Which should be the seventh team in the Pakistan Super League?

b.lesner

Local Club Captain
najam sethi said that in 2019 there will be 7th team in psl in an interview. which one should be 7th team ????

For me has to be either kashmir or any team from sind like larkana or sukkur because these are only two regions that are not represented

No talent hunt programs happen in other parts of Sind other than karachi so a team from larkana or sukkur would do a great job Because this will make all people of Pakistan interested in PSL and more talented players will be found.

but najam sethi is saying its between sialkot , Faisalabad and FATA

It think it would be unfair on Sind amd kashmir

And punjab already has 3 teams

There is no need for a Sialkot or a Faislabad team after the recent inclusion of Multan Sultans.

Why not add more than 1 team - expand it to 10 teams - it will bring more money in.

It's too short to compete with ipl

You can bet it'll be Faislabad.

Punjab Cricket Board zindabad.

Bhai it's not about Punjab or Sindh. At the end of the day, they have to choose a famous city which is marketable. They can't use some flana tinga city. We should support the team since it will be from Pakistan. We are Pakistanis first and Punjabi Sindhi afterwards.

Ah yes the typical lecture on Pakistaniyat because suggesting a team from outside of Punjab is so unpatriotic. Punjab already has Lahore and Multan sides. Why not remove the rest of the teams and make it Punjab Super League.

All I'm suggesting is that a team from Kashmir should be added for equal representation of all parts of Pakistan but no that is unpatriotic gotta get a third Punjabi side.

Ah yes the typical lecture on Pakistaniyat because suggesting a team from outside of Punjab is so unpatriotic. Punjab already has Lahore and Multan sides. Why not remove the rest of the teams and make it Punjab Super League.

All I'm suggesting is that a team from Kashmir should be added for equal representation of all parts of Pakistan but no that is unpatriotic gotta get a third Punjabi side.

Bhai mere I don't care if they pick dera ghazi khan or sukkur. The point is they have to find a city which is marketable, which will have a lot of local support and Sialkot and Faisalabad are those teams. I would also prefer a Kashmir team but you can imagine the cries and uproar from the parosis.

Kashmir doesn't sound realistic at the moment due to the disputed status sadly. Would like it to be Gilgit Baltistan, Hyderabad or Fata.

Let me educate you and many other ignorants here , Kings, Gladiators and Sultans are all Karachi teams. For 6th team PCB offered team names from all over the country from each province including Hyderabad but Schon Group chose Multan to capture the business from South Punjab market. And I’m sure a person like you know it but won’t lose any opportunity to degrade Punjab. Nice try though!

Sethi never said it. He can’t predict the owner will chose what name from the pool of 10 cities.

I think Sind is not being represented thats why people like afraz khoso are no where to be seen because he is from sukkur so its important to have a team from sind as karachi doesn't represent sind it only does trails in karachi and is more concerned about karachi so a large portion of Sind talent is not being utilized i hope they have team from sind larkana, sukkur etc . If not 2nd option is kashmir otherwise other regions are well represented

he said it you can check his interview

Below is the shortlist he offered last time. Schon Group picked Multan not Hyderabad themselves to capture a bigger South Punjab Market. Things are very transparent in Sethi tenure and no Frenchise has raised any major issue. Sethi can’t predict the team owner will chose what name.

Hyderabad

Dera Murad Jamali

FATA

Faisalabad

Multan

Hyderabad.Or the Gilgit Baltistan region can get a team.

Gilgit Baltistan Kashmir should have 1 team , them being one unit.

I would want a team with the name of Kashmiri rockers or Kashmiri warriors. 😊

Below is the shortlist he offered last time. Schon Group picked Multan not Hyderabad themselves to capture a bigger South Punjab Market. Things are very transparent in Sethi tenure and no Frenchise has raised any major issue. Sethi can’t predict the team owner will chose what name.

Hyderabad

Dera Murad Jamali

FATA

Faisalabad

Multan

you are talking about last year short list teams , im talking about what he said a few days back not last year short list teams

Gilgit Baltistan Kashmir should have 1 team , them being one unit.

I would want a team with the name of Kashmiri rockers or Kashmiri warriors. 😊

It has to be a city name I believe. So a team from Kashmir should be Muzaffar Abaad.

3 teams? Which 3? Islamabad is federal region

you are talking about last year short list teams , im talking about what he said a few days back not last year short list teams

I’m saying that he will provide a similar list of the cities name next time again too from all the provinces. Then owner will decide which name they want. Sethi can’t decide.

I think Sind is not being represented thats why people like afraz khoso are no where to be seen because he is from sukkur so its important to have a team from sind as karachi doesn't represent sind it only does trails in karachi and is more concerned about karachi so a large portion of Sind talent is not being utilized i hope they have team from sind larkana, sukkur etc . If not 2nd option is kashmir otherwise other regions are well represented

Why isnt Karachi Kings carrying out any takent hunt program in sindh like Lahore Qalandars are doing in Punjab?

How about a team from Lahore as Lahore has so many local talent so no harm in having two teams of same region like Big bash

I thought that it was said that there wasn't going to be an addition of another team for a few years? Is there any video of Sethi saying this?

I’m saying that he will provide a similar list of the cities name next time again too from all the provinces. Then owner will decide which name they want. Sethi can’t decide.
I saw najam sethi saying this sialkot , faisalabad and FATA will be in Bidding

I thought that it was said that there wasn't going to be an addition of another team for a few years? Is there any video of Sethi saying this?

It is PSL model that from 3rd year 1 team will increase every year upto 8 teams . I think it was an interview with ARY news

Why isnt Karachi Kings carrying out any takent hunt program in sindh like Lahore Qalandars are doing in Punjab?

Karachi has lot of population so they dont go out of karachi so its important to have a team from sind

It is PSL model that from 3rd year 1 team will increase every year upto 8 teams . I think it was an interview with ARY news

Do you have a video?

8 teams would be nice. Would allow more talent to come through.

I would go with FATA and Hyderabad.

Kashmir
Sialkot
Faislabad
Rabwah
Haydrabad

in this order if u want to increase the teams.

You can expect Faislabad to be in the mix somewhere, they have quite a few industrialists that would combine to make a huge franchise

Kashmir
Sialkot
Faislabad
Rabwah
Haydrabad

in this order if u want to increase the teams.

No chance my friend. It would never be approved by the PCB nor the related authorities.

Ideally if the PCB had made the decision that the PSL will have a maximum of 8 teams the next 3 teams should have been Sialkot, Rawalpindi and Kashmir in that order.
But as they have selected Multan as the 6th, the seventh should be Sialkot.
Then the 8th should be either Kashmir or Gilgit Baltistan, depending on the political and local environment at the time.

Kashmir would have a big fan base. Lots of mirpuris around the world and especially here in England.

I worry about a FATA team because I don't know who would support them other than the people in FATA. Maybe sialkot is a better idea considering how important a city it is and sialkot stallions was a brilliant team so they deserve to be in psl.

Think of how annoyed it would make the Indians. Majority of Occupied Kashmir already supports Pakistan cricket and they will now have a team in PSL to support and we can be diplomatic about it and say the team is for our side of Kashmir (but in reality it will be for all of Kashmir :ashwin)

Besides we have a team from Sindh, Punjab, Seriaki belt (which should be separate province but thats another debate), KPK and Baluchistan. The only part of Pakistan not represented is Kashmir.

Another point FATA team doesn't make sense, since there are already talks of merging FATA with KPK and it may go ahead in 2018.

There are few arguments for and against adding Kashmir or Faisalabad team in PSL. If we add Kashmir in the PSL then you have to look on the commercial side of it. The whole AJK combined doesn’t even come close to the population of big cities like Karachi or Lahore. But I bet that a Kashmir team will be supported by the whole Pakistan and by the Kashmiri community globally. But all of it simply depends on their team selection and team performance as we saw the example of Quetta Gladiators who, despite having smaller population, have bigger fan base then KK n LQ. Adding Faisalabad team means we have a team from the third largest city of Pakistan. If they have a decent squad on their disposal then they too have a chance of doing equally well.
The reason why I personally don’t support the inclusion of Kashmir and FATA is that there are constitutional complications regarding their status as territories of Pakistan. Afghanistan constantly disputes on FATA and India on Kashmir. So before these issues are sorted the complications remain.

I personally think 6 teams are ideal, including additional team meaning the tournament will go on for longer. I dont think a longer tournament window would be ideal for us as during Feb there is a lot of series happening before the IPL, as for some reason known to ICC only IPL needs its own window in the ICC calendar.

Also with more teams and longer tournament I dont think UAE can sustain a long tournament as people there are mainly expats who would get bored of many matches and attendance as it stands is already too low.

If still PCB decide to add additional team it should be FATA.

Think of how annoyed it would make the Indians. Majority of Occupied Kashmir already supports Pakistan cricket and they will now have a team in PSL to support and we can be diplomatic about it and say the team is for our side of Kashmir (but in reality it will be for all of Kashmir :ashwin)

Besides we have a team from Sindh, Punjab, Seriaki belt (which should be separate province but thats another debate), KPK and Baluchistan. The only part of Pakistan not represented is Kashmir.

Majority of occupied kashmiris, bro u have no idea how much kashmiris love Pakistan. Every one here is mad about Pakistan and PCT. U should have witnessed the celebrations here in occupied kashmir on 18 june. The whole valley was blazing with the sounds of dhol and nagadas. Looks on the faces of Indian Army personnel gave a beautiful viewing. I'll never forget that night. Thank u Sarfaraz and co for giving us so much happiness.

Faisalabad. It's not about being Punjab centric. It's about the market. The city with the biggest potential. Look at Multan auction for example. The group is based in Dubai, the franchise operation is being run from Karachi and yet they bought Multan, not Hyderabad which would have been operationally and logistically easier. Why? South Punjab market more lucrative then Interior Sindh. Same will happen this time. Investors will be given a list, and the city/region that receives the highest bid will get the team. Happens everywhere. An expansion team is always in cities/regions that have the biggest market, kyunkay unhon ney bhi tu paisa kamana hai.

Yes, PCB can go about not having cities from Punjab in the last time, but then, we'll see how much other teams fetch for.

Does it really matter what the teams are called? :13:

It’s not like the teams play in their home stadiums or need to have a quota for local players.

You might as well call the 7th team Mumbai Indians and make Sarfraz captain lol!

Noone deserves it more than Gilgit..Kashmir is a controversial team and will create further problems for the PCB and I am pretty sure PCB was smart enough to realise this which is why it did not make it the sixth franchise.
Plus Gilgit is an official part of Pakistan while Kashmir is a disputed territory.

Don;t care about the Punjab and non-Punjab thing. Faisalabad first and then Sialkot are the obvious choices due the strong economics support these two cities can provide.

Kashmir is disputed territory and it wont be ever this is why it wasn't the 6 franchise.Gilgit cant be as it does not have a good economy like faisalabad or sialkot.And PSL will be shifting to Pak and I dont think there is a good PSL standard stadium in Gilgit to host Gilgit's home matches.At the end of the day Fasalabad,Sialkot,Hyderabad,Abbotabad will have the best chances or maybe we can see Gwadar.Out of these 5 any 2 cities are going to have 7 and 8 franchise

Mirpur would have a lot of support though. But it will be controversial and our parosis will blow things out of proportion as always ☺️

Doesn't have to be a city though :facepalm:

In all North American leagues there are some teams that represent states and some teams that represent a city.

Even across the border in the IPL don't they have team called Kings XI Punjab which represents the entire state.

It should be either Hyderabad, Sialkot or Faislabad. Any other city makes no sense and is not financially viable. Kashmir carries too much baggage and Fata would barely have any support. It will be very tough to even find buyers for such teams.