Why aren't there any Pakistani born CEOs in the USA?

Snak3eye5

Tape Ball Star
I don't know of any pakistani born ceo's leading any fortune 500 companies in the US. While India has more than a dozen listed below. After all we have the same genes and were separated after partition. Are we not smart enough to be ceo's which i know does't make any sense.. Ive been told that Indians usually mostly talk english and this shows. But this also can't be it..

Sundar Pichai - CEO, Google.
Satya Nadella - CEO, Microsoft.
Shantanu Narayen - CEO, Adobe Systems.
Indra Nooyi - Chairperson & CEO, PepsiCo.
Chandra Kochhar - MD & CEO, ICICI Bank.
Anshuman Jain - Ex-Co-CEO, Deutsche Bank
Ratan Tata - The guy who brought Jaguar Land Rover.
Sanjay Kumar Jha - Ex COO, Qualcomm - Ex CEO, Microsoft - CEO, Global Foundries.
Francis D'souza - CEO Cognizant.
Sanjay Mehrotra - CEO Sandisk.
Rajeev Suri - CEO Nokia.
Ajay Nanga - MasterCard.

Muslims get discriminated in Corporate America. I have seen it a few times.

The tech Industry is already dominated by the neighbors so no question about being a CEO in a tech company. The rest is taken care of by the low population and Islam and I dont think majority of the Pakistanis are not well equipped to be the CEOs.

Javed Ahmed – currently lives in London, where his headquarters are based; Chief Executive Officer of Tate & Lyle,[12] a FTSE 250 company which is one of Britain's oldest brands[13]
Farooq Kathwari – Chairman, President and Chief Executive officer of Ethan Allen[14]
Syed Moiz Balkhi – Florida-based entrepreneur; founder of WPBeginner[15]
Michael Chowdry (1955–2001) – Forbes 400 businessman; founder of air cargo company Atlas Air, which in 2001 was worth over $1.39 billion[16]
Tariq Farid – entrepreneur; owner and CEO of Edible Arrangements[17]
Nabeel Gareeb – appointed President and Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors of MEMC in 2002;[18] according to CNN he was the 24th highest paid CEO in 2006;[19] according to Forbes he was the 6th highest earning CEO in 2008 in the US[20]
Abbas Hashmi – investment banker and founder of Green Card Capital[21]
Fred Hassan – Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of pharmaceutical company Schering-Plough from 2003-2009, when the company completed its merger with Merck & Co[22]
Mansoor Ijaz – businessman; founder and chairman of Crescent Investment Management LLC, a New York investment partnership; commentator on Fox News[23]
Shahid Khan – President of Flex-N-Gate Corp., with $2 billion in annual revenue;[24] in mid-December bought a majority stake of NFL team Jacksonville Jaguars for $760 million[25]
Safi Qureshey – former CEO and co-founder of AST Research, a Fortune 500 company with revenues over 2.5 billion USD[26]
Atif Sheikh – finalist for the new World Trade Center design contest hosted by CNN; founded Atex Capital Partners, a combined venture capital firm based in London

How's the education system in Pakistan for IT and MBA? In India IIT's and IIM's are rated pretty good..

Extremely pathetic. The only universities that you'd consider as just about average by international MBA standards are LUMS and IBA, both of which are out of the reach of the middle class. IT is also sub par, major ratta scene in almost all the uni. The combine intellect of all the IT unis of Pakistan can't hold a candle to even a single IIT.

IITs are truly a remarkable achievement of India, the one I'm the most jealous of by far. I don't know a lot about the IIMs.

Lol is this a troll thread? Have you never heard of Shahid Khan, he was born in Lahore and is the billionaire owner of Flex-n-gate, a big car parts manufacturer. He's also the owner of the NFL's Jacksonville Jaguars and Fulham FC in the British soccer league.

They exist. Just not to the extent of Indians.

3 reasons as to why:

* Difference in numbers (way more Indians than Pakistanis)

* Institutional difference back home

* Religion

I find it really funny when Indians brag about all these accomplishments a minority of people did. That's something only FOBs are obsessed with. :))

Javed Ahmed – currently lives in London, where his headquarters are based; Chief Executive Officer of Tate & Lyle,[12] a FTSE 250 company which is one of Britain's oldest brands[13]
Farooq Kathwari – Chairman, President and Chief Executive officer of Ethan Allen[14]
Syed Moiz Balkhi – Florida-based entrepreneur; founder of WPBeginner[15]
Michael Chowdry (1955–2001) – Forbes 400 businessman; founder of air cargo company Atlas Air, which in 2001 was worth over $1.39 billion[16]
Tariq Farid – entrepreneur; owner and CEO of Edible Arrangements[17]
Nabeel Gareeb – appointed President and Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors of MEMC in 2002;[18] according to CNN he was the 24th highest paid CEO in 2006;[19] according to Forbes he was the 6th highest earning CEO in 2008 in the US[20]
Abbas Hashmi – investment banker and founder of Green Card Capital[21]
Fred Hassan – Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of pharmaceutical company Schering-Plough from 2003-2009, when the company completed its merger with Merck & Co[22]
Mansoor Ijaz – businessman; founder and chairman of Crescent Investment Management LLC, a New York investment partnership; commentator on Fox News[23]
Shahid Khan – President of Flex-N-Gate Corp., with $2 billion in annual revenue;[24] in mid-December bought a majority stake of NFL team Jacksonville Jaguars for $760 million[25]
Safi Qureshey – former CEO and co-founder of AST Research, a Fortune 500 company with revenues over 2.5 billion USD[26]
Atif Sheikh – finalist for the new World Trade Center design contest hosted by CNN; founded Atex Capital Partners, a combined venture capital firm based in London

Two more off the top of my head:

Alex Naqvi, founder of SandForce, now part of Seagate, and Ashar Aziz, CEO of FireEye.

If you do a closer analysis of the list in the OP then you will find that majority of the companies on that list are tech companies and nobody can compete with Indians on IT let alone us.

Extremely pathetic. The only universities that you'd consider as just about average by international MBA standards are LUMS and IBA, both of which are out of the reach of the middle class. IT is also sub par, major ratta scene in almost all the uni. The combine intellect of all the IT unis of Pakistan can't hold a candle to even a single IIT.

IITs are truly a remarkable achievement of India, the one I'm the most jealous of by far. I don't know a lot about the IIMs.

You are right about the MBA part, but IT training in Pakistan is second to none. There was a time where Microsoft directly hired programmers from Pakistani universities and took them from Karachi/Lahore etc. My own two first cousins got hired from FAST by Microsoft in the mid-90s and have progressed to very very senior level roles there. One of them was the head of the Windows 10 development project.

It's just that the image of Pakistan in the world media is garbage now, and no companies take interest in the country. There are also a plethora of sub-par institutes that produce ratta programmers/engineers who are only good at copy/paste.

I think any minority making it as a CEO should be a source of inspiration for all communities.

It's not a competition. :))

I think any minority making it as a CEO should be a source of inspiration for all communities.

It's not a competition. :))

I agree with the first sentence, but as far as the second sentence goes, being unfortunate enough to be part of the tech industry, I can tell you that one never hears the end of it, especially from that recent arrival from Chennai with the oiled hair and the bright yellow printed shirt.

You are right about the MBA part, but IT training in Pakistan is second to none. There was a time where Microsoft directly hired programmers from Pakistani universities and took them from Karachi/Lahore etc. My own two first cousins got hired from FAST by Microsoft in the mid-90s and have progressed to very very senior level roles there. One of them was the head of the Windows 10 development project.

It's just that the image of Pakistan in the world media is garbage now, and no companies take interest in the country. There are also a plethora of sub-par institutes that produce ratta programmers/engineers who are only good at copy/paste.

Fast still enjoys a good reputation, especially the Lahore campus, but overall there has been a downward trend over the years. The education is not of the kind that gets the best out of everyone, if you're a genius and/or very passionate about IT then you'll find your way but for the average student things are not very good, the reputation of Pakistan further damages the prospects but last I heard Microsoft was still hiring a few engineers from Pakistan every year but for a population of mid 20 crores, a 5-10 engineers is not good enough.

I have 3 friends who are in their 3rd year of CS program and can't install Windows.

I don't know of any pakistani born ceo's leading any fortune 500 companies in the US. While India has more than a dozen listed below. After all we have the same genes and were separated after partition. Are we not smart enough to be ceo's which i know does't make any sense.. Ive been told that Indians usually mostly talk english and this shows. But this also can't be it..

Sanjay Kumar Jha - Ex COO, Qualcomm - Ex CEO, Microsoft - CEO, Global Foundries.
Rajeev Suri - CEO Nokia.
Ajay Nanga - MasterCard.

If the question is why no CEO of Pakistani origin, why post a list of Indians? Makes no sense, why the need to establish false equivalence between India and Pakistan?

Also, the list above has many flaws. Chanda doesn't belong there -- she's an Indian CEO of an Indian bank, so what's the big deal? Similarly Ratan Tata. Agreed Tatas bought many global companies like Jaguar-Land Rover and Corus, but the Tata Group is essentially an Indian business house, not a global conglomerate like PepsiCo is. I'd make the same argument for the Cognizant CEO. Agreed it's technically HQ-ed in US, but it is essentially is an Indian company. Mastercard -- It's Ajay Banga, not Nanga. (BTW, Nanga means naked in Hindi :))

You could add the name of (ex) Citibank no. 2 to this list -- Victor Menezes and also Vikram Pandit who was the CEO for some time before being forced out. Also, Rajat Gupta who was CEO of McKinsey (which is a HUGE deal whichever way you look at it), but turned out to be a scamster and was arrested, so more of an embarrassment now to the India brand. Unilever senior management is full of Indians.

I see I guess with all the terrorism over the years global firms probably stopped recruiting from Pakistan? Maybe if things become better again you will see more Pakistanis getting into IT industry.. IIT is not about intellectuals but grinders true there are some really sharp brains in IIT but the education system over there is a lot of grinding.. IIM's and ISB are top Indian MBA colleges the highest package every year exceeds 1crore INR which is a lot..

India did well in getting the IT industry and call centres set up It employees so many people who without the outsourcing from USA/AMEA would have struggled..

Good for the Indians BTW, we never get to hear too much about Chinese CEO's in USA..... Are there none?

I think culture has a lot to do with it. Pakistanis think about starting their business as soon as they have a little bit of money whereas Indians are quite comfortable working for the rest of their lives and take fewer risks. Another thing is that there are more Indians who immigrated to US since 9/11 than Pakistanis. If you go to any reputable university CS/Engineering department you will see that it is full of Indians and Chinese... whereas Pakistani students cannot even get visas to study in the US (not to mention there are barely any scholarships being offered by Pakistani government). Some of my friends who did their O level/A levels in Pakistan are some of the most smartest people I know. I don't think I have met many Indians who strike me as geniuses, most of them are just hardworking and subordanate.

I agree with the first sentence, but as far as the second sentence goes, being unfortunate enough to be part of the tech industry, I can tell you that one never hears the end of it, especially from that recent arrival from Chennai with the oiled hair and the bright yellow printed shirt.

Is the stereotype still prevalent?I thought they must have learnt how to properly dress themselves up by now.Its 2017.

You dont know anything and just go on. I am in bay area and I see Pakistsnis in every top company every where. Only reason is that these Indians are CEOs because they started coming to US in 80s and we Pakistanis came in last 90s. And ofcourse for every 1 Pakisani, you see 10 Indians as Indians have simply one goal, move US and find IT job.

Is the stereotype still prevalent?I thought they must have learnt how to properly dress themselves up by now.Its 2017.

Very much so. I won't go into too much detail lest it end up derailing the thread, but the giant gold-plated wristwatches I'm seeing more and more of are really taking the sartorial disasters to another level.

Rajeev Suri - CEO Nokia.
Ajay Nanga - MasterCard.

I think you need to be a bit more specific. Your list makes more sense if you add a criteria such as market capitalization > $20 B.

With the criteria mkt cap > $20B, your question "Why aren't there any Pakistani born CEOs in the USA?" becomes meaningful. Another poster provided a list of Pakistani CEOs, but none of them were in that category of firms.

ICICI is an Indian bank and I don't think you want it on the list. You missed a big one, Arun Sarin was the CEO of Vodafone, possibly the largest telecom company in the world.

It is not really technology which has made these Indians CEOs of their firms, rather the fact that they are very good managers. I have watched many Indians in action in the corporate world and they have very good practical sense and people skills. Nadella is presently doing unbelievable things to Microsoft, showing that he has great vision too. He has made Microsoft relevant again after the lost Ballmer years.

Good for the Indians BTW, we never get to hear too much about Chinese CEO's in USA..... Are there none?

I think there is a Chinese lady who runs AMD, another who used to run Avon, and a guy who runs Blackberry. However, none of the them make the $20 B cutoff (AMD is close at $12 B).

You dont anything and just go on. I am in bay area and I see Pakistsnis in every top company every where. Only reason is that these Indians are CEOs because they started coming to US in 80s and we Pakistanis came in last 90s. And ofcourse for every 1 Pakisani, you see 10 Indians as Indians have simply one goal, move US and find IT job.
And what evidence do you have these that these people you talk of were educated in Pakistan? And I replied to syed bhai, read that to better understand what I mean.

They serve no purpose to India,they were meant for research activities in India not for manufacturing CEOs in other countries.

I'm from Chennai mate,defn not how you define but maybe I'm not as smart to be in that tech company of yours either.

But this system does come at a price. Look at the huge number of student suicides in India. All of this is down to the pressure put on students from a young age by the Parents, Society and educational system as well .

Many students are earmarked from birth to satisfy their parents aspirations or to maintain the family's educational/societal standards. Their voices or aptitudes are never attended to . This is one of the reasons why you see so few International artists/writers or Olympic medalists from India. Even if the parents let you follow a non-scholary path that will be only fields with a well established success potential or social visibility - Cricket, Bollywood and recently chess,badminton etc. Even there, many of these children too may be fulfilling their parent's aspirations and not their own (See Yuvraj Singh - Yograj).

You see the same situation in China as well. This was a reason why a movie like "3 IDIOTS" was hugely successful in China too as their education system is very similar.

Of course China has ensured that their best brains stay and work for their own country, while Indian conditions aren''t attractive enough for the best brains to decide to stay here ( perfectly fine in my opinion) .

If you do a closer analysis of the list in the OP then you will find that majority of the companies on that list are tech companies and nobody can compete with Indians on IT let alone us.

English , English , English ! - The only true gift of the Raj.

I work in the IT sector, I can tell you that the 80-90% of people working here dont actually do any proper developmental work. Its mostly man management, communication (voice & Email) and "handling" computers. Of-course, we are so ready to do slave labour for peanuts, but peanuts is way better than nothing, which is what most of us would be earning otherwise.!

That's it . Its the gift of English and the fact that after Independence , India didn't go full r3tard and ban English and pushed hindi on everyone. Many post imperialist states had done so .. We would never had this same level of competence in the IT industry if it were so . ! The southern states played a huge part in retaining English in modern India and even now we continue to benefit the most from the IT industry..

I don't know the status of English language in Pakistan./ Did the imposition of Urdu (which I think no-one in Pak spoke pre Independence) lead to Pakistan sidelining English language there ? Otherwise you would have been similarly equipped to handle the IT boom (atleast in the language aspect) like India and way better than the other Asian states .. ?

Very much so. I won't go into too much detail lest it end up derailing the thread, but the giant gold-plated wristwatches I'm seeing more and more of are really taking the sartorial disasters to another level.

:facepalm: Good God
Bet Mallus are no better either [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION]

Muslims get discriminated in Corporate America. I have seen it a few times.

Nope. That is just the case recently. Even though you are right, but all Desi's have to face discrimination to some extent. Its just that Indians work harder in the fields of Tech. Pakistani's are always looking to open businesses. They're more inclined towards restaurants, car services and stuff like that while Indians go to Uni more.

They serve no purpose to India,they were meant for research activities in India not for manufacturing CEOs in other countries.

That is also true. I see a lot of people working hard in India too but why do these Genius CEO's relocate themselves abroad? Why not work for India?

But this system does come at a price. Look at the huge number of student suicides in India. All of this is down to the pressure put on students from a young age by the Parents, Society and educational system as well .

Many students are earmarked from birth to satisfy their parents aspirations or to maintain the family's educational/societal standards. Their voices or aptitudes are never attended to . This is one of the reasons why you see so few International artists/writers or Olympic medalists from India. Even if the parents let you follow a non-scholary path that will be only fields with a well established success potential or social visibility - Cricket, Bollywood and recently chess,badminton etc. Even there, many of these children too may be fulfilling their parent's aspirations and not their own (See Yuvraj Singh - Yograj).

You see the same situation in China as well. This was a reason why a movie like "3 IDIOTS" was hugely successful in China too as their education system is very similar.

Of course China has ensured that their best brains stay and work for their own country, while Indian conditions aren''t attractive enough for the best brains to decide to stay here ( perfectly fine in my opinion) .

I loved that movie. It was extremely popular in Pakistan too. Just recently, a friend of mine commit suicide in Pakistan, possibly because of not getting 4 A*'s in her A Levels. I fail to understand why Desi parents have this delusion that EVERY single child has the capability to do well. I myself was under so much pressure during this time because my father would repeatedly text me and try and motivate me. I was a smart kid but never got good grades and I literally went into depression at one phase in life. Thankfully, my parents were normal about it.

English , English , English ! - The only true gift of the Raj.

I work in the IT sector, I can tell you that the 80-90% of people working here dont actually do any proper developmental work. Its mostly man management, communication (voice & Email) and "handling" computers. Of-course, we are so ready to do slave labour for peanuts, but peanuts is way better than nothing, which is what most of us would be earning otherwise.!

That's it . Its the gift of English and the fact that after Independence , India didn't go full r3tard and ban English and pushed hindi on everyone. Many post imperialist states had done so .. We would never had this same level of competence in the IT industry if it were so . ! The southern states played a huge part in retaining English in modern India and even now we continue to benefit the most from the IT industry..

I don't know the status of English language in Pakistan./ Did the imposition of Urdu (which I think no-one in Pak spoke pre Independence) lead to Pakistan sidelining English language there ? Otherwise you would have been similarly equipped to handle the IT boom (atleast in the language aspect) like India and way better than the other Asian states .. ?

I say this all the time, we in the Indian Sub Continent are most definitely blessed to have been under the British Raj. At least this generation, if not our ancestors. I hear people talking of the atrocities of the British but the fact is, despite Desi's being hardworking people, we would've ended up like some African nation had English not been this prevalent in our country's.

It was our luck that America would go onto become the superpower of the world and that we would naturally be able to converse in their language.

As for your question, Pakistan has a very high English speaking population. And its not because of an inferiority complex, I don't understand why people find shame in accepting the fact that it is the universal language.

It's the brain that matters more here. who cares about your appearance as long as you do your job perfectly?

And these flashy golden wrist watches (especially RADO) are more common among the middle aged businessman especially from middle east to show off their riches. Professionals generally have a modest dressing code.

It's the brain that matters more here. who cares about your appearance as long as you do your job perfectly?

And these flashy golden wrist watches (especially RADO) are more common among the middle aged businessman especially from middle east to show off their riches. Professionals generally have a modest dressing code.
I'm sorry sister but I m gonna take [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] bhai's word over yours since he's been in the states for like 50 years and knows the migrants from south much more than you do.

Nope. That is just the case recently. Even though you are right, but all Desi's have to face discrimination to some extent. Its just that Indians work harder in the fields of Tech. Pakistani's are always looking to open businesses. They're more inclined towards restaurants, car services and stuff like that while Indians go to Uni more.

The whole "Brown Muslim discrimination" thing is more or less a product of 9/11. Before that all kind of Desi's would've be discriminated equally bad.

I have two sets of relative both of whom migrated to the US , but one in the late 70's and the other in the late 90's (early H1B techies) . While the recent Immigrants, who live in predominantly desi neighborhoods in one of the southern states ( SC i think) , have a very positive and rosy picture to paint, the older migrants, who live in a more established city like Chicago still talk about America as "Whites, blacks and us browns".

It reflects in every conversation they have about the people there, "white cops", "white laws", "they would always take the side of the whites" etc etc. There surely is some hidden contempt or resentment . So I believe racism must've been huge for the early migrants of the period irrespective of what their religion was .

That is also true. I see a lot of people working hard in India too but why do these Genius CEO's relocate themselves abroad? Why not work for India?

The quality of life and the career growth/money making opportunities are unmatched in the US. Who wouldn't wanna live there ?

I am living in Bangalore now, the most developed , most advanced most happening city of modern India. But I still wake up everyday worrying about whether the water supply is broken, whether there will be another of those million power outages I get everyday, or whether I'd be run over by another entitled rich politician/businessman in his Audi just while crossing the road for work.... The fact is living overseas guarantees a quality of life that even the best of our cities can never match. So the best ones only have to gain by migration .

Its also about respect too . A smart , talented , high- achieving Indian working in India could still be judged negatively or disrespected based on his caste, family status or region/language. Whereas in a US/Western corporate environment you ALWAYS GET THE RESPECT you deserve. There is no surety for that in India.

Where's the original comment . ? I didn't see it . What is it about Gold plated watches ? :D

I say this all the time, we in the Indian Sub Continent are most definitely blessed to have been under the British Raj. At least this generation, if not our ancestors. I hear people talking of the atrocities of the British but the fact is, despite Desi's being hardworking people, we would've ended up like some African nation had English not been this prevalent in our country's.

It was our luck that America would go onto become the superpower of the world and that we would naturally be able to converse in their language.

As for your question, Pakistan has a very high English speaking population. And its not because of an inferiority complex, I don't understand why people find shame in accepting the fact that it is the universal language.

Sorry bro. Can't agree on that ! The price we paid for those trains and all that Shakespeare was far too high. But among the Post-Colonial nations worldwide, we desi's are by far the most fortunate.

The real blessing in my opinion was that the USA won WWII and then won the Cold war . Imagine a Germany/Japan controlled modern world, their racism would've been far more insufferable, especially if you have heard about how the Japanese saw the world. Maybe the Germans would've given us a decent deal for the "Aryan" connection, even then we'd have no competitive advantage with German.

Or if the USSR had won the cold war ?
India would with its early socialist leanings would've been another Korea or Cuba with the Soviets. We would never see this scale of economic progress. Of course the socialists might've been better are saving the weakest in society, but on the whole the country would be doing worse.

The whole "Brown Muslim discrimination" thing is more or less a product of 9/11. Before that all kind of Desi's would've be discriminated equally bad.

I have two sets of relative both of whom migrated to the US , but one in the late 70's and the other in the late 90's (early H1B techies) . While the recent Immigrants, who live in predominantly desi neighborhoods in one of the southern states ( SC i think) , have a very positive and rosy picture to paint, the older migrants, who live in a more established city like Chicago still talk about America as "Whites, blacks and us browns".

It reflects in every conversation they have about the people there, "white cops", "white laws", "they would always take the side of the whites" etc etc. There surely is some hidden contempt or resentment . So I believe racism must've been huge for the early migrants of the period irrespective of what their religion was .

The quality of life and the career growth/money making opportunities are unmatched in the US. Who wouldn't wanna live there ?

I am living in Bangalore now, the most developed , most advanced most happening city of modern India. But I still wake up everyday worrying about whether the water supply is broken, whether there will be another of those million power outages I get everyday, or whether I'd be run over by another entitled rich politician/businessman in his Audi just while crossing the road for work.... The fact is living overseas guarantees a quality of life that even the best of our cities can never match. So the best ones only have to gain by migration .

Its also about respect too . A smart , talented , high- achieving Indian working in India could still be judged negatively or disrespected based on his caste, family status or region/language. Whereas in a US/Western corporate environment you ALWAYS GET THE RESPECT you deserve. There is no surety for that in India.

Where's the original comment . ? I didn't see it . What is it about Gold plated watches ? :D

Sorry bro. Can't agree on that ! The price we paid for those trains and all that Shakespeare was far too high. But among the Post-Colonial nations worldwide, we desi's are by far the most fortunate.

The real blessing in my opinion was that the USA won WWII and then won the Cold war . Imagine a Germany/Japan controlled modern world, their racism would've been far more insufferable, especially if you have heard about how the Japanese saw the world. Maybe the Germans would've given us a decent deal for the "Aryan" connection, even then we'd have no competitive advantage with German.

Or if the USSR had won the cold war ?
India would with its early socialist leanings would've been another Korea or Cuba with the Soviets. We would never see this scale of economic progress. Of course the socialists might've been better are saving the weakest in society, but on the whole the country would be doing worse.

Thanks for addressing my post bro.

As for the last bit, I agree - our ancestors had to suffer loads and we could've possibly been in grim circumstances right now too, but the fact is, we're not. This current generation has benefited lots. And honestly, thank you for reminding me. Railways is quite possibly the biggest gift to Pakistan and India. It is true that all rail lines are only in those places where the British could exploit our resources however, that being said, we ourselves would have never even been able to connect the country like that.

I'm sorry sister but I m gonna take [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION] bhai's word over yours since he's been in the states for like 50 years and knows the migrants from south much more than you do.

He was talking about a chennai guy in US and me about the Keralites in general living in Kerala. How would i know what's going on in US? You should quote [MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION] for that.:D

I'm from Chennai mate,defn not how you define but maybe I'm not as smart to be in that tech company of yours either.

The smart ones join the glamorous companies. We get the leftover oiled hair ones ;)

I see what you did there.

From my personal experience I've observed that Pakistanis in general were 10 years too late in hopping on the Business/Finance/MBA wagon. It's in the last 2 decades where you've seen Pakistanis branch out to working in Corporate Management roles and pursuing a Business education. I would also say that majority of the 'smarter' or more able kids are encouraged to be Doctors by their families ( I have 6 cousins, born in the US, who believe that either you're a Dr. or bust in life)...There's some very well to do Pakistanis in Business across the world but they don't have the representation Indians do. Indians are just too many and have been involved in all different fields since a long time. Few of the notable Pakistanis mentioned by some posters are not in the USA and that's what the OP was asking about.

I see I guess with all the terrorism over the years global firms probably stopped recruiting from Pakistan? Maybe if things become better again you will see more Pakistanis getting into IT industry.. IIT is not about intellectuals but grinders true there are some really sharp brains in IIT but the education system over there is a lot of grinding.. IIM's and ISB are top Indian MBA colleges the highest package every year exceeds 1crore INR which is a lot..

India did well in getting the IT industry and call centres set up It employees so many people who without the outsourcing from USA/AMEA would have struggled..

Global firms never really recruited heavily from Pakistan like they did in India...mainly because most global companies have a separate office for India (due to its size) and the Pakistan market was easily covered by the Asia-Pacific offices of these firms. The few firms (Mckinsey, Goldman, JP Morgan etc) that do recruit (still do) from Pakistan usually place the students in their Middle East offices and hire only a handful of top students each year.

Given the size and population of Pakistan if The IT market has to thrive like the one in India they need to have companies based in Pakistan.. It would have been cheaper for any company to set up its branch in Pakistan than say in Dubai or Singapore but they do not set up in Pakistan due to all the hardships(terrorism/crime/corruption).. Ultimately Pakistanis and Indians are pretty similar so if Pakistan can sort out its internal demons IT would thrive there as well..

This should be the century of ASIA if we do not implode from within..

Given the size and population of Pakistan if The IT market has to thrive like the one in India they need to have companies based in Pakistan.. It would have been cheaper for any company to set up its branch in Pakistan than say in Dubai or Singapore but they do not set up in Pakistan due to all the hardships(terrorism/crime/corruption).. Ultimately Pakistanis and Indians are pretty similar so if Pakistan can sort out its internal demons IT would thrive there as well..

This should be the century of ASIA if we do not implode from within..

while I partly agree with you...my other post mentioned that Pakistanis have been late on hoping on the Business band wagon and they're also stupidly late on hoping the IT band wagon. India and Indians were smart that they invested in IT long before Pakistan even thought it was relevant.

I expect Pakistan to get better with IT but the true 'gorilla' in this space is India...even the US has found it hard to produce as much IT professionals as India. If India actually leads in something in this world it is in the production of IT professionals.

while I partly agree with you...my other post mentioned that Pakistanis have been late on hoping on the Business band wagon and they're also stupidly late on hoping the IT band wagon. India and Indians were smart that they invested in IT long before Pakistan even thought it was relevant.

I expect Pakistan to get better with IT but the true 'gorilla' in this space is India...even the US has found it hard to produce as much IT professionals as India. If India actually leads in something in this world it is in the production of IT professionals.

True if only the governments of India-China-Russia-Pak can work together and get rid of terrorism and bolster each other economically we could form a huge powerhouse bloc in next 15 odd years.. Look at Canada-USA relations same relations should be between India-pak but I guess religion/egos/corruption/mismanagement has made that boat sink a long time ago..

Lol is this a troll thread? Have you never heard of Shahid Khan, he was born in Lahore and is the billionaire owner of Flex-n-gate, a big car parts manufacturer. He's also the owner of the NFL's Jacksonville Jaguars and Fulham FC in the British soccer league.

If you want to compare like that i can list several such billionaires from India in US.Like

Venture Capitalist and co founder of Sun Microsystems Vinod Khosla,

Founder and Chairman of Bose Amar Gopall Bose

Aneel Bhusri Founder and CEO of Work Day Inc.

ROmesh Wadwani Chairman of Symphony Technology

K Ram Shriram Founding board member of Google

John Kapoor CEO of Insys Therapeutics

Bharat Desai CEO of Syntel

Here we are talking of CEOs of fortune 500 companies.Not Billionaires.

If the question is why no CEO of Pakistani origin, why post a list of Indians? Makes no sense, why the need to establish false equivalence between India and Pakistan?

Also, the list above has many flaws. Chanda doesn't belong there -- she's an Indian CEO of an Indian bank, so what's the big deal? Similarly Ratan Tata. Agreed Tatas bought many global companies like Jaguar-Land Rover and Corus, but the Tata Group is essentially an Indian business house, not a global conglomerate like PepsiCo is. I'd make the same argument for the Cognizant CEO. Agreed it's technically HQ-ed in US, but it is essentially is an Indian company. Mastercard -- It's Ajay Banga, not Nanga. (BTW, Nanga means naked in Hindi :))

You could add the name of (ex) Citibank no. 2 to this list -- Victor Menezes and also Vikram Pandit who was the CEO for some time before being forced out. Also, Rajat Gupta who was CEO of McKinsey (which is a HUGE deal whichever way you look at it), but turned out to be a scamster and was arrested, so more of an embarrassment now to the India brand. Unilever senior management is full of Indians.

Why is TATA not a global company?It has businesses in 100 plus countries.Market Cap of 100bn plus and revenues also in excess of 100bn.

I believe that Pakistanis are more likely to go to Dubai and likes for a better paying job than USA.Is that the case?

Btw i was amazed that there are a number of middle east based Indian "BILLIONAIRES" wth worth in excess of 1bn USD.

Thanks all, all valid intelligent discussions. Just wanted to specify if i wasn't clear that i mean't ceo's only for fortune 500 companies in USA. I did a google search and couldn't find any, which is why i was pondering this. I don't agree with discrimination, i do agree its there but from my experience US only cares about what you bring to the table and even if they did discriminate its definitely not between a hindu and a muslim. It would be with you're skin color. The US can't distinguish a patel from mohammad and a hindu from muslim. We're all just brown to them..

I don't believe in the numbers game either that India has more people and Pakistan has less hence the reason. I believe if you're really good, smart and hardworking, desire to suceed no one can stop you from going to the top.

The religion thing works partially i think in India's favor and not while working in the US but from a young age, Indians play/study with Indians of all religions and don't care about minorities being in key positions in an office or even in state (sikh prime minister, christian president, muslim president) The majority hindus and are not very particular about religion and do take in criticism without violence etc. Hinduism does not demand total subservience - basically are free to discuss, change . One can argue that there are some venom spitting humans in every religion & culture. For the most part for Indians religion isn't in your face and secondary to a regional identity. This can be seen in cricket where muslims do a sajda when they get a wicket or hit a century. Indians or even indian muslim cricketeers don't do that..

Islam demands total subservience and does not brook any other views, and there are thousands of committed Islamists to ensure their society can't compete with modern societies makes it harder to work with other cultures.

My primary reasons are and you can definitely say that im wrong, (and this is just my opinion, im not an expert by any means)

a) Indias Grasp on english is better(Boom in IT)

b)Indians are a lot more open to mingle and have a progressive mindset and religion does not limit their progress.(Bollywood sucess)

Indians succeed everywhere other than in their own country..

Never understood why

Thanks all, all valid intelligent discussions. Just wanted to specify if i wasn't clear that i mean't ceo's only for fortune 500 companies in USA. I did a google search and couldn't find any, which is why i was pondering this. I don't agree with discrimination, i do agree its there but from my experience US only cares about what you bring to the table and even if they did discriminate its definitely not between a hindu and a muslim. It would be with you're skin color. The US can't distinguish a patel from mohammad and a hindu from muslim. We're all just brown to them..

I don't believe in the numbers game either that India has more people and Pakistan has less hence the reason. I believe if you're really good, smart and hardworking, desire to suceed no one can stop you from going to the top.

The religion thing works partially i think in India's favor and not while working in the US but from a young age, Indians play/study with Indians of all religions and don't care about minorities being in key positions in an office or even in state (sikh prime minister, christian president, muslim president) The majority hindus and are not very particular about religion and do take in criticism without violence etc. Hinduism does not demand total subservience - basically are free to discuss, change . One can argue that there are some venom spitting humans in every religion & culture. For the most part for Indians religion isn't in your face and secondary to a regional identity. This can be seen in cricket where muslims do a sajda when they get a wicket or hit a century. Indians or even indian muslim cricketeers don't do that..

Islam demands total subservience and does not brook any other views, and there are thousands of committed Islamists to ensure their society can't compete with modern societies makes it harder to work with other cultures.

My primary reasons are and you can definitely say that im wrong, (and this is just my opinion, im not an expert by any means)

b)Indians are a lot more open to mingle and have a progressive mindset and religion does not limit their progress.(Bollywood sucess)

You nailed it bro.. I wanted to say a of the things you said, but it would have been more appropriate if it came from a Pakistani. ..

When you create a nation state with "religion" as the overbearing ideological factor -that too a very strict , very rigid religion, which honestly has changed very little in the past 1400 years - you are bound to see it collide with modernization and all the good and bad that comes with it .. If you look at the modern non liberal states that enjoy great economic/ scientific progress , you will find that they diluted the " core ideology " behind the country ( communism - China) to the point it no longer interferes with the progress of the country and accomodates a significant level of free thought and capitalism ..

Pakistan seemed to be moving in that direction earlier , but now it's moving away from it on the outset .

American Pakistani are easily the least religious of any Pakistani community, so don't really see where the religious argument comes from, secondly the list I'm not sure but my guess most of these guys are brahmins, you won't see many Sikh CEOs, they like American Pakistanies are more into business rather than education.

Very well put post.. agree with everything you said..

Ajaypal Singh Banga is a Sikh and
Chief Executive Officer of MasterCard so the notion that only Indian Hindus become CEO is false. Annual revenue of MasterCard is 9.6 billion dollars

George Kurian who is a Kerala born malayalee Christian is chief executive officer at NetApp which is a 5.6 billion dollar Us company.

I believe that Pakistanis are more likely to go to Dubai and likes for a better paying job than USA.Is that the case?

Btw i was amazed that there are a number of middle east based Indian "BILLIONAIRES" wth worth in excess of 1bn USD.

The mallu effect bro. We had the first mover advantage over the Middle east like the Punjabis with Canada or the Gujjus with UK. Almost all of the richest Malayalees are Gulf based or atleast started out in the gulf and then expanded to India.

Biggest of them all is MA Yussuf ALi of the Emke Group - Lulu Hypermarkets, NW >4 Billion USD, 22nd Richest Indian. Also there is a size-able number of South based businessmen as well .

Indians who moved there in the 60's and 70's and also the ones who stayed on during the 1st Gulf war , enjoyed a lot of perks and gratitude from the Middle eastern Sheikhs, for not abandoning them during the war, especially the emiratis. This helped people like Yusuf ALi, Ravi Pillai etc rapidly expand their business across the emirates, Oman, Muscat etc within the short period after the 1st war.

There is also the rumor that many of these desi billionare are being used as "Fronts" by the Arabs to move their wealth to safer investment locations like India, since the Middle east isn't as safe as it used to be economically .