Zimbabwe Head Coach Lalchand Rajput pulls out of tour of Pakistan after advice by Indian Embassy

Zimbabwe Player Elton Chigumbura comments on Pakistan tour and absence of the Head Coach Lalchand Rajput

“It’s good to be back in Pakistan. 5 years ago, everyone was a bit scared but the way we were hosted last time made us feel better. So far, everyone is comfortable. After our first training session, we’re looking forward to the matches.

“Nothing’s going to change (because the coach isn’t there). We’re under the assistant coach and the values of the team are the same. It’s just a matter of us as players carrying on and implementing what he put across to us, and of course, he’ll be tuned to what we’re doing in Pakistan.”

Zimbabwe Player Elton Chigumbura comments on Pakistan tour and absence of the Head Coach Lalchand Rajput

“It’s good to be back in Pakistan. 5 years ago, everyone was a bit scared but the way we were hosted last time made us feel better. So far, everyone is comfortable. After our first training session, we’re looking forward to the matches.

“Nothing’s going to change (because the coach isn’t there). We’re under the assistant coach and the values of the team are the same. It’s just a matter of us as players carrying on and implementing what he put across to us, and of course, he’ll be tuned to what we’re doing in Pakistan.”

Wonderful. Remote working is the way to go in this situation.

Ofcourse, he and his family wont be safe in pakistan. There is a reason why so many people withdraw from pakistan tours.

I don't think his family too is part of Zimbabwe national team.....wow......it's amazing i haven't seen that before.....is it true or you are out of our mind.....:vk1

Ofcourse, he and his family wont be safe in pakistan. There is a reason why so many people withdraw from pakistan tours.

And so many ppl and players and umpires including late Deano and Sir Viv toured.....I hope Rajpoot is not agr8er figure than Viv or Deano

So you measure someone’s worth and how much safe they would feel based on their status? What a childish response

Ofcourse depends the remote is in whose hands BCCI INDIAN EMBASSY OR RAJPOOT ...:ua

Typing in bold letters and just sarcasm will not change the ground realities. No indian citizen would step foot in Pakistan in current situation between the two countries.
What is the desperation of him being there. His team is there enjoy their visit. Koi zabardasti hai kya nahi travel karna usko. Zimbabwe does not seem to have any problems.

Typing in bold letters and just sarcasm will not change the ground realities. No indian citizen would step foot in Pakistan in current situation between the two countries.
What is the desperation of him being there. His team is there enjoy their visit. Koi zabardasti hai kya nahi travel karna usko. Zimbabwe does not seem to have any problems.
Moreover Zimbabwe is here to play cricket serious cricket .....yes enjoy the food and hospitality too.....but it's secondary...
They R NOT HERE TO ENJOYY

There is no desperation at all as you say either way Zimbabwe is gong to get beat. Its the best way for him to keep his job he must have seen the hiding coming.

When was the last time situation between India and Pakistan normal? :inti

So you measure someone’s worth and how much safe they would feel based on their status? What a childish response

Your friend gave a lame response......that many people withdraw from Pak tours.....I have just giving him some names illustrous names of ppl who visited....and enjoyed here......it's ur problem if you find my response childish.....I suggest u move on to some adult forum

What is the desperation of him working outside India....should stick to domestics

Your friend gave a lame response......that many people withdraw from Pak tours.....I have just giving him some names illustrous names of ppl who visited....and enjoyed here......it's ur problem if you find my response childish.....I suggest u move on to some adult forum

Ever heard about 'glass half empty half full' thing? Joshila bhai is actually looking at empty glass currently. He has the list of people who haven't toured Pakistan but he is completely ignoring those who toured. He wants to make fun of Pakistan not being able to host international cricket but is forgetting that even India is also uncertain to host international series in India currently. I thought global pandemic would have brought some sense into these arrogant souls but it seems they will never learn. :inti

You should not post such ignorant comments without knowing or asking people and just make assumptions on internet. Did you ask me if have ever toured Pakistan before assuming things.
If you look at Hoshiarpur on map it is 100km approximately from Lahore. My grandfather lived in Lahore pre-partition and I have visit there in 2002,2004 and 2005. Our ancestral home was still there back then on the outskirts villages in ruins.
But in current situation I will not visit and no Indian citizen would dare to visit. Same applies for rajpoot. And same applies for a Pakistani citizen for coming to India.
You don’t visit your long lost family until the fight is resolved right?

What is the desperation of him working outside India....should stick to domestics
Why shouldn’t he? Is going to Pakistan a mandatory part of his contract when Zimbabwe hired him.
Eoin Morgan is already laying ground work to not tour and Mushfiqur also did not tour. Should they be sacked as well?

You should not post such ignorant comments without knowing or asking people and just make assumptions on internet. Did you ask me if have ever toured Pakistan before assuming things.
If you look at Hoshiarpur on map it is 100km approximately from Lahore. My grandfather lived in Lahore pre-partition and I have visit there in 2002,2004 and 2005. Our ancestral home was still there back then on the outskirts villages in ruins.
But in current situation I will not visit and no Indian citizen would dare to visit. Same applies for rajpoot. And same applies for a Pakistani citizen for coming to India.
You don’t visit your long lost family until the fight is resolved right?

You come up with some lame responses just like your joshila buddy. Last time I checked Kartarpur is on the other side of the border. If the issue is not resolved why are sikhs from India keep visting that place? Those who want to visit Pakistan will visit it anyway. If there is anyone who should be worried about travelling to another neighbouring country then it should be Pakistanis because of anti muslims sentiments currently going on in India. :inti

(Reuters) - Cricket-starved fans in Pakistan would ordinarily turn out in droves to cheer on their team, but the limited-overs series with Zimbabwe starting on Friday will be a subdued affair as the games take place behind closed-doors in a ‘bio-bubble’ designed to keep players separated from the public.

Pakistan are already well-versed with COVID-19 protocols from their recent tour of England, but it will be something new for Zimbabwe to contend with during the three one-day internationals (ODI) and three Twenty20 internationals in Rawalpindi between Oct. 30 and Nov. 10.

Anticipating that health measures – including quarantines and weekly testing – will become standard for future tours, Zimbabwe’s head coach Lalchand Rajput wants his players to embrace cricket’s new paradigm.

“We’ve got to get used to it,” the Indian national told Reuters from Harare, opting not to tour Pakistan after a diplomatic request from the local Indian embassy.

It will make it easier when we play the next team – easier because of the experience.”

As participants in the International Cricket Council’s new qualification competition for the next 50-over World Cup in 2023, both teams will be playing for their first Super League points during the ODI matches.

Rajput believes that makes now the right time to bring young players into his aging squad.

“We are going to try and push some youngsters into the team,” he said, describing how valuable it is for rookie batsmen Wesley Madhevere and Milton Shumba, both 20, to share the dressing room with seasoned veterans such as Brendan Taylor and Sikandar Raza.

It will make it easier when we play the next team – easier because of the experience.”

As participants in the International Cricket Council’s new qualification competition for the next 50-over World Cup in 2023, both teams will be playing for their first Super League points during the ODI matches.

Rajput believes that makes now the right time to bring young players into his aging squad.

“We are going to try and push some youngsters into the team,” he said, describing how valuable it is for rookie batsmen Wesley Madhevere and Milton Shumba, both 20, to share the dressing room with seasoned veterans such as Brendan Taylor and Sikandar Raza.

Seems happy - from afar....

===

MUMBAI: He could not be with his boys in their hour of glory, but Zimbabwe coach Lalchand Rajput thoroughly enjoyed his team scoring a thrilling upset win over Pakistan in the third and final ODI in Rawalpindi on Tuesday.

Speedster Blessing Muzarabani took five for 49 and then scalped two more wickets in the Super Over to help Zimbabwe score a stunning over Pakistan - their first since 2015. It was Zimbabwe's first win over Pakistan on the latter's home turf in the last 22 years. Pakistan had already clinched the three-match ODI series, having won the earlier two games.

"It's a great feeling to beat Pakistan on their home ground. The players believed that they could cross the line, which we couldn't do in the first ODI, where we lost by 26 runs. Sean Williams scored a superb hundred, and he was well-supported by Brendon Taylor 56 and Sikander Raza (45 off 36 balls) and young Wesley Madhevere (33 off 31 balls). We did well to score 278 for six. Muzarabani bowled superbly, and he was backed up well by Richard Ngarava and Donald Tiripano. The 10 ODI championship points that we've gained from this win will definitely boost our confidence going into the T20 Internationals," Rajput, a former India batsman, told TOI on Tuesday.

Zimbabwe now play Pakistan in a three-match T20I series, starting on Saturday in Rawalpindi. In a high-scoring match, the 24-year old Muzarabani's two wickets in the Super Over ensured that Pakistan could only manage two runs. Earlier, a fine century by his teammate Sean Williams (118 not out, 135b, 13x4, 1x6) helped Zimbabwe to a formidable score. For Pakistan, 20-year-old fast bowler Muhammad Hasnain impressed, taking five for 26.

Pakistan lost captain Babar Azam (125, 125b, 13x4, 1x6), who played a captain's knock, stroking his 12th ODI hundred, in the 49th over. Babar succumbed to a sharp, rising ball from Muzarabani. They needed to get 13 off the final over. A four off the last ball by tailender Muhammd Musa off Ngarava led to the match being tied in regulation play.

Zimbabwe had reduced Pakistan to 20 for three, and then 151 for six, before Babar and Wahab Riaz (52 off 56 balls) fought back with a century-stand for the seventh wicket. However, Wahab fell at 251 in the 47th over and Pakistan lost two wickets in the penultimate over to give Zimbabwe a rare win.

Earlier, Zimbabwe made a great recovery after being three down for 22 as Hasnain dismissed captain Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine and Brian Chari in quick succession. The experienced duo of Brendon Taylor (56) and Williams then teamed up for an 84-runs partnership.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...re-win-over-pakistan/articleshow/79035170.cms