Why is Misbah-ul-Haq not resigning and why is Waqar Younis silent?

Savak

World Star
The PCB has not vociferously denied reports that they are searching for a foreign coach and have approached Gary Kirsten, Andy Flower. This is a blatant message from the PCB that they have lost confidence in the team's coaching staff. Given the amount of criticism in the media and among ex players, a more self respecting person would have resigned and the most honourable thing for Misbah would be to announce that he will step down from the Head Coach position once the South African series is over and he is giving the PCB enough time to advertise and search for a replacement.

On the other hand, Waqar's silence given the worst and most embarrassing fast bowling display by our team on a foreign tour with supporting wickets is incredible. This is the man who personally sponsored and supported the likes of Shaheen, Hasnain, Musa, Naseem on his personal twitter account calling them the future of the Pakistani pace attack even before the selectors picked them. Given the amount of abuse and criticism that Naseem is now receiving left, right and centre, i am just shocked why has Waqar not stepped in to defend the youngster and to explain the team's insipid bowling efforts? This is not the first time Waqar has gone absent and thrown his own players under the bus.

No wonder why Pakistani players feel a lot more at ease when there is a foreign coach around.

Yeh desi coach hain, inko jhuta bhi maro ge tu nahi jayein. Expect Misbah and Waqar to prolong this stint as long as possible.

Unless PCB believes they have money to hire a good foreign coach.

I would personally remove these 2 first. I would try Mudassar Nazar as a interim Coach and see what he does. Players have spoken v good things about him as a academy coach.

Why is everyone surprised?

It’s the millionth time both of these individuals have been responsible for failure while representing Pakistan.

Amount of Hate Misbah is getting is unbelievable. I sense that hate when Amir Asif and Butt was caught.

Wait a couple years.. waqar and Misbah will be back in some capacity as coach/ admin / selector or whatever. This tour was a 2 man job by them. Worked like Batman and Robin.

Misbah was on the committee that removed Mickey as coach iirc, and then he himself is appointed? Very shady and unethical, but this is the PCB what do you expect? Musical chairs of the corrupt who have ravaged our pride as a cricketing nation due to incompetency and selfishness.

According to Misbah he will now consider Domestic players performances for the SA series. Yeh ollu pehle so raha tha, isko nazar nahi ayien performances.

The thing is he was doing favouritism aur yaarian nibha rha tha. Shame on you Misbah.

They won’t leave so easily. Waqar Younis is probably looking for another player to put all the blame on. Maybe he’s writing a report on how Abbas didn’t bring him tea in the morning.

Misbah’s been assured that his position is not under threat, which is why he made the decision to leave Islamabad United. If Misbah was told by PCB that the NZ tour could be the end for him, he would’ve resigned as coach of the Pakistan team and held on to his job as Islu coach.

Misbah will complete his contract, even if we get white-washed at home to SA.

We had a young/inexperienced team just go to extremely tough conditions, lose their captain and best player at the start, lose their 3rd opener (regardless of talent, it was a man down), hand over captaincy to a guy who has played ~10 matches in a stop-start career, and came out of it 2-1 in the T20 series without embarrassing ourselves. In the 2 Test series, the team took them to the last day and last few overs fighting hard. We lost the plot at the end in the 2nd Test.

How high were your expectations that this was a terrible terrible tour and you want resignations? You tell me any other players or coaches that could've done better?

I'm not defending Misbah, I don't think he should've been given the job in the first place, but get a grip. This hatred of one man is beyond insanity.

It’s more financial I think. Who resigns knowing that the future especially with Covid is uncertain?

The fielding coach should get fired. No question about this

Lot of times contract are voided out if you resign, but if you're fired you continue to get paid till the end of the contract.

Also, this is the PCB. There is no guarantee's that their will be any changes at all. For all we know, we may see the exact same 11 and same coaching staff in the next game

It’s more financial I think. Who resigns knowing that the future especially with Covid is uncertain?

The fielding coach should get fired. No question about this

I believe Misbah is not going anywhere until 2021 T20 WC.

Misbah is just a shameless guy.

Prior to this there were many occasions when he should have retired as player and as captain and now as coach but he has no dignity. He would anything to keep sucking money from the board.

Wait a couple years.. waqar and Misbah will be back in some capacity as coach/ admin / selector or whatever. This tour was a 2 man job by them. Worked like Batman and Robin.

Misbah was on the committee that removed Mickey as coach iirc, and then he himself is appointed? Very shady and unethical, but this is the PCB what do you expect? Musical chairs of the corrupt who have ravaged our pride as a cricketing nation due to incompetency and selfishness.

That's disgusting stuff from Misbah bro. I always felt he only played for himself. Never promoted himself in the batting order and scored soft runs in Dubai. Guys like Amir Sohail get in trouble because he is straightforward but Misbah is scheming and cunning.

PCB is buying some time for the fans to cool down in order to save Misbah and Waqar. PSL is around the corner, so as Zim series. Until Mani is removed both blood sucking leeches will be there until 2021 if not 2023.

According to the Media if Misbah resigns, the PCB will not have to pay him any severance but if the PCB removes him, they will have to pay him a severance of 4 months of his salary

Under Waqar our Test bowling attack is worst after only Zimbabwe.

Our bowling effort in the Test series in NZ was the worst by a Pakistan touring team.

Hope all those who were demanding Waqar's appointment as bowling coach need to realise simply being a great player doesn't transfer into a great coaching career. And each of Waqar's prior coaching stints went down in flames.

Under Waqar our Test bowling attack is worst after only Zimbabwe.

Our bowling effort in the Test series in NZ was the worst by a Pakistan touring team.

Hope all those who were demanding Waqar's appointment as bowling coach need to realise simply being a great player doesn't transfer into a great coaching career. And each of Waqar's prior coaching stints went down in flames.

I don’t know what Australia were thinking even having him on their short list, probably just to make up the numbers really

According to the Media if Misbah resigns, the PCB will not have to pay him any severance but if the PCB removes him, they will have to pay him a severance of 4 months of his salary

This isnt too bad considering the scale of the things involved.

If I was advising Misbah, I would ask him to resign. Given his prior performances, and admittedly the average player pool at his disposal, performances won't suddenly do a 180. Especially with a full strength South Africa team arriving soon.

At least that way he can leave with some reputational capital, for future coaching roles with other boards.

If he gets sacked, it's unedifying and underlines him as a complete failure. Resigning will atleast save him some face.

The word resign doesn't exist in Pakistan cricket, whether you are a plyer, captain or coach.

As for Younis Khan, I have a feeling he is biding his time for the top role that Misbah currently occupies.

The word resign doesn't exist in Pakistan cricket, whether you are a plyer, captain or coach.

As for Younis Khan, I have a feeling he is biding his time for the top role that Misbah currently occupies.

Younis Khan is very close and friendly with WK, but i doubt the PCB will trust him with a head coaching role at this point.

Younis Khan is best served taking on the appointment he originally wanted i.e. being the U-19 and A team head coach with selection powers. He will be best served there.

The PCB has not vociferously denied reports that they are searching for a foreign coach and have approached Gary Kirsten, Andy Flower. This is a blatant message from the PCB that they have lost confidence in the team's coaching staff. Given the amount of criticism in the media and among ex players, a more self respecting person would have resigned and the most honourable thing for Misbah would be to announce that he will step down from the Head Coach position once the South African series is over and he is giving the PCB enough time to advertise and search for a replacement.

On the other hand, Waqar's silence given the worst and most embarrassing fast bowling display by our team on a foreign tour with supporting wickets is incredible. This is the man who personally sponsored and supported the likes of Shaheen, Hasnain, Musa, Naseem on his personal twitter account calling them the future of the Pakistani pace attack even before the selectors picked them. Given the amount of abuse and criticism that Naseem is now receiving left, right and centre, i am just shocked why has Waqar not stepped in to defend the youngster and to explain the team's insipid bowling efforts? This is not the first time Waqar has gone absent and thrown his own players under the bus.

No wonder why Pakistani players feel a lot more at ease when there is a foreign coach around.

I truly agree. Fans can go wild with abuse, and it can affect players mentally. A coach needs to be like an older brother to the team, he needs to take responsibility for times when the team has been demolished, and he needs to back his players. Waqar remaining silent on the matter is the worst part, because our bowlers are young and they need the support of a coach. Sending out Naseem and Zafar shows how shameless our management is, no consideration about what youngsters are going through after poor performances.

Why is Waqar silent?

Well he can only speak when PCB allows him to and he was in Australia with his family when the 2nd Test was taking place.

I truly agree. Fans can go wild with abuse, and it can affect players mentally. A coach needs to be like an older brother to the team, he needs to take responsibility for times when the team has been demolished, and he needs to back his players. Waqar remaining silent on the matter is the worst part, because our bowlers are young and they need the support of a coach. Sending out Naseem and Zafar shows how shameless our management is, no consideration about what youngsters are going through after poor performances.

This is not the first time Waqar has done this, he had well documented issues with Afridi, Akhtar, Yousaf, Razzaq during his tenure. Then in the 2016 T-20 WC, he publically called the selectors to take the likes of Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad to task, i mean no matter how bad things are, you never ever throw your players under the bus like that, the worst part was that even after the NZ game, Pakistan still had a chance to qualify for the semi finals if they beat Australia but Waqar was giving such utter demoralizing statements i.e. i am ****** off with the team, their performances, the kind of cricket we are playing, we absolutely do not deserve to qualify for the semi finals even if we have a chance. I mean this man is absolutely toxic, contageous and that episode alone should have been a sticky on his file that he should never ever be appointed in a coaching capacity ever again.

It is no surprise to me at all to see him go into hibernation, in a hole whereas the media, ex players are taking shots of Naseem, Shaheen, Abbas e.t.c.

Why is Waqar silent?

Well he can only speak when PCB allows him to and he was in Australia with his family when the 2nd Test was taking place.

I never saw him do any of the post day press conferences in the first test? The PCB will forbid him from posting a message or a video where he is supporting his bowlers? It's not like he will be criticizing the PCB.

Did the team management seek permission from the PCB for sending Zafar Gohar, Nasim Shah out to do the press conference that day?

Misbah should be sacked, that’s not the issue. But asking why he hasn’t resigned is stupid. It is his job, he will believe he can turn it around and he will want to turn it around. And obviously he won’t want to lose the paycheque.

Did the team management seek permission from the PCB for sending Zafar Gohar, Nasim Shah out to do the press conference that day?

No, and that's why PCB will be looking for an explanation on that and other issues soon.

This is not the first time Waqar has done this, he had well documented issues with Afridi, Akhtar, Yousaf, Razzaq during his tenure. Then in the 2016 T-20 WC, he publically called the selectors to take the likes of Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad to task, i mean no matter how bad things are, you never ever throw your players under the bus like that, the worst part was that even after the NZ game, Pakistan still had a chance to qualify for the semi finals if they beat Australia but Waqar was giving such utter demoralizing statements i.e. i am ****** off with the team, their performances, the kind of cricket we are playing, we absolutely do not deserve to qualify for the semi finals even if we have a chance. I mean this man is absolutely toxic, contageous and that episode alone should have been a sticky on his file that he should never ever be appointed in a coaching capacity ever again.

It is no surprise to me at all to see him go into hibernation, in a hole whereas the media, ex players are taking shots of Naseem, Shaheen, Abbas e.t.c.

It's just sad to see someone with such a great record in the game do things like this to attempt in protecting their own reputation. The likes of Naseem and Shaheen have immense potential, if they are guided correctly they can also become greats of the game. They came off of a bad performance, and that's part of the game, but there's no need to stop supporting these players. Sending Naseem and Zafar out is an example of how much our team values confidence, and they were made to be scapegoats. If Waqar Younis wants to protect his reputation, he should resign from being a bowling coach and move onto commentary, like Ramiz.

Why should Misbah resign? He didn’t appoint himself. He was appointed by the incompetent and clueless Wasim Khan, and the burden of his removal is on Wasim Khan as well.

Imran Khan has a soft corner for British Born Pakistanis...Wasim Khan isn't going anywhere unfortunately

Because PCB wants them to stay and finish their term otherwise it will term as failure from PCB's side. All the talks of Kristen and A. Flower are rumor from PCB's side to give false hope to us fans. Both Misbah and Waqar are here to stay whether we like it or not until 2022.

These ex players love the limelight, they cant get over not being famous stars, travelling the world, enjoying life.

Waqar was busy eating ice creams and signing autographs when his bolwers were all over the shop. He must be the record holder of coaches returning to coach an Int team.

Sacking these wont make a difference as they will be back in a few years claiming not enough time given. Let them continue and end their contracts once and for all. No coach should return to a team he has failed in helping become better.

It’s a psychological thing. They both have this complex of “them against the world” because they’ve been getting criticized for decades now. They genuinely want the best for Pakistan cricket, but have no idea how bad they are because they’ve always taught themselves to have a higher self esteem than the world wishes to reward them with.

It’s the savior complex, where Waqar saved the team from Wasim, Misbah was the last man standing in the 2007 T20 wc final and no one should question him (“mera pet shot tha wo, aankhain band karkay mai bachpan se marta hua aa rha hun... bas us din qismat mai nahi thi.”), Misbah was the one saving the team in the disgrace of a fixing scandal, and so on.

These guys are used to high pressure media scrutiny. It has to take something really, really bad for them to even acknowledge they’ve done something wrong on course to being the savior (this time, “rebuilding” the team post-Mickey). Hence you have Misbah saying for the first time lines like “we deserve criticism”. But you can bet your horse that Misbah continues to back his decisions and thinks everything he did was in the interest of Pakistan cricket, a mix of “my intentions were right, that’s what matters” and “I can’t go into the field and hold the bat for them, what do you want me to do?”

We need to realize that these guys are *not* self reflective people. If they were, Waqar would have learned new ball skills at some point earlier in his career and Misbah would have learned to play more positive cricket. So why do we expect them to self reflect now and realize there’s something wrong?

It’s a psychological thing. They both have this complex of “them against the world” because they’ve been getting criticized for decades now. They genuinely want the best for Pakistan cricket, but have no idea how bad they are because they’ve always taught themselves to have a higher self esteem than the world wishes to reward them with.

It’s the savior complex, where Waqar saved the team from Wasim, Misbah was the last man standing in the 2007 T20 wc final and no one should question him (“mera pet shot tha wo, aankhain band karkay mai bachpan se marta hua aa rha hun... bas us din qismat mai nahi thi.”), Misbah was the one saving the team in the disgrace of a fixing scandal, and so on.

These guys are used to high pressure media scrutiny. It has to take something really, really bad for them to even acknowledge they’ve done something wrong on course to being the savior (this time, “rebuilding” the team post-Mickey). Hence you have Misbah saying for the first time lines like “we deserve criticism”. But you can bet your horse that Misbah continues to back his decisions and thinks everything he did was in the interest of Pakistan cricket, a mix of “my intentions were right, that’s what matters” and “I can’t go into the field and hold the bat for them, what do you want me to do?”

We need to realize that these guys are *not* self reflective people. If they were, Waqar would have learned new ball skills at some point earlier in his career and Misbah would have learned to play more positive cricket. So why do we expect them to self reflect now and realize there’s something wrong?

Beautifully written. Explains the psyche of these two, and people with this savior complex in general.

No coach can fix things overnight. People are blaming coaches when the players are themselves not so good. That doesn't mean coaches did a great job.

Further to add you need great coaches at junior level to shape psyche and technique. All this noise about coaches and at national level wouldn't help drastically.

No coach can fix things overnight. People are blaming coaches when the players are themselves not so good. That doesn't mean coaches did a great job.

Didn't Pakistan win the t20 series in New Zealand last time and won like 13 series continuously and when Misbah came they lost first series whitewashed against a Srilanka C side and now Pakistan is praying for 1 series win apart from Zimbabwe.

Why should Misbah resign? He didn’t appoint himself. He was appointed by the incompetent and clueless Wasim Khan, and the burden of his removal is on Wasim Khan as well.

I think these reports about Kristen and Flower are just PCB's stunts to deceive fans. So far there is no update of these rumors. Now PSL draft is around the corner. So both Misbah and Waqar wants to pass the S Africa series then PSL, Zim series and we fan will forget these recent failures.

Why should Misbah resign? He didn’t appoint himself.

Didn’t he?

I could have sworn that he was on the panel that sacked Mickey Arthur just after he came fifth at the World Cup.

Younis Khan should retain his job. If anything, our batting has improved in the last year while the bowling has completely fallen off a cliff. Younis working with Azhar on his technique and how he was batting was one of the biggest reasons he regained his form with the 157 against England.

PCB Cricket Committee’s first meeting of 2021 will take place at the High Performance Centre in Lahore on Tuesday, 12 January. The committee, which will gather at 1030 PST, will review the 2020-21 cricket season to date, including Pakistan men’s cricket teams’ recent performances as well as the domestic events held under difficult conditions.

The meeting will be chaired by former Test wicketkeeper Saleem Yousuf and will also be attended by Umar Gul, Urooj Mumtaz (both members), Wasim Khan, Zakir Khan and Nadeem Khan (co-opted members of the committee). Wasim Akram will join the session online, while Ali Naqvi will not be available as he is refereeing in the Pakistan Cup One-Day Tournament.

Pakistan head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and fast bowler Waqar Younis will separately brief and update the PCB Cricket Committee on the men’s sides performances against England, Zimbabwe and New Zealand, while Nadeem Khan will talk members through the events held and matches delivered since the commencement of the season on 30 September 2020. Zakir Khan will bring the committee up to speed on international assignments in 2021 which will commence with next week’s arrival of the South Africa men’s cricket team for two Tests and three T20Is.

PCB Cricket Committee’s remit is to advise the PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani on cricket-related matters, including but not limited to the performances of the national cricket teams and their managements, domestic cricket structure, high performance centres and playing conditions.

[MENTION=147674]The Viper[/MENTION],
Just a routine meeting in a friendly atmosphere. No threat of loosing the job. Unless Mani is removed and IK stop interfering both Misbah and Waqar will keep the job.

Didn’t he?

I could have sworn that he was on the panel that sacked Mickey Arthur just after he came fifth at the World Cup.

The final call was made by the spectacularly incompetent Wasim Khan. Without his approval, Misbah wouldn’t be in this position. Misbah has no moral/legal/ethical obligation to resign.

Do you think report about Gary Kristen, A Flower as a new coach is true? or just fake rumor?

Probably true, but Kirsten snubbed them as expected.

Pressure is building on PCB because from all quarters. It will be difficult for them to continue with Misbah even if they believe in him.

Probably true, but Kirsten snubbed them as expected.

Pressure is building on PCB because from all quarters. It will be difficult for them to continue with Misbah even if they believe in him.

I dont think they would be let go. The PCB is playing with the emotions of the gullible public. Someone leaked a couple of names to public so everyone can relax and the pressure would ease off with time. Misbah and co would continue ...

Wasim Khan hasn't confirmed or denied anything. He has put the ball in the Cricket Committees court ie Salim Yousaf, Wasim Akram, Bazid Khan, Umar Gul, Ali Naqvi etc

I understand the criticism but this is quite a stretch

Let's assume for discussion purposes as bowler getting a batsman out caught behind as a crude analysis for efficiency with the new ball. (Usually that's the typical dismissal with the new ball with the ball moving away from the batsman or the LBW which will not be included in this conversation)

Jimmy anderson and Mcgrath both have 27% of his dismissals which are caught behind

Tim Southee has 30% of his dismissals as caught behind

All of the above names are exceptional bowlers and make the new ball count

Wasim Akram who is consistently called a fantastic new ball bowler on this forum (he was without a doubt) has only 16.91% of his dismissals as caught behind. 70/414

Waqar Younis also has a similar but slightly higher average of caught behinds at 17.43% 65/373

I know it's a skewed analysis which does not exactly show the essential prowess with a new ball. But I'm just here trying to make a point that to say that Waqar didn't have any new ball skills is quite a stretch, and not true at all. Please don't let your hatred for his coaching affect facts. We all know he has done poorly with these young bowlers.

Misbah is a well educated person. He could see his fate written on the wall. Even Wasim Khan said he should coach in PSL to gain more experience. He is the first coach in world's history who got the top job without any qualification and experience.

Let's assume for discussion purposes as bowler getting a batsman out caught behind as a crude analysis for efficiency with the new ball. (Usually that's the typical dismissal with the new ball with the ball moving away from the batsman or the LBW which will not be included in this conversation)

Jimmy anderson and Mcgrath both have 27% of his dismissals which are caught behind

Wasim Akram who is consistently called a fantastic new ball bowler on this forum (he was without a doubt) has only 16.91% of his dismissals as caught behind. 70/414

Waqar Younis also has a similar but slightly higher average of caught behinds at 17.43% 65/373

I know it's a skewed analysis which does not exactly show the essential prowess with a new ball. But I'm just here trying to make a point that to say that Waqar didn't have any new ball skills is quite a stretch, and not true at all. Please don't let your hatred for his coaching affect facts. We all know he has done poorly with these young bowlers.

Did you take into account pathetic slip fielders which Pakistan always had since its inception.

You do realise he's been on leave since before the first test? I'm pretty sure i gave you a snapshot of his itinerary?

Also, how do you know whether he's been advised by the PCB not to release any statements?

Did you take into account pathetic slip fielders which Pakistan always had since its inception.

Maybe cancel that out with the number of no balls that our bowlers got wickets on. Wasim and Waqar got quite a few wickets on no balls. I see Wasim complain alot about the DRS, but there have been alot of times his wickets counted which were actually no balls that were never caught by umpires

I dont think they would be let go. The PCB is playing with the emotions of the gullible public. Someone leaked a couple of names to public so everyone can relax and the pressure would ease off with time. Misbah and co would continue ...

Exactly!!! PCB will not admit their failure of appointing 2 looser and will not let go money that easy. Unless miracle happen both will stay until 2022.

Wasim Khan hasn't confirmed or denied anything. He has put the ball in the Cricket Committees court ie Salim Yousaf, Wasim Akram, Bazid Khan, Umar Gul, Ali Naqvi etc

Don't be fooled on Wasim Khan's statements. He always say what people wants to hear. He didn't oppose Mani or IK for appointing Misbah, Waqar and wanna be fielding coach, Basit Ali....

Waqar is a cunning person!!! Don't expect any press conference from his side explaining his own performance.

Misbah has brought his incompetent vibe as player to his coaching position. No other country would have given as many ODIs as Pakistan did, no country on this planet would appoint this defensive and meek person as a coach. He belongs to the 1880s.

A lot of questions about aamir by journalists , misbah said he never said anything about aamir and aamir will be selected if he proves his form in the domestics.

Don't be fooled on Wasim Khan's statements. He always say what people wants to hear. He didn't oppose Mani or IK for appointing Misbah, Waqar and wanna be fielding coach, Basit Ali....

WK has much bigger agenda on his plate which is to transform the system. This is just too small for him to take a stance or be rigid. He will however ensure pathways and checks and balances and that's the British way of quality assurance.