Why are Nike or Adidas not supplying the kits for any of the PSL franchises?

Rana

Hall of Famer
This has to be one of the most bizzare things I have seen in a tournament that is spending Millions of dollars for entertainment purposes. I find it so strange not to see any of these franchises not land a deal with Nike or Adidas, or even Reebok for kits. The suppliers seem to be companies from Pakistan, yes that is fine if you want to endorse the Pakistani label more than the international label, but whats wrong with increasing the appeal of your franchise? Nike or Adidas supplied shirts can be sold world wide, people would love to purchase them abroad.

Its better to give business to local brands.

So spend hundreds and thousands of dollars on foreign players but spend a few lakh rupees on a local manufacturer to supply shirts for your team? Amazing logic

I dont think it's just about buying shirts on the cheap, in fact many brands supply the kits to sports clubs for promotion. Pakistani brands will increase their profile and make more money in the long term. Much better than giving the same to foreign brands. As the quality is good, I see no issue in this.

Why does India not apply this business model for their kit and the IPL kits? I'm not saying we should copy India, all I am asking is that how do you expect your brand to have legitimacy until you do not make a product improvement of whats being displayed already in your Bank Al-Falah cup?

I dont watch the IPL so dont know their reasoning for marketing.

PSL could eventually be huge in terms of merchandise sales. At the moment the organistaion is weak and you cant even buy genuine tops easily online here in the UK. If they get this right, those brands could see their profiits improving. No fan will care if the shirt of Zalmi or Kings is made from Nike or a local brand. Would you not prefer Pakistani brands to prosper?

Someone with a business nous could correct me but its not a candy shop where you pick and get sponsors. They come to you themselves, if your country has the market for their goods then them putting on their names for that target market makes sense. Nike coming into Pakistan is useless in terms of advertising. Noone will pay tens of thousands of rupees for original Nike products when you can easily produce rip-offs so for Nike to shell out millions in sponsorship is useless when the population can simply buy cheap-rip offs of their products. They'd simply be losing money. India has more than 1.3 billion people, their population is so massive it makes it worthwhile. If they even capture a tiny amount of percentage from that population to buy their products then that is worth millions of people.

Right now for these top brands advertising in the Pakistani market simply isn't worth their time or money.

I dont watch the IPL so dont know their reasoning for marketing.

PSL could eventually be huge in terms of merchandise sales. At the moment the organistaion is weak and you cant even buy genuine tops easily online here in the UK. If they get this right, those brands could see their profiits improving. No fan will care if the shirt of Zalmi or Kings is made from Nike or a local brand. Would you not prefer Pakistani brands to prosper?

Pakistani brands to prosper and go where? Their max potential would be the PSL. Maybe a stint at supplying the Pakistan team shirt. But that wouldnt improve the brand image of the Franchise still and nor will it improve the brand image of Pakistan cricket.

Someone with a business nous could correct me but its not a candy shop where you pick and get sponsors. They come to you themselves, if your country has the market for their goods then them putting on their names for that target market makes sense. Nike coming into Pakistan is useless in terms of advertising. Noone will pay tens of thousands of rupees for original Nike products when you can easily produce rip-offs so for Nike to shell out millions in sponsorship is useless when the population can simply buy cheap-rip offs of their products. They'd simply be losing money. India has more than 1.3 billion people, their population is so massive it makes it worthwhile. If they even capture a tiny amount of percentage from that population to buy their products then that is worth millions of people.

Right now for these top brands advertising in the Pakistani market simply isn't worth their time or money.

I can assure you they will not go Bankrupt by investing in Pakistan. Nor will they be taking a massive business risk. These are the same kit sponsors that would supply kit to football teams from Azerbaijan. 4 football clubs in Azerbaijan are provided kit by nike. Check on Wikipedia, there are some really uknown names right there.

I really dont think its as hard as you think it is. I am pretty sure Geo Sethi probably doesnt rate international brands.

I can assure you they will not go Bankrupt by investing in Pakistan. Nor will they be taking a massive business risk. These are the same kit sponsors that would supply kit to football teams from Azerbaijan. 4 football clubs in Azerbaijan are provided kit by nike. Check on Wikipedia, there are some really uknown names right there.

I really dont think its as hard as you think it is. I am pretty sure Geo Sethi probably doesnt rate international brands.

Azer is a country with a very high HDI and a very high GNI as compared to Pakistan. A GNI of 16,000 compared to our 1,500. There is not even a comparison. Pakistan is a very poor country, our economy is in shambles.

It is hard, I am not sure why there is so much confusion. I really dislike Sethi but its nothing to do with him. All the top brands care about is one thing: money. If they thought we were worth it they'd come to us. We aren't so that's that.

Pakistani brands to prosper and go where? Their max potential would be the PSL. Maybe a stint at supplying the Pakistan team shirt. But that wouldnt improve the brand image of the Franchise still and nor will it improve the brand image of Pakistan cricket.

The previous world cup Adidas footballs were manufactured in Pakistan. It does have a solid base in Sialkot for producing sports equipment. They could also improve the clothing range alongside their cricket bats, hockey sticks , footballs etc.

Dude even IPL teams are not sponsored by Nike or adidas anymore, they used to be however by recently their own brands have taken sponsorship. You have to understand that there is no real incentive for sponsoring PSL teams as people will not pay the amount Nike would ask. They would rather just get illegal copies.

I wonder how the Nike outlets across the country operate? They have been around for years. As far I know, they are not official and operate like some of the Apple stores across the country, i.e. basically unauthorized resellers. The products are genuine but overpriced.

How are they making enough profits to stay in business, and why doesn't Nike take legal action against them?

For sponsorship from Adidas or Nike to promote psl you're event has to be attractive as an added value marketing tool and they will look at your proposal. You have to propose a good marketing deal that there is enough value to be gained by Nike and Adidas to sponsor the events.

There also have to be a market where they feel that the event is successful has a global appeal and the event is profitable enough that the people watching the event and idolize the players wearing their logos will also buy their products then yes Nike or Adidas will also go through a bidding war to sponsor their products.

India is a billion dollar market where there is good enough appeal and they know that they will get good returns for any event they sponsor. Even their recent pro Kabadi tournament for 2017 which is the second watched event after Ipl garnered Chinese Smartphone maker Vivo Electronics as a title sponsor of Pro Kabaddi League for a period of five years in a deal which is valued at Rs300 crore

For sponsorship from Adidas or Nike to promote psl you're event has to be attractive as an added value marketing tool and they will look at your proposal. You have to propose a good marketing deal that there is enough value to be gained by Nike and Adidas to sponsor the events.

There also have to be a market where they feel that the event is successful has a global appeal and the event is profitable enough that the people watching the event and idolize the players wearing their logos will also buy their products then yes Nike or Adidas will also go through a bidding war to sponsor their products.

India is a billion dollar market where there is good enough appeal and they know that they will get good returns for any event they sponsor. Even their recent pro Kabadi tournament for 2017 which is the second watched event after Ipl garnered Chinese Smartphone maker Vivo Electronics as a title sponsor of Pro Kabaddi League for a period of five years in a deal which is valued at Rs300 crore

This is a huge myth. 90% of the Indian population are the same as 95% of the Pakistani population in terms of money and class

LOL.Thats such a lie.

Ok bhai, 80%? 75% if not 90%. India is a masive population hence the portion of middle-class/upper class over shadow the portion in Pakistan. Yes, its a better business proposition I admit, but you have the risk element to invest in India as well as you do for Pakistan

PSL isn’t really broadcasted on tv channels like sky sports or BT sports. English people don’t watch Prime tv! So the English market is out of question. Star sports or Sony doesn’t broadcast psl in India so the Indian market is out of question. Same with many other sporting nations for psl. The only way to go forward is to sell personalised merchandise and a few franchises can put this proposal in front of Nike or Adidas or Basics/ASICS (or whatever the hell they like to call themselves). At the end of the day, it’s all about the purchasing power of the local fan base, which isn’t much.

I wonder how the Nike outlets across the country operate? They have been around for years. As far I know, they are not official and operate like some of the Apple stores across the country, i.e. basically unauthorized resellers. The products are genuine but overpriced.

How are they making enough profits to stay in business, and why doesn't Nike take legal action against them?

You said it yourself, they are not official. Its like tickets, you buy them officially from PCB at face value but then sell them on for ten times their worth. PCB won't see any of those profits. We both know legal action in our system, corrupt one at that, would be tedious and not worth the cost and will drag on for years. This is the reason all cricket console games are crap. No serious company puts in money to develop the game as they know in their biggest market, i.e. subcontinent, people will simply make rip-off versions and sell them on and they won't get any profits.

Ok bhai, 80%? 75% if not 90%. India is a masive population hence the portion of middle-class/upper class over shadow the portion in Pakistan. Yes, its a better business proposition I admit, but you have the risk element to invest in India as well as you do for Pakistan

20% of Indian population is 260mn thats more than the entire population of Pakistan. Just look up the size of the economies of both countries. There is a reason why everyone wants to invest in India.

This is a huge myth. 90% of the Indian population are the same as 95% of the Pakistani population in terms of money and class

You're very correct there. But the different is those 5% in India are about ten times higher than in Pakistan, which is any investor's dream.

PSL needs to increase its brand value for those companies to invest! Hopefully in years to come PSL will grow.

20% of Indian population is 260mn thats more than the entire population of Pakistan. Just look up the size of the economies of both countries. There is a reason why everyone wants to invest in India.

You are reiterating my point. India has a much bigger cream than that of Pakistan. But then again Nike and Adidas invest in England and Australia, now...

These are two teams that DO NOT have a bigger fan base than Pakistan cricket. No matter how you look at it, even with rich middle-class white kids who care less about cricket during the winter who have their parents buying them England tops to look cute, they still do not have the tens of thousands Pakistan fans across the globe who can afford the real deal shirts instead of the fake ones. I dont understand why Adidas at least dont respect or help create the brand name in Pakistan

You are reiterating my point. India has a much bigger cream than that of Pakistan. But then again Nike and Adidas invest in England and Australia, now...

These are two teams that DO NOT have a bigger fan base than Pakistan cricket. No matter how you look at it, even with rich middle-class white kids who care less about cricket during the winter who have their parents buying them England tops to look cute, they still do not have the tens of thousands Pakistan fans across the globe who can afford the real deal shirts instead of the fake ones. I dont understand why Adidas at least dont respect or help create the brand name in Pakistan

The reason is very simple, They dont think its profitable for them!

Agreed. Also they need to distribute it more widely. Couldn’t find any shops in Pakistan that sold genuine tops and the chance of finding in the UK are non-existent.
I’ve won two jerseys with Peshawar Zalmi over a year ago (October 2016) still they haven’t sent it to me. This is very poor from the franchises.
Ideally, they should try to sell in more locations. Would love to find someone in the UK who sells genuine PSL tops!

This is the Pakistan Super League. It should support Pakistan as much as it can. Why would it want to benefit outside businesses. Doesn't make sence.

CA Sports
Ihsan
MB Malik

These are just some of the sporting brands Pakistan has. They are or have been well established. Why don't any of these make some real nice kits and perhaps others will ask them to make their kit.

Simple reason: counterfiet merchandise which is loss of revenue for Nike and Adidas unless they manufacture in Pakistan to keep the cost low for most of the people to buy

Maybe because Nike and Adidas don't make cricket kits unless it's through a big sponsorship deal? You can't just go to Nike and say make my team kits...you can however buy Nike stuff and get your team logo and player names printed on it which is not the same thing as official Nike gear.

The day we see a Nike/Addidas Pakistan shirt is the day we have made it.

We manufacture for Addidas for goodness sake why don't they invest in our cricket.

Exactly, all of these people using the excuse as to how it would not benefit them....does that even matter to these multi billion dollar companies?

Yes it does because to get any business deal approved you need to have a cost-benefit analysis. Right now it's not profitable enough for these big companies to invest in Pakistan cricket. And I can't imagine which sane business manager would approve a deal where the company would lose money.

Despite the contrary, bigger companies have a more stringent deal review process and because of their size they're too bureaucratic and slow in adopting new approach to doing business (this is true for all big business).

People fail to understand how big of a role money plays in making a business decision. Things need to add up and Pakistan's cricket base surely doesn't sound like an attractive endeavor to take. Given how Pakistani economy is and the uncertainty that surrounds it, I don't see Nike or Adidas sponsoring Pakistan in the next 3 to 5 years.

Yes it does because to get any business deal approved you need to have a cost-benefit analysis. Right now it's not profitable enough for these big companies to invest in Pakistan cricket. And I can't imagine which sane business manager would approve a deal where the company would lose money.

Despite the contrary, bigger companies have a more stringent deal review process and because of their size they're too bureaucratic and slow in adopting new approach to doing business (this is true for all big business).

People fail to understand how big of a role money plays in making a business decision. Things need to add up and Pakistan's cricket base surely doesn't sound like an attractive endeavor to take. Given how Pakistani economy is and the uncertainty that surrounds it, I don't see Nike or Adidas sponsoring Pakistan in the next 3 to 5 years.

Rana will ignore your post and ask the next person the same question like he has done in this thread a few times. :))

Two different things.

Companies in Pakistan may manufacture the merchandise, but there is a $$ agreement in place between Addidas and the local business. The local business gets paid for it. Its not a free service.

Investing in Pakistan cricket is unrelated to the above. They probably have chosen not to do it (so far) as they do not see any monetary gain in it.

Mentioned this before, they won't go anywhere near Pakistan cricket at the moment, after the events of 2010.

Lol what a thread. Manchester United does not pay Adidas to make their kits rather it's Adidas that pays Manchester United millions for the privilege of supplying them their playing kit and the benefit they derive from the deal is that billions of people see their logo every time Manchester United plays.

For companies like Adidas and Nike branding is everything. They are extremely wary and cognizant of exactly where they want to put their logo and sadly PSL teams haven't reached that level yet.

Lol what a thread. Manchester United does not pay Adidas to make their kits rather it's Adidas that pays Manchester United millions for the privilege of supplying them their playing kit and the benefit they derive from the deal is that billions of people see their logo every time Manchester United plays.

For companies like Adidas and Nike branding is everything. They are extremely wary and cognizant of exactly where they want to put their logo and sadly PSL teams haven't reached that level yet.

You Talk as if England and Australia have reached a bigger Brand appeal than Pakistan...sorry mate I would disagree, Pakistan cricket even without its solid structure is still a bigger brand worldwide compared to the English and Australian teams. Our matches are not just viewed in Pakistan. Thousands of people tune in around the world one way or another. It's just not as big as India, which is huge. But it's bigger than Australia and England. We outnumbered England at home in the Champions trophy. It was there for every one to see

Pakistan may get more eyeballs, but what is the spending capacity of a Pakistani as compared to an Aussie or a Brit?

India, despite having only 10-15% more GDP per capita than Pakistan, also fills the stadiums in most game abroad. Thus investors feel confident of additional revenue from outside India. Pakistan only does it in England.

Im sorry but judging by your post many of them are not grounded in reality. Pakistan like the poster above has said might have more people tuning in but we do not yet have the spending power of countries like England or Australia nor do we have a high population like India to offset the imbalance. These things will come with time as Pakistans economy keeps rising.

I think, it's not about money - it's not that sponsoring PSL doesn't make monetary sense for them, rather the baggage that PAK cricket (& PSL) carries, probably is too risky for them. Adidas sponsored Luxembourg soccer team - that's a market size of 500,000 pair, even if I consider that every people including the fetus in womb should buy a pair ......

PAK cricket has to improve it's image, before it happens.