World T20 2007 and World Cup 2011 were the biggest flukes EVER

Railu Katta

Tape Ball Star
Two of India's tournament wins have been the biggest flukes EVER.

They only won the 2007 world cup because they hit one extra six and then Misbah had to make up for it all in the end and jogi sharma overcame Misbah. If Australia had batted well and not gifted wickets to the fixer sreesanth they wouldn't even qualify for the final and would lose. Their other victories in the group matches are questionable because the other teams were off colour and the pitches were very Indian.

2011 world cup was held in india so they purposely chose the final to be in india and then they selected the groups in such a way where they ended up facing SL. In the final dhoni and yuvraj could have been lbw if they had missed some of the deliveries aimed at their pads or they might have even been caught if the field placement was done well. Clearly you can tell that the victory was a fluke. SL also bottled in the end because they have traditionally beaten team hindustan in big matches. Hence another reason why it was a fluke.

Please discuss [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=5665]shokz[/MENTION] [MENTION=144456]bujhee kom[/MENTION] :yk3

I agree but some of ur reasoning is weird.
You could have mentioned the 6 drops and thay LBW in the semi, that is some luck!!

Plus India toured England after the 2011 WC and got comprehensively defeated thus proving without a shadow of a doubt that the WC win was a fluke.

The only team in the history of cricket to be whitewashed twice as a number 1 team (2nd whitewash coming in a week :sree)

Hope OP's burn has subsided by a few degrees now.

Nothing conclusive came out that established Sreesanth was a fixer. BCCI banned him anyhow like they declared Pragyan Ojha a chucker.

Regarding the 2011 WC, I would like to know how the OP established that BCCI knew how to manipulate the schedule so that SL reached the final.

Nothing conclusive came out that established Sreesanth was a fixer. BCCI banned him anyhow like they declared Pragyan Ojha a chucker.

Regarding the 2011 WC, I would like to know how the OP established that BCCI knew how to manipulate the schedule so that SL reached the final.
Chill bro. This is a troll thread and op is joking. People nowadays just can’t get sarcasm.

Troll thread aimed at a few of your countrymen and pseudo-Pakistanis (not necessarily you).

Good one OP.

Two of India's tournament wins have been the biggest flukes EVER.

They only won the 2007 world cup because they hit one extra six and then Misbah had to make up for it all in the end and jogi sharma overcame Misbah. If Australia had batted well and not gifted wickets to the fixer sreesanth they wouldn't even qualify for the final and would lose. Their other victories in the group matches are questionable because the other teams were off colour and the pitches were very Indian.

2011 world cup was held in india so they purposely chose the final to be in india and then they selected the groups in such a way where they ended up facing SL. In the final dhoni and yuvraj could have been lbw if they had missed some of the deliveries aimed at their pads or they might have even been caught if the field placement was done well. Clearly you can tell that the victory was a fluke. SL also bottled in the end because they have traditionally beaten team hindustan in big matches. Hence another reason why it was a fluke.

Please discuss [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=5665]shokz[/MENTION] [MENTION=144456]bujhee kom[/MENTION] :yk3

u r being sarcastic here i know but the tendulkar 6 drop catches was the reason you guys won the world cup otherwise target would hv been under 200 n pak would hv chased that down with comfort..

Trust me we would have made halwa of 200 as well just like we couldn’t chase down 160 odd in Aane Do series. It was a golden opportunity to whitewash Hindustan.

Yeah ,fluke lol.With an ODI batting line up of tendulkar,sehwag,gambhir,kohli,yuvraj,dhoni and raina in subcontinent conditions.

Chill bro. This is a troll thread and op is joking. People nowadays just can’t get sarcasm.

Troll thread aimed at a few of your countrymen and pseudo-Pakistanis (not necessarily you).

Good one OP.

Thank you but it's not a troll thread. It is a fact that if SL fielders were standing in places the ball was flying towards, they would have caught dhoni and yuvraj and they would be out. It's all down to the fluke shots that hindustan won the world cup.

u r being sarcastic here i know but the tendulkar 6 drop catches was the reason you guys won the world cup otherwise target would hv been under 200 n pak would hv chased that down with comfort..

very weird reasoning,nothing like fluke happens in world tournament.

Yeah ,fluke lol.With an ODI batting line up of tendulkar,sehwag,gambhir,kohli,yuvraj,dhoni and raina in subcontinent conditions.

If SL got some lbw decisions or if yk didn't bat like a buffoon hindustan would not be champion. The entire tournament was won by consecutive flukes by hindustan. We all know what happened when hindustan played in 2009 world T20 and when they went overseas after winning the world cup 2011. It's quite clear that they were fluke victories and the overseas tours exposed them as such.

Thank you but it's not a troll thread. It is a fact that if SL fielders were standing in places the ball was flying towards, they would have caught dhoni and yuvraj and they would be out. It's all down to the fluke shots that hindustan won the world cup.

If SL got some lbw decisions or if yk didn't bat like a buffoon hindustan would not be champion. The entire tournament was won by consecutive flukes by hindustan. We all know what happened when hindustan played in 2009 world T20 and when they went overseas after winning the world cup 2011. It's quite clear that they were fluke victories and the overseas tours exposed them as such.

Yes Misbah would have been not out if srisanth was not standing thee.it was a fluke that he was fielding there.Misbah played a scoop and the bowler bowled slower one.

Exactly! If Misbah decided to hit straight, it would be a six for sure.

Every team needs to luck but the trick is to take advantage when it comes your way.

NO according to him and [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] major tounaments can be won as a fluke.But i am still waiting this fulke happens for bangladesh,Afghanistan and ireland.

I don't know about mamoon's opinion but I think you can win 4-5 games with a fluke and etch your name in history [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION]. what's your opinion chadda saab?

What are you saying Bhai?

Only Pakistan can “fluke” a tournament. The rest are all deserved winners as they are “quality sides” who would beat us 7 times if we played them 10 times.

Or even SA, Eng or NZ

What are you saying Bhai?

Only Pakistan can “fluke” a tournament. The rest are all deserved winners as they are “quality sides” who would beat us 7 times if we played them 10 times.

So we cant win it but as according to [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] this never happened to NZ,ENG AND SA.

tournaments cant be won by fluke.. u need to put consistent effort throughout in order to win a tournament.. actually our bowling was in red hot form that covered our poor batting and helped us won the CT.. but we gotta give credit to pakistan we surely played well and deserved to win CT based on our form at that time..

So/HOW it is fluuke that our bowling did well nd suppported by our bats in consecutive 4 matches.

WT 2007 WC was no fluke. But India made the most of playing in their conditions in 2011

So/HOW it is fluuke that our bowling did well nd suppported by our bats in consecutive 4 matches.

SA choked
SL are SL
England got a slow pitch
Fluke spell from Amir, Amir got lucky that Kohli decided to place his bat in the right position for the catch to carry to Shadab.

Everything that could go well went well. The true Pakistan is the one that lost to India on June 4

WT 2007 WC was no fluke. But India made the most of playing in their conditions in 2011

indians were playing well in CWC11 but pakistan were favourites to win.. tendulkar 6 drop catches was the reason india won the cup..

SA choked
SL are SL
England got a slow pitch
Fluke spell from Amir, Amir got lucky that Kohli decided to place his bat in the right position for the catch to carry to Shadab.

Everything that could go well went well. The true Pakistan is the one that lost to India on June 4

yes everything was fluke,

thats what i said.. read the first line again..

SA choked
SL are SL
England got a slow pitch

babajee knows what he's talking about. If it wasn't for the rain Pakistan would have lost. If Hassan hadn't bowled so brilliantly throughout the tournament Pakistan wouldn't have won. SL dropped sarfi twice plus they batted like tailenders. England had an off-day and Pakistan bowling and batting just became better that day.

It was clearly a fluke and in the final hindustan deserved the victory because how dare Amir decide to show up in the final and take 3 wickets. The guy didn't do anything in the tournament but in the final he knocked over hindustan's top order. Before Amir, Fakhar had a dropped catch and that affected all of hinudstani team's morale. ashwin and jadeja couldn't concentrate on their bowling. pandya did his best but that haircut and those sixes yaaar what a soopershtar. bumrah is the best death bowler and the no ball made him lose his confidence and he started bowling filth.

It is important to know that despite hindustan's hapless bowling, Azhar ali of all people started treating the hindustanis like school boys. Even Hafeez became unstoppable which was a total fluke as well. So anyway back to the hindustan innings, after the top 3 soopershtars got out there was dhoni magic and yuvraj style left but shadab made yuvraj look like a tailender and then Imad made a fluke dive and caught dhoni because otherwise that ball was clearly going over the ropes and into the crowd but somehow Imad caught it. Then if jadeja hadn't run out pandya he would have scored 200 from 52 balls and won the game and set a record.

babajee knows what he's talking about. If it wasn't for the rain Pakistan would have lost. If Hassan hadn't bowled so brilliantly throughout the tournament Pakistan wouldn't have won. SL dropped sarfi twice plus they batted like tailenders. England had an off-day and Pakistan bowling and batting just became better that day.

It was clearly a fluke and in the final hindustan deserved the victory because how dare Amir decide to show up in the final and take 3 wickets. The guy didn't do anything in the tournament but in the final he knocked over hindustan's top order. Before Amir, Fakhar had a dropped catch and that affected all of hinudstani team's morale. ashwin and jadeja couldn't concentrate on their bowling. pandya did his best but that haircut and those sixes yaaar what a soopershtar. bumrah is the best death bowler and the no ball made him lose his confidence and he started bowling filth.

It is important to know that despite hindustan's hapless bowling, Azhar ali of all people started treating the hindustanis like school boys. Even Hafeez became unstoppable which was a total fluke as well. So anyway back to the hindustan innings, after the top 3 soopershtars got out there was dhoni magic and yuvraj style left but shadab made yuvraj look like a tailender and then Imad made a fluke dive and caught dhoni because otherwise that ball was clearly going over the ropes and into the crowd but somehow Imad caught it. Then if jadeja hadn't run out pandya he would have scored 200 from 52 balls and won the game and set a record.

oh yeah! so that was a fluke clearly for sure.. haha! sometimes its annoying that some posters here talk about that so called "CT fluke" all the time and has no facts to back it up..

only fluke and luck that ever influnced and helped a team in a world tournament is kenya in 2003 CWC.. some teams refused to play them and they got points of walkover and a win over probably NZ or SRL helped them through to the semis..

luck do matter but luck cannot single handedly take a team to the tournament win..

I lot of the people are getting sucked in and taking this troll thread seriously... well done OP bhai in disguising it so neatly. :ashwin

The fact is this thread is to pull the leg of a certain segment of posters who cannot seem to get over the CT win and need to proclaim it's flukeness at every opportunity.

Champions trophy 2013 was also a fluke. If it was a 50 over final England would've destroyed India.

Thats rubbish. Many variables are involved, luck being one but ultimately you cant win without being good.

Railu, so I'm guessing you were the only one who just sat there with zero emotion when Sreesanth took the catch and Dhoni hit the six when they won? Because it was all a fluke? Right. Because the team has to absolutely obliterate its competition in every single game of a tournament to be considered a non-fluky win. India winning the WT20 in 07, as much as I hate to admit it, is one of the best success stories in their cricketing history as they were complete underdogs in that tournament (on paper, they weren't better than teams like Australia, South Africa, England, and even Pakistan), so for there them to win it is something awe inspiring. As for 2011 its a freaking WC! Does it really matter where its played as long as you win it? Especially for desi cricketers, winning the WC is the pinnacle of cricketing hopes and dreams.

Teams winning tournaments always has a degree of luck involved. I feel you should be at least be a little more appreciative of the tournaments that India had won as those victories had inspired generations of cricketers to play for India and for them to strive for similar success. You could literally nitpick matches/ moments in any team winning any tournament and say that they had won due to fluke-like moments.

I don't know about mamoon's opinion but I think you can win 4-5 games with a fluke and etch your name in history [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION]. what's your opinion chadda saab?
Agreed. Also came across a new opinion, Pakistan won because England, India and South Africa were under a lot of pressure. Apparently Pakistan slipped under the radar and won by beating three of the strongest by comfortable margins. Matlab kuch bhi.

Fact: You don't destroy a billion umeedein on one day by fluke.

I lot of the people are getting sucked in and taking this troll thread seriously... well done OP bhai in disguising it so neatly. :ashwin

The fact is this thread is to pull the leg of a certain segment of posters who cannot seem to get over the CT win and need to proclaim it's flukeness at every opportunity.

I wouldn't dare do that. These are my genuine beliefs :yk3

Railu, so I'm guessing you were the only one who just sat there with zero emotion when Sreesanth took the catch and Dhoni hit the six when they won? Because it was all a fluke? Right. Because the team has to absolutely obliterate its competition in every single game of a tournament to be considered a non-fluky win. India winning the WT20 in 07, as much as I hate to admit it, is one of the best success stories in their cricketing history as they were complete underdogs in that tournament (on paper, they weren't better than teams like Australia, South Africa, England, and even Pakistan), so for there them to win it is something awe inspiring. As for 2011 its a freaking WC! Does it really matter where its played as long as you win it? Especially for desi cricketers, winning the WC is the pinnacle of cricketing hopes and dreams.

Teams winning tournaments always has a degree of luck involved. I feel you should be at least be a little more appreciative of the tournaments that India had won as those victories had inspired generations of cricketers to play for India and for them to strive for similar success. You could literally nitpick matches/ moments in any team winning any tournament and say that they had won due to fluke-like moments.

Wow! That is something to ponder over. I never even thought of it this way. [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION] [MENTION=5665]shokz[/MENTION] [MENTION=144456]bujhee kom[/MENTION] [MENTION=143344]babajee[/MENTION]

So every team that won a tournament was a fluke? Nice.

It is ironic coming from someone belonging to nation that won World Cup due to rain.

Every world cup or any icc event pakistan won is due to rain, even imran helped by rain. So called best captain 😂😂Every world cup which pakistan won, pak enters as a underdog.

Every team needs to have a little bit of luck to win a major tournament and that is not called fluke. You still need to play and win the knockout games. Australia of 2003 and 2007 possibly were the only teams who did not need luck to win the world cup in the last 2 decades or so.

Pakistan had a chance to beat India, both time. BTW whatever you say 2007-11 Indian team was one of the best team in that time period. I know your team badly pounced by NZ and you need something to cheer, hope you get it (from creating this thread)

WC 11 is the most anti fluke thing ever. It was a copy of home bullying just like Australia in 2015.
About WT20 2007, T20 used to be quite nascent and nonserious back then.
Although I feel it is a sarcastic post.

This thread just reminds me of the great Navjot Singh Sidhus comment he said while commentating once "IF MY AUNTY HAD A MOUSTACHE, SHE'D BE MY UNCLE" "

New Zealand beating Pakistan continuously is fluke after fluke

How do we define a fluke? What is a fluke? If we say that a fluke win is when a team gets lucky and things go there way in a certain phase of the match and they go on to win the game, then it happens to all teams throughout sport. When a batsman edge's one to the slips, that's lucky for the fielding team and unlucky for the batting team. It's not like the bowler planned the exact line and length he will pitch the ball down to the nanometer and calculated the angle at which the ball is edged. Luck is prevalent throughout sport. It's what you do with the window of opportunity that luck offers you that counts. Cricket, like all other sports, isn't a perfect science. Cricketers will not be able to control alot of the variables, and that's fine.

Simple. If Pakistan wins a major tournament, its a fluke, otherwise not.

[MENTION=140491]Greenstorm[/MENTION] is correct. Pakistan never won anything without luck and rain. They have 2 asia cup and one by denied bangladesh batsman running by their bowler

It is ironic coming from someone belonging to nation that won World Cup due to rain.

This basically. The luckiest World Cup winners were Pakistan in 92. First rain allowed them to qualify ahead of Windies and then rain prevented Saffer s from making it to the final.

2007 World T20 was a fluke I guess in that it was the first of its kind and the BCCI were the last major cricketing board to accept the new format. We also sent newbies like Rohit Sharma and co. instead of the like s of Sachin who opted out of it and we were definitely not favourites or even considered to compete all that well. 2011 was well deserved though. You just can't fluke 3 knockout matches against OZ/PAK/SL in a World Cup. That was sone damn good cricket. Before someone says "But the conditions.....", India were the first team to win the World Cup at home, something England,Australia,PAK,RSA and WI had failed to do.

Actually some posters will have you believe you can fluke 4 knockout games in a row to win the CT. But only Pakistan can fluke it other countries usually do it by skill.

Anyway I'm disappointed NZ won another game by fluke. Pakistan was doing well until fakhar decided to get out. If Umar champion amin hadn't hit the ball in the air or if the fielder wasn't there, it was gonna go for a big six. Umar amin looked ready to hit six 6s but the NZ field placement was wrong and they ended up catching it by a fluke and then fluked a win. [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION].

Actually some posters will have you believe you can fluke 4 knockout games in a row to win the CT. But only Pakistan can fluke it other countries usually do it by skill.

Anyway I'm disappointed NZ won another game by fluke. Pakistan was doing well until fakhar decided to get out. If Umar champion amin hadn't hit the ball in the air or if the fielder wasn't there, it was gonna go for a big six. Umar amin looked ready to hit six 6s but the NZ field placement was wrong and they ended up catching it by a fluke and then fluked a win. [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=1650]Usman Chadda[/MENTION].

I don't think CT was a fluke. A bit fortunate but you have to acknowledge that Pakistan comprehensively best favourites like England and India when it mattered. They found the right combination and peaked at the right time. That was no fluke.

Within the next 14 responses this Theard will go to Page 2 :)) :))

Well done OP :14: :14:

On Topic: I think both were fluke and BCCI used their influence in handing Bharat those victories :srini

It's like saying, CT17 win was the biggest fluke ever. A win is a win, regardless off if it was by 1 wicket or 1 run.

Within the next 14 responses this Theard will go to Page 2 :)) :))

Well done OP :14: :14:

On Topic: I think both were fluke and BCCI used their influence in handing Bharat those victories :srini

Yes they were both flukes and NZ have been fluking these victories as well. They just get the pitches that are in good condition for NZ plus it's a fluke how they bowl so well and field even better. Our superstars Azhar and babar were timing the ball so good but the NZ fielders just happened to be at the right place at the right time. Talk about a fluke eh. What do you think [MENTION=131539]CricFan2012[/MENTION]

It's hillairious how the OP has riled up the Indian posters.

I am not trying to rile up anyone but the PP fluke expert is nowhere to be seen. I was inspired to start this discussion but it's hard to when the guru won't acknowledge :ashwin

Aus win over ind in 2003 and 2015 world cup were both flukes. Indian batsman just failed due to bad luck.
Oh and pak ind record
Ind-52
Flukes-73

The 92 world cup, 2009 T20 Cup and CT 2013 were the biggest flukes because PP experts have said so and hence it must be true :jf

^ Moreover, Pakistan fluked the bilateral win in SA in 2013 also thanks to the choke by the great Kallis, Amla, Duminy and Miller.

If one dropped catch had been caught and one caught catch had been dropped, Indian cricket would be dead by now and Pakistan would have two more trophies in the bank.

True. However “India don’t need luck to win as they are a quality side”

Wrong. Pakistan lost a point vs SA due to rain in the same tournament, and Pakistan were on course winning that game. So it balanced out.

At least paint the full picture.

Idk about 07' T20 WC but 11' WC was as big a fluke as I have ever seen. Tendulkar was unusually calm for a tailender and had it not been for PAK's fielding where they dropped him 5-6 times, IND would have crumbled under the intense pressure of facing an in-form SL.

You know the old adage, every tailender has his day. The fluke was just meant to be.