What is Imran Khan's political Legacy?

Bewal Express

Test Star
Logic told us that the Sharifs weren't going to be bought to justice but there was a tiny part of me that thought,you never know,but with the Panama scandal effectively dead and buried as the new CJP is Sharif man like the retiring one, this is sadly the end of IK's political career. He was up against the corrupt system and the system won. In the decades to come, what will be his political legacy, or will there be any legacy to talk about.

Love him or hate him but he exposed the whole broken, rotten corrupt system, status-quo and showed us failure of all state institutions...

It's a great legacy

In 2008 PML-N and PPP thought that it's party time for them till eternity (or the next military coup) and that they can take turns and make merry indefinitely and without much accountability. However PTI came in and gave genuine opposition and atleast has some checks or at the very least embarrasses these two crooks time and again publicly.

A lot of Noora people are actually angry that PTI emerged and they don't have the free reign they thought they would have due to the pesky Imran Khan.

That alone is a great legacy and Imran Khan should be very proud of that.

Don't think even [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] or [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] or [MENTION=107753]uberkoen[/MENTION] will contest that.

It's a great legacy

In 2008 PML-N and PPP thought that it's party time for them till eternity (or the next military coup) and that they can take turns and make merry indefinitely and without much accountability. However PTI came in and gave genuine opposition and atleast has some checks or at the very least embarrasses these two crooks time and again publicly.

A lot of Noora people are actually angry that PTI emerged and they don't have the free reign they thought they would have due to the pesky Imran Khan.

That alone is a great legacy and Imran Khan should be very proud of that.

From just 1 NA seat in 2002 to becoming a 3rd option, a real opposition and ruling a province is a massive achievement.

The legacy must rise and one day should rule the entire country instead of being limited to one province.

personally i dont care much. its not an alternative personality but corruption i felt strongly about. i think democracy does not work in general, and in particular in places like pakistan for a multitude of reasons, not least the incumbent oligarchic kleptocracy and of course the concentration of land ownership.

for me the most educational aspect of his foray into politics wasnt anything to do directly with him, but indirectly because of him - corruption, nepotism, blatant and unashamed kleptocracy has all come more to light; and the press, and most disappointingly, the reaction of what might be thought of as the educated classes. the whole process has highlighted for me how desperate insecurity and the need for attention seems to still sadly be pivotal to the culture, to the extent that people will abandon principle in favour of attention without a care for imminent and catastrophic consequences.

it highlights too how much of a disasterour failure the democratic experiment has been in pakistan. not sure what alternatives would have been better, but certainly democracy i its present form has been utterly catastrophic.

its a clearer argument to make now that the impending disasters and the asymptotically expanding gap between pakistan and its neighbours is deserved by its people. we've seen it so many times around the world already, but all these vocal supporters of the incumbent oligarchs will disappear from pakistan as soon as the economic chickens come home to roost, leaving the stupid plebs holding the can and looking around for who to blame for the flames surrounding them.

As much as I like Imran Khan and what he's done for Pakistan, I can never get over the fact that he brought in some of the same lotas that you saw in ppp and pmln. Also his alliance with JI also makes his stance on certain issues questionable. Overall, I think he still has a lot to offer and he will be around until the next election, his party however will disappear once he's gone because there seems to be no structure or consensus in place to find his replacement and most of the people will abanden the party once Imran is no longer incharge, which will be truly aweful for Pakistan.

If the family based parties are forced to offer real change then it would be a decent legacy for IK. We know now, even if some of us dared to believe differently, that these parties tentacles are so deep that they will never be out of power.

I don't think his politics is over because of Panama, for any neutral person with tiny bit of morality left, Sharifs and our pathetic institutions were totally exposed due to Panama leaks and what followed.

If people still ignore what they have seen and actually blame Imran Khan for the failure then they absolutely deserve what is happening to them. I am more than happy not to see Imran Khan in politics and enjoying some time with his family and witness this nation going from strength to strength under the leadership of Maryam, Bilawal, Hamza etc

Imran Khan had already achieved a lot before entering politics, he has already achieved in politics what most failed in our history, from no seat to ruling a province and votes in 4 provinces. He will forever be remembered as a legend.

This thread makes me incredibly despondent.

Pakistan will descend into decades of Noora and Jiyala rule.

Allah hi Hafiz hai..

I congratulate all the corrupt Noora lovers on PP. You guys can continue your corruption unhindered.

This thread makes me incredibly despondent.

Pakistan will descend into decades of Noora and Jiyala rule.

Allah hi Hafiz hai..

I congratulate all the corrupt Noora lovers on PP. You guys can continue your corruption unhindered.

Sorry, but who here actually seriously supports PML-N?

He educated the people on Pakistan on how they are being looted. He told them how the likes of Nawaz have become millionaires at their expense. For that he will always be a great hero especially if NS is toppled next year, insha Allah.

People will forever remember as the man who rose up and took a stand against the corrupt Pakistani elite. He has truly exposed our rotten political system.

Another point is, he informed the masses about their rights and how their money is being looted.

It's very premature to pass a judgment on his political legacy. It is ongoing and I think it will be positive. We should appreciate him for throwing a wrench in the two-party system that was emerging in Pakistan.