyone's right to have one, but it's time we put all our weight behind the person who is captaining our national team.

I guess you missed his emotional interview on a TV channel recently. The journalist under attack proceeded to promote Imad Wasim as Pakistan captain in his subsequent shows. I don't have an issue with opinions since it's everyone's right to have one, but it's time we put all our weight behind the person who is captaining our national team.

What did Sarfraz say?

I guess you missed his emotional interview on a TV channel recently. The journalist under attack proceeded to promote Imad Wasim as Pakistan captain in his subsequent shows. I don't have an issue with opinions since it's everyone's right to have one, but it's time we put all our weight behind the person who is captaining our national team.

If you want emotional things go watch the saas bahoo shows. His job is to be the best cricket captain in the country, thats what hes PAID to do. He has to be professional, lose those extra kilos and work on his fitness and batting instead of shouting at everyone junior than him.

Misbah kept getting attacked by everyone constantly for 7 years. About time we have the same standards for everyone. It's called retaliation.

It's with people he's comfortable

Misbah kept getting attacked by everyone constantly for 7 years. About time we have the same standards for everyone. It's called retaliation.

This isn't about retaliation or revenge. You do something wrong, you get called up on it. Nothing personal.

Saifi causing more heart burn..... Jab kuch nahi mila tou Sarfaraz chilata Kyun nahi hai. :))

You seem to have become too much of an anti Karachi/Imran/Pakistan troll off late. If someone does something wrong, they have to be criticized. Just like the Sharifs etc do. Your hate for certain aspects and love for others has rendered you blind.

I dont get it, retaliation against Sarfaraz because of how the fans/media treated Misbah? How does that even make sense?

If you want emotional things go watch the saas bahoo shows. His job is to be the best cricket captain in the country, thats what hes PAID to do. He has to be professional, lose those extra kilos and work on his fitness and batting instead of shouting at everyone junior than him.
I'm sure Sarfraz himself realises his short-comings and it remains to be seen how hard he works on them. Definitely needs to improve his fitness levels. But the way posters here rip him apart is quite sad. Calling him a specialist captain, a non-performer who doesn't deserve a place in the team and someone who plays his friends in the team. Stuff like that is uncalled for.

Personally I don't have a problem with him shouting at the players, since that's his style and it's something that keeps the players on their toes. Pakistani players have a habit of dozing off and need the danda.

Afridi and Misbah did a lot of damage to our LOI cricket. That's an established fact. Misbah was a wonderful test captain and player, but one of the worst LOI captains for Pakistan. The fact that his playing style irked a lot of people, while Pakistan kept sliding down the rankings in LOIs led to harsh criticism. Afridi somehow escapes criticism, but he too contributed to our downfall.

We seem to go through this debate with every captain. Inzamam spoke too little, Afridi spoke too much, Misbah spoke too little and now Sarfraz speaks too much.

Afridi and Misbah did a lot of damage to our LOI cricket. That's an established fact. Misbah was a wonderful test captain and player, but one of the worst LOI captains for Pakistan. The fact that his playing style irked a lot of people, while Pakistan kept sliding down the rankings in LOIs led to harsh criticism. Afridi somehow escapes criticism, but he too contributed to our downfall.

If Misbah's playing style irked a lot of people, then Sarfraz's bakwas also irks people. Don't cry.

I'm sure Sarfraz himself realises his short-comings and it remains to be seen how hard he works on them. Definitely needs to improve his fitness levels. But the way posters here rip him apart is quite sad. Calling him a specialist captain, a non-performer who doesn't deserve a place in the team and someone who plays his friends in the team. Stuff like that is uncalled for.

Personally I don't have a problem with him shouting at the players, since that's his style and it's something that keeps the players on their toes. Pakistani players have a habit of dozing off and need the danda.

He definetly is a specialist captain who doesn't want to work on his fitness and does choose his friends XI. Just look at the recently concluded T20 series. He shouts at the usual suspects, the Anwar Alis and Shafiqs each match but lo and behold they are there for the next match too.

like when your dad would shout at you but not your cousins, non story really.

If my cousins were playing alongside me , my dad should abuse them as much as me if they also make a mistake.

As a captain or leader in any sport you must treat all your team mates the same. This culture of seniors ruling juniors has led to disaster with many failed cricketers continue to play because they are older and more experienced.

The revolt against Wasim Akram in 1993 happened for this reason. But Wasim got what he deserved afterall he conspired to have Miandad removed from the captaincy in 1993.

He only shouts at Anwar Ali domsetically and the "junior" players in the national team.

Because juniors are still learning and can develop a bad lazy attitude. Veterans know what to do and are gone cases. Why shout at them?

Easier to shout at juniors

I haven't actually seen any cricketer ever abusing his seniors. His foreign team-mates like KP and Watson are as senior to him as he is to some of the Pakistan juniors, so wouldn't expect him to.

Also, I doubt he knows English as well as Urdu...and even otherwise it's probably more acceptable to insult people you are close to than random guys. I doubt Dhoni would be calling Watson or Hussey what he called Manish Pandey....

Lol @ people using "no speak English" as an excuse. Anyone that saw the video of Sarfaraz and Guptill in the recent 3rd T20 will know he has a colourful enough vocabulary in English.

He just respects Watto and KP and that's appreciable....
You must see how he talks with Rilee and Jofra, treats them same way as other Pak juniors
Gave a long stare to rilee last night when he midfielded.
But i liked this line.
"Watto sorry please go back there, sorry again Watto, sorry"

Not sure if Anwar Ali was playing as a specialist fielder or batsman yesterday... OR Maybe due to friendship with Sarfraz.

I guess it's the same for the Pakistan team, with only certain players being shouted at.

When the likes of Hafeez etc misfield, it's silence from the skipper.

Younger players will only take this for so long before there is a backlash.

I guess it's the same for the Pakistan team, with only certain players being shouted at.

When the likes of Hafeez etc misfield, it's silence from the skipper.

Younger players will only take this for so long before there is a backlash.

Its illogical to shout at veterans who have seen and done it all, dont you think?

The youngsters are new and learning and sometimes need a kick to not feel entitled and become lazy. Its not ideal, but having followed Pakistani cricket, its necessary.

Its illogical to shout at veterans who have seen and done it all, dont you think?

The youngsters are new and learning and sometimes need a kick to not feel entitled and become lazy. Its not ideal, but having followed Pakistani cricket, its necessary.

I disagree.

Why treat people differently if they are making the same mistakes.

Doesn't have the guts to shout at established players. Malik and Hafeez have made plenty of mistakes in the field during his captaincy, he doesn't seem to have a go at them like he will with Hasan or Shadab.

Lol @ people using "no speak English" as an excuse. Anyone that saw the video of Sarfaraz and Guptill in the recent 3rd T20 will know he has a colourful enough vocabulary in English.

So he should say that to Watto and KP?

Can’t digest a captain from Karachi. Whatever he does on the field, he does it for the team. He obviously has respect for senior players but he keeps the young ones on a leashe as they should be. We don’t need anymore Shahzad and Akmals.

I disagree.

I can tell my younger brother that he has made a mistake because i know he needs my guidance. I wont tell my elder brother that he made a mistake because i know he is more experienced than me and he knows what he needs to do.

Sarfraz's english is clearly not as good as his mother tongue for one, and because of that he doesn't have the same relationship with international players that he will with guys like Shadab, Hassan..

I disagree.

Sarfraz, like most kids, was raised learning to respect his elders. He seems like a guy who would always abide by these rules. Hence, he is a shareef insaan

Because juniors are still learning and can develop a bad lazy attitude. Veterans know what to do and are gone cases. Why shout at them?

Exactly. Seniors don't need a guy yelling at them after messing up.

Gale mein khich khich Vicks ki goli lo gale ki khich khich door karo!He needs a mint I suppose

If my cousins were playing alongside me , my dad should abuse them as much as me if they also make a mistake.

As a captain or leader in any sport you must treat all your team mates the same. This culture of seniors ruling juniors has led to disaster with many failed cricketers continue to play because they are older and more experienced.

Its all down to man management at the end of the day, Alex ferguson the greats football manager of all time was infamous for his hair dryer treatment, but when it came to certain individuals like Eric Cantona, Luis Nani etc he would tone it down because he knew how to get the best out of them, not sure sarfraz is as good of a leader yet :P but i hope he is using the same principles.