What should Pakistan’s squad look like for the ICC T20 World Cup 2026?

Farhan

Fakhar

Hasan Nawaz

Saim

Salman Agha (c)

Mohemmed Nawaz

Usman khan

Faheem

Salman Mirza

Shaheen

Abrar

12 Muqeem

13 Usman Tariq

14 Naseem Shah

15 Nafay

16 Shadab/Samad/Mohd Wasim - depending on the performance in SL series

Out of the 16, I am sure PCB will remove 2 and replace them with Babar and Rauf. I am assuming it will be Hasan Nawaz and Samad. Rizwan more than likely is out 🙏

You never know though with PCB. They may drop Nafay and shove Rizwan in.

Pakistan submit provisional World T20 Cup squad to ICC, announcement awaited​

LAHORE: (Jan 3) Pakistan have submitted their provisional 15-member squad for the World T20 Cup to the International Cricket Council but are yet to make the list public, a reliable source said.

January 1 was the deadline set by the ICC for participating teams to submit their provisional squads, and the Pakistan Cricket Board completed the process within the stipulated timeframe, the source.

Not all teams have announced their provisional squads so far.

Teams are permitted to make changes to their provisional squads until January 31 without seeking approval from the ICC. Any alterations after that date will require clearance from the ICC's tournament technical committee.

According to the source, Pakistan's provisional squad includes injured fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi, former captain Babar Azam, and all-rounder Shadab Khan, who has not played international cricket since May last year due to a shoulder injury.

Shadab returned to competitive cricket in the Big Bash League late last month and has been named in Pakistan's squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series in Sri Lanka starting January 7.

The selectors have largely picked players who are part of the Sri Lanka tour, with the final World Cup squad likely to be firmed up after the series, the source said.

Fast bowler Haris Rauf has not been included even in the provisional squad, while Shaheen's final selection will depend on his recovery from the knee injury sustained during the Big Bash League last week.

Other players named in the provisional squad include mystery spinners Usman Tariq and Abrar Ahmed, all-rounders Faheem Ashraf and Mohammad Nawaz, along with Saim Ayub, Sahibzada Farhan, Fakhar Zaman, Naseem Shah, Usman Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jr and Salman Ali Agha.

Source: PTI

I'm guessing PCB will announce the following players;

1. Babar
2. Salman
3. Fakhar
4. Farhan
5. Saim
6. Usman
7. Shadab
8. Samad
9. Nawaz
10. Faheem
11. Shaheen / Wasim Jr
12. Naseem
13. Salman Mirza
14. Abrar
15. Usman Tariq

This is a provisional squad just for the sake of it. Let's see how some of them perform in the upcoming series in SL. I knew that Babar will find a way in. Rauf, Shadab, and Rizwan may also get shoved in. You never know with paindu cricket board. Muqeem & Hasan Nawaz types are just sacrificial goats.

PCB 'submits' preliminary squad for T20I World Cup 2026 to ICC

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Saturday submitted a preliminary squad for the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2026 to the International Cricket Council, sources told Geo News.

The deadline for the 20-team tournament, scheduled to be co-hosted by India and Sri Lanka from February 7 to March 8, is set at January 31.

The participating teams are permitted to make changes to their preliminary squads without the approval of the apex body until the aforementioned deadline; however, any modifications to the contingents after this date will require the approval of the ICC Technical Committee.

Consequently, Pakistan, slotted in Group A, has also submitted a 15-member provisional squad, as well as the list of traveling reserves.

The insiders have revealed that the initial names of players include the senior trio of Babar Azam, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Haris Rauf along with the Green Shirts' squad for the upcoming away T20I series against Sri Lanka, during which they plan to analyse the performances of a couple of players.

The squad for the expected three-match home T20I series against Australia will be announced after the Sri Lanka tour and the T20 World Cup 2026, insiders suggested.

The away series against Sri Lanka will be played from January 7 to 11, while the home assignment against Australia is likely to be held from January 30 to February 5.

The 2009 champions will start their T20 World Cup 2026 campaign against the Netherlands on February 7 in Colombo.

Pakistan will play all of their matches in Sri Lanka, beginning with four Group A fixtures in Colombo, with Super Eights matches also scheduled in Colombo and Kandy.

Source: GEO

Pakistan T20 World Cup Squad (As per Sources)
1.Sahibzada Farhan
2.Saim Ayub
3.Fakhar Zaman
4.Babar Azam
5.Salman Ali Agha
6.Shadab Khan
7.Faheem Ashraf
8.Mohammad Nawaz
9.Salman Mirza
10.Abrar Ahmed
11.Usman Khan
12.Shaheen Shah Afridi / Haris Rauf (subject to fitness)
13.Naseem Shah
14.Wasim Junior
15.Abdul Samad

Abdul Samad and Naseem Shah surplus to requirements

Hassan Nawaz for Abdul Samad any day!

Babar Azam, Shadab Khan & Naseem Shah shouldn't be there. Shaheen's injury has hampered the preparation for the squad but he had been inconsistent.

For me Haris Rauf, shouldn't be in consideration at all, specially considering the conditions do not favour him at all.

Fakhar's fitness & form are concerning & Pakistan should look to add another top order batter in the squad.

I personally would have picked.

1. Saim Ayub
2. Sahibzada Farhan
3. Fakhar Zaman
4. Agha Ali Salman (C)
5. Usman Khan (WK)
6. Mohammad Nawaz
7. Faheem Ashraf
8. Mohammad Wasim Jr.
9. Sufiyaan Muqeem
10. Abrar Ahmed
11. Salman Mirza

12. Abbas Afridi
13. Usman Tariq
14. Mohammad Haris/Khawaja Nafay
15. Kamran Ghulam/Hassan Nawaz

Kamran Ghulam might surprise a few posters, but he had a pretty good PSL last year & has a good game against spin. If not Kamran Ghulam then I would look to bring back Hassan Nawaz as MIDDLE ORDER option not finisher.

1.Sahibzada Farhan
2.Saim Ayub - all rounder
3.Fakhar Zaman
4.Babar Azam
5.Salman Ali Agha - all rounder
6.Shadab Khan - all rounder
7.Faheem Ashraf - all rounder
8.Mohammad Nawaz - all rounder
9.Salman Mirza
10.Abrar Ahmed
11.Usman Khan
13.Naseem Shah
14.Wasim Junior - ex all rounder
15.Abdul Samad - all rounder

Lots of all rounders

1.Sahibzada Farhan
2.Saim Ayub
3.Fakhar Zaman
4.Babar Azam
5.Salman Ali Agha
6.Shadab Khan
7.Faheem Ashraf
8.Mohammad Nawaz
9.Salman Mirza
10.Abrar Ahmed
11.Usman Khan
13.Naseem Shah
14.Wasim Junior
15.Abdul Samad
Usman Tariq becomes the sacrificial goat to welcome Shadab?

3. Fakhar
4. Babar
5. Agha

Not sure if this is any better than a top 3 of Babar, Rizwan and Shan Masood

1.Sahibzada Farhan
2.Saim Ayub
3.Fakhar Zaman
4.Babar Azam
5.Salman Ali Agha
6.Shadab Khan
7.Faheem Ashraf
8.Mohammad Nawaz
9.Salman Mirza
10.Abrar Ahmed
11.Usman Khan
13.Naseem Shah
14.Wasim Junior
15.Abdul Samad

If this is going to be the final team, Babar Azam should be nowhere near it but perhaps this will be the tournament that will finally send his T20 career into retirement.

For the hitter slot, I would consider trying Maaz Sadaqat instead of abdus samad, nafay or h nawaz.

Maaz sadaqat could have been tested in sri lanka series and then he could have been selected for the 15 but now his chances are gone

If this is going to be the final team, Babar Azam should be nowhere near it but perhaps this will be the tournament that will finally send his T20 career into retirement.
Babar is going to play T20WC '26 '28 and '30 will be his last. He is the historic leading run scorer in this format. Haters gonna hate. Babar's never gonna stop scoring,

It's an honour to play a Pakistani side with :ba Adds a lot of class to an otherwise ugly batting lineup :inti

Or with failure (more likely than not), he will lose more confidence and lose whatever dignity left (if there is any). Consequently, he won't be able to bat in ODIs or Tests as well.

Squad will ofcourse be standard and safe play by selectors. Expectations are low and if Pak reach semifinals (which is not impossible) for PCB and selectors it will be showcased as a success.

All PCT has to do is not slip up against Namibia, Netherlands and USA in round 1 and then beat Eng and SL in round 2. This is difficult task for this average team but given opponents are also inexperienced (in round 1) and flaky (round 2) it is not impossible.

We can expect nothing different or radical in how Pakistan play. They will soak up lot of dot balls and hope for likes of Fakhar, Nawaz, Saim to hit flurry of boundaries to get score to 160-170. Then hope for shaheen early wkt and middle overs control from Abrar and Nawaz to choke opposition into making mistakes. It will likely work against some smaller teams but big teams will exploit and smash Pak's weak death bowling and middle overs batting.

Potential banana skin is Netherlands game since they play smart focused cricket and have a great captain. Namibia and USA should be manageable in subcontinent conditions.

India and NZ know Pakistan's limits and will beat them comfortably. The Sri Lanka and England game results will determine what happens to Pak

I honestly have no hope from Babar even if he finds a bit of form and rhythm. Just a pointless, outdated batter in this format.

Much rather go with young flair Minhas. Throw him in the deep end. He seems fearless!

Before you ask me “why not Salman Ali Agha? why Babar?!””

Well,

I don’t give a….

I’ll call it for what it is. Babar is a proven failure, and he doesn’t inspire any improvement to this tag either.

Isnt it a little bit too early for minhas???
Instead u couldve said naeem or maaz or even a shamyl hussain

Before you ask me “why not Salman Ali Agha? why Babar?!””

Well,

I don’t give a….

I’ll call it for what it is. Babar is a proven failure, and he doesn’t inspire any improvement to this tag either.
First hasan Nawaz was saviour but he is already exposed , now all hope on an amateur kid?

This is how Pakistani media/posters are always hyped a kids , leading to high expectations that ultimately led to failure. These same posters then criticized the players.

Are bhai baccha hai khelne de abhi toda cricket, mature hoga wo fir uska bhi time ayega.

:klopp :kp

What’s too early? He’s better than Babar Azam right now.
You good? It's still very early for Minhas. He's still at U19 level. Why do you want to ruin his career just to prove your point that he's better than Babar?

Do I honestly care about Babar’s custodians here? I care about picking the best option. How is Babar better than Minhas right now for T20??

We need King and Kaptana otherwise it will be curtains for us if we take tullas like Usman Khan or Harris. We need a reliable keeper who can do the job and none better than Kaptana for that. Push him to number 4 or 5 if needed not an issue but he has to be there. Babar is finding his mojo in the BBL and is winning matches for Sydney. Would be pure foolishness to drop him now.

Haris is far from the squad. Rizwan isn't coming back with this form and performances, Babar will play. I really feel we should axe Usman add a dynamic batter down the order and give gloves to Sahibzada.

I am fine if Rizzy does not play. Team comes first. I just don't want to see tulla Aga, minnow basher Harris, or UAE reject useless Usman Khan who should not be in a Pindi 11 let alone national team.

Abdul Samad and Naseem Shah surplus to requirements

Hassan Nawaz for Abdul Samad any day!
Totally agree.. Abdul Samad not sure why is he there with zero performances and suddenly Usman Tariq become a favourite with that hat trick against Zimboks, but ok to keep...

Shaheen
Salman Mirza
Waseem Jr
Haris rauf
Faheem Ashraf

Five pacers is already too many for a subcontinent WT20

Sahibzada has been breath of fresh air in T20 for Pak , scoring every game at a good SR.. And he has scored nearly 3 50s consecutively.. He is in good form with the bat.
Even Saim takes a few balls to set his eye in.. Shouldnt burden Farhan with keeping gloves..
Let him be more settled in his batting role , find someone else to stand behind the stumps..

Haris was doing until he was thrown down the order to accomodate Babar at no.3...

Good for Rizwan that he will not be selected..

Bad for Babar that he will lose games and be embarrased this WT20..

Younis khan was a lucky captain who never deserved to be in the side
Younis's numbers in that tournament:

7 matches, 172 runs, 57.3 avg, 139 SR.

Also, I thought he led the team very well in that tournament. He was very much the glue that held that team together.

Looking at the state of Pakistan's T20 team, I reckon they would kill for 2009 Younis Khan right now.

Sahibzada has been breath of fresh air in T20 for Pak , scoring every game at a good SR.. And he has scored nearly 3 50s consecutively.. He is in good form with the bat.
Even Saim takes a few balls to set his eye in.. Shouldnt burden Farhan with keeping gloves..
Let him be more settled in his batting role , find someone else to stand behind the stumps..

Haris was doing until he was thrown down the order to accomodate Babar at no.3...
Haris was thrown down to accomodate Babar? Which Babar mate? Haris played down the order in Tri-series and Asia cup and Babar was not there. Who are you trying to fool here?

People have developed a habit of doing bahngra over tullers and 115 strike rate captain... They gotta get rid of their blind hatred and see the world in reality.

They don't even know what they say from their eyes or maybe trying to deceive themselves. Not sure how they're even sane. "Haris batted to down the order to accomodate their imaginary hate for Babar" :D :D :D

What babars sr this year??
What is his bbl sr??
Do u think babar deserves a place in pak T20I setup??

They don't even know what they say from their eyes or maybe trying to deceive themselves. Not sure how they're even sane. "Haris batted to down the order to accomodate their imaginary hate for Babar" :D :D :D
Harris had been abysmal but babar is setting even higher levels

I will be among the first to congratulate Babar if he performed agaist India in the Pakistan's 1st competitive game in the next WC; score of 40+ with SR no less than 125 or even if helped chasing a challenging score from an awkward position. If he played one of his USUAL 2025 Babar innings, he will deserve all the thrashing in the world.
As of now, he and his fans can glorify his past records. That won't save embarrassment if he failed in 2 back to back T20 WCs. It will be a stupid thing to give excuses at that time comparing him to other current batsmen (if all failed) performances, since none of those would have got selected based on the distant past stats.

@Rana I'm not hopeful for this WT20 squad that will be announced.

The 2025 year (Agha era) started with No RizBar in the team and with young talent like Hasan Nawaz and Haris opening alongside Omair bin Yusuf, Abdul Samad and Fakhar.

Fast forever to now. Management ditched Haris for Usman. Hasan Nawaz for Talat (who is now out for Babar).

Babar is coming back. There's talk of Rizwan being the reserve WK (Even though I think he won't be back).

Salman will be batting in the middle. All in all we are looking at an XI that will be stuffed up with players who have had mediocre strike rates.

They might even drop a specialist spinner to accommodate the all rounder Shadab in the XI.

After tonight's game. I will be creating a post analysing the statistical performance of our players since Agha became captain.

Hoping for Riz-Bab to be selected...C'mon Guys, you can do it..the sheer entertainment value with these two guys is unmatched :ifticool :afridi

Hearing that Usman Tariq is dropped to reserves 🤦. Along with Wasim Jnr and Samad

It will be a 8 + 3 formation.

Three front line bowlers

Shaheen, Salman and a Spinner (Abrar and Usman)

The amount of time Farhan and Saim have opened without break up means they both are set to open.

With the return of Shadab they will have Nawaz and Faheem as the other two all rounders in team.

Agha is the captain so he is set for the middle order.

WK they either go back with Rizwan but that would mean one of the top 3 misses out. Farhan form is too good to be dropped, Saim adds bowling variety. Rizwan would need to settle for number 4/5. Which would put Agha lower than desired. Or he promotes Nawaz and Shadab as pinch hitters before himself and.

The shoot out as middle order blaster seems to be amongst Fakhar would hardly any challenge apart from may be some from Nafay. Although Fakhar too is best at the top.

Wasim and Naseem look unlikely to get game time unless of injuries so they would ideally be Reserves along with Hassan Nawaz who is more or less out of favour currently.

My team would be

Saim
Farhan
Babar
Fakhar
Khawaja Nafay
Nawaz
Salman
Shadab
Shaheen
Salman Mirza
Usman Tariq

Faheem
Abrar
Haris
Usman Khan

Naseem
Wasim jr
Hassan Nawaz

Miss out
Rizwan, Sufyan, Abbas Afridi, Samad, Niazi, Talat

XI
Sahibzada
Saim
Agha
Fakhar
Shadab
Nafay
Nawaz
Faheem
Waseem Jr
Mirza
Abrar/UT

1) Sahibzada Farhan - the Ace
2) Saim - no look puncture tube
3) Salman Agha Jani
4) Fakhar Zaman Fauji
5) Hassan Nawaz Jahaz
6) Khawaja meray Khwaja Nafay
7) Muhammad Nawaz tu mera match winner
8) Abrar Mistri
9) Sufyan Muqeem
10) Shaheena Afridi
11) Salman Mirza LQ wala
12) Wasim Jnr. Shampoo
13) Usman Tariq Jhatka
14) Ahmed Daniyal Death bowler
15) Muhammad Abbas / Shadab Khan

I wish i could put Maaz Sadaqat in the squad.