Zayn Malik reveals he's not Muslim anymore, leaves fans in shock

In my opinion, Muslims shouldn't bother who leaves or enters Islam. Sure, I can see the PR aspect of it but beyond that it should be a personal relationship between a Muslim and Allah.

Michael Jackson or Sinead O' Connor entering the religion doesn't make it better, just like this Zayn Malik or Javed Akhtar leaving the folds doesn't make it worse.

I repeat, people entering / leaving Christianity or other such converty religions doesn't become headlines and multi-page threads. So there is no reason why it should be so in this case.

By some and by billions of others who are Muslims as a great Muslim boxer.

I suspect these billions of people are the same who heap lavish praise on a Hashim Amla as if he's some sort of prophet, while equally good cricketers of the era like a Michael Clarke are treated more normally.

That is a complement to Muhammad Ali, if anything. Full marks for increasing his marketing potential and providing access to a section of the world's population who wouldn't have cared about boxing otherwise.

I suspect these billions of people are the same who heap lavish praise on a Hashim Amla as if he's some sort of prophet, while equally good cricketers of the era like a Michael Clarke are treated more normally.

That is a complement to Muhammad Ali, if anything. Full marks for increasing his marketing potential and providing access to a section of the world's population who wouldn't have cared about boxing otherwise.

Can't believe they go lavishing praise on the humility of Amla whilst they should be going gaga over the arm breaking threats of Michael Clarke. :virat

And do you really think Muslims would be such huge fans of Muhammad Ali had he gone to Vietnam and then become a mouthpiece for a hawkish US foreign policy? There was a bit more than marketing to it.

In my opinion, Muslims shouldn't bother who leaves or enters Islam. Sure, I can see the PR aspect of it but beyond that it should be a personal relationship between a Muslim and Allah.

Michael Jackson or Sinead O' Connor entering the religion doesn't make it better, just like this Zayn Malik or Javed Akhtar leaving the folds doesn't make it worse.

I repeat, people entering / leaving Christianity or other such converty religions doesn't become headlines and multi-page threads. So there is no reason why it should be so in this case.

Absolutely. Zayn is a pop star who happened to be a Pakistani Brit, like hundreds of others in this country, he is going to live his own life according to his own standards. This is something which is the right of every single person whether Muslim or not.

Can't believe they go lavishing praise on the humility of Amla whilst they should be going gaga over the arm breaking threats of Michael Clarke.

So the only reasons Muslims don't put Clarke on the same pedestal as Amla is because of a relatively minor verbal incident that occurred in the last bit of his career? No.

And do you really think Muslims would be such huge fans of Muhammad Ali had he gone to Vietnam and then become a mouthpiece for a hawkish US foreign policy? There was a bit more than marketing to it.

Yes, I believe they would have been fine with it as long as he converted to Islam in the end. The spin then would have been: "He saw the error of his ways and is now on the right path, etc. etc."

So the only reasons Muslims don't put Clarke on the same pedestal as Amla is because of a relatively minor verbal incident that occurred in the last bit of his career? No.

Yes, I believe they would have been fine with it as long as he converted to Islam in the end. The spin then would have been: "He saw the error of his ways and is now on the right path, etc. etc."

I take it we're talking character here and not his skills as a batsman? If you think Michael Clarke has carried himself with the same level of integrity and profressionalism as Amla, then that says more about you than anyone else.

As for the second point, you're speculating, Ali converted young, pre-vietnam war, so stop moving the goalposts. Would he still be as loved/respected had he gone to vietnam and subsequently supported a hawkish pro war US foreign policy?

I take it we're talking character here and not his skills as a batsman? If you think Michael Clarke has carried himself with the same level of integrity and profressionalism as Amla, then that says more about you than anyone else.

The only reason I brought up Clarke was because he is a contemporary to Amla, with similar batting acumen and cricketing success. Again, if integrity and character were the benchmarks, so many cricketers around the world qualify - yet move over to the cricket forum over the years, and you'll see fans be more touchy about Amla, even more so than South African fans. If you don't like Clarke, then others like Dravid and Sangakkara have had even more wholesome careers than Amla, displaying the highest levels of integrity and personality yet not many lose sleep over them.

The reason is obvious.

The only reason I brought up Clarke was because he is a contemporary to Amla, with similar batting acumen and cricketing success. Again, if integrity and character were the benchmarks, so many cricketers around the world qualify - yet move over to the cricket forum over the years, and you'll see fans be more touchy about Amla, even more so than South African fans. If you don't like Clarke, then others like Dravid and Sangakkara have had even more wholesome careers than Amla, displaying the highest levels of integrity and personality yet not many lose sleep over them.

The reason is obvious.

Some people like players more if they share religion because they have many thinga in common due to that, a whole lot more people like players more if they share nationality where more often than not there'll be less in common particularly in India. Logic isn't involved. You haven't answered the question about Muhammad Ali though, I wonder why :13:

Whatever suits him. It’s hard to forge your own path and reject something that you believed all your life. Unless you never believed in it, in which case the whole song and dance becomes inconsequential.

Some people like players more if they share religion because they have many thinga in common due to that, a whole lot more people like players more if they share nationality where more often than not there'll be less in common particularly in India. Logic isn't involved. You haven't answered the question about Muhammad Ali though, I wonder why :13:

Well, then that's reason enough. Why don't you say so the first time, rather than bringing Amla's character as the explicit reason, when I pointed out that many cricketers have worthy character and cricketing skills alike?

It’s very easy to understand. Indians like Indian players because they share something common, which is that they belong to the same country. Similarly, brown ppl cherish the successes of another brown person in a white, black, etc dominated country because they have something in common, which is their colour of skin. Similarly, Muslims like famous Muslims because they have something in common which is their religion. It’s a very humanistic feeling, to feel closer to those you share something in common. Them being good at something you like is just a bonus.

You're missing the point a bit, perhaps deliberately as you continue to ignore the question posed, would Ali be held in great esteem by not just Muslims, but also people of other faiths, if he went to Vietnam?

Was Zayn ever a Muslim? Or just a Muslim by name.

He said: 'I don’t believe you need to eat a certain meat that’s been prayed over a certain way, I don’t believe you need to read a prayer in a certain language five times a day.

'I don’t believe any of it. I just believe if you’re a good person everything is going to go right for you.'

He seems more intelligent then i thought he was... Alot of this is spot on most won't see this as they were born into this cult but from the outside its actually ridiculous

You're missing the point a bit, perhaps deliberately as you continue to ignore the question posed, would Ali be held in great esteem by not just Muslims, but also people of other faiths, if he went to Vietnam?

Of course he would. Basically everybody bar Ali in the American sporting world supported or at least didn't protest the Vietnam war and have been in the good books of Americans and the world.

I'd wager most Muslims of the day could hardly point Vietnam on the map anyway, and the only reason their hearts welled with pride at Muhammad Ali was because of his conversion to Islam, and nothing to do with a war that America fought - go figure.

Of course he would. Basically everybody bar Ali in the American sporting world supported or at least didn't protest the Vietnam war and have been in the good books of Americans and the world.

I'd wager most Muslims of the day could hardly point Vietnam on the map anyway, and the only reason their hearts welled with pride at Muhammad Ali was because of his conversion to Islam, and nothing to do with a war that America fought - go figure.

Nice, so you finally got around to answering questions.

Now the second part of it, let's say as you assume, he's still the champion of Muslims despite being this hawk who's gone to Vietnam, and then continues this attitude right upto his death& actively promotes the USA meddling around the world, so instead of saving POW's in Iraq through dialogue, he instead supports the bombing of Iraq/Afghanistan into the Stone Age?

Would he still be seen in the same light by Muslims?

Nice, so you finally got around to answering questions.

Of course, even if we're being entirely hypothetical...

Now the second part of it, let's say as you assume, he's still the champion of Muslims despite being this hawk who's gone to Vietnam, and then continues this attitude right upto his death& actively promotes the USA meddling around the world, so instead of saving POW's in Iraq through dialogue, he instead supports the bombing of Iraq/Afghanistan into the Stone Age?

Would he still be seen in the same light by Muslims?

...and this is even more hypothetical. At least Vietnam was a choice he was faced with during his life. Iraq/Afghanistan was well after his days in the limelight, and there is not much content online to know of his opinion one way or the other. IMO being a Muslim he would have opposed both invasions, and would therefore be seen in a good light by Muslims.

Not that others who supported or didn't comment on these invasions are seen in a bad light by Muslims of course, who among other things, continue migrating to the US everyday.

...and this is even more hypothetical. At least Vietnam was a choice he was faced with during his life. Iraq/Afghanistan was well after his days in the limelight, and there is not much content online to know of his opinion one way or the other. IMO being a Muslim he would have opposed both invasions, and would therefore be seen in a good light by Muslims.

Not that others who supported or didn't comment on these invasions are seen in a bad light by Muslims of course, who among other things, continue migrating to the US everyday.

One thing which seems to escape Islamophobe minds is that the Muslim world is a vast area with a large population. Not all of them think alike strangely enough. So just as you will get some who are crazy passionate about their faith, you will get others who are ambivalent, or downright hostile to it. Also you will get some who will curse the USA and others who will happily migrate there, something which seems to have created for you quite a lot of angst for some reason. It would be nice to stereotype people and fit them into a box and label them, but in the real world you will get Zayn Maliks and also King Khans, whether the boxing version or the PP one.

One thing which seems to escape Islamophobe minds is that the Muslim world is a vast area with a large population. Not all of them think alike strangely enough

True, Islam not monolithic

So just as you will get some who are crazy passionate about their faith, you will get others who are ambivalent, or downright hostile to it. Also you will get some who will curse the USA and others who will happily migrate there.

There are some who will curse USA _and_ migrate there. That is what probably causes the angst.

As I guessed no response from my sometime dependent.

True, Islam not monolithic

There are some who will curse USA _and_ migrate there. That is what probably causes the angst.

As I guessed no response from my sometime dependent.

I can't imagine any who curse the USA and migrate there although it's a big world, no doubt there will be examples somewhere. Can you think of any?

As for your somewhat dependent, give her a break yaar, she's your daughter. If mine says the sky is green and the grass is blue, I'll say ok most of the time. Why not?

Seems like the question is a bit of a hornets nest for you, it's ok, we all already know the answer. We're also familiar with the insecurity which brings out such feelings in you.

Oh Maria Sharapova, the hearts you broke :srt

Was Zayn ever a Muslim? Or just a Muslim by name.
Good question. There are so many muslims who dont even follow the most basics of Islam in the first place. I guess it is all in the heart.

The key for me is that do you feel guilty when you do something against your religion. If the answer is yes than there is still some religion left in you.

Seems like the question is a bit of a hornets nest for you, it's ok, we all already know the answer. We're also familiar with the insecurity which brings out such feelings in you.

Oh Maria Sharapova, the hearts you broke :srt

??

I answered your question with clarity. What has it got to do with my insecurities, an answer 'that you already know', Maria Sharapova, Tendulkar, or human hearts? ::J

The only person who needs to fade away into silent acknowledgement is you, but there is no shame in that: I closed my point literally and figuratively with a firm full stop and it is the end of the exchange whichever way you slice it. Comprendo?

I can't imagine any who curse the USA and migrate there although it's a big world, no doubt there will be examples somewhere. Can you think of any?

They migrate because of economics and hate because of politics/religion. I bet a good number who chant curse at political rallies in Islamic world, would migrate in heartbeat given the chance.

okay? There are so many Indians working in the gulf arab states and making a lot more money then they would back in india yet they still curse the countries they work in and hate Arabs and Muslims. A lot of these indian hypernationalists that curse arabs and muslims would move to there in a heartbeat if given a chance.

Forget the poor riff raff slum dogs, Michelin star Atul Kochhar was trying to get a foot hold in Dubai whilst bleating on like a hindutva bigot.

I asked you for any examples to back up your hunch, surely you could think of at least a couple who could fit the description?

Old enough to remember that the parents had specific crockery for non-muslims, usually the natives and stray cats.

Also I am ashamed to admit I supported Argentina in the Falklands War.

There were most likely American Muslims who secretly weren't too unhappy about 9/11 or as we don't say in the UK, 11/9.

Devilsadvocat was talking specifically about Muslim migrants to the US. Are you referring to the same?

Cap E Tan - There is a guy called Waheed Waleed Ahmed living in Foster rd or Foster Sq or is it Foster St, anyways he moved to New York via marriage and believe me when I say he hates the US. One example enough?

Foster whatever, Brooklyn, New York, he is about 5 foot 10, works on market stall, answers to the name of Wally. He has bad fashion sense, great moustache tho.

Yes I suppose one example is enough. In the same way we could assume Mexicans are indeed rapists as Trump claims, there must be at least one migrant who has raped a US citizen of fair complexion.

It's a Bollywood track from a film which has nothing to do with Islam apart from the two lead actors who happen to have Muslim names in the real life just like Zayn Bhai here.

lol no on social media a lot of nondesi muslims don't realize that and just assumed it had something to with Islam cause the song title has "Allah" in it.

They don't realize that Bollywood has a lot of middle eastern cultural influence.

Lyrics are pretty awesome. Pronounciafion not so.

But by far the best vocal on the main “Allah Duhai he” sentence

Singer Zayn Malik found a permanent spot on the trends' list since Wednesday night, courtesy her sister Safaa, who celebrated her 17th birthday last week. Safaa, just 17, got married to boyfriend Martin Tiser recently in a traditional nikkah and pictures from the close-knit ceremony have been shared by Zayn Malik's mother Trisha Malik on her social media profiles. "My baby girl's big day," she captioned Safaa Malik and Martin Tiser's wedding photos on Instagram. International tabloids like The Sun and Mail Online reported that the wedding took place at Zayn Malik's England home in Bradford. In the pictures, Safaa and Martin can be seen celebrating their big day with their family members, including Zayn's sisters Doniya, 28 and Waliyha, 21. Apart from Zayn Malik's parents father Yaser and mom Trisha, the groom's parents were also spotted in the wedding photos.

However, it didn't skip the Internet's notice that the 26-year-old singer, who is currently based in the US, wasn't in any of Safaa's wedding photos. The Sun also reported that Trisha is currently in high school. Soon after the pictures were posted on social media, netizens began criticising Safaa for getting married in her teenage years, prompting a disclaimer from Martin Tiser. The groom reportedly posted this note on his Instagram: "Thanks to all of you who support us. We so appreciate about that. But bullying us it's not good guys. Stop it Saffy reading all your comments," stated a report in Hindustan Times.

Meanwhile it appears that the comments' section has been disabled on the wedding photos posted by Trisha Malik.

Zayn Malik, best known for boy band One Direction, quit to pursue a solo career in music in 2015. Pillowtalk, his first single as an individual singer, released in 2016 and was a major hit. Last year, Zayn Malik featured in headlines for singing covers of Kailash Kher songs Teri Deewani and Allah Ke Bande. Zayn Malik had also trended a great deal for an Elle India interview, in which he said "Shah Rukh Khan always came across as slightly arrogant in the movies to me but when I met him in real life, he was so nice. He just completely changed my opinion of him."

https://www.ndtv.com/entertainment/...7th-birthday-2103425?pfrom=home-lateststories

Zayn Malik proved to be an adoring and supportive big brother recently after he came to the aid of his teenage sister Safaa.

According to reports, the former One Direction member splashed out £254,000 for a luxurious house for his baby sister, only a stone’s throw away from where the rest of his family resides in Bradford, West Yorks.

The new pad is almost identical to what he bought for his parents Trisha and Yaser Malik years ago during his initial One Direction days.

Safaa had tied the knot to her high school sweetheart Martin Tiser last year and gave birth to a daughter named Zaneyah earlier this year.

A sourced quoted by The Sun revealed that family’s reaction to their superstar brother’s kind gesture: “They are delighted by Zayn’s kindness.”

"He knew they needed their own place with a new baby but Safaa didn’t want to be too far away from her mum. So, buying a place in the same street was the ideal solution,” the insider added.

"They’ve got their independence but a support network on the doorstep if they need it,” they added.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/296594-za...afaas-aid-by-splurging-254000-on-her-new-home

Former One Direction singer Zayn Malik and US model Gigi Hadid have welcomed a "healthy and beautiful" baby girl.

Announcing the birth on Twitter, Malik, 27, shared a black-and-white picture of the baby girl's tiny hand clutching his finger.

He wrote alongside the image: "The love I feel for this tiny human is beyond my understanding."

Hadid, 25, confirmed she was expecting in April while appearing on the Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

She told the US chat show host that she and Malik were "happy and grateful for everyone's well wishes and support".

Zayn Malik denies assault of Gigi Hadid's mum Yolanda Hadid

Zayn Malik has "adamantly" denied assault of Gigi Hadid's mum, Yolanda Hadid.

The former One Direction singer told TMZ claims that he hit Yolanda Hadid are "false allegations".

Zayn Malik didn't directly address the allegations in a statement posted on Twitter, but he did ask for privacy and said he hoped for "healing for all involved".

Yolanda has not commented in public yet.

Gigi Hadid also asked for privacy for herself and their daughter in a separate statement given to E! News.

Zayn's statement to TMZ read: "I adamantly deny striking Yolanda Hadid and for the sake of my daughter I decline to give any further details and I hope that Yolanda will reconsider her false allegations and move towards healing these family issues in private."

In his post on Twitter, he wrote: "I had agreed not to contest claims arising from an argument I had with a family member of my partner's.

"Despite my efforts to restore us to a peaceful family environment that will allow for me to co-parent my daughter in a manner which she deserves, this has been 'leaked' to the press."

Zayn, 28, and Gigi, 26, started dating in 2015, and had their daughter Khai in 2020. TMZ reports they are no longer together.

In Gigi's statement, her representative said she is "solely focused on the best for Khai".

Newsbeat contacted Zayn, Yolanda and Gigi for a comment, but they haven't yet responded.

Via https://www.bbc.com/news/newsbeat-59087450

Ive read his interview, interestingly he believes in God but not in Hell. I wonder why .

Hell doesn’t feature in the Torah and Bible. The idea comes from Plato’s ‘Republic’. It got incorporated into Christianity. Dunno about Islam.

It's very much Integral to Islamic and I believe Jewish thought.

When Islam insists there is no compulsion in matters of faith then we can't force others to believe. There is a serious problem if believers of any faith worry about apostates or celebrate converts.

Oh I don’t know, surely everyone wants more people to achieve salvation?

However, there are also hadith where apostates are put to death, or which say that the blood of apostates and munafiq (hypocrites) is lawful. I much prefer your view, of course, but it isn't such a cut-and-dry issue.

Thing with Hadith is they are questionable. Even the great scholars can't agree on them so I prefer to listen to the Qur'an. Once spoke to the scholar Yusuf Estes who clarified that the death penalty is for those who after leaving Islam insult the Qur'an and the Holy Prophet(saw).

The reason is obvious.

Why Kane Williamson liked by everyone (almost)? He ain't muslim.. to me people likes nice guys.. be it a muslim/hindu/Christian it doesnt matter.. (know that was an old post but still)..

Thing with Hadith is they are questionable. Even the great scholars can't agree on them so I prefer to listen to the Qur'an. Once spoke to the scholar Yusuf Estes who clarified that the death penalty is for those who after leaving Islam insult the Qur'an and the Holy Prophet(saw).

I don't think that's a consensus view at all.

It also raises the question- why kill someone for insulting a book that some people revere, and a man that some people revere?

Coz it upsets people insulting their religious book. By all means feel free to reject it and disbelieve in it which is a basic human right. Even learned scholars argue over the authenticity of hadth's.

An historical thing maybe, from when the Muslims were in danger from the pagan kings? Maybe they needed everyone they could get?

Zayn Malik: Fans rejoice at ex-One Direction member's Urdu single

Zayn Malik's collaboration with popular Pakistani band Aur has given fans much to celebrate - with many psyched that the British singer is fluent in Urdu.

A remake of Aur's breakout hit Tu Hai Kahan features the ex-One Direction singer providing vocals in Urdu.

The original version of the song has more than 95m views though the remake, released last Friday, is fast catching up, with 3m views.

Malik said he was "incredibly humbled" when Aur reached out to him.

"I love the song and have brought some of myself to it. I hope people love what we've done," he said.

The 31-year-old was born in Bradford, England, but his father is a Pakistani immigrant to the UK.

The song was quick to gain fans online - with some social media users urging Malik to release "more Urdu songs please".

"Some languages just make you feel things... I hope [Zayn] does more fully Urdu songs," said one user on X.

Many Urdu speaking fans also celebrated the track, with one calling it a "gift for his fellow Pakistanis".

"Desi girls, wake up, Zayn Malik's one Urdu verse literally changed our lives," another X user chimed in.

Malik's music career began in 2010 as part of One Direction, a boy band formed on British TV music competition, The X Factor. He released his debut album, Mind of Mine, in 2016. A song in his 2021 album, Nobody is Listening, also included Urdu lyrics.

Aur, which comprises three members Ahad, Usama, and Raffey, said the collaboration shows that "music has no boundaries".

"We're taking Pakistani music global, and we can't wait for the world to vibe to our music," Aur said.

The Karachi-based band broke into Pakistan's music scene only in 2020, but have already proven a success in the region, with their music that blends R&B and hip hop elements.

BBC

His song is great actaully, hope he does more colabarations with Pak artists:

He said: 'I don’t believe you need to eat a certain meat that’s been prayed over a certain way, I don’t believe you need to read a prayer in a certain language five times a day.

'I don’t believe any of it. I just believe if you’re a good person everything is going to go right for you.'

He seems more intelligent then i thought he was... Alot of this is spot on most won't see this as they were born into this cult but from the outside its actually ridiculous
So you think belief of a person should supersede institution .

Yes Islam does not believe in forceful conversion. One cannot be forced to accept Islam.

Brother you are asking an ambiguous question. Unless you show the hadith , nothing can be said about it. In Islam evidence is very important.