Why do some journalists want media coverage for convicted Nawaz Sharif's rally?

WebGuru

He is not a hero he is a convict so why these so called senior anchors and journalists want special treatment for him? Why Mumtaz Qadri funeral was blackout from whole media if it's all about freedom of media and giving coverage to convicts? Mumtaz Qadri funeral had more crowd thn this rally if it's all about giving coverage because of the public showing up in big numbers...

Interestingly all these journalists raising the voice over social media are from liberal section of the media so one should ask them what's next? bending laws and giving special treatment to all the convicts?

These few tweets are just a few examples there are many others from same section of the media tweeting about this...
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Former PM Nawaz Sharif returns to jail with a sizeable crowd of supporters. That his support base is intact is a given. But mainstream media blackout of this rally is simply shameful. It is only through social media that we know about the past few hours in Lahore.</p>— Raza Ahmad Rumi (@Razarumi) <a href="https://twitter.com/Razarumi/status/1125847098497425408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 7, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Why isn’t any channel showing us this? <a href="https://t.co/rkRzmHOZ6p">https://t.co/rkRzmHOZ6p</a></p>— Najam Sethi (@najamsethi) <a href="https://twitter.com/najamsethi/status/1125829725681782785?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 7, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Why media is not showing this all?Why no anchor reveals that who called channel owners yesterday to completely boycott Miyan Sahib’s news<br>Look at his workers and their love. Wonder if they lockdown Kot Lakhpat Jail<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DamaDamMastQalandar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DamaDamMastQalandar</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%D8%AC%DA%BE%DA%A9%D8%A7_%D9%86%DB%81%DB%8C%DA%BA_%D9%86%D9%88%D8%A7%D8%B2%D8%B4%D8%B1%DB%8C%D9%81?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#جھکا_نہیں_نوازشریف</a> <a href="https://t.co/2nvQDLmZmL">pic.twitter.com/2nvQDLmZmL</a></p>— Shama Junejo (@ShamaJunejo) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShamaJunejo/status/1125835642640961537?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 7, 2019</a></blockquote>

They are just to get some people to get excited and get shot or injured. The irony is that his own kids are enjoy luxury in London and they want some idiots to do their bidding for them.

Well done to PEMRA.... Cannot give any media space to convicts. Let the journalists cry.

Two things:
1 - off the top of my head I can name Paracha, Rumi, and Haqqani sharing pictures from last year and claiming they are last nights
2 - from what I can see, nearly every station covered the rally
Of course the self proclaimed leftists would have you believe there was some massive clamp down when there wasn’t.

Two things:
1 - off the top of my head I can name Paracha, Rumi, and Haqqani sharing pictures from last year and claiming they are last nights
Of course the self proclaimed leftists would have you believe there was some massive clamp down when there wasn’t.

Khawaja Asif and Rumi shared pics from last year.

Paisa Phenko Tamasha Dekho. Reality of the nation of Pakistan. Everything is for sale.

Khawaja Asif and Rumi shared pics from last year.

Khwaja Asif is a politician so that’s to be expected. Rumi, Abbas Nasir and a few others they are particularly despicable. I appreciate they had a tough time of it during zias era and subsequently battling the khaki establishment. But now these people are brain damaged relics. Finding a conspiracy everywhere and linking everything to 1971.

The Rent a Liberal Brigade never disappoints....

D6CZeWwWAAE3TV_.png

D6CZrUfXoAA8iy0.png

Khwaja Asif is a politician so that’s to be expected. Rumi, Abbas Nasir and a few others they are particularly despicable. I appreciate they had a tough time of it during zias era and subsequently battling the khaki establishment. But now these people are brain damaged relics. Finding a conspiracy everywhere and linking everything to 1971.

True one of your early comment explains them really well "For them everything starts with 1971 and Zia".

Thora sa 1971 aur estab daalen phr hasb e zaruret Zia ka istemal keren or aakhir main vardi ka terka lagaayen. Naazreen Pakistani liberal brigade ki fav dish tayar he...

Two things:

Nadeem Farooq Paracha is one of the top hypocrites who considers himself as a neutral observer but the truth is he has never uttered a single word against PPP who have destroyed Sindh for decades. Secondly, he has this biased hate for anything related to PTI.

These type of people who show themselves neutral but are typical hypocrites in reality are a pure example of Desi Liberals.

What the heck was that first tweet.... so they are blaming Punjab government for criminal negligence just so that attention of the public can be diverted???

Nadeem Farooq Paracha is one of the top hypocrites who considers himself as a neutral observer but the truth is he has never uttered a single word against PPP who have destroyed Sindh for decades. Secondly, he has this biased hate for anything related to PTI.

These type of people who show themselves neutral but are typical hypocrites in reality are a pure example of Desi Liberals.

Paracha is a die hard jayala. Most of these liberals journos tag IK twitter handle everytime something goes wrong but when something wrong happens in Sindh they just close their eyes and never tag Prince Billo.

I mean what can I say. Zulfikar Bhutto was a cult leader people for these people. ZAB who spoke of egalitarian society and Marxism who could never rid his own province of feudal hierarchy. It’s important for folks to understand the ppp was the first true political party when a lot of these journalists or their parents were young. Ostensibly, if you were an urban Pakistani you were bound to be attracted to Bhutto who spoke impeccable English abroad and sparred with islamists at home (‘so what if I drink, at least I done drink the people’s blood!’ He thundered in rallies).
He took his half baked lefty ideas and nationalized the private enterprise of prominent industrial families. Risk-taking enterprise was replaced by an army of brain-dead civil servant or political appointees. The nationalization had such a profoundly negative impact on the economy that the state bank stopped publishing economic figures for a period.
Ppl talk about zia’s corrosive impact on Pakistan society, yet no one Wants to talk about how Zulfikar Ali Bhutto single handedly destroyed private enterprise in Pakistan

Completely agree with these lines. Zia wasn't an angel and had blood on his hands but the damage done by Z Bhutto is more.

I mean what can I say. Zulfikar Bhutto was a cult leader people for these people. ZAB who spoke of egalitarian society and Marxism who could never rid his own province of feudal hierarchy. It’s important for folks to understand the ppp was the first true political party when a lot of these journalists or their parents were young. Ostensibly, if you were an urban Pakistani you were bound to be attracted to Bhutto who spoke impeccable English abroad and sparred with islamists at home (‘so what if I drink, at least I done drink the people’s blood!’ He thundered in rallies).
He took his half baked lefty ideas and nationalized the private enterprise of prominent industrial families. Risk-taking enterprise was replaced by an army of brain-dead civil servant or political appointees. The nationalization had such a profoundly negative impact on the economy that the state bank stopped publishing economic figures for a period.

Exactly..
Destroyed banking, shipping and educational institutes just to name a few but for all his Roti/Kapra/Makan sloganeering could not institute land reforms and bring the waderas (He being one himself) & chaudharis under heel. And at the end peddled to the hardliners and I would say start the process of extremism.

I have no idea why people still think of him as sort of messiah.

True one of your early comment explains them really well "For them everything starts with 1971 and Zia".

Thora sa 1971 aur estab daalen phr hasb e zaruret Zia ka istemal keren or aakhir main vardi ka terka lagaayen. Naazreen Pakistani liberal brigade ki fav dish tayar he...

:)) :)) Very well said, liberal ki favourite dish.

I have interacted and argued with most of these and needless to say blocked by most of these liberals. Raza Rumi, Marvi Sirmed, Shama Junejo, Ayesha Ijaz, Ayesha Siddiqa, Nadeem Paracha. Goraya and Gul Bukhari types are in different league.

I actually had respect for most of them because i could understand their frustration that there is extremism in Pakistan and also most of them were in love with PPP so their frustration against Nawaz and Fauj interfering with democracy was justified.

These people have lost it completely in the last few years (while i still applaud them for stance for women rights and against extremism).

I still remember how they literally abused Nawaz for being corrupt, anti democratic, Zia's son, extremist etc etc. It is absolutely shameless how they have literally sold themselves in the last few years though, They have defended Nawaz Sharif's corruption, made him biggest democrat in our history, somehow turned him into only hope for liberals etc etc

Their hatred for Imran Khan is for lot of reasons (long debate and some differences are justified) but it is absolutely shameful how these so called liberals have turned him in to one of our biggest villains, some literally claim he is worst thing that happened to Pakistan. Maybe because new generation doesn't share their romance with Bhutto? Maybe we don't agree with them that Bhutto Zinda Hai?

Very well said, it took me a while to understand Bhutto cult. Frankly speaking, i would be a Bhutto supporter as well but sadly he was killed before i was even born. Although, most of my relatives and elders were Nawaz supporters i would have supported even Benazir despite her flaws.

Having said that, i simply can't understand how people can support likes of Nawaz, Zardari, Maryam, Hamza, Bilawal (better than others but lacks leadership skills).

Very well said...

Having said that, i simply can't understand how people can support likes of Nawaz, Zardari, Maryam, Hamza, Bilawal (better than others but lacks leadership skills).

Thanks. In my opinion the reason why there’s support for these people is a misguided sense of attachment to democracy. It cannot be denied that our security apparatus interferes in the political area. Having said that, as a citizen of this country who doesn’t have the luxury of spending in time arguing the aristortalian origins of democracy, the ordinary Pakistani sees no benefit from one system of governance or the other. The world is becoming increasingly illiberal and certain civic liberties are being curtailed: people are fed up. I think over the last ten years the millitary establishment of this country (when not doing Kargil, or saving Osama, or the other usual double dealing) has realized that democratically elected leaders have wrecked the economy irrevocably. We are a vasal state for China and our sovereignty is compromised.
The PTI and the establishment have struck a bargain to try to get the country back from the brink economically. If that means the constitution will be suspended and assemblies will be dissolved and pseudo grievance movements will be crushed in Balochistan or PTM areas so be it.