“The experience has been a really positive one for a young, improving team” : Misbah-ul-Haq

Pakistan Head Coach/Chief Selector writes about the Tests series against England

timthumb.php

While it was disappointing to lose the Test series, the whole experience has been a really positive one for a young, improving team.

It was a really competitive series played in an excellent spirit. Without spectators it was important to create the right atmosphere and it was great to see how players and staff from both sides applauded performances by their opponents.

On the field, there was no dissent or anything else untoward happened. Players from both teams maintained the spirit of the game and enjoyed the contest – it was so good to see. These situations are about action and reaction: if the players respect each other and the game itself, which they did, then there will be a good atmosphere.

Life in the biosecure bubble was a good experience – it was like a boot camp for Pakistan cricket. You do everything together: playing, training, eating. You could sense it was tougher for the players at times because they couldn’t switch off and go out or visit different places.

But, overall as a group, we stayed together and enjoyed each other’s company. Spending more time together helps the group to bond. Maybe if it was a longer tour or if this becomes the norm, then it will become difficult for players and staff to spend so much time away from their families.

But, we had just spent three months at home so we were desperate to get back into training and playing.

After the game, we talked about all the positives to come out of the series but also the areas where we can improve on whether that is skills, tactics or fitness. We always need to improve. We spoke as a group and then also individually reminded the players of those areas and also gave them programmes to follow in writing.

We need to work hard and come back strong.

Losing that first Test after being on top for so long was really disappointing, but one major positive was the way the players kept fighting in difficult situations and difficult conditions. Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood and Babar Azam all battled really hard.

Our captain Azhar Ali deserves a lot of credit for the way he fought in the final Test. He was under a lot of pressure but he showed great character and mental strength. That innings saved the game for us. Any batsman scoring a hundred is always special but that innings was extra special because Azhar had worked so hard.

Finally, every single ball thrown to him, everything we did together had paid off.

This series was a good opportunity for the bowlers to work on their skills and fitness over two months, learning from Waqar Younis, one of the greats of Pakistan cricket. We must remember that Naseem Shah and Shaheen Shah Afridi are still very young whereas England’s new-ball attack has 1,114 Test wickets between them!

Our bowlers have learned a lot from this series and it was great to see Shaheen having the chance to talk about bowling with Jimmy Anderson after the Test had finished. Learning from great fast bowlers will help them tactically.

Anderson’s achievement of reaching 600 Test wickets is amazing. He has shown exceptional discipline, motivation and determination because fast bowling is the toughest job in cricket. He has control, he’s tactically very smart and is always challenging the batsman. And it is important to remember that he’s there for Test cricket. He has made his name in Test cricket and the love for the red-ball game is clearly there. That is something that our bowlers need to give priority to, especially the young bowlers.

I would like to thank all our fans who have supported the team. Even though there have been no spectators in the stadiums, we have felt the people with us. This young team is only going to get better.

I will also like to extend my thanks to the England and Wales Cricket Board for the way they have looked after us on this tour. Having experienced this first hand, it was an incredible job and not only made the players feel comfortable and but also safe and secure.

Looking into the future, we would really appreciate England visiting Pakistan soon.

A number of England players have appeared in the HBL Pakistan Super League 2020, which was played at home. Then, we had Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and MCC in the 2019-20 season and before that, the World XI and the West Indies in 2017-18.

Players from all over the world now know about the levels of security Pakistan can provide and how much they will be welcomed. Pakistan cricket fans want to see the top players in the world performing right in front of them so everybody is waiting for that visit.

This is one way that everyone can support each other in difficult times. The whole cricket community needs to support each other – that’s the only way to promote the game and bring joy to fans and cricket lovers.

https://www.pcb.com.pk/blog-detail/...nderson-and-fans-wait-to-welcome-england.html

I am sure he know he's messed up - he has to know.

Either he should be honest enough and admit to it and ask PCB for help or we have a few more years of pain coming up.

Besides Shaheen and Naseem, this isn’t a young team by any means.

Saying so over and over again won’t make it true.

I would have bought the young team theory if we had atleast two more batsmen in 20s alongside Babar and Rizwnan. This doesnt work when you have 5 out of 7 batsmen in their 30s.

Yes bowling was inexperienced but why not build some young batsmen at the same time rather then repeating the cycle again for batting in a year or two and then saying that our batting was inexperienced at that time.

Having a teenager smashed around the ground isn’t going to do much for his confidence.
Misbah seems to adopt the Nietzsche approach to selection “what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger”....

Perhaps he’s referring to Babar, Rizwan, and Shadab as well?

It’s a solid group of young folks that formulate the core - Babar, Rizwan, Shadab, Shaheen, and Naseem.

And don’t forget the fantastic new batting talent, the 18 year old Asad Shafiq :afridi

Fawad, Abid are quite Young in term of matches while Naseem and Shaheen are young in real. So our coach is right.

Does he never watch other teams batting line up? We are the only team with 5 out 7 30+.

Perhaps he’s referring to Babar, Rizwan, and Shadab as well?

It’s a solid group of young folks that formulate the core - Babar, Rizwan, Shadab, Shaheen, and Naseem.

And don’t forget the fantastic new batting talent, the 18 year old Asad Shafiq :afridi

Babar and Rizwan are both at a level where they are expected to perform regularly :misbah3

Forgot Shadab, yes.

But with the starting XI that played two of the three Tests including seven players above 30, I think calling it a young and inexperienced team is silly.

Babar and Rizwan are both at a level where they are expected to perform regularly :misbah3

Forgot Shadab, yes.

But with the starting XI that played two of the three Tests including seven players above 30, I think calling it a young and inexperienced team is silly.

Definitely. I hope he just means inexperienced in terms of tests played- it’s time he dropped Asad Shafiq cold, and began preparing to phase Azhar Ali out within the year. Abid was a really unfortunate selection despite his performances, as he’s only got 2-3 years left in him to be honest. He’s now undroppable for some time, as is Fawad, really, based on media pressure and the idea that “he’s only had 2 chances after 11 years, unfair to drop him so soon”.

Misbah has effectively selected himself into a corner.

They keep trying to create this false perception that this is a young team. The reality is this is the oldest Test team in the world - only 3 players are under 28.

Five out of the top six batsmen are over 30. Compare that to England; Pope (22), Crawley (22), Sibley (24), Root, Butler and Burns (29)

Wait... he said young team?!
I suppose they're younger than him.... guess that makes them young in his eyes!!

Is this guy for real?????????????????????????

Young team?????

Babar, Rizwan, Naseem and Shaheen were the only people in the third test who were less than 30.

just cos its inexperienced doesnt make it a young team

The below are no spring chickens

Abid
Masood
Azhar
Shafiq
Fawad
Yasir
Abbas

This lack of experience n age he keeps referring to seems to be an excuse to justify these below par performances all the time

We have 2 Younger players that are in the early 20s and Babar in his mid 20s. Who are the other youngsters?

Sometimes I feel like Misbah selected Naseem on purpose so he can hide under the inexperienced excuse.

He has to portray a positive image I guess.

I'm not convinced that he should be doing all the roles he currently is in Pakistan cricket.

I am sure even he knows - its up to PCB to help him out as he wont give up one of the roles due to vanity probably

I guess he used the wrong word here. He probably meant inexperienced team.

Has failed as a coach, has failed as a chief selector. The only new bowlers that have been tried are Naseem and Musa and Waqar handpicked them in a bowling camp.

For a moment I thought Bangladesh's or Zimbabwe's coach spoke the way he is celebrating just losing by 1-0.

The facts, that Pakistan played its best possible team currently + against a weaker Eng team that lost a game against WI and lost Ben Stokes, only make it more cringe worthy.

Dean Jones' views:

I feel PCB has a wonderful opportunity of really getting their structure right and to modern standards..

Have 2 coaches... red ball & white ball.

2 selection committees - Red ball and white ball.

And Misbah can sit over the top of it.. if need be..

It would be an improvement if you resign. You love spinning minnow level performances into an achievement. Accept your mistakes and move on from this position, clearly not qualified.

Either he should be honest enough and admit to it and ask PCB for help or we have a few more years of pain coming up.

100% agreed.
I seriously question a full honesty from Misbah now.

He keeps coming up with notions and gestures as if he is not brave enough to talk about the pink elephant in the room.
His statements have a stink of avoidance and cover ups.

If you are not ready to accept and identify the problem, how are you going to fix it as your # 1 priority?

I don't think he has much sense of responsibility for this role that fetches him US$ 300,000.00 a year.

He seems like a bitter man who is unconsciously waiting for the inevitable to happen to him, and he will leave with statements of resentment and blaming everyone else besides himself.

He is simply not qualified for the job and does not seem to have a solid plan in place that will work.

Dean Jones' views:

I feel PCB has a wonderful opportunity of really getting their structure right and to modern standards..

To be honest thats a pretty interesting idea. Eng has been trying something like that relating to coaches recently due to giving rest to Sliverwood maybe.

Whit ball and red ball formats definitely have a lot of differences so having specialist coaches isnt a bad idea at all.

Misbah UL Haq is definitely the cricketing version of David Moyes. He sure dosent sound disappointed losing a series to the weakest England of last 10 years. Without rain the series would've possibly been 3-0 and yet he sounds like he achieved success. Classic example of loser mentality.

Dean Jones' views:

Having separate coaches/selector is an interesting idea. Would alleviate some of the politics that goes on in selection, would also create more competition for each side to try and keep up pace

The last comment (Misbah on top of everyone) doesn't make sense, and defeats the purpose. Then Misbah is just in charge of everything - nothing really changes. He already has coaches/selector reporting in to him

It might have been a positive experience for you Misbah, however it was torture for us having to watch this mediocre team with proven failures like Asad in it.

Only in Pakistan is a team where you have over half of your team over 30 is inexperienced.

I think he is refering to the england which is very young in batting line up and bowling was taken care by stalwarts of english grounds.

Everyine thinks the same that he is not suitable for the roles assigned to him.

In the past neither Misbah nor Azahr stepped down from responsibilities. Rather retired or sacked.

We go to South Africa as a young, inexperienced team and we get smashed. We come back and we are still a young, inexperienced team and then we go to Australia and get smashed.

When we return from Australia, we are still a young, inexperienced team and then we go to England and the same thing happens.

Now we are still young and inexperienced and we are also told that we are learning from our mistakes, but when we will go to New Zealand and get smashed, we will still be young and inexperienced.

Pakistan is the only team in the world that is always young, inexperienced and continuously trying to learn from its mistakes.

I think we have plenty of experience - few teams are more experienced than us in failure.

Didn't none of Journalists remind him his team's average age?

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] Dont the journos counter and really grill the likes of azhar and misbah when they trott out these lines which we know arent true

When it suits them they use the experience line for eg not to drop the likes of shafiq and when clearly not true they use the inexperience line to deflect the pressure off themselves from losses

We go to South Africa as a young, inexperienced team and we get smashed. We come back and we are still a young, inexperienced team and then we go to Australia and get smashed.

When we return from Australia, we are still a young, inexperienced team and then we go to England and the same thing happens.

Now we are still young and inexperienced and we are also told that we are learning from our mistakes, but when we will go to New Zealand and get smashed, we will still be young and inexperienced.

Pakistan is the only team in the world that is always young, inexperienced and continuously trying to learn from its mistakes.

I think we have plenty of experience - few teams are more experienced than us in failure.
Indeed and give it another year or so and by then a few of the 30 odd year olds will retire and then we will be an even younger and inexperienced team. The only solution I can think of is have a law passed in Parliament that the current Pakistan U19 XI all get promoted to senior team along with Naseem Shah (who is an u19 player in any case) and play the same XI for the next 7 years at least and let them get smashed, it’s no different to what’s happening now. This way we might have a team with some solid experience in their late 20s that at least we can’t use the excuse they are young or inexperienced.

If PCB doesn't care about performance why should we worry about the team? This guy is a shameless person with no moral to admit his and his buddies failure. Had there no rain we could have lost all 3 tests.That's the fact!!!

Being positive and optimistic about the future is one thing , but Misbah should accept that you will not achieve the results unless he’s also blunt and honest about where we failed and were exposed.

He should have given a message along the lines of we had great expectations from Shaheen and Naseem on this tour but they failed to deliver, they are young but they have to learn from these mistakes and show they can perform against the top teams or otherwise we will have to look at alternative options.

As for Shan Masood he played a great innings and then did not capitalise on his good form. Babar played well but again needs to realise if you want to become among the best of the best , then you need to convert those 50s into 100s.

By making these kind of statements you are letting players know they need to improve and deliver performances - don’t get complacent and think your place is guaranteed, if you are not delivering against top teams. Wouldn’t that get the players more focused on improving their game?

Otherwise , “boys played well” and are young and inexperienced message gives the signal that keep doing what you are doing, and we enjoyed each other’s company that’s the main thing..

Why do you keep saying this. We are a decent mid level team 4th or 5th in the world. Our position in the WTC reflects where we are. Not the best...but not terrible. We have decent level talent but are tactically poor and lack big game mentality.

At present we are better than Windies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and probably south Africa. We will be competitive against New Zealand and England and get absolutely smashed by India and Australia. Not great but not bad.

Why do you keep saying this. We are a decent mid level team 4th or 5th in the world. Our position in the WTC reflects where we are. Not the best...but not terrible. We have decent level talent but are tactically poor and lack big game mentality.

At present we are better than Windies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and probably south Africa. We will be competitive against New Zealand and England and get absolutely smashed by India and Australia. Not great but not bad.

I won’t say we are better than South Africa. They have a better chance of coming out of Pakistan with a result than we do in South Africa.

South Africa have declined but their best players are still better than our so-called best players.

As far as being better than West Indies is concerned, they will beat us anywhere outside Asia, so perhaps we are on par.

Pakistan’s actual level is 6th or 7th, and it will eventually be reflected in the WTC points table by the time the cycle is over.

I won’t say we are better than South Africa. They have a better chance of coming out of Pakistan with a result than we do in South Africa.

South Africa have declined but their best players are still better than our so-called best players.

As far as being better than West Indies is concerned, they will beat us anywhere outside Asia, so perhaps we are on par.

Pakistan’s actual level is 6th or 7th, and it will eventually be reflected in the WTC points table by the time the cycle is over.

South Africa have not toured us in a while so we shall see when that happens. By your logic we are better than England because we do better in England than they have done in UAE. By your logic again we are better than West indies as we beat them both home and away. We are a pretty solid #4 or #5

Shoaib's televised rant comes to mind a lot these days. It's always a match summary and a "boyz have done well".

Tell us Misbah, what went wrong and what you're going to do to improve next time?

Using the 'young team' line is a pathetic excuse. You picked the team!!

Untill you get rid of coaches who continuously say our team is young you will never get results.

When did England say they have young team???

Almost 70% playerd were new

South Africa have not toured us in a while so we shall see when that happens. By your logic we are better than England because we do better in England than they have done in UAE. By your logic again we are better than West indies as we beat them both home and away. We are a pretty solid #4 or #5

England was our bogey team in the 2010s but those days are gone now.

We beat West Indies with Younis and Misbah. We cannot beat them with our current batting lineup outside Asia.

This is the loser mindset we dealt with from 2011 to 2015. Everytime we lose "it is a great experience". Misbah is someone with a defeatist mentality and such players, captain, coaches can't help Pakistan in any capacity. Please kick this guy out and he should be nowhere close to Pakistan cricket.

Oh bhai jan, which young team? Young team is a team which has players from 20 till late 20s. Not a team that has a over the hill specialist captain, a 34 year old youngster who has been failing since years.

Pakistan cricket's all-weather excuse for failure - "vee are a young team, vee are learning" etc. This line has been repeated endlessly since 1999.

I didn't realise Misbah had a gun pointed to his head forcing him to pick inexperienced players. Nor did I realise Azhar and Shafiq can be classed as youngsters still learning their craft.

Misbah is the worst thing that has happened to Pakistan cricket.

In what way are the following “young” or “improving”?

Abid Ali
Azhar Ali
Asad Shafiq
Fawad Alam
Yasir Shah

That’s five of the starting eleven who were a decade older than real alternatives like Sami Aslam and Shadab Khan.

Misbah is an incorrigible and shameless buffoon.

Kaisa insaan hai yeh.issko koi Sharam bhi ni aati.He has been a cancer to Pakistan cricket since the day he started playing for Pakistan.Worst thing ever happened to Pakistan cricket

Misbah has been claiming to be a young team since 2010

Any young team will have atleast 2-3 under 23 players. That not grounds to call yourself to be a young team when you have Abid Ali, Shan Masood, Azhar. Asad as all 30+ players. Abbas, yasir are also 30ish

Misbah has been claiming to be a young team since 2010

Any young team will have atleast 2-3 under 23 players. That not grounds to call yourself to be a young team when you have Abid Ali, Shan Masood, Azhar. Asad as all 30+ players. Abbas, yasir are also 30ish
Yasir is probably closer to 40. Add to that the young, exciting bench fast bowlers in Sohail Khan and Imran Khan. We really are a young team on the rise.

He was probably talking about our young T20 midle order with : Hafeez, Malik and Iftikhar.

Why does Misbah play 2 40 yr olds in T20Is?
Are there really no better batsmen in Pak than Hafeez and Malik?

Pretty lame excuses from misbah as expected, pakistan need a better coach and need to get rid off TTFs and go through a rebuilding phase.

Can someone give another example of another team that plays two 40yr olds in bilateral t20s?

“Vee are young, vee are improving and vee are still learning.”