"What we can do now is to find our mistakes and to win the next three matches": Shan Masood

Pakistan batsman Shan Masood warned that his "demoralised" side must pick themselves up quickly and keep believing if they are to salvage their fading Twenty20 World Cup dreams.

Pakistan suffered a shock one-run loss to Zimbabwe in Perth on Thursday, four days after they went down to arch-rivals India in their tournament opener in similarly agonising fashion.

One of the pre-tournament favourites, they now must win all their remaining games -- starting with the Netherlands on Sunday -- and hope other results go their way.

"We have three games that are in our hands, yes, we have to depend on few other results, but that's the beauty of sport," Masood, who made 44 before Zimbabwe choked Pakistan to 129-8, told reporters in Perth.

"There are funny things that have happened in sport and we are going to believe and we are going to give it all in these three games."

Their bowlers kept Zimbabwe down to 130-8, but Pakistan faltered in their chase with Pakistan-born Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza taking three key wickets, including Masood, in the space of nine balls.

With 11 needed off the final over, Pakistan fell just short to hand Zimbabwe a famous victory.

"There is disappointment, no doubt. To lose two matches with fine margins is very demoralising as we know the importance of every point in this group," Masood said.

"But till the tournament doesn't end, we can't think ahead and can't look ahead. What we can do now is to find our mistakes and to win the next three matches."

He added: "To overcome this disappointment we have to come out on the ground and play well. It's only a good performance on Sunday that will help us feel better."

Pakistan have largely depended on skipper Babar Azam and his opening partner Mohammad Rizwan to fire the team to victory.

Azam fell for four and Rizwan for 14 in the modest chase and the rest of the batting fell apart despite Masood's 38-ball knock.

Masood said everyone needed to contribute.

"Our combination works around them and they are the world's best batsmen -- world's top-five T20 batsmen. Other than that it's everyone's responsibilty and I don't think anybody will hide from the fact they did not finish their job."

Masood had looked like guiding Pakistan to victory but Raza, with his finger spin, fired one down the leg side of the left-handed batsman who fell off balance in an attempt to flick the ball and was stumped.

It was a turning point in the game.

"I think I was in a decent position to finish the game," he said.

"And I will take it upon myself -- these are the games that you should win for your country, especially when you are the last standing main batsman.

"I am very disappointed."

AFP

Your one of the mistakes mate.

Performing in losses to secure your spot is no real performance at all. Shans lucky everything is on fire, because its joke he is in this lineup let alone batting at 3

People will say he is scoring runs, i heard the same crap about shafiq for a decade. Different formats but very similar situations. Id be shocked if Shan ever had a noteworthy t20 performance in a Pak victory.

Multan dropped him and had succes, and yet here we are having him scratch around for half an innings for the national team

Take away Shan's runs and you have nothing in the last two games.

I'm surprised his selection is questioned ahead of the likes of Iftikhar, Haider, and Asif who have no performances to their name.

Yes, one could argue that the pace of his batting needs work, but given the fact that our issue is putting runs on the board, you cannot substitute areas/positions that are scoring runs. You must focus on where runs are missing, and that's from the top order and middle-order.

Shan has played 14 consecutive matches , more than most pakistani players could ask for

There have been 7 losses and 7 wins

In the wins, he averages 15 at a strike rate of 108.

In losses he averages 47 at a strike rate of 129. his top 4 scores have all come in losses, his 50s were both when we got smashed by england and shan never made an attempt to try to win the game, only to scratch around make a 30 then a slog a bit since his spot is secure

Its this kind of mentality that has got us to where we are

Haider is a fool, and needs a lot of work, but at least he is an honest fool

Lol at people who are criticizing Shan. He has played well in both games. Babar and Rizwan are the one's who need to be questioned. I was a fan of their partnership but what's the point if you are going to fail in WCs. Babar must come in at 3. You cant be risking against the new ball in Australian conditions. Rizwan should try to attack in the PP too. He is looking all at see with the extra bounce

They should open with Fakhar and Haider

Shan at 3
Babar at 4
Rizwan at 5
Ifthikar at 6

And 5 bowlers

have had enough of pakistans sound bite media interactions, fans have been crying about the batting issues for more than a year now, and every time have this same rubbish, will identify our mistakes, will improve, etc, but its patently obvious that pak cannot do that.

would love for one of these players to just come out and be honest and say, we have messed up and tbh we don't know how to fix it now, at least get rid of this farcical charade where the team and management pretend they are dealing with issues, when they aren't.

the only honesty ive seen is when wasim pressed moyo, and he admitted theres only so much coaches can do with technically deficient players.

Take away Shan's runs and you have nothing in the last two games.

I'm surprised his selection is questioned ahead of the likes of Iftikhar, Haider, and Asif who have no performances to their name.

Yes, one could argue that the pace of his batting needs work, but given the fact that our issue is putting runs on the board, you cannot substitute areas/positions that are scoring runs. You must focus on where runs are missing, and that's from the top order and middle-order.

Exactly this, I get everyone's emotions are running high (including mine) but it's a shame to see posters scapegoat Shan.

Without Shan's runs we wouldn't have cross 100 in either of the two games. The disrespect towards Shan is completely unwarranted.

Having said that, we do need to move on from him after this tournament because we need younger blood.

Exactly this, I get everyone's emotions are running high (including mine) but it's a shame to see posters scapegoat Shan.

Without Shan's runs we wouldn't have cross 100 in either of the two games. The disrespect towards Shan is completely unwarranted.

Having said that, we do need to move on from him after this tournament because we need younger blood.

Younger blood like Haider Ali?

Nah guys like Sami Ayub. He should get a chance.

Saim Ayub should be nowhere near the team. They should let him play 3-4 FC seasons.
Pak should persist with Shan Masood. H outside Babar Azam, only he seems to have a technique to face quality bowling in tough conditions and brings a ton of experience and rigor from domestic cricket. The discussion about SR is a luxury.
Sahibzyada Farhan or Tayyab Tahir have made a case for themselves though.

Saim Ayub should be nowhere near the team. They should let him play 3-4 FC seasons.
Pak should persist with Shan Masood. H outside Babar Azam, only he seems to have a technique to face quality bowling in tough conditions and brings a ton of experience and rigor from domestic cricket. The discussion about SR is a luxury.
Sahibzyada Farhan or Tayyab Tahir have made a case for themselves though.

Why not 13-14 FC seasons?

Should not be in the team in the first place.

Only team in T20 with 3 anchors at the top.

Wade: 157 FC games
Stoinis: 61 FC games
SKY: 71 FC games
Buttler: 122 FC games
Alex Hales: 101 FC games
David Miller: 61 FC games
Liam Livingstine: 62 FC game
Warner: 127 FC games
Maxwell: 67 FC games

What a pathetic player he is the one whom opposition dont mind bowling to, and he is painted as hero shame!

Shan Masood hasn't done much wrong in the tournament this far, he has actually looked comfortable against the bounce and pace of these wickets, and it's usual incompetence to put the blame on him rather than accept that our players are not capable of adapting to changing conditions due to the poor planning.

Our top order is the most kitten-ish of all the teams competing. Tell me which one of these can consistently bat at 150 SR

1. Babar (max 120Sr player, stat padder)
2. Rizwan (max 130 Sr player, stat padder)
3. Shan (max 130 Sr player, not good enough to stat pad)
4. Ifti chacha (just here to provide for his grandkids)
5. Haider (the definition of mindless hack)

12 off 16 Shan Masood today.

Is it that difficult for Pakistan batters to understand their predicament in terms of NRR?

Pakistan's batter Shan Masood addressed the media in the pre-match press conference on Saturday, where he touched upon different topics concerning the side's performance in the T20 World Cup. Babar Azam's men had faced twin defeats to India and Zimbabwe before making a strong comeback with successive wins over Netherlands and South Africa. A reporter asked Masood about the lack of consistency in the Pakistan side, but Masood insisted that the team only failed to capitalize on crucial moments, which can't be equated to inconsistency.

“Consistency nahi bolunga. Jo crucial moments the dono matches me, vo hamaari taraf nahi aaye. Agar aap India ke khilaaf match dekhein, aakhiri ball pe vo match haare. Ek stage me 28 runs reh gaye the 8 balls pe, ham almost certain the ki ye match hamaare favour me aayega. Jis tarah se hamne target set kiya, jis tarah se bowling ki unn conditions me (I won't say it's inconsistency. We didn't capitalize on crucial moments. We lost in the final ball against India. We thought we would win when India needed 28 runs in 8 balls),” Masood said.

“Agar aap saari cheezein dekhein, India ke favour me bhi kaafi cheezein gayi thi. Toss vo jeete the, batting ki conditions uss vaqt behetar hui thi jab vo batting kar rahe the. Lekin overall, ham vo game achha khele (A lot of things went in India's favour. They won the toss, the batting conditions became better when they came to bat. But overall, we played well)."

The batter also further talked about the loss against Zimbabwe, stating that Pakistan made a number of mistakes but in every game, there were some standout performers for the side.

"Zimbabwe ke khilaaf hamne phases me mistakes ki. Powerplay hamaara bowling ka achha nahi kiya. 30-40 runs kiye unhone pehle 3 over me, vo kaafi costly pade. End me hamne jab 7 out kar diye the 96 pe, vo 130 tak pohoch gaya Zimababwe. Batting me hamaara Powerplay achha nahi gaya, lekin maine aur Shadab ne cover kar liya tha. Hamein uss time game khatm kar dena chahiye tha, lekin agar aap margin dekhein toh 3 ball pe 3 runs chahiye the. (We made mistakes against Zimbabwe. We didn't bowl well in Powerplay. We had Zimbabwe on 96/7, but let them go till 130. We also didn't bat well in the Powerplay but Shadab and I covered it. We should have won us the game. Even after that, we only needed 3 runs in 3 balls).

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-ind-vs-pak-t20-wc-match-101667651303072.html

“Agar hamne situation thodi behetar istemaal ki hote, toh ham 4 me se 4 match jeete hote. Performances ka onus cricketers pe aata hai, consistent hona hota hai, lekin ye team game hai. Har match me kisi na kisi ne kuch na kuch kiya hai. World Cups me ye hi hota hai, contribution zyada matter karti hai, (We could have won 4 out of 4 matches if we had capitalized on such situations. Yes, we have to be consistent, but this is a team game. In all games, someone or the other has performed).” said Masood.

Just hire him as a team spokesperson, because he doesnt do much good on the field

He is up there as the most stupid selection in Pak history

SKY played 13-14 seasons before making his debut for India as a 30 year old so maybe Siam too will be as good after 14 years for a debut.

Kidding but I agree with the other poster that SA needs to score runs in atleast 3-4 seasons before blooding into the PCT. I remember Shubman Gill too scored heavily before he got to feature in the ICT for the tests in Australia. It gives valuable experience and his performnace is a prime example.

24* of 14 today, SR 171 without taking any big risks, saw the team home.