‘Agla IPL Pakistan mein hoga’ Umar Akmal goofs up while promoting PSL

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 66.667%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/48g6y/qcpkdp" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>
Pakistan Super League moved to Pakistan after first 26 matches were played in UAE. The next eight matches, starting with Islamabad United taking on Lahore Qalandars on Saturday, moved to Pakistan. The eight matches – four in the league stages and four in the playoffs, including the final, will be played in Karachi.

Umar Akmal of Quetta Gladiators was promoting PSL on social media through a video but goofed up big time. The 28-year-old made a big mistake while promoting the league.

“Zaahir si baat hai Quetta ki team Karachi aayi hui hai aur hum apne home ground pe khel rahe hai, aur crowd jitna bhi support karega humari team ko, team utna accha perform karegi. Aur crowd issi tarike se har team ko support karega toh agla IPL (corrects), sorry PSL yahi pe hoga [It is obvious that with Quetta at home in Karachi, we will be banking on our home support. As many people come out and support us, the better our team will perform. If the crowd continues to support us like this then the next IPL, sorry PSL, will be played here only],” he said.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...eague-psl-ipl-umar-akmal-watch-video-5619231/

Never been the sharpest tool in the shed. Thick as.... :uakmal

Expected Freudian slip.

Our players still rue missing out on IPL in all these years, thanks to the bravado of PCB.

Most, if not all of our players would happily give up their PSL contracts to play in the IPL.

The latter is a different beast altogether - it is the highest form of T20I cricket along with the WT20.

Didn’t he do the opposite once?

He once called the IPL the PSL on Twitter.

Expected Freudian slip.

Our players still rue missing out on IPL in all these years, thanks to the bravado of PCB.

Most, if not all of our players would happily give up their PSL contracts to play in the IPL.

The latter is a different beast altogether - it is the highest form of T20I cricket along with the WT20.

get lost with that mindset!

unless you have real evidence to back it up, don't go making false claims ... fake news

Umar Akmal is a goof, no surprise in above video

Expected Freudian slip.

What happened to you boycotting PSL this year? Seemed very active on match thread.

Mistakes happen but as one of the stars in PSL and then with the current India-Pak tension and the fact that Pakistani players are even banned from participating in IPL, this is quite an embarrassing mistake.

Otherwise even Imran Khan in numerous interviews was talking about PCL (yes PCL) even when the interviewer mentioned PSL. Anyone else picked up on this?

Expected Freudian slip.

Yeah if you're a sellout, and people like that we dont want or need anyway

Expected Freudian slip.

Hypothetically speaking, even if Pakistani players were allowed to play in the IPL, there is no way the IPL franchises will pay them any where close to b the Salaries being paid to the Indian players ie $1.5-2-2.5 m per season.

Even the major foreign players are kept on a tight leash by the franchises and they still go the IPL for $300,000-$500,000 per season

Hypothetically speaking, even if Pakistani players were allowed to play in the IPL, there is no way the IPL franchises will pay them any where close to b the Salaries being paid to the Indian players ie $1.5-2-2.5 m per season.

Even the major foreign players are kept on a tight leash by the franchises and they still go the IPL for $300,000-$500,000 per season

Tbh it must be great to have 1.5 to 2 millions dollars per season. but it just seems excessive. I dont think anybody needs that much money just for playing a season of t20. Look at the amount the other foreigners are paid in IPL $300-$500k and that is alot of money for such short time period of t20. Our players make much less, but it's more than enough. I dont know why some professionals are getting that much when they dont need it or deserve it

You really think the Indians would invite Pakistani players in the IPL?

Even the beloved Wasim Akram was asked to leave a few years ago. Can’t fathom how that’s PCB’s fault.

Expected Freudian slip.

No, not everyone of them can get above ine crore PKR in IPL, even. They are getting more here plus an opportunity to get into national squad, looks like you think pak player can get 5 to 10 crores there which is impossible. Another thing I see people do not watch IPL yhat much now in pak, off the topic but my observation last year.

Tbh it must be great to have 1.5 to 2 millions dollars per season. but it just seems excessive. I dont think anybody needs that much money just for playing a season of t20. Look at the amount the other foreigners are paid in IPL $300-$500k and that is alot of money for such short time period of t20. Our players make much less, but it's more than enough. I dont know why some professionals are getting that much when they dont need it or deserve it

Hopefully the PSL grows to the point where they start offering comparable salaries

Yes I hope our economy and PSL grow to be comparable, but i still dont think anyone needs or deserves $1-$2 million for just a season of t20.

The money is determined by the market value, not by how much money they need. No one is satisfied by having just enough money to fulfill their basic needs.

If anything, the money in cricket is a lot lower than in other sports.

It looks funny. But it's a small mistake bing highlighted. If it was someone else apart from umar Alma we wouldn't have noticed.

Even without playing that clip you can see him and he looks half drunk in the picture. I don't even need to play the video to hear what he's said.

Umar Akmal, never change. :))

Expected Freudian slip.

A domestic league is the highest form of T20 Internationals. Just want to make sure I read that right.

The money is determined by the market value, not by how much money they need. No one is satisfied by having just enough money to fulfill their basic needs.

If anything, the money in cricket is a lot lower than in other sports.

I understand that money in cricket is lower than other sports and I feel even stronger about the basketball players getting 30 million a year. I think that the money generated by these organizations should be used for things that would help others.

Umar Akmal, never change. :))

A domestic league is the highest form of T20 Internationals. Just want to make sure I read that right.

The IPL is the WSC of T20 cricket. A tournament where the vast majority of the best T20 players in the world play together.

Similar to how the WSC was better than actual Test cricket of that time, the IPL is also better than bilateral T20I cricket where teams tend to rest their main players quite frequently.

The WT20 is the only T20 tournament that can match the pool of players the IPL has at its disposal.

You really think the Indians would invite Pakistani players in the IPL?

Even the beloved Wasim Akram was asked to leave a few years ago. Can’t fathom how that’s PCB’s fault.

Pakistani players would have eventually been ousted anyway, but PCB’s bravado ensured that it happened a few years earlier than it should have, and unfortunately, the players had to pay the price for it.

No, not everyone of them can get above ine crore PKR in IPL, even. They are getting more here plus an opportunity to get into national squad, looks like you think pak player can get 5 to 10 crores there which is impossible. Another thing I see people do not watch IPL yhat much now in pak, off the topic but my observation last year.

Players like Afridi, Malik, Amir, Hafeez, Ajmal, Umar etc. would have bagged hefty contracts for at least the first few seasons, and you can imagine the wealth they would have been able to accumulate.

Someone like Amir would have definitely been picked by a franchise after his rise in 2009-10. One could argue that with an IPL under his belt, he may not have been swayed by the prospect of spot-fixing in international cricket.

Even Tanvir would have played for a couple of more seasons at least based on his heroics in the first season.

The rising tensions between Pakistan and India would have resulted in an eventual snub anyway, but PCB’s tactics accelerated that snub.

Our players would have definitely featured regularly for the first 4-5 seasons at least, which would have been life changing money for some.

They would actually earn more than other foreign players of their caliber because of the market that they bring.

After India, Pakistan is the biggest market in cricket, and our players would have benefited from our cricket watching population tuning in to watch IPL. Many people do it anyway, but without our players getting snubbed, they would have been more mainstream.

Its a good thing our players are banned in the ipl, the element of surprise worked in our favor in the CT 2017.

Such an unnecessary conversation. Slip of the tongue. Nothing to see here. Move on.

A small mistake. Hardly worth a thread. Like another poster said, if it was someone else who said, no one would bat an eyelid. Move on. However, with that being said, it would have made more sense for him to redo it, just like in a tv show if someone messes up their lines, they film it again.

No harm in a bit of friendly banter.