Who owns Karachi?

This is a debate I was having with some Pakistanis as they were comparing how Lahoriites seem to care more about their city more than Karachiwallas do for their own.

It appeared that Lahoris seem to 'own' their city and took responsibility for its upkeep but the people of Karachi, due to the nature of its 'melting pot' aspect simply did not feel that way about their city.

How true is that?

I have seen this many times that Lahoris feel very proud of their city. They will always mention and show that they are from lahore.

Haven't seen such thing in islamabad or pindi.

However the pindi boi trend has started

It belongs to all Pakistanis

But Ive noticed people (regardless of ethnicity) who moved to Karachi before mid 1980s care about Karachi and look at it as their own city whereas recent migrants only see it as an avenue for monetary gain

another problem with recent migrants especially from kpk/afghanistan is that they have formed their own enclaves of hundreds ofthousands of people and as such they are not really living in Karachi despite physically being here.

hopefully their children will have a different outlook and see themselves as karachiites.

People who grew up in Karachi (regardless of ethnicity) own up to the city, while those who migrate for economic reasons still consider the place they left behind as their home and think of Karachi as a temporary place of residence.

Unfortunately by its very nature a large chunk of Karachi's residents are migrants.

People who grew up in Karachi (regardless of ethnicity) own up to the city, while those who migrate for economic reasons still consider the place they left behind as their home and think of Karachi as a temporary place of residence.

Unfortunately by its very nature a large chunk of Karachi's residents are migrants.

Why is that also not the case for other cities of the world like NYC and London?

i would tend to disagree with that.

Many migrants in NYC and London dont see it as their city till after spending many years

However these are advanced economies and they do pay taxes to contribute with the tax dollars actually being used for the upkeep of these cities. Not same case in Karachi

Actually people who grew up in Karachi (regardless of ethnicity) are the worst culprit. They themselves are not interested in cleaning the city. When is the last time you put garbage in green bin and recycle items in blue bin? Blaming recent immigrants is an easy way to not finishing your responsibilities.

Yes indeed it is right people who live in Karachi are not deserving they don't keep the city clean and city govt also plays a major role in the development

Because people there know if we don't keep our neighborhood clean we will be the one paying penalty. In Karachi no one care because Govt Officials don't care. Start penalizing people and start cleaning and removing all false constructions over 'Drainage system and Gutters' I will see how city condition will not improve. Also, Lahore is not multicultural city hardly any people come to Lahore for job searches hence their population is not big as compared to Karachi Lahore have 11.3 million people and Karachi hai 14.91 million people (including those who migrated from different cities to earn good money)

lahore caters the best universties of the country. Many people go to Lahore for further education.

Lahore is the least Multi -cultural city in Pakistan, even Peshawar has more diversity. Please don't compare Punjabi Heartlands like Lahore with Globalized Diverse and Multi -cultural city like Karachi

Because London and NYC are cities you can fall in love with.. So is Lahore.... Not Karachi*... So recent migrants don’t see Karachi as their home but London yes

*Unless you were born there but that’s for any city in the world

Because London and NYC are cities you can fall in love with.. So is Lahore.... Not Karachi*... So recent migrants don’t see Karachi as their home but London yes

Lol only one race lives in Lahore. Obviously they will love it, its there city. Karachi is international level city and with the right governance will be in line with Asian cities like Mumbai, Shanghai, Tokyo etc. That is Karachi's destiny.

Lahore can aim for regional hub like a Pune or Ahmedabad.

Lol only one race lives in Lahore. Obviously they will love it, its there city. Karachi is international level city and with the right governance will be in line with Asian cities like Mumbai, Shanghai, Tokyo etc. That is Karachi's destiny.

Lahore can aim for regional hub like a Pune or Ahmedabad.

An international level city where no non-Pakistani wants to go... You need to read the definition of the word again my dear brother

Shanghai and Tokyo are old cities with history and personality... Nothing like Karachi...

Mumbai maybe.... But Mumbai is older and greener... Better climate and hills... And film industry and glamour while Pakistani entertainment is/was in Lahore..

To be honest I can’t think of a good comparison to Karachi... I guess Dubai of the poor? Or Lagos or São Paulo but those cities have better climate and more development...

Closest in India to Lahore is New Delhi... It’s a self evident comparison....

An international level city where no non-Pakistani wants to go... You need to read the definition of the word again my dear brother

Shanghai and Tokyo are old cities with history and personality... Nothing like Karachi...

Mumbai maybe.... But Mumbai is older and greener... Better climate and hills... And film industry and glamour while Pakistani entertainment is/was in Lahore..

To be honest I can’t think of a good comparison to Karachi... I guess Dubai of the poor? Or Lagos or São Paulo but those cities have better climate and more development...

Delhi is comparable to Lahore in terms of old cultural history but Delhi is also an economic Hub, 2nd Only to Mumbai in India I think. Lahore isn't in the same league as an economic giant but Karachi is.

I'm sure Delhi also has people from all over India living in it unlike Lahore which is predominantly a Punjabi City, against Karachi beats as it's the melting pot of various cultures and ethnicities.

And your comparison of Karachi with Lagos ( Nigeria?) is very biased.

Karachi might be down and neglected right now but potential wise there is a difference of Sky and Earth between Karachi and Lahore, Karachi when in hands of an able administrator has the potential to be one of the biggest Asian Cities and no Pakistani city could compare to it.

Lahore's residents were milking cows a few generations ago. There's a reason why Lahoris with serious career aspirations move out of it to Karachi or abroad

Lahores whole economy is probably the same size as some Karachi zones lmao :)))

Delhi is comparable to Lahore in terms of old cultural history but Delhi is also an economic Hub, 2nd Only to Mumbai in India I think. Lahore isn't in the same league as an economic giant but Karachi is.

I'm sure Delhi also has people from all over India living in it unlike Lahore which is predominantly a Punjabi City, against Karachi beats as it's the melting pot of various cultures and ethnicities.

And your comparison of Karachi with Lagos ( Nigeria?) is very biased.

Karachi might be down and neglected right now but potential wise there is a difference of Sky and Earth between Karachi and Lahore, Karachi when in hands of an able administrator has the potential to be one of the biggest Asian Cities and no Pakistani city could compare to it.

Main difference between Delhi and Lahore is Delhi is the capital of India... In Pakistan Lahore couldn’t be capital because of army and some other politics... Of course current day Delhi is bigger but Lahore isn’t far off, like 60-70 % of Delhi‘s size... But India is much bigger than Pakistan + Lahore lost a lot of people in Partition + it was split from main areas on east... So Lahore in current day will never be same size as Delhi just like Mumbai will always be bigger than Karsch
Biased? Lagos is bigger and safer and greener... Karachi would be lucky to reach level of Lagos right atm

The simple fact is that residents of only one ethnic group really care for Lahore

Karachi really is the heart and soul of Pakistan. A Punjabi, a Pathan, a Baloch, Sindhi and Urdu speaking all lovingly call it home.

Since this is a cricket forum let's see some example. Afridi's comments on his love for Karachi and his dismissal of Lahore was enough. Even son of Lahore, Wasim Akram moved out of Lahore when he married an Australian woman and now they live in karahi. Truly welcoming city!

Guys dont turn this into a Lahore v Khi slanging match

Imp The only truly word class institutes on par with global universities in the same field is in Karachi. Aga Khan university hospital

Lahore is the least Multi -cultural city in Pakistan, even Peshawar has more diversity. Please don't compare Punjabi Heartlands like Lahore with Globalized Diverse and Multi -cultural city like Karachi
OP - This is why the comparison is wrong I begin with

One is an actual multicultural city while the other isn't

Main difference between Delhi and Lahore is Delhi is the capital of India... In Pakistan Lahore couldn’t be capital because of army and some other politics... Of course current day Delhi is bigger but Lahore isn’t far off, like 60-70 % of Delhi‘s size... But India is much bigger than Pakistan + Lahore lost a lot of people in Partition + it was split from main areas on east... So Lahore in current day will never be same size as Delhi just like Mumbai will always be bigger than Karsch
Biased? Lagos is bigger and safer and greener... Karachi would be lucky to reach level of Lagos right atm

Delhi has all of India's races living in it? Which of Pakistan's races apart from Punjabi live in Lahore?

Checkmate.

Thank you come again.

Take your garbage Lahore-Karachi comparison out of this thread

Biggest thing in integrating people into new place is laid back mentality... And of course Lahore has famous kula dula atmosphere... Laugh and Humor kills hate... Peace everyone

Which is why so many people
Move out of Lahore to Karachi :)))

Tell Wasim Akram that. Or Shahid Afridi :))

Watch this video of Lahore in 1933. Shocking to see people still using bullock carts and cows roaming the streets.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/I0_DSVq7sUc?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Which is why so many people
Move out of Lahore to Karachi :)))

Tell Wasim Akram that. Or Shahid Afridi :))

They can do what they want we don’t hate people for liking Afghanistan better than Karachi or Karachi better than Lahore...

Watch this video of Lahore in 1933. Shocking to see people still using bullock carts and cows roaming the streets.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/I0_DSVq7sUc?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Have video of Dhaka 1933? Every city was like this then... I mean in India

Which is why Karachi has all races of Pakistan and Lahore is only Punjabi :))

Ever been to Karachi but seriously guys all of my friends who have been rock both cities prefer Lahore over Karachi for obvious reasons

karachi has no match..though i have not been to karachi but so far from my friends and relatives heard much,,

as a neutral i will say that lahore is way behind karachi.. [MENTION=2068]syed[/MENTION]1..all pathans,baloch sindhi and punjabi love karachi,,and who loves lahore,,ansonly punjabi ..

Which is why Karachi has all races of Pakistan and Lahore is only Punjabi :))

Also why Karachi is famed for harmony between all these races... If Karachi is mini-Pakistan then only god can save Pakistan...

Lahoris themselves move to Karachi in droves so its laughable to even compare

frankly the bolded part is very ignorant :facepalm:. Karachi is very old city. Paleolithic era, Mesolithic era, ancient Greeks, Arabs it has been there

Lahoris themselves move to Karachi in droves so its laughable to even compare

I don't think it has been the case for last couple of decades. The migration from Lahore to Karachi has become very meager. In fact, some people have even moved back to Lahore, seeing the vast improvement of infrastructure in Lahore and its absence in Karachi.

If i am not wrong since the PPP came to power in 2007, it has been all downhill for Karachi in terms of infrastructure and security.
Even 20-30mm of rain leaves a havoc in some parts of Karachi.
Hopefully, with a relative success of operation things will move back to prosperity and development.

Karachi's problem is also political. The city government is not empowered enough and PPP does not believe in any sort of service, even Larkana is in dilapidated conditions. N league at least cares for Lahore although it is another thing that doing so they mint a lot of money and give a disservice to other areas of Punjab.
Karachi desperately needs a good city administration who also has enough money at its disposal.

Laid back LOL. Its the exact opposite mate.

Lahori aur shokha naa ho, aisa ho hi nahi sakta!

Can't believe there is so much hate for my beloved city on this forum. :(

Why do you guys hate Karachi so much ??

People from Karachi are saints?

Whether we're saints or not is different matter altogether, people mudslinging us for no apparent reason other than the fact that we're different and don't speak a certain 'langauge' on a daily basis is clearly the ethic bais we voice our concerns towards.

Delhi has all of India's races living in it? Which of Pakistan's races apart from Punjabi live in Lahore?

Checkmate.

Thank you come again.

Take your garbage Lahore-Karachi comparison out of this thread

I have been to all three Cities Karachi, Delhi and Lahore. Ironically I went to Delhi first and then Karachi, many years later. Culture of Karachi and Delhi were very similar, when I landed in Karachi, it looked just like Delhi...I did not find many different ethnicities in Delhi either, but I went there in 80s and Karachi in 90s...

Karachi in 90s had lot more potential than any other city, frankly that was the only metro city in the country, but was ruined by Army and MQM, Pakistan lost their biggest and most important city in that battle. Cities are where vibrant culture are formed and thrive, we end up make it an ethnic war zone. Reflection of that can be seen else where as well...Lahore is not the city where Art and culture thrived in past, its like any other city now. Beauty of Lahore was youth and students, which was suppress and crushed by Jamatis like outfits in many decades, it has lost its soul long time ago...This whole ultra conservative culture has killed most cities, we are producing religious nuts and sheep, they are front and center of Pakistan's Culture. There is no energy, youth or vibrancy left in it...Whole purpose of cities is lost in Pakistan, there is hardly any culture left anywhere...

Mostly it's just banter?

unfortunately it isnt

for many it prolly is but theres 2 particular posters who ruin any chance of banter with their history of ethnic crap

Sad to see that this has become another Karachi vs. Lahore or Urdu speaking vs. Punjabi debate.

Going back to OP's question as to who takes more ownership of their city. I think the question should be, which city's leadership have taken more ownership of their city.

I think other than the period of Mustafa Kamal as mayor during Musharraf's era, Karachi has been ravaged by poor management by all political parties in power for their own selfish goals and obviously because of wide spread corruption and nepotism. Plus the power has been so divided, with different parties in power at city, provisional and national level that no single party has been completely able to take ownership of its rise or fall. They all point fingers at each other. Just look at the leadership structure right now. The mayor is from MQM, the province is under PPP and PML-N is in power at the center. No one really has taken complete ownership of the city.

Lahore in turn has been under steady leadership of the Shareef brothers since the 80's with Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi in between (who was once part of PML-N as well), all of whom have worked to make the city better, even if for selfish reasons, it has worked for the benefit of the city. It also helps that PML-N and PML-Q has been in power in Lahore, Punjab and Pakistan for several decades now which helps divert funds and resources to their city. Lahore in turn has gained tremendously from this and is quite obviously now has become "a better place to live".

Mostly it's just banter?

Banter only shows inside hate.... Same people who don't miss an occasion to insult lahore and punjabis go on in their real life thinking they're tolerant and intellectual.... What we do when we think nobody is watching us defines us... Certainly those posters shouldn't live in dellusion that they're different from average racist or make up excuses for themselves... Everyone is hero of their life story but actually most people are vilains they just don't realize it

I am not a lahori or a karachi wala. And i despise how this thread like many others has become an other punjab vs muhajir comparison.

What saddens me most is that most of the posters above are very educated & doing well in foreign countries but despite that their comments are no different than an uneductaed poor peasant belonging to sindh or punjab who have never been to school a day in their lives, work in the fields like dogs and at the end of the day proclaim "Bhutto aj b zinda he or in Punjab's case Ek vari fir Shair" and then wakeup the next day and keep going around in this cycle till the day they die.

Coming back to the OP's question. The question itself is not clear, is very vague & it was sure to stir emotions on a negative level. When you say who owns karachi? Do you mean the political leadership or the people. They are completely two different entities. I agree somewhat with the above poster about the political complications of karachi which is why maybe a single political party has not owned karachi and taken complete ownership like the sharif family in punjab.

Now coming to the people of karachi, I have many karachites friends here in the middle east. OP himself works in a middle eastern country and dubai & sharjah especially has many karachi folks. What i have seen of them is that they all love karachi as much as the lahori loves lahore or any other citizen loves their city.

To give an example, One of my friend is a bihari and his parents had to migrate from bangladesh in 1971. An other was a bengali cum urdu speaking family. His father is bengali and mother is urdu speaking. During the 1971 trouble, his family migrated to karachi from dhaka. He still has paternal uncles and an aunt in dhaka. Both of their families were not present in karachi before the 70's. Yet they love karachi as if it is their homeland and they have been its citizens for hundred years. Another friend's father used to live in sukkhur and then came to karachi with family in 1980's for PTCL job. Now the whole family identifies themselves as Karachi waley. So i have no idea what you say about ownership.

If i was born in a poor place, I would still own it because it is my home & my identity. Do you see punjabi's in the south not owning to their cities because they were not born in Lahore? They are every bit as proud as any lahori or karachi wala. Do you see Sindhi's not owning their cities because it is not karachi or potohari folks not owning their cities because it is not islamabad or pindi?

For God's Sake, get rid of this 1980's mindset. Dunya kahan se kahan chali gyi and we are still in muhajir vs sindhi, punjabi vs siraki stuff, punjabi vs potohari stuff.

Banter only shows inside hate.... Same people who don't miss an occasion to insult lahore and punjabis go on in their real life thinking they're tolerant and intellectual.... What we do when we think nobody is watching us defines us... Certainly those posters shouldn't live in dellusion that they're different from average racist or make up excuses for themselves... Everyone is hero of their life story but actually most people are vilains they just don't realize it

nicely put!

so you admit you have inside hate. not that there was much doubt

Lahore's residents were milking cows a few generations ago. There's a reason why Lahoris with serious career aspirations move out of it to Karachi or abroad

Lahores whole economy is probably the same size as some Karachi zones lmao :)))

What were Karachi residents doing a few generations ago while the Lahoris were still milking cows?

Quite disgusting the beef these Pakistani's have between each other and look down on the other dependent on where they are from , class, caste, their background, what they've done for a living and poverty level.

What were Karachi residents doing a few generations ago while the Lahoris were still milking cows?

Saying namaaz in dargahs of UP and other provinces of British India

Most of Karachis current population isn't of farmer stock

Anyways I was joking mostly in response to joke posts

I am not a lahori or a karachi wala. And i despise how this thread like many others has become an other punjab vs muhajir comparison.

What saddens me most is that most of the posters above are very educated & doing well in foreign countries but despite that their comments are no different than an uneductaed poor peasant belonging to sindh or punjab who have never been to school a day in their lives, work in the fields like dogs and at the end of the day proclaim "Bhutto aj b zinda he or in Punjab's case Ek vari fir Shair" and then wakeup the next day and keep going around in this cycle till the day they die.

Coming back to the OP's question. The question itself is not clear, is very vague & it was sure to stir emotions on a negative level. When you say who owns karachi? Do you mean the political leadership or the people. They are completely two different entities. I agree somewhat with the above poster about the political complications of karachi which is why maybe a single political party has not owned karachi and taken complete ownership like the sharif family in punjab.

Now coming to the people of karachi, I have many karachites friends here in the middle east. OP himself works in a middle eastern country and dubai & sharjah especially has many karachi folks. What i have seen of them is that they all love karachi as much as the lahori loves lahore or any other citizen loves their city.

To give an example, One of my friend is a bihari and his parents had to migrate from bangladesh in 1971. An other was a bengali cum urdu speaking family. His father is bengali and mother is urdu speaking. During the 1971 trouble, his family migrated to karachi from dhaka. He still has paternal uncles and an aunt in dhaka. Both of their families were not present in karachi before the 70's. Yet they love karachi as if it is their homeland and they have been its citizens for hundred years. Another friend's father used to live in sukkhur and then came to karachi with family in 1980's for PTCL job. Now the whole family identifies themselves as Karachi waley. So i have no idea what you say about ownership.

If i was born in a poor place, I would still own it because it is my home & my identity. Do you see punjabi's in the south not owning to their cities because they were not born in Lahore? They are every bit as proud as any lahori or karachi wala. Do you see Sindhi's not owning their cities because it is not karachi or potohari folks not owning their cities because it is not islamabad or pindi?

For God's Sake, get rid of this 1980's mindset. Dunya kahan se kahan chali gyi and we are still in muhajir vs sindhi, punjabi vs siraki stuff, punjabi vs potohari stuff.

Best post of the thread

As I said Karachi is falling behind because of people living there are not worthy of living in a city like Karachi. Govt never help in making city clean there is no check and balance whats happening in departments. Still, Karachi generates most revenue in all over Pakistan. I am not talking about Karachi Vs Lahore both are cities of Pakistan and my love for them is equal we are talking here about why people not come forward and help Karachi city like Lahories does.

Everyone here please this is my humble request don't fell off the topic we are not discussing which city is better. I am a Karachi born and visited Lahore multiple time. Karachi has its own beauty and high maintenance, on the other hand, Lahore has its own beauty and low maintenance but in the end, We all are Pakistani. The main topic of this thread was why Karachi people not own their city like Lahroies does ( Issue is with the people living in Karachi and government officials ). So don't fight with each other and bring race in between You Punjabi`s does blah blah you Mahajir`s does Bla Bla. Be gentleman both of the city personals and share your thought don't start the blame game. Another message is for Indian posters if anyone came here please don`t waste your time here and give us some space because we are talking about PAKISTAN and their city problem, not about INDIA.

Quite disgusting the beef these Pakistani's have between each other and look down on the other dependent on where they are from , class, caste, their background, what they've done for a living and poverty level.

I suppose you get similar over here as well to some extent. Londoners bragging they generate the majority of the wealth, northerners hating that everything is geared towards the capital. In England it's more a regional though, there seems to be more racial undertones to the Sindh/Punjab thing.

Karachi has been named among the world’s worst cities to live in, according to an annual report released by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) on Thursday.

The EIU’s index rates living conditions in 172 cities based on more than 30 factors. These are grouped into five categories: stability, health care, culture and environment, education and infrastructure.

This is the second year in which the index incorporates indicators related to Covid-19; these assess how each city has coped with increased demand for healthcare facilities and with closures or capacity limits for schools, restaurants and cultural venues.

Karachi has been ranked 168 in the least liveable cities index, only managing to fare better than Algiers, Tripoli, Lagos, and Damascus.

Meanwhile, the Austrian capital Vienna has made a comeback as the world's most liveable city.

The Ukrainian capital Kyiv was not included this year after Russia invaded the country in late February, while Russian cities Moscow and St Petersburg fell in the rankings over "censorship" and the impact of Western sanctions.

Vienna snatched the top spot from Auckland, which tumbled down to 34th place due to coronavirus pandemic restrictions, according to the report by the EIU.

"Vienna, which slipped to 12th place in our rankings in early 2021 as its museums and restaurants were closed, has since rebounded to first place, the position it held in 2018 and 2019," it said.

"Stability and good infrastructure are the city's main charms for its inhabitants, supported by good healthcare and plenty of opportunities for culture and entertainment."

Europe boasted six out of the top 10 cities.

The Austrian capital was followed by the Danish capital Copenhagen and Switzerland's Zurich. Fellow Swiss city Geneva came sixth, Germany's Frankfurt seventh, and the Netherlands' Amsterdam ninth.

Canada also did well.

Calgary came in joint third position, followed by Vancouver in fifth place and Toronto in the eighth.

Japan's Osaka and Australia's Melbourne shared the 10th place.

France's capital Paris came 19th, 23 places up from last year.

The Belgian capital Brussels was 24th, just behind Canada's Montreal.

The United Kingdom's capital London was the world's 33rd most liveable city, while Spain's Barcelona and Madrid came 35th and 43rd respectively.

Italy's Milan ranked number 49, the US city of New York 51, and China's Beijing came 71st.

Lebanon's capital Beirut, which was ravaged by a 2020 port explosion and is battling a crippling financial crisis, was not included in the ranking of business destinations.

Neither was the Ukrainian capital Kyiv, after the Russian invasion on February 24 forced the EIU to abort its survey of the city.

Russia's capital Moscow saw its liveability ranking fall by 15 places, while St Petersburg slipped by 13 places.

"Increased censorship accompanies the ongoing conflict," the report noted.

"Russian cities are additionally seeing restrictions on culture and environment as a result of Western economic sanctions."

Other cities in eastern Europe cities were considered less stable following "raised diplomatic tensions" due to the war in Ukraine.

The capital of war-torn Syria, Damascus, retained its place as the least liveable city on the planet.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2362976/karachi-ranked-among-worlds-worst-cities-to-live-in

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Flooding of Karachi bec of rains again a reflection of PPP's 14 yrs of corruption & mismanagement in governing Sindh. My govt had given Rs35bn to clean & reconstruct major nullahs but prov govt failed to perform it's task of improving solid waste disposal & cleaning minor nullahs</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1546490263019061250?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 11, 2022</a></blockquote>

Afridi not happy with the rain situation in Karachi

"Our elders have done injustice to Karachi"

"This city now needs honest people who can work for its development. If any political party does development work in this city, I am with them,"

@the OP, the way you worded the thread and your post, this was bound to turn into a Lahore vs Karachi thing.

The truth of the matter is quite simple and you would be foolish to ignore it. The best city of our country has been ruined thanks to the MQM/PPP politics. PPP hates Karachi because its the only city in Sindh they do not have control so they will do anything to ruin it. MQM has had the control for ages and they blame anything and everything on Punjab or the Central government but the truth is they have been unable to do much good for the city and turned into a Mafia. Musharraf was in power for a decade and he was pro MQM and yet we did not see any progress to the city during that time and that was not too long ago.

Bottom line is: The people of Karachi have to stand up and own it regardless of where they are originally from. If they consider themselves Pakistanis, then its their city. Let us stop thinking about cities in that sense. If you consider yourself a Pakistani, you own all the cities there including Karachi.

@the OP, the way you worded the thread and your post, this was bound to turn into a Lahore vs Karachi thing.

The truth of the matter is quite simple and you would be foolish to ignore it. The best city of our country has been ruined thanks to the MQM/PPP politics. PPP hates Karachi because its the only city in Sindh they do not have control so they will do anything to ruin it. MQM has had the control for ages and they blame anything and everything on Punjab or the Central government but the truth is they have been unable to do much good for the city and turned into a Mafia. Musharraf was in power for a decade and he was pro MQM and yet we did not see any progress to the city during that time and that was not too long ago.

Bottom line is: The people of Karachi have to stand up and own it regardless of where they are originally from. If they consider themselves Pakistanis, then its their city. Let us stop thinking about cities in that sense. If you consider yourself a Pakistani, you own all the cities there including Karachi.

Bunch of wrong things and inaccuracies.

When Musharraf was in power and MQM had mayor Karachi saw a TON of progress.

Countless infrastructure projects and state of the art drainage systems were built which have been obsolete for past 4-5 years now due to no work being done on them.

The only correct part of your post was that PPP hates Karachi

It's 2022 and I have heard this for 25+ years. In all honesty people of Karachi have alot of patience and the elites don't care because they get luxury life style in the comfort of home. Until the poor people of Pakistan don't realize they've been duped nothing will change. The elites have made a permanent class of slaves who they want to main control over for generations and all is good with the status quo.

JI mayoral candidate talks a lot of sense. Has lived his whole life in karachi and is a mahajir( unfortunately it matters here like everywhere else in Pakistan) .He has a good social media game, I am rooting for him.

bolded part is not true .Karachi saw hella progress during mush's time , also during ji's naimatullah's time.

The National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (Nepra) on Thursday notified Rs11.10 per unit additional fuel cost adjustment (FCA) to K-Electric (KE) to be charged to consumers for the electricity they consumed in June.

The adjustment will be charged in the bills for August and September 2022, which will be applicable to all KE consumer categories except lifeline consumers.

In its brief, a copy of which is available with Dawn.com, the power regulator said: “As per the mechanism provided in the determination, impact of change in KE’s own generation fuel cost component due to variation in fuel prices, generation mix and volume shall be passed on to the consumers directly in their monthly bills in the form of Fuel Charges Adjustment (FCA).”

Similarly, it went on, the impact of change in the fuel component of Power Purchase Price (PPP) due to variation in fuel prices and energy mix would also be passed on to consumers through monthly FCA.

“The Authority understands that burdening the consumer with FCA of June 2022 i.e. Rs. 11.1 023/kWh in August would not be in the interest of the consumers,” Nepra said, noting that in the matter of XWDISCOs it had allowed Rs9.89 as FCA for the month of June to be recovered in the month of August.

“The authority has decided to charge Rs.3.0114/kWh, for the FCA of Jtme 2022 in billing month of August 2022. Whereas, the remaining i.e. Rs.8.0909/kWh shall be charged in the billing month of September,” it added.

Nepra further instructed the authority to show separately in the bills on the basis of units charged to the consumers in the respective month to which the adjustment pertained.

Under the tariff mechanism, changes in fuel cost are passed on to consumers only on monthly basis through an automatic mechanism while quarterly tariff adjustments on account of variation in the power purchase price, capacity charges, variable operation and maintenance costs, use of system charges and including the impact of transmission and distribution losses are built in the base tariff by the federal government.

The hike in power tariff comes a day after the government notified Rs3.50 per unit increase in national base electricity tariff and promised to investigate complaints of overbilling on account of monthly FCAs in the current bills.

At a press conference yesterday, Power Minister Khurram Dastagir said the government was already examining how to minimise the impact of FCAs but hastened to add that the billing in August and September months would remain at the current level and start declining every month beginning November.

He conceded the power bills in July were exorbitant owing to increased consumption and relatively higher FCAs in May. Responding to a question, he agreed to investigate if higher units had also been built into the billing for FCAs or for lack of proper meter reading in April or May.

Dastagir added that the government had been waiting for end-June recoveries to be completed in July and now the performance of power distribution companies (Discos) would be examined and decisions to retain or change them would also be data-based.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1704317/n...0-for-june-on-account-of-fuel-cost-adjustment

Wonder if any opinions have changed on this topic?

Over 30% of Karachi now is Saraikis and Afghans. I think that is affecting the city very much.