Why do our 'Legends' only help our players in high profile tournaments?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We definitely produce better results when the Legends of the game are around boys <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> it’s not always about coaching,,it’s about Inspiring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FoodForThought?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FoodForThought</a> <a href="https://t.co/Jtki8sHRRE">pic.twitter.com/Jtki8sHRRE</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1144349024369225738?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 27, 2019</a></blockquote>

Seems to be a lot of these types of "having a chat" with pictures around the time we play in big tournaments.

Surely the year has 12 months - what happens during that time?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Asked Wasim Akram what he was saying to Shaheen & Amir before play - Wasim said "I told them to focus on the length they're bowling & field-set for Williamson, told Shaheen to bowl fuller than he has been bowling. At this level small adjustments make all the difference" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NZvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NZvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/GxMsjPATFD">pic.twitter.com/GxMsjPATFD</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1143863476609306625?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2019</a></blockquote>

Another example of advice!

When it is a high profile tournament then it is noticed more. In any series if they are around they usually always meet the players.

He can only guide if he is there with the players, he is not present during our series.

He also helped and gave advice to Trent Boult before that match.

When it is a high profile tournament then it is noticed more. In any series if they are around they usually always meet the players.

That’s true, but also as the old Chinese saying goes - “when the student is truly ready, the teacher will appear”.

Imran has mentioned in many interviews that he used to analyse his performances to identity weaknesses in his game and used to read articles from cricketers he respected like Ian Chappell who knew what they were taking about , and then worked on self improvement.

I remember back in mid 90s when Saeed Anwar was struggling for form and Gavaskar on commentary mentioned that Saeed had contacted him to ask for some advice and guidance on where he was going wrong - and Sunny said exactly like Wasim said here , small adjustments at this level make all the difference.

The likes of Amir and Shaheen , or now Hassan Ali should themselves be approaching legends like Wasim, Waqar and indeed respected players from other countries who would be happy to give free advice and tips that could make all the difference.

And if you are lazy - at the minimum my recommendation to Hassan Ali is to go and watch the full recordings of the recent Pakistan v England ODI series and listen to the commentary and in depth analysis of his bowling from Michael Holding - listen, understand and practice to overcome any flaws, and maybe even reach out to the legend Holding who is an institution on fast bowling and can tell you in minutes where you are going wrong.

Again I repeat - only when the student is truly ready, will the teacher appear.

I guess all the legends like Wasim, Waqar, Younus etc have contracts with media groups, broadcasters or ad agencies etc.

PCB needs to formally hire them, as they can do it sometimes as a goodwill gesture and for the love of the game and youngsters but I dont think they will do it throughout the year if they are not given proper compensation for opportunity cost.

This is marketing stunt, Wasim did nothing, hard work was down by Azhar.

Cricketing IQ of avg fan base is low...Afridi has been searching for length for last two months, he got support form wicket and it worked. He was bowling at nice channels in patches through out last year, but not consistently. Let’s hope he don’t forget the channel for next two weeks.

I heard Wasim saying in an interview/chat show(can't remember exactly) that he is always ready to help/guide/advice if players approach him. He was responding to how Indian players often take guidance from their legends to overcome their shortcomings.

He said something like this in Hindi/Urdu- 'Pyaase ko Kuan ke paas jaana padta hai. Kuan pyaase ke paas nahi aata.'

Cricketing IQ of avg fan base is low...Afridi has been searching for length for last two months, he got support form wicket and it worked. He was bowling at nice channels in patches through out last year, but not consistently. Let’s hope he don’t forget the channel for next two weeks.

Wasim undid the rubbish that Azhar had fed them for ages

With the exception of perhaps Misbah, all of our legends come with untold levels of negative baggage.

They are useful to the players in short stints, but anything more would be hypocritical.

For example Shoaib seems to have a lot of advice to give on his youtube channel, but given his behaviour as a player he'd be a joke to have in a formal coaching position.

I think you knew the answer to this one even before you posted this on PP.

This is just a marketing gimmick. They are in no way looking to work with these youngsters or work for the betterment of cricket or their own country. I find it hard to believe that guys who have ended up in the sport from humble backgrounds find it hard to give back some of their time to similar kids without getting any returns for it. Our kids end up getting discarded players or loud mouths as coaches and end up developing negatively. An example might be why all this grouping nonsense keeps on getting recycled in every team is because no one has given them DOs and DONTs for their professional careers.

Off the top of my head, I can not come up with a single person who I can call a real patriot willing to go out of their way to support/ help their countrymen.

Wasim undid the rubbish that Azhar had fed them for ages

When Wasim was asked what he was telling Shaheen, he said I told him to ball the right lengths. Now I ask you this, as fans of this great sport, was that rocket science? I am not a fan of Azhar M but I am pretty sure he would have been working on that for a while. Wasim was a great paceman, but unfortunately, he has not wanted to transfer any of his skills to the younger generation. If Amir cannot pick things from Wasim (given that he has a sharp brain) in addition to the plethora of left arm pacers, I am inclined to think the fault lies with the teacher than the pupil.

Yeah, I fail to see how talking to Wasim suddenly helped him to bowl consistent lines and a good length, pretty sure no one was telling him to spray it all over the place in the last few games.

That’s true, but also as the old Chinese saying goes - “when the student is truly ready, the teacher will appear”.

Imran has mentioned in many interviews that he used to analyse his performances to identity weaknesses in his game and used to read articles from cricketers he respected like Ian Chappell who knew what they were taking about , and then worked on self improvement.

I remember back in mid 90s when Saeed Anwar was struggling for form and Gavaskar on commentary mentioned that Saeed had contacted him to ask for some advice and guidance on where he was going wrong - and Sunny said exactly like Wasim said here , small adjustments at this level make all the difference.

The likes of Amir and Shaheen , or now Hassan Ali should themselves be approaching legends like Wasim, Waqar and indeed respected players from other countries who would be happy to give free advice and tips that could make all the difference.

And if you are lazy - at the minimum my recommendation to Hassan Ali is to go and watch the full recordings of the recent Pakistan v England ODI series and listen to the commentary and in depth analysis of his bowling from Michael Holding - listen, understand and practice to overcome any flaws, and maybe even reach out to the legend Holding who is an institution on fast bowling and can tell you in minutes where you are going wrong.

Again I repeat - only when the student is truly ready, will the teacher appear.

so elegantly described, great post :rabada2

its basically constant pursuit of self improvement. Kohli & Rohit are good examples of it. Rohit made his debut in 2006 T20 cup and was instantly hailed as the best young talent, but took forever to find his feet in the national team. Kohli on the other hand made his debut 2 years later but quickly established himself in the team and defeated got selected for WC'11 squad ahead of Rohit. He played more ODIs than Rohit and almost double the amount of runs. You wonder who is coaching Kohli? its his eagerness and desire to improve. This is why he is a fitness freak and Sharma ji has gone Pear shaped, or close to that. :inzi2

Both Shadab and Hasan were also hailed as great finds after CT'17 but unfortunately both havnt progressed much apart from better hairstyles and modeling in Head & Shoulder "Kandhay se bhooj hata dey".

Priorities !!!!!