WORLD XI tour - Will it still happen after the Lahore blast?

UN talkz

First Class Star
Extremely gutted to hear this news....
Such a sad news. My prayers with the families of victims.
LAHORE: A suicide bomber killed at least 26 people, many of them police, in the eastern Pakistani city of Lahore on Monday, officials said, shattering a period of relative calm in Pakistan's second-largest city.
The blast wrought carnage near the Lahore Technology Park in the centre of the city, targeting police officials who were deployed to clear street vendors from the area, a police official said.
"The death toll has risen to 26 and over 49 others are wounded," said Khawaja Imran Nazir, the Health Minister of Punjab, told SAMAA.
Among the victims were six to seven policemen.
Bomb blasts by militants are common in Pakistan, especially in tribal areas bordering Afghanistan, but attacks in Lahore have become less frequent in recent years.
Haider Ashraf, deputy inspector general of Punjab police, said the blast was a suicide attack and "POLICY were the target".
No group has claimed responsibility for the attack but in the past such blasts have often been carried out by Pakistani Taliban militants.
Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan said the majority of those killed and wounded were police and warned the death toll could rise.
Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif condemned the blast in a statement and "directed for extending best possible medical treatment for the injured".
In early April, a suicide attack on an army census team killed at least six people and wounded 18 in Lahore. – SAMAA/REUTERS

https://www.samaa.tv/pakistan/2017/07/death-toll-in-lahore-blast-mounts-to-26/

Will the World XI tour still happen.....
I highly doubt it will happen....
and if it will, can we still expect some good players..

i hope these criminal acts stop ASAP and Pakistan is freed from all these brutal people.

Thoughts go out to all those affected. When will this madness stop?

Inna lillahi wa Inna ilaihi Raji'un.

I doubt the games will take place now.Or even if they do,the top players visit.

Hopefully one day, the XI tour is never gonna happen in Pakistan because the xi players will become a target for terrorists to attack. No one is gonna risk their life for a cricket game.

Thoughts go out to all those affected. When will this madness stop?

when each and everyone will stand against it keeping aside their political, religional,personal,regional views and other biases... When everybody will understand that these groups hav nothing to do with ISLAM, they r just tarnishing it's image.... when everybody will stand and say "If me but not my younger generation"
when we all will raise an unequivocal voice against it.

Hopefully one day, the XI tour is never gonna happen in Pakistan because the xi players will become a target for terrorists to attack. No one is gonna risk their life for a cricket game.

In a country were 20 crore people reside and almost 99% are against these criminals.... whats stopping govt to launch an all out attack and wipe these SHITS out....
i know abt ZARB E AZAB and Radd ul fasaad but this is still happening... and this excuse is ridiculous that the %age of attacks has reduced... This statement boils the blood in my body....
Look how many have been killed in QUETTA this year...
When they can make statements that their army is strongest and fearless, no disrespect or offence to army but then what's really stopping to wipe the terrorists out...

That World XI was a rubbish idea at first place. Few individuals coming in the name of an ICC/World team won't have helped PAK's cause even a bit. Every time, any Board decides to send their team, that call will be challenged by players' union or civil society of the country. Therefore, unless PAK's status as a high risk country changes, PCB will need countries like ZIM, leaders like me Mughabe & boards like ZCB to bribe them touring PAK.

This is an absolute waste of resource & effort for zero gain. World XI - my f00t, even a tour by Honk Kong would be more meaningful in this regard. PCB is run by political people, who are trying their best to show "improvement" before next election so that it can be sold to voters, hence that's an agenda on PCB's top executives & money is no issue for that. Instead of these rubbish, PCB should try to focus on arranging more PSL matches in PAK, preferably in more than 2 major cities, which will be much more meaningful & effective forward step in the right direction. If this world XI happens - won't be surprised to see a collection of PSL foreign recruits & some retired greats - Mac, Watto, Sanga, Mahela.. even Viv or Deano!!!!

when each and everyone will stand against it keeping aside their political, religional,personal,regional views and other biases... When everybody will understand that these groups hav nothing to do with ISLAM, they r just tarnishing it's image.... when everybody will stand and say "If me but not my younger generation"
when we all will raise an unequivocal voice against it.

It was a rhetorical question. In any case, here's hoping these attacks stop.

There were blasts in Lahore 2 weeks before the PSL final that still occured and the security was top notch. I think because they are scheduled for September which is still a while away it should still go on hopefully. London Bridge attack was during the CT and Ariana Grande Manchester attack a few weeks before the CT and the CT wasn't shifted

This is exactly the reason Pakistan needs to wait for a lot longer time before international cricket could return.

They could have been playing against Bangladesh right now had it not been for PCB's obsession with Bangladesh touring Pakistan else the tour won't happen. Stupid.

Heart goes out to the families of people who have lost their lives. May Almighty grant jannah to those killed.

This is exactly the reason Pakistan needs to wait for a lot longer time before international cricket could return.

They could have been playing against Bangladesh right now had it not been for PCB's obsession with Bangladesh touring Pakistan else the tour won't happen. Stupid.

Heart goes out to the families of people who have lost their lives. May Almighty grant jannah to those killed.

I agree, we really shouldn't have cancelled the Bangladesh tour, it was a petty reason as well. Fans are suffering as well as are both Bangladesh cricket team and Pakistan cricket team as this would have been a very competitive series in all formats as they are evenly matched if you consider Bangladesh would have home advantage. Only party this is benefitting is county teams and CPL teams, as Lancashire can keep JK, Essex can keep Amir, Sarfraz can play for Yorkshire and also there are many Pakistanis playing CPL

Still not safe enough and there is also great political instability as well. Can't have teams playing in Pak with a shadow hanging over the PM. Aur bhi gham hai duniya mein Cricket ke bina.

Poor thread in my opinion.

When two big incidents took place in England and in its main cities whole tournument CT 17 was carried on. Blasts outside English team hotel in India took place and they came back to play and many such instances.

Incidents happen all around the world and that doesnt stop any sporting events.

There is no reason for the games not being played as per schedule.

There were blasts in Lahore 2 weeks before the PSL final that still occured and the security was top notch. I think because they are scheduled for September which is still a while away it should still go on hopefully. London Bridge attack was during the CT and Ariana Grande Manchester attack a few weeks before the CT and the CT wasn't shifted

Totally agreed, if these events would have started to stop sporting events around the globe than no event will take place

Evertime Pakistan plans such tour and such blasts occur. Who is behind this?? What are militants going to achieve by canceling such tours.

So you are agreeing that these militants do these blast to ruin tours? Then why on earth you want anyone to visit Pak knowing that they are the target of your militants???

Totally agreed, if these events would have started to stop sporting events around the globe than no event will take place

Except the UK hasn't seen tens of thousands of its own civilians killed by terrorism in the last decade, has not seen a cricket team targeted by terrorism, has a superior police/intelligence apparatus and the terror attacks that do occur are rare instances.

Whereas sadly, terrorism has struck Pakistan's major cities time and again. There is no comparison.

Zimbabwe tour didn't change anything, no international team were willing to tour because the perception is still negative. Neither did the PSL final nor will this World XI series. It won't come from hosting one match where you hire 10,000 police and Rangers, blocking off all roads leading to the venue and having three layers of security checks.

The test of a nation's security is how safe the people are on a daily basis, not when the eyes of the world are watching and the authorities have no other choice but to show they're doing their jobs. It takes years to rebuild trust and confidence.

I may sound harsh but no sane person will go to Pakistan to risk their life for a sport.

International cricket should not return to Pakistan at least until there is no terrorist attack for an year.

When two big incidents took place in England and in its main cities whole tournument CT 17 was carried on. Blasts outside English team hotel in India took place and they came back to play and many such instances.

Whats poor in this thread......
they were similar threads during that time as well....
and in pakistan case it has been different.... i dont why and how but it always has been different than others....
In India, abt 250 people were killed in dreadful Mumbai blasts, but still within a month ENG team toured india...
Similarly after Dhaka blasts, ENG Team came to Bangladesh and now Australia will tour them...
Two blasts took place during CT17 but still it wasn't called off....
Why this doesn't happen in case of Pakistan and it's mystery for some and some hav different reasons to relate to it..... The biggest reason being that cricket team was directly attacked in Pak and it was tried second time during ZIMBABWE tour......

incase u don't know it.... Pcb has written twice to punjab govt. for security assurances and SK has personally met govt. officials... But no response has come so far frm the govt or authorities...

Except the UK hasn't seen tens of thousands of its own civilians killed by terrorism in the last decade, has not seen a cricket team targeted by terrorism, has a superior police/intelligence apparatus and the terror attacks that do occur are rare instances.

Whereas sadly, terrorism has struck Pakistan's major cities time and again. There is no comparison.

Zimbabwe tour didn't change anything, no international team were willing to tour because the perception is still negative. Neither did the PSL final nor will this World XI series. It won't come from hosting one match where you hire 10,000 police and Rangers, blocking off all roads leading to the venue and having three layers of security checks.

The test of a nation's security is how safe the people are on a daily basis, not when the eyes of the world are watching and the authorities have no other choice but to show they're doing their jobs. It takes years to rebuild trust and confidence.

i urge everyone to read the points u hav mentioned...

Can't have double standards. Nowhere is 100% safe.

Yeah but if I have to choose between Paris and Kabul then it's an easy choice.

Pakistan has still a lot of work left to do to earn back the confidence of foreign teams once again, which is certainly never going to happen till attacks such as the one today keep happening.

This was a horrible incident. Prayers for the dead, injured and families of those who got caught in the blast. I hope sincerely that things improve not only in Pakistan but all neighboring countries.

To my fellow Pakistan posters. Do you still think that BCB backstabbed PCB by not wanting to tour Pakistan? Should only BCB compensate, never get invited the UAE, PCB mess with BCB by cancelling a scheduled tour and denying NOCs to their own players for BPL.

PCB is fighting a battle it cannot win. It will take a long time for cricket to return to Pakistan. And a tour by Bangladesh will not affect the opinion about others.

Was the tour by Zimbabwe to Pakistan successful? Perhaps. But the level of security required was immense. It becomes counterproductive to prove to the world that Pakistan can host international by posting 500 commandoes.

There are two major flaws to it in the long run:
1) it's not cost effective.
2) Players will not constantly wish to be surrounded by security guards all the time. They can't bring family. They will be stuck in their hotel room.

Now you might ask me what's wrong with England tour to Bangladesh but it's not right for BCB to send their mens team to Pakistan.

1) the English team were committed to a tour. They need significant reason to back out. If it wasn't scheduled ECB wouldn't even bother sending a security official even.

2) Don't mean to be rude but the situation in BD and Pak is vastly different. We had casualties of around 40-50 due to terrorist activity. Atleast 1/100 of the casualty toll in Pakistan.

PCB needs to realize that cricket boards aren't stupid. You tell us that BCB are ungrateful but what justice will sending our players to Pakistan will do?

Will England Australia SA NZ WI India tour? Not for a long time. Will there be profit? No. PCB will lose millions to prove the world that they can host cricket matches if only they spend millions just for a series, oh and a few hundred commandoes.

If PCB is smart here they should have continued the tour to Bangladesh. BCB were actually planning to play PCB until PCB bailed out a few months back? PCB's arrogance has meant that both teams have missed out on a few series especially when both nations were idle. Bangladesh hardly plays much cricket home or away.

Forget the Pakistan bias if you were asked whether Dhaka was safer than London what would you say? (Fewer people have died in BD than in London if I am not wrong)

I would still say London is much safer. Why? Look at markhor's post.

Yeah but if I have to choose between Paris and Kabul then it's an easy choice.

Pakistan has still a lot of work left to do to earn back the confidence of foreign teams once again, which is certainly never going to happen till attacks such as the one today keep happening.

You wish. Cricket is coming back to Pakistan.

Maybe the BCB will send their team since the Aussies most likely wont be coming and both Pak and BD free...

To my fellow Pakistan posters. Do you still think that BCB backstabbed PCB by not wanting to tour Pakistan? Should only BCB compensate, never get invited the UAE, PCB mess with BCB by cancelling a scheduled tour and denying NOCs to their own players for BPL.

Ohh Please !! You will not be getting a series in U.A.E., get over it son. We only invite teams that we think will not cause us a financial roadblock and believe it or not, people in Pakistan still view Bangladesh as a proper minnow so to invite this type of an opponent would be counter productive for us.

I won't even comment on BPL since it's probably a more sham of a tournament than ICL..... A good place to start would be to actually pay the players on time you know....Until then, BPL will be seen as a scam and nothing more.

Why are our players going there if that's the case?

It's the PCB's fault, they players will always seek more avenues through which they can earn a few extra bucks. It's the PCB's job to provide them with opportunities that should be legitimate as well as rewarding at the same time.

Ohh Please !! You will not be getting a series in U.A.E., get over it son. We only invite teams that we think will not cause us a financial roadblock and believe it or not, people in Pakistan still view Bangladesh as a proper minnow so to invite this type of an opponent would be counter productive for us.

I won't even comment on BPL since it's probably a more sham of a tournament than ICL..... A good place to start would be to actually pay the players on time you know....Until then, BPL will be seen as a scam and nothing more.

Did you see any payment fiasco in BPL in the last two years? And this league worse than ICL is one where your star cricketers take part regularly.

And how is Bangladesh financially unviable?

Do you have any idea about our current market

The problem is that it was the Sri Lankan cricket team that was attacked in the past.

Not the Indian team which could have been viewed as an attack on India.

Not the Australian or English teams which could be viewed as an attack on Aus/Eng because of Afghanistan/Iraq/support for Israel.

But the Sri Lankan team where there was absolutely no reason to target them beyond them being a high profile international cricket team.

That is why nobody will tour Pakistan until terrorist incidents end because unlike other countries the perception is that terrorists in Pakistan consider touring cricket teams to be valid targets.

keep earning billion by playing WI, ZIM and SL in UAE.

All the people crying about the attack on Srilankan team in 2009. Yes it was sad and tough for Srilankan team and fans.

For Gods sake it has been more than 8 years now, are people going to complain about it for next 100 years.

keep earning billion by playing WI, ZIM and SL in UAE.

Yup dont mention Aus, Eng, NZ and SA tours of UAE.

Dont need billions which Ban Vs Pak would have produced as PCB has got enough money being produced.

Whats poor in this thread......
they were similar threads during that time as well....
and in pakistan case it has been different.... i dont why and how but it always has been different than others....
In India, abt 250 people were killed in dreadful Mumbai blasts, but still within a month ENG team toured india...
Similarly after Dhaka blasts, ENG Team came to Bangladesh and now Australia will tour them...
Two blasts took place during CT17 but still it wasn't called off....
Why this doesn't happen in case of Pakistan and it's mystery for some and some hav different reasons to relate to it..... The biggest reason being that cricket team was directly attacked in Pak and it was tried second time during ZIMBABWE tour......

Ok go ahead with the thread, didnt know about other threads.

But get your facts right Zimbabwean team was never attacked. What about the English team which was attacked in India then?

Yes Srl cricket team was attacked more than 8 years ago, get over it.

The problem is that it was the Sri Lankan cricket team that was attacked in the past.

Not the Indian team which could have been viewed as an attack on India.

Not the Australian or English teams which could be viewed as an attack on Aus/Eng because of Afghanistan/Iraq/support for Israel.

But the Sri Lankan team where there was absolutely no reason to target them beyond them being a high profile international cricket team.

That is why nobody will tour Pakistan until terrorist incidents end because unlike other countries the perception is that terrorists in Pakistan consider touring cricket teams to be valid targets.

Legendary footballers (Ronaldhinio, Giggs ets) toured Pakistan without the go ahead from the Govt just some private sponsors and their request of security from army.

Tell me with millions in their bank accounts and their luxury lives why would they tour Pakistan if they honestly believed it wasnt safe.

Dont tell me that their lives are less valuable than some cricketers.

Some of the WWE stars and divas came and enjoyed their stay.

This is just to mention few, players and teams of many different sports have been touring Pakistan.

Tell Ian Chappel that, who said that he felt much safer in Islamabad than if we would have been in England and criticized these double standards.

Leave the rest of the incidents. Did any of you know how many people die in US due to gun violence. I am not talking about mass killings here which happens every other month.

The number was 15,069.
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-34996604
http://www.gunviolencearchive.org/past-tolls

The only safe places in the world are the ones with less population.

But get your facts right Zimbabwean team was never attacked. What about the English team which was attacked in India then?

Read again wat i hav posted..... i nvr said they were attacked.... i said terrorists tried...
during the second ODI a suicide bomber blew himself up 700 metres away frm the stadium...
ZIM team had to leave 2 days after the 3rd ODI but bcz of the attack they left on the night of 3rd ODI...

Did you see any payment fiasco in BPL in the last two years? And this league worse than ICL is one where your star cricketers take part regularly.

And how is Bangladesh financially unviable?

Do you have any idea about our current market

No but there was NOC fiasco in BPL 2016 due to which a match got delayed by almost 2 hrs...
remember tamim didn't came to play as he was demanding NOC's of the foriegn players of opposition team... and when they played, the match started 2 hrs late than scheduled time.

When was the English team attacked in India?

and i said it earlier as well, Security and Safety isn't the thing that's stopping the return of international cricket in Pakistan ....
Read my post, post #20

Read again wat i hav posted..... i nvr said they were attacked.... i said terrorists tried...
during the second ODI a suicide bomber blew himself up 700 metres away frm the stadium...
ZIM team had to leave 2 days after the 3rd ODI but bcz of the attack they left on the night of 3rd ODI...

Any evidence of what you are talking about. Authorities said it was a transformer while I have heard some people say what you are saying so there are no conclusive facts or evidences and meaningful conversations cant be based upon assumptions.

When was the English team attacked in India?

Dude it was exaggeration on my behalf (Blast was outside the English team hotel) in response to the exaggeration by [MENTION=142702]UN talkz[/MENTION] about Zimbabwean cricket team.

Ok, fine.

Forget World XI. Invite teams like PNG & Hong Kong to tour as they have ODI status. Even a small series of 3 ODIs & 1 T20I against them held in Pakistan will carry more weight rather than a "I want to tour Pakistan XI" with half of the team made of retired players or players not in contention for their national teams

Any evidence of what you are talking about. Authorities said it was a transformer while I have heard some people say what you are saying so there are no conclusive facts or evidences and meaningful conversations cant be based upon assumptions.

Man.... in which world do u live....
the very next day a union minister (one who iz mocked for wearing a wig... don't know his name) gave a statement that it was a suicide bomb attack and they had told people dat it was a transformer blast so dat they don't panic... otherwise it would have resulted in a stampede.... it was officially declared by the govt officials that it was a blast and u r still in ignorance....
and i clearly mentioned the word Tried... terrorists tried but their efforts were foiled by BRAVE PAKISTANI RANGERS (one security personal also died in that attack)
u clearly wrote that english team was attacked in India...
u hav not exaggerated it but u hav clearly stated wrong facts

In England everyone is a target, they don't need to target cricketers when they can target footballers and celebrities who are world renown. In Pakistan, the gold targets are cricketers, so they are more likely to be attacked and cause headline a major headline.

Tell Ian Chappel that, who said that he felt much safer in Islamabad than if we would have been in England and criticized these double standards.

Leave the rest of the incidents. Did any of you know how many people die in US due to gun violence. I am not talking about mass killings here which happens every other month.

The number was 15,069.
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-34996604
http://www.gunviolencearchive.org/past-tolls

The only safe places in the world are the ones with less population.

In US, no one is targeting you, in Pakistan foreigners, especially cricketers are the biggest targets. If Footballers or celebrities were performing in Pakistan, they would be targeted first and cricketers will be on the secondary list.

Hopefully it doesn't happen for the better of Pakistan. The only reason PCB is tryna get these pointless matches to be played in Pakistan is to practically brainwash the Pakistani public into thinking that the there is a "rise" in Pakistan and that everything the government is doing is good. The elections r next year and sadly it looks like the same tried and tested corrupt bigot is gonna be elected again due to delusional Pakistanis thinking their country is safe. This country is in turmoil and until we change our leader and our general perceptions, cricket will NEVER return to Pakistan. To all the delusional fans who think cricket will come back soon all I'll say is KEEP DREAMING.

Man.... in which world do u live....
the very next day a union minister (one who iz mocked for wearing a wig... don't know his name) gave a statement that it was a suicide bomb attack and they had told people dat it was a transformer blast so dat they don't panic... otherwise it would have resulted in a stampede.... it was officially declared by the govt officials that it was a blast and u r still in ignorance....
and i clearly mentioned the word Tried... terrorists tried but their efforts were foiled by BRAVE PAKISTANI RANGERS (one security personal also died in that attack)
u clearly wrote that english team was attacked in India...
u hav not exaggerated it but u hav clearly stated wrong facts
Whaaat> Union Minister>?

I hope it goes ahead. Postponing will do no good. Lahore police has made great strides in securing the city. And now they have become the targets themselves. Remeber, like the PSL, when World XI comes, city will be locked. Not like this.

We have been hearing this World XI tour for a while now and ICC or PCB are yet to confirm the dates. ICC are yet to announce a squad. I wonder if current players are part of this so called World XI, and if so wouldnt ICC require a green light from respective board and/or govt.
I honestly don't see any current Indian player visiting Pakistan, Govt would barred participation of any current player.
Lets wait a bit and see what ICC comes up with in a meantime we can all speculate.

Pakistan does not have Union Minister. Sorry. India might have. We don't.

arey yaaar.... union minister is a common term used for minister associated with central govt.
for eg each province has its own education minister... they are ministers of their respective provinces... but central govt. (which was the govt. of nawaz sharif 12 hours ago...) has it's own education minister.... i guess its Baligh-ur-Rehman but i am not sure abt it....
so he iz union minister....
it is a common term used in english.... it has nothin to do with country's democratic setup

arey yaaar.... union minister is a common term used for minister associated with central govt.
for eg each province has its own education minister... they are ministers of their respective provinces... but central govt. (which was the govt. of nawaz sharif 12 hours ago...) has it's own education minister.... i guess its Baligh-ur-Rehman but i am not sure abt it....
so he iz union minister....
it is a common term used in english.... it has nothin to do with country's democratic setup

It's synonymous - (Probably), Indian constitution identifies itself as an Union of state (s) Government, therefore the unified cabinet, led by PM is called Union (or central?) ministry, while there are individual State ministry under State Chief Minister. In PAK, probably they call it Federal minister & State minister - same in Canada.

I think, it's same; but PAK being polarized at Punjab, probably Punjab state ministry is almost equally dominant.

It's synonymous - (Probably), Indian constitution identifies itself as an Union of state (s) Government, therefore the unified cabinet, led by PM is called Union (or central?) ministry, while there are individual State ministry under State Chief Minister. In PAK, probably they call it Federal minister & State minister - same in Canada.

I think, it's same; but PAK being polarized at Punjab, probably Punjab state ministry is almost equally dominant.

yaa... federal, central or union... it is all same

Chances of World Eleven tour to Pak diminishes due to security situation

ISLAMABAD: After government of Punjab’s excuse to Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials regarding provision of foolproof security due to political activities, the chances of World Eleven’s tour to Pakistan have been diminished.

According to sources, top officials of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) held meeting with officials of the government of Punjab and informed them about the tour of World Eleven. Security situation was also discussed during the meeting.

PCB officials informed the government of Punjab about World Eleven’s tour to Pakistan from September 11 to 19 and organising 3 T-20 matches in Qaddafi stadium. They asserted that the arrival and successful tour can help open doors for international cricket. They asked Punjab government to ensure foolproof security for successful organisation of the event.

The sources said that government of Punjab expressed their excuse due to the prevailing security situation in Lahore because election would be held on September 17 in NA-120. They said political momentum would be in full swing and hence the government of Punjab cannot take any security risk.

The sources said that Punjab government advised to arrange the tour in October when political activities will have calmed down.

It is worth mentioning that Moharram will commence during the last week of September when it would not be possible for the government to provide security.

Earlier in March 2009, Sri Lankan cricket team paid the last tour to Pakistan. After attack on the Sri Lankan team, Pakistan’s cricket grounds became deserted. After that, Zimbabwe was the only team to visit Pakistan.

The final of Pakistan Super League (PSL) was played amid tight security arrangements. ICC officials and cricket board representatives of other countries also reviewed security arrangements.

Head of ICC task force Giles Clarke had promised regarding tour of the World Eleven to Pakistan and ICC also gave permission for it but the tour was cancelled due to the blast at Ferozepur road in Lahore.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/20...-to-pak-diminishes-due-to-security-situation/

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is yet to get security clearance from the Punjab government to formally invite the World XI squad to visit Lahore to play three T20 matches against Pakistan next month.

On Friday, a PCB delegation comprising executive committee chairman Najam Sethi, chief operating officer Subhan Ahmed and head of the security department retired Col Azam discussed in a lengthy meeting with Punjab government officials everything relating to security but they failed to decide a schedule for the World XI visit.

The PCB plans to invite the World XI in mid-September. However, a by-election for Lahore’s NA-120 seat, which fell vacant after the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif as prime minister in a Supreme Court decision on July 28, is scheduled to be held on Sept 17.

Therefore, added security measures required for the crucial by-election may saddle security agencies with extra workload which would make it quite tough for them to provide security for the World XI visit to the provincial capital around mid-September.

As Pakistan are scheduled to leave for the UAE on Sept 21 to play a full series against Sri Lanka and the NA-120 election is already reducing the window for hosting the World XI, PCB’s original plan of hosting the foreign visitors in mid-September appears very much inapplicable.

However, sources said, both the PCB and the provincial government had agreed to find out suitable dates for the tour and a final green signal in this regard would come from Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif.

It may be mentioned here that the Punjab government had also shown reluctance in allowing Leisure Leagues to hold an exhibition match in Lahore last month, in which seven prominent world top footballers, including Ronaldinho and Ryan Giggs, were playing. Pakistan Army, however, hosted that match at the Fortress Stadium without any untoward incident.

According to sources, some loopholes noted in providing security for the Pakistan Super League final in Lahore on March 5 this year were also discussed in Friday’s meeting during which it was decided to incorporate remedy measures in new security arrangements.

Though the PCB will invite the World XI to visit Pakistan -- after receiving the security clearance -- but sources said time was running out and the provincial government has to take a quick decision, otherwise, the entire plan of the cricket board may be shelved.

If the World XI visit eventually materialises, it would surely help in reviving international cricket in Pakistan.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1349810