Who is the favorite to win the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024?

sweep_shot

Hall of Famer
World T20 is about 7 months away.

18 teams have already qualified. 2 more teams are expected to qualify this month (pending results from Africa qualifiers).

Who are the favorites for 2024 World T20? I think Australia are the favorites.

Too early to say. We need to see what directions teams are taking

Right now…it’s between Australia and South Africa with their batting line ups

Too early to say. We need to see what directions teams are taking

Right now…it’s between Australia and South Africa with their batting line ups

They always find a way to choke. I don't consider them as the favorites.

Pakistan are favourites for sure!

They have a very good chance definitely. They are far more effective in T20 than in ODI.

I think they should go with this XI:

Fakhar
Saim
Mohammad Haris (wk)
Babar
Iftikhar
Asif Ali
Spinner (TBD)
Naseem
Shaheen (c)
Rauf.

Pakistan are favourites for sure!
I would only say this when the first eleven takes the field from the 14 below

Fakhar
Babar
Rizwan
Haris
Saim
Shadab
Ifti
Shaheen
Rauf
Naseem
Abrar
Imad
Zaman
Tayyab

Wickets should suit us
Right now its way too early.
We never go into the tournament with the optimal team either because we shoot ourselves in the foot or injury

Pakistan were favourites for the last 2 T20 World Cups with #1 and #2 batters in Bobby and Rizzy, the fastest pace attack and the #1 spin allrounder in Shadab.

Can't be much different this time. It's a scary team to face when they only have to bowl for 4 overs each.

WI pitches should suit them as well unlike Indian pitches where rubbish shirt and wide bowling gets smashed. Those pitches are more forgiving.

Also , lot of PAK players have CPL experience

AS I had mentioned in another post , Pakistan always favorites before a tournament , but when into tournament the overrated players get exposed.

Pakistan have had much better teams in both skills set and skills , which missed quite a few tournaments , this team now is no where near that team.

I am going to be there IN PERSON to support Pakistan for the first time in my life. So far it’s been all talk, but time to walk the walk from my end irl.

I expect them to win it all in stunning fashion.

I would only say this when the first eleven takes the field from the 14 below

Fakhar
Babar
Rizwan
Haris
Saim
Shadab
Ifti
Shaheen
Rauf
Naseem
Abrar
Imad
Zaman
Tayyab

Wickets should suit us
Right now its way too early.
We never go into the tournament with the optimal team either because we shoot ourselves in the foot or injury
Perfect. That should be the squad unless someone from these 14 completely loses form

Add Azam to complete the 15
And Ihsanullah in place of Zaman

World T20 is about 7 months away.

18 teams have already qualified. 2 more teams are expected to qualify this month (pending results from Africa qualifiers).

Who are the favorites for 2024 World T20? I think Australia are the favorites.
My prediction, south africa this time

With England's top players on their last legs and India becoming certified chokers, Pakistan and Australia are the favorites.

1) Babar
2) Rizwan (wk)
3) Saim
4) M. Haris
5) Azam. K
6) Iftikhar
7) Shadab
8) Nawaz/Wasim
9) Shaheen (c)
10) Naseem
11) Haris

This team has everything it needs to win. It's just a matter of keeping everyone healthy and in form.

With England's top players on their last legs and India becoming certified chokers, Pakistan and Australia are the favorites.

1) Babar
2) Rizwan (wk)
3) Saim
4) M. Haris
5) Azam. K
6) Iftikhar
7) Shadab
8) Nawaz/Wasim
9) Shaheen (c)
10) Naseem
11) Haris

This team has everything it needs to win. It's just a matter of keeping everyone healthy and in form.

What is with you with all these big statements? I remember you made few bold predictions even before this world cup and then went missing completely 😂

On topic, Pakistan got great chance and will go as one of the tournament favourites in my view. We should not confuse formats...T20 cricket suits Pakistan and they will surely be a force.

Australia will probably take it a bit lightly after their ODI WC win...so I dont see them winning.

Eng with its ageing cricketers wont be able to defend the title either.

Indian cricket is just not made for T20s...so I dont give much chance to us.

I think Pak along with SA or NZ will win the next T20 WC.

Pak, Aus, Ind, SA is the seminfinals. Pak and Ind are favs considering the Caribbean pitches

I would say ind aus pak eng will be in sf.. lots of people writing off eng after the odi WC debacle but their t20 team is really good and lot of the odi players gone like malan moeen root stokes woakes.. plus eng will be having the wi tour next month so they will be acclimatized to wi conditions..as has a pretty decent chance as well. Not too bullish on nz though..

I have Pakistan as one of the contenders. They are a legitimate team in this format and all of their bowlers become better in the shorter game.

India Aus, and SA are the other strong contenders but it's hard to take SA seriously with their choking and they might not be as good on West Indian pitches anyway.

Pakistan, India, and Australia will be the top three teams.

I have Pakistan as one of the contenders. They are a legitimate team in this format and all of their bowlers become better in the shorter game.

India Aus, and SA are the other strong contenders but it's hard to take SA seriously with their choking and they might not be as good on West Indian pitches anyway.

Pakistan, India, and Australia will be the top three teams.
Given India aren't favourites so there will be no pressure. I think india on slow turners have a very good chance. I am going to say india. Surprise surprise winners.

Pakistan semi final for sure. I think we will lose in semis. I need to see the team.

Australia and lastly nz

I dont see England making top 4 again in slow turners.

S.africa certified chokers.

Although india themselves are chokers but they make semis and finals on the regular. Plus india have to deal with 1 billion pressure vs what? 100 mil in SA.

Pak, Aus, Ind, SA is the seminfinals. Pak and Ind are favs considering the Caribbean pitches
Depends on whom india pick. If it's the same old kohli rohit etc for t20 then india will lose badly

Need explosive players.

Australia and India the favourites. SKY, Kohli, Head, Wade, Warner, Marsh are all great T20 bats, India boosted if Rohit stays on and if Pant is fit in time. Rinku is someone gaining a lot of traction too atm.

Aussie pace trio will be there too and even the overlooked behrendorff is pretty good. Bumrah, Siraj, Shami for the others, Pandya coming back can also be useful to break partnerships. Pitches aren't known to help tweakers much but Jadeja and Kuldeep could have parts to play, Zampa's form is pretty good too, hope it continues.

Pakistan have reached the semis and then the final so are also contenders, though are below the quality of the above 2.
Shaheen not looking his best, hopefully Naseem can hit the ground running after his return. Wasim jr has improved a lot and could be an asset.
Hope Saim announces himself too with a bumper tournament, he also has a bit of a headstart by playing a lot of CPL (though ofc he faced worse bowling in that tournament). Rizbar need to find their 5th gears more often and hope Fakhar blows hot more often than cold.

We all know England have the batting ability but the holders will need to get their heads back in it after a woeful WC. Weak bowling could also hurt them if the ever elusive Archer is not there.

South Africa have a bad habit of choking and it's arguably worse than India's. So much hitting ability in their batting though, and Jansen and Coetzee look to be real finds.

New zealand can never be counted out and always punch above their weight in tournaments. Expect Mitchell to turn over the odd apple cart. Chapman can also be very dangerous. Boult will be metronomic as usual and him and Ferguson will love any of the greener wickets.

All the others can basically be written off for the KOs, sadly I don't even think the Windies can benefit in their own back yard. A shell of their former selves in this format.

A healthy South Africa are big favorites in my opinion, they have all the bases covered

They can win the T20 world as shorter is the game less chances of chocking.

How come they haven't done it then?

2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2021, 2022.

Even Collingwood's England (2010) and Windies won it.

They can win the T20 world as shorter is the game less chances of chocking.

Choking is higher as the game gets shorter because anyone can change the consequence of the game within 2-3 good overs. Also, the difference in quality of the side is not much in shorter format than the longer format. It is harder to choke in longest format than in ODIs than in T20s.

In 2023, South Africa could have won the World Cup, but a weak captain hurt their chances.

Depends on whom india pick. If it's the same old kohli rohit etc for t20 then india will lose badly

Need explosive players.
India will go to Semi finals. Whichever team they pick. There is a pool of 30 to choose from. Whether they will win the SF or final is another matter.Alao, Rohit has been explosive this year. Hope he's part of the T20 team. He's the cleanest hitter in the team and possibly the world

There was still some discussion that the venue could be moved.. I support that. USA is a boring venue for a wc. Plus our timings here are horrible for subcontinent. Games have to start 9am or 10 am here for evening subcontinent time 7.30pm or 8.30pm.. and the atmosphere will be terrible for day games.. the 2007 wc disaster is still fresh in mind! Was the worst wc ever for both ind and pak fans!

That would be wrong

Hosts are selected on an 8 year cycle

Australia and New Zealand get a tournament
England with Ireland hosting some matches
South Africa with Zimbabwe hosting some
West Indies and USA
Pakistan and UAE as India cant play in Pakistan

India gets a 2 shared tournaments one with Bangladesh and one with Sri Lanka
And gets a sole tournament as well

This keeps cricket relevant in full member countries
West Indies deserves to host

That would be wrong

Hosts are selected on an 8 year cycle

Australia and New Zealand get a tournament
England with Ireland hosting some matches
South Africa with Zimbabwe hosting some
West Indies and USA
Pakistan and UAE as India cant play in Pakistan

India gets a 2 shared tournaments one with Bangladesh and one with Sri Lanka
And gets a sole tournament as well

This keeps cricket relevant in full member countries
West Indies deserves to host
Yeah I get your point. Not sure when wi will get a chance again. But they are going after the lucrative USA market and not wi market. The ind pak game will be in new York and will be a sell out! Except for ind and pak games- there will be no audience for the other countries.. hopefully it's an exciting tournament with close games and tight finishes!

Bangladesh and Afghanistan should have audience too.

There are many Bangladeshis and Afghans in USA.

Bangladesh and Afghanistan should have audience too.

There are many Bangladeshis and Afghans in USA.
The issue is they will put all ind and pak games on the weekend and other weaker teams games like ban and afg on weekdays. And weekdays day time is dead to gt any audience

With T20, the gulf between contenders tends to decrease given the relatively volatile nature of the format, bringing more teams into play.

Having said that, regarding the ‘favourites’, the Indian team looks to be the team to beat for me. Gill and Jaiswal are simply outstanding talents, followed by Kohli, SKY, Hardik and with the emergence of Rinku Singh, their batting lineup looks to be set. It would require a Herculean effort by any bowling team to restrict them to a below par total. Bumrah returning is a huge boost for them also. I wonder what the future of Bhuvi is- he’s always been impressive whenever I’ve followed him.

Regarding Pakistan, I hope we choose to evolve regarding our approach, rather than stagnating with the same conservative batting philosophy. Other than that, there are too many question marks regarding us at present to make predictions on personnel and strategy. This format is by far our best chance to win a trophy- hopefully we are able to deliver for once haha!

India will go to Semi finals. Whichever team they pick. There is a pool of 30 to choose from. Whether they will win the SF or final is another matter.Alao, Rohit has been explosive this year. Hope he's part of the T20 team. He's the cleanest hitter in the team and possibly the world
Weird things happen. India were expected to win this off wc but they failed in the final. Now no one expects them to win int20 so I predict india to win the t20.
Although w.indies hasn't been kind to India in the world events. Their pitches that is

Pak and India favourites? They are not necessarily favourites in Sub Continent wickets… how are they favourites all of a sudden on Caribbean pitches?

teams with big hitters , decent spinners , decent death bowlers and good temperament

Big hitters - South Africa, England , Australia , India partially New Zealand and West Indies
Decent spinners - India and Sri Lanka , afgh
Good temperament - Australia , New Zealand , West Indies , England

Finalists - aus , India , England and West Indies / New Zealand / South Africa

Gut feel is Ind vs Australia finals again.

No dew , India wins
Dew ,50-50

Gautam Gambhir speaking in an interview

“India and Pakistan will compete against each other in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, and they might also qualify for the final. It shouldn’t be the case that supporters in India are in celebration mode if Pakistan lose against a team, or Pakistan fans go on a celebration spree if India fails,”

West Indies , England and New Zealand
According to my understanding, I believe England are firm favourites followed by Australia and West Indies. Especially in this format, West Indies team can be reckoned as ever green dark house.

Well you can't see anything about Indians. If their bowlers rose to the occasion there, then may be they have a chance to make it to semifinal.

Why only care about india India always . why not talk about your own team chance?

Pakistan can fare far better than India in the upcoming t20 worldcup but still not sure whether they can lift the trophy or not.

Wickets in the US and WI are a bit slow and support turn, so I think India will have the same advantage as they do when playing at home because the conditions there are very much identical to those in India.

I am going to be there IN PERSON to support Pakistan for the first time in my life. So far it’s been all talk, but time to walk the walk from my end irl.

I expect them to win it all in stunning fashion.

Hume ghabrana nahi hai.. Australia se badla Australia me World Cup final Hara kar lenge agli baar..Bilkul bhi ghabrana nahi hai.

India , Australia, New Zealand ' Pakistan and England depending on form can reach semis. Pak can always win if we find decent spinners by then' good headed captain and no politics. Thing is pcb changes every 6 month along with chairman and all just like musical chairs..

Couldn't care less for this format. WOrld cup every 2 years? Give me a break. Just in for some fun. India is not a good T20 side. Hope SA wins atleast this one.

I agree. They should make it happen every 4 years.

2 years gap is way too short.

Westindies is such a boring place to play cricket even T20.
It's sad because the atmosphere was amongst the most electric in the world well into the 1990s and early 2000s even when WI were rapidly declining.

I follow some of their fan sites and part of the problem is before the 2007 WC they built several new stadiums in islands like Antigua and Guyana (which hosted a T20 vs IND this summer) that are situated well outside the city centres that aren't easy to access.

The 2007 WC also left such a bad taste with ICC and the local authorities' stringent restrictions on fans.

And of course, WI performing like minnows and the old stars gradually retiring means cricket simply doesn't generate the same interest. However a T20 WC may see decent crowds.

Pak and India favourites? They are not necessarily favourites in Sub Continent wickets… how are they favourites all of a sudden on Caribbean pitches?
Caribbean pitches are slowish

Weird things happen. India were expected to win this off wc but they failed in the final. Now no one expects them to win int20 so I predict india to win the t20.
Although w.indies hasn't been kind to India in the world events. Their pitches that is
Yeah West Indies is a factor in T20s. I have a 2007 T20 WC vibe a bit. A new pressure free team from India this WC in 2024. Let's see what happens

West Indies is the favorite. Its on their home soil and they have the Cup twice. Which is more than anyone else.

T20 = Joke

1 ODI WC > 50 World T20's.
That may be so but world is moving towards the short format. T20 involves a fair bit of luck I agree. But still it has to count for something. I would say it greater than wtc. The whole wtc final concept is a farce.

Should just be whoever tops the ladder. Pointless final.

So Australia clear winners last time. India in 2021.

Autralia and SA might be the top teams here to win. Pakistan has been good in the t20s but I think that winning this trophy takes some extra courage and bravery which seems to be lacking right now.

Namibia qualify for 2024 Men's T20 World Cup​

Namibia have booked their spot at the 2024 Men's T20 World Cup after guaranteeing a top-two finish in African qualifying with a game to spare.

The Eagles secured a 58-run over Tanzania in Windhoek and sit top of the table with five wins from five after previous victories against Zimbabwe, Uganda, Rwanda and Kenya.

Next year's 20-team tournament in the United States and the West Indies will be Namibia's third consecutive appearance at the T20 World Cup.

The side reached the Super 12 stage as first-time qualifiers in the UAE in 2021 but then suffered a first round group-stage exit in Australia last year.

Uganda, Kenya and Zimbabwe remain in contention to secure second spot in the table and join Namibia at the T20 World Cup next year, with Uganda facing east African rivals Kenya on Wednesday.

Namibia, who will co-host the Cricket World Cup in 2027 alongside South Africa and Zimbabwe, finish their group campaign against Nigeria on Thursday.

Source: BBC

Well done to Namibia. Zimbabwe should be the second team to qualify.

Uganda: T20 World Cup qualification 'a dream come true', says captain Brian Masaba​

Uganda's qualification for the men's T20 World Cup in 2024 is a "dream come true", says their captain Brian Masaba.

Uganda have reached the tournament for the first time after a nine-wicket victory over Rwanda.

The win means the Cricket Cranes finish second in the African qualifiers in Windhoek, Namibia.

"We're still trying to process all the emotions," Masaba, 32, told the BBC World Service's Sportsworld.

"It's been a long process, a long journey. This is the culmination of a lot of sweat, blood and tears.

"As a team it was a very, very special moment for us."

Uganda will join Namibia, who qualified on Tuesday with a game to spare, at the tournament in the United States and the West Indies.

Uganda's run to qualifying included beating Zimbabwe by five wickets in their first T20 International against a full ICC member, which Masaba describes as "the turning point".

"Once we beat Zimbabwe, we knew our fate was in our own hands and the boys stood up," he said.

"This is a big boy, the World Cup! And to be on this platform is something that only happened in our wildest dreams and for us to finally get there is a dream come true for a lot of the guys."

They subsequently cruised to a nine-wicket triumph over Nigeria and beat neighbours Kenya by 33 runs on Wednesday, then thrashing Rwanda by nine wickets after bowling them out for just 65 to spark the celebrations.

The team celebrated with a small band of travelling fans after opener Simon Ssesazi hit the winning run to clinch victory and qualification.

Masaba hopes that his team's success can develop the growth of cricket in Uganda, which does not have a professional system yet.

"There's lots of guys that have had to sacrifice work and family duty and school to pitch up for training and for tournaments," he added.

"Hopefully going forward, maybe we can fully professionalise and it just opens up opportunities for a lot of guys.

"It's shown that given the opportunity and the right facilitation, the game of cricket can grow much bigger in Africa.

"For us, it's opened a lot of doorways and shown the rest of the world that outside the top nations there's also quite a bit of potential and these boys just need the chance."

And while Masaba acknowledged that he and his players "idolise" the likes of global superstars Ben Stokes and Virat Kohli, they are confident of causing some surprise results.

"For my players to interact with some of the big names from India, Australia or New Zealand - that would be very special and something I look forward to.

"We came into this tournament and not many people gave us a chance, but it's cricket, bat and ball.

"We will walk into the World Cup firmly believing that we have a chance to win a couple of games. That's the mentality that has got us through this qualifier and it's the same mentality we'll create at the World Cup."

Zimbabwe's men were the top-ranked side in the African qualifiers at 11th in the world, one place ahead of Namibia.

The Chevrons have played at six of the eight previous editions of the T20 World Cup and reached the Super 12 stage in Australia last year, but will miss out on next year's tournament.

Source: BBC

Great achievement for them. Not many were giving them great chance of making it through when they have done it.

Autralia and SA might be the top teams here to win. Pakistan has been good in the t20s but I think that winning this trophy takes some extra courage and bravery which seems to be lacking right now.
I expect Saim, M. Haris and Azam Khan to bring that courage to the team.
What is with you with all these big statements? I remember you made few bold predictions even before this world cup and then went missing completely 😂

On topic, Pakistan got great chance and will go as one of the tournament favourites in my view. We should not confuse formats...T20 cricket suits Pakistan and they will surely be a force.

Australia will probably take it a bit lightly after their ODI WC win...so I dont see them winning.

Eng with its ageing cricketers wont be able to defend the title either.

Indian cricket is just not made for T20s...so I dont give much chance to us.

I think Pak along with SA or NZ will win the next T20 WC.
So you agreed with me but apparently, it's a big statement to say that Pakistan will be the favorite?
Gautam Gambhir speaking in an interview

“India and Pakistan will compete against each other in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, and they might also qualify for the final. It shouldn’t be the case that supporters in India are in celebration mode if Pakistan lose against a team, or Pakistan fans go on a celebration spree if India fails,”
Gambhir knows the phainta coming India's way once all our players are healthy and in form. Kohli won't save them again.
T20 = Joke

1 ODI WC > 50 World T20's.
T20 cricket is the present and the future, uncle. Get used to it. And I say this as a fan of a team which has actually won an ODI trophy within the last decade.
Autralia and SA might be the top teams here to win. Pakistan has been good in the t20s but I think that winning this trophy takes some extra courage and bravery which seems to be lacking right now

T20 cricket is the present and the future, uncle. Get used to it. And I say this as a fan of a team which has actually won an ODI trophy within the last decade.
Could it be because your predictions about Babar conquering India in the last ODI WC fell flat on your face after he produced an epic flop of a tournament, that you are now betting on the upcoming World T20? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

I expect Saim, M. Haris and Azam Khan to bring that courage to the team.

So you agreed with me but apparently, it's a big statement to say that Pakistan will be the favorite?

Gambhir knows the phainta coming India's way once all our players are healthy and in form. Kohli won't save them again.

You are talking a lot now and you will continue to talk a lot for the next 6 months, once the T20 World Cup commences and Pakistan’s starts losing matches left right and centre.

If you are going to be a talker the least you should do is be there when your predictions, claims and expectations backfire. The way you disappeared during this World Cup was embarrassing.

You are talking a lot now and you will continue to talk a lot for the next 6 months, but we all know you will disappear like Voldemort after killing Harry Potter’s parents once the T20 World Cup commences and Pakistan’s starts losing matches left right and centre.

If you are going to be a talker the least you should do is be there when your predictions, claims and expectations backfire. The way you disappeared during this World Cup was embarrassing.
He came out of the hole he dug for himself after India lost the final. When you make arrogant claims, be there to face the music when your claims fall flat on your face. Disappearing when the heat is on simply shows cowardice.

You are talking a lot now and you will continue to talk a lot for the next 6 months, but we all know you will disappear like Voldemort after killing Harry Potter’s parents once the T20 World Cup commences and Pakistan’s starts losing matches left right and centre.

My prediction that India would get humiliated in Ahmedabad in front of their genocidal PM came true and I was there verbally owning you for a couple of days, IIRC.

The way you were metaphorically running around coping hard was indeed hilarious. If you keep doing that, maybe I'll stick around.