Why did Mohammad Nawaz not bowl a single over in ICC T20 World Cup 2022 final?

It is a mystery to me too.

Is it due to the fact England have many lefties? Possible.

They hardly bowled him after that india game. His own confidence ruined, and clearly the captains confidence in him too. Which then makes you question his place in the team.

Because he mostly gets smashed by left-handers...and Eng had Stokes and then Moeen on the crease.

And he isn't bowling well atm, looks down after that India game.

Chacha has bowled well before this over. So he was the obvs option

He was in the team because he was batting better than Haider, Khushdil, Asif.

Such were the passengers in this squad. Offered zilch in any department.

Should have gone an extra batter though who as nobody can bat anyway or just selected Hasnain

Should have played Malik in this World Cup. Would have been proactive with the bat, and could bowl a few overs if required. That india game with the ball, followed by the Zimbabwe game with the bat has done irreparable damage to him.

Nawaz is definitely a better bowler than Ifthikar. It shows the captain was tense and made a blunder.

There was never enough runs on the board

You don't win against England posting crap scores like 138 , our innings simply never got going and it was mainly down to our failed openers and the way they approach the powerplays non of them could time it or find the gaps.

I don't think Babar has much faith in him:

He bowled just 9 overs in the whole tournament:

did not bowl v England
2 overs v New Zealand
did not bowl v Bangladesh
1 over v South Africa
2 overs v Netherlands
did not bowl v Zimbabwe
4 overs v India

Why did Mohammad Nawaz not bowl a single over in WT20 final?

Ideally, if Pakistan weren't going to use him as a bowler, then it would've made most sense to have then played a batsman instead of him, but the problem obviously was that Pakistan the batsmen who were part of the squad, and weren't playing, have so far been utter failures in their overall career so far. This was a huge problem for Pakistan, I think.

Babar doesn't trust him.

Yet chose him over Imad over personal likes/dislikes despite Imad being better in all facets of the game.

For a team that got to the final and narrowly lost to England, you wonder if a player like Imad Wasim could have been the difference.

If Nawaz is playing for his batting ability then there would be better specialist batsmen to pick.

Wouldn’t have hurt trying Haider over Nawaz. Nawaz is mentally shot and is going through the motions since India game.

Haider could not have been worse.

Good question but no one has a good answer, because there is none .

He is a first line and not a part time bowler and at the wicket where ball was stopping and taking turn , not giving him even a single over was a blunder , one of many which Babar had committed .

Babar doesn't trust him.

Yet chose him over Imad over personal likes/dislikes despite Imad being better in all facets of the game.

For a team that got to the final and narrowly lost to England, you wonder if a player like Imad Wasim could have been the difference.

Yes, Imad was missed badly during this WC, but personal issues were more important than the world cup, for Mr Selector and team management.

I don't think Babar has much faith in him:

He bowled just 9 overs in the whole tournament:

did not bowl v England
2 overs v New Zealand
did not bowl v Bangladesh
1 over v South Africa
2 overs v Netherlands
did not bowl v Zimbabwe
4 overs v India
In that case we should have picked Hasnain in the final. Imagine a 5 man pace attack on MCG!

If Nawaz is playing for his batting ability then there would be better specialist batsmen to pick.

Very true.

To me it seemed Babar didn't trust him, not even for the 5 balls to finish off Shaheen's over and instead went for Iftikhar.

Not good for Nawaz's confidence at all this tournament.

Babar was under utilising him before this tournament as well. Recall the Asia Cup final where he bowled one decent over and that was it.

We don’t know what would’ve happened today but he should’ve been given a go especially when Shaheen went off.

I never really understood why he was given such status as a batsman in the first place. Very much a swing in hope type of player. Chacha Ifti tended to bowl better as well when it mattered in this tournament. Just a poor selection.

Babar doesn't trust him.

What is the story with Imad and Babar?

I was wondering why he had disappeared from the national team.

Look at Stokes and how he made a comeback after 2016 T20 WC. Now look at our captain and team management and how they are ruining Nawaz career. He should have bowled few overs in the final where the ball was gripping

As I have said many times before, Nawaz has not recovered from Kohl's thrashing. Nawaz is done mentally and he seems confused, lost and in his world. His body language and attitude tells you that he is mentally unfit to play international cricket.

A leader brings out the best from his troops, Nawaz is not that bad but Babar by not showing any confidence , just demoralized him. A regular 5th bowler suddenly became a nobody after just one poor 20th over.

Look at Stokes and how he made a comeback after 2016 T20 WC. Now look at our captain and team management and how they are ruining Nawaz career. He should have bowled few overs in the final where the ball was gripping

Absolutely.

As I have said many times before, Nawaz has not recovered from Kohl's thrashing. Nawaz is done mentally and he seems confused, lost and in his world. His body language and attitude tells you that he is mentally unfit to play international cricket.

Bhai on what basis you are saying this? In first match against India not only Nawaz, but even Rauf also & Shaheen were thrashed in their last overs. Rauf got 15 in 19th over and Shaheen got 17 in 18th over. Why Nawaz is being singled out for that failure? Shaheen & Rauf got thrashing against Aus in 2021 WC Semi Final as well.

After India game, that's how Nawaz has performed:

against ZIM didn't bowl single over
against NED bowled 2 overs with 11 runs and no wicket
against SA bowled only 1 over with 2 runs and no wicket
against Bang didn't bowl single over
against NZ in Semi Final bowled 2 overs with 12 runs and one important wicket of Glenn Phillips

The fact is Nawaz who is a specialist bowler is being used as part time bowler since Asia Cup final due to reasons best known to Baber. If you can't trust your specialist bowler there is no need to play him. Baber, Rizwan, Iftikhar have choked in many key matches, but they are untouched.

In batting he comes at different batting order in every match. 9 out of 10 times he comes in hit & miss situation to accelerate when too many wickets are down or run rate is too slow after top 3-4 kills the whole powerplay. It's unfair to expect consistency from a player who is highly misutilized / mishandled as a batsman & as a bowler. May be am wrong but Baber is ruining Nawaz's career

Mohammad Amir speaking on TV

“Hamaari bowling ne poore tournament me sabse achhi bowling ki hai. Koi team hamein khulke nahi maar saki. Ye credit jaata hai hamaare bowlers ko. Yes, Nawaz ka mujhe khud samajh nahi aaya. Pehle match ke baad dressing room me video ban rahi hai ki tujhe fikar nahi karni, tu mera match-winner hai. Uske baad poore tournament laga hi nahi vo batsman khel raha hai ya bowler khel raha hai. (Our bowling has been the best in this tournament, no one could attack us. But yes, I can't understand Nawaz's case. After the first match against India, there was video made in the dressing room where Babar told Nawaz he was a match-winner. After that, it was hard to judge whether he played as a batsman or a bowler)"

“Ya toh aapko apne players pe trust nahi hai, ye sirf kehne ki hi baat hai. Agar aap bol rahe ho toh usko poora bhi karo. Nawaz PSL me pehla over karta hai. Thoda toh trust show karo uspe. Nawaz ne kuch matches aise jitwaaye hain ki aap soch bhi nahi sakte ho. Aaj vo kar sakta tha. Jis wicket pe seam ho raha hota, vahan spinners zyada dangerous hote hain. Toh mujhe samajh nahi aayi ye. (It shows you don't trust your player. If you're saying something, you should act on it. Nawaz bowls the first over in PSL. He has won matches on his own. He could've done something today. I couldn't understand the decision)"

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...t-babar-azam-s-captaincy-101668360781011.html

Mohammad Amir speaking on TV

“Hamaari bowling ne poore tournament me sabse achhi bowling ki hai. Koi team hamein khulke nahi maar saki. Ye credit jaata hai hamaare bowlers ko. Yes, Nawaz ka mujhe khud samajh nahi aaya. Pehle match ke baad dressing room me video ban rahi hai ki tujhe fikar nahi karni, tu mera match-winner hai. Uske baad poore tournament laga hi nahi vo batsman khel raha hai ya bowler khel raha hai. (Our bowling has been the best in this tournament, no one could attack us. But yes, I can't understand Nawaz's case. After the first match against India, there was video made in the dressing room where Babar told Nawaz he was a match-winner. After that, it was hard to judge whether he played as a batsman or a bowler)"

“Ya toh aapko apne players pe trust nahi hai, ye sirf kehne ki hi baat hai. Agar aap bol rahe ho toh usko poora bhi karo. Nawaz PSL me pehla over karta hai. Thoda toh trust show karo uspe. Nawaz ne kuch matches aise jitwaaye hain ki aap soch bhi nahi sakte ho. Aaj vo kar sakta tha. Jis wicket pe seam ho raha hota, vahan spinners zyada dangerous hote hain. Toh mujhe samajh nahi aayi ye. (It shows you don't trust your player. If you're saying something, you should act on it. Nawaz bowls the first over in PSL. He has won matches on his own. He could've done something today. I couldn't understand the decision)"

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...t-babar-azam-s-captaincy-101668360781011.html

Amir can't do praise for Pakistan without qualifying it.

Babar rightly doesn't have faith in Nawaz after he negatively impacted 2 games back to back. In fact 3 games (didn't attempt runout against SA.)

If Haider, Fakhar, Khushdil and others were fit/performing, Nawaz would have been on the bench. Pakistan's poor middle order allowed him a space in the team.

He again negatively impacted the final with one moment of poor fielding (apart from his brainless batting.)

I would drop him the moment a proper bat or a better allrounder is found. The paucity of resources have also allowed Ifti and Shan a way into the team.

He's spot on with that match winner video though. It's hilarious actually. Had he said 'tu mera fielding match winner hai', it would have made more sense.

Amir can't do praise for Pakistan without qualifying it.

Babar rightly doesn't have faith in Nawaz after he negatively impacted 2 games back to back. In fact 3 games (didn't attempt runout against SA.)

If Haider, Fakhar, Khushdil and others were fit/performing, Nawaz would have been on the bench. Pakistan's poor middle order allowed him a space in the team.

He again negatively impacted the final with one moment of poor fielding (apart from his brainless batting.)

I would drop him the moment a proper bat or a better allrounder is found. The paucity of resources have also allowed Ifti and Shan a way into the team.

Ohh so Nawaz was single handedly responsible for defeats against Ind, Zim & the final? Babar himself dropped the catch of Stokes in 16th over in the final and what about his own performance since Asia Cup up to this World Cup? He played every single game, opened in every match, in how many matches he took the lead and laid strong platform? Thank God like Nawaz, Babar didn't lost faith in Shaheen & Harris as they also gave too many runs in their last overs against India. In the final Nawaz came at 16.4 over, as usual in hit & miss situation and got out on 18.3 while trying. He didn't had time to play 32(28) innings. Yes, Nawaz should have finished some closed matches but it's totally unfair to put all blame on him

The match ups didn’t favor him. But also, when would you have bowled him? Our bowlers were as close to perfect as we could expect until Shaheen got injured, and even then, bringing on the offie was a better choice as he would turn the ball away from Moeen and Stokes than Nawaz who they’d hit with the spin.

Ohh so Nawaz was single handedly responsible for defeats against Ind, Zim & the final? Babar himself dropped the catch of Stokes in 16th over in the final and what about his own performance since Asia Cup up to this World Cup? He played every single game, opened in every match, in how many matches he took the lead and laid strong platform? Thank God like Nawaz, Babar didn't lost faith in Shaheen & Harris as they also gave too many runs in their last overs against India. In the final Nawaz came at 16.4 over, as usual in hit & miss situation and got out on 18.3 while trying. He didn't had time to play 32(28) innings. Yes, Nawaz should have finished some closed matches but it's totally unfair to put all blame on him

Saying X is better than Y when Y is poor doesn't mean X isn't poor too.

Don't remember using the word single handedly anywhere. I just think his impact overall was negative - whether up or down the batting order or in the field. Not positive. His slog was brainless too in my opinion. That's all. It is enough to lose captain's confidence.

Shaheen especially, and Haris will never lose Babar's confidence because they have a consistent track record of delivering results.

Doesn't mean Babar was a shining star either. He has his own problems to solve.

Saying X is better than Y when Y is poor doesn't mean X isn't poor too.

Don't remember using the word single handedly anywhere. I just think his impact overall was negative - whether up or down the batting order or in the field. Not positive. His slog was brainless too in my opinion. That's all. It is enough to lose captain's confidence.

Shaheen especially, and Haris will never lose Babar's confidence because they have a consistent track record of delivering results.

Doesn't mean Babar was a shining star either. He has his own problems to solve.

I agree each player has certain strength & weakness whether it is Babar or Nawaz or anyone else. My only point is Nawaz is being mistreated by Babar since Asia Cup final where he didn't bowl single over. It's surprising that Babar lost confidence in Nawaz only after India game considering the fact Nawaz performed very well in previous tri series including the final. If Babar doesn't have confidence in Nawaz, he shouldn't have played him in such a big tournament instead of using him as a passenger. Deliberately under bowling or not at all using your specialist bowler is pretty harsh and it will further demoralize the player. Just imagine a new captain takeover and after 2-3 games, he loses confidence in Babar, and he starts using Babar as a part time bowler and in batting he is demoted to no. 8 or 9. Will that be ok for Babar?

You are blaming Nawaz only for losses against India & Zim just because he was the last man bowling / batting in the end. Both matches were lost due to abysmal batting by main batsman from 1 to 6. Against SA, Nawaz also scored important 28(22) when the likes of Babar, Rizwan & Shan badly failed. You are saying Nawaz negatively impacted the final with his poor fielding and brainless batting. As I said earlier even Babar dropped the catch while fielding and in batting the match went in England's favor in 17th over of Pakistan's inning when Nawaz just arrived. Pak was struggling at 121/5 after 16.3 overs. The top 5 consumed around 16 overs and performed poorly except Shan and then they left everything for lower middle order to score.

In the show featuring Wahab and Amir, they were mocking Babar's video calling Nawaz his main bowler.

I kind of agree with them. Seems like that video was made just for public consumption and without much sincerity.

I agree each player has certain strength & weakness whether it is Babar or Nawaz or anyone else. My only point is Nawaz is being mistreated by Babar since Asia Cup final where he didn't bowl single over. It's surprising that Babar lost confidence in Nawaz only after India game considering the fact Nawaz performed very well in previous tri series including the final. If Babar doesn't have confidence in Nawaz, he shouldn't have played him in such a big tournament instead of using him as a passenger. Deliberately under bowling or not at all using your specialist bowler is pretty harsh and it will further demoralize the player. Just imagine a new captain takeover and after 2-3 games, he loses confidence in Babar, and he starts using Babar as a part time bowler and in batting he is demoted to no. 8 or 9. Will that be ok for Babar?

You are blaming Nawaz only for losses against India & Zim just because he was the last man bowling / batting in the end. Both matches were lost due to abysmal batting by main batsman from 1 to 6. Against SA, Nawaz also scored important 28(22) when the likes of Babar, Rizwan & Shan badly failed. You are saying Nawaz negatively impacted the final with his poor fielding and brainless batting. As I said earlier even Babar dropped the catch while fielding and in batting the match went in England's favor in 17th over of Pakistan's inning when Nawaz just arrived. Pak was struggling at 121/5 after 16.3 overs. The top 5 consumed around 16 overs and performed poorly except Shan and then they left everything for lower middle order to score.

You continue deflecting from Nawaz's performance by pointing out others did poorly. It's like saying yes I am a bad salesman but so is x and y. We have enough threads on X and Y. This is a Nawaz discussion.

Nawaz has been given a role in the team, to give innings impetus, he hasn't done it through the tournament. When asked to bowl in a crunch situation, he bowled rubbish against India. You are representing your country in the world cup, man up.

If the captain has been using less of him even from before the world cup, that is even more damning in light of his recent performances.

Nawaz still has a role I think. No other country has these large grounds. But he really has to sort out his game awareness, this no captain can do for him. He has been atrocious.

He disappointed me the most. I always thought he was those underrated gun players who deliver when it matters. Unfortunately did the exact opposite

So Babar was blowing smoke up Nawaz backside when in one of the PCB videos he said to him he’ll always trust Nawaz to be a match winner?!

He’s just not a T20 all rounder

Good question but no one has a good answer, because there is none .

He is a first line and not a part time bowler and at the wicket where ball was stopping and taking turn , not giving him even a single over was a blunder , one of many which Babar had committed .

Definitely should have bowled.

Nawaz is more than a good bowler he should have bowled alot more throwout the tournament.

You continue deflecting from Nawaz's performance by pointing out others did poorly. It's like saying yes I am a bad salesman but so is x and y. We have enough threads on X and Y. This is a Nawaz discussion.

Nawaz has been given a role in the team, to give innings impetus, he hasn't done it through the tournament. When asked to bowl in a crunch situation, he bowled rubbish against India. You are representing your country in the world cup, man up.

If the captain has been using less of him even from before the world cup, that is even more damning in light of his recent performances.

Nawaz still has a role I think. No other country has these large grounds. But he really has to sort out his game awareness, this no captain can do for him. He has been atrocious.

No Bhai, I am totally against this culture of considering individual players as superstars or bigger than the team whether it is Nawaz or any other player. No doubt Nawaz failed to finish two games against Ind & Zim. In India game, momentum shifted in 18th over of Shaheen & 19th over of Harris also. Nawaz is being blamed as he bowled final over against the likes of Kohli & Pandya but yes he failed to defend that. Against Zim, it was Nawaz who stayed till the end and scored 22(18) but I do agree he should have finished that game

Thank God, Ben Stokes & Stuart Broad didn’t played under Babar like captain otherwise their career might have ended when they got thrashing from Carlos Brathwaite & Yuvraj in T20WC

This thread is about why he was not allowed to bowl even single over in the final and only Babar can answer this. I haven't got logical answer so far. If Babar doesn't have confidence in him, he should have dropped Nawaz completely. But playing Nawaz and not letting him bowl, cherry picking his batting position in every match clearly shows he is being humiliated and considered as “use & throw” player. It is very clear Nawaz is mishandled by Babar since Asia Cup final

No Bhai, I am totally against this culture of considering individual players as superstars or bigger than the team whether it is Nawaz or any other player. No doubt Nawaz failed to finish two games against Ind & Zim. In India game, momentum shifted in 18th over of Shaheen & 19th over of Harris also. Nawaz is being blamed as he bowled final over against the likes of Kohli & Pandya but yes he failed to defend that. Against Zim, it was Nawaz who stayed till the end and scored 22(18) but I do agree he should have finished that game

Thank God, Ben Stokes & Stuart Broad didn’t played under Babar like captain otherwise their career might have ended when they got thrashing from Carlos Brathwaite & Yuvraj in T20WC

This thread is about why he was not allowed to bowl even single over in the final and only Babar can answer this. I haven't got logical answer so far. If Babar doesn't have confidence in him, he should have dropped Nawaz completely. But playing Nawaz and not letting him bowl, cherry picking his batting position in every match clearly shows he is being humiliated and considered as “use & throw” player. It is very clear Nawaz is mishandled by Babar since Asia Cup final
He didn’t bowl instead of Iftikhar because there were two left-handers at the crease. The ball would spin into them, making it easier for them to take Nawaz for runs either down the ground or square of the wicket. All about match-ups.

Iftikhar was a better option, but Stokes was just too good on the day.

“Match-ups” are a load of baloney. The new annoying buzzword in cricket.

Everyone is using it these days like a parrot to look smart. It doesn’t mean anything.

A specialist SLA has a better chance of taking a wicket against a left-handed batsman than a part-time off-spinner in spite of all this “match-ups” nonsense.

It has little to do with this cringey match-ups drama and more to do with the fact that Babar has no faith in Nawaz anymore.

It is not without reason though, but someone like Iftikhar should never be bowling ahead of him. Nawaz in any frame of mind and against any type of batsman is far more likely to produce something compared to Iftikhar who would barely qualify as a part-timer.

Also I’m glad he didn’t give Nawaz any overs in that final, the mental midget displayed some questionable game awareness throughout this World Cup.

That Kohli thrashing really made him a kitten, carried around by the whole team.

Forgettable tournament for him, hope he comes back stronger from this.

Also I’m glad he didn’t give Nawaz any overs in that final, the mental midget displayed some questionable game awareness throughout this World Cup.

That Kohli thrashing really made him a kitten, carried around by the whole team.

Forgettable tournament for him, hope he comes back stronger from this.

There is no such law / theory that SLA cannot bowl to two left handers. Does that also mean right arm spinner should not bowl to 2 right handers? Trusting part times over specialist spinner is insane. Secondly Nawaz was not the only one who was thrashed by Kohli. Harris & Shaheen also got 15 & 17 runs in their last over.

You are claiming that Kohli thrashing made him a kitten. You need to see how he bowled in other matches whenever he was asked to bowl:

against SA bowled only 1 over with 2 runs and no wicket. Also scored 28(22)
against NZ in Semi Final bowled 2 overs with 12 runs and one important wicket of Glenn Phillips

Salman Butt:

“They [Pakistan] are creating more limitations for their own players by telling them that they cannot bowl to left-handers. Babar should have shown some bravery.

“Babar had said that Nawaz was his main player while speaking for YouTube content. At least let him bowl if he is your main player.”

“Babar brought in Iftikhar Ahmed to complete Shaheen Afridi’s over when Ben Stokes was at the crease. Everyone is just bothered about matchups these days. Mohammad Nawaz is Pakistan’s main bowler, but Babar didn’t bring him on.

“Does he only bowl to right-handers during the PSL, or is he referred to as a left-arm spin only to right-handers? They should add that description to the bowling column if that is the case.”

There is no such law / theory that SLA cannot bowl to two left handers. Does that also mean right arm spinner should not bowl to 2 right handers? Trusting part times over specialist spinner is insane. Secondly Nawaz was not the only one who was thrashed by Kohli. Harris & Shaheen also got 15 & 17 runs in their last over.

You are claiming that Kohli thrashing made him a kitten. You need to see how he bowled in other matches whenever he was asked to bowl:

against SA bowled only 1 over with 2 runs and no wicket. Also scored 28(22)
It’s a very common tactic being utilized in modern day cricket right now. Nawaz would be the first name on the team sheet in Asia or West Indies, while he will have to face this in places like Australia or South Africa. The art of finger spin in unfavorable conditions plays right into the batsmen’s hands as it’s easy to line-up, unless you have some other variations like carrom ball etc.

There’s a reason Lyon is not considered for LOI formats, despite being arguably the best finger spin bowler in the world at the moment.

Salman Butt:

“They [Pakistan] are creating more limitations for their own players by telling them that they cannot bowl to left-handers. Babar should have shown some bravery.

“Babar had said that Nawaz was his main player while speaking for YouTube content. At least let him bowl if he is your main player.”

“Babar brought in Iftikhar Ahmed to complete Shaheen Afridi’s over when Ben Stokes was at the crease. Everyone is just bothered about matchups these days. Mohammad Nawaz is Pakistan’s main bowler, but Babar didn’t bring him on.

“Does he only bowl to right-handers during the PSL, or is he referred to as a left-arm spin only to right-handers? They should add that description to the bowling column if that is the case.”

You can't argue with what he's saying.

Salman is right. No wonder he was a good captain and certainly way better than Babar.

This match up crap means nothing. Steyn was much more effective against right-handed batsmen because of his deadly outswinger, but that doesn’t mean that teams should have picked mediocre left-handed batsmen to counter him.

A world class right-handed batsman would be much more effective in countering him than a poor left-handed batsman.

Nawaz is not world class, but he is a far more competent bowler than Iftikhar. You would trust him more regardless of who is batting.

Giving the ball to Iftikhar was a brain-dead decision. How did that match-up turn out?

Salman is right. No wonder he was a good captain and certainly way better than Babar.

This match up crap means nothing. Steyn was much more effective against right-handed batsmen because of his deadly outswinger, but that doesn’t mean that teams should have picked mediocre left-handed batsmen to counter him.

A world class right-handed batsman would be much more effective in countering him than a poor left-handed batsman.

Nawaz is not world class, but he is a far more competent bowler than Iftikhar. You would trust him more regardless of who is batting.

Giving the ball to Iftikhar was a brain-dead decision. How did that match-up turn out?

There is no winning in T-20. In T-20 Cricket you have to take decisions on the spot and be prepared to be crucified. There is every chance if Nawaz had bowled to Stokes and Brookes, Moin Ali, they would have smashed him for 20 runs and Babar would have been crucified, why did you not bowl Iftikhar to two lefties. Stokes smelled blood when he saw that Shaheen was no longer going to bowl his overs.

In the modern T-20 and even ODI format, Spinners have to learn how to bowl to batsmen going after them. Captains have to be smart with their field placements, cutting down the angles in the field and where to put the fielder for each batsman.

Everyone is using it these days like a parrot to look smart. It doesn’t mean anything.

A specialist SLA has a better chance of taking a wicket against a left-handed batsman than a part-time off-spinner in spite of all this “match-ups” nonsense.

It has little to do with this cringey match-ups drama and more to do with the fact that Babar has no faith in Nawaz anymore.

It is not without reason though, but someone like Iftikhar should never be bowling ahead of him. Nawaz in any frame of mind and against any type of batsman is far more likely to produce something compared to Iftikhar who would barely qualify as a part-timer.

There were a few games in the Pakistan England series where Iftikhar out bowled Nawaz. T-20 Cricket is that format, as a captain you have to make decisions rapidly for e.g. if Nawaz gives away a 12-15 run over, rather than giving him another over where he goes for 12-15-20 runs, you have to replace him with another bowler who might have a better day.

I 100% agree with this. If cricket is all about "match ups" then they should just simulate a match based on team sheets and not bother to physically play.

I lost a bit of respect for Imad Wasim when he refused to bowl himself against left handers during the PSL a couple of seasons ago.

Good bowlers should be able to get out batsmen no matter what. Hiding behind match ups is cowardice.

There is no winning in T-20. In T-20 Cricket you have to take decisions on the spot and be prepared to be crucified. There is every chance if Nawaz had bowled to Stokes and Brookes, Moin Ali, they would have smashed him for 20 runs and Babar would have been crucified, why did you not bowl Iftikhar to two lefties. Stokes smelled blood when he saw that Shaheen was no longer going to bowl his overs.

In the modern T-20 and even ODI format, Spinners have to learn how to bowl to batsmen going after them. Captains have to be smart with their field placements, cutting down the angles in the field and where to put the fielder for each batsman.

There were a few games in the Pakistan England series where Iftikhar out bowled Nawaz. T-20 Cricket is that format, as a captain you have to make decisions rapidly for e.g. if Nawaz gives away a 12-15 run over, rather than giving him another over where he goes for 12-15-20 runs, you have to replace him with another bowler who might have a better day.

Anyone can outperform anyone on a given a day, that is not the point.

The point is that it is not a sane decision to opt for a part-timer over a specialist bowler who has overs left in the quota.

You are not only expecting the part-timer to deliver, you are also also expecting him to deliver in a crunch moment that too in a World Cup final.

You would always put your money on Nawaz doing better than Iftikhar with the ball. Always. It is a sane call to make.

That does not mean there Iftikhar can never outperform Nawaz. Sure you can, but it is a huge gamble, a huge risk.

Nawaz had a better chance of taking a wicket or two in that situation than Iftikhar did. Babar made a brainless call because of all the matchup matchup ** everyone is doing these days.

we defeated NZ due to the match ups.

However, i do agree that, if you have to pick between a part timer and full time bowler, you go with the full timer

we defeated NZ due to the match ups.

However, i do agree that, if you have to pick between a part timer and full time bowler, you go with the full timer

Pakistan defeated New Zealand due to the following major factors:

1. They’re most dangerous power hitter Allen getting out in the first over. Shaheen always bowls the first over, he is the best in the world when it comes to taking wickets in the first over. It was not a match-up.

2. Conway run-out. Another key player, it was not a run-out and not a match-up.

3. Williamson not finding any fluency in his innings. He batted for 42 balls and only scored 2 boundaries. It wasn’t due to any match-ups, he just wasn’t able to time anything.

4. Babar and Rizwan were in their comfort-zone thanks to the pitch and the target on hand.

Besides, all teams try to make tactical decisions and every captain will try to set the correct field and make the right bowling changes to take wickets.

These tactics and strategies have been taking place for the past 150 years. It is just that some group of modern idiots decided to rebrand these tactics and strategies as “match-ups” to sound cool and smart.

These match-ups are nothing but just routine tactics that have been in use ever since people started playing cricket. It is just a new fancy name, a new buzzword for the same old concept.

His role needs defining.

The think tank seem to have no clue about what to do with him.

Some matches he bowls 4 overs, other matches none. Some matches he bats 4 or 5, other matches 7 or 8.

What are they doing?

Even after Shaheen got injured why did Ifti come in?

England would have attacked Mohd Nawaz as well. Question is what was Mohd Nawaz doing in the Side. His bowling was obviously not needed and his batting alone doesn't merit a place in the side. The real reason Pakistan lost the final and Zimbabwe match was poor team selection.

Pakistan actually didn't have a player to complete the 11. so they filled that spot with player that had no real role in the side. Mohd Nawaz had no real role in the side and proved just as useless. Could not score with the bat and his bowling was not needed.
Khusdil Shah was in the dug out, he was hopelessly out of form so could not play but was still included in the squad. Haider Ali another batsmen who had been a walking wicket but was in the squad. Asif Ali was there as well, why was he not playing? the team knew his batting was not going to work in Australia. Then why was he in the squad?

But there was no place for Imad Wasim? Imad should been in the squad based on his batting alone. His bowling would have been far more effective.

Fahim Ashraf, Shoaib Malik, Sharjeel Khan? why were these player not in the squad. Ok Shoaib Malik you say is too old. But what about the others.

People need to realize that the MCG and Perth pitches in this T-20 WC have been the spiciest in years. You needed maximum pacers in these conditions. England only utilized Rashid and the one over of Livingstone which went for 15 and he was never called again.

Nawaz was persisted because he proved to be more reliable with the bat in comparison to Asif, Khusdil, Haider and to have as a bowling option in the event his bowling was needed.

If anything that the captain, coach, selectors need to be held accountable for, it is their failure to pick atleast 2 pace bowling allrounders for this T-20 WC. They would have been very handy in Australia and would have given the captain a lot more options.

He didn’t bowl instead of Iftikhar because there were two left-handers at the crease. The ball would spin into them, making it easier for them to take Nawaz for runs either down the ground or square of the wicket. All about match-ups.

Iftikhar was a better option, but Stokes was just too good on the day.

So biiscaly every time a left hander comes in to batting they should not bowl Nawaz if played in future games.

His role needs defining.

The think tank seem to have no clue about what to do with him.

Some matches he bowls 4 overs, other matches none. Some matches he bats 4 or 5, other matches 7 or 8.

What are they doing?

exactly spot on, players need to understand their roles, and when think tank has no clue, it really destroys a player's confidence.

I really feel that after the India match, they think tank was really not sure what to do with him, he was not at fault, the captain made the blunder of bowling out a spinner in the final over.

I like Nawaz but I feel like in the future he will not be persisted with.

Babar finally realized fake plastic all rounder was no good and showed no faith in him. The sooner him and wasim Jnr are removed from any playing x1s the better.