“Billion dollar ki industry waali teams peeche rah gayi hai aur hum upar nikal gaye hai": Ramiz Raja

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chief Ramiz Raja made a cheeky remark on India’s exit from the T20 World Cup, saying, ‘Pakistan players are better than the billion-dollar league cricketers.’ Pakistan will take on England in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday.

Speaking to the reporters upon his arrival in Australia, the PCB chief said: “Billion dollar ki industry waali teams peeche rah gayi hai aur hum upar nikal gaye hai (Teams with billion dollar leagues are falling behind us). We are doing something right.”

This is not the first time Raja has made a ‘billion dollar’ remark. Before the World Cup, he had said that Pakistan must get the credit to the Babar Azam-led team, who defeated one billion dollars Indian cricket team in the last T20 World Cup.

Raja also cleared the air on the possibility of the India-Pakistan test series. Former Australia all-rounder Simon O’Donnell has revelead that Australia has offered to host a Test series between India and Pakistan.

“I don’t have any such knowledge about the Test series to be played between India and Pakistan,” said Ramiz. The PCB has earlier threatened to pull out of the 2023 ODI World Cup to be held in India if the BCCI will not send their team to Pakistan for the Asia Cup.

Raja also said that he is amazed to see the striking similarities in Pakistan’s campaign between 1992 and this World Cup.

“There are striking similarities to the 1992 campaign. There is an air of invincibility, a self-belief like in 92. Back then, we knew that even if the opposition played with 15 in the final, we were not going to lose,” said Raja.

However, Raja accepted that the Babar XI looked more relaxed than Imran Khan’s 1992 World Cup-winning team.

“Babar XI are more relaxted than us. We were bit scared before the final. They are enjoying the moment, and it is heartening to see,” he said.

On his interaction with the team before the final, Raja said: I have given them the reference of the 1992 World Cup final. Speech ye thi ki 90 hazaar log hai bahar ye mauka humare career mey waapis aane nahi hai, enjoy kare aur match jeete, maine exactly wahi repeat kiya jo humare kaptaan (Imran Khan) ne 1922 mey kaha tha (I repeated what exactly Imran Khan told us in team meeting. he said 90 thousand people are outside; this moment is not coming back in our careers; we need to enjoy the game and win it,” said Ramiz.

“Jo aapne karna hai wo aapne kar liya hai, aapki technique 24 ghanton mey kharab nahi ho sakti, ye ab mental game hai (They have done everything, their techniques will not suffer in 25 hours. It is just a mental game.”

“In the finals, there are no clear favourites, it will be a 50-50 game,” he said.

Raja also lamented the former Pakistani cricketers, who have ruthlessly criticised the team and the selection in the past few weeks.

“I always believe that criticism should be constructive, not agenda-driven,” he said.

Raja heaped praise on Babar Azam and said he has the chance to cement his legacy.

“I always wanted to see a strong captain. This is a basic principle in cricket. It is not football, where people from the sidelines are calling the shots. Babar has the chance of greatness and leaving a great legacy behind. There won’t be a bigger achievement than this in his career if he manages to lift the world cup,” he said

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...-dollar-leagues-pcb-chief-ramiz-raja-8262089/

Should concentrate on winning the WT20 and wait to make such comments. If Pakistan also loses in the finals then having no trophy is just as good as losing in the Semi Finals. Losing in Finals is not some big achievement .

This is a very petty and cringe comment. We have not yet won the trophy. Focus, win and then you can talk.

The same billion dollar industry that he was doing naukri for and will probably still do it if they throw him a bone?

CC9C0F38-981B-4CCE-A429-63BE9FA0BE11.jpg

That was in deed poor because he is pcb chairman and shouldn't make such a comment

Pathetic comments. :facepalm:

Let Pakistan win the tournament first. All such comments could lead to egg on the face in the finals.

Why do our people get so cocky before getting the task done? Still have a cup to win and he comes out with this nonsense. Just shut up and sit tight man. Leave the trash talk after we actually have the cup.

This obsession with India should end, honestly. There are better cricket teams to be beaten, starting with our opponent on Sunday.

Contradictory comments from Ramiz. He says there was an air of invincibility and self belief and they felt they could beat a 15 man team in 1992.
But next comment he says we were a bit scared.

Also I don’t think he should be making such comments on India. Should focus on his team we won’t see o head of boards from other countries making such remarks.
But yea Indian performance has once again proved that MONEY CANT BUY HAPPINESS

Lol why people are criticising him for fair comments.

What do you have to say about that BCCI's chairman's statement regarding Pakistan.

Brilliant comments from ramiz. Spot on!.

Let's go Pakistan.

What do you have to say about that BCCI's chairman's statement regarding Pakistan.

Let's go Pakistan.

He is saying what a lot of people in India are also saying.

Let's go Pakistan.

Our fans dont know how to celebrate thats why.

Whether we win the final or not, we out performed a team whose whole media and industries made fun of us. Offocurse, we will now make fun of them.

Issue is, we dont win much, so our fans dont know how to react, which is why you would see many calling out rameez and saying poor comment when it is not. BCCI made comments on touring Pakistan, there chairman made comments when he shouldn't have.

Ever since IPL started, India hasn't won a World T20

This could be a Bumpworthy thread for the Indians later.

how so? RR didnt say we won the WC. He is saying we outperformed. Even if we lose, we would be runner ups. India would stay semi finalist, so we did outperformed them

He was standing in line for a pay cheque at the IPL, till the Indian government banned pakistanis from getting work in India. And now he talks all big talks.

Good that the likes of him wont be getting a dime from India anymore.

The likes of Rameez Raja remind Indian fans why pakistanis should not be part of the IPL.

He was standing in line for a pay cheque at the IPL, till the Indian government banned pakistanis from getting work in India. And now he talks all big talks.

The likes of Rameez Raja remind Indian fans why pakistanis should not be part of the IPL.

Uff oh - why so much aggro?

What has he said which is so untrue?

Have India qualified for the finals? Were they not smashed in the Semis?

Context Bhai.

And Indian fans like you remind us why India is not CAPABLE of being in the FINAL of an ICC Event.

Keep crowning trophies to each others in your Delhi cats vs Chenai queens

Uff oh - why so much aggro?

What has he said which is so untrue?

Have India qualified for the finals? Were they not smashed in the Semis?

Context Bhai.

What have i said thats untrue?

Wasn't he working in the IPL till pakistanis were banned?

Should concentrate on winning the WT20 and wait to make such comments. If Pakistan also loses in the finals then having no trophy is just as good as losing in the Semi Finals. Losing in Finals is not some big achievement .

Pathetic comments. :facepalm:

Let Pakistan win the tournament first. All such comments could lead to egg on the face in the finals.

Why do our people get so cocky before getting the task done? Still have a cup to win and he comes out with this nonsense. Just shut up and sit tight man. Leave the trash talk after we actually have the cup.

It doesn’t matter, Pakistan inferiority complex is so deep that the only thing that matters to them is not winning the tournament but doing better than India.

If India would have been eliminated in the group stage, Pakistan would have been satisfied with a semifinal exit.

Now that India lost the semifinal, they would be happy with finishing runner-ups.

Even if England smash Pakistan, it won’t matter because beggars still did better than the billion dollar industry.

And Indian fans like you remind us why India is not CAPABLE of being in the FINAL of an ICC Event.

Keep crowning trophies to each others in your Delhi cats vs Chenai queens

When was the last time pakistan reached a ICC tournament final and India didn't? Now go, roll back the years.

Keep crying every year, when you talk about discrimination at the IPL.

When was the last time pakistan reached a ICC tournament final and India didn't? Now go, roll back the years.

Keep crying every year, when you talk about discrimination at the IPL.

2022, Thursday Nov 13th :))) :))) :)))

Ramiz is only saying something that almost 75% of your posts also talk about. The supposed financial might of Indian cricket.

People don't stand in line for a pay cheque lol.
They offer their services and get compensated in return. IPL is a business jot a charity. They paid him for commentary.

The only people standing in line are the fans who boast about the massive payments that their players recieve in the IPL, before those same players proceed to shatter their hopes time and time again. I wonder how long they will be willing to be mocked in this way.

Of course the Indian team are also standing in line for the plane home but thats a topic for another thread.

Really not sure what the fuss is all about.

Rameez is stating the truth. India has tried its best to sideline Pakistan at all ventures. They stooped to a new level when they purposely lost to SA in the WT20 just to eliminate Pakistan. I said at the time Karma is watching.

Let us celebrate the occasion. Pakistan is a million times humble than India even with the current bit of cockiness. We have earned it.

Pakistan has beaten India only once ina WC game in 30 years.

India has more ICC trophies.

India has been ranked no.1 in tests more times than pakistan.

What is Rameez talking about?

And Pakistan have more Victories h2h vs India.

But yeah, only ICC tournaments and IPL matter :))

Sometimes you need to chill dude, you always look like angry guy. You know well people from both sides make funny idiotic comments :)

He is talking about the current tournament not the whole history of cricket man :))

This is a perfectly reasonable comment from a fan, not a chairman of a national cricket board. Have a bit more class.

Even the criticism he shouldn’t mention. There’s no need.

Rambo does certainly like to chest chest thump but is like a mouse when we lose.

:)) this guy is soo jealous.

Look at the selective statements. When it comes to wins its WC, when it comes to trophies than its ICC combined trohies

:))) selective filters

lol there was no need for this..

No Indian would be supporting Pak in the finals now, everyone would want Eng to win.

Eng is a really tough side to beat in the finals, Ramiz Raza should've waited till the finals before making such a remark like that.

Nothing wrong in what he said nasser hussain said something similar in the commentary yesterday 🤣🤣🤣

Calm down. He was talking about this world cup specifically. :facepalm :inti

Bhai thoda logic v dekho.. peeche reh gayi, aage chal gayi aise ek professional team kab se comparison karne lag gayi and based on qualification stages?

Imagine Kenya cricket team saying in 2003 that " Pakistan peeche reh gayi and hum aage nikal gaye". It doesn't make any sense at all. These are bizzare comments.

And then people wonder why nobody wants to hire Pakistsnis in IPL :srini

Maybe its the other way round...

If you did hire Pakistanis then we would have love for IPL :D

Think IPL is some sort of national treasure for India that it cannot be spoken about in any other way than "Best hai jee"

And then people wonder why nobody wants to hire Pakistsnis in IPL :srini

LOL hahahah keep your ipl to yourself.
Now Indian fans are thrashing IPL for the most shameful performance in an icc knockout match. LOL.

And then people wonder why India hasn't won a icc T20 world cup since the start of that circus IPL.LOL.

Keep enjoying that circus and keep providing us that entertainment of 152-0 and 170-0. We love it so much.HHahahah. LoL.

He is saying what a lot of people in India are also saying.

Yeah man. I have been watching a lot of people's reaction post semifinals and people are criticising IPL superstars and how they should only play in IPL. International cricket is not their cup of tea.

Ramiz has said absolutely right thing. Way to go man.

Maybe its the other way round...

If you did hire Pakistanis then we would have love for IPL :D

Think IPL is some sort of national treasure for India that it cannot be spoken about in any other way than "Best hai jee"

I have no problem with criticism of IPL but Rambo was clearly taking a cheap shot at the IPL here. Anyway, Rambo can continue to make these statements.

If Pakistan lose the final and/or lose the test series at home to England as well, these statements will come back to bite him along with the wrath of Pakistani fans . :srini

Bhai thoda logic v dekho.. peeche reh gayi, aage chal gayi aise ek professional team kab se comparison karne lag gayi and based on qualification stages?

Imagine Kenya cricket team saying in 2003 that " Pakistan peeche reh gayi and hum aage nikal gaye". It doesn't make any sense at all. These are bizzare comments.

He didn't say anything wrong if you take his comments specifically for this world cup only. Peeche rah gayi means India didn't qualify for the finals but Pakistan did. Whether they lose in the final or win it is a different story but they did manage to take one step closer to the trophy than India. Even Ireland and Bangladesh did better than Pakistan and India in 2007 WC. Wahan bhi India and Pakistan peeche rah gayi thi. Hopefully you will understand my point now. :inti

I have no problem with criticism of IPL but Rambo was clearly taking a cheap shot at the IPL here. Anyway, Rambo can continue to make these statements.

If Pakistan lose the final and/or lose the test series at home to England as well, these statements will come back to bite him along with the wrath of Pakistani fans . :srini

Err،no. Pakistan expected a first round knockout, didn't boast they'll win it, yet have surpassed India's record in t20 World Cup and are in a final

lol there was no need for this..

No Indian would be supporting Pak in the finals now, everyone would want Eng to win.

Eng is a really tough side to beat in the finals, Ramiz Raza should've waited till the finals before making such a remark like that.

They never supported us anyways, so doesnt make a difference lol

I just don't get why everytime India loses a T20 tournament, references are made to IPL. Is it a predestined thing that if you host the biggest league in the world, you should automatically win the World Cup?

English Premier League is the biggest and the most watched football league in the world. What has that done for England's chances in the world cup? They are still miles off winning.

Leagues have no bearing on your performance in the world cup.

I just don't get why everytime India loses a T20 tournament, references are made to IPL. Is it a predestined thing that if you host the biggest league in the world, you should automatically win the World Cup?

English Premier League is the biggest and the most watched football league in the world. What has that done for England's chances in the world cup? They are still miles off winning.

You are assuming that Pakistani supporters, players, media, PCB etc. are capable of logical thinking and making intelligent arguments.

go ramiz!
kick them hard even when they are already down
love it

The EPL is the biggest league in terms of numbers but there is often debate on it's quality in comparison to other leagues.

English teams often didn't dominate european club football like other continental teams and the best players in the world hardly played in England. They were concentrated more in Spain/Italy.

The IPL on the other hand is heralded by Indians as the pinnacle of quality cricket.

We had this cheap narrative shoved down our throats by every sell out media outlet and by players, about how the IPL is a breeding ground for talent, that the pressure cooker environment of the IPL produces diamond players etc

It's time that this narrative is shattered and that those that tried to pull the wool over our eyes about the alleged benefits of the IPL are called to account.

There is nothing wrong with these comments. He just made a statement about something that we all talk about every now and then. So what if he is a PCB chairman, he is still allowed to speak his heart out. Without watching the interview, I can't even tell that how and in what context the words were used. This is an Indian source: One could imagine the mirch masala added to it.

You are assuming that Pakistani supporters, players, media, PCB etc. are capable of logical thinking and making intelligent arguments.

And you are. The guy that shows his ignorance on here every day. This player is rubbish blah blah and when it turns it that they are very good, you disappear. How did your predictions on Naseem, Shadab etc turn out.

Poor comments from Ramiz, again is talking like a common fan and not like a former cricketer and chairman.

I know there is a lot of animosity between India and Pakistan, but people in such high positions should behave professionally. No difference between Ramiz and Irfan Pathan, Amit Mishra, Wasim Jaffer. All behave like cheap fans.

If pak are allowed to play in ipl then the hatred of India and ipl will vanish???

Contradictory comments from Ramiz. He says there was an air of invincibility and self belief and they felt they could beat a 15 man team in 1992.
But next comment he says we were a bit scared.

Also I don’t think he should be making such comments on India. Should focus on his team we won’t see o head of boards from other countries making such remarks.
But yea Indian performance has once again proved that MONEY CANT BUY HAPPINESS

I think he was taking a shot at cerain ex-players and analysts who sit on TV and YouTube and criticise everything about Pakistani team while hyping up India at the same time.

But yeah....he shouldn't have made these comments before a big final

That's because certain fans claim IPL to be the gold standard of cricket and it's quality of cricket is better than even T20Is.

If you make such claims and return empty-handed every time from WCs, there's bound to be some reaction.

That's because certain fans claim IPL to be the gold standard of cricket and it's quality of cricket is better than even T20Is.

If you make such claims and return empty-handed every time fr

How many t20 world cups have Pak won after PSL? Zilch. If Pakistan fail again tomorrow will you blame PSL and close it. How did AUS win last year although they have BBL and crash out this year in group stages? Local franchise leagues and no bearing on winning ICC tournaments.

Until 2011 Indian team had batsmen like Sachin, Sehwag, Yuvi, Raina etc who could all bowl. But in current team Rohit, KL, Kohli, SKY etc no can bowl. Even youngsters waiting to replace them like Shubman , Prithvi, Ishan etc all cannot bat. Our bowling is weaker both spin and fast. IPl is not the reason for this. The balance of Indian team is just not there. ENG had Livingstone and Moeen who could bowl apart from Stokes while India had only Pandya.

Our conservative batting style of going run a ball in 1st 6 overs cost us the tournamnet. Our selectors picked a batsmen who looks to play 6 dots in the 1st over in fear of losing his wicket than someone like Prithvi Shaw who looks to hit 6 4s in the 1st over.

I support his role but this is such a petty ridiculous comment. Doesn't matter the scenario, you are the Chairman so act accordingly. He gets carried away with his emotions way too often.

We can also see how they can't win a cup since IPL started, failure is quite obvious in term of talent and how they go gaga over it. No need to mention the obvious Ramiz!

How many t20 world cups have Pak won after PSL? Zilch. If Pakistan fail again tomorrow will you blame PSL and close it. How did AUS win last year although they have BBL and crash out this year in group stages? Local franchise leagues and no bearing on winning ICC tournaments.

PSL and BBL are not considered the gold standard of cricket by their fans nor do they have dedicated Windows that ruin international cricket.

No one in their right frame of mind would consider IPL as gold standard of cricket nor is it better than International cricket. Both players and fans dont invest teh same amount of emotions on IPL as they do on India. I am both an Indian fan and RCB supporter. Both my teams haven't won since 2008 but teh amount of hurt it causes when India fails is not comparable to RCB failing to win.

If Pakistan brought more money than PSL would have had a dedicted window. How is it dedicated window related to Indian performance? IPL has not just benefitted Indian players it has benefitted foeign players too. Jos himself admitted that playing to packed house in IPL helped them.

Bottomline is international cricket is a different cup of tea altogether no matter how entertaining IPL can be.

Indian team like a pro boxer took plenty of heavy shots, stayed on they're feet getting ko'd in the semi's

Pakistan having got knocked down multiple times and seemingly on the verge of being ko'd themselves, managed to standup with a big ko taking them to the final

England's batsmen vs Pakistan's bowlers

Weather conditions could help both bowling lineups
England's (favorites) stronger batting could make the difference

Lets just hope we don't get a anticlimax final

No one in their right frame of mind would consider IPL as gold standard of cricket nor is it better than International cricket. Both players and fans dont invest teh same amount of emotions on IPL as they do on India. I am both an Indian fan and RCB supporter. Both my teams haven't won since 2008 but teh amount of hurt it causes when India fails is not comparable to RCB failing to win.

If Pakistan brought more money than PSL would have had a dedicted window. How is it dedicated window related to Indian performance? IPL has not just benefitted Indian players it has benefitted foeign players too. Jos himself admitted that playing to packed house in IPL helped them.

Bottomline is international cricket is a different cup of tea altogether no matter how entertaining IPL can be.

Gavaskar said that the world cup is nothing infront of the IPL. I think that same sentiment is echoed by many Indian fans when they belittle other leagues and teams.

I dont buy the argument about the benefits of IPL to foreign players either. They are played a lot of money and thats why they go. Arguments about packed houses etc are just to fool the fans.

If Qatar or another rich country decided to launch a premier league at the same time as the IPL and offered to pay Jos Buttler more....do you think he would think twice about packed crowds and the so called benefits.

I agree with your final paragraph but I am sick to death by the constant hyping of IPL we have been exposed to so I'm glad people want to take it down a peg or two.

Many disgruntled jealous ex-players
and everyone thought Rameez is toast. 2 weeks later he is at the MCG supporting his team. What a turnaround and he is having his moment in quite a style. :))

India gets hyped up prior to the tournament and pakistan is getting hyped up during the tournament. While being a supporter of Pakistan team, even when they lost to India, i must say that pakistan hasn't done anything extraordinary in this tournament as yet, yes they beat kiwis but it was as asian a pitch as they would have got. All this hype could fall flat in Melbourne.

I'm not big fan of IPL either, but some remarks from PCB chief are just unnecessary and attention seeking.

Don't know why Rameez Raja is making such statements against IPL and BCCI since becoming PCB Chief? Looks like he wants to impress common Pakistani people by showing his dislike towards India.

Criticism to some extent is fine, but constantly bringing IPL and BCCI just to please people is utterly nonsense and disgraceful.

He should have remember, he was ex employee of same league. I used to think Ramiz is a sensible person when he was commentator, but since he becoming PCB chief, he is making fool out of himself.

Gavaskar said that the world cup is nothing infront of the IPL. I think that same sentiment is echoed by many Indian fans when they belittle other leagues and teams.

I dont buy the argument about the benefits of IPL to foreign players either. They are played a lot of money and thats why they go. Arguments about packed houses etc are just to fool the fans.

If Qatar or another rich country decided to launch a premier league at the same time as the IPL and offered to pay Jos Buttler more....do you think he would think twice about packed crowds and the so called benefits.

I agree with your final paragraph but I am sick to death by the constant hyping of IPL we have been exposed to so I'm glad people want to take it down a peg or two.

I have been listening to pakistanis on this forum about how some rich middle east Sheikh will break the IPL. Hasn't happened in last 15 years.

Change your channel if you don't want to listen about the IPL.

I'm not big fan of IPL either, but some remarks from PCB chief are just unnecessary and attention seeking.

Don't know why Rameez Raja is making such statements against IPL and BCCI since becoming PCB Chief? Looks like he wants to impress common Pakistani people by showing his dislike towards India.

Criticism to some extent is fine, but constantly bringing IPL and BCCI just to please people is utterly nonsense and disgraceful.

He should have remember, he was ex employee of same league. I used to think Ramiz is a sensible person when he was commentator, but since he becoming PCB chief, he is making fool out of himself.

Dont u think bcci head who is part of asian crickrt council should have also made sensible comments instead of making premature comments that asia Will be shifted because of india?

Oh i see, this kind of criticism is for others but bcci chief can do anything they want.

First look at your ownself

When India beat Pakistan at MCG we all saw Gavskar jumping with joy. Never seen Sunny display such raw emotions during any IPL match. The same goes with any rational Indian fan. Atleast thats the case with me. I take IPL as entertainment nothing more nothing less. I cant speak for other fans as we always have a smll minority who will be extreme and go about belittling others.

I have been listening to pakistanis on this forum about how some rich middle east Sheikh will break the IPL. Hasn't happened in last 15 years.

Change your channel if you don't want to listen about the IPL.

You are fixated on the point of money, as usual and fail to grasp the wider point which is about the hollow statements of players.

Bhai we have already given you the TV rights cup and richest league cup.

They are your trophies to keep no need to debate it back and forth. You are the babbar shers of the largest cricketing economy cup.

You upset and salty because your team is way back to Mumbai Airport while Pakistan has one hand on the trophy already. You have my sympathy.

Not upset at all. My team overachieved by topping the group and getting to the semis.

Beat Pakistan.

And i didn't had to face the ignominy 9f being beaten by a minnow.

I didn't have to thank a minnow for their fluke win to qualify for the finals.

For close to 15 years i have seen pakistanis crying how they don't get to play the IPL. How its racism. Few weeks back they were crying how Indian owned teamd in SA20 and Emirates t20 didn't buy a pakistani.

Threads like these justify those decisions.

I think Ramiz is personally triggered by BCCI - much like Imran was with Modi.

They both came thinking they be the bridge between the two countries - having spent so much time playing and making friends there.

Just don't acknowledge the higher interests at play in both countries.

Wrong expectations and therefore high frustration.