Will a 3-2 loss to New Zealand in the T20I series indicate progress for the Pakistan side?

BouncerGuy

Pakistan is currently 3-1 down in the five-match T20I series against New Zealand, with a young and inexperienced side taking the field. If they manage to win the final match and end the series 3-2, would that still be considered progress for this developing team?

On one hand, losing a series is never ideal, but given the absence of senior players like Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan and Naseem Shah, etc, the youngsters have shown flashes of promise. Players like Hassan Nawaz, Mohammad Haris, and Abdul Samad have had their moments.

Would a 3-2 result signal that Pakistan’s bench strength is improving? Or should fans expect more, even from a second-string side? What are the key takeaways so far, and does this series bode well for Pakistan’s T20 future?

Real test will come at home. Against Bangladesh.

You can’t compete, you have to absolutely annihilate them on your tracks like India did. No excuses of swing, seam and bounce.

250 scores in ultra aggressive mode.
Agreed... whether it is 3-2 or 4-1, it makes no real difference atm...

Produce roads

Bat first, 250

Bowl first, chase score in 15-16 overs like you did. Unless it’s like 260 and you stretch it to the 19th over

Even if we had lost 5-0 the squad selected shows that the nexus is coming to an end. The fans are sick of it and want to see 21st century cricket rather than a team built on a cult of the two least charismatic and mediocre cricketers to represent our great country

The next step is too eliminate the remaining members of the nexus. Shadab and Shaheen must go and be replaced by cricketers with the same mentality as those representing us right now. My suggestions would be Danish A, Mir Hamza and Aarif Yaqoob but their are other promising options

Even if we had lost 5-0 the squad selected shows that the nexus is coming to an end. The fans are sick of it and want to see 21st century cricket rather than a team built on a cult of the two least charismatic and mediocre cricketers to represent our great country

The next step is too eliminate the remaining members of the nexus. Shadab and Shaheen must go and be replaced by cricketers with the same mentality as those representing us right now. My suggestions would be Danish A, Mir Hamza and Aarif Yaqoob but their are other promising options
Top cricketers ✅

Real test will come at home. Against Bangladesh.

You can’t compete, you have to absolutely annihilate them on your tracks like India did. No excuses of swing, seam and bounce.

250 scores in ultra aggressive mode.
Rizbar will be back for that series after the PSL :kp

I recon Arafat Minhas for Shadab and Akif Javed for Shaheen

Well I think a 4-1 loss will put Rizbar back in business as the saviors of pak t20 cricket and it will be back to square one for pak cricket

And if they come off good there, the social media driven fury to get Rizbar back to "save" pak t20 cricket will get suffocating.
Dekh lain ghe

I’m sure Aqib and Co were ready for this uproar. They hopefully won’t be fooled into bringing those two guaranteed losers back.

Progress in bilaterals isn't measured in wins losses anymore. The objective is to find players and ultimately by the time a world cup comes it's to have a set XI with players who have confidence and play with intent. Once you have a settled XI you only need 1-2 to have a good day and you can win a match.

Have me made progress in this regard? Well the answer is no not yet but early signs are looking encouraging.

This will be a long process. It's important not to get disheartened quickly. However after a few losses where players are playing in alien conditions our fans quickly write them off as tullas.

Eid for you? Because you like crap cricket?
Yes I'm watching crap cricket in current NZ vs Pakistan series where brainless Tullebaaz ar playing for pakistan.

Babar Will be back so is Rizwan to save the Pakistan cricket .

Pakistan never loses a game. Remember what Rizwan said - "Yah to win hai, ya Learn hai". So losing a cricket match is not in PCT dictionary.

:najam

Yes I'm watching crap cricket in current NZ vs Pakistan series where brainless Tullebaaz ar playing for pakistan.

Babar Will be back so is Rizwan to save the Pakistan cricket .

Babar and Rizwan will be back to save Pakistan like they did against USA?

Fakhar
Saim
Sahibzada
Nafay
Haider
Faiq
Shahzib

All before Rizwan or Babar as openers.

Dekh lain ghe

I’m sure Aqib and Co were ready for this uproar. They hopefully won’t be fooled into bringing those two guaranteed losers back.
Personally speaking, Rizbar should never be back for pak T20 cricket. Give these youngsters a chance, Give them time. If they have good attitude, good work ethic etc they will swim, if not they will sink. Let them figure it out

Babar and Rizwan will be back to save Pakistan like they did against USA?
Every team had lost the game against minnows.at some point .

India has lost the match against Bangladesh, Zimbabwe etc

Same for South Africa, australia NZ etc .

Problems is not Pakistani batsman but Bowling .Pakistan fans are/ were hyped pakistan bowling as always but they are the biggest problem for PCT .
You favourite Aamir bottled the match against USA by conceded 17 runs in super over and Rauf didn't even defend 13 runs in 3 balls.

Every team had lost the game against minnows.at some point
Not predictably as they did

The USA defeat was on the cards. It wasn’t an anomaly. You don’t understand Pakistan cricket nor it’s issues. Those two dragged Pakistan down to the point where it was bound to happen!

Winning against Canada and Ireland in that World Cup was the upsets for Pakistan with their set up!

Pakistan never loses a game. Remember what Rizwan said - "Yah to win hai, ya Learn hai". So losing a cricket match is not in PCT dictionary.

:najam
It's a brilliant philosophy and it's exactly how t20 cricket should be played. However Rizwan and Babar eventually acted like "learn" was for others and they could do their own thing and claim it's for the benefit of the team. It's a shame as Babar could have been a great batter for Pakistan.

Pakistan is currently 3-1 down in the five-match T20I series against New Zealand, with a young and inexperienced side taking the field. If they manage to win the final match and end the series 3-2, would that still be considered progress for this developing team?

On one hand, losing a series is never ideal, but given the absence of senior players like Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan and Naseem Shah, etc, the youngsters have shown flashes of promise. Players like Hassan Nawaz, Mohammad Haris, and Abdul Samad have had their moments.

Would a 3-2 result signal that Pakistan’s bench strength is improving? Or should fans expect more, even from a second-string side? What are the key takeaways so far, and does this series bode well for Pakistan’s T20 future?
Why is bouncer bhai trolling Pakistan cricket? 🫠
It was random selection based on lucky draw playing against a NZ B team in grounds that are actually rugby stadiums.
On top of it all its T20 series, what can anyone learn from such a scenario is beyond me. Whether the result is 5-0, 4-1, or 0-5. No useful data could ever be extracted from this series.

IMO, win or loss makes not an iota of difference.

I think this series has already established that Pakistan has to give time to the new approach and new players. Who the new players are is less important than the new approach.

Why is some Random local coach being quoted here as if he is Jallaludin Rumi of world cricket?

Win or Lost, not the Rizwan mantra Win or learn which you are propagating, if we lose a game there is no progress
??

So if Pakistan lose with Rizwan in the side, it’s a learn

And if they lose without him, it’s a loss?

What are you trying to say? Maybe quote Jallaludin to explain yourself.

??

So if Pakistan lose with Rizwan in the side, it’s a learn

And if they lose without him, it’s a loss?

What are you trying to say? Maybe quote Jallaludin to explain yourself.

i'm saying just like Rizwan you are wrong, that team is losing but there is progress.

There is no progress until you keep on losing

Let me try to make sense of the progress one attains from winning pointless bilaterals away from home…

-Kamran Ghulam shifted from main position to bat at 6, scoring 60 off 30 given his role as a power hitter…..only to be discarded throughout the home tournament and then dropped all together after it. PROGRESS MASHALLAH

-Imam ul Haq dropped from the ODI set up because the team needed to head the direction of a modern approach in the batting powerplay, which Imam wasn’t fulfilling. Only to return back into the team during the CT, and scores 10 off 30. PROGRESS MASHALLAH

-Captain Rizwan sab expecting his team to score at 100+ sr whilst he himself is casually allowed to bat at a sr of 50 for his first 50 balls at the crease, only to then fall pathetically short when it mattered against India, because slogging didn’t come off this time. PROGRESS MASHALLAH

-Saud Shaqeel not in your plans post 2023 wc. Suddenly gets called up in the CT. Played a good innings against India your arch nemesis. Gets dropped after the series. PROGRESS MASHALLAH

Let me try to make sense of the progress one attains from winning pointless bilaterals away from home…

-Kamran Ghulam shifted from main position to bat at 6, scoring 60 off 30 given his role as a power hitter…..only to be discarded throughout the home tournament and then dropped all together after it. PROGRESS MASHALLAH

-Imam ul Haq dropped from the ODI set up because the team needed to head the direction of a modern approach in the batting powerplay, which Imam wasn’t fulfilling. Only to return back into the team during the CT, and scores 10 off 30. PROGRESS MASHALLAH

-Captain Rizwan sab expecting his team to score at 100+ sr whilst he himself is casually allowed to bat at a sr of 50 for his first 50 balls at the crease, only to then fall pathetically short when it mattered against India, because slogging didn’t come off this time. PROGRESS MASHALLAH

Saud Shakeel played an excellent knock against India but got dropped

The most confusing one when trying to make sense of it,

-Abdullah Shafique carried throughout your Australia, Zimbabwe and South Africa tours. Dropped for CT. Pakistan desperate for openers as Saim and Fakhar are both out, but still not recalled during the tournament. Called up straight after for the NZ series. CONFUSED PROGRESS

Bilateral results do matter. The excuses of building a squad etc. are only used by fans to comfort themselves.

Same fans were celebrating all those T20 series victories that Pakistan had in the 2016-2018 era and the #1 ranking etc.

Pakistan have been a pathetic T20 side from 2022 World T20 final onwards and the rankings show that .

You can't keep losing series after series while "experimenting " and go to an ICC event.

These bilateral losers will also lose in ICC events.

Pakistan has played in NZ the most T20s in the last 10 years.

21 T20 internationals
Currently W/L ratio is 0.62 in the last 10 years
Before this series W/L ratio was 0.7 in the last 10 years
if Pakistan finishes with 2-3 W/L ratio will be 0.69 . Essentially the same status which is not a bad result.

Screenshot-2025-03-25-072648.jpg

Pakistan has played in NZ the most T20s in the last 10 years.

21 T20 internationals
Currently W/L ratio is 0.62 in the last 10 years
Before this series W/L ratio was 0.7 in the last 10 years
if Pakistan finishes with 2-3 W/L ratio will be 0.69 . Essentially the same status which is not a bad result.

Screenshot-2025-03-25-072648.jpg
But bro it’s ‘progress’ if we lose with Babar and Rizwan playing, because there is a natural element of ‘learning’ with those two in the team.

Pakistan would be trailing 0-4 or 1-3 in all likelihood had those 2 played based on past records. Babars Strike rate 133, Rizwan's strike rate 124 in NZ in the last 10 years.

But but but they were learning? Only to then apply that learning experience against USA @Kianig89

It’s you who brought up the importance of ‘progress’ here. Now you are cowering away because your dhoti is in a twist?

I'm exposing your rubbish claims, Pakistan are losing badly , the piano which you play of 22/2 , here we are against 3rd string NZ side , 14/4 , 42/5 and then 43/7 .

Pakistan's heaviest defeat in T20 , couple of player selected could not hold hold bat properly and you are claiming of progress.

I'm exposing your rubbish claims, Pakistan are losing badly , the piano which you play of 22/2 , here we are against 3rd string NZ side , 14/4 , 42/5 and then 43/7 .

Pakistan's heaviest defeat in T20 , couple of player selected could not hold hold bat properly and you are claiming of progress.
Your exposing my rubbish claim how? With what premise? The USA match? The whitewashes against Australia and South Africa?

The progress which you are claiming, I'm of the view the progress only shows if you win , there is no progress in losing , contrary to your claims of progress in losing

Danish and Mir Hamza ? Ofc nothing to with them being from Karachi. :afridi

My response might not be the most welcomed one on here. However its not the number of defeats that matter, what matters is the manner of defeat. The manner in which Pakistan has lost the T20Is is shameful to say at the very least.

1. Lost by 9 wickets, 59 balls remaining
2. Lost by 5 wickets, 11 balls remaining (15 overs game)
3. Won by 9 wickets, 24 balls remaining
4. Lost by 115 runs

The manner in which we have lost has been appalling at the very least. Another thing to note in here is that this is a very depleted NZ team without likes of Santner, Henry, Philips, Rachin or Feguson. On the flip side many posters on here actually believed this is a better Pakistan side to what we had fielded previously. Therefore with a better side against a depleted side we got our backside handed to us.

I totally disagree with OP that the likes of Hasan Nawaz, Haris or Abdul Samad were positives. We as posters need to be honest in our assessments on matters.

While Nawaz scored a winning century his technique has a lot to be desired. The poor lad does not even have a defence which is a bare minimum requirement for a batsman. Haris has to be one of the most annoying player currently in our setup. It seems like the guy does not take development seriously, whilst he got the shots he is mentally equivalent of a 13 year old you'd find in local parks. The guy will be lost if he continues on this route even for next 6 months or a year. Abdul Samad can have some potential but he needs to grab the opportunity rather than hope it falls for him. At the moment his glimpses only comes about when the game is lost, will be good if he can show glimpses when the game is in the balance.

My response might not be the most welcomed one on here. However its not the number of defeats that matter, what matters is the manner of defeat. The manner in which Pakistan has lost the T20Is is shameful to say at the very least.

1. Lost by 9 wickets, 59 balls remaining
2. Lost by 5 wickets, 11 balls remaining (15 overs game)
3. Won by 9 wickets, 24 balls remaining
4. Lost by 115 runs

The manner in which we have lost has been appalling at the very least. Another thing to note in here is that this is a very depleted NZ team without likes of Santner, Henry, Philips, Rachin or Feguson. On the flip side many posters on here actually believed this is a better Pakistan side to what we had fielded previously. Therefore with a better side against a depleted side we got our backside handed to us.

I totally disagree with OP that the likes of Hasan Nawaz, Haris or Abdul Samad were positives. We as posters need to be honest in our assessments on matters.

While Nawaz scored a winning century his technique has a lot to be desired. The poor lad does not even have a defence which is a bare minimum requirement for a batsman. Haris has to be one of the most annoying player currently in our setup. It seems like the guy does not take development seriously, whilst he got the shots he is mentally equivalent of a 13 year old you'd find in local parks. The guy will be lost if he continues on this route even for next 6 months or a year. Abdul Samad can have some potential but he needs to grab the opportunity rather than hope it falls for him. At the moment his glimpses only comes about when the game is lost, will be good if he can show glimpses when the game is in the balance.

Losing to USA in a super over isn’t a respectable manner of defeat.

Some progress was made the moment the squad was announced. Now it's a matter of letting the progress slowly marinate into cooked meat. I just hope PCB aren't dumb this time. They need to persist with this group of players and a few others in the circle such as Fakhar and Saim and find better alternatives for people like Jahandad I just don't see that fire in him

I still think Haris does not belong in the top order. Might make a thread about it one day. Just giving him some time to prove himself again as an opener and in my opinion it isn't going that well. If I was captain he would always be my finisher.

Bilateral results do matter. The excuses of building a squad etc. are only used by fans to comfort themselves.

Same fans were celebrating all those T20 series victories that Pakistan had in the 2016-2018 era and the #1 ranking etc.

Pakistan have been a pathetic T20 side from 2022 World T20 final onwards and the rankings show that .

You can't keep losing series after series while "experimenting " and go to an ICC event.

These bilateral losers will also lose in ICC events.
I agree with you. But some fans forget that Pakistan had struggled in bilateral t20s, with RizBar in the team, dropping to 7th in the rankings and failing to make it to the Super 8 in the T20 World Cup. Pakistan has to take steps to ensure they don't end up falling way behind in developing the right brand of cricket. They need promote players who play with the right intent, and then refine the squad to assemble the best possible squad.

By selecting these players, Pakistan MAY temporarily experience a slight drop in rankings (in worst case scenario). However, once they have developed a culture that suits the modern game, they will be well positioned to become a competitive side. Failing to take decisive action now could lead to a situation from which it may be difficult for Pakistan cricket to recover.

A series loss will count as series loss. 4-1 or 3-2.
Hoping for some series and tournament victories in our new era ✌️

Why worry about bilaterals? A bunch of posters have consistently downplayed bilaterals so how does it matter if they win or lose?
Bring back Babar and Rizwan especially against India 😊, you need that stability in the middle. 22/2 looks so much better than 43/7!!

When you're taking a relatively new untested squad to what could be described as alien for them, you need to give the benefit of the doubt that the struggle will be real.

New debutants as well as returning players have struggled in New Zealand but regardless of the series, the most important takeaway is the template of which this Pakistan team is trying to play.

Aggressive cricket from ball one, looking to strike & maintain high strike rates & being proactive than defensive.

The real test is for Pakistan is, dismantling the dosti yaari culture. These new players need time & patience as well as the right environment to thrive.

Modern white ball cricket is evolution not RizBar.

The most confusing one when trying to make sense of it,

-Abdullah Shafique carried throughout your Australia, Zimbabwe and South Africa tours. Dropped for CT. Pakistan desperate for openers as Saim and Fakhar are both out, but still not recalled during the tournament. Called up straight after for the NZ series. CONFUSED PROGRESS
It's cause PCB never takes risks and are too afraid to. Theirs also the nepotism factor.

Let's look at all opening selections in the past.

1) Fakhar Zaman: He was never in PCB's plans, And was simply a backup opener as their wasn't any other backup at the time. Sarfaraz forced Mickey to select him and diacard Shehzad for good, otherwise they played it safe by choosing shehzad as he had been opening since 2013.

2) Azhar Ali: I like him but he's nepotisitc since he wasn't even in odi plans but misbah pushed him.

3) Imam ul Haq: Again a nepotisitc selection and was re selected in CT based of the nption that he had been opening for Pakistan since 2018.

4) Abdullah Shafique: Another nepotisitc selection fast tracked by Babar, and once again selected since pcb believes he's an experienced opener who's been opening since 2023.

5) Saim ayub: Was only selected as a backup similar to fakhar. He was selected because ba/riz got major flack in t20 at the time and were rested for the Afghanistan series.

After that due to major flack he was selected as a t20 opener but was set up to fail. He was selected in tests only due to Imam leaking dressing room secrets and shan not trusting him any more to open.

Finally he was dropped but Aqib javed decided to give him one last go at opening due to fakhar's shadow ban.

Saim ayub got extremely lucky, almost as if Allah was protecting him, which is utterly hilarious as to how someone like saim ayub needs to get lucky but Imam ul haq doesn't need to rely on luck at all 🤣🤣.

Same is the case with Babar, saud, rizwan etc.

While you can't scrap an entire team for newbies, you defo need to innovate and pcb doesn't do so.