‘Switch off lights, light candles at 9 pm on Sunday’: PM Modi's message to India

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday said that the support shown by the people of the country in making the fight against coronavirus disease a success is unprecedented. He also hailed the efforts put in by different state governments and local administration to make 21-day lockdown a success.

“The lockdown completes nine days today. The discipline and service you showed during this period is unprecedented. People and administration have successfully tried to ensure this routine is followed,” PM Modi said in his 11-minute-long video message on Friday morning.

“The way you came out to thank coronavirus warriors on March 22 set an example for the world. It showed the country can fight the battle against Covid-19 together,” he added.

The Prime Minister also gave a pep talk to people, urging them to keep fighting the deadly disease.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...-and-a-task/story-wVnVcLWRHxMbGvug52UhBO.html

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday urged people to “challenge the darkness” of the coronavirus by lighting a lamp, torch or mobile flashlight on Sunday.

“This Sunday, April 5, we will challenge the darkness of coronavirus threat together. On April 5, at 9 pm, I need your nine minutes. At 9 pm, turn off all the lights in your houses and light a diya (lamp), candle, torch or flashlight for nine minutes at your doors, or balcony,” PM Modi said in a video message.

The Prime Minister, however, said that social distancing should be followed and people should not form groups while lighting the lamps. He also urged people to stay indoors.

He had asked people to take the measures put in place by the government seriously after violations during the Janta Curfew. Many people had come out on the roads during the self-imposed curfew on March 22.

In Nagpur, the police took action against 878 persons for various violations. The owners of 35 establishments were booked for keeping them open despite lockdown orders, police said.

There were reports of violation from Hyderabad too. “Some people are coming to see how the city looks. This is not good. They should remain in their homes and spend time creatively with their families,” Cyberabad Police Commissioner VC Sajjanar said on Sunday.

A few cars and taxis were seen on roads in some cities in West Bengal.

The Prime Minister had asked people to thank those at the forefront of the fight against Covid-19 - like doctors, nurses etc - by either clapping or ringing bells. But videos circulated on social media platforms showed people using the opportunity to come out in groups and following PM Modi’s advice, thereby clearly violating the principle of social distancing.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...ground-rule/story-yydLLACCPMDnuj8D8vnUhK.html

Congress leader P Chidambaram on Friday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi to “listen to” people and announce measures to arrest the economic slide cause by Covid-19 outbreak. Reacting to Prime Minister’s video message, he said that symbolism is important but serious thought to measures is needed.

“Dear [MENTION=140582]Naren[/MENTION]dramodi, we will listen to you and light diyas on April 5. But, in return, please listen to us and to the wise counsel of epidemiologists and economists. Every working man and woman, from business person to daily wage earner, also expected you to announce steps to arrest the economic slide and re-start the engines of economic growth,” Chidambaram said on Twitter

“The people are disappointed on both counts. Symbolism is important, but serious thought to ideas and measures is equally important,” he further said in another other tweet.

Earlier, fellow Congress leader and Member of Parliament from Thiruvananthapuram Shashi Tharoor said the Prime Minister’s video message lacks vision of future.

“Listened to the Pradhan Showman. Nothing about how to ease people’s pain, their burdens, their financial anxieties. No vision of the future or sharing the issues he is weighing in deciding about the post-lockdown. Just a feel-good moment curated by India’s Photo-Op Prime Minister,” Tharoor said on Twitter.

In his 11-minute video message, PM Modi appreciated the discipline shown by people in making the 21-day lockdown to fight Covid-19 a success. He also urged countrymen to switch off lights at 9 pm on Sunday and light a lamp or torch to “challenge the darkness of coronavirus”.

The Prime Minister also gave a pep talk to people, urging them to keep fighting the deadly disease.

India is expected to remain under complete lockdown until mid-April in a bid to stop the rapidly spreading coronavirus outbreak that’s infected more than 2,000 people with deaths climbing to 72.

As part of its preparations to exit the lockdown, PM Modi asked chief ministers on Thursday to formulate staggered plan, according to a government statement.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...deo-message/story-fMpiHDTbEecubzPY3y20nI.html

This is way too much nautanki now. First the claps at 5 PM which our janta interpreted in a completely wrong way and now this.

Now watch people lighting fireworks in large groups. :facepalm:

Fitting that a nation whose primary culture comes from bollywood, has a prime minister who provides leadership through song and dance.

Modi is better than 99% Bollywood actors when it comes to acting..
Bhakt ******* will see this as another masterstroke by their master.

[MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION]
There is absolutely nothing nautanki about it. If people of India are gawaar and interprete claps on Janata curfew day the wrong way, not much Modi can do. In UK also, people clapped and made noise using vessels to show support of medical workers. Not once but they did twice, one just last night. I dont see people being negative there, or opposition is questioning about falling economy etc.

Thing is we Indians have developed a habbit of negative propaganda. During Janata Curfew day, many liberals were mocking Modi in social media saying he thinks clapping is a vaccine for Coronavirus.

This virus is the biggest disaster on earth since WW2 and people are being forced to be jailed at home. Govt of every country is trying to entertain or motivate its citizens every possible way it can. Lets not see any poltics here.

[MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION]
There is absolutely nothing nautanki about it. If people of India are gawaar and interprete claps on Janata curfew day the wrong way, not much Modi can do. In UK also, people clapped and made noise using vessels to show support of medical workers. Not once but they did twice, one just last night. I dont see people being negative there, or opposition is questioning about falling economy etc.

Thing is we Indians have developed a habbit of negative propaganda. During Janata Curfew day, many liberals were mocking Modi in social media saying he thinks clapping is a vaccine for Coronavirus.

This virus is the biggest disaster on earth since WW2 and people are being forced to be jailed at home. Govt of every country is trying to entertain or motivate its citizens every possible way it can. Lets not see any poltics here.

What's your opinion on this? :inti

“Listened to the Pradhan Showman. Nothing about how to ease people’s pain, their burdens, their financial anxieties. No vision of the future or sharing the issues he is weighing in deciding about the post-lockdown. Just a feel-good moment curated by India’s Photo-Op Prime Minister,” Tharoor said on Twitter.

What an idiot.

Eagerly awaiting 'that' NASA satellite photo of India on Sunday night.

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION]

Nobody is or at least I'm not doubting his intentions behind these. As you said, the problem lies with our gawar janta who'll surely take this in the wrong way and that can undo all the good that came out of this lockdown. You'd have surely seen people coming out in large number during that clapping thing not following social distancing at all , not wearing masks and all. Now this Diwali thing is a step even further. He should have just talked about stage 3 and it's impact and on those TJ morons , but this is just stupid.

What's your opinion on this? :inti

Needless rant bro but expected from someone like Tharoor. Another one for you:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is no accident: the PM spoke on Ram Navami at 9 am for 9 mins, asked us to light diyas & candles on 5/4 at 9 pm for 9 mins. He is invoking all the auspicious elements Hinduism associates with number 9. Back to Ram Bharose?! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> must be more serious than we thought!</p>— Shashi Tharoor (@ShashiTharoor) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShashiTharoor/status/1245972858905300993?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

See bhakts have even identified science behind this idiocy,

PM’s numerology
1. Came at 9:00 am
2. Speech for 9 mins
3. Date 5th April i.e. 5+4=9
4. At 9:00 pm for 9 mins
5. 9 days of lockdown today
6. 9 days will be left on 5th April

5 Apr (5+4) = 9*
9* pm
9* Mins
9* number is Mars (मंगल)

Light, Fire = Mars

Modi ji Activating energy of planet.

Also

5+4=9, 9 pm, 9 mins.
3 multiplied by 9 = 27 i.e. 2+7 = 9.
Navgruha aaradhana means pleasing the nine planets to save life.

*सब का मंगल हो*

....radar, clouds, plastic surgery, lord Ganesha....

Must say we are going very well in science for last 6 years....

When Modi asked people to clap,it was the same reaction.

Then UK did the same and we didnt hear a squeak.

Now he is rallying people with this effort and the same people are criticizing.

Thing is Modi is getting more support them criticism.

I will give the PM credit for saying these words, whether they mean anything or not: You are not alone. At this moment, thousands do feel alone, immobile, without community, without active help. The words may mean nothing but they still comfort, when spoken.

This clown who'll be instantly picked up by any buffoon-seeking device has sent the power engineers of India into a tizzy at the prospect of sudden drop in power followed by a sudden surge.

West Bengal has already run into losses worth thousands of crores of rupees due to the ongoing lockdown, chief minister Mamata Banerjee said on Friday, but asserted that she took pride in the fact that her government still managed to credit the salaries of employees on time.

She said the state government has disbursed an amount of Rs 35,10,200 towards social pension for a period of two months.

“Do you have any idea how much we have lost in these few days of lockdown? Several thousand crores.... We have no earning, but only burning,” Banerjee told reporters at the state secretariat.

“Ours is the only government which has paid salaries on the first day of the month. What will they (employees) eat otherwise?” she said.

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo said there are many states, which do not owe a heavy debt to the Centre like West Bengal, but have emptied their treasuries during the lockdown.

“There are many states that do not need to repay a debt of Rs 50,000 crore like us, yet their treasuries are empty. There are several states who could not pay the full salary to employees...a few paid only 40 per cent...I can take pride in it that we could,” she said.

On Prime Minister Narendra Modi urging people to light lamps, candles or switch the flashlights of their mobile phones for nine minutes at 9 pm on April 5, she said those who believe in the PM’s message can follow his instructions.

“The prime minister will speak his mind and I will speak mine. I cannot interfere in someone else’s matter.... If you think that the prime minister has said something good, follow it...it is a personal decision,” Banerjee said.

She rubbished reports that the lockdown was being violated in Kolkata and certain rural areas of the state.

Without taking the name of any political party, the chief minister said there are a few who are trying to “play politics” with the distribution of rice, wheat and pulses through the Public Distribution System (PDS).

“They are claiming that the Centre has provided the rice...but how can that be possible...the PDS is run by the state government,” she said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...ta-banerjee/story-2xJ33rGA27QMqStTjLjsxK.html

New Delhi: Congress leader Shashi Tharoor this morning launched an attack on Prime Minster Narendra Modi for the third time since he urged citizens across India on Friday to "turn off lights for nine minutes at 9 pm on Sunday" in a nationwide show of solidarity, "to fight the darkness of coronavirus".

In a tweet, the 64-year-old Congress MP today shared a notification by the Uttar Pradesh State Load Dispatch Centre (UP SLDC), one of the units of state's power board, which made a mention of possible "staggered load shedding" between 8 pm and 9 pm on Sunday to ensure smooth functioning of electricity grid.

"An unprecedented drop in electricity demand at 9pm Sunday &an immediate surge at 9.09 pm could cause the electrical grid to crash. So Electricity Boards are contemplating load shedding from 8 pm & staggered return to normal after 9.09pm. One more thing the PM didn't think about! (sic)," the Thiruvananthapuram MP wrote.

In the letter shared by Mr Tharoor, the UP SLDC has also given instructions to the state utilities to prepare for load reduction, which may occur if all lights are turned off at the same time across the state on Sunday. "30,000 MW sharp load reduction may occur in the state in a very little duration of time," it reads. "All reactors in UP Power Grid must be kept in service during the period," it says, adding that "all capacitor banks must be kept out of service".

On Friday morning, PM Modi delivered his third address to the nation on COVID-19 pandemic and made a fresh appeal to people across the country. "On April 5, Sunday, at 9 pm, I want 9 minutes from all of you. Turn off all the lights in your homes, stand at your doors or balconies and light candles, diya (lamp) or mobile flashlights for 9 minutes," PM Modi said in a video message.

"We must all together, challenge the darkness spread by the coronavirus crisis, introducing it to the power of light. No one is alone during the lockdown, the collective superpower of 130 crore Indians is with every citizen," he added.

In a statement today, Union Power Ministry said: "PM has appealed to voluntarily switch off lights between 9:00 p.m to 9:09 pm on April 5. Some apprehensions have been expressed that this may cause instability in grid and voltage fluctuation which may harm electrical appliances.These apprehensions are misplaced."

PM Modi's latest appeal, which comes about two weeks after he requested people to observe 14-hour self-quarantine or "Janata Curfew" ahead of the lockdown, was criticised by several opposition leaders.

Mr Tharoor was among the first ones to react. "Listened to the Pradhan Showman. Nothing about how to ease people's pain, their burdens, their financial anxieties. No vision of the future or sharing the issues he is weighing in deciding about the post-lockdown. Just a feel-good moment curated by India's Photo-Op PrimeMinister!"

In another post, the Lok Sabha MP from Kerala wrote: "This is no accident: the PM spoke on Ram Navami at 9 am for 9 minutes, asked us to light diyas & candles on 5/4 at 9 pm for 9 minutes. He is invoking all the auspicious elements Hinduism associates with number 9. Back to Ram Bharose?! (trusting Lord Ram)."

Mr Tharoor is among the many Congress leaders who have crticised centre's handling of coronavirus pandemic.

Sixty-eight people have died, over 2,900 have contracted infection across the country as the country observes a total lockdown to control the spread.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cor...idnt-think-about-2206083?pfrom=home-topscroll

Stop looking at the UK for answers then. Clapping is British culture not Indian, so stop trying to claim it for India.

Clapping is British culture not Indian, .

Really ? I thought Clapping is a universal habit and not really related to a specific culture (I could be wrong) >? Can you further elaborate on how this is British specific culture thing ?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/YGMadhuvanthi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@YGMadhuvanthi</a> this is YG Mahendran's Daughter,close relative of Rajini!She owns educational institutions!<br><br>She is seen in this video promoting Psuedo science, myths, astrology and puranas as ways to fight the corona pandemic!<br><br>Status, education is no guarantee of common sense!&#55357;&#56845; <a href="https://t.co/Pf7DTgsU6y">https://t.co/Pf7DTgsU6y</a></p>— Dusky Tamizhachi (@TamizhRatsaschi) <a href="https://twitter.com/TamizhRatsaschi/status/1246508939493040128?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is the grand daughter of YGP...founder of one of the most prestigious schools in Chennai.

PSBB.

I thought I knew these educated MORONS inside out but this is worse than I thought.

What a sad sad day!

I won't celebrate Diwali today. Saw a video yesterday of a man from Mumbai who lost his mother in Rajasthan. One of the shiv sena worker arranged an ambulance for him, his wife and daughter. As soon as they entered the gujarat border police started beating them without even listening and sent all of them back. He couldn't perform last rites of his mother and you want people to light up diyas?

Mallu here, and absolutely do not trust them, my kind are the worst of the worst. You will not meet bigger frauds than Malayalees.. Like my man Suresh Gopi says, when I think of Malayalees I say: Shitti Thara Shitti Thayee..

I have couple of freinds from office they are pretty good though..Communists are the dangerous ones :)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Y3dzBoDd5WM" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

We should send medicines to them,especially Malaria drug...

I have couple of freinds from office they are pretty good though..Communists are the dangerous ones :)

As you can see it is a race between Communist and Italian Sonya Congress to see who can bring Kerala backwards the most... Its over for Kerala, they are hopeless, will never get anywhere... There is a beautiful movie about Kerala, its called Panchavadi Palam, it pretty much sums up the state and people

Didn’t Spain do the clapping exercise first before Modiji ?

I think both Modiji and UK copied it from them.

Mallu here, and absolutely do not trust them, my kind are the worst of the worst. You will not meet bigger frauds than Malayalees.. Like my man Suresh Gopi says, when I think of Malayalees I say: Shitti Thara Shitti Thayee..

Your kind is definitely the worst lol.:D

I won't celebrate Diwali today. Saw a video yesterday of a man from Mumbai who lost his mother in Rajasthan. One of the shiv sena worker arranged an ambulance for him, his wife and daughter. As soon as they entered the gujarat border police started beating them without even listening and sent all of them back. He couldn't perform last rites of his mother and you want people to light up diyas?

That is horrific. Its the type of thing you would expect from our police forces. No humanity, no empathy.

As you can see it is a race between Communist and Italian Sonya Congress to see who can bring Kerala backwards the most... Its over for Kerala, they are hopeless, will never get anywhere... There is a beautiful movie about Kerala, its called Panchavadi Palam, it pretty much sums up the state and people

Their economy is stressed and high unemployment too..If Gulf countries cut down in expenditure Kerala will be in big problem due to more unemployment.

30 mins to go

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="und" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9pm9minute?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9pm9minute</a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1246666853415407617?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Though it will have 0% influence on defeating COVID-19 I am looking forward to this show. Perhaps some PP posters from India can share their personal experience and scenes from the neighborhood.

I hope unnecessary public lights are turned off too, I always hated light pollution during night.

Though it will have 0% influence on defeating COVID-19 I am looking forward to this show. Perhaps some PP posters from India can share their personal experience and scenes from the neighborhood.

I hope unnecessary public lights are turned off too, I always hated light pollution during night.

As expected, some people are burning crackers. :inti

LOL yeh kahan se Aya hai jaahil.And over here people are firing crackers in my neighborhood.stupid people with their prime minister who is stupidest person on earth.

India is celebrating Diwali it seems.Though it's raining here but people still burning crackers.What kind of jaahil are these guys.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was so good untill ppl started bursting crackers <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaVsCorona?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaVsCorona</a></p>— Irfan Pathan (@IrfanPathan) <a href="https://twitter.com/IrfanPathan/status/1246827283140104193?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote>

Some beautiful scenes across the country. Candle lights, diyas and lamps of unity shown by people is very impressive indeed. Millions of Indians have rose to the occassion on just one call from PM. I hope our liberal brothers dont find any negativity here and destroy this beautiful moment.

People now are on the roads again and burning fireworks not giving two **** to Social distancing. :facepalm:

I'm sorry I'm not a liberal but this is just plain stupid.

Lol firecrackers being burst.

Atleast seems like no celebratory rallies Iike last time

10's of people holding candles and taking selfies with no care of social distancing.

People bursting firecrackers like it's Diwali.

I don't know if any other country in this world which has these many morons. God save us

People now are on the roads again and burning fireworks not giving two **** to Social distancing. :facepalm:

I'm sorry I'm not a liberal but this is just plain stupid.

Is that a surprise?Was bound to happen .We didn't learn from Thali thing

Millions of people across the country switched off the lights of their houses in a show of solidarity in fight against the coronavirus pandemic.

Lamps were lit, torches were switched on and mobile lights were flashed from the balconies by countrymen who answered the call given by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The Prime Minister, in a video message on Friday, had asked people to use the lights of lamps or candles to “challenge the darkness of coronavirus”. The act, he said, will send a powerful message to the world that has been widely affected by the deadly SARS-CoV-2 virus.

Many users posted the pictures of themselves taking part in the ‘9pm-9min’ initiative. They were seen following the norms of social distancing too while doing so.

Covid-19, the disease caused by coronavirus, has affected more than 3000 people across the country and left close to 100 dead. India is under a 21-day lockdown announced by PM Modi in his address to the nation on March 24.

The lockdown, which has impacted the economy, is important to break the cycle of infection, the Prime Minister has said in his address. He also apologised to the people for the trouble, but said he knows they will forgive him because this is the right thing to do.

The virus which started from China in December last year, spread rapidly across the world and in just 93 days, infected more than a million people. Over 200 countries are under its grip; United States is the worst hit now where the virus has spread in the community and President Donald Trump has said the recovery will take weeks and weeks.

In India, the government has so far maintained that there is no community spread and has launched an aggressive containment strategy to check the spread of the disease.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...ht-covid-19/story-ttWA0qUDabYWuV2RHg2SxJ.html

_efd03e0e-7753-11ea-bbaf-88371e4f22eb.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was so good untill ppl started bursting crackers <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaVsCorona?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaVsCorona</a></p>— Irfan Pathan (@IrfanPathan) <a href="https://twitter.com/IrfanPathan/status/1246827283140104193?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote>

He should be careful now. He is also a muslim. :inti

Unfortunately it was dumbest thing I've seen. This gimmick achieved nothing and tis sadly a reminder how infantile the PM and his followers can be :(

Modi is as big of a nautankibaaz as they come. After his curfew failure which led to total disaster with the whole migrant crisis, which world media highlighted extensively, he needs to play a softie with candles to patch up his image lol.

Countries who have gone from extreme worse like Italy, Spain, Iran wouldn't even put up such a drama.

What a bunch of jaahils in our country led by biggest jaahil of all time...

As I said earlier, our jahaalat quotient is at its all time high....

10's of people holding candles and taking selfies with no care of social distancing.

People bursting firecrackers like it's Diwali.

I don't know if any other country in this world which has these many morons. God save us
Bhai don't be surprised. It was expected. :inti

One thing I like about you is that you are so polite.

Whether it's real or forced......it's nice to see.

With the way India is right now, discussions heat up real quick.

Had a decent family bonding time (was forced to go through with this lol).

In my area, there was no josh.

Barely anyone lit up diyas.

Heard some crackers bursting.

Unfortunately it was dumbest thing I've seen. This gimmick achieved nothing and tis sadly a reminder how infantile the PM and his followers can be :(

But it was not meant to achieve anything. It was just to show solidarity with one another. Thing is when you lock down 1.5 billion people for a month, there is no harm in doing some cultural event to break monotony. I thought the spectacle of lighting diya's and candles on a dark night looked very picturisque.

Issue is, we have a section of people in our country who have made a habbit of finding negativity in everything. Their bitterness, hatred and grudge cant be felt from every sentence they speak or write. Today's event was just to ignore them and spread positivity together as Indians.

We need one more balcony event to thank the power engineers who scrambled to save our country from plunging into darkness over the whims and fancies of a buddhu.

In the next event he should ask all his bhakhts to jump from their balconies. Coronavirus will never come back to India again. :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Massive fire in a building in my neighborhood from bursting crackers for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9baje9mintues?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9baje9mintues</a>. Fire brigade just drove in. Hope everyone's safe. <a href="https://t.co/NcyDxYdeFW">pic.twitter.com/NcyDxYdeFW</a></p>— Mahim Pratap Singh (@mayhempsingh) <a href="https://twitter.com/mayhempsingh/status/1246834912017010690?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lol friend sent me a video of 15-20 people in a rally with tiki torches shouting ‘Go corona’

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A prayer in unity does make a difference. Pray for every being and stand together 🙏 <a href="https://t.co/EcmiX7EcoA">https://t.co/EcmiX7EcoA</a></p>— Virat Kohli (@imVkohli) <a href="https://twitter.com/imVkohli/status/1246837211972030467?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

MUMBAI (Reuters) - Millions of Indians switched off their lights and came out onto their balconies and doorsteps with lamps, candles and flashlights on Sunday, responding to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s call to “challenge the darkness” of the coronavirus crisis.

Modi, who last month imposed a three-week long nationwide lockdown, asked citizens to turn out their lights for nine minutes at 9 p.m. on Sunday and to display lamps and candles in a show of solidarity.

People across the country switched off lights. Some lit firecrackers, played drums, clapped and chanted slogans against the coronavirus.

In some big cities like Mumbai and New Delhi, residents of some housing associations stood in balconies and sang patriotic songs.

India has recorded 3,577 cases of the illness, with a death toll of 83. Authorities worry that the healthcare system would be overwhelmed if the disease took deep hold in the country of more than 1.3 billion.

Many of Modi’s supporters praised the “show of lights” by sharing pictures on Twitter of their neighbourhoods and saying it felt like Diwali - the annual Hindu festival of lights.

But the prime minister’s call also drew criticism from people who called for steps to help millions of daily wage earners squeezed out of a living amid the lockdown, which was imposed nationwide on March 25.

“Only a brain-dead country can celebrate with lights and firecrackers at the time of a pandemic, while millions are jobless and hungry and in real fear of death,” a Twitter user with the handle @ashoswai said.

Modi’s lights-out plan put enormous pressure on officials manning power generation stations and the national grid. They scrambled to increase staffing to ensure that the sudden gyration in power demand across the country did not lead to any power surges or outages.

India’s Power System Operation Corp (POSOCO), which oversees the national power grid, had ordered all senior officials to be present at generating stations, substations and load despatch centers across India between 6 p.m. and 10 p.m. on Sunday.

The country’s electricity demand fell more than 25% to 85.3 gigawatt (GW) from 117 GW within a span of four to five minutes as people switched off lights, said Power Minister R.K. Singh, adding the transition was handled smoothly by engineers.

India’s power consumption has already plunged over the last 10 days, as the lockdown has forced most industries to suspend operations.

I think at least 1% will do it. If you've interacted with a bhakt offline, you'll know what I'm saying is true.

I won't be surprised if some do.

One (super educated NRI bhakt) had the audacity to ask "is GDP even that important" :))

My Dad was speechless.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">FEKU told to light small candle or Diya &#55358;&#56980; <br><br>But this idiots burnt entire village.<br><br>Terrible fire broke out in Sapahi village of East Champaran district of Bihar. <br><br>Till now dozens of houses have been burnt to ashes. <a href="https://t.co/Q5oHH04O4y">pic.twitter.com/Q5oHH04O4y</a></p>— Nikhil Reddy Gudur (@NikhilReddyINC) <a href="https://twitter.com/NikhilReddyINC/status/1246855520557969408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Yet to be fact checked.

But damn......

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Telangana?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Telangana</a> BJP MLA Raja Singh leading anti-Corona slogans in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hyderabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Hyderabad</a>. <br><br>We were asked to light a candle or diya, where did a fire torch come from? Social distancing? And <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ChinaVirus?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ChinaVirus</a>? What do you even say &#55357;&#56868;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9%E0%A4%AC%E0%A4%9C%E0%A5%879%E0%A4%AE%E0%A4%BF%E0%A4%A8%E0%A4%9F?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9बजे9मिनट</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9MinutesForIndia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9MinutesForIndia</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9baje9mintues?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9baje9mintues</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/coronavirus?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#coronavirus</a> <a href="https://t.co/Y1YlGQrq9l">pic.twitter.com/Y1YlGQrq9l</a></p>— Paul Oommen (@Paul_Oommen) <a href="https://twitter.com/Paul_Oommen/status/1246852199575060481?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Fire near Solapur Airport.<br><br>Tell me again, why were crackers exploded?<a href="https://t.co/4EX3xXffPP">pic.twitter.com/4EX3xXffPP</a></p>— Srivatsa (@srivatsayb) <a href="https://twitter.com/srivatsayb/status/1246843725554171905?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thanks to some ********...a big fire has started in Varthur, Bangalore. <a href="https://t.co/6p8SGRh0B5">pic.twitter.com/6p8SGRh0B5</a></p>— Ⓢ Ⓐ Ⓝ Ⓓ Ⓨ || &#55357;&#56567; &#55357;&#56568; || &#55356;&#56706; &#55356;&#56688; &#55356;&#56701; &#55356;&#56691; &#55356;&#56712; (@sandy_clicks) <a href="https://twitter.com/sandy_clicks/status/1246867074661548032?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">वैशाली नगर, जयपुर। <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9pm9minutes?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9pm9minutes</a> event. Thanks to fire brigade, came on time and doused the fire. <a href="https://t.co/d2z3vskLf3">pic.twitter.com/d2z3vskLf3</a></p>— Dharmesh Dixit (@theDDixit) <a href="https://twitter.com/theDDixit/status/1246865373669896192?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Flat on fire in Mumbai after the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9pm9minutes?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9pm9minutes</a> event. Which astrologer predicted this? <a href="https://t.co/YKqznGIkP2">pic.twitter.com/YKqznGIkP2</a></p>— Karan Talwar (@BollywoodGandu) <a href="https://twitter.com/BollywoodGandu/status/1246857455964831745?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This bursting cracker lead to heavy fire in Patna<br><br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%E0%A4%AE%E0%A5%8B%E0%A4%A6%E0%A5%80%E0%A4%9C%E0%A5%80_%E0%A4%85%E0%A4%82%E0%A4%A7%E0%A4%B5%E0%A4%BF%E0%A4%B6%E0%A5%8D%E0%A4%B5%E0%A4%BE%E0%A4%B8%E0%A5%80_%E0%A4%B9%E0%A5%88?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#मोदीजी_अंधविश्वासी_है</a> <a href="https://t.co/5v4EG68OIj">pic.twitter.com/5v4EG68OIj</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%E0%A4%AE%E0%A5%8B%E0%A4%A6%E0%A5%80%E0%A4%9C%E0%A5%80_%E0%A4%85%E0%A4%82%E0%A4%A7%E0%A4%B5%E0%A4%BF%E0%A4%B6%E0%A5%8D%E0%A4%B5%E0%A4%BE%E0%A4%B8%E0%A5%80_%E0%A4%B9%E0%A5%88?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#मोदीजी_अंधविश्वासी_है</a> <a href="https://t.co/WROf5xd0DN">pic.twitter.com/WROf5xd0DN</a></p>— MD.Raza (@MDRaza40518718) <a href="https://twitter.com/MDRaza40518718/status/1246857071837859840?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Another incident reported from Nanalnagar, Mehdiptnam, Hyderabad due to bursting crackers vehicles caught fire. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9baje9mintues?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9baje9mintues</a> <a href="https://t.co/W4jPyBs1xb">pic.twitter.com/W4jPyBs1xb</a></p>— زکیzaki (@buzydoing) <a href="https://twitter.com/buzydoing/status/1246848416476356608?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Oh dear....

Saw some videos of the fires floating around socials and if they are true then it's quite embarrassing. Hope everyone is safe, and damage is not huge.

Darkness has indeed been challenged. Sasta GoT was fun while it lasted.

Can someone explain what the deal is with the fireworks?

I don't see any good reason to be lighting fireworks in this time.