What has Imran Khan done for KPK?

MSaad1237

Local Club Regular
Anyone who has been to KPK or lives there can tell what has he done there??

What are the improvements that we can see in KPK??

He talks about health and education all the time and criticizes the Federal govt. for not doing enough in these sectors but has he applied his theories in KPK ?

Has KPK improved under him or regressed?

Thoughts??

I visit KP and Peshawar regularly and saw far more improvement there than ANP and MMA times but i am an outsider so i wanted to ask someone living there the same question thats why i asked GR yesterday in a thread and here is his reply:

ANP in his whole era, what did they do? Except distributing laptops among students, nothing. They didn't even provide street lights, forget other things.

While PTI did a tremendous job tbh. Especially in health sector, law and order, education and their projects to improve electricity conditions.

In the city of Abbotabbad, power is available for 24 hours, why? Because PTI introduced their own micro power plant there.

Now a MOU with China has been signed to improve the structure of Railway and to introduce new tracks, which will revolve around some 7,6 cities of KPK.

First, MRI facility was available at the cost of rs 11 thousand ( I dont know about other Provinces hospitals ) But now MRI is available only at the cost of RS 3000.

There is small city with Peshawar called as Kohat, which have it own Dam called as Tanda Dam. But now PTI is making an other Dam called as Zamir Gul Dam, almost 60 percent of work is completed.

Now a statutes model of all KPK universities has been prepared (for the first time) once it gets approval there will be great improvement (I can provide whole information about it if some one needs)

In 2014, there was some special force unit called as SCU, now it is termed as KPK jaguars unite, trained by Pak Army and US Navy seals.

Some months back i mentioned Sehat Sahulat program in KPK and people said it is just a dream, And now recently, this scheme is approved by Pervez Khattak.

For the first time a complete sports complex has been made in Charsadda with modern facilities.

They have increased the Salaries of doctor, and now even a fresh doctor who in other provinces earn 50-60 thousand (may be i am wrong) IN KPK they will earn 1 lakh and 20 thousand RS.

Some months back i mentioned Rashang, Battagram Power project, it is now completed and functioning also.

Umar Cheema a renowned transparency investigative journalist shared his own interaction with IG KPK Police sharing that there was NO POLITICAL interference with the KPK Police

Shaukat Khanum is on development stage and it will be operational next year In sha ALLAH to help people of KP and FATA get rid of this disease

And there are much more things.

Yes, every party do mistakes no doubt it. Even PTI some did mistakes, but if i compare their mistakes and their good work, then surely their good works are better and greater than their mistakes.

And InshAllah PTI will win next elections comfortably in KPK.

I visit KP and Peshawar regularly and saw far more improvement there than ANP and MMA times but i am an outsider so i wanted to ask someone living there the same question thats why i asked GR yesterday in a thread and here is his reply:

That looks like a very commendable list of accomplishments if true.

Any thing they do in KP will be better than the traitors of teh ANP. who can remember bilors comments about the railways? All the PTI are doing is governing as expected and they are doing a good job. Its not quick and easy but they are laying the foundations for long term development in the province. Hopefully our pakthun bhai can see this and are not taken in by the sher propaganda.

Overall it seems Sindh is in major danger of falling behind the other three provinces. Balochistan has the advantage of being a focal point for CPEC and pakistans desire to reign in restive sardars. The population is low so its a bit more manageable than say punjab. Punjab has badhsah salaamat shehbaz sharif in charge so at least lahore islamabad and perhaps some of the other big cities will get some attention. Sindh is a backwater. I lived in karachi in the 80's and i was watching a program broadcast from nine zero the other day. Karachi still looks the same in those area's.

His funding of terrorist curriculum aside and support of Taliban due to fear perhaps. He has built a cancer hospital which will go a very long way and that is something he should be applauded for. There is a lot of merit at grassroot level which is highlighted heavily even by Peshawar cricket teams in domestic tournaments. They have become top dog and keep winning tournaments.

The cancer hospital has nothing to do with his role in government of KPK, which is what the OP wants to talk about.

read GR post he lives there

There's definitely some good things PTI has done in KPK, obviously much more than their predecessors ever did. I myself have always been politically inclined towards IK because I thought him the one-eyed man in the land of the blind. But his ambiguous stance on terrorism and policies on the quality and kind of education are no trivial failings. For me, they're almost a deal-breaker.

Brilliantly put and mirrors my sentiments almost exactly. There has been a visible albeit still relatively minor improvement in law and order, healthcare and infrastructure but two things make it impossible to support the party: the first is the choice of chief minister. For a party whose entire political platform is centered on anti-corruption, Pervez Khattak is a really poor choice of CM. The second, more important, issue is the support for extremist elements, especially the fact that they're allowed to interfere with the education system. I was a supporter of PTI starting in the Mush era but as the 2013 election drew closer and they allied themselves with Jamat e Islami, I found myself a little concerned about their policies with regards to extremism but still ended up voting for IK despite my apprehensions, giving them the benefit of the doubt, thinking that maybe it was just politically expedient for them to ally themselves with JI. After they took over though, the alliance only strengthened and once IK abdicated his NA-1 seat, I had no hesitation voting for the ANP candidate despite them being legendary for their corruption because a corrupt secular politician > an honest extremist any day. The last time JI was allowed to dictate social policy and interfere with the education system was during Zia's regime and their actions back then are bearing fruit today in the form of an entire generation of extremists, aptly dubbed the Taliban generation by Sharmeen Chinoy, so while their clean governance platform is appealing, the pandering to the religious right is a deal breaker, especially when those elements are being allowed to interfere with the education system.

In a Fair Electoral System PTI will grab 97 % of Public Mandate in KPK and permanent killa Gaarh daey gee Fazlooeeaat k Baab pe.

They are doing Great in KPK.

Best Provincial Government of Pakistan by a Huugeee Margin.

Brilliantly put and mirrors my sentiments almost exactly. There has been a visible albeit still relatively minor improvement in law and order, healthcare and infrastructure but two things make it impossible to support the party: the first is the choice of chief minister. For a party whose entire political platform is centered on anti-corruption, Pervez Khattak is a really poor choice of CM. The second, more important, issue is the support for extremist elements, especially the fact that they're allowed to interfere with the education system. I was a supporter of PTI starting in the Mush era but as the 2013 election drew closer and they allied themselves with Jamat e Islami, I found myself a little concerned about their policies with regards to extremism but still ended up voting for IK despite my apprehensions, giving them the benefit of the doubt, thinking that maybe it was just politically expedient for them to ally themselves with JI. After they took over though, the alliance only strengthened and once IK abdicated his NA-1 seat, I had no hesitation voting for the ANP candidate despite them being legendary for their corruption because a corrupt secular politician > an honest extremist any day. The last time JI was allowed to dictate social policy and interfere with the education system was during Zia's regime and their actions back then are bearing fruit today in the form of an entire generation of extremists, aptly dubbed the Taliban generation by Sharmeen Chinoy, so while their clean governance platform is appealing, the pandering to the religious right is a deal breaker, especially when those elements are being allowed to interfere with the education system.

Do you think pti govt would have existed without JI?

Yes. They were one seat shy of an absolute majority in the KPK assembly so all they needed was to get one independent candidate or an ANP lota.

Do you think 1 member would have sufficed in the presence of groupings, forward block scenario and Maulana sahib?

By the way, would you mind just mentioning the huge changes which have been brought in the curriculum by this govt since ANP regime?

I can understand ANP logic behind corruption in funds for Mosques/Madrisa (probably they think those funds are better for their pockets than Masjid/Madria) but ANP even did corruption in weapons and bullet proof jackets orders for Police? how low can someone stoop? You want those brave soldiers to stand between you and those TTP butchers but you are eating even their funds? Really shameful

One thing i don't understand is even though critics claim Imran is a Taliban Khan (in past his views were different and i criticized him a lot but it's changed now) so how come majority of non muslims and even Ahmedi community of the country stands with him if he is an extremist?

Mullahs : Yahoodi agent and Zaani

Liberals & Secular: Taliban Khan

PMLN: Establishment ka banda and Ahmedi/Qadiani agent

Others: MI6 and Indian agent

surely he must be doing something right if he is a bad guy in every ones book? :13:

One thing i don't understand is even though critics claim Imran is a Taliban Khan (in past his views were different and i criticized him a lot but it's changed now) so how come majority of non muslims and even Ahmedi community of the country stands with him if he is an extremist?

People only remember those things which suits their agendas :)

surely he must be doing something right if he is a bad guy in every ones book? :13:

You know, when every one is against you then you must be doing something right :)))

Do you think 1 member would have sufficed in the presence of groupings, forward block scenario and Maulana sahib?

By the way, would you mind just mentioning the huge changes which have been brought in the curriculum by this govt since ANP regime?

Yes. With that one member PTI would have 50% of the seats, making it impossible for them to be outvoted unless their own members voted against the party line so maulana sahibs would be irrelevant.

As for the curriculum, there have been two major rounds of changes and last I heard JI wanted to change it further though the issue went quiet. I don't have a comprehensive list but off the top of my head, Jihad is back in the books after ANP removed it, replacement of good morning etc with Assalamualaikum, removal of all portrayals of girls with uncovered heads and inclusion of quranic verses in chemistry textbooks.

Mullahs : Yahoodi agent and Zaani - Old news. Now they're usually on his side with the exception of JUI walas.

Liberals & Secular: Taliban Khan - True. We do see him that way.

PMLN: Establishment ka banda and Ahmedi/Qadiani agent - It's freaking PML, does their opinion really matter? There's some truth to the 'establishment' accusation(I'm still convinced the original dharna was ISI sponsored) but then PML owes its existence to establishment. As do PPP(Ayub) and MQM(Zia). The Ahmadi agent accusation is ridiculous considering that he's made it amply clear that he's with the mullahs on this one.

Others: MI6 and Indian agent - Come on, now you're just making things up to feed the victim complex. I can't remember the last time he was accused of either of those things.

surely he must be doing something right if he is a bad guy in every ones book? :13: - The only people doing 'something right' are the ones accused of being 'ghaddar/Indian agent'. Rest are all taking different paths to the same crappy destination.

Mullahs : Yahoodi agent and Zaani - Old news. Now they're usually on his side with the exception of JUI walas.

Liberals & Secular: Taliban Khan - True. We do see him that way.

PMLN: Establishment ka banda and Ahmedi/Qadiani agent - It's freaking PML, does their opinion really matter? There's some truth to the 'establishment' accusation(I'm still convinced the original dharna was ISI sponsored) but then PML owes its existence to establishment. As do PPP(Ayub) and MQM(Zia). The Ahmadi agent accusation is ridiculous considering that he's made it amply clear that he's with the mullahs on this one.

Others: MI6 and Indian agent - Come on, now you're just making things up to feed the victim complex. I can't remember the last time he was accused of either of those things.

surely he must be doing something right if he is a bad guy in every ones book? :13: - The only people doing 'something right' are the ones accused of being 'ghaddar/Indian agent'. Rest are all taking different paths to the same crappy destination.

There were Ahmedi supporters who came during dherna days to support IK and PMLN and Mullahs made hard for him. (i still remember it like yesterday but you can google it for more details)

I guess you missed all those news where he was labeled as MI6 agent and getting married with Reham Khan was part of that MI6 master plan according to some :P

Some also portrayed him as RAW/Indian agent for his soft views against them in past and when he use to appear frequently in indian program.

No victim card being played here yes he made blunder but nobody is perfect and IMO his biggest mistake was not supporting Swat operation and standing with PMLN asking for talks and more talks without any results.

There were Ahmedi supporters who came during dherna days to support IK and PMLN and Mullahs made hard for him. (i still remember it like yesterday but you can google it for more details)
A brilliant opportunity to stand for what's right and call the Mullahs out on their bigotry but for someone who claims to stand for his principles, it was disappointing to see him do what was politically expedient. It wasn't even the first time. I don't remember the specifics but around the time of the 2013 elections he made some anti ahmadi statements if I'm not mistaken.

I guess you missed all those news where he was labeled as MI6 agent and getting married with Reham Khan was part of that MI6 master plan according to some :P
Those were from the looniest of loons, not by any serious players. I usually disregard such rubbish given the sheer volume of it we get even from the major players.

Some also portrayed him as RAW/Indian agent for his soft views against them in past and when he use to appear frequently in indian program.
I remember, this was long before the elections in 2013. As the elections grew closer, he made a very public shift to the religious right and the accusations died down well before the elections.

No victim card being played here yes he made blunder but nobody is perfect and IMO his biggest mistake was not supporting Swat operation and standing with PMLN asking for talks and more talks without any results.
That was one blunder but by no means the biggest. The biggest blunders IMO were (a)laying down for JI and (b)funding the Taliban University, especially considering that just a week or so after the Rs. 300 million were allocated to Taliban-U, 14 girls colleges in KPK were shut down due to a Rs. 280 million funding shortfall.

This is False Information.

Ahmadi Muslims do not Vote in Pakistan since 1974 and So they need not to take part in any Political Jalsas or any Protests.

This is just a way to Malign Imran Khan by Anti PTI elements who want to Potray Ahmadi Muslims as Jewish Agents and to say that Imran Khan is also a Jewish Agent.

We are not allowed to take part in any Street Agigation in Pakistan by our Universal Head and we do not take part in any.

Ideologically Some of Us aa Pakistani's Support Imran Khan as a Politician because of His Financial Honesty and his Leading from front attitude wrt eliminating Human Sufferings.

We as a Community do not Support Imran Khan's stance about Zaalim's and we also raise our voice on Imran Khan's lack of Courage to speak up against Unislamic and Inhumane Blasphemy Laws & 1985 Ordinance because He does not want to lose support of fundamentalist, radicalist voters because alot of JI & JUI voters of past denounced them to support IK.

Imran Khan in his last interview ducked two imp questions by Mehdi Hasan again.

There are two Hypothesis :

1. People say He is a Hypocrite so He does not Speak Up.

Or

2. People Say He has fear of Life and Fear of Voters leaving him so he refrains from Saying the Truth.

This is False Information.

Ahmadi Muslims do not Vote in Pakistan since 1974 and So they need not to take part in any Political Jalsas or any Protests.

This is just a way to Malign Imran Khan by Anti PTI elements who want to Potray Ahmadi Muslims as Jewish Agents and to say that Imran Khan is also a Jewish Agent.

We are not allowed to take part in any Street Agigation in Pakistan by our Universal Head and we do not take part in any.

Ideologically Some of Us aa Pakistani's Support Imran Khan as a Politician because of His Financial Honesty and his Leading from front attitude wrt eliminating Human Sufferings.

We as a Community do not Support Imran Khan's stance about Zaalim's and we also raise our voice on Imran Khan's lack of Courage to speak up against Unislamic and Inhumane Blasphemy Laws & 1985 Ordinance because He does not want to lose support of fundamentalist, radicalist voters because alot of JI & JUI voters of past denounced them to support IK.

Imran Khan in his last interview ducked two imp questions by Mehdi Hasan again.

There are two Hypothesis :

1. People say He is a Hypocrite so He does not Speak Up.

Or

2. People Say He has fear of Life and Fear of Voters leaving him so he refrains from Saying the Truth.

So that was just a false propaganda by Mullahs and PMLN against him during dherna days?

What about your opinion? Do you think he should come in public and say the truth even if it result in him losing majority of support and country going back to PPP vs PMLN?

btw i have seen Ahmedi community and also many non muslims supporting him on social media so i guess they still think there is a good leader inside him and not a Taliban khan?

A brilliant opportunity to stand for what's right and call the Mullahs out on their bigotry but for someone who claims to stand for his principles, it was disappointing to see him do what was politically expedient. It wasn't even the first time. I don't remember the specifics but around the time of the 2013 elections he made some anti ahmadi statements if I'm not mistaken.

Yes He did and next Day He fell from the Stage sadly.

But He had no choice but to make those statements because once You are tagged as Ahmadi apologist in Pakistan than you are being given the Picture of being a Jewish Agent.

And if you are stamped as a Jewish Agent in Pakistan than you lose all the Right wing vote :-)

When IK read that Atif Mian an Overseas Pakistani Ahmadi Muslim has been named amongst Top 25 Under 45 Economists of the World than he in a Public Meeting said that He will make him Finance Minister once New Pakistan is made. At that time IK did not know that Atif Mian is an Ahmadi Muslim.

There was huge Hue and Cry in Pakistan by Right Wing that He intends to give financial matters of country in the hand of a Jewish Agent :-)

And than IK had to retract his Words and Had to give a Witness to Awaam un Naas on a theological Issue and say that Ahmadi's are not Muslim and He did not know that Atif is an Ahmadi so ( unlike Quaid e Azam Pakistan cannot have a Jewish Agent ;-) as federal minister)

40 years Old Atif is Professor of Economics at Princeton University and also Director of Julis-Rabinowitz Centre for Public Policy & Finance. He has never ever met Imran or even talked with him.

Yes He did and next Day He fell from the Stage sadly.

But He had no choice but to make those statements because once You are tagged as Ahmadi apologist in Pakistan than you are being given the Picture of being a Jewish Agent.

And if you are stamped as a Jewish Agent in Pakistan than you lose all the Right wing vote :-)

When IK read that Atif Mian an Overseas Pakistani Ahmadi Muslim has been named amongst Top 25 Under 45 Economists of the World than he in a Public Meeting said that He will make him Finance Minister once New Pakistan is made. At that time IK did not know that Atif Mian is an Ahmadi Muslim.

There was huge Hue and Cry in Pakistan by Right Wing that He intends to give financial matters of country in the hand of a Jewish Agent :-)

And than IK had to retract his Words and Had to give a Witness to Awaam un Naas on a theological Issue and say that Ahmadi's are not Muslim and He did not know that Atif is an Ahmadi so ( unlike Quaid e Azam Pakistan cannot have a Jewish Agent ;-) as federal minister)

40 years Old Atif is Professor of Economics at Princeton University and also Director of Julis-Rabinowitz Centre for Public Policy & Finance. He has never ever met Imran or even talked with him.

Yep, that's the one I was talking about. The economist he wanted on his team but then he did a U-turn upon finding out that the guy was Ahmadi.

Not talking about right or wrong here but what you think how much vote bank he is going to lose if he openly support Ahmedi community in Pak as a national leader? Going by the general attitude of nation i can safely say in my opinion if he do that it will be his last day in national politics and his KP govt will come to an end and he will have to spend a year or two outside Pakistan before thing calm down here.

True. Our public is fairly extremist and that extremism has now reached a point where it's a greater threat to the country than terrorist organizations. Terrorists can only do so much damage but if the majority of the population are extremists, there's no coming back from that. This, then, begs the question as to what he's doing about it? No party is more responsible for the prevalence of extremism in the country than Jamat e Islami, whose leaders were at the forefront of policy making and educational reforms during the Zia era and the generations that grew up in the years after Zia were shaped more by JI than every other party combined. So what did PTI do? They allowed JI to do the exact same thing, that is go to town on the school curriculum, on two separate occasions and possibly a third time too though no details are available on that front yet. This is why I don't like them. They keep repeating their mantra of endorsing extremist parties and policies for purely pragmatic reasons but where they have a chance to do something about it, they further strengthen the extremists instead of taking the opportunity to weaken their stranglehold on power.

Agree with most of your text but unfortunately things are out of control now our leaders and nation look confused in some of these cases. PTI is doing some mistakes and keep on repeating them but even our so called secular and liberal parties were found supporting extremists whenever they needed support for example back in 90s era Bibi and her right hand Naseerullah Babar supported Taliban movement but they hardly get criticized for it. ANP also provided funds for Madrisas during their govt and also did seat adjustment with parties like JUIF where they thought they can beat PTI with a bit of support.

Sadly in Pakistan it's more about winning and remaining in power even if you have to go against your own views.

Agree with most of your text but unfortunately things are out of control now our leaders and nation look confused in some of these cases. PTI is doing some mistakes and keep on repeating them but even our so called secular and liberal parties were found supporting extremists whenever they needed support for example back in 90s era Bibi and her right hand Naseerullah Babar supported Taliban movement but they hardly get criticized for it. ANP also provided funds for Madrisas during their govt and also did seat adjustment with parties like JUIF where they thought they can beat PTI with a bit of support.

Sadly in Pakistan it's more about winning and remaining in power even if you have to go against your own views.

BB and Nasirullah Babar didn't just support the Taliban, they freaking created them. No one is more worthy, with the possible exception of Hamid Gul, of the title of 'father of the Taliban' than Nasirullah Babar. The reason they don't get criticized for it is that PPP has cultivated this image of a relatively moderate party that is opposed to terrorism of all kinds so not many people know their true history. Even before that, ZAB was sending Islamist jihadis in Afghanistan, well before the Soviet invasion which people now claim led to our policy of supporting terrorists.

ANP, again, is hardly a model of secular values. In Pakistan, terms like liberal and secular are relative because what passes for liberalism in Pakistan is well right of center by the standards of the civilized world. In Pakistan, even the most liberal party has a religious angle because they're not really liberal, they're just relatively liberal compared to the rest.

Yes. With that one member PTI would have 50% of the seats, making it impossible for them to be outvoted unless their own members voted against the party line so maulana sahibs would be irrelevant.

As for the curriculum, there have been two major rounds of changes and last I heard JI wanted to change it further though the issue went quiet. I don't have a comprehensive list but off the top of my head, Jihad is back in the books after ANP removed it, replacement of good morning etc with Assalamualaikum, removal of all portrayals of girls with uncovered heads and inclusion of quranic verses in chemistry textbooks.

Things don't move here so smoothly. There is still a kind of forward block within PTI in KPK. Majority by one or two votes would have left the government too weak. The kind of ehtisaab commission, transparency and withholding of development funds of lawmakers that Imran wants is still not possible because of political expediency.

I know your liberal views and you have a right to vote whatever you think is best. But do you think majority of KPK awaam would even mind these changes?
During my school days in Punjab we also used to have a Jihad chapter in Islamiat. And the chapter mentioned different types of Jihad like Jihad-bil-nafs, Jihad-bil-qalm etc....

IK is not so naive, he would never hurt his chances by going against the majority of right-wingers. Liberals like you my friend,may be in thousands all over Pakistan, don't matter to him.

they are doing great work in health department trying to bring reforms,,giving doctors extra pay to go to perepheries...now health card for the poor.some good work z being done here .....

BB and Nasirullah Babar didn't just support the Taliban, they freaking created them. No one is more worthy, with the possible exception of Hamid Gul, of the title of 'father of the Taliban' than Nasirullah Babar. The reason they don't get criticized for it is that PPP has cultivated this image of a relatively moderate party that is opposed to terrorism of all kinds so not many people know their true history. Even before that, ZAB was sending Islamist jihadis in Afghanistan, well before the Soviet invasion which people now claim led to our policy of supporting terrorists.

ANP, again, is hardly a model of secular values. In Pakistan, terms like liberal and secular are relative because what passes for liberalism in Pakistan is well right of center by the standards of the civilized world. In Pakistan, even the most liberal party has a religious angle because they're not really liberal, they're just relatively liberal compared to the rest.

Spot on, took the words out of my mouth right there.

Well-said. The role of JI can not be overestimated in laying down the roots of violent fundamentalism in this region. And to see IK reinvigorating Zia's legacy... that's just beyond the pale.

Things don't move here so smoothly. There is still a kind of forward block within PTI in KPK. Majority by one or two votes would have left the government too weak. The kind of ehtisaab commission, transparency and withholding of development funds of lawmakers that Imran wants is still not possible because of political expediency.
If that is so, the alliance with JI would be insufficient too since all they bring to the table are 6 seats. PTI has done a lot of unsavory things for political expediency but the alliance with JI is not one of them. That was ideological.

I know your liberal views and you have a right to vote whatever you think is best. But do you think majority of KPK awaam would even mind these changes?
During my school days in Punjab we also used to have a Jihad chapter in Islamiat. And the chapter mentioned different types of Jihad like Jihad-bil-nafs, Jihad-bil-qalm etc....
This has nothing to do with my views. If we disregard my personal opinions and look strictly at the issue at hand, it's clear that allowing JI anywhere near schoolbooks has disastrous consequences. The last time it happened on a large scale, our schools produced an entire generation of extremists. This is not about the will of the KPK awaam either. In a republic, one of the duties of elected representatives, aside from implementing the will of the people who elected them, is to not allow said will to be implemented if it involves violating the rights of others, against the national interest or threatens national security. This particular act has been conclusively proven to threaten both our national interest and security since it's not the first time and we have results from previous such attempts to use as a benchmark.

IK is not so naive, he would never hurt his chances by going against the majority of right-wingers. Liberals like you my friend,may be in thousands all over Pakistan, don't matter to him.
I'm aware of that. This is why I don't associate with any political party in this country.

If that is so, the alliance with JI would be insufficient too since all they bring to the table are 6 seats. PTI has done a lot of unsavory things for political expediency but the alliance with JI is not one of them. That was ideological.

This has nothing to do with my views. If we disregard my personal opinions and look strictly at the issue at hand, it's clear that allowing JI anywhere near schoolbooks has disastrous consequences. The last time it happened on a large scale, our schools produced an entire generation of extremists. This is not about the will of the KPK awaam either. In a republic, one of the duties of elected representatives, aside from implementing the will of the people who elected them, is to not allow said will to be implemented if it involves violating the rights of others, against the national interest or threatens national security. This particular act has been conclusively proven to threaten both our national interest and security since it's not the first time and we have results from previous such attempts to use as a benchmark.

I'm aware of that. This is why I don't associate with any political party in this country.

Not only JI but QWP are also included in the government in spite of QWP leaving the coalition some months back. Nevertheless, PTI never gave any indication of being on the left side, why did you vote them in previous elections?

But we still are not sure if those changes have actually been appointed or are only still at planning stage or are we? But on a side note i think disliking Assalam-o-Alaikum is as much extremism as is removal of good morning.

Not only JI but QWP are also included in the government in spite of QWP leaving the coalition some months back. Nevertheless, PTI never gave any indication of being on the left side, why did you vote them in previous elections?
I mostly voted against my better judgement for lack of a better option in the hope that they might become a bit more moderate once in power but that proved not to be the case. The other options were TTFs like ANP, PPP and JI.

But we still are not sure if those changes have actually been appointed or are only still at planning stage or are we? But on a side note i think disliking Assalam-o-Alaikum is as much extremism as is removal of good morning.
Are you willing to wait and see until this poisonous tree starts producing fruit? I don't see assalam u alaikum in particular as a bad thing. I still use it out of habit on a daily basis but teaching it as the only acceptable way to greet is a bit excessive. This is just one cog in a machine that indoctrinates children into a particularly hardline version of Islam, something we have past experience with and the results are hardly encouraging.

It's quite funny when people think Imran Khan's support is due to him being a cricketer only. How many seats did he win in first 15 years of his career after retiring as a successful cricketer/captain of winning team? 1 or 2?

Also, if PTI wins elections in KPK again then this ghissa pita argument "Imran ne KPK main kya kar liya" will die it's natural death.

I haven't been able to find the post from around the 2013 elections, but someone here predicted that the Jamaatias were going to go after the curriculum in KP, and that prediction has come true. There is past precedent too: they got to interfere massively in the curriculum during the Zia days, and the result was that an entire generation emerged out of school educated yet mullahfied. I've mentioned it in the past too, but if you can get your hands on textbooks from the 60's and 70's, it will be an eyeopener. There is such a striking contrast between what was taught before and what was taught after the Jamaatia influence. They know how to play the waiting game.

The Jamaatias are perhaps the most seasoned politicians in the country. They undergo rigorous training from childhood, not just in politics but in thuggery and arm twisting, and together that is a potent combination. They've got supposedly disgruntled Jamaatias to infiltrate every political party in the land, and even if those cadres are genuinely disgruntled, the saying goes that you can take the Jamaatia out of Jamaat but never the Jamaat out of the Jamaatia.

PTI supporters here have tried to rationalize IK's reliance on the Jamaatias. What is more important is the Jamaatia's intentions in joining him. One can only speculate, because there aren't any overt members here, but this alliance has benefited them immensely. They've been able to whitewash their crimes by associating themselves with IK. In recent times I've seen praise for them on social media from educated, urban types. That would've been unthinkable twenty years ago.

An event I keep thinking back about were the "negotiations" the government was conducting with TTP before Peshawar happened. The government team was led by Irfan Siddiqui, a man with barely-concealed Jamaatia leanings and sympathies. The TTP team included an actual card-carrying Jamaatia. Smoothing the wheels was Sandwich Sammy, shuttling between the TTP and Islamabad, presumably on government money. Is it any wonder that Siddiqui said after one of the meetings that it didn't feel like there were two committees, they all felt they were one committee. And why not, considering the Jamaatias were effectively on both sides. Or the same side, as Siddiqui said.

Lest anyone forget, IK is in government with JI, and gave hundreds of millions to Sandwich Sammy. The same JI and Sandwich Sammy who represented TTP, an entity that is supposedly Public Enemy No. 1, and an entity we're supposedly at war with. Maybe he should've just accepted their nomination to their committee and ended this farce.

PTI and IK has given KP and peshawar as their model / prototype whatever...Not sure IK will win as i think because certain ppl doesnt like improvement and wish for bad to continue...Same like in India , AAP gives Delhi as a model/prototype but it will fall on blind eyes , deaf ears and dumb mouths..enough said..

Well said.

It takes a while to progress. You can't really expect overnight improvements to a decades old structure.

Anyone who has been to KPK or lives there can tell what has he done there??

What are the improvements that we can see in KPK??

He talks about health and education all the time and criticizes the Federal govt. for not doing enough in these sectors but has he applied his theories in KPK ?

Has KPK improved under him or regressed?

Thoughts??

Fake Promises and Lies are his Turra e imtiaz Post 2014.

Peshawar is the Capital of KPK and the largest Hospital Lady Reading Hospital has these facilities :

1 Incubator for 4 newborn babies in need of Incubator.

Absolutely Shameful.

This is why Election Commission has barred Political Parties from airing any performance based advertisements on Electronic Media in run up to the elections. Because this is the performance to show.

Compare this with Hospitals of even Jehlum, Okara, Chiniot & South Punjab Hospitals of Punjab which aren't even amongst Top 10 Cities of Punjab development wise.

https://www.dawn.com/news/amp/1410146

• Screenshot_20180527-233408.jpg
    Screenshot_20180527-233408.jpg
    267.6 KB · Views: 600
After 5 years these are his stunning achievements in Health Sector. And this man claimed to make Pakistan a Welfare State whereas in 5 years He failed to equip capital's hospital with Incubators and failed to provide DNA kits to forensic laboratory of KPK and begs Punjab government for help in forensic medicolegal technical aid.

This is the change derailed IK promised.

Lack of medical facilities in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa puts lives of newborns at risk

Two, three or at times even more infants cramped in a single incubator is not an uncommon sight at government hospitals in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa's capital city.

According to doctors practising in Peshawar, the provision of proper medical care to newborn babies has become progressively difficult due to a shortage of medical facilities, staff, and beds.

Lady Reading Hospital (LRH), the largest government hospital in the province, only has 38 beds and 25 incubators in its nursery wards. The average number of patients admitted to the ward every day is 60.

A doctor treats multiple babies accommodated on a single bed. — Photo by author

The hospital staff says the nursery section was equipped in accordance with the LRH's gynaecology ward's requirements. However, due to the growing number of referrals, the number of patients admitted is now higher than the ward's capacity.

Since most of the patients brought are in critical condition and cannot be turned away, the staff has to accommodate three to five babies on one bed, a doctor explained.

The situation at the Khyber Teaching Hospital's nursery ward is worse. The hospital only has 35 beds and 11 incubators, while the average number of newborn babies hospitalised every day is 60 to 65. In addition, the hospital also lacks trained staff, which increases the risks to infants' lives.

"The nursery ward is extremely overburdened due to the high number of referral cases," Doctor Hamid Bangash of the Khyber Teaching Hospital told DawnNewsTV.

"As the number of patients is double the number of beds in the ward, there is no choice but to accommodate two to three patients on one bed."

He admitted that the practice is against the standards set by the World Health Organisation, according to which there should be a separate bed and incubator for each newborn in order to prevent the transmission of viruses and infectious diseases.

Due to a shortage of beds, it common to accommodate more than one infant on the same bed. — Photo by author

"But there is no other way to deal with the inflow of patients," he explained.

He also cited management issues faced by the staff in dealing with a huge number of patients.

A paediatrician said that due to the inflow of patients, doctors often have to discharge old patients who have not yet fully recovered in order to accommodate the new ones who are often brought in in critical condition.

They do tell the parents of the newborns being discharged to bring them back in case of an emergency however, he said.

Hayatabad Medical Complex faces more or less the same challenges. At least 40 infants are admitted to the hospital on a daily basis, while the nursery ward only has 30 beds and 11 incubators.

The hospital staff says they often have to shift occupants from the nursery ward to the paediatric ward when the number of patients is high.

The huge number of referral babies increases the burden on the staff and the ward as well.

Private hospitals and inaccessibility

Though there are two to three nurseries in private hospitals in Peshawar, they charge Rs7,000 a day which puts them out of reach for many patients.

The treatment costs are also significantly higher, due to which middle-class and lower-middle-class families are unable to afford them.

Three children fitted in one incubator, increasing the risk of transmission of infection diseases. — Photo by author

Accessibility to medical care is another reason which makes KP a risky province to be born in. There are only four functioning infant and neonatal nursery units in the province, three of which are in Peshawar and one in Abbottabad.

In the rest of the province, there are no proper healthcare units for infants. People from all over the province, as well as Fata, have to bring their children to Peshawar for medical treatment, further increasing the burden on already overcrowded hospitals.

Doctors blame the government for failing to take appropriate measures to ensure that proper medical care for infants is accessible throughout the province.

They say there is an urgent need to build healthcare units in remote districts of the province so that residents are able to get access medical care in their area.

Additional Director General Health, Tahir Bashir, however, maintains that the outgoing government has already bought the necessary equipment and the results will be visible in coming years.

Speaking to Dawn, he said that the government had also hired more medical staff. He further mentioned that the government was also working on new trends of specialised treatment and soon those would be implemented in the hospitals.

https://www.dawn.com/news/amp/1410146