Your favourite Bollywood song of all time?

Fair enough. Although I consider Rafi more versatile in the sense that he has sung classical and ghazals to faster songs. That's not to say that I'm not a big fan of Kishore though.

Who do you think is the greatest Indian female singer? Can't think of anyone better that Geeta Dutt in my opinion. Her in "mujhko tum jo mile" is probably the best voice I've ever heard, male or female.

There is also KS Chitra, who hold the maximum number of National Awards for best singer to date.
She is the most feted female singer in Malayalam, Tamil, Telugu and Kannada and has sung some good Hindi songs -mainlu for Anu Malik and Rahman . But the Southern enunciation is somewhat noticeable when she's sung in hindi . "Kehna Hi Kya" from Bombay , "Yaaron Sun Lo" from Rangeela, "Hum Tumse Na" from Ziddi, "Payale Chunmun" from (she won a National Award) from Virasat,

Lata and Asha for me. Shreya Ghoshal out of the new ones

I used to like listening to Lata the most. Really enjoyed "tumhe yaad to hoga" and her songs in Mahal.

But the first time I heard Geeta Dutt in "yeh kaun aaya ki mere dil ki duniya mein bahar aayi", I immediately changed my mind. I listen to a lot from Rajkumari, Shamshad Begum, Lata etc, even outside of playback, like Begum Akhtar, but can't find the same appeal in their voices.

Pity that her personal issues got the best of her, and led to her untimely death. Her, Guru Dutt and Madhubala were probably the biggest losses in the Indian film industry's history.

Its Shreya hands down in the present generation anyways.

Recently watched Ghost World. Has to be in my top movies of all time list. Just for that, this song:

I used to like listening to Lata the most. Really enjoyed "tumhe yaad to hoga" and her songs in Mahal.

But the first time I heard Geeta Dutt in "yeh kaun aaya ki mere dil ki duniya mein bahar aayi", I immediately changed my mind. I listen to a lot from Rajkumari, Shamshad Begum, Lata etc, even outside of playback, like Begum Akhtar, but can't find the same appeal in their voices.

Pity that her personal issues got the best of her, and led to her untimely death. Her, Guru Dutt and Madhubala were probably the biggest losses in the Indian film industry's history.

Being depressed, driven to being an alcoholic from her personal issues along with Guru Dutt's death, and suffering from cirrhosis which she died from just a year after, she sung this in Anubhav: "Meri jaan mujhe jaan na kaho"

Despite listening to plenty of film music (have heard most of the popular songs from the 40s to 2000s), qawalli, thumri, folk, classical etc, I haven't heard a cleaner voice than this. Her other two songs in Anubhav were excellent too.

From golden age:
Awara hu
Mere sapno ki rani
Ye dil na hota bechara
Lag ja gale ke fir hasin raat ho na ho
Jane wo kaise log the jinke pyar ko pyar
Mere samne khidki me
Jeena isee ka naam hai
Amanush ( dil aisa kisi ne mera toda)
From 90s:
Chaiyya chaiyya
Chand taare tod laun
Me koi aisa geet gaun
I am the best
Ye dil diwana
Jadu teri nazar
Ae kash ke ham hosh mein
So gaya ye jahaan
Chupana bhi naheen aata
Saason ki jarrurat hai jese
Na tum jano na hum
O O jane jana
Ae mere dil tu gaye ja
Mere khyalo ki malika
Koi na koi chahiye.............++many more etc

Not to mention Aankhein Khuli Ho from the same movie as Humko Humi se Chura lo, Mohabbatein.

The whole album of dil se. I know AR Rahman is most famous in west for slumdog millionaire and in recent times for rockstar but i believe dil se as his magnum opus. Nothing can beat that movie's music.

Unfortunately, it is a song featuring Shahrukh,when I was going through a teen crush (stalker?) phase at the time and even though now I know better and there a million better Bollywood songs this comes to mind first.
[video=youtube;p5RWZlIBB-o]https://www.youtube.com/watchv=p5RWZlIBB-o&list=RDp5RWZlIBB-o&t=171[/video]

The Juhi overacting and Sunny leopard shirt is boss though.

Unfortunately, it is a song featuring Shahrukh,when I was going through a teen crush (stalker?) phase at the time and even though now I know better and there a million better Bollywood songs this comes to mind first.
[video=youtube;p5RWZlIBB-o]https://www.youtube.com/watchv=p5RWZlIBB-o&list=RDp5RWZlIBB-o&t=171[/video]

The Juhi overacting and Sunny leopard shirt is boss though.
You are really old. I wasn't even born then.

Your parents unintentionally did you a favour then by not having you go through all that.

I did watch them later on though :))
SRK in his earlier days looked like a total psychopath but slowly he started to change his image and persona which began from Karan Arjun and Raju ban gaya Gentleman and by the time Kuch Kuchh hota hai was released he had established himself into a real romantic star.
:facepalm: This guy is singlehandedly responsible for raising the expectations and standards of Indian women when it comes to men.

I did watch them later on though :))
SRK in his earlier days looked like a total psychopath but slowly he started to change his image and persona which began from Karan Arjun and Raju ban gaya Gentleman and by the time Kuch Kuchh hota hai was released he had established himself into a real romantic star.
:facepalm: This guy is singlehandedly responsible for raising the expectations and standards of Indian women when it comes to men.

Yeah from the machismo of Amitabh, Dharmender, Shatrughan Sinha etc to this stuttering sissy. Quite a leap.

P.S - I am not that old and watched these movies (The Shahrukh ones and not the Sholays etc) as a kid.

Yeah from the machismo of Amitabh, Dharmender, Shatrughan Sinha etc to this stuttering sissy. Quite a leap.

P.S - I am not that old and watched these movies (The Shahrukh ones and not the Sholays etc) as a kid.

If you say so :))

[MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION] fav song is Woh Lamhe, he has also seen the movie murder 10 times in slow motion
[MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

Why don't they make these kind of songs now? Now it's all about Punjabi beat, desi rap which repeats again and again coupled with some idiotic dance moves.
Punjabi rap music with cheesy lyrics hurting Bollywood music big time. They are also ruining with remaking classic songs by adding random rap between lyrics.
I admire meaning full quality rap like this song I linked. But there are few songs like this.
https://youtu.be/f5vd4YEYFfA

Punjabi rap music with cheesy lyrics hurting Bollywood music big time. They are also ruining with remaking classic songs by adding random rap between lyrics.
I admire meaning full quality rap like this song I linked. But there are few songs like this.
https://youtu.be/f5vd4YEYFfA

Amit Trivedi's music is actually pretty good. But these honey Singh, badshah, rafthaar, guru randhawa and now this Zack Knight song..:facepalm:

That's the problem,it seems every week new Punjabi rapper is popping out with cheesy party themed videos with catchy lyrics featuring sports cars and foreign girls etc.

You should check out Trivedis songs in the MTV unplugged series. Even though his voice isn't suited for a couple of songs his overall composition is great.

What is your favourite bollywood song ever?

With so much negativity around bollywood these days, let's talk about something positive. Bollywood has provided us with some great songs over the years, which one is is your favourite? [MENTION=143530]Swashbuckler[/MENTION] [MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] . Mine is this one

Naming just one is tough, very tough. I have around 25 favorites and depending upon my mood I choose one of them when asked this question. Let me present 2 running through my mind right now, one by male and the other female. Another day I will choose 2 other songs :D

These days been listening to “yeh lal rang kab mujhe chodega” by Kishore on repeat. Unreal song

Lapak jhapak from the movie bootpolish. A timeless classic from my personal favour manna dey.

These days been listening to “yeh lal rang kab mujhe chodega” by Kishore on repeat. Unreal song

Anand Bakshi at his best. They used to write those classics in a day and now with hundreds of thousands of dollars, we get lyrics like "char bottle vodka".

For the last couple of years, these two are one of my favs! Hard to choose one

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GtNrQy90Ih4" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/CG-62hbtxVk" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

There's a huge list but this is the 1st that comes to my mind.

Channa Mereya

Ranbir nailed the acting in this one.

This song can only be felt by those who've gone through the process of actually loving someone (unrequited or not)

Saat Samundar, Sadhana Sargam has the cleanest voice ever (apart from maybe Geeta Dutt) and old Sunny Deop movies were mostly good to great