Yusuf Pathan 100 in 37 balls: 2nd fastest for Domestic / Club level

RexRex said:
Once in a while , he comes off with a blinder.Still just a slogger like Afridi.

I will take an International Slogger any day over a domestic one. :D

Thank You.

I will take an International Slogger any day over a domestic one. :D

Thank You.

ha .. read your earlier post and thought I'd put out a bait.Well done. :)

kingusama92 said:
What's with all of this nonsensical arguing going on in this thread?!

Posters need to stop bothering Oxy in regards to his opinion on the IPL. If he doesn't want to watch it then he doesn't.

Oxy .. you need to stop with the "bollywood tamasha" stuff. It was fine the first time but its kind of redundant if you use it in every post. Just saying.

To the contrary, Its not said often enough. It gets the Indian fans coming to the rescue, not that I think you are one, nowt wrong with that though!!

Mr Oxy you have my unwarranted support in this regard. :14:

kingusama92 said:
Oxy .. you need to stop with the "bollywood tamasha" stuff. It was fine the first time but its kind of redundant if you use it in every post. Just saying.

Who are you to tell me what I should think of it???

I've only just started - get ready for another month of this.

Just saying...

Then we have a busy month ahead of us comrade.

Fear not you seem to be doing a splendid job to date, what you say is hitting were it hurts.

RexRex said:
You'll all come around some day.These are birth pangs.

''the still born brainchild of a man with no brain......''

He is that type of batsman, if the pitch is flat and bowler is spinner he will kill you.
Otherwise he is just an another tailender, i have never seen him playing well when the situation is bit tough and conditions are tricky. (International Level)
I would say, his brother is better batsman than him. But he bowls little faster than his brother :(

Who are you to tell me what I should think of it???

I've only just started - get ready for another month of this.

Just saying...

I don't care what you think about it because that's your choice and I stated that in my post. I just find you posting "bollywood tamasha" in almost every post as very unlike you. A top class poster doesn't need to do that.

I can't really stop you from posting your views obviously. I was just stating my opinion on these ridiculous arguments between you and the other posters.

kingusama92 said:
I can't really stop you from posting your views obviously. I was just stating my opinion on these ridiculous arguments between you and the other posters.

You are obviously a Bollywood fan - we've tussled in Timepass over this in the past. And thats your right.

You are correct - You can't stop me from posting my views.

Lets keep it that way!

You are obviously a Bollywood fan - we've tussled in Timepass over this in the past. And thats your right.

You are correct - You can't stop me from posting my views.

Lets keep it that way!

I am a bollywood fan but that's not the point.

Please remember I didn't just pick on you in my post. I slammed the Indian/IPL loving posters as well for their role in the arguments. There is no need for them to force their love for IPL down your throat either.

I was just asking both sides to stop the bickering.

Anyways enough of this... back to the actual innings.

It was a good knock but seriously the pitch was flat and the bowlers were mediocre. I can't come around to rate it highly at all.

Good for him that he smashed them to pieces cause you can only bat against what's bowled to you. Just don't expect me to get excited about it. :)

Top innings...don't care that it's domestic/club cricket..I had the joy of sitting through it and had he done it against Bangladesh or Zimbabwe for India in under 30 balls we'd still be fighting for Afridi's innings

nothing like seeing a player single-handedly go after the impossible...shame at the way it ended...nevertheless they could/will probably write a film about this innings (involving Matt Damon, Morgan Freeman and SRK)

kingusama92 said:
Good for him that he smashed them to pieces cause you can only bat against what's bowled to you. Just don't expect me to get excited about it. :)
There is nothing to rate.Just a one dimensional player.

Have they got rid of the 'DLF maximums' and 'Citi moments of success' ? Don't recall hearing any of those in the games so far.

RexRex said:
Have they got rid of the 'DLF maximums' and 'Citi moments of success' ? Don't recall hearing any of those in the games so far.
$urely that would be again$t the '$pirit' of IPL?

RexRex said:
They've toned down the ka-ching $$ factor.That ought to please you.

Only the realisation of my signature will 'please me'

I am not a Yousuf Pathan fan, but his inning was treat to watch. It really does not matter if the inning was international or domestic or Bollywood classic, it was a great inning to watch.

I just watched the actual innings and it really wasn't all that flash. I mean he does deserve credit for a really quick hundred, but he was useless against Malinga and Zaheer, I dont think he hit a single boundary off those two. And three or four of his sixes just landed beyond the boundary rope, or on one occasion, were caught by a fielder who accidently stepped on the boundary rope. So if he was on any other ground he would've been out about 6 times.

Ravi Shastri really is something though, he was commentating as if Yusuf's hits were the biggest hits he'd ever seen. Yusuf is more muscle, he will never compare to someone like Yuvraj for six hitting distance.

I thought Nazir's innings in ICL was great and it was appreciated like the best innings ever watched.

Anyway, I have not wached a single ball of Yusuf's innings, but 37 ball ton against any bowler is worth appreciation. Its even hard to do that in school cricket field.

Well done Yusuf. But you are still far from being considered as a batsman according to me :P

Poison said:
I just watched the actual innings and it really wasn't all that flash. I mean he does deserve credit for a really quick hundred, but he was useless against Malinga and Zaheer, I dont think he hit a single boundary off those two. And three or four of his sixes just landed beyond the boundary rope, or on one occasion, were caught by a fielder who accidently stepped on the boundary rope. So if he was on any other ground he would've been out about 6 times.

Ravi Shastri really is something though, he was commentating as if Yusuf's hits were the biggest hits he'd ever seen. Yusuf is more muscle, he will never compare to someone like Yuvraj for six hitting distance.

This isn't Pakistani bias btw, Its just my opinion and I think the opinion shared by most cricket watchers if they analysed his innings.

Really was a fantastic innings no matter who the bowlers were. Fact is that Pathan came in 4 down, needing 150 in a highly improbable 50 , and he had the self belief to attempt a win. I don't care whether it's pj cricket or not, for anybody to do something like this in any format is a sign of great talent. It's not as if it's a fluke either, because I've seen him to similar things in recent domestic games. He's not done it for India yet and that I suppose is his biggest challange.

Comparing this to Afridi's innings though is a pointless exercise because Afridi did it

a) In international cricket
b) Against WC winners
c) At a time when big hitting was not the norm. Back then, a very aggressive batsman would have a strike rate of about 70 in odis. Today this is far to slow. What Afridi did therefore was unprecedented and therefore far more significant.

Not to take away from Pathan though, because as I said, an outstanding innings none the less.

Garuda said:
I thought Nazir's innings in ICL was great and it was appreciated like the best innings ever watched.

Anyway, I have not wached a single ball of Yusuf's innings, but 37 ball ton against any bowler is worth appreciation. Its even hard to do that in school cricket field.

Well done Yusuf. But you are still far from being considered as a batsman according to me :P

Nazir's knock was good... Yusuf's knock was good. That's about it.

Smashing rubbish bowlers around is nothing to boast about. Credit to him for destroying the bowlers he faced but not too much should be made out of it. We all saw how Nazir's coped after coming back to real cricket.

kingusama92 said:
Nazir's knock was good... Yusuf's knock was good. That's about it.

Smashing rubbish bowlers around is nothing to boast about. Credit to him for destroying the bowlers he faced but not too much should be made out of it. We all saw how Nazir's coped after coming back to real cricket.

I completely agree with your view and may be you didn't get my sarcasm about Nazir statement.

I had seen so much appreciation for Nazir's innigs and equally bashing for Yusuf's.

In my PoV, both are just sloggers and both innings were just good and not special. So its biased when ppl bash one and claim other as class.

Nothing beats AFRIDI 100 of 37 balls and that too in a 50 overs game against a tough side of SRILANKA. No one thought in odis at that time this could be possible but our boy LALA did it so Yousuf 100 is nothing special. he is lion in his home only and take him outside his country he is a cat who always gets out early.......but still congrats for yousuf 100....

Lol, the cup of insecurity is overflowing. Even Indians, after seeing Yusuf's innings y'day, did not draw any direct comparions with Afridi (not that its a particularly wise thing to do. After all, Afridi's just a slogger, but an effective one at that). But right on queue, overzealous Pakistani fans have sprung to the defence of their beloved BEAAAAST! Relax people.. :)).. Nobody's trying to belittle the LEGACY of the all-powering BEAAAAAAAST ;-)

Reg. the innings itself, it is certainly a testament to the skill and hitting power of Yusuf. If only he can temper his short selection a little bit more, he can prove to be India's trump card in WC '11. However, there are still some serious reservations as to his ability to handle quick bowling in bouncy conditions. But for ODIs and T20s in the subcontinent, Yusuf's as definite asset.

:afridi made the record against Sri Lanka who were World Champions at that time. Murali was at his prime, Dharmasena, Sanath with those flat trajectory balls, Chaminda Vaas also in his prime. So, you simply can not compare these two innings.

As far as scoring quick is concerned I believe Taufeeq Umer blasted Indian bowlers to all parts of the ground in a practise game when Inida toured pakistan, but do we rate him as an aggressive batsman? Salman Butt has scored some very quick fire innings in domestic circuit, and if you are a regular poster you must know what most of the PP posters think about his inclusion in T20 squad.

Pathan played beautifully but to compare this innings with that of Afridi is a total disgrace as far as I am concerned. I believe he did the same thing in IPL 1st edition, but he couldn't break into Indian side in the T20 WC until the final when Sehwag got injured.

There is a big difference between domestic/IPL cricket and International Cricket, my friend. Hope you understand. ;-)

:127: :127: :afridi Hooooooooooooooo :afridi :127: :127:
Well said!!!! :14: :afridi

Only the realisation of my signature will 'please me'
Dont worry Oxy, that time is near, when ur signature will come true...................just a li bit of sabr

Yousuf:
Batsmen favouring pitch
Domestic T20 tournament
Low class bowlers(except for Malinga probably)
Small ground.
Dropped by many fielders at the boundary

Afridi
Good pitch
International ODI match
On Debut
Just Sixteen
Medium sized ground
Prime bowlers like Murali
Against then World Champions SL

it's a good a entertaining innings to watch and spectators must have thoroughly enjoyed it. There ends it's significance.

RexRex said:
They've toned down the ka-ching $$ factor.That ought to please you.

How have they? They keep advertising this stupid mobile phone IN BETWEEN DELIVERIES probably once an over. Absolutely ridiculous.

An interesting piece I came across in news:

Yusuf went from 15 off 14 balls to 69 off 25 against Mumbai by hitting 11 consecutive balls for 6,6,6,6,4,4,6,4,4,4 and 4.

BEASTLY!!!!
________
Marijuana medical

Mitchell Johnson and Yusuf were involved in a heated verbal altercation during a qualifier match of the Legends League Cricket between Bhilwara Kings and India Capitals at the Barkatullah Khan Stadium, Jodhpur on Sunday. The incident took place at the end of the 19th over of the BK innings after Johnson had dismissed Yusuf off the last ball of the over. Earlier in the over. Yusuf had hammered Johnson for 6, 4 and 6 off the first three balls; however, once Yusuf picked out the fielder at deep mid-wicket to lose his wicket is when things turned ugly.

Johnson was seen muttering a few words to Yusuf, who did not take kindly to whatever the former Australia quick had to say. Yusuf was not pleased and he walked up to Johnson to give him a reply but while he was at it, the chirping between the two went on. It reached a stage where the two former international cricketers came face-to-face almost running into each other. As Yusuf got too close, Johnson took exception to it and shoved the outgoing batter. The former India all-rounder did not back down there either and constantly had a go at Johnson verbals before the two were separated by the on-field umpire even as the fielders looked on.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55357;&#57000; &#55349;&#56334;&#55349;&#56325;&#55349;&#56325;&#55349;&#56328;&#55349;&#56322;&#55349;&#56328;&#55349;&#56320;&#55349;&#56331; &#55349;&#56338;&#55349;&#56339;&#55349;&#56320;&#55349;&#56339;&#55349;&#56324;&#55349;&#56332;&#55349;&#56324;&#55349;&#56333;&#55349;&#56339; &#55357;&#57000;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DPWorldILT20?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DPWorldILT20</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SoarHighDubai?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SoarHighDubai</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WeAreCapitals?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WeAreCapitals</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CapitalsUniverse?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CapitalsUniverse</a> <a href="https://t.co/KzzqWmOLWg">pic.twitter.com/KzzqWmOLWg</a></p>— Dubai Capitals (@Dubai_Capitals) <a href="https://twitter.com/Dubai_Capitals/status/1622142723854856193?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 5, 2023</a></blockquote>