Your First Ever Bat?

JN1301

Just a trip down memory lane. What was your first bat? I'll kick it off, my first bat was a kookaburra bubble back in high school. very nice bat, really liked it :)

When I started playing cricket (in 2009) the first bat I owned and played with was a Pakistani bat which was sent to me by my Grandparents back in Pakistan. Second became Gray Nicolls Powerbow then a CA and so on.

Even today when I hold the Pakistani bat it is very good, the balance and pickup is superb to be honest!

Still remember it and still have it, 9 years down the track :) Kookaburra Swordfighter :))

Slazenger V500 5 Star Pro-Tech - Size 5 I think it is.

IMG_0362.jpg

IMG_0365.jpg

IMG_0366.jpg

Can't remember how much it cost or anything along those lines, but I remember I loved it when I first had it and it was probably a little too big for me.

My first ever bat was a tapeball Pepsi bat! Had Pepsi stickers all over and was a beast! This was when I was about 6 and it was a full size bat. However I didnt visit Pakistan for 5 or so years. And when my nanni pulled it out of her store cupboard it had rotted! So went and bought an AM tapeball bat from a near bazaar! This is how I started my friends...

My first hard ball bat was a Brian Lara 375 bat. It weighed nearly 3 lbs and I remember playing with it in a u13 game many a year ago. By the time I had swung the bat the ball was already in the keepers gloves!

Slazenger V500 5 Star Pro-Tech - Size 5 I think it is.

IMG_0362.jpg

IMG_0365.jpg

IMG_0366.jpg

Can't remember how much it cost or anything along those lines, but I remember I loved it when I first had it and it was probably a little too big for me.

Lovely indeed!

My old club mate has Slazenger V200 and that bat being decades old is still going very strong and it still hasn't cracked or broken yet!

I wonder how strong these old bats are...

Puma adam gichrist by the Josh our coach has that bat but its way to heavy and he has another bat similiar to that above he had it for 22yrs and not 1 big cherry on it!!!!!!!!!

My First hard ball bat was Duncan Fearnley early 80's Ian Botham Edition. I started playing with hard ball when I was barely taller than the bat itself.

Kinda similar to the pic, second hard ball bat was GM, then a CA and finally a Malik zulfi in late 90's.

First tape ball bat was CA, then a very nice piece of wood from Mids and then a very heavy Ihsan with three grips (yes, even for tape ball bat I preferred more than two grips). I also owned a very nice AM bat, which I lost in a bet during a single wicket match.

• DF1.JPG
    DF1.JPG
    52 KB · Views: 1,718
  • DFback.JPG
    DFback.JPG
    44.5 KB · Views: 693
Wow impressive! Who's sign are those?

Also what bats do you use these days? (hardball...)

I dont know whose signatures are on that bat, I did not find a DF that looked exactly looks like mine in 80's and 90's so this is what I found.

I dont own any bat, haven't played for last 12 years...But CD, in late 80's and early 90's I used to be as obsessed with cricket equipment as you are now...difference is, I used to cut pictures of cricket bats/equipment that different players used from different magazines, paper clippings and used to paste them on a school note book using glue and you do the same with HighDef / High Res Pictures.

You guys are well lucky.

My first maybe half a dozen or so bats were rubbish £2 bats from Woolworths :facepalm:

It was some malik bat for cricket ball I don't even remember the complete name old story.

a plastic bat when I started

and I got a CA tapeball bat which was amazingly heavy then I bought a lara 375 was really good.

I dont know whose signatures are on that bat, I did not find a DF that looked exactly looks like mine in 80's and 90's so this is what I found.

I dont own any bat, haven't played for last 12 years...But CD, in late 80's and early 90's I used to be as obsessed with cricket equipment as you are now...difference is, I used to cut pictures of cricket bats/equipment that different players used from different magazines, paper clippings and used to paste them on a school note book using glue and you do the same with HighDef / High Res Pictures.

Thanks for sharing this, I enjoyed it :)

I wasn't into equipments but I used to buy a Magazine called 'The Cricketer' and that magazine had one coloured poster so I would collect those and paste them on my cupboard (inside) and Abdul Razzaq was my favourite bat and from that day till today I always always wanted to buy AS bat but never ever got my hands on it and I still haven't owned it.

my first bats as a kid (3-5 yrs old) were tape ball GMs and then a slazenger v200 or something.

Then I picked my first bat myselves when I was in class 1 which looked like this one:
http://kapildev.asia/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/kapil-dev.jpg

http://p.imgci.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/3300/3339.jpg

The first bat that I consider to be my real first was a WILLS (ciggie brand) - cant find pic of that one anymore - can someone find one??

Arre bhai kya yaad karraiya hai? I had WILLS KING tape ball bat and yaar that bat was amazing! It was tapeball and I used to love that bat it was fantastic! I still feel guilty of breaking that bat, I was playing with my brother (more than decade old story) so I would go to bat first and he bowled me on first ball so I said that was practice he bowled me again and once again I got bowled on first ball so I took another chance and once more I got bowled on first ball so I got angry and threw the bat on the concrete pitch (which my dad got made for us) and I threw the bat first time it didn't break I picked it up and threw it again and it broke into three piece, one was handle-V, and two broke from splice area.

I still feel guilty for breaking that bat, I loved that bat a lot!

Ah The Cricketer, that merged with The Wisden Monthly to form what is now The Wisden Cricketer.

My first ever bat was a tennis ball bat from KG (Kay Gee Sports India).

First season cricket bat was SS Ton Assassin (Grade 3-4 E.W)

And my latest bat is SS limited edition (Grade 1 E.W)

• P4020001.jpg
    P4020001.jpg
    379.1 KB · Views: 693
  • P1010013.jpg
    P1010013.jpg
    502.2 KB · Views: 749
Really?

'The Wisden Cricketer' don't have magazines do they?

Well, they've reverted back to The Cricketer starting from this month (The Cricketer in association with Wisden to use the full title), but it had been The Wisden Cricketer for yeeeeeeeeeeears.

Welcome to PP ad2000, hope you enjoy your stay!

Lovely bats you have there! What is the weight of that SS LE and where did you buy it from if you don't mind me asking, mind reviewing it?

Sami, Cheers mate I think I got it in my parcel, is it those small ones?

hello everyone...thanks for the warm welcome :)

I got the SS LE from onlinestockist. I haven't used it yet and am still knocking it. The bat was provided with a toeguard fitted by the retailer. An antiscuff sheet was also provided in the parcel which i applied myself. I also applied a fibre tape to prolong its life.

Hope to hit some biggies this summer with it :)

Looks great tbh! Did you buy this from the sale for like 130 Pounds?

Mine posting a review of it in a separate thread?