Who should replace Yasir Shah in the Test squad for the series vs Ireland and England?

hadi123

Yasir Shah will be a very big miss but who should replace him in the squad?

I think Zafar Gohar could be a good option, he's played in England before IIRC with under 19.

Shadab could be played if pitch has any spin to offer. Ideally need to play faheem in yasirs place and may be squeeze in Shadab for a batsman if the need arises.

Playing Xi

Sami salam
Azhar
Harris
Babar/Shadab (if pitch has spin Shadab can play in place of Babar or fahim)
Fawad alam/ Usman salahuddin
Shafiq
Sarfraz
faheem/Shadab
Amir
Hasan
Abbas

Is Zafar Gohar a better Test Bowler compared to Mohammed Asghar, can someone advise me on that since I have not seen Gohar much?

Should be, because he turns more, flights more and he has more variations. Also, to be successful in Test, one has to have a stock ball which he can land with one arm & eye tied - Zafar has that, a classic round the wicket SLAO spin. Besides, Zafar has a fantastic drifter, something that comes in air (to right handers) and spins away.

However, Asghar is faster in air and accurate - perfect spinner for UAE. I was going to vote for Zafar, but decided against it - he'll struggle in ENG for the condition and Ul Haq will get the chance to drop him for 3 more years. 2 years back, this guy picked Zulfi Babar for an ENG tour with a career SR of 80+ - after playing entire career in Asia, mostly in UAE. I just don't want to give him any excuse to bring back Babar against ZIM & NZ.

Sohail Khan. What has he done wrong and why is he not listed?

Who else worlds best leg spinner and premier all rounder the one and only shadab

Here is a thought guys.

As we know that May, June in England is seamers friendly time with the bowl moving. So we need to attack with the pacers and spinner can be someone who is good and experienced enough to hold one end like Mahraj has been doing for SA. So I would like it to be Kashif Bhatti.

Guy is a left arm spinner so have more control over the bowl than a leggy, moreover he was the highest wicket taker in the last QAE trophy among spinners and a decent lower order batsman with an average of 24 and 2 centuries. This will also give a luxury to play and all rounder as well. Zafar isnt a bad option either but going with Shadab as the lead spinner in may is not necessary considering we are going to attack with pacers.

Azhar
Shehzad/ Masood/ Sami/ Saad Ali(If he can open)
Haris
Babar/Usman Salahudin/Saad Ali
Asad
Sarfaraz
Hussain Talat/ Amir Yamin/ Shadab Khan
Kashif Bhatti/Zafar
Hasan
Amir
Abbas

Too much for Shadab to handle. He has to prove himself the 4 day format in domestic

Won't be dry in May-June, so I'd expect a lot of grass and swing.

The better idea might be to get someone who can keep one end locked up while offering something with the bat.

the spinners picked for pre camp before the tour starts
SPINNERS:

11. Bilal Asif

12. Muhammad Asghar

13. Shadab Khan

14. Kashif Bhatti

Zafar Gohar doesn't seem special to me in the longer format. He only seems decent to me in the 50 overs format. Shadab should replace Yasir, it's a no brainer, he can bat as well.

Injury
Had a contract with Leicestershire but wont to available for that stint also bcz of injury

Chalo ji karlo baat! Ek aur injury to our players made of glass and wool. How van we ever compete with the best when players are always injured.

Have a strong feeling it will be Shadab Khan, my vote went to Zafar Gohar though.

the spinners picked for pre camp before the tour starts
SPINNERS:

11. Bilal Asif

12. Muhammad Asghar

13. Shadab Khan

14. Kashif Bhatti

From these four, I'd take one of Shadab/Bhatti (most likely Shadab for the sake of development).

Both can bat a bit and would be useful down the order.

As I type this, Gohar has the most votes, don't expect him to be picked :(

I think it is time to give Shadab a go in tests. He is a good young player and a good lower order bat as well for Pakistan.

Mohammad irfan from fata... he is the best and most talented leg spinner in the pakistan... dn know his record but by just watching him he looks like class.. he also played 2 or 3 matches in bpl and won them... he is much superior bowler than shadab and yasir shah... best spiner right now in my honest opinion... dn know how no one talks about him... its not always about records... eye should be there also... look at his bowling... and varieties... and the amount of turn he generates both ways... with accuracy and flight... love this bowler.

We need someone who will win games for us like Yasir - no one around except Shadab.

I am very surprised people are choosing Shadab Khan. The guy is excellent in the shorter format but his recent test match performance wasn't good at all and he has a long way to go before being entrusted with being the main strike spinner in test matches.

Guys like Afridi, Shadab who rely on variations do not do that well in tests as batsmen can block them all day and wait for the bad delivery.

Shadab has not played that much FC either to have mastered the art of taking wickets by setting the batsman up.

So it will be a huge risk to include Shadab unless he is the 2nd spinner support spinner. Guys like Kashif, Nawaz will at the least contain runs if not pick up wickets.

Tough question :(

Ideally would have liked to see Irfan (leggie) but as he isnt selected in the training camp then I would go for Shaddy now. Depends on pitch too!

Tough question :(

Ideally would have liked to see Irfan (leggie) but as he isnt selected in the training camp then I would go for Shaddy now. Depends on pitch too!

We must remember that Yasir didnt establish himself overnight so really we cannot expect a new spinner to be like Yasir very quickly.

Postmortem report..... Did we miss Yasir?

I certainly think we did. Despite Shadab Khan's prowess with the bat he wasn't nearly as much a threat with the ball as is Shah. I would wager we would have done ALOT better had Shah been playing.

Agree with the above poster - I continue to think Irfan is the best leg spinner in Pakistan after Yasir Shah.

Shadab is a hot prospect but needs more time playing FC cricket before playing tests.

We also need to nurture Asghar and Gohar (although left arm orthodox spinners, both are superb prospects)

I certainly think we did. Despite Shadab Khan's prowess with the bat he wasn't nearly as much a threat with the ball as is Shah. I would wager we would have done ALOT better had Shah been playing.

You're forgetting that it was Shadab in the first Test who took our lead out of ENG's reach at a time when it was under 100 and we were 5 wickets down.

Yasir would not have extracted a lot of turn during this season because Shadab spins the ball more than him. Yasir's main weapon of choice is bounce and strangling the batsmen by bowling long spells.

If Yasir would have played, the series would have been a lot better for ENG.

Don’t see Yasir doing much in these conditions that does does not mean we don’t need him

Not sure if we missed Yasir, I think Shadab Khan's batting was the difference against Ireland as well as England in our 2 victories in our tour of the UK.