Zahoor Elahi: A potential coach for Pakistan?

Rana

Hall of Famer
Congratulations to him for winning the Pakistan domestic tournament with Sialkot. I had a vague knowledge of him being the elder brother of Saleem Elahi (a lost gem of Pakistan cricket).

Listening to his views on TV, it seems like Zahoor Elahi was once a flamboyant style batter in his playing days who encourages natural flair and aggressive approach to batting.

I don’t think he should be fast tracked into Pakistan coaching leadership, but it seems he definitely deserves more prominence in leadership roles to develop his management skills of more senior players.

Are you sure it’s not manzoor elahi brother of saleem elahi? Saleem had a few consecutive 100’s against Zimbabwe and South Africa in 2003. Then nothing and flopped badly.

Mazoor was a bit unfortunate in the 1987 World Cup

Are you sure it’s not manzoor elahi brother of saleem elahi? Saleem had a few consecutive 100’s against Zimbabwe and South Africa in 2003. Then nothing and flopped badly.

It's zahoor elahi I remember him from the 90's to be fair he was pretty rubbish

Zahoor Elahi, Saleem Elahi and Manzoor Elahi are all brothers

Congratulations to him for winning the Pakistan domestic tournament with Sialkot. I had a vague knowledge of him being the elder brother of Saleem Elahi (a lost gem of Pakistan cricket).

Listening to his views on TV, it seems like Zahoor Elahi was once a flamboyant style batter in his playing days who encourages natural flair and aggressive approach to batting.

I don’t think he should be fast tracked into Pakistan coaching leadership, but it seems he definitely deserves more prominence in leadership roles to develop his management skills of more senior players.
Oh nahi bhai, we need misbah as our coach once again so that he may take Pakistan to new never before seen heights.

It's zahoor elahi I remember him from the 90's to be fair he was pretty rubbish
None of them were particularly good but if fan pages existed then they would be hyped to the moon. That’s why we should always reserve judgement

He’s been in the system for quite a decent amount of time. This video is 5 years old.

The thread so far has been no discussion on his coaching, and just a deciphering of wether it’s Zahoor or Manzoor, and if the Zahoor and Manzoor are brothers of Saleem :ROFLMAO:
Probably because nobody cares and perhaps most of us switched off when you referred to saleem as a gem. Those of us who saw him live know him as anything but.

I guess when these elahis do something of note then we will sit up and take notice.

Probably because nobody cares and perhaps most of us switched off when you referred to saleem as a gem. Those of us who saw him live know him as anything but.

I guess when these elahis do something of note then we will sit up and take notice.
Well, he had an ODI average of 36 in an era where 40 would be considered world class, and he also had a list A average of 50ish….that suggests he was a good batsman who didn’t really come through the way he should have. I don’t know, I feel this guy was a lot better than he is being made out by you.

Besides, it’s important to maybe give context when introducing unpopular, unknown coaches here by referring to who they may be. The Saleem Elahi reference is there for that reason.

The coach of Sialkot is Zahoor Elahi, and he deserves recognition.

Well, he had an ODI average of 36 in an era where 40 would be considered world class, and he also had a list A average of 50ish….that suggests he was a good batsman who didn’t really come through the way he should have. I don’t know, I feel this guy was a lot better than he is being made out by you.

Besides, it’s important to maybe give context when introducing unpopular, unknown coaches here by referring to who they may be. The Saleem Elahi reference is there for that reason.

The coach of Sialkot is Zahoor Elahi, and he deserves recognition.
Who has an average of 36?

You heard him speak and decided he was a flamboyant batter? Did you actually watch any of these Elahis play?

Did I decide he was????

Saleem did!
I thought you didn’t want to talk about his brothers. Saleem was an awful batsman. His 36 average was boosted by 3 consecutive 100’s against a weak Zimbabwe in 2003. He subsequently went to South Africa in the back of those I think made a 100 then flopped badly in the World Cup never to be seen again. Good riddance.

Pakistan cricket is filled with people like this. For the first few matches they look wonderful when they fill their boots on easy attacks on flat surfaces. Then their weakness are analysed and they can’t adapt or they cave in in difficult situations. You shouldn’t read too much into early performances. For every Saim Ayub there is a saleem Elahi or a nasir jamshed or that maqsood guy.

As for coaching, has this guy coached anything of note outside Pakistan. In Pakistan all you need is contacts and stick ability. If you hang around long enough you’ll be king. Doesn’t mean you’re good at anything.

I thought you didn’t want to talk about his brothers. Saleem was an awful batsman. His 36 average was boosted by 3 consecutive 100’s against a weak Zimbabwe in 2003. He subsequently went to South Africa in the back of those I think made a 100 then flopped badly in the World Cup never to be seen again. Good riddance.

Pakistan cricket is filled with people like this. For the first few matches they look wonderful when they fill their boots on easy attacks on flat surfaces. Then their weakness are analysed and they can’t adapt or they cave in in difficult situations. You shouldn’t read too much into early performances. For every Saim Ayub there is a saleem Elahi or a nasir jamshed or that maqsood guy.

As for coaching, has this guy coached anything of note outside Pakistan. In Pakistan all you need is contacts and stick ability. If you hang around long enough you’ll be king. Doesn’t mean you’re good at anything.

It’s Zahoor’s coaching we are talking about. I didn’t even know he’s a coach until I heard his interview. That’s why I brought it to everyone’s notice. It’s just to add more perspective and options. You don’t necessarily always look for players, it’s good to give shout outs to guys who are developing them too.

From what I understand, this guy has been grinding hard in the Pakistan domestics but it seems he isn’t getting the recognition he may deserve. That’s all it is.

He has a 135 against Pollock, Ntini and Donald. You can’t be an average player with that kind of performance against 3 solid bowlers. I’m going through his videos now, he was 100% a better batsman than Pakistan’s current number 4 Rizwan hahahahahahaha

You do realise nasir Jamshed has a 90 odd against starc Mitchell Johnson and pattinson. But anybody who saw that match knows it means nothing as the ball was wet with dew on a slow wicket under lights batting second. In Australia in subsequent matches he couldn’t hold a bat. Batsmen get found out. It’s the way it is. Saleem Elahi got found out. Feet in cement. At first they have a bit of novelty but later the opposition target them.

In 2003 Donald was finished. This was a match in Durban. The most Asian pitch in South Africa. Sometimes it’s not the amount of runs but how they are scored (and how somebody gets out).

Oh nahi bhai, we need misbah as our coach once again so that he may take Pakistan to new never before seen heights.

Insha'Allah that day too will come. But Aaqib is doing all the things from Misbah's playbook. Don't see criticizing him too much

Please stay on topic and stay relevant instead of making personal remarks.

Insha'Allah that day too will come. But Aaqib is doing all the things from Misbah's playbook. Don't see criticizing him too much
You would say that towards any succesful coach and shove Misbah's name into it.

We could revive Bradman from the dead and make him our coach and you'd still say Bradman is following in Misbah's footsteps.

Aqib and Misbah have zero correlation literally none when it comes to their strategies etc.

I remember you did this for shadab in IU taking away all his credit. I hate shadab's guts but even i would defend him from such nonsense allegations.

Aqib and Misbah have zero correlation literally none when it comes to their strategies etc.

Aaqib returned to the model of using 2 spinners at home in tests, same as Misbah. Both those spinners Sajid and Noman debuted under Misbah.

Aaqib continues to prefer Rizwan in opening for T20is.

Only the blind don't see the correlations.

Aaqib returned to the model of using 2 spinners at home in tests, same as Misbah. Both those spinners Sajid and Noman debuted under Misbah.

Only the blind don't see the correlations.

Yeah and hows that working out for you so far🤣🤣🤣.

Misbah didnt curate uae pitches. They were spin friendly fron the get go. Uae was not Pakistan's home. They had no control over what would be done in uae.

Yeah and hows that working out for you so far🤣🤣🤣.

Been amazing. Especially the partnership with Babar. Never forget the 152/0 win against India, it's our only one against them in WCs. He broke the streak and for that some of us are forever grateful.

Misbah didnt curate uae pitches. They were spin friendly fron the get go. Uae was not Pakistan's home. They had no control over what would be done in uae.

Fair enough. Atleast Misbah knew hwo to use horses for course. Aaqib could have used younger spinners rather than a 38 year old chacha. If Misbah selected someone like that, the highfive gang would never stop with criticism.

Been amazing. Especially the partnership with Babar. Never forget the 152/0 win against India, it's our only one against them in WCs. He broke the streak and for that some of us are forever grateful.

Fair enough. Atleast Misbah knew hwo to use horses for course. Aaqib could have used younger spinners rather than a 38 year old chacha. If Misbah selected someone like that, the highfive gang would never stop with criticism.

Yes very amazing, I loved the asia cup, Sa game, wc 2024, wc 2022 torture, keep it up

What relevance does age make when noman and sajid both took 10 fers twice? why would you want a younger spinner like zahid or abrar who goat mauled by england into next week. Zahid on thise very same pitches was getting badly butchered so much so that shan had to resort to only bowling sajid and noman and no one else.

Yes very amazing, I loved the asia cup, Sa game, wc 2024, wc 2022 torture, keep it up

If it was so torturous, why are still following Pakistan cricket. Do us all a favour and take a break till Rizwan's retirement.

What relevance does age make when noman and sajid both took 10 fers twice? why would you want a younger spinner like zahid or abrar who goat mauled by england into next week. Zahid on thise very same pitches was getting badly butchered so much so that shan had to resort to only bowling sajid and noman and no one else.

If Misbah did this you would've gone bonkers in creating new threads bashing him for not developing players and selecting his friends. Double standards much?

If it was so torturous, why are still following Pakistan cricket. Do us all a favour and take a break till Rizwan's retirement.

If Misbah did this you would've gone bonkers in creating new threads bashing him for not developing players and selecting his friends. Double standards much?

So you can predict the future 🤣🤣.

Reply in savak's threads to those games. Explain your voewpoint. No more diversions from you.

So you can predict the future 🤣🤣.

Reply in savak's threads to those games. Explain your voewpoint. No more diversions from you.

Yesterday I asked you twice which SA game you're referring to but you failed to answer. Now you want to divert the entire thread.

Thing is bro if you post in the relevant thread, chances are the posts won't be deleted. After I own you, it should be publicly visible.

Yesterday I asked you twice which SA game you're referring to but you failed to answer. Now you want to divert the entire thread.

Thing is bro if you post in the relevant thread, chances are the posts won't be deleted. After I own you, it should be publicly visible.
It's not possible for you to own me because anytime you've tried, I end up having field days on match threads and you come out and say

Chalo you had your field day today 🤣🤣.

It's not possible for you to own me because anytime you've tried, I end up having field days on match threads and you come out and say

Chalo you had your field day today 🤣🤣.

Those days have ended.

Guys, PLEASE, Stay on topic and talk about Zahoor Elahi topic only...No more irrelevant and personal stuff here