Why Pakistan needs Imran Khan : Peter Oborne

WebGuru

It’s been a long journey for Imran Khan. He founded his political party, PTI (Pakistan Movement for Justice), in 1996, and for many years made no real progress. Many mocked him. The Guardian journalist Declan Walsh dismissed him as ‘a miserable politician’, whose ideas and affiliations had ‘swerved and skidded like a rickshaw in a rainshower’.

PTI did make a limited amount of progress in the 2013 general elections, when it emerged as the second largest party by national vote and with 30 parliamentary seats. Furthermore, Khan’s party secured control of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (formerly North-West Frontier Province). But none of this was enough to challenge for national power.

The outlook has changed dramatically over the past three months. The world needs to take seriously the prospect that Pakistan’s sporting idol and former Test cricket captain may be its next prime minister.

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), mired in complacency and corruption, is no longer a significant national force. Meanwhile, PML-N (Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz), the ruling party, is facing a series of corruption charges after the Pakistan Supreme Court forced the resignation of its leader, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, in the wake of investigations that followed the publication of the Panama Papers.

With only months to go until the general election, the house of Sharif is rudderless and broken. Following the fall of Nawaz, it cannot even agree on a candidate to lead the party into the election. And it is accused of stashing huge sums of money abroad.

Imran Khan has one further advantage. The 65-year-old has repeatedly presented himself as the virtuous outsider promising to clean up the endemic corruption of Pakistan’s politics. The enforced resignation of Nawaz Sharif is therefore seen as a profound vindication of Khan himself.

So when I drove up the hill to Khan’s elegant house overlooking Islamabad, I wasn’t going to visit a mere commentator on Pakistani politics. I was going to visit a man who could potentially transform this vast Muslim country, now home to more than 200 million people.

I started by asking him about President Trump’s recent announcement that he would send American troops back into Afghanistan and the accompanying threat that Pakistan ‘has much to lose by continuing to harbour terrorists’.

Wearing tracksuit bottoms and sipping fruit juice, Khan rubbished the President’s stance. ‘It shows a concrete misunderstanding of the whole Afghan issue,’ he told me. He compared the current situation to Vietnam in the 1970s, when the US blamed insurgents crossing the border from Cambodia for its failure to stamp out the Viet Cong. ‘We all know what happened in Cambodia after that,’ he said. ‘It’s very similar to what’s happening right now.’

The Taleban, Khan explained, is an ‘indigenous movement’ that cannot be dealt with by military force. ‘For 16 years [the US] have been trying to use [the] military to crush the Taleban movement and it has failed. And it will fail again. This is just a recipe for a failed policy. What they’re doing now is just endless war.’ I then asked Khan about Trump’s plans to drop certain Obama-era requirements for conducting drone strikes, which could create an upsurge in attacks on Pakistani soil. While the Pakistani government has always publicly condemned US drone attacks as an infringement of its national sovereignty, a string of reports have cited evidence of tacit approval behind the scenes. ‘We will not grant them permission,’ he replied.

He said that he will stand up to the US, but Khan may have just as difficult a task standing up to his own armed forces, which have ruled Pakistan for almost half of its 70-year history and have exercised a strong influence when not in power.

Nawaz Sharif’s daughter Maryam recently labelled Khan a mere pawn of the military. The Sharifs have recently fallen out with the armed forces and a common allegation against Khan is that he has become very close to the military establishment.

But he claimed he would not kowtow. ‘A democratic government should sit down and form its policy and then get the army on board,’ he said. ‘If there is any impediment by the army, I should be able to say, “Look, I’m the chief executive.” And then, if I can’t implement my policy, I should be able to say, “Look, I can’t do it, and I resign.”’

At this, we turned to his country’s convulsive domestic politics. To the detriment of traditional parties, radical groups with links to militancy and terrorism have been making remarkable inroads into electoral politics, most recently in last month’s Lahore by-election, where two hardliners together received 11 per cent of the vote. So how comfortable is the PTI leader with the prospect of sharing a ballot paper with people who have been involved in violence?

‘I think it’s alarming in the sense that the traditional religious parties have lost steam,’ he said. ‘On the other hand, the beauty of democracy is — and this is what has happened to the other religious parties — that once you bring these guys into parliament, whatever they said before gets moderated. They move towards the centre.’

And what about blasphemy, the cause of dozens of murders, notably including of the former governor of the Punjab? Many in the West see blasphemy laws as a blatant attack on freedom of speech, and critics within the country say the laws lead to the persecution of minorities and the conviction of innocent people. Since 1990, at least 65 people accused of blasphemy have been murdered in Pakistan.

Nonetheless, Khan believes that doing away with the laws would only lead to more violence. ‘I would never get rid of blasphemy legislation,’ he said. ‘You know why? Because I would open the way for lynching mobs. If you accuse anyone of blasphemy, the other person has a right to prove that he’s innocent. But if you take that out, you will have, in villages, some mullah from a mosque instigating people.

‘It’s happened to us. In Chitral [a district of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa], suddenly [at] this one mosque, this guy claimed that someone had committed blasphemy and he riled the crowd up, and they were going to lynch him and the police saved him. So I think that it is a form of protection for people.’

Khan goes one step further, claiming that he would punish those found to have falsely accused others of blasphemy. He said that this is already happening in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, where 57 people are being tried after false accusations that student Mashal Khan had posted blasphemous content online in April led to his being beaten and shot to death by a mob.

The issue of blasphemy is a symbol of what would be Khan’s overall approach to governing Pakistan. First and foremost, he intends to uphold the rule of law and strengthen independent institutions in order to create a more just society.

Some commentators have suggested that his support is divided across irreconcilable demographic lines. On the one hand, he depends on the backing of young, urban, secular-liberal middle-class voters; on the other, on a more conservative, religiously minded sector of the population. Once in power, it is thought, he could find it impossible to please both.

Khan has a simple response to that suggestion. ‘With people voting in Pakistan today, it really is not that much of an issue whether someone is liberal or someone is conservative,’ he said. ‘People want governance. If people vote for us, it won’t be about whether I’m liberal or conservative. It will be, who is going to tackle corruption?

Apart from this, what is Khan’s political vision? In some ways it’s not unlike Jeremy Corbyn’s. ‘I don’t care what anyone says,’ Khan told me. ‘I think he’s a genuine leader. You know, he has a belief system.’ Like Corbyn, Khan believes in taxing the rich and investing heavily in health and education.

‘There are two things which I feel my party has in common with him,’ Khan said. ‘He believes in social justice, economic justice. And secondly, his foreign policy is much more just.’

So is Khan going to win?

‘You know, you’re asking a sportsman who’s going to go and play a match whether he’s going to win or lose,’ he replied. ‘Of course I say I am going to win.’

The world should no longer see Imran Khan as merely a former Test cricketer. It needs to look at him very seriously as a potential leader of Pakistan who can project his country onto the world stage. He could become Pakistan’s most recognisable leader since Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto 40 years ago, mobilising a mass movement and articulating a fresh political vision.

But the world should also bear in mind one thing: although he is instantly recognisable in the West, and fits the westernised mould of Bhutto and his daughter Benazir, many of Khan’s messages — whether over drones and military intervention or on the position of religion in society — may be painful to some western ears.

Source: https://www.spectator.co.uk/2017/10/why-pakistan-needs-imran-khan/

This Peter Oborne guys loves Imran

Many British journalists do

It's not love, it's called Imran's PR machinery :ik2

seems like he's got all of the British media in his pocket

Wish he could exert same influence on Pakistani media as he does in Britain

Nothing new....IK continues to confuse himself and others.

Regarding blasphemy, he said he will not take the law away because people will resort to mob justice. But that's whats happening anyways and part of the reason mob gets justification for such actions is that they know there are such tough laws against blasphemy on the books.

I didn't even bother reading the article, thanks for this snippet. Not surprised really, Imran has a habit dodging tough questions and comes up with stupid justifications for his support to backward laws and policies. He's also a very cowardly person, he's afraid for his life, people like him can't change the world, you need guts and determination and you need to put your life on the line to bring any real change in the society. He just wants power and he will back anyone or anything that gets him power, he's even worse than Kejriwal

He's proposing solutions which are in tune with the society he lives in, and I like his move to punish those who falsely accuse someone of blasphemy. According to that article, 57 people in KPK are being charged with such an offence for falsely accusing Mashal Khan. Pakistan needs to reach the 20th century first, Pakistani intellectuals can worry about LGBTQ rights and such once the basics have been established.

That is true and the case is in Anti-Terrorism Court.

57 indicted over Mashal murder

PESHAWAR: The Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) in Haripur on Tuesday indicted 57 people accused of being involved in the murder of Mashal Khan, the Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan (AWKUM) student who was lynched in April over blasphemy allegations.

Source: https://tribune.com.pk/story/1510718/atc-indicts-57-mashal-khans-lynching-trial-begin-wednesday/

:(

better heading:

Why Pakistan needs Imran Khan and why he should not be allowed to enter in any civilized country.

As expected the desi liberal brigade with padosi show their faces. Fans of Modi and Nawaz should be the last one to comment on these topics and Marvi Sarmad types need a reality check.

IK is an angel sent to Pakistan.

Pakistanis will realize his importance after he is six feet under the ground.

Imagine if it weren't for him Nawaz and Zardari would be busy looting the country with both hands and feet.

But but but wo apni shaadi tou sambhal nahi saka mulk kya chalayega :sree #Nooralogic

He is not proposing any solutions, just continuation of the same. The law to punish people falsely accusing others for blasphemy have always been there but it rarely gets implemented. In Mashal Khan's case, the fact that it got international headlines and that barbaric act was captured on multiple cell phone videos plus media pressure, thankfully some progress has been made but its difficult to say for sure if justice will eventually be served.

Asia bibi is still in prison and hundreds of people per day visit the grave of Mumtaz Qadri, which is being transformed into a pilgrimage site. This is the state of our country when it comes to blasphemy laws. Keeping the status quo hardly tantamount to making progress or finding solutions.

To equate abolishing or loosening of the blasphemy law to ultra liberal ideals is hardly a comparison. This is about basic human rights.

:(

better heading:

Why Pakistan needs Imran Khan and why he should not be allowed to enter in any civilized country.

IK capitalizes on the poor understanding of the Brits/Americans/Westerners of Pakistan and its culture and presents himself as the only one who can bridge that gap. They feed from his hands whatever screwed up theories he has to offer, taking his fame and popularity as some marker of validation. Its good entertainment for all. One gets to inflate his ego even more and the other gets to file another story from a dangerous yet exotic part of the world.

He is not proposing any solutions, just continuation of the same. The law to punish people falsely accusing others for blasphemy have always been there but it rarely gets implemented. In Mashal Khan's case, the fact that it got international headlines and that barbaric act was captured on multiple cell phone videos plus media pressure, thankfully some progress has been made but its difficult to say for sure if justice will eventually be served.

Asia bibi is still in prison and hundreds of people per day visit the grave of Mumtaz Qadri, which is being transformed into a pilgrimage site. This is the state of our country when it comes to blasphemy laws. Keeping the status quo hardly tantamount to making progress or finding solutions.

To equate abolishing or loosening of the blasphemy law to ultra liberal ideals is hardly a comparison. This is about basic human rights.

Maybe it will get implemented now. You can only judge on results, let's see how the trials play out before damning before the verdict has even been reached. Not that one man can change a culture single-handedly, I would have thought previous governments under Nawaz, Bhuttos, Musharraf etc would have shown that.

Leave it to uninformed overseas Pakistanis to keep harping about things that are minuscule in the broader perspective. Half of Pakistan is dying with thirst and hunger while the status quo parties are looting and plundering but here we have white washed Pakistanis arguing why Imran Khan is bad because his stance on blasphemy law is not clear.

:facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm:

I'm all for repelling this draconian law but you have look at things in perspective and frankly speaking this law isn't as big of an issue as lifting majority of our population out of the cycle of poverty and illiteracy and reducing corruption so that the wheels of the economy starts turning.

It's the same way where desi liberals keep talking about democracy this democracy that when the status quo politicians are worst than any dictator in history.

Leave it to uninformed overseas Pakistanis to keep harping about things that are minuscule in the broader perspective. Half of Pakistan is dying with thirst and hunger while the status quo parties are looting and plundering but here we have white washed Pakistanis arguing why Imran Khan is bad because his stance on blasphemy law is not clear.

:facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm:

I'm all for repelling this draconian law but you have look at things in perspective and frankly speaking this law isn't as big of an issue as lifting majority of our population out of the cycle of poverty and illiteracy and reducing corruption so that the wheels of the economy starts turning.

It's the same way where desi liberals keep talking about democracy this democracy that when the status quo politicians are worst than any dictator in history.

In other news Pakistan is finding it hard to even pay for next 3 months imports bill...

Imran Khan is the only politician I would vote for. Most politicians are corrupt, self-serving, self-righteous and arrogant. Imran Khan is sincere and loves his people, that is evident from his speeches. He is not fake.

But but he is a mullah by heart because he always start his speeches with "Iyyaka na budu wa iyyaka nastaeen" [Thee (alone) we worship; Thee (alone) we ask for help], Typical Desi Liberals excuse

I didn't even bother reading the article, thanks for this snippet. Not surprised really, Imran has a habit dodging tough questions and comes up with stupid justifications for his support to backward laws and policies. He's also a very cowardly person, he's afraid for his life, people like him can't change the world, you need guts and determination and you need to put your life on the line to bring any real change in the society. He just wants power and he will back anyone or anything that gets him power, he's even worse than Kejriwal

Imran Khan's biggest strength/as well as weakness is he tries to answer EVERY question. He may not answer EVERYTHING but answers around 95% more questions than any other leader in Pakistan today.

Imran Khan gives interviews to almost every anchor few times a week and every anchor has confirmed his questions are not shared with him in advance. In Comparsion, Sharifs, Zardari, Fazlur Rehman etc only give around 2-3 interviews a year and EVERYTHING is controlled and in presence of many party leaders.

If there is any impediment by the army, I should be able to say, “Look, I’m the chief executive.” And then, if I can’t implement my policy, I should be able to say, “Look, I can’t do it, and I resign.”’

How conveniently some of the guys here ignored this point of "IK the Army boy" and only quoted the points that supports their agendas...

But but he is a mullah by heart because he always start his speeches with "Iyyaka na budu wa iyyaka nastaeen" [Thee (alone) we worship; Thee (alone) we ask for help], Typical Desi Liberals excuse

I see, so the only Muslims who recite the glorious Verse from Surah al-Fatihah are Mullahs?

I do not know what Mullah means, kindly explain.

Imran Khan is sincere, as is obvious and evident to all those who know what sincerity is. But if you prefer the current corrupt lot of politicians, then no wonder Pakistan is in a complete mess.

As for Typical Desi Liberals excuse - what is that supposed to indicate, that British Pakistanis are not permitted to have, or express, an opinion? Because if that is the meaning of your derogatory comment, then I repeat: no wonder Pakistan is in a mess. (No unity, leads to division which = a mess).

I see, so the only Muslims who recite the glorious Verse from Surah al-Fatihah are Mullahs?

Imran Khan is sincere, as is obvious and evident to all those who know what sincerity is. But if you prefer the current corrupt lot of politicians, then no wonder Pakistan is in a complete mess.

As for Typical Desi Liberals excuse - what is that supposed to indicate, that British Pakistanis are not permitted to have, or express, an opinion? Because if that is the meaning of your derogatory comment, then I repeat: no wonder Pakistan is in a mess. (No unity, leads to division which = a mess).

I have one question..How do the Pakistan army top brass view him? Do they support his ideology?

No idea. But I suspect the Army - part of the established order - will be quite happy with Imran Khan, so long as he does not threaten their position, influence and authority.

His support base is mostly ewducated people and quite a few in Army support him as educated individuals. Not too sure about Army as an institution, he is a principled person who doesn't like taking orders.
I read about an incident few days ago that he was invited by ISI head when he initially joined politics to discuss a certain issue and he left the office in anger as he had to wait for 15 minutes. ISI head found it surprising and said people like Maulana Fazl ur Rehman have waited even 2 hours for meeting. Many people tried to diffuse the situation but he never met that person again. He doesn't have financial weaknesses that could be exploited so he is very tough perosn to be controlled.

What a pathetic baseless statement.

He's not as cowardly as the person currently in charge of India.

And in case you didn't know Peter Oburne is a conservative British writer. It's just he wrote a book about Pakistan cricket and became fascinated with the country once he visited it.

Probably more than anything he's supporting Imran not because he's charming but because he wants the country to strive more forward than the current leadership.

And also he supported Pakistan and cherred them on June 18.

You missed my point i was talking about those desi liberal atheists always targeting religion and for them Imran is no better then Taliban.