Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto's death anniversary : The man who saved Pakistan after the 1971 breakup

boomboomcheema

First Class Star
zulfikar-ali-bhutto-the-man-who-saved-pakistan-after-the-1971-breakup-1491286586-1944.jpg

On April 4th, every year we pay tribute to Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, a visionary restless soul, with rigorous patriotism and excellent communication skills that gave birth to Pakistan’s largest political party, The People’s Party on a convention held in Lahore on November 30-December 01, 1967. It all started when Bhutto sahab left the government of Ayub Khan on June 16, 1966 claiming to get rid of dictatorship which had adversely affected the nation’s pride at the negotiation table at Tashkent the war.

Bhutto strongly believed in promoting democracy. He worked hard rigorously until he came up with a team that could take country to new heights while facing adverse challenges against the most powerful dictator of those times, Ayub Khan. It was during the same convention when Bhutto was made the chairman of Pakistan People’s Party. The new party had its manifesto as Islam our religion; democracy our policy; socialism our economy; with the main chant of democracy being power lies with the people.

Other than dictatorship, there were other menaces such as feudalism hovering over the country’s progress. Bhutto promised to free nation from orthodox beliefs. He started a movement against Ayub Khan. Bhutto diffused his agenda throughout the country. It started to strengthen the party’s roots and overwhelming response appeared from the masses. Uproar began against the government and Ayub Khan was forced left, right and centre to resign. He, therefore, resigned in 1967 and elections were announced by an interim military government which had taken the charge until new government was formed.

Leading towards the elections, People's Party contested elections steadfastly and won 81 seats out of 138 allocated to West Pakistan in the National Assembly. Huge support from the masses appeared. The major hubs were the provinces of Sindh and Punjab where PPP won many seats. Since not much time had been given for this infant party to spread its wings, therefore, it couldn’t field its candidates in East Pakistan. On the whole, PPP acquired second position to East Pakistan-based Awami League. The military establishment didn’t allow passing of powers to Awami League which had won majority in the national legislature. This gave rise to heinous problems and conflicts and eventually Indian military meddled into the matter and East Pakistan was lost and emerged as an independent nation on the map of the world by the name of Bangladesh. This brings me to what I believe is the feather in ZAB’s cap as the saviour of Pakistan after 1971 breakup.

Amidst bevy of ups and downs, People’s Party was privileged to rule from Dec. 20, 1971 to July 5, 1977. During its tenure, PPP endlessly devoted its efforts to create a versatile future for the people of Pakistan. Bulk of strategies aiming at the welfare of masses had been carved. It was Bhutto sahab’s masterly stroke of statesmanship that despite being the leader of a thoroughly defeated nation he cleverly negotiated with victorious Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi and signed an agreement with her at Simla that has given peace to the two countries for 45 years to date.

The most important constitution of Pakistan, the constitution of 1973, was parliamentary in nature and was legislated under the Bhutto regime. As a student of history and politics I believe the 1973 Constitution was his most astounding achievement. It resolved the divisive issue of the quantum of autonomy for the province in the light of Quaid-e-Azam’s assertion that in Pakistan federating units would have more autonomy than the states in the United States of America. It is no denying the fact that the 1973 has proved to be strongest binding force keeping provinces united—more powerful than the religion itself.

In the year 1977, Bhutto called for elections; the opposition parties merged into one political party naming “National Alliance (PNA)” which then came eye to eye to contest elections. Despite big names being attached, PNA couldn’t leave a mark and thus lost to PPP which won 155 seats.

Democracy has been always haunted by the dictators in Pakistan. It was in the time of Bhutto when General Ziaul Haq imposed martial law and seized powers on July 5, 1977. The services rendered by Bhutto are written in golden words. He was a man with vision and vigour who drove the nation through the darkest of times and led them towards a path of prosperity, progress and democracy.

Bhutto, the roaring lion was put behind bars under the accusation of murder charge by the martial law regime. Several movements were held; rallies were conducted to free Bhutto and attain justice. The Bhutto family went through a trivial phase and this perforated further into adverse conditions when Bhutto’s death was announced. He was judicially murdered.

http://nation.com.pk/blogs/04-Apr-2...man-who-saved-pakistan-after-the-1971-breakup

That's when Zia completely took over the country and it's fall started.

View attachment 73455

On April 4th, every year we pay tribute to Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, a visionary restless soul, with rigorous patriotism and excellent communication skills that gave birth to Pakistan’s largest political party, The People’s Party on a convention held in Lahore on November 30-December 01, 1967. It all started when Bhutto sahab left the government of Ayub Khan on June 16, 1966 claiming to get rid of dictatorship which had adversely affected the nation’s pride at the negotiation table at Tashkent the war.

Bhutto strongly believed in promoting democracy. He worked hard rigorously until he came up with a team that could take country to new heights while facing adverse challenges against the most powerful dictator of those times, Ayub Khan. It was during the same convention when Bhutto was made the chairman of Pakistan People’s Party. The new party had its manifesto as Islam our religion; democracy our policy; socialism our economy; with the main chant of democracy being power lies with the people.

Other than dictatorship, there were other menaces such as feudalism hovering over the country’s progress. Bhutto promised to free nation from orthodox beliefs. He started a movement against Ayub Khan. Bhutto diffused his agenda throughout the country. It started to strengthen the party’s roots and overwhelming response appeared from the masses. Uproar began against the government and Ayub Khan was forced left, right and centre to resign. He, therefore, resigned in 1967 and elections were announced by an interim military government which had taken the charge until new government was formed.

Leading towards the elections, People's Party contested elections steadfastly and won 81 seats out of 138 allocated to West Pakistan in the National Assembly. Huge support from the masses appeared. The major hubs were the provinces of Sindh and Punjab where PPP won many seats. Since not much time had been given for this infant party to spread its wings, therefore, it couldn’t field its candidates in East Pakistan. On the whole, PPP acquired second position to East Pakistan-based Awami League. The military establishment didn’t allow passing of powers to Awami League which had won majority in the national legislature. This gave rise to heinous problems and conflicts and eventually Indian military meddled into the matter and East Pakistan was lost and emerged as an independent nation on the map of the world by the name of Bangladesh. This brings me to what I believe is the feather in ZAB’s cap as the saviour of Pakistan after 1971 breakup.

Amidst bevy of ups and downs, People’s Party was privileged to rule from Dec. 20, 1971 to July 5, 1977. During its tenure, PPP endlessly devoted its efforts to create a versatile future for the people of Pakistan. Bulk of strategies aiming at the welfare of masses had been carved. It was Bhutto sahab’s masterly stroke of statesmanship that despite being the leader of a thoroughly defeated nation he cleverly negotiated with victorious Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi and signed an agreement with her at Simla that has given peace to the two countries for 45 years to date.

The most important constitution of Pakistan, the constitution of 1973, was parliamentary in nature and was legislated under the Bhutto regime. As a student of history and politics I believe the 1973 Constitution was his most astounding achievement. It resolved the divisive issue of the quantum of autonomy for the province in the light of Quaid-e-Azam’s assertion that in Pakistan federating units would have more autonomy than the states in the United States of America. It is no denying the fact that the 1973 has proved to be strongest binding force keeping provinces united—more powerful than the religion itself.

In the year 1977, Bhutto called for elections; the opposition parties merged into one political party naming “National Alliance (PNA)” which then came eye to eye to contest elections. Despite big names being attached, PNA couldn’t leave a mark and thus lost to PPP which won 155 seats.

Democracy has been always haunted by the dictators in Pakistan. It was in the time of Bhutto when General Ziaul Haq imposed martial law and seized powers on July 5, 1977. The services rendered by Bhutto are written in golden words. He was a man with vision and vigour who drove the nation through the darkest of times and led them towards a path of prosperity, progress and democracy.

Bhutto, the roaring lion was put behind bars under the accusation of murder charge by the martial law regime. Several movements were held; rallies were conducted to free Bhutto and attain justice. The Bhutto family went through a trivial phase and this perforated further into adverse conditions when Bhutto’s death was announced. He was judicially murdered.

http://nation.com.pk/blogs/04-Apr-2...man-who-saved-pakistan-after-the-1971-breakup

He caused it after denying Mujeeb the mandate he deserved. Nationalized and crippled everything from which we are still suffering today.

Also started the extreme Islamisation process that has ruined our country.

He is also responsible why Pakistan has nukes today, without which the survival of the country would have been impossible with all friends neighbors around it.

Can't ignore his contribution in developing Pakistan into a secure state.

He is also responsible why Pakistan has nukes today, without which the survival of the country would have been impossible with all friends neighbors around it.

Can't ignore his contribution in developing Pakistan into a secure state.

We would have got nukes anyway, every leader since him made sure that process was never interrupted regardless of political situations.

Pakistan could have been United today if not for his greed to hold onto power at any cost.

Bhutto helped break the country up in the first place.

ZAB conspired to retain power through the Legal Framework Order at the expense of Mujibur Rehman who won the 1970 elections. The Order was kept vague to make sure a deadlock can be achieved in the assemblies and hence weaken Mujib's power. ZAB also threatened to break the legs of any member who attended the following session of the National Assembly.

And who can forget the infamous comment 'Hum yahan tum wahan'.

Bhooki piyaasi awaam leken koi masla nahi Bhutto tou ab bhi zinda hai

JEAAY BHUTTO!

Kal bhi Bhutto Zinda tha Aaj bhi Bhutto zinda hai!

Kitnay Bhutto maaro gey har ghar se Bhutto nikley ga!!

Charoon sooboon ki zanjeer Benazir Benazir!!

Qadam barhao Bilawal, Hum tumharay Saath hain!

Aik Zardari sab pe bhaari!

Pakistan Khappay!! JEAAY BHUTTO!!!

It is a fact that the leaders of PPP have been cruel, corrupt leaders and they have not done justice to the legend of Bhutto Sb. He was always a great leader and will always by remembered as one. Before I go on to speak of his accomplishments and services to the country, I want to say something to the naysayers. The people who blame Bhutto Sb for the loss of East Pakistan need to realise that the creation of Bangladesh was always inevitable. It was just such an unnatural relationship, such an unnatural connection. The only thing the two provinces shared was their religious beliefs.

With a distance of thousands of miles with your enemy country in between, anything could do us apart. And to think of it now, it was good for both sides that Pakistan and Bangladesh are sovereign states now. We had different languages, different heroes, different legends, different cultures, different traditions, heck, we didn't even know what people from the other province looked like!

People will talk of how the British Empire survived despite being all over the world. However, they don't account for a few things, the British Empire was old and had a long history and Great Britain was an established country, in fact the superpower. Even then it came to an end.

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto did the right thing even if you go by the belief of him being greedy and not giving power to Mujib. The 1970 elections were fair and there was no rigging. Mujib won fairly. Clear as crystal. However, there was one problem, East Pakistan would not have only provincial autonomy but also their own currency, own ties with other countries and their own army - according to Mujib-ur-Rahman's six points. Now, you tell me, what was the need for calling it East Pakistan anymore? Why have this stupid formality? Why not accept the reality that these two were not meant to be and that West Pakistan and East Pakistan deserved to be sovereign countries as Pakistan and Bangladesh?

The loss of lives in East Pakistan was very unfortunate however and I seriously condemn that but lets not forget, that again was not the fault of Bhutto Sb. The army was responsible for that. We all know that only a simulacrum of democracy exists in Pakistan and that the Armed forces have always played a major role, in fact the main role in the country's foreign affairs and decisions.

Bhutto helped the country move forward in a lot of ways but his greatest gift will be the Atomic Bomb. No other leader would have been able to do that no matter how much we call for it. Zia Ul Haq was an American puppet disguised as an Islamic leader and would have never done anything to displease America. Or even do anything that would pose competition to the American Govt. And had we not gained Atomic power, Pakistan would long ago have been destroyed.

Bhutto was the first person who helped us gain an identity around the world. He was proud Pakistani unlike most of our leaders after him. Even the current ones. The way they bog down to Western powers is an absolute embarrassment. I remember that when Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto went to the US, John F. Kennedy during his speech at the White House said to Bhutto Sb, "You don't know you are standing in the greatest building of America", Bhutto Sb replied with a smile, "Unfortunately you don't know that the greatest building of America is under my feet". Now this goes on to speak so much of the man. Had this been any of our current leaders, they would have silently nodded their heads and agreed. Not Bhutto Sb.

Even his speech at the UN against injustice was and to this day is commendable. You can hate the man, you can hate the personality but you cannot deny that he taught us not to be victims to tyranny and injustice. He taught us to stick to our identity and have respect for the nation, for the Chaand Sitara and not let anyone speak against the sovereign state of Pakistan.

In case anyone is concerned, I do not support PPP so there is obviously no bias. I recognize all the faults in the future politicians after Bhutto Sb but all their corruption should not tarnish the image of Bhutto. A true leader.

He was a very stylish personality for his era, much better than any of the current Pakistani leaders.

one should need to read the history,
first break the country, thn try to save it, what a "Saviour" he was .....

It is a fact that the leaders of PPP have been cruel, corrupt leaders and they have not done justice to the legend of Bhutto Sb. He was always a great leader and will always by remembered as one. Before I go on to speak of his accomplishments and services to the country, I want to say something to the naysayers. The people who blame Bhutto Sb for the loss of East Pakistan need to realise that the creation of Bangladesh was always inevitable. It was just such an unnatural relationship, such an unnatural connection. The only thing the two provinces shared was their religious beliefs.

With a distance of thousands of miles with your enemy country in between, anything could do us apart. And to think of it now, it was good for both sides that Pakistan and Bangladesh are sovereign states now. We had different languages, different heroes, different legends, different cultures, different traditions, heck, we didn't even know what people from the other province looked like!

People will talk of how the British Empire survived despite being all over the world. However, they don't account for a few things, the British Empire was old and had a long history and Great Britain was an established country, in fact the superpower. Even then it came to an end.

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto did the right thing even if you go by the belief of him being greedy and not giving power to Mujib. The 1970 elections were fair and there was no rigging. Mujib won fairly. Clear as crystal. However, there was one problem, East Pakistan would not have only provincial autonomy but also their own currency, own ties with other countries and their own army - according to Mujib-ur-Rahman's six points. Now, you tell me, what was the need for calling it East Pakistan anymore? Why have this stupid formality? Why not accept the reality that these two were not meant to be and that West Pakistan and East Pakistan deserved to be sovereign countries as Pakistan and Bangladesh?

The loss of lives in East Pakistan was very unfortunate however and I seriously condemn that but lets not forget, that again was not the fault of Bhutto Sb. The army was responsible for that. We all know that only a simulacrum of democracy exists in Pakistan and that the Armed forces have always played a major role, in fact the main role in the country's foreign affairs and decisions.

Bhutto helped the country move forward in a lot of ways but his greatest gift will be the Atomic Bomb. No other leader would have been able to do that no matter how much we call for it. Zia Ul Haq was an American puppet disguised as an Islamic leader and would have never done anything to displease America. Or even do anything that would pose competition to the American Govt. And had we not gained Atomic power, Pakistan would long ago have been destroyed.

Bhutto was the first person who helped us gain an identity around the world. He was proud Pakistani unlike most of our leaders after him. Even the current ones. The way they bog down to Western powers is an absolute embarrassment. I remember that when Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto went to the US, John F. Kennedy during his speech at the White House said to Bhutto Sb, "You don't know you are standing in the greatest building of America", Bhutto Sb replied with a smile, "Unfortunately you don't know that the greatest building of America is under my feet". Now this goes on to speak so much of the man. Had this been any of our current leaders, they would have silently nodded their heads and agreed. Not Bhutto Sb.

Even his speech at the UN against injustice was and to this day is commendable. You can hate the man, you can hate the personality but you cannot deny that he taught us not to be victims to tyranny and injustice. He taught us to stick to our identity and have respect for the nation, for the Chaand Sitara and not let anyone speak against the sovereign state of Pakistan.

In case anyone is concerned, I do not support PPP so there is obviously no bias. I recognize all the faults in the future politicians after Bhutto Sb but all their corruption should not tarnish the image of Bhutto. A true leader.

Good post but I disagree.

It doesn't matter what Mujeeb did or didn't do, Bhutto had no right to deny someone their mandate. No point shifting the blame to the Army, Bhutto's action played part in the biggest national humiliation suffered by our country. Just because Army was partly to blame too does not absolve him from his actions. Bhutto also nationalised everything and crippled our economy. Actions which are still reverberated today. He also started the extreme Islamisation process, which Zia expanded with devastating consequences.

Talking back to the Western leaders counts for nothing, all his actions (fully or partly) had a very adverse affect on our nation. You're a very good poster so I know you're not a blind jiyala supporter but with respect, I disagree.

Good post but I disagree.

It doesn't matter what Mujeeb did or didn't do, Bhutto had no right to deny someone their mandate. No point shifting the blame to the Army, Bhutto's action played part in the biggest national humiliation suffered by our country. Just because Army was partly to blame too does not absolve him from his actions. Bhutto also nationalised everything and crippled our economy. Actions which are still reverberated today. He also started the extreme Islamisation process, which Zia expanded with devastating consequences.

Talking back to the Western leaders counts for nothing, all his actions (fully or partly) had a very adverse affect on our nation.

You have the right to your opinion and I completely respect that. In fact you propose some very good points. Personally, I myself am against nationalization and I believe privatization is the way to go however, in my opinion, I think at the time of Bhutto Sb, nationalization was vital. He nationalized approximately 31 major industrial megacorporations, industrial units and enterprises, under direct management control of the government under 10 different categories of basic industries. Now, these were important companies that played a huge role in the well being of not only the economy but also the country.

Also, I believe he had a personal motive in garnering votes of the working class by forming trade unions. However, that was also important considering how the poor workers were exploited by owners and managers in these factories and companies.

As for the Islamization, as far as I remember, Bhutto was a liberal. It was after him, in the Zia regime that things got bad, Bhutto never allied with Saudi's or bring in new laws that directly promoted Islamization. I understand what you're getting at though. Yes, in the 73 Constitution Bhutto did make it compulsory for the president of Pakistan to be Muslim and even I am not a fan of this. However, the fact is, at that time it was feared the major political parties like the Jamaat E Islami and Muslim league along with other religious groups would host nation wide protests and that there would be a lot of damage within the country if this was not made a compulsion. Muslims and Muslim leaders of that time (and still too) believed that Pakistan would lose its purpose. Pakistan was a country made for Muslims. Solely Muslims. Sure, non Muslims could live here and they didn't have a problem with that but they didn't want to be governed by non Muslims after years of Hindu and British Governments. Also, it was feared that India was trying to get links into the Govt. so this was another reason.

You're a very good poster so I know you're not a blind jiyala supporter but with respect, I disagree.

Thanks man. Feel the same way about you!

Its ironic that he saved Pakistan army and in return Pakistan army hanged him :facepalm:

Bhutto was murdered before i was born so i am no expert but based on what i have read, watched and observed i think he was undoubtedly one of our best leaders. I use the same lense to judge him as i do for Imran Khan. He was honest, educated, competent leader who had his own faults, made some blunders but overall his intentions were right, his direction was right but couldn't achieve what he was capable of because of a greedy dictator.

if
its true that he broke the Pakistan
then
he is the greatest Pakistani ever lived.

Considering
- He had no govt position at that time
- He would need time machine so that West Pakistan start exploiting East Pakistan as early as 1947.
- He would have to force army dictators to treat eat pakistani as non-Pakistan

===============================
The narrative that Bhutto broke Pakistan is beyond childish

the idea of east Pakistan as a separate country was present even in 1956.

He was no savior. Pakistan broke up because of him. True leaders are one that unite people - not divide them.

Are we handing out prizes for fixing problems that you yourself created?

I'm surprised that the nationalization of railways, pia and steel mills hasn't come up yet considering all 3 are falling apart at the speed of light.

He caused it after denying Mujeeb the mandate he deserved. Nationalized and crippled everything from which we are still suffering today.

I find it interesting the way some Pakistani's go around saying that Mujeeb deserved to be the head of state, but no one bothers to read his controversial 6 points.

Mujeeb contested the election basically on breaking up the country with his 6 points in which he wanted his province to have its own currency.

And this 6 points came because of Yahyah not Bhutto. Yahya's Govt didn't bother to provide proper aid when the 1970 cyclone hit east Pakistan, thus the 6 points were contested by Mujib.

From the article:
Bhutto continued in the authoritarian trend of previous leaders, he was intolerant of opposition dissent and introduced draconian laws like the High Treason Act which weakened civil society.

We often hear of Bhutto's charisma and rhetorical eloquence yet was prone to inflammatory and downright abusive language - either regarding Sindhis and Muhajirs which helped to provoke ethnic riots, regarding Bengalis.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rv0gepnjRCg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

POTW!

This is what i never understood.

Many so called akalmand Pakistani's will go on about how Mujib deserved to be PM, but no one bothers to read those controversial 6 points, people dont even know how those 6 points came(it was after when Yahyahs govt ignored East pakistan during the cyclone, it was like the final nail in the coffin)

and yet people will harp about what Bhutto did. Bhutto did negotiate it with Mujib regarding the 6 points, but Mujib was too sturbborn and was not gonna give in, thus Bhutto was well in his place.

I find it interesting the way some Pakistani's go around saying that Mujeeb deserved to be the head of state, but no one bothers to read his controversial 6 points.

Mujeeb contested the election basically on breaking up the country with his 6 points in which he wanted his province to have its own currency.

And this 6 points came because of Yahyah not Bhutto. Yahya's Govt didn't bother to provide proper aid when the 1970 cyclone hit east Pakistan, thus the 6 points were contested by Mujib.

I agree with your second line actually. But I still disagree with a lot of his other actions. Benazir would have done well had she not been poisoned with Zardari.

POTW!

Many so called akalmand Pakistani's will go on about how Mujib deserved to be PM, but no one bothers to read those controversial 6 points, people dont even know how those 6 points came(it was after when Yahyahs govt ignored East pakistan during the cyclone, it was like the final nail in the coffin)

and yet people will harp about what Bhutto did. Bhutto did negotiate it with Mujib regarding the 6 points, but Mujib was too sturbborn and was not gonna give in, thus Bhutto was well in his place.

Mujeeb did not deserve to be PM but neither did Bhutto. The election and everything was a farce.

I agree with your second line actually. But I still disagree with a lot of his other actions. Benazir would have done well had she not been poisoned with Zardari.

PMLN and that Fake Sheikh Rasheed would had created hurdles for Benazir like they did before, they would had never allowed her to strive just like they did in the past

PMLN tried and failed, I know about the low tactics they stooped to. She was the last real popular leader of PPP, Bilawal has a chance and from what I have heard is an honest kid. His father is the real problem.

Bilalwal is liked by the PPP fans.

But he is often made fun of by opposition fans for the way he speaks and all

POTW!

Thanks man. And that's exactly where the ignorance lies, Mujib's Six Points were with an extremely aggressive approach and it would only lead to West Pakistan suffering - maybe even worse than what East Pakistan had suffered over the years because of Mujib's anger. I don't mean to be disrespectful to anyone's heroes but there is no denying in the fact that Mujib had started to hate West Pakistan with a passion. And it is still evident with his daughter, Hasina.

So, like I said, we can't blame Bhutto for the creation of Bangladesh because it was such an unnatural relationship waiting to be broken. One province would have always suffered at the hands of the other.

What a nonsense article. Pure fiction, and most of the atrocities of Bhutto have been covered in this thread already, thus saving my time.

Bhutto contributed to the break up of Pakistan by refusing to co operate with Mujib and leading to the genocide in Bangladesh had he not been so erratic maybe it would have not resulted in genocide in Bangladesh . Employed draconian measures in Sindh and Balochistan. He also started the Islamisation of the country by starting with Ordinance XX and the official start of state persecution of Ahmadis a community that was wholly supportive of the Pakistan movement unlike Jamatis.

Also the guy used to preach about Pan Islamism when he was a drunkard.

Just a joke tbh.