Would you celebrate like Imran Tahir?

Pak_Jazba

Local Club Star
I didn't hate the guy before. But something about his celebration today when he got Hafeezs wicket made me feel pathetic about this guy.

I understand cricketers moving out of their countries at a young and early age, to find a living elsewhere. I could even understand Imran Tahir doing it at the age he did.
But celebrating the way he did that too against the country of his birth, where his entire family still lives and the country which had sheltered him 2-3 years back before his love-interest helped him get a SAFFER visa just did not feel right.

I've seen football players not celebrate scoring a goal against their former club if that club really meant something to them. But this guy just shamelessly runs around giving flying kisses to his wife and grunts and punches the air as if he has just won the World Cup for South Africa.

Partly a rant on my part, but since many PP'ers reside overseas, i would like to ask that if they get a chance to represent their domiciled country against Pakistan, would they react in a similar belligerent/aggressive manner when they take a wicket of a Pakistani player whom they have supported/watched since their childhood?

Whats good is that after his performances against Pak's mediocre batsmen, South Africa are going to select him for the Indian series in South Africa.

On those South African pitches where the ball doesnt offer turn, I cant wait for dhoni, kohli, etc to smash him back to humbleness.

Match figures 0-100 here we come...

Mediocre players like to enjoy mediocre achievements as the pinacle of their career.

That's just his thing, I don't feel bad about it.

He seems to be wired a bit incorrectly. (vis a vis the celebration part)

Either that or somebody again forgot to give him decaf coffee and instead handed him the reg one.

He's playing a sport against us, not going to war against us.

Having said that, his reactions just make me laugh because of how over the top they are.

I fully get the rant though. :)

Wait does he really blow kisses towards his wife when he gets a wicket ? That's weird

When Ronaldo scored against man utd he was very normal!
While scoring a important goal!!!!!
Just respected his club were he came from.

Tahir should celibrate but not so hyper and over.
He behaves like a ghaddaar.

He's playing a sport against us, not going to war against us.

Having said that, his reactions just make me laugh because of how over the top they are.

I'm not taking it into a context of war.

Its simple really. You idolize the Pakistan cricket team as you grow up, you love watching them play, you want all 11 players to do well when they get down into the field and represent Pakistan.

My question was, would you celebrate in a 'Tahir'isque manner after you get a wicket of the same team you idolized?

Cringeworthy celebrations.

He seems he's trying to prove some loyalty to his SA teammates or something.

Its simple really. You idolize the Pakistan cricket team as you grow up, you love watching them play, you want all 11 players to do well when they get down into the field and represent Pakistan.

My question was, would you celebrate in a 'Tahir'isque manner after you get a wicket of the same team you idolized?

Right, forgot to answer that question....

I would celebrate a wicket the same regardless of the team it was from; but not with Tahir's signature extravagance. Being me, I'd feel embarrassed.

... Unless I took a hat trick or got one of the world's best batsmen out cheaply or something. Perhaps. :))

At least he has something to celebrate!!! As far as I'm concerned he should rub it in their faces - the faces of these pathetic excuses that consider themselves cricketers!!!

I don't mind that he's celebrating against Pakistan, but I still think he looks like an idiot.

And if I was in the same position I'd celebrate like any normal person does but not like him with his celebrations.

Eventhough i am born in the UK i'd never celebrate like that for south africa in fact i'd be hurting deeply inside with each wicket i took, the pakistani blood running through my veins would simply never let me show my behind in public to the country of my birth. Pakistan zindabad! Inshallah he is humbled in india, i'd pelt his car with stones if i saw him in pak

OTT, no I wouldn't celebrate like that. India will show the place that he deserves in the next series.

If he read some of the stuff that is written about him by posters here I could imagine why he would be OTT when getting a wicket.

He is playing for SA and he celebrates the same way irrespective of opposition. Why should it matter? Not as if he is abusing some one while celebrating.

I will be supporting india in IND vs SA series , just to see this traitor getting smashed to bits.

i have nothing against that guy, but however his celebrations make him look like an idiot

I dislike them. They are in really bad taste. He isn't actually a Saffer no matter how much he pretends to be.

Yeah because:

A) I've taken an international wicket

B) I'd go even further and go moon the Pakistani selectors while screaming "THIS IS WHAT YOU GET FOR NOT PICKING ME"

C) After I retire, go back to cheering Pakistan.

Now this thread was not needed even I celebrated hafeez wicket in similar manner.

He win the games for SA and that too against his home country Pakistan.

So he's supposed to reject the chance to play test cricket for South Africa when they ask if he's available?

I suppose you'd turn down a job offer at a rival company even if they offered you a pay rise, bigger office and a company car?

This entire thread is dumb.

He win the games for SA and that too against his home country Pakistan.

he would never get into the pakistan team. Is he not supposed to play international cricket because some people feel he is a traitor? lol.

I wonder which player posters on her enjoy failing more, Hafeez or Tahir.

On topic, if I took a wicket against Pakistan I would definitely celebrate like any wicket I take. I wouldn't not high five my teammates or smile after I take wickets. That being said, unless I've won the most gruelling series or the world cup with my wicket there is noway I will run around like a monkey. I've never liked over the top celebration like Monty's for example. I don't mind the airplane celebration or a little jiggle and a hop but to run around uncontrollably is something I find really stupid. Even when other people take wickets, Tahir's reactions are cringe-worthy. It was funny watching him hug Dale Steyn that hard after one of his wickets whereas Steyn was pretty calm.

HE shouldn't play when SA is playing against Pakistan.

That's stupid. His adopted country is South Africa and they have given him the opportunity to play international cricket. He can play against whoever he wants and he can support whoever he wants. Secondly, how can you call him a traitor when he said he feels more South African than Pakistani? He can only be a traitor if he pledged allegiance to Pakistan for life and then secretly undermined them. Pakistan didn't want him so he left or maybe he just chose not to represent Pakistan in neither case would he be a traitor.

If Tahir an honest cricketer is a traitor then what would you say about Butt, Asif and Amir?

Well im born in Canada, but of Indian Origin. I Love both countries lots, but in any sport I would give it my all because thats what you do in sports, but my celebrations would be muted, and they would be done with a heavy heart.

That's stupid. His adopted country is South Africa and they have given him the opportunity to play international cricket. He can play against whoever he wants and he can support whoever he wants. Secondly, how can you call him a traitor when he said he feels more South African than Pakistani? He can only be a traitor if he pledged allegiance to Pakistan for life and then secretly undermined them. Pakistan didn't want him so he left or maybe he just chose not to represent Pakistan in neither case would he be a traitor.

If Tahir an honest cricketer is a traitor then what would you say about Butt, Asif and Amir?

They are the biggest traitors in world's history.

Why is Imran Tahir being called a traitor?

I don't see anything wrong with his celebrations. He is a South African.

He also kisses up to the South African players who are younger then him...

Yeah because:

A) I've taken an international wicket

B) I'd go even further and go moon the Pakistani selectors while screaming "THIS IS WHAT YOU GET FOR NOT PICKING ME"

C) After I retire, go back to cheering Pakistan.

His bowling shows why he never deserved to play for Pakistan.. Most of his deliveries are full tosses and are not even good. Pakistan has got 20+ spinners in domestic cricket, and most of them being better... He only got selected in to SA, because SA lacked spinners in domestic cricket, and they had to choose him.

If they found some better spinner, believe me they would select him immediately. Tahir bowls rubbish, and its the Pakistani batsmen who are giving away their wickets.

His bowling shows why he never deserved to play for Pakistan.. Most of his deliveries are full tosses and are not even good. Pakistan has got 20+ spinners in domestic cricket, and most of them being better... He only got selected in to SA, because SA lacked spinners in domestic cricket, and they had to choose him.

If they found some better spinner, believe me they would select him immediately. Tahir bowls rubbish, and its the Pakistani batsmen who are giving away their wickets.
Not sure why Pakistani fans are so upset with Tahir. He was selected by the SA selectors and he did a decent job. He troubled Pakistani batsmen and took crucial wickets. What's the point of talking how many better spinners Pakistan has or how bad he will perform against India? Give guy a break.

So why is everyone so butthurt? Dude is playing international cricket after a long, hard, journeyman career. I wont begrudge him enjoying every single wicket he takes. Good for him.

When a footballer scores against a former club his celebrations are usually muted. IMO this shows class of the individual.

Lol at troubling batsman. Those wickets were gifted. Every 2 wickets against pakistan should be counted as 1.

So why is everyone so butthurt? Dude is playing international cricket after a long, hard, journeyman career. I wont begrudge him enjoying every single wicket he takes. Good for him.

People are not happy with the attitude he shows after taking a wicket.... Even before he played against Pakistan, his over-reaction after taking a wicket was seriously retarded..

I don't mind him playing against Pakistan, but his over-reaction after taking a wicket is quite foolish looking(and this was going on even before this series).......

Forget Tahir, i even think Waseem Akram's celebration use to be abit OTT

I will never celebrate like him even against the rival country. Lolworthy celebrations at best. Make him look like a clown.

He should celebrate as he wishes.

They never picked him when he was in Pakistan. In fact, he should celebrate even more and rub it in.

HE shouldn't play when SA is playing against Pakistan.

Now the thread has two type of participants.
One, who are commenting on on Tahir's celebration antics against ALL OPPOSITION
The others, Who are commenting (and mostly are ticked) about him playing/celebrating against pakistan. :D

He can play for whoever he wants. Yeah I think it's idiotic how he prances around after getting a wicket but I don't really care. I admit I had strong urges to punch him after all the kisses though lol.

don't worry guys, we will show him his true place.
He'l
we may be poor against steyn, philander but against a spinner? NO WAY! He'l be crying asking to go home after every match against india.

we may be poor against steyn, philander but against a spinner? NO WAY!
He'l be crying asking to go home after every match against india.

Yahan ki hawa lag gayi lagta hai Daakter ko.
Thaand rakh yaar. Itna udney ki koshish na karo.

I dont like the way he celebrates , it looks like he has hatred in his eyes for pakistan , But seems like he is taking revenge!!!!

Ronaldo never celebrates when he scores a goal against his former team Manchester United for Real Madrid,,,, instead he puts a finger on his mouth to remain quiet ,,, thats how much respect he gives to his former other nation domestic team,,,,And then this guy Tahir!! he is blood-sucking parasite :97::tahir

Chill mates, it's just a sport. In fact, love the way Tahir is loyal to the country of his livelihood. I'm sure he respects Pakistan but asking him to not celebrate is just OTT.

But I can assure you, we'll smash him to bits once we get through Steyn, Philander without much damage :))

It's his way of celebrating the wickets, i am sure if he was playing for Pakistan he would have celebrated in the same way and most of us would have loved his celebrations :P

And back to Question, whether i would celebrate like Tahir? No, I would celebrate like Akhtar, i loved that aeroplane take off after he took a wicket...

Whats good is that after his performances against Pak's mediocre batsmen, South Africa are going to select him for the Indian series in South Africa.

On those South African pitches where the ball doesnt offer turn, I cant wait for dhoni, kohli, etc to smash him back to humbleness.

Match figures 0-100 here we come...
problem is Morkel and co. will probably make up for it.
Who will save Ashwin?

Cringeworthy celebrations.

He seems he's trying to prove some loyalty to his SA teammates or something.

If he is not the same when playing against Pakistan as against other teams then he is not being loyal to his employers, as simple as that

No one has any problems with Afridi's "I am the king of the world" celebrations here. No one says he is trying to prove anything. He is just passionate. But let Tahir do it and all sort of phrases like "cringeworthy' gets thrown around

Yes if I clean bowl Kohli or R.Sharma or Dhoni or Amla or DeVilliers for the first time!

So by the same logic, KP and Trott should never celebrate after doing well against SA?

Or say they should never play against SA?

People complaining need to see KP's reaction during his first tour to SA in England's shirt. IMO players just get too passionate when playing their birth countries, and somehow just want to prove themselves a bit more.

Fail thread by the way.

Well it's not that he specifically does these things only against Pakistan, therefore I have no complaints.

I am not a fan of his celebration in general, but there is nothing that makes me feel extra annoyed if he does it against Pakistan. He is what he is!

As for the point about Pakistan being the country of his birth and thus he shouldn´t be celebrating against them, my question is, who decides what the limits should be? How will you prove my theory wrong if, by using the same logic, I state that he shouldn´t play and win against Pakistan at all?

* But playing and winning against the country of his birth, where his entire family still lives and the country which had sheltered him 2-3 years back before his love-interest helped him get a SAFFER visa just did not feel right.

Refute this first!

Hence, it is just a sentiment. Just like how the Pakistanis are sentimental about the country, the cricket, the players etc., he too is very passionate about his sports.

I have no problems with his celebration. Lad is doing well. Has every right to celebrate. We are just being sore losers if we have problem with his celebration too.

Don't worry, we have some good test bowlers

and South Africa dont?
There's no question that you guys have some good prospects coming through but the arrogance is really puzzling. Tahir might not even get to bowl in the 1st innings

He'l
we may be poor against steyn, philander but against a spinner? NO WAY! He'l be crying asking to go home after every match against india.

Sorry to wake you up, but do you know who Shillingford, Swann, Lyon, Monty are?

India was once invincible against spinners, where Warnie picked up 34 wickets in 9 matches at an average of 43, against his career average of around 25. Murali picked up 40 wickets in 11 matches at an average of 45 against his career average of around 23. But the recent trend shows something else.

Do you know that while playing in India, during the last one year, team India has played 9 tests. India lost a total of 118 wickets during those matches, and out of those it lost 74 to spinners, 40 to fast/medium bowlers, and just 4 in run outs. Which means India has lost a whopping 62.71% of its wickets to spinners, 33.89 to faster/medium bowlers, and 3.38 to run outs.

So, I would advice the Indian fans to not get too cocky. Who knows if Tahir may have the last laugh against the Indians too?

India was once invincible against spinners, where Warnie picked up 34 wickets in 9 matches at an average of 43, against his career average of around 25. Murali picked up 40 wickets in 11 matches at an average of 45 against his career average of around 23. But the recent trend shows something else.

Do you know that while playing in India, during the last one year, team India has played 9 tests. India lost a total of 118 wickets during those matches, and out of those it lost 74 to spinners, 40 to fast/medium bowlers, and just 4 in run outs. Which means India has lost a whopping 62.71% of its wickets to spinners, 33.89 to faster/medium bowlers, and 3.38 to run outs.

So, I would advice the Indian fans to not get too cocky. Who knows if Tahir may have the last laugh against the Indians too?

Ouch :yk

Massive burn scene here. :afridi

Tahir will struggle against India in ODIs definitely because he does bowl a lot of loose "hit me please" deliveries and the Indian batsmen are relentless when it comes to punishing the bowlers. I see him take a hammering of his life in ODIs.

In Tests, India have badly struggled against spin for almost a year like style_guru pointed out and to think India will maul him is nothing but plain delusion.

Kohli, Pujara, Dhoni,Sharma, Dhawan etc are many things, but Tendulkar, Dravid and Azharuddin they are not.

Tahir's loyalty

Tahir's loyalty should be to his club which are the Saffers right now. They are the ones putting food on his family's table, not the PCB or his country of birth. He has every right to express his joy in any form he chooses within the spirit of the game against the mediocre Pak batsmen.

If you guys remember world cup, he celebrated even wildly there. I guess its just his passion showing up. He's been waiting a while to play at international level, didn't get picked in Pakistan and the wait in SA to get a citizenship so he can play also took years. He has every right to express himself.

The best celebration I saw from him was when he finally took a wicket at Adelaide and went on a Tommy Wiseau dance routine only to find out he had bowled a no-ball. :))

Indian batsmen will destroy Tahir. He bowled 2 bad balls per over but our inept batsme gave him wickets on most of them. He is not a bad bowler but his confidence can be knocked early on if you smash his rank full tosses into the stand.