Which cricket game (live or on TV) sparked your interest in Cricket?

I have vivid memories of watching the 2003 Wc, but I remember the ashes 2005 when I became a regular fan. Really enjoyed that series. Can remember being in Pakistan and watching it when I was out in Pakistan, then can remember returning to the UK and watching bits of the last test when I had some time.

Not a match but worldcup Ali Azmat video song before worldcup to charge up before WC, cricket players training running around in that "Hai Jazba Junoon" video sparked my interest in Cricket...:pkflag

Pakistan vs Bangladesh in the 1999 World Cup. I never liked cricket that much when i lived in Pakistan, but during the 1999 World Cup my family had moved to the US, and in school most of my desi friends were from Bangladesh. And they were thrilled when Bangladesh beat Pakistan, and were talking non stop about cricket.

The Pakistanis in my school (who were not my friends) were cry babies, and were saying the match was rigged, and there was no way that Bangladesh could have beat Pakistan.

So i started watching the rest of the World Cup, and have been watching cricket since then.

Apart from my late grandfather, no one in my family loves cricket.

My grandfather was interesting. If Pakistan were 150/1, he would be angry that they lost a wicket.

If the opposition were 50/5, he would be angry that they conceded 50 runs.

I have never seen him enjoy a Pakistan cricket match. He was always angry and managed to find something to criticize.

These days I have to watch cricket alone, and that is when I miss his presence the most.

it all makes sense now

lol, lots of bachay on here yaar lol..thats why us uncles have to sometimes be careful when listening to them..lol

I thought that most of the members were young but it's a mix bag. It's really cool tho that a forum like this exists because you wouldn't really get a chance to interact with diffrent age groups in real life.

India's tour of South Africa 2006-07 (ODI series)...

We were losing pretty much every game (think we lost the series 4-0) but still watched it too see a young long haired Dhoni smashing a few sixes....

After that, saw a few games here and there but not that seriously. And then my man Misbah played that shot and I never looked back... :misbah

Lol now that you brought up that Misbah shot, it brings back a memory for me. Right after he got out I can remember being loss for words. My Dad was at work, he rang me to ask about the result of the match literally after Misbah had gotten out and I couldn’t even say the words that we lost. Was truly a heartbreaking defeat.

Earliest cricket memory for me was the 2003 WC Final. India's tour of Pakistan in 2004 had my interest for the game increasing. I remember, before youtube, for some reason I used to watch a 40 second video of Shahid Afridi hitting a 6 vs WI (I believe it was in the ODI tri series between AUS-PAK-WI) like a million times. I didn't know it then, but it was a sign of things to come as when I got into cricket and became a fan was when Afridi hit his 45 ball hundred vs India in 2005. I also became an Afridi fan as well :afridi.

Lol now that you brought up that Misbah shot, it brings back a memory for me. Right after he got out I can remember being loss for words. My Dad was at work, he rang me to ask about the result of the match literally after Misbah had gotten out and I couldn’t even say the words that we lost. Was truly a heartbreaking defeat.

It's understandable. Pakistan came so close to winning it.

2002 natwest series final between india and england and that iconic ganguly moment

I was in Shimla.. my nainihaal on that day.. After Tendulkar got out and it was 146/5.. I gave up. Interestingly.. My cousin said.. Yuvraj and Kaif will win it.. Tu Dekhna.. I said wanna bet.. Lost 100 Rs that night..
But, we both danced shirtless like Ganguly that night in the chilly wind of Shimla.

Australia vs South Africa ODI, Johannesburg, 2006. Still reckon it's the greatest ODI of all time

Good thread to know everyone's ages :yk

2001 Ind-Aus series for me

It's understandable. Pakistan came so close to winning it.

The reason I was so upset was because we were in a position that it looked we would lose, then Misbah got us into a position where I was convinced we would win. I could not believe he tried that shot .

I was in Shimla.. my nainihaal on that day.. After Tendulkar got out and it was 146/5.. I gave up. Interestingly.. My cousin said.. Yuvraj and Kaif will win it.. Tu Dekhna.. I said wanna bet.. Lost 100 Rs that night..
But, we both danced shirtless like Ganguly that night in the chilly wind of Shimla.

I dont remember much except few moments like when yuvraj got out, kaif batting till end
I was a 5 year old kid

1992 WC was the first time I watched cricket as an 8 yr old, and fell in love with the game. I vaguely remember the India Australia game, I think we lost by 1 run and I was heart broken. I used to watch the games with my family, my uncle used to explain me about the rules, That tournament sparked my interest in cricket.

My dad actually celebrated because he thought it went for 6, and then the silence as the ball drop down. I’ve never been so numb in my life I couldn’t sleep the whole night thinking of what could have been, think that was the last game my dad ever watched almost gave him a heart attack.

For a second i thought it was 6 as well.

I was aged 9. Pak vs zim in sharjah in 1997. Pak scored 150 odd and I told dad zim are going to win easily but dad said pak will defend the low score and they did. That made me watch cricket more n more to understand intricacies

Started during 1983 World Cup
Cemented in 1985 B&H World Championship.

Vaguely remember NZ tour of India 1995. I was only 5 but we were on the verge of getting tickets for the Pune ODI as we were living there but for some reason we didn't get them. Tendulkar was the talk of the town and he was growing in stature as a player. Vague memories of the 96 WC and a lot of matches between 96-99: India vs NZ in 1997 independence cup, India successfully chasing 314 against Pakistan. Only from CT 1998 and Pakistan's tour of India 99 do I have very clear memories of cricket matches

For me what got me into cricket it was the 2001 Pakistan tour of England . First the test matches i remember Inzi's great batting at Old Trafford. Waqar getting the last wicket to win the test. N then the Natwest tri series where Pak n Aus battered England. The Waqar 7fer at Headingley and that famous game when Trescothick made 130 odd looked like england would finally win a game n then saqlain at the death winning it for us. Afridi slide tackling Malik to make a great catch.

Cricket was my first sport that i fell in love with due to the mercurial late 90s early 2000s team.

When WI visited India after 1983 WC.
The Windies were smarting from their WC defeat to India. I was a naive 12 yr old who thought that India was a better test team now that we are World champion. I am proud of that WC win but it was not real cricket love, it was more of a chest beating moment.
It was only when I saw these guys bowling that I fell in awe with cricket as a real sport. It was sheer terror and super thrilling. I can never erase memories of Malcom Marshal and Garner running in and our batsmen hopping and ducking. I was never more afraid of any bowler other than the great Marshal. There were other greats like Steyn, Akram, McGrath who came close but Marshal was awe inspiring. So was Gavaskar playing as usual without helmet.
Guess Pujara would have found it very difficult lol.

Started during 1983 World Cup
Cemented in 1985 B&H World Championship.

I remember that B&H win. At that time I wondered what was so special about Ravi Shastri that he got MOTS. I think more than the cup, newspapers and magazines were more interested in the Shastri's Audi car :ravi

For me what got me into cricket it was the 2001 Pakistan tour of England . First the test matches i remember Inzi's great batting at Old Trafford. Waqar getting the last wicket to win the test. N then the Natwest tri series where Pak n Aus battered England. The Waqar 7fer at Headingley and that famous game when Trescothick made 130 odd looked like england would finally win a game n then saqlain at the death winning it for us. Afridi slide tackling Malik to make a great catch.

Cricket was my first sport that i fell in love with due to the mercurial late 90s early 2000s team.

I was actually at the old trafford game on the last day, probably the best atmosphere at a game ive ever been to. Horns blaring, Saqi's no balls, englands iconic collapse. Brilliant memories

Have vague memories of the 1996 and 1999 WCs, and the Atherton-Donald battle of 1998, but as far as really starting to pay attention was in the Channel 4 era starting with the 2000 England-West Indies series. They introduced segments like Jargon Buster and The Analyst which was perfect for a kid trying to understand the nuances of the game. They also introduced technologies like Hawk Eye and Snicko so they were ahead of their time. Most importantly - free to air coverage. I wonder now how youngsters are introduced to the game when its largely behind a paywall in UK.

Unlike today's Ultra HD generation, we had to watch Pakistan matches on crappy desi channels with adverts every over for cheap takeaways in Southall. There were no neatly packaged YouTube highlights so you had to tune in live and figure out which pixel the ball was in. I remember returning from school and learning about the Sharjah collapse where we were bowled out for 53 and 59 all out, initially thinking one of our batsmen scored that much :))

Have fond memories of the 2004-06 era under Inzy and Bob especially those series against England and India. We finally developed some grit and backs to the wall resilience after the awful 2003 WC.

The worst I've ever felt after a match was the 2007 WC defeat to Ireland followed by Bob Woolmer's death. The hardest thing to accept was Pakistan couldn't have got a more favourable draw - nobody thought we'd lose to both West Indies and Ireland. Whatever fleeting moment of stability we appeared to have came crashing down that night. I wonder how many young Pakistan fans like myself lost their innocence that day - and realised following Pakistan involves lows that are lower than anyone else's, whose tragedies go beyond merely losing cricket matches, yet whose triumphs seemed sweeter as a result and meant you just couldn't walk away.