Why was Shan Masood dropped from the Pakistan ODI side?

gazza619

This has been bothering me. I know we have touched this subject briefly on many threads mourning yet another defeat for team Pakistan. It pains even more as we lost to a very weak SA side. We did not achieve anything from the ODIs. For example if we had tried 2-3 new faces and then lost, it would have been fine. We went all out and did not even give Shan Masood a chance. Yes Shan Masood! The same guy who easily looked our best in tests on tough pitches. He was made to sit out. Buy why? Why are we so damn scared to make changes?

Can anyone give me a logical explanation? Was he unfit? World cup is months away and we are playing minnow cricket, surely you need to try out guys like Shan.

Because they’ll wait for the England series, where he may fail and then they can discard him.

Play the selectors/managements favourite players against minnows and play those who perform well in domestic against tougher opponents in tougher conditions where they may fail and thus allowing the selectors to discard them.

I have a feeling he would have played 4th and 5th ODIs in place of Malik had Sarf not been banned. It was unfortunate for Shan that all of the top four scored runs in the series and he just couldn't get a spot since he has been earmarked as a top order bat.

If Harry returns next series then Shan falls further the pecking order (for middle order position). Is Shan in the PSL? If he is he needs to make a big statement and essentially force Mickey's hand.

b446fe5205a9f34dbd24755cb99e93a6.jpg

This has been bothering me. I know we have touched this subject briefly on many threads mourning yet another defeat for team Pakistan. It pains even more as we lost to a very weak SA side. We did not achieve anything from the ODIs. For example if we had tried 2-3 new faces and then lost, it would have been fine. We went all out and did not even give Shan Masood a chance. Yes Shan Masood! The same guy who easily looked our best in tests on tough pitches. He was made to sit out. Buy why? Why are we so damn scared to make changes?

Can anyone give me a logical explanation? Was he unfit? World cup is months away and we are playing minnow cricket, surely you need to try out guys like Shan.

Because Fakhar was a must have have and Inzi couldn't possibly drop Imam. And in the middle order they would never drop Hafeez.

Probably should have been tried but the problem was that Imam played well and wasn’t going to be dropped. Also Fakhar was persisted with. Perhaps Fakhar should have sat out a match or two.

Shan would have played if Imam failed in the first two ODIs. He was a back up just for Imam.

I am damn sure he would have scored atleast 1 century here and probably would have converted it into a 150.

SA had only 1 lethal bowler i-e bowler who was out of form and was strangely bowling 1st change.

there wasn't room in the playing 11, and with no dead rubbers, couldn't have rested anyone else

Why was Malik played in all 5 matches he was clearly struggling Shan could've got a game or 2 batting at no 4 wouldn't have done any worse for sure.

He was not ignored. Just difficult to break through in our top 3 atm.
Difficult to break through? Fakhar was clueless in the first 4 games. They will keep giving Fakhar chances even when he fails.
Feel bad for Shan who deserved to play instead if Fakhar.

To be honest Fakhar should have been dropped. He still has issues with short balls , and will resurface soon. Pakistan management just wants to keep playing the favorites , Shan could have scored heavily , making it tough to remove him.

Because Fakhar could not be dropped as he's a sure started in the WC. There's no way the management would drop Fakhar and dent his confidence.

Obviously, there was no merit in dropping Imam. Maybe he can be tested in the next series.

Lol, ok, chalo yeh bhi sun liya hai.

He is actually correct though.
Fakhar Zaman is a hard hitting player and gets you off to a good start if he succeeds to.
Imam ul haq is scoring big so he just can't get dropped.
Babar azam, do i even have to say anything about him?

Fakhar and Babar are untouchable in this team, and rightly so. ( Until or unless fakhar fails in next 3-4 games u can not change him)
And imam scored big.
So chief Bhai is right

Clearly the management only had the series in their mind , not the world cup.

Why do you say that? I think firstly fakhar looked hopeless in tests so now Shan is a must in top order for tests.
Secondly for odi fakhar had to show some form..however limited he has done that. Imam has been one of the stars of this tour alongside babar. With Harris returning having a top 4 of imam, babar and two from Shan, Harris and fakhar is quite a sensible strategy as it tests the bench strength with battle hardened individuals. Slowly introducing players like like helps us prepare for hafeez and Shoaib retirements so it’s very good planning for the coming months. To drop fakhar now would have killed his confidence.

Shan will make a comeback very soon but he’s far from the finished article just yet.

Fakhar and Babar are untouchable in this team, and rightly so. ( Until or unless fakhar fails in next 3-4 games u can not change him)
And imam scored big.
So chief Bhai is right

Also Fakhar has a knack of scoring big in finals.

He deserves a chance. Should come in for Malik. It doesn't matter what position it's at, but he deserves to play. Doesn't matter if he's opening or at No.6. He deserves a go.

I think our strongest team would be:
1) Fakhar
2) Imam
3) Babar
4) Shan Masood
5) Hafeez
6) Sarfraz
7) Imad
8) Shadab
9) Hasan
10) Shinwari
11) Shaheen

I know I've mentioned this before but I'll say it again. I suspect this was because of an insecure Inzi but there was no reason why he couldn't have been tried at no.4 with either one of Hafeez and Malik rested for a game or two.

Picking a very raw Hussain Talat ahead of him in the first ODI was a major blunder. About time the management get their act together and realise there is no hope in Malik delivering even half decent knocks against England. I would have him in the squad for the WC but not an automatic starter. I would play him against good spin bowling sides like Afghanistan, Bangladesh and India in the group stage but no more than that.

Accept it. pakistanis general dont have a heart to change things or to try new things.. they dont want to come out of the comfort zone. As said before alot of players think they have achieved everything in life just by donning the green cap and the hunger stops then and there.

While SA experimented all series. Pakistan selectors/coach/captain have their own agendas of protecting their favourites in the side and not giving fringe players ago as pressure on TTFs in the side might upset their feelings.

Stop with the conspiracy theories guys. There was no room for him. Imam was doing well, Zaman was persisted with and that gamble paid off slightly as he did find some form in the last two ODI's, yes the innings weren't exactly fluent but he got runs which is what is important.

He is a opener. Imam scored so he couldn’t be dropped and Fakhar is our only player who can take the attack to the opposition so he couldn’t be dropped. I would like to see him get a chance though.

No idea why they couldnt give him 2-3 games

We are going into the world cup with hardly any batting bench strength

The managememt is too weak and short sighted and the players are just too insecure It all stems from the captain who before this ban hardly missed any games in any format over the last 3 years or so

A waste of a series

No idea why they couldnt give him 2-3 games

We are going into the world cup with hardly any batting bench strength

The managememt is too weak and short sighted and the players are just too insecure It all stems from the captain who before this ban hardly missed any games in any format over the last 3 years or so

A waste of a series
Agreed. I guess everyone in the think tank is insecure, may it be the captain, coach, selector or board chairman.

Sad days for our cricket really.

Nothing to do with favourites he would fill that qouta very quickly with his connections. He had 1 good series the tests in sa. Before that in odis and test he was horrible which at the time confirmed allegations regarding his route to selection. He has had a good series againt sa but that doesnt buy you a ticket to the world cup. Harris babar imam malik imad and fakhar have been performing well

Is he included in T20 squad?

Imam played well, so they did not want to disturb the openers who are just doing fine.

You can ignore a player, when he has completely established himself or is not doing good at all. Both of these, Imam and Fakhar are work in development.

Can Babar bat at 4? Then we might have Shan at 3. He is a specialist opener, accustomed to his role, playing him in the middle when he is making a come back , could prove a bad decision. For a lot of players, batting position matters a lot. As an opener , you are used to power play, a hard ball which comes to the bat very well and no spin.

Nothing to do with favourites he would fill that qouta very quickly with his connections. He had 1 good series the tests in sa. Before that in odis and test he was horrible which at the time confirmed allegations regarding his route to selection. He has had a good series againt sa but that doesnt buy you a ticket to the world cup. Harris babar imam malik imad and fakhar have been performing well

I don't think he has played ODI ever. His List A stats (57/83) are a bit better than Imam's stats at debut (32/72) though......

Only reason, he wasn't picked here is that PCT Management doesn't want a cat among pigeon - 5 spots are LOCKED for WC - Imam, Fakhar, Babar, Hafeez, Malik; unless there is an injury crisis, PCB won't allow any player to enter the ring and perform. What Shan did in past has nothing to do with his Test series performance, and if that batting display doesn't give any clue to selectors, then you can put PCB's kitchen boy as CS, and he'll do a damn good job.

Forget about performance by PAK openers - SAF is trying 3-4 new faces and they have got couple of batsmen in Reeza & Dussen; next AUS and I am sure they'll try few as well, while IND is trying a 19 years old kid 4 months before WC - had he not been banned, Sarfraz would have played every game till WC Finals and same goes for the top 5.

Had Imam failed in the odis you’d see Shan by the 3rd game. Hafeez imo needs to make way but apparently professor has been reborn according to some.

Well they can't drop the seniors and they dont want to drop Fakhar because they can't risk denting the confidence of an impact player.
His only chance was Imam failing the first 2,3 matches but Imam played well and so he had to warm the bench.

But considering he has improved,has a List A average of over 50 and was our highest run scorer in the test series it would have been great to test him out but i guess not to be.

I would love to see him play before the worldcup so that we can test him out before the worldcup but i dont see it happening:/

He should've definitely played, at least in the last 2 ODIs.

I would like to know those great performances please

Shan Masood will be a good ODI opener

He has shown that once he gets settled in, and he can accelerate at will by playing proper shots. He will be an upgrade over Fakhar Zaman and his List A stats are impressive

The problem with him is his high dot ball percentage. It will always put his team under pressure. Especially during the batting powerplay.

Agree.

Best Domestic List A Opener (Pakistan) of Last 3-4 years.

Last Odi performance 50 (54) vs Australia chasing 320 +

Deserves Odi Recall.

2 good innings after 2 poor ones, PSL not even half gone and our awam wants him in the team. :))

Unlike the newbies . He has preformed in List A for 3 to 4 years, scored 150+ against England lions. He has been decent in test since his cameback

Oh please. Better to try Zeeshan Ashraf or Haider Ali. Shan should only player Test cricket for now.

Inzamam-ul-Haq speaking to the press:

Q: Whose input was taken for the selection and was Shan Masood considered?

IuH: In the selection meeting, we just require the captain and coach. When it comes to Shan Masood, we had considered him. He was in the 25 names sent to ICC a month earlier. He is great player, but we could not fit him in the 15. While Fakhar has been a bit out of form, he has performed well for Pakistan for the past few years. He is a game-changer. Abdullah Shafique has performed too. The competition is healthy as it raises the standard of performance. All players, whether selected for the World Cup squad or not, are great options.

There are better batsmen than him who are playing ODI cricket for Pakistan at the moment. If Imam fails then he can make a comeback in his place.

Shan Masood scored 91 runs for the Stallions during the practice game against the Lions ahead of the champions Obe-Day cup.

Due to think he is a domestic bully???

Stats wise sure, that 53 List A average is a mystery to me, but even with KK he was crap in PSL and local players were getting rid of him.
I am not voting for his inclusion in any format. Just mentioned his score because all of a sudden he will start scoring runs in domestic games and when the real test comes, he fails like a sitting duck waiting to be shot.

That is the answer to the topic of this thread.

I am not voting for his inclusion in any format. Just mentioned his score because all of a sudden he will start scoring runs in domestic games and when the real test comes, he fails like a sitting duck waiting to be shot.

That is the answer to the topic of this thread.
How did he make those 91 runs? Because Shan is okay against medium pacers and waist high deliveries.

Anything over 140KPH or as soon as spin comes into play, he's a sitting duck.

Who were the bowlers in the warmup?

Why isn’t Shan Masood our all format white ball opener @gazza619
I suggested Shan in ODIs in Jan 2019 when I saw nothing but crap from Imam & Hafeez in 2018. Obviously things change.

But I suggest you share your logic of Asif Ali as captain.

I suggested Shan in ODIs in Jan 2019 when I saw nothing but crap from Imam & Hafeez in 2018. Obviously things change.

But I suggest you share your logic of Asif Ali as captain.
He also made the asif Ali claim long ago? If things change for you, why can't it change for others like @Rana ?

No one is perfect, I was advocating for Abdullah a year ago and now I hate his guts? Things change for everyone, not just you

He also made the asif Ali claim long ago? If things change for you, why can't it change for others like @Rana ?

No one is perfect, I was advocating for Abdullah a year ago and now I hate his guts? Things change for everyone, not just you
Bruv I still stick to my claim

Asif Ali as T20 captain any day over Bobsy the King

Bruv I still stick to my claim

Asif Ali as T20 captain any day over Bobsy the King
Is asif playing in this tournament? I haven't seen him, I'd rather him him atm, Imam is boring me, I'm 10 seconds away from shutting of the tv and falling asleep

ODi is currently the most neglected format in Pakistan. The only time PCB pays attention to ODI cricket is when an ODi World Cup, Asia cup or a Champions trophy is approaching. Otherwise it is always T20s or tests. PCB focus is 70% on T20s & 25% on Tests 5% on Odi s . Now Shan does not have a high strike rate in T20s and he is not a middle order batsman (where most of the openings are). However Shan has done his chances in ODi squad no favors by averaging 18 in the 9 Odis he played.
Shan has a good List A average and logically if there was 1 format where Shan could have succeeded it was the Odis. But unfortunately Pak Fans have an obsession with six hitting. And we have wasted so many opportunities& lost matches due incompetent hacks like Asif Ali, Khushdil and Chacha. Shan can replace Chacha Iftikhar in the Odi squad (that's how bad Ifti is).