“There are players who don't want to talk to each other": Wasim Akram alleges issues within the Pakistan side

Speaking on Star Sports:

“They have been playing cricket for 10 years, and I can't teach them. Rizwan has no game awareness,”

“He should have known that Bumrah was given the ball to take wickets and that the wise thing would have been to play his deliveries cautiously. But Rizwan went for a big shot and lost his wicket."

"Pakistani players think that if they don't perform well, the coaches will be sacked, and nothing will happen to them. It is time to keep the coaches and change the entire team,"

“There are players who don't want to talk to each other. This is international cricket, and you play for your country. Make these players sit at home,”

==

So is Akram making it up or is there truth in this?

Hope Naqvi has got some sense now and will sack Babar azam . They need to revamp this T20 team under new captain.

Saim
Naseem
Shaheen
Abrar
Fakhar
Rauf

Only these should be kept going forward .

No kidding Wasim, only if seniors had been role models. Wasim Waqar issues are documented as well, yes not as bad but still.

Imad has taken away the blame from
Rizwan very lucky, Wasim rightly pointing him so.

I sense a friction also. Team is not appearing united. Team is not appearing positive.

I saw entire Pakistan's batting and clearly felt from the beginning that the team is not gelling well and when Imad started batting it was pretty clear that everyone is playing his own game, there was no teamwork. What Wasim is saying is probably correct

Imad Wasim is a forced selection in this team thrusted in by Wahab Riaz , Shadab is Babar' yaar henceforth persisted with that is why no spinner gets a hold in Pakistan team be it Usama or Abrar

Wasim's mid-tournament diatribes are always fun. Remember his 10 kilos of mutton comment during the ODI World Cup :ROFLMAO:

Whatever the underlying issue with this team, one thing is sure: just as the West Indies loss to Kenya in the 1996 World Cup heralded decades long death of the west indies cricket, Pakistan’s loss to the United States portends a very dark period for Pakistan cricket.

Absolute and ruthless purges should be happening to avert such eventuality.

Honestly all of this is disheartening now.

This team is so divided into cliques that they have also divided ex cricketers into their own cliques and fans into their own cliques.

Atleast during the Misbah and Sarfraz era, everyone wins and loses and lives and dies together.

It seems now everyone is at each other's throats. I think besides tournaments I'll bow out of watching Pakistan matches of they play against teams I don't care about like Zimbabwe or Bangladesh.

Unless it's fun teams I like such as England or Australia I just don't care.

Imad, Abrar, amir amd babar as cricketers are at each other's throats.

Wasim akram is at rizzu's throat.

Every fan is at each other's throats.

Muhammad wasim is at imad's throat

Ramiz raja is causing a rukus on his crapola yt channel.

Meanwhile the reality is minnows are butchering and beating Pakistan black and blue.

No point following Pakistan now, will watch the tournament all matches but otherwise, no need to follow such a minnow loser team. Rather follow Afghanistan instead as they got exciting prospects coming up

Lest we forget that this is an age old issue with our team. It's because too many players are around for too long and like politicians, they create reciprocal back scratching. There is no solution because If you sack these guys things get worse and then these guys are begged to come back and they have more power.

This team is so divided into cliques that they have also divided ex cricketers into their own cliques and fans into their own cliques.

Atleast during the Misbah and Sarfraz era, everyone wins and loses and lives and dies together.

It seems now everyone is at each other's throats. I think besides tournaments I'll bow out of watching Pakistan matches of they play against teams I don't care about like Zimbabwe or Bangladesh.

Meanwhile the reality is minnows are butchering and beating Pakistan black and blue.

No point following Pakistan now, will watch the tournament all matches but otherwise, no need to follow such a minnow loser team. Rather follow Afghanistan instead as they got exciting prospects coming up
I will watch. Good or bad they are our team.

It wasn’t anywhere near this bad before Imran Khan came into power

I will watch. Good or bad they are our team.
Well I'm watching the tournament and all matches.

But I'm bowing out of discussing pak politics now. Cause what I say doesn't get implemented and their isn't really a point when it's more about my player vs your player.

Pakistan lost because USA and India were superior, because Pakistan just like its fans are divided and at each other's throats

Lest we forget that this is an age old issue with our team. It's because too many players are around for too long and like politicians, they create reciprocal back scratching. There is no solution because If you sack these guys things get worse and then these guys are begged to come back and they have more power.
Most teams have groupings. It is only a major issue because our pundits and analysts do not know how to diagnose structural or technical problems. Claims of groupings gets them column inches, it doesn't have to be proven and is a convenient distraction from the massive structural issues plaguing our cricket (and country)

Now watch the chairman come in and say something about how he will hold the players responsible.

Watch the analysts say Pakistan is full of talent but they aren't playing properly.

Rinse and repeat.

It wasn’t anywhere near this bad before Imran Khan came into power
Honestly bro, I'm going your route, you were right. No more point in accepting this unit and making recommendations for now.

Khair t20 world cup hai, good thing is now that Pakistan is out, after Ireland game, threads won't be infested by Bobby, rizwan , imad and Amir banter.

Well wasim Akram needs to realise at least these guys are not being accused of match fixing every time they loose - so he can shut his mouth - short memories some of these guys…

Ppl in glass houses…..

"There are players who don't want to talk to each other."

Is he talking about himself in the 90s? We all saw the team of Waqar, Wasim, Miandad, Salim, Rashid. None of them talked with each other.

So if they all talked to each other our team would be ok?
Kind of, communication is key, they don't gotta do their social media nonsense.

They just need one talk where they all sit and be like, look, some of us do not like each other, but it's a world cup, we are representing our country. Let's do our best and after this cup is over irrespective of results we can attack and buy off the field. For now differences aside for pur nation. This is about the fans and the country, not about our own vendetta or pride.

Friction among players is nothing new. Wasim of all people, should know that very well. The issues between him and Waqar didn't stop either of them from taking wickets or winning Pakistan matches. There are probably some unresolved issues between Pandya and Rohit too but are India losing matches? This is the least of Pakistan's issues at this point. And whatever friction there is between players is purely a creation of this incompetent PCB regime.

Wasim Akram thinking everyone is like him and Waqar. The real reason is pakistan doesn’t have the team to beat top teams and they are very low on confidence also.

Shahid Afridi said he will reveal many things after the World Cup. I'm sure there is some serious rift between Shaheen and Babar, because it is out of the question that Shaheen would remain calm after being sacked from captaincy.

Babar lost the dressing room during the ODI WC 2023. Many players felt let down by Babar getting himself a lucrative A+ contract at the expense of the rest of the team. Plus the shameless manner in which he snatched the captaincy from Shaheen. It was always going to be a recipe for disaster.

The current entity is not a team, its a friends eleven and people that came out of retirement.
That maybe true but as poor as they are, they are also our best players. Bar the odd player they were selected on merit, they are just not very good. Our bowling is average but our batting decline has been in decline for decades

These issues about groupings and politics always seem to come to the fore when results aren't going Pakistans way :ROFLMAO:.

Almost to cover for what is a rubbish performance in this tourney.

I remember during the one of the many world t20s, in 2016 I think when Shahid Afridi was captain and Pakistan lost two matches in a row due to not being able to chase two par scores (because two of the top 3 where Ahmed Shehzad and Khalid Latif), all the grouping talk started again. One reporter even claimed that a picture in which Malik, Akmal and Sarfaraz stood together on the field meant they were in a group against Afridi :ROFLMAO:. Later on Malik was asked about it by the press and he basically said, in not so many words, that the grouping talk always starts because no one wants to admit the team is rubbish :ROFLMAO:, Malik went on further to say that in 2009 as many as half the team weren't on talking terms due to personal issues, yet they still won that cup as essentially the players were professional enough to get the team over the finish line.

Thats not to say infighting doesn't exist in the Pakistan team, Malik himself admitted in that press conference that the 2009 team was fractured, but amazingly no one picked up the whole oathgate saga against Younus Khan, until much later in 2010, when surprise surprise results weren't going Younus Khan and the PCTs way.

That maybe true but as poor as they are, they are also our best players. Bar the odd player they were selected on merit, they are just not very good. Our bowling is average but our batting decline has been in decline for decades
Imad, Amir, Shadab, Iftikhar, Azam Khan were not selected on merit, that's more than the odd player. But forget that, do you seriously believe Shadab coming at 5, Azam Khan at 6 then Iftikhar was a good middle order?

Iftikhar can't hit full tosses while AK misses straight balls of spin.

Imad, Amir, Shadab, Iftikhar, Azam Khan were not selected on merit, that's more than the odd player. But forget that, do you seriously believe Shadab coming at 5, Azam Khan at 6 then Iftikhar was a good middle order?

Iftikhar can't hit full tosses while AK misses straight balls of spin.
Our batting is weak, and Amir and Imad were given retrospective justice. I am not a fan of either but once they are in, we have to be fair in our assessment of both. Azam Khan is a parchi but the issue is bigger than these players- where are the batsman to take us forward.

Respect for your spirit, but half or even more of this team does not merit a place in the team/squad. Its not like bare the odd player.

If anyone can name some decent replacements, I am on board. The freezing in the headlights act has gone on for too long. But each time we have a clear out, we end up worse and all those cleared out are brought back.

The 2003 WC was heavily fractured and Wasim was one of the reasons for that. It’s ironic, but I don’t disagree with what he’s saying and he was also 1000x the cricketer any of our current lot are. Is Wasim making a push to take on a bigger role in Pakistan cricket?

Why wait, just reveal it all now. The team isn’t getting out of the group stage. In fact, isn’t Lala in NYC? Hold a press conference at the team hotel.

When you start losing, everything comes out.
Pak thought USA would be an easy game but most of the players in it have played cricket for other countries or their domestic cricket atleast so they do have expierience and talent.

Even got second chance but still couldn't get over the line. These are alien conditions, the pitches are differnt, you just can't win matches on paper

Pakistan is one of the well gelled unit (atleast on paper ) coming into the world cup. They played a home series against NZ, THey played a series against Ireland, They played a series against England. The all went together to attend "army camp" cheering each other. SO i am not sure what rift he is talking about. May be he is talking about body language. All i see is Babar from time to time yelling at players who misfielded. Hope he doesn't insinuate that as a rift.

Takes one to know one. Wasim would full well know what a disjointed dressing room is like.

Was always going to be an issue giving him back captaincy. These cricketers have also become less fit including Babar over time. I think it was a mistake giving it to Shaheen he is too injury prone, fast bowler and too young. It wasn’t a sensible choice.

Shan Masood is a perfect captain for us. Hard working, fit, good attitude, good role model. Not bad tactically. Captaincy experience. It’s just a shame he has zero talent and isn’t good enough as a player.

Was always going to be an issue giving him back captaincy. These cricketers have also become less fit including Babar over time. I think it was a mistake giving it to Shaheen he is too injury prone, fast bowler and too young. It wasn’t a sensible choice.

Shan Masood is a perfect captain for us. Hard working, fit, good attitude, good role model. Not bad tactically. Captaincy experience. It’s just a shame he has zero talent and isn’t good enough as a player.
I think he can replace Iftikar can't he? He can also bowl a bit. He cannot "finish" games like Iftikar though.

The 2003 WC was heavily fractured and Wasim was one of the reasons for that. It’s ironic, but I don’t disagree with what he’s saying and he was also 1000x the cricketer any of our current lot are. Is Wasim making a push to take on a bigger role in Pakistan cricket?

You forget the 1996 cricket World Cup too. A big reason why Pakistan’s dream team squad of the 90s couldn’t win anything was due to the internal fighting and mutual sabotages. Plus the match fixing.

What is Naqvi going to do? He knows next to nothing about cricket, which is why he’s surrounded himself with sycophants like Wahab. He himself said he’s relying on the “experts” to make the decisions. His big splash making idea to send the players to Kakul did nothing but reveal how unfit our team is.

Basit Ali is claiming inside news from his sources in the PCB that Mohsin Naqvi is furious and he is going to launch a blood bath in the team where atleast 10 members of the WC squad are going to be dropped from the team indefinitely going forward.

The 5 members who will not be dropped are;

Babar
Rizwan
Shaheen
Shadab
Naseem

“I see no changes, wake up in the morning and I ask myself

Is life worth living or should I blast myself”

Also some members of the current WC squad reached out to the PCB chairman in NYC requesting to meet him but he refused ie get lost.

Tbf, he sucks as a player but he had that yk ego to put people in their place and due to his nepotism power he has the ability to sack people like babar and rizwan if these 2 goof off

Also some members of the current WC squad reached out to the PCB chairman in NYC requesting to meet him but he refused ie get lost.

Why did they want to meet him and why did he refuse? Any idea?

And what are his credentials? He should get lost as well!

Bloodbath has never yielded anything before and will never yield anything now. For now they need to get rid of 4-5 players max, and bring in players in place of them. It has to be a gradual process.

What he or whoever is in charge needs to do is overhaul domestic and academy system. Talent available at disposable would be worse. They sent a new team against Afghanistan and that team got badly exposed.

if anything he seems to the dullest of the lot and extremely political.
he isn’t even a cricketer.

There is absolutely nothing wrong in this fact that there is something wrong inside the team.
Since the removal of babar azam, things are not looking good for pakistan. Lots of infighting and gangs formed now. Pcb should clean this mess up asap.

He's just stating the obvious but a bit rich coming from him. Plenty of broken dressing rooms during major tournaments in his time as well. It's all down to the lack of professionalism and "bara bhai" culture that has penetrated PCT for decades.

if anything he seems to the dullest of the lot and extremely political.
he isn’t even a cricketer.

I assume you're talking about Naqvi?

It does seem quite weird that he was at least a contributing factor to this fiasco with him leading the captaincy musical chairs prior to the WC and also instating that God-awful selection committee that has produced the most shambolic squad. Almost sounds like he's itching to shift blame away from management and put it solely onto players. It's not one or the other that's at fault; it's both.

He's just as accountable for the infighting and dire situation in this WC as any of the players. He can't put their head on the guillotine and walk away. You're the Chairman of the Board, the buck stops with you.

Did Imad intentionally miss balls and hit them to fielder , avoid risking doubles etc. I wonder. Only Nasim came with full intent to win game. Rest were merely passing time and pretending pitch is minefield.

Pitch is not minefield but it is definitely very hard to hit boundaries after 10th over. Ball gets soggy and doesn't come to the bat. I watched SAvsBang match yesterday and Bangladesh batsman couldn't even hit full tosses for six and they lost.

Tbf, he sucks as a player but he had that yk ego to put people in their place and due to his nepotism power he has the ability to sack people like babar and rizwan if these 2 goof off
Yk had a lot of issues. Otherwise he would have been great.

Masood has been given more chances due to nepotism. But at least he tries his best when he’s selected. Different attitude compared to say Azam.

Masood also tried his best to redevelop his game. To become more attacking, play middle order. You could see his attempts in England t20 league. Tried to work on his boundary hitting. Something Babar and Rizwan don’t really do. He was just so bad when he tried it in internationals he reverted back to playing slow. But it shows his commitment to improving. He wasn’t even good at domestic when he initially was selected, but he did his best to improve after.

It’s just a real shame he is low on talent.

Yk had a lot of issues. Otherwise he would have been great.

Masood has been given more chances due to nepotism. But at least he tries his best when he’s selected. Different attitude compared to say Azam.

Masood also tried his best to redevelop his game. To become more attacking, play middle order. You could see his attempts in England t20 league. Tried to work on his boundary hitting. Something Babar and Rizwan don’t really do. He was just so bad when he tried it in internationals he reverted back to playing slow. But it shows his commitment to improving. He wasn’t even good at domestic when he initially was selected, but he did his best to improve after.

It’s just a real shame he is low on talent.
Pakistan were going to get crushed in Australia in test regardless of the team.

As a captain shan is decent. He's okay, it's just people praised his captaincy cause everyone is so use to mr shabash shabash.

This is the sort of stuff you would expect from Pakistani aunties to be honest. Not unexpected, as has already been said, you will always get personal rifts and fall outs, they just have to be managed, and presumably that's what the team management personel are paid for.

Well Waz such things also happened during your time as well. There were many divisions during your time based on who should be captain and tactics even political choices. I recall often you and Waqar were not on speaking terms either so save us this "holier then thou" attitude now. I do not remember a time when Pak did not have any divisions and groupings within the team.

Wasim Akram said in a video posted on his Twitter account:

"Now, I think the Chairman of PCB should be given a break from the camera. I am a very positive person, and I consider this a game, but losing like this and getting out of the tournament, it is not yet known whether they are out or not, but after this performance, I don't think these people deserve to be in the Super Eights."

I hate these guys but mate, were you all buddy buddy with Waqar in your hey day? for the most part you were professional.

I personally wouldn’t be able to stand Babar or Rizwan’s shakal, but that wouldn’t mean I can’t cohesively exist to achieve the 180 target / team goal.

I hate these guys but mate, were you all buddy buddy with Waqar in your hey day? for the most part you were professional.

I personally wouldn’t be able to stand Babar or Rizwan’s shakal, but that wouldn’t mean I can’t cohesively exist to achieve the 180 target / team goal.

You can bet other teams have exactly the same personal rivalries within the team, from Sri Lanka to Australia. The difference is they don't let it affect their judgement, their main goal is always a win for the team. Imran Khan didn't particularly gel with Javed Miandad, they were from two opposite ends of the spectrum, but Imran was smart enough to know Javed would win him matches so he made sure to keep him onboard.

It’s like any work place to, at the top level there’s a bunch of folk you may not like but you be a pro and do what’s best for the team. Imran/Javed is the best example of this which you could have given, you could write books about their relationship; but the biggest story is that they knew what it meant to put on the Green Shirt.

Those two could never have mixed outside of cricket, they would have despised each other in social circles. But they both knew they were cricket champions in their own right, and they combined that talent to destroy the best teams in the world together.

Apparently, one of the juniors was instructed by the coach, Gary Kirsten, to use the nets. However, the senior player already occupying them refused to leave, which sparked a heated argument. I’m not sure how accurate this is, but there’s a video by Shoaib Jatt on TikTok discussing the incident.

Gary Kirsten has his hands full if this is true and absolutely silly.
He has dealt with Indian superstars too but Sachin and Dravid were known to be humble and mentors to juniors.

Wasim Akram said in a video posted on his Twitter account:

"Now, I think the Chairman of PCB should be given a break from the camera. I am a very positive person, and I consider this a game, but losing like this and getting out of the tournament, it is not yet known whether they are out or not, but after this performance, I don't think these people deserve to be in the Super Eights."
He has turned into another loud mouth! Next time don’t cry when people bring in 1996 WC and 1999 WC final!

This is not surprising. You will find many senior players bully juniors by hogging the nets and the best practice areas leaving the junior players with little time to practice.

According to a sports reporter, Gary Kirsten has complained to Mohsin Naqvi about 4 players in particular

1) Azam Khan: He doesn't follow the team's trainer fitness and diet plan and just does what he wants. He is not hungry or committed to doing what is needed to play for Pakistan

2) Iftikhar Ahmed: He doesn't follow the team's coaches tips, suggestions to improve his batting, he only does what he wants and things he is comfortable with i.e. practicing hitting the ball in the areas he is comfortable with. On top of that he is very badtameez and gets into fights with his team mates. There was a fight b/w him and Imad Wasim in the nets when Imad requested him to allow him to practice batting and Iftikhar responded "Dekhta hoon ke tum match mein kitne chakke marte ho". Iftikhar even liked and shared a post on his twitter where a fan had made a video mocking Imad Wasim's knock against India

3) Imad Wasim: He doesn't follow the team trainer fitness plan and does what he wants. Imad also hid the serious nature of his injury from the team management and as a result the team management didn't have time to work on getting a replacement.

4) Shaheen Afridi: He doesn't follow the coaches instructions and game plans. He was advised to hit the good length area as that is most suitable for the New York pitch but Shaheen habitually just sticks to that full blooded inswinging yorker and as a result he has leaked unnecessary runs in the opening overs which have cost Pakistan.

I am sure there are more things which will come out.

Mohsin Naqvi has assured Gary Kirsten of his full powers, support i.e. he will help him hold a 2-3 week long camp with all new, upcoming and top domestic cricketers in Pakistan in July, he will be given full powers to decide which players he wants in the team and if he wants to change the captain then so be it as well.

This is not surprising. You will find many senior players bully juniors by hogging the nets and the best practice areas leaving the junior players with little time to practice.

According to a sports reporter, Gary Kirsten has complained to Mohsin Naqvi about 4 players in particular

1) Azam Khan: He doesn't follow the team's trainer fitness and diet plan and just does what he wants. He is not hungry or committed to doing what is needed to play for Pakistan

2) Iftikhar Ahmed: He doesn't follow the team's coaches tips, suggestions to improve his batting, he only does what he wants and things he is comfortable with i.e. practicing hitting the ball in the areas he is comfortable with. On top of that he is very badtameez and gets into fights with his team mates. There was a fight b/w him and Imad Wasim in the nets when Imad requested him to allow him to practice batting and Iftikhar responded "Dekhta hoon ke tum match mein kitne chakke marte ho". Iftikhar even liked and shared a post on his twitter where a fan had made a video mocking Imad Wasim's knock against India

3) Imad Wasim: He doesn't follow the team trainer fitness plan and does what he wants. Imad also hid the serious nature of his injury from the team management and as a result the team management didn't have time to work on getting a replacement.

4) Shaheen Afridi: He doesn't follow the coaches instructions and game plans. He was advised to hit the good length area as that is most suitable for the New York pitch but Shaheen habitually just sticks to that full blooded inswinging yorker and as a result he has leaked unnecessary runs in the opening overs which have cost Pakistan.

I am sure there are more things which will come out.

Mohsin Naqvi has assured Gary Kirsten of his full powers, support i.e. he will help him hold a 2-3 week long camp with all new, upcoming and top domestic cricketers in Pakistan in July, he will be given full powers to decide which players he wants in the team and if he wants to change the captain then so be it as well.
Incident number 2 is what I'm referring to

Kirsten should be given full authority to sack players who are not following instructions

All ridiculous and things getting blowing out of proportion! We have seen this over and over! Delusional fans would get happy that this lot is the problem and when we replace them with a new lot we would start beating top teams for fun. New lot of players will be poor, and will lose badly against all the teams, as a result, players who were dropped would be reselected!

Its better to lose with a new lot and allow them time to grow rather than sticking with some tried and tested failures who have reached their max ceiling.

In a couple of months that new lot will become and tried and tested as well, would you chip them again? Replacing an entire lot has never worked before and will never work now. Pakistan has tried this experiment many times and result has been a failure every time! The process should always be gradual! Right now replace Chacha, Imad, Shadab and Azam. Saim and UK should be sent to a high performance camp.

New lot if always good for a bit though, then success gets to them.

New lot as in when PCT did well in 2017 CT, 2021 T20 wc..