"When will we come out from friendship, liking & disliking culture" : Shoaib Malik

==

Pakistan cannot progress when this issue is addressed. Selection cannot be driven by personal dislikes and how much a captain feels comfortable with a certain player. It should be done on merit alone. If there are issues with players, they should be addressed via proper player management. The easy route of throwing people out and bringing friends will not work.

Who can explain to me:

1. Why did Iftikhar who hasn’t bowled at all this tournament bowl 3 overs and Nawaz who was the leading wicket taker bowl 1 today?

2. Why was Iftikhar sent before Nawaz and Shadab today?

3. Why was Khushdil sent before Asif Ali when there were 5 or so overs left and Pakistan needed 70?

4. Why are these KPK players (Rizwan, Khushdil and Iftikhar)who are clearly not playing T20 cricket in the correct manner when it comes to Batting at international level being given so much promotion and responsibility??

Pakistan played Hassan Ali when we should have played Dahani!

Pakistan played Khushdil when we should have played Haider!

I am talking about the previous game to the final here.

Pakistan should have rested Fakhar and Babar.

duhh-stupid.gif

What a toxic individual malik is

Is this how he thinks he will come back into the team by blasting the captain publicly on social media God forbid that happens

We dont need this sort of individual

For the sake of chemistry, Sharjeel, Shoaib and Amir should be nowhere near the team.

I keep saying and will keep repeatinh .unfortunately there is no batting talent in pak...we are stuck with fakhar..khusdil and asif ali which is a joke...haider wud do no better...
Finally.
Thank you

Haider would do no better maybe, but if you’re not gonna play him, how will you ever know.

I am 100% confident he would do a better job than Ifti and Khushdil.

Malik is a snake. He is now throwing Babar under the bus after Babar spoke to him in private that he wants to look towards the future and play youngsters in his place.

Will gladly accept defeats but we need to move on from a 41 year old Malik.

Malik is a snake. He is now throwing Babar under the bus after Babar spoke to him in private that he wants to look towards the future and play youngsters in his place.

+1 Pak needs to move on from Malik and develop upcoming talent.

I think 41 is his highest score in 4 decades in Australia.

We have no batsmen with any technique who can rotate the strike. We have no big hitters who come to the fore when needed. All our ex players who were average themselves can do is run their mouths. Only reason Shoaib played so many matches for Pak were due to his political connections and high profile wife.

Malik is 40. Yet he is still much better than Iftikhar, Khushdil, Fakhar and Asif. Not to mention he is an excellent fielder.

If he is available, on merit he should be picked above them.

Malik is a despicable character and poor batsman of pace who should be nowhere near National team.

Having said that, what he's said is totally correct. It's all over media that Babar dislikes Shan Masood. And we all know how much he likes Hasan Ali, his relative Usman Qadir, Rizwan, etc.

You had only one spare batsman in the squad who was not even given a chance in a deadrubber.

Khushdil, Iftikhar are even inferior to Hasnain in T20 batting, but they'll be given chances after chances without any matchwinning performance. Iftikhar is probably 38-39 now and he does not have the reflexes to score at good pace for a number 4 batsman.

This is not new, the mindset of playing their buddies , instead of players on merit was long cultivated back to his own captaincy time in 2007 when the actual rift started

I thot it was Misbah who is having a liking / disliking culture during his period of coaching tenure but seems like it was Babar himself , Selector Wasim just adds oil to it.

Is it feeling of insecure of his place and captaincy , since he is not a natural leader.

Malik is a terrible terrible person and has just exposed himself with this tweet. These geezers from the old toxic era cannot digest a united, young and honest pakistani team and want to get back in the team one way or another.

Honest Pakistan team? Just because you don’t take bribes doesn’t mean you are honest to the Pakistan nation with your cricketing power.

Babar and Rizwan are a friends XI. Not Pakistan cricket XI

He is 40+ and no world beater himself.
He is pretty much Iftikhar level give or take.
No guarantee he would have saved Pakistan yesterday
Its time to look forward than giving emergency calls to these players.

15th Sept is the deadline to announce the Wt20 squad. Looking forward to sit down and enjoy a bunch of has-beens & misfits crying about their exclusion on Twitter. Should be a good week.

Spoke with a couple of players who seem to be suggesting that the current team management and skipper want to be surrounded by yes men in the dressing room and who will not challenge the team management's approach and tactics, and people who are part of the clique and are friends of the senior players.

Probably thinks if Iftikhar can get a place so should he.

:))) Had the likes of Iftikhar and Asif not been around before, you could be forgiven for mistaking the captain went to round to a couple of his mates houses even guys that don't play cricket never mind international cricket.

Dragging them out and putting them in the team cos they were a couple of guys short.

A 41 plus failure who has done nothing in Australia planning another cup

Spoke with a couple of players who seem to be suggesting that the current team management and skipper want to be surrounded by yes men in the dressing room and who will not challenge the team management's approach and tactics, and people who are part of the clique and are friends of the senior players.

Pretty sure the couple of players are those ones who aren't getting a game hence resorting to conspiracy theories. This is nothing new in Pakistan cricket. I would take their opinions with a truck load of salt.

I have more sympathy for Malik here than most posters on this forum. I backed his selection even when almost everyone thought he should not make the T20 WC squad last year.

But even I have to admit that this is peak snake behavior by Malik. Whatever his opinions may be saying stuff like this publicly undermines Babar as captain: a person who greatly looks up to Malik and considers him a mentor.

It's like Kohli said, if you have something to say to me say it TO ME. Because if you say it in public, it means nothing.

At the end of the day, Malik proved himself to be a snake through and through.

Also, he shouldn't even be under consideration for the World Cup given his atrocious record against pace.

Pretty sure the couple of players are those ones who aren't getting a game hence resorting to conspiracy theories. This is nothing new in Pakistan cricket. I would take their opinions with a truck load of salt.

Let me guess the names of these players....I'm gonna take a shot in the dark here and say: Mohammad Amir, Imad Wasim and Shoaib Malik. I do wonder why they think this way though? Probably has nothing to do with the fact that they are nowhere near national selection.

Let's not forget that Babar actually looks up to Malik and considers him a mentor. And this is how the snake repays him. Malik knew exactly what he was doing and the effect it would have on someone like Babar. Those thinking he is talking about Shan Masood are stupider than I thought.

Seems like Babar told him he's not going to be picked for the wt20 after giving him a ray of hope.

Although Malik shouldn't be in the team for wt20, he could have been useful in Asia Cup.

But yes, the stubborn nature and rigid selections/tactics from the team, it does look like they don't want to change or want to be challenged into trying something other than what they like.

It's good to be the team and management to be on the same page, but you can not progress if there's no one to challenge your methods or drive you into trying somethingnew.

I still believe Pak team needs a strong coach rather than a strong captain. Babar is at a young stage when it comes to captaincy, team structure and other stuff. We can resort to giving captain more powers once Babar matures as a captain.

Shoaib Malik of all people benefited from this culture. Remember 2015 1st Test against England.

Why not test Usman Salahuddin or another FC level batsman rather than go for Malik.

Malik was accused of the same (groupings within the team) during his time as captain and player

He makes a good point but doesn’t realise the irony of him saying it!

Malik was accused of the same (groupings within the team) during his time as captain and player

Malik was accused of having no group, no friends in 2007 T20 World Cup. He was known to be a loner

While I think he is too old to be selected, Shoaib Malik averaged 44 with a strike rate of 137 in the last PSL. He also has been decent in the current National T20 cup.

Buddies?
Buddies?
What buddies?
Some of the posters are clueless about Pak batting.
Name me players that should be there and aren't?
Hsider Ali?...Wow!...Will that sort everything?
Lets face the facts. This is the best we have. The fact they're CRAP; thats another story!

the post 2003 wc generation of cricketers were the worst for Pakistan, brought in wholesale after the golden generation screwed up in 03, bits and pieces and rarely world class, not having the luxury of earning a living via leagues they used politics and intrigue to cement their places in the team.

i will take a tournament failure any day over these kind of people being back in the team. I'm pretty sure stunts like this are unlikely to win any favour with ramiz raja. when u get endorsed by someone like akmal sr. u really don't have a leg to stand on for mine.

babar is a pretty average captain, but statements like these make me want him to succeed even more.

Malik is 40. Yet he is still much better than Iftikhar, Khushdil, Fakhar and Asif. Not to mention he is an excellent fielder.

If he is available, on merit he should be picked above them.

Even in Australia?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">- When will we come out from friendship, liking & disliking culture. <br>Allah always helps the honest...</p>— Shoaib Malik ���� (@realshoaibmalik) <a href=" ">September 11, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

==

Pakistan cannot progress when this issue is addressed. Selection cannot be driven by personal dislikes and how much a captain feels comfortable with a certain player. It should be done on merit alone. If there are issues with players, they should be addressed via proper player management. The easy route of throwing people out and bringing friends will not work.

We can either go for Malik, Hafeez, Kamran Akmal and Umar Akmal and maybe even beg Amir to come back and go for that team with Babar, Shaheen and Naseem Shah from current team.

Or we can dump all those oldies above and try with the current team.

Didn't seem like a friends XI. The young boys in the team are gelling well and back each other up so maybe to an outsider it feels like they're too friendly. The passion among the team is genuine. The way Hasan Ali celebrated after the Afghanistan win, it was as if he hit those sixes.

This convo should not be about malik hafeez vs Khushdil, Ifti

You can change the middle order without bringing malik and hafeez back.

To the ones that say we don’t have any better - that is complete loser and mediocre mentality.

You can bring in a number of players that are better than these sorry hacks.

Inzamam speaking on this topic

"Such allegations have been there in the past and will continue in the future as well. We must understand that selection is not a one-man decision, there is a team of selectors, coach and captain who take a call (on selection). I can’t comment on friendships, but yes like-dislikes are everywhere.”

So Shoaib Malik who played for Pakistan for almost 22 years did it without being part of friendship, liking and disliking culture? Wasn't he a beneficiary of this same culture? :inti

Very profound words said by a true legend of the sport. Notice how he was a pivotal member of the squad that lifted our one and only World t20 World Cup trophy so far.

He is the type of player that would make a good mentor for players. I have nothing but respect for him but he has played a decade too long

For the first time a tweet has practically ended an international player’s career

Not really, Malik is a smart guy. He tweeted this on purpose as he wants to go down as a martyr. Do you really think he wants to be exposed in Australia at the end of his career? Don't think he genuinely believes he can perform there. Smart on him to leave the fans with an impression of what if...

Bet all these players that you spoke to are not part of the team. It's in our culture to never accept our own shortcomings but always blame others or find excuses.

Who are the senior players in this side btw? Everyone's pretty much on equal footing in terms of experience.

For a bang on average player, Malik sure garners way too much attention in Pakistan. His numbers are as mediocre as they come but so many in Pakistan make him out to be a legendary player.

In no other country would a player with numbers like Malik's will end up playing that many games.

Mohammad Wasim when asked by Rashid Latif on Malik:

“Malik has experience, he has scored runs. His fitness is fine. So, what's your criteria of selecting someone? Do you look at experience, fitness, or age? What do you think about Malik, and what to you think about the tweet he posted a few days ago?” Latif asked Wasim.

“We look at the performance and fitness. We also take a look at the team's requirement. The conditions also matter and we discussed that at length. Shoaib Malik was there in the previous World Cup but he didn't play after that. So, our planning for Australia had begun from that time only,” said Wasim.

For a bang on average player, Malik sure garners way too much attention in Pakistan. His numbers are as mediocre as they come but so many in Pakistan make him out to be a legendary player.

In no other country would a player with numbers like Malik's will end up playing that many games.

Exactly. Malik was an average player at his best. He should look at his embarrassing record before opening his mouth.

Kamran Akmal in an interview:

"I have been talking for the last four to five years about liking and disliking in the team. The same thing is happening in domestic cricket. This will damage Pakistan cricket as these things are coming out and have now become obvious"

"When we used to play, this culture was not there. Has anyone talked about these things during our time compared to today, where players are saying openly? The concerned individuals used to form good teams. The best way is to dig out performance. We can't say only the captain is doing it. PCB Chairman must start from High Performance camp where best coaches are thrown out and friends are being appointed"

"There is no coordination in management; they are egoistic and think that they will remain in PCB for their whole life. I have seen that all the blame is associated with players and management doesn't take on to them. The past three coaches also blamed players and didn't accept that our decisions were wrong"

"Tell me when coaches have been held accountable. but I have hope because of Ramiz Raja, who is also a former cricketer,"

"Ramiz Raja must know the value of a cricketer is whether he is part of an international team or not. We can see in National T20 Cup too, the ones who have scored 5000 runs are in the second XI. Can't he ask Nadeem Khan, Mohammad Wasim and selectors what they have done to the domestic sides? If players can't make their way into the national side, should they also not play domestic?" he asked.

"Alastair Cook is still playing domestic despite retiring in 2018, MS Dhoni is still playing IPL, are they mad? But here they start chirping about age"

"In Asia Cup, teams knew Mohammad Rizwan is weak on offside but who are responsible for bringing betterment, why there are six coaches in support staff, they should tell what they are doing. International teams analyse and work on it, they don't just sit with an empty mind in the dressing room"

Mohammad Wasim when asked by Rashid Latif on Malik:

“Malik has experience, he has scored runs. His fitness is fine. So, what's your criteria of selecting someone? Do you look at experience, fitness, or age? What do you think about Malik, and what to you think about the tweet he posted a few days ago?” Latif asked Wasim.

“We look at the performance and fitness. We also take a look at the team's requirement. The conditions also matter and we discussed that at length. Shoaib Malik was there in the previous World Cup but he didn't play after that. So, our planning for Australia had begun from that time only,” said Wasim.
Mohammad Wasim is saying diplomatically that Shoaib Malik cannot bat on quick, bouncy Australian wickets.

He averages 31, 30 and 3 in Tests, ODIs and T20 respectively in Australia, so it's the correct call.

Malik, like his friend Kamran Akmal, belongs to an era of Pakistan cricket where substandard cricketers perpetuated a culture of toxic seniority to get what they wanted and escape accountability for their performances.

These guys were the biggest beneficiaries of liking and disliking.

You can not bring back a 40 year old Malik when he’s already been dropped for poor form. It is understandable that we have moved on. And in terms of likes and dislike culture, it’s hard to recall a guy who was given so many chances during poor form than him.

Kamran I sympathise a bit. He was ignored despite dominating PSL and excelling in domestic in general at an age in early 30s he could have been selected. He clearly improved and should have been given chances as a batsman. He wasn’t given those chances due to his poor international record in the past. When he didn’t deserve to be selected he was selected and when he was dropped and improved as a cricketer and actually earnt the call up, he wasn’t given proper chances. It was pretty unfair his reputation was used against him, and you can blame selectors for not dropping him for a long time in the first place, he was always quickly recalled instead of being given time in domestic to improve. Unlike Malik too, he showed ability to play pace even when he was over 30. But again he’s 40 now, it’s an age you can’t bring him back anymore.

"In Asia Cup, teams knew Mohammad Rizwan is weak on offside but who are responsible for bringing betterment, why there are six coaches in support staff, they should tell what they are doing. International teams analyse and work on it, they don't just sit with an empty mind in the dressing room"

Well didnt expect this intellect from Kamran tbh :hasan.

These ex players sometime talk sense but when asked to work on it, they fail to put up a show..

Not a fan of what Malik is doing recently, but there is strong element of bias in the current management.

The consistent selections of Khushdil Shah, Usman Qadir and Iftikhar Ahmad are the biggest proof of that.

You can not bring back a 40 year old Malik when he’s already been dropped for poor form. It is understandable that we have moved on. And in terms of likes and dislike culture, it’s hard to recall a guy who was given so many chances during poor form than him.

Kamran I sympathise a bit. He was ignored despite dominating PSL and excelling in domestic in general at an age in early 30s he could have been selected. He clearly improved and should have been given chances as a batsman. He wasn’t given those chances due to his poor international record in the past. When he didn’t deserve to be selected he was selected and when he was dropped and improved as a cricketer and actually earnt the call up, he wasn’t given proper chances. It was pretty unfair his reputation was used against him, and you can blame selectors for not dropping him for a long time in the first place, he was always quickly recalled instead of being given time in domestic to improve. Unlike Malik too, he showed ability to play pace even when he was over 30. But again he’s 40 now, it’s an age you can’t bring him back anymore.

He improved? In what planet was he any better. And don’t you remember his ‘give me three chances as an opener and if I fail, never pick me again’ episode? That was after his so called ‘improvement’.

He’s got the worst record in the history of Pakistan cricket for a consistent player and was a toxic awful man. Ridiculous that fans ever wanted him back.

Thankfully Malik is not selector we don't need him would be an embarrassment playing a 44 Yr old

Mohammad Wasim is saying diplomatically that Shoaib Malik cannot bat on quick, bouncy Australian wickets.

He averages 31, 30 and 3 in Tests, ODIs and T20 respectively in Australia, so it's the correct call.

Malik, like his friend Kamran Akmal, belongs to an era of Pakistan cricket where substandard cricketers perpetuated a culture of toxic seniority to get what they wanted and escape accountability for their performances.

These guys were the biggest beneficiaries of liking and disliking.

Exactly this. Malik probably wants his swan song. But he has never been suited for Australia.

Malik Kakmal and co only mention this like and dislike culture when they are out of the team and out of favour

Its funny how it was never mentioned by them when they hogged spots undeservedly for years on end due to this same culture

Why cant he just seal his lips and carry on with his routine work, he had his time and everybody knows he was plain mediocre

He should have stuck to his guns and explained clearly what he meant and who he was referring to.

To me it seems he is talking about the current captain and regime.

They are all waiting for Pakistan to lose

Watch how everything unravels itself

Waqar Younis speaking on TV:

“I'll give you the prime example here. This man (Shoaib Malik) is sitting here. Don't you think he could have gone to play in CPL and other leagues? He could have. But he gave himself a chance to play for Pakistan in this World Cup. Unfortunately, he wasn't selected for the World Cup and that's fine. You tried your best and you have your best shot - He made the sacrifice. That's the risk you had to take.”

There are 2-3 players he is targetting i believe.

Usman Qadir and Imam ul haq are friends with Babar and thus get selected. Imad also whines, but than again Imad was the guy who kept Rizwan out of KK.

Haider Ali is a product of Mohammad Waseem's academy in Rawalpindi. After Waseem started the academy he than became coach/selector of Northern, and he selected Haider there and when Haider performed, he keeps giving Haider in national team. Infact, for Northern, Asif Ali, Haider Ali and Nauman Ali play for them and were there during Waseem's time with Northern.

Which is why we see Haider ALi get a very extended run.

This is what probably Malik refers to.

There are 2-3 players he is targetting i believe.

Usman Qadir and Imam ul haq are friends with Babar and thus get selected. Imad also whines, but than again Imad was the guy who kept Rizwan out of KK.

Haider Ali is a product of Mohammad Waseem's academy in Rawalpindi. After Waseem started the academy he than became coach/selector of Northern, and he selected Haider there and when Haider performed, he keeps giving Haider in national team. Infact, for Northern, Asif Ali, Haider Ali and Nauman Ali play for them and were there during Waseem's time with Northern.

Which is why we see Haider ALi get a very extended run.

This is what probably Malik refers to.

He made this statement straight after the Asia Cup (in response to another poor batting performance of the batting) in which Haider didn't get a single game, not even in the SL Dead Rubber. I'm pretty sure he's not talking about Haider

Wasim Akram gets angry when a caller asks about Malik's retirement:

“Ek minute. Ek toh tum logon ko har cheez ki badi jaldi hai. Agar usko retirement dena hai beta, toh vo retirement de dega. And if he wants to play cricket, he is one of the fittest cricketers in the world. (You guys are in a hurry for everything. If he has to retire, he will retire. Otherwise, even now, he is one of the fittest players in the world),”

Akram then urged Malik to respond to the same, who had a rather straightforward reply to the question.

“Main jab retirement lunga, vo sabko pata chalega. I'm enjoying my cricket right now, abhi aisa koi plan nahi hai. (When I will retire, everyone will know. I'm enjoying my cricket right now, so there's no plan for that at the moment),” Malik stated.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...from-cricket-tum-logo-ko-101666391832895.html

Wasim Akram gets angry when a caller asks about Malik's retirement:

“Ek minute. Ek toh tum logon ko har cheez ki badi jaldi hai. Agar usko retirement dena hai beta, toh vo retirement de dega. And if he wants to play cricket, he is one of the fittest cricketers in the world. (You guys are in a hurry for everything. If he has to retire, he will retire. Otherwise, even now, he is one of the fittest players in the world),”

Akram then urged Malik to respond to the same, who had a rather straightforward reply to the question.

“Main jab retirement lunga, vo sabko pata chalega. I'm enjoying my cricket right now, abhi aisa koi plan nahi hai. (When I will retire, everyone will know. I'm enjoying my cricket right now, so there's no plan for that at the moment),” Malik stated.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...from-cricket-tum-logo-ko-101666391832895.html

Man Wasim Akram is getting so so annoyed nowadays. He should pump it down a bit. I don't know how his family tolerates him in his home. irritating and angry almost all the time. Seems very difficult person to deal with.

Babaji hunn Ghar baitho tuhadi age ho gayi ae hunn.Old age is catching him very hard.

Speaking to A Sports, where Malik was also part of the panel, Akram opined that had he been the captain, he would have ensured the former’s place in the World Cup squad first and would have argued over his absence in the team. He then lashed out at Babar for not being intelligent enough with his choices and calls. Also Read - Babar Azam Reveals Reason Behind Pakistan's Loss Against Zimbabwe in T20 World Cup 2022

“Ek saal se Pakistan, including us (Malik, Waqar Younis and Misbah ul Haq) knew that middle order slightly weak hai. Ab yeh ladka baitha hai Shoaib Malik. Main agar captain hota, mera end goal kya hota…to win the World Cup. Agar usskeliye mujhe gadhe ko bhi baap banana pare main banaunga beacuse mujhe World Cup jeetna hain. Agar mujhe Shoaib Malik chaiye toh main chairman and selector ko jaake kahunga ki I will not play World Cup if I don’t get my player. But aisa koi hain nehin. Babar ko aur akalmand hona parega. Yeh woh moholle ki team nehin hai ki mera jaanne wala aa jayega. Agar main hota toh iss ladke ko (Malik) sabse pehle middle order main leta,” he said.

India.com

The Pakistan cricket team's struggles in the T20 World Cup 2022 are down to a number of factors, but the inconsistency of their middle-order has widely been cited as one of the biggest. Even Pakistan legend, Wasim Akram, questioned the Pakistan team's selection, suggesting he would've picked Shoaib Malik in the team for sure. However, a fan has now reminded him that there was no mention of Malik when Akram was asked to pick his T20 World Cup squad before the start of the tournament.

Speaking on Pakistan's A Sports, the anchor put forth a number of questions that were submitted by fans. One of the questions read: "When you were asked to pick your T20 World Cup team in a show, you didn't pick Malik. Apart from Azam in place of Haider, he kept the same team.

A little shaken by the question, Akram clarified that he doesn't have time to analyse the teams and pick such squads himself. Rather, he goes by what the production team of that channel gives him, without changing a single name.

"Bohot time hai aapke paas. This happened during a series. As an ex-cricketer and commentator, jab mere se pucha jaata hai ki aap apni XI banaayein, this is the last thing I want to do. It's so boring. Toh mujhe vo team dete hain, main kehta hu haan ye hi theek hai. You think main vahan baithkar poori kitaabein nikaalkar likhta hu? No, I don't. (You have a lot of time. This happened during a series. As an ex-cricketer and a commentator, I don't fancy the task of picking teams or XIs as it is quite boring. Rather, I forward the selections that are presented to me by the channel. I don't take out books, analyse things and pick these squads myself.)"

Earlier, on the same Pakistani channel, Akram had said that Malik would've been the first name on the team sheet for him when it comes to the middle-order.

"From the past one year, we knew that middle-order is weak. Shoaib Malik is sitting here. If I was the captain, what would have been my ultimate goal? To win the World Cup! I would do whatever I can to achieve that. If I want Shoaib Malik in my team, I will tell the chairman and selectors that I won't lead the team in the World Cup if I don't get my player," Akram had said.

NDTV

^Wasim comes across as such a loser sometimes. He is ruining his legacy with every passing day.

Shoaib Malik didn't mince his words as he talked about Pakistan's star batter after the side's defeat to Afghanistan in 2023 World Cup.

He was critical of the batter during ‘The Pavilion’ show on YouTube channel A Sports.

“When he was scoring runs consistently with same strike rate, no sixes, maybe two fours. We were okay as a nation. Why were we ok that time? Why did it not bother us? If you remember, I was the one who tweeted. Now, everyone remembers that. I tweeted, ‘when will we come out of friendships and favours? God helps those who are honest’," said Malik.

“I talked about everything in our system (in the tweet). If I were diplomatic, I wouldn't shoot myself on the foot when the World Cup squad (T20 World Cup 2022) was about to get announced. It was about the whole infrastructure. And I'm sticking to my tweet,” said Malik further.