Zeeshan Malik's performances watch after serving suspension due to violation of PCB's Anti-Corruption Code

Pakistan Cricket Board today provisionally suspended Zeeshan Malik of Northern Cricket Association under Article 4.7.1 of the PCB Anti-Corruption Code, which means he cannot take part in any cricket-related activity pending the investigation being carried out by PCB's Anti-Corruption Unit.

Article 4.7.1 read as: Where either: (a) the PCB decides to charge a Participant with an offence under this Anti-Corruption Code; or (b) the PCB considers that there are other exceptional circumstances relevant to a Participant (for example, where any relevant police authority has arrested and/or charged a Participant with an offence under any relevant criminal law in respect of facts or circumstances that may also constitute an offence under this Anti-Corruption Code), it shall have the discretion, in circumstances where it considers that the integrity of the sport could otherwise be seriously undermined, to Provisionally Suspend the Participant pending the Anti-Corruption Tribunal’s determination of whether he/she has committed an offence. Any decision to Provisionally Suspend the Participant will be communicated to the Participant in writing, with a copy sent at the same time to the ICC and, where applicable, the National Cricket Federation to which the Participant is affiliated.

As this is an ongoing investigation, the PCB will not make any further comments.

If it's true then RIP Zeeshan Malik's career under Rameez Tenure.

Typical dumb mistake must have been committed

Approached by a bookie but didn’t inform the authorities?

Lol, under Rameez every offence is a life ban as he will ensure you never get selected. Poor lad.

Typical dumb mistake must have been committed

Approached by a bookie but didn’t inform the authorities?

This does seem to be the most common.

Arre chalo yaar, kuch nahi hota attitude - and then minute your're banned. Immaturity.

No big deal, he’s probably got an offer from the US similar to the one Sohaib Maqsood and others were offered. $70k per year, free house, free car, US residency.

Im guessing some other player probably raised the issue against corrupt individual, and zeeshan has had contact with said individual but he did not report approach.

Not surprised, hes a typical pindi boy who are mostly naive and think they can get away with anything if they keep mum.

Also, he is way overage and this is a secret to all those who were part of the club circuit in pindi.

RIP to his career decent player &obviously not a stupid youngster either as he is a older then his said age, fact, ps Raja sb in reign so pakki chutti & (if found guilty) rightly so

Apparently, it's to do with Zeeshan not reporting an approach so I doubt he'd be given a life ban.

No big deal, he’s probably got an offer from the US similar to the one Sohaib Maqsood and others were offered. $70k per year, free house, free car, US residency.

It is a big deal if he's banned and can't play anywhere.

not reporting an approach shouldn't be equated to actual spot/match fixing

Sure punish him but this shouldn't be the end of him

A youtuber claimed that he is just a face for saving big players who are involved. Why would bookies approach a club player when international players are available?

I hope this isn't serious.

This lad was desperate to get a chance in domestic cricket and PSL and I hope he's not thrown it away.

A youtuber claimed that he is just a face for saving big players who are involved. Why would bookies approach a club player when international players are available?

thats the typical conspiracy theories that we have at mohalla level here :))

Anyone who is involved wont be saved.

thats the typical conspiracy theories that we have at mohalla level here :))

Anyone who is involved wont be saved.

I haven’t seem him play but I have seen Zeeshan’s name here on PP before. I hope he gets away. Let’s give kid a chance.

Nope no need to give chances here. If its a nonvreporting issue than 6 month ban with return to cricket allowed. If he spot fixed than destroy his career.

Hes not even a kid, hes literally a man who fudged his age quite alot

Pakistan player suspended for not reporting 'spot-fixing' approach to PCB

The PCB suspended the Northern Cricket Association player under Article 4.7.1 of its Anti-Corruption Code, which means he cannot take part in any cricket-related activity pending investigation.

A Pakistan U-19 player and first class batter Zeeshan Malik was on Thursday provisionally suspended by the Pakistan Cricket Board for not reporting a spot-fixing approach made during the just-concluded National T20 Championship.

The PCB suspended the Northern Cricket Association player under Article 4.7.1 of its Anti-Corruption Code, which means he cannot take part in any cricket-related activity pending investigation.

A PCB source confirmed that the Anti-Corruption Unit was investigating an incident of Malik being approached to spot-fix during the championship matches which he did not report immediately to the relevant authorities.

The National T20 Championship concluded in Lahore on Wednesday.

Only recently, Pakistan batsman Umar Akmal resumed his career after remaining suspended from all cricket activities since February 2020. Akmal had also not reported approaches made to him for spot-fixing during the Pakistan Super League.

Akmal also had to pay a fine of 4.2 million rupees to the PCB as part of the disciplinary action taken against him though the board had pushed for a three-year ban on him.

Malik, a talented young opener who appeared for Northern Punjab in the National Championship, was among the runs in a few games but his team lost in the semifinals.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/pakistan-player-suspended-for-not-reporting-spot-fixing-approach-to-pcb-101634207549146.html

I'm guessing he must be meeting PCB officials soon regarding his ban, rehab etc.

Hopefully he will be back playing cricket soon.

If he is guilty then its time we started waving these idiots good bye

you cannot treat a proven fixer and someone who did not report an approach, as same. Yes the ban should be in place for not reporting an approach but you cant say good bye forever to someone who didnt report the approach

If he is guilty then its time we started waving these idiots good bye

Well no proper details have been provided yet regarding what happened.

All we know is that he was banned for not reporting an approach. There could be a number of explanations for that.

you cannot treat a proven fixer and someone who did not report an approach, as same. Yes the ban should be in place for not reporting an approach but you cant say good bye forever to someone who didnt report the approach

If you don't report and approach then you are just as guilty especially as this is told to them from a young age. Sorry, but you have draw the line somewhere, these players are danday ki peer, they don't understand any other language..

Yes you are right that if you dont report you are somewhat responsible, but you cannt say that person is guilty.

For non reporting a 6-12 month first time ban is enough.

Yu cannt ban them on the assumption that they were fixing as it will be easily overturned in court

What pcb did with irfan, nawaz and co i fully agree with it but life time ban wont be given, you habe to be realistic here

Yes you are right that if you dont report you are somewhat responsible, but you cannt say that person is guilty.

For non reporting a 6-12 month first time ban is enough.

Yu cannt ban them on the assumption that they were fixing as it will be easily overturned in court

What pcb did with irfan, nawaz and co i fully agree with it but life time ban wont be given, you habe to be realistic here

It's enough if the guys aren't warned by the PCB but they are and there comes a time when enough is enough. This rubbish has been an issue since the early 1990s if not earlier( Safraz Nawaz made allegations against Miandad in the 87 WC). You can't just warn people, action has to come. Anyone failing to report has to be banned for at least 3 years and banned from franchise cricket for 5.

It's not that easy to report, the fixers, bookies etc are powerfully connected

Northern’s top-order batter Zeeshan Malik was suspended on 14 October 2021 for breaching the PCB Anti-Corruption Code. On 18 November 2021, he was issued a notice of charge under Article 2.4.4* of the PCB Anti-Corruption Code, while on 18 November 2021 he pleaded guilty as charged.

On 31 December 2021, both the PCB and Zeeshan Malik, in accordance with PCB Anti-Corruption Code Article 5.1.12**, reached consensus on the agreed sanction of the imposition of a three months’ period of ineligibility from the date of his suspension (14 October 2021).

As such, Zeeshan Malik’s three-month suspension ended on Wednesday (13 January 2022).

However, and as part of his return to competitive cricket, Zeeshan Malik is undergoing a rehabilitation programme that has been designed by the PCB Security and Anti-Corruption Department.

In this regard, Zeeshan Malik has issued the following statement:

“I offer my sincere apologies to all my colleagues, fellow cricketers and supporters for my inability to follow the PCB Anti-Corruption Code. Although I did not benefit from the approach, it was my complete failure to report the approach despite attending a number of anti-corruption lectures, and was rightly suspended from competitive cricket.

“While I ask for forgiveness, I strongly urge and request all cricketers to be aware of the corruptors, be alert of the ways they approach and immediately report such instances to the PCB Security and Anti-Corruption Department to ensure their reputation remains intact and they are not sidelined from this great game.

“In the past three months, I have missed cricket badly, which is very close to my heart. But in these three months, I have also learnt to be more vigilant and cautious as there are people out there who will sacrifice innocent people for their own gains and benefits.

“I hope all my friends, colleagues and coaches will forgive me, and accept me back into cricket wholeheartedly.”

Zeeshan Malik will now attend and deliver lectures on the PCB Anti-Corruption Code and will also participate in integration sessions with the local sides before being allowed to resume competitive cricket.

It's not that easy to report, the fixers, bookies etc are powerfully connected

In a lawless society like Pakistan no body is safe I repeat literally no one is safe from criminals
example killing of strong political figures such as benazir, killing of senior beurocrates and even higher officials from police and army.

I can understand if some one wants to stay silent and just want to carry on with the normal life!!!

In decision making these factors need to be considered

A note especially for drawing room experts sitting in PCB and ICC.

Northern’s top-order batter Zeeshan Malik was suspended on 14 October 2021 for breaching the PCB Anti-Corruption Code. On 18 November 2021, he was issued a notice of charge under Article 2.4.4* of the PCB Anti-Corruption Code, while on 18 November 2021 he pleaded guilty as charged.

On 31 December 2021, both the PCB and Zeeshan Malik, in accordance with PCB Anti-Corruption Code Article 5.1.12**, reached consensus on the agreed sanction of the imposition of a three months’ period of ineligibility from the date of his suspension (14 October 2021).

As such, Zeeshan Malik’s three-month suspension ended on Wednesday (13 January 2022).

However, and as part of his return to competitive cricket, Zeeshan Malik is undergoing a rehabilitation programme that has been designed by the PCB Security and Anti-Corruption Department.

In this regard, Zeeshan Malik has issued the following statement:

“I offer my sincere apologies to all my colleagues, fellow cricketers and supporters for my inability to follow the PCB Anti-Corruption Code. Although I did not benefit from the approach, it was my complete failure to report the approach despite attending a number of anti-corruption lectures, and was rightly suspended from competitive cricket.

“While I ask for forgiveness, I strongly urge and request all cricketers to be aware of the corruptors, be alert of the ways they approach and immediately report such instances to the PCB Security and Anti-Corruption Department to ensure their reputation remains intact and they are not sidelined from this great game.

“In the past three months, I have missed cricket badly, which is very close to my heart. But in these three months, I have also learnt to be more vigilant and cautious as there are people out there who will sacrifice innocent people for their own gains and benefits.

“I hope all my friends, colleagues and coaches will forgive me, and accept me back into cricket wholeheartedly.”

Zeeshan Malik will now attend and deliver lectures on the PCB Anti-Corruption Code and will also participate in integration sessions with the local sides before being allowed to resume competitive cricket.

Good comeback from Zeeshan

On Day 3 of Round 4 of QeA Trophy 2023/24

For Rawalpindi, Zeeshan Malik, who returned undefeated on 60 last evening, added 48 runs to his overnight score. Zeeshan struck 15 fours off 173 balls faced.