20 Specialist doctors quit jobs abroad to join LRH Peshawar

WebGuru

PESHAWAR: Twenty specialist Pakistani doctors, who had been working abroad for several years, have joined Lady Reading Hospital as assistant professors.

They cite better working environment at the hospital, salary package and improved law and order situation in the country as major reasons for the decision to quit their jobs abroad and join LRH.

Dr Hamid Shehzad, who worked as consultant in the biggest trauma centre of UK at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham for 15 years, has been appointed director of accident and emergency department at LRH.

“I want to serve my own people and promote medical education, especially the emergency medicines, in which I am the only Pakistani to have done fellowship from UK,” Dr Shehzad told Dawn.

A resident of Charsadda, he graduated from Khyber Medical College in 1999. He said that he wanted to produce skilled human resources to treat the victims of bomb attacks and natural calamities.

The other doctors, who quit their jobs in UK, Ireland, Dubai, Singapore, the US, Malaysia and Brunei etc, have the same feelings.

“I was looking for appropriate time to come to my native province. The improvement in law and order situation coupled with the desire to work in my own province, pulled me here from Ireland where I took lucrative package,” said another physician.

Many of expatriates who spoke to Dawn cited main reason for applying for jobs in LRH, improvement in law and order situation, health reforms and better salary.

The LRH administration notified appointment of 43 assistant professors in 17 different specialties on Wednesday. Twenty of the newly appointed medics belonged to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. They had been working abroad for more than a decade, according to officials.

Prof Arshad Javaid, the dean of LRH, told this scribe that it was the biggest ever appointment of specialists on one day since the promulgation of Medical Teaching Institutions Reforms Act, 2015, in the province.

“The move aims to strengthen the faculty to improve patients’ care and teaching and training of the health professionals. We have initiated the process of faculty induction by directing the heads of the departments to send their need for faculty in their respective departments and subsequently getting approval from the academic council of 149 posts of faculty for various departments at assistant, associate and professor level,” he said.

Prof Arshad said that around 680 candidates applied for those positions. He said that 38 assistant professors had been recruited in February 2016. The newly-inducted specialists would be allowed institution-based practice (IBP).

The salary package for assistant professor is Rs250,000 per month, Rs300,000 for associate professor and Rs350,000 for professor.

LRH, the biggest hospital of the province, is ahead of other hospitals covered by the MTIRA as far as launching of IBP is concerned. It started IBP one and half years ago where 40 specialists sit in the evening shift.

Prof Arshad said that with the new appointments, the number of doctors doing IBP would increase to 100.

He said that LRH received 3,000 patients every day for which it needed more specialists.

Prof Arshad said that most of the newly-appointed doctors had lengthy services in reputed hospitals that would benefit the patients as well as promote medical education.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1338434/specialist-doctors-quit-jobs-abroad-to-join-lrh

A step in right direction.

I still remember these words of Imran Khan from his 2013 GE campaign "Main aik Pakistan banana chahta hun jahan log bahir se nokryaan dhundne aayen"

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION]

The best thing PTI has done is to improve salary packages for doctors. A MO in KTH gets paid 50k now. In the long-term, this will definitely result in a reverse brain-drain to an extent, and it is already happening. There are many issues that need to be addressed with respect to the healthcare in the province, but improving salaries is a massive incentive to ensure that qualified doctors do not spring away to the West.

Personally speaking, this is not good for me and others at my level. I was hoping to return to KTH or join LRH in a couple of years, but if experienced specialists are returning to the country then it means fewer openings for junior doctors. When it comes to private hospitals, there were no jobs to begin with unless you have years of experience in the West.

Looks like I will have to wind up in the UK for a few years before finding a job back home, and I don't have future prospects in the U.S., and I am not interested in Australia or the Middle East. The quotas in Punjab and Sindh means almost no possibility of finding work there, and as I mentioned before, finding a job in KTH and LRH has become very hard now.

I still remember these words of Imran Khan from his 2013 GE campaign "Main aik Pakistan banana chahta hun jahan log bahir se nokryaan dhundne aayen"

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION]

"Aur andar se logon ko baahir jaana paray''

Nonetheless, it is important to keep my hopes and spirits up. You get what you get in the end, jo naseeb me hoga mil jayega.

This is Excellent. MashaAllah.

This is not just pay increase influenced but actually hospitals of bigger cities are improving.

Apna mulk apna he hota hai. One must not forget that these people are sacrificing financially to return to Pakistan.

This will have affects on Sindh & Punjab governments aswell and they will have to improve Gov hospitals like KPK and also give similar imcentives to OverSeas Pakistani doctors in order to be competitive.

Yesterday first Robotic surgery was performed in Karachi and PPP is actually doing quite good in this term in Sindh barring water & kachra issues of Khi.

Democracy thrives on Competition.

Wish & Pray that things keep on improving.

I almost ignored this news as too good to be true and masala news but then checked the source is Dawn.

Brilliant job and yet another step in the right direction, experienced doctors from abroad bring with them some valuable experience resulting in better health care for people (in most cases).

This is not just pay increase influenced but actually hospitals of bigger cities are improving.

Apna mulk apna he hota hai. One must not forget that these people are sacrificing financially to return to Pakistan.

This will have affects on Sindh & Punjab governments aswell and they will have to improve Gov hospitals like KPK and also give similar imcentives to OverSeas Pakistani doctors in order to be competitive.

Yesterday first Robotic surgery was performed in Karachi and PPP is actually doing quite good in this term in Sindh barring water & kachra issues of Khi.

This has been disucssed many times in my friends circle, if law and order and economical situation improves thousands of skilled Pakistanis will return to Pakistan because apna mulk tou apna hi hota hai.

Kaptaan has bowled an unplayable in-swinger to me and a lot of others like me. This is ball-tampering. :mv

Mulk ke liye acha huwa, lekin humein qurbani ka bakra bana diya.

The best thing PTI has done is to improve salary packages for doctors. A MO in KTH gets paid 50k now. In the long-term, this will definitely result in a reverse brain-drain to an extent, and it is already happening. There are many issues that need to be addressed with respect to the healthcare in the province, but improving salaries is a massive incentive to ensure that qualified doctors do not spring away to the West.

Personally speaking, this is not good for me and others at my level. I was hoping to return to KTH or join LRH in a couple of years, but if experienced specialists are returning to the country then it means fewer openings for junior doctors. When it comes to private hospitals, there were no jobs to begin with unless you have years of experience in the West.

Looks like I will have to wind up in the UK for a few years before finding a job back home, and I don't have future prospects in the U.S., and I am not interested in Australia or the Middle East. The quotas in Punjab and Sindh means almost no possibility of finding work there, and as I mentioned before, finding a job in KTH and LRH has become very hard now.

If i am not wrong it's more thn 50k now there was a notification a few months ago about another increase maybe [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] can confirm? Also salaries of Nursing Students are increased from 5k to 20k. PTI Govt performed really well when it comes to Police, Health and Education.

Kaptaan has bowled an unplayable in-swinger to me and a lot of others like me. This is ball-tampering. :mv

But aapse pehle wo log be to sacrifice ker rahe thai mulk se door reh ker itne years se jo ab wapis aa rahe hen... So thora aap be hosla keren ALLAH behter kerega and if things start improving thn yeh sirf LRH KTH tak mehdood nae rahega other big hospitals in the province will improve too and they will need the services of fresh faces like you.

Dr Adeeb and SIUT are doing a great job from decades and i am glad PPP govt helped them financially to take this step.

But aapse pehle wo log be to sacrifice ker rahe thai mulk se door reh ker itne years se jo ab wapis aa rahe hen... So thora aap be hosla keren ALLAH behter kerega and if things start improving thn yeh sirf LRH KTH tak mehdood nae rahega other big hospitals in the province will improve too and they will need the services of fresh faces like you.

Thank you, but a lot of these people went abroad with the mindset of staying there for a long period of time before (if ever) returning. They did not anticipate this development. Similarly, neither did I, but I was not intending on staying abroad. My family situation is such that I either need to find work in Pakistan or take my parents with me abroad.

"Aur andar se logon ko baahir jaana paray''

Doctors are over burdened especially the young ones. This workload affects performance too so naturally with Number of Seats will be increased aswell.

If we do much needed Tax reforms than we can Collect huge sum of Taxes and than increase our Health & Education Budgets.

This move won't affect junior doctors or private practioners too much. Its not like thousands of doctors coming back.

From plans of settling in Lahore now you are driffting to UK. Have seen you express quite abit of Love for UK in last few months :) ultimately you are getting to the place your family wanted you to move couple of years ago.

After USA residency (MD) or a fellowship your future in Pakistan will be secure professionally in any of the Sindh, Punjab or KPK Public or Private Setup.

USA trained person is taken Haathoun Haath.

Since very few return to homeland because of West Luxuries so the competition for places almost doesn't exist.

Don't forget that such reforms in KPK health sector are rubbing on Punjab & Sindh too. PPP isn't spending much on advertisements but after getting wiped out from Punjab they learnt there lesson quite well and they too are reforming Health Sector of Sindh (atleast bigger cities)

Whenever I will have ample time I will enlighten the Ppers on that front.

Whether IK's statements or actions weren't mature or sensible enough is a seperate debate but by acting as genuine opposition He has rubbed other parties positively too and now they all feel that delivery is necessary.

When did you last hear or read that thousands of private schools children have taken admission in government Schools ? I think the number is 24000 in last 2 years.

So this is the change.

These two young ministers (Education + Health) are doing great job in KPK. MashaAllah.

Thank you, but a lot of these people went abroad with the mindset of staying there for a long period of time before (if ever) returning. They did not anticipate this development. Similarly, neither did I, but I was not intending on staying abroad. My family situation is such that I either need to find work in Pakistan or take my parents with me abroad.

Don't worry brother sab behter hoga ALLAH apke or aapki family ke liay aasaanyaan paida kere...

When did you last hear or read that thousands of private schools children have taken admission in government Schools ? I think the number is 24000 in last 2 years.

So this is the change.

These two young ministers (Education + Health) are doing great job in KPK. MashaAllah.

Actually more thn 100,000k moved from private schools to govt schools during PTI time. Don't forget the great work being done in tourism sector as well and i heard they are introducing a police force dedicated for tourists only. The number of tourists coming to KP increased massively in last few years.

This has been disucssed many times in my friends circle, if law and order and economical situation improves thousands of skilled Pakistanis will return to Pakistan because apna mulk tou apna hi hota hai.

Exactly.

Actually in democracy things do not work like this but since our systems aren't built adequately no there is a need for Monitor.

Every week Imran Khan calls Edu & Health minister at Banigala and seeks report and progress. And things are moving in right direction.

People must not forget that when a nation is atleast 30-40 years behind in Health & Education departments becahse of previous incompetent, inefficient, corrupt governments than it takes years to rebuild. So what matters is things moving in right direction.

Furthermore there are many Pakistani Dual Nationals who are young ie under 40-45. Who left Pakistan in their 20's. So if the Law & Order improves than they will have choice to move back provided there children also get good education whereby if God forbid in future law and order worsens they can go back to their second home and get adjusted im those education systems.

Now as far as Crime Rates is concerned than because of reforms in KPK police they have gone down significantly. The only major issue wrt Law & Order now is the one caused by Terrorism. There has been huge improvement not only in KPK but entire Pakistan but to make Pakistan Safer Gov has to monitor all religious Schools and Mosques im order to ensure that hate isn't preached and extremism is totally discouraged. Plus the State institutes have to disown some organisations completely. Unfortunately religious political parties and powerful state institutes do not let it happen otherwise Terrorism will eradicate completely from Pakistan. This would massively boost our Economy with huge foreign investments.

Anyhow overall picture is improving which is great MashaAllah.

As has been said PTI has made a good start in KP. As i tell my students Substance over form is the best policy because PR gimmicks mean that people lose faith in you when they discover the truth. Just imagine what Punjab could do with their resources and support from the centre, if they stopped the gimmicks and got down to some really hard graft.

If i am not wrong it's more thn 50k now there was a notification a few months ago about another increase maybe [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] can confirm? Also salaries of Nursing Students are increased from 5k to 20k. PTI Govt performed really well when it comes to Police, Health and Education.

A friend of mine told me that KPK government has a policy whereby if you move to peripheries from main cities than your pay as MO is 90-125 K and alot of young doctors have made the move. This is great because with this Gaounn Dehaat k Schools bhee improve hotay hain which is a blessing for the locals plus health facilities improve aswell. [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] should confirm this.

Dr Adeeb and SIUT are doing a great job from decades and i am glad PPP govt helped them financially to take this step.

Media is always about making public perceptions and trying to knock your opponents down but in reality Asif Ali Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto, Asifa, Bakhtawar, Nawaz, Shehbaz, Maryum, Hamza sahib's sahiba's know it very very well that IK is real opposition and he is delivering in KPK so they have no option but to compete with him in progress abd development of areas they are governing. As a result you see PPP's performance in Sindh has massively improved if you ignore KHI kachra & water issues (work is going on Water Lines) and Tharr's unfortunate deaths (Gov failure due to local corrupt elements). Murad Ali Shah has taken notice of Ghost Schools, Cheating Maafia etc and in last 4 years many new hospitals in different cities of Sindh have started to function with Cardiology, Urology & Liver centres being the focus. Currently in Policing they are way behind.

Similarly Shehbaz Sharif & Maryum are working very hard in Punjab in different sectors and things are improving quite abit. But still since this is a competition so all cannot win. Currently in my view KPK is leading in terms of % age improvement.

Actually more thn 100,000k moved from private schools to govt schools during PTI time. Don't forget the great work being done in tourism sector as well and i heard they are introducing a police force dedicated for tourists only. The number of tourists coming to KP increased massively in last few years.

Yes this is unprecedented in Pakistan's history of last 40 years. This is great MashaAllah. 100k by no means is a small number. It shows public's trust. No parent will randomly admit his children in gov schools in love of IK when they can easily afford private schools. So there is improvement hence we see this move.

Yes Tourism is thriving aswell.

[MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

they have announced slots and some have been filled i personally know one person who came from england and joined it....will get u people informed abou it after confirmation..

they ate definitely developing perepheries by giving handsome money ,,every dpartment is on the rise in kpk.education,health ,tourism all are doing well ...

Good initiative, but we have been hearing about LRH since my childhood. Peshawar needs new hospitals to cater to the ever increasing population. They also need to bring universal healthcare to people living away from city centers.

The issue of shortage of doctors can be resolved quite easily. At the moment most the of the biggest universities are in Peshawar or other bigger cities. The graduates from these universities tend to find work in the same city, however, there is only so much doctors that a city can absorb. The provincial government can offer these junior doctors and incentive to move to and practice in a more rural area for a lucrative salary package (which would be better than what they get in big cities). This well help reduce the unemployment amongst doctors and also bring access to healthcare for people living in towns and villages.

kesay qurabni k bakra?? bro the list is long ..they have inducte 27 hundred mo and they got regularised last month,2700 new MOs are being inducted in perephries...new slots in central hospitals are on merit its not just for foreigners ..they are taking many FCPS as well....

Good initiative, but we have been hearing about LRH since my childhood. Peshawar needs new hospitals to cater to the ever increasing population. They also need to bring universal healthcare to people living away from city centers.

The issue of shortage of doctors can be resolved quite easily. At the moment most the of the biggest universities are in Peshawar or other bigger cities. The graduates from these universities tend to find work in the same city, however, there is only so much doctors that a city can absorb. The provincial government can offer these junior doctors and incentive to move to and practice in a more rural area for a lucrative salary package (which would be better than what they get in big cities). This well help reduce the unemployment amongst doctors and also bring access to healthcare for people living in towns and villages.

dont worry thay are doing it quite well peripheral areas are being developed by giving handsome amount of money...

kesay qurabni k bakra?? bro the list is long ..they have inducte 27 hundred mo and they got regularised last month,2700 new MOs are being inducted in perephries...new slots in central hospitals are on merit its not just for foreigners ..they are taking many FCPS as well....

Can you confirm the current salaries package of MO and others in Hospitals?

TMO s are getting 57 thousand in first year 60 in 2nd year and 65 in 4th year of their training in pehawar...15 thousand hotel allownce to be added....in peripheries it is more than 70 thousand for first year with two thousand incresr after completion of one year training with hostel allowance of 15 thousand.....and yes students nurses are being given 20 k previously it was 5k..and even they have announced health package allowance for claas four one week back...

I dont think we have enough hospitals already so probably step in the right direction is creaing more hospitals where drs like you can also start working.

TMO s are getting 57 thousand in first year 60 in 2nd year and 65 in 4th year of their training in pehawar...15 thousand hotel allownce to be added....in peripheries it is more than 70 thousand for first year with two thousand incresr after completion of one year training with hostel allowance of 15 thousand.....and yes students nurses are being given 20 k previously it was 5k..and even they have announced health package allowance for claas four one week back...

That's excellent. Hope they also improve conditions of government hospitals. I've seen people having no space to sit and wait for their appointments and instead having to sit on the dirty floor packed like sardines in a tiny room with just one ceiling fan for "cooling". These are baby steps but we have a long way to go to undo the bad governance of 70 years.

Can you confirm the current salaries package of MO and others in Hospitals?

MO is getting 130 k in peripehries and aroun 70 thousand in centere...not sure about the centre but the other one is sure...

That's excellent. Hope they also improve conditions of government hospitals. I've seen people having no space to sit and wait for their appointments and instead having to sit on the dirty floor packed like sardines in a tiny room with just one ceiling fan for "cooling". These are baby steps but we have a long way to go to undo the bad governance of 70 years.

yess they are trying but the process is too slow for my likings...

Is there any truth in IK's statement that all government hospitals have been given their own board of governers like private hospitals and this will improve standard of hospitals? I know they have already done more than Noon league has done in 30 years but we have to keep IK and PTI at a higher standard of accountability.

yess they are given complete autonomy,,but many techical issues to be solved yet..

This is no doubt a very positive development. I have no hesitation in giving IK credit where it is due. Now all he has to do is change his views on IoK. His rubbish of demilitarising the valley is sheer nonsense as if India are awaiting instructions from him. Pak Kashmir for his information is already demilitarised.

Reason they are coming back is

Because of trump anti Muslim anti immigrant rhetoric in USA and visa clampdown on Pakistanis

Also same in U.K. Europe you have Anti immigrant anti Muslim feeling

And uk with brexit

Gulf countries again Indians preferred by the camel jockeys and also in those countries they are cracking down on Pakistani workers and immigrants
Saudi in past deported many Pakistani workers

These doctors are also realising they have an easier ride workload in a Pakistani hospital where they have too much respect and arrogance than compared to working themselves to the ground in the NHS in the uk where they are overworked and not respected

Also mamoon now with Tories in power forget coming to the U.K. Mate it's not gonna happen , I think all freshies in Pakistan should now stop dreaming of the uk , They're not gonna let you in

Isn't 350,000 rupees per month a tad less for professors compared to what they'd get in Canada/England/USA?

The income is tad lesser but the cost of living is several times cheaper too.

Reason they are coming back is

Because of trump anti Muslim anti immigrant rhetoric in USA and visa clampdown on Pakistanis

Also same in U.K. Europe you have Anti immigrant anti Muslim feeling

And uk with brexit

Gulf countries again Indians preferred by the camel jockeys and also in those countries they are cracking down on Pakistani workers and immigrants
Saudi in past deported many Pakistani workers

These doctors are also realising they have an easier ride workload in a Pakistani hospital where they have too much respect and arrogance than compared to working themselves to the ground in the NHS in the uk where they are overworked and not respected

Also mamoon now with Tories in power forget coming to the U.K. Mate it's not gonna happen , I think all freshies in Pakistan should now stop dreaming of the uk , They're not gonna let you in

Garbage post, but then again your posts are that.

How does visa-clampdown cause Pakistanis to stream back to Pakistan? Visa clampdown will only affect people who are entering the country, not the ones living there you dunce.

If coming back to Pakistan was an easy choice then all of them would go to Lahore or Islamabad or even Karachi. Who are easily better developed than any other city and host an infastructure that is better than anywhere else in Pakistan with Western brands, western food and more ''modern''. They certainly wouldn't bother going to KPK, a province known in the past notoriously for poverty and large-scare crime and terrible safety. The reason they're all going to KPK is because the government is actually paying people properly and pouring money into health care and education.

I know people personally who left the UK for KPK way before Trump or ''anti-Muslim sentiment'' because they felt that its worth going to Peshawar as doctors and be part of a bigger change themselves. Seems like this trend is continuing.

I have almost my entire family from father's side in UK, 99% of who are doctors and who's kids are in medical schools and all of whom have never claimed about being disrespected. I have myself lived half my life in the UK so I know you're posting dross.

However doctors I know, from family and friends, in Pakistan over the years have been kidnapped, robbed multiple times, paid absolute peanuts (my driver in Pakistan was paid more than a doctor in a public hospital in a place like Faisalabad) so for them to abandon nice high-paying cushy lives in the West for Pakistan is not easy.

But again, an Indian commenting on Pakistan, a garbage post from a garbage poster.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], don't listen to this dunce. Do your PLAB 1, apply for a visa so you can go and do PLAB 2 and you'll be there. There is a chronic shortage of doctors especially in the A&E. Ask the Mods so you can PM me, I can personally guide you the through the entire process.

Garbage post, but then again your posts are that.

How does visa-clampdown cause Pakistanis to stream back to Pakistan? Visa clampdown will only affect people who are entering the country, not the ones living there you dunce.

If coming back to Pakistan was an easy choice then all of them would go to Lahore or Islamabad or even Karachi. Who are easily better developed than any other city and host an infastructure that is better than anywhere else in Pakistan with Western brands, western food and more ''modern''. They certainly wouldn't bother going to KPK, a province known in the past notoriously for poverty and large-scare crime and terrible safety. The reason they're all going to KPK is because the government is actually paying people properly and pouring money into health care and education.

I know people personally who left the UK for KPK way before Trump or ''anti-Muslim sentiment'' because they felt that its worth going to Peshawar as doctors and be part of a bigger change themselves. Seems like this trend is continuing.

I have almost my entire family from father's side in UK, 99% of who are doctors and who's kids are in medical schools and all of whom have never claimed about being disrespected. I have myself lived half my life in the UK so I know you're posting dross.

However doctors I know, from family and friends, in Pakistan over the years have been kidnapped, robbed multiple times, paid absolute peanuts (my driver in Pakistan was paid more than a doctor in a public hospital in a place like Faisalabad) so for them to abandon nice high-paying cushy lives in the West for Pakistan is not easy.

But again, an Indian commenting on Pakistan, a garbage post from a garbage poster.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], don't listen to this dunce. Do your PLAB 1, apply for a visa so you can go and do PLAB 2 and you'll be there. There is a chronic shortage of doctors especially in the A&E. Ask the Mods so you can PM me, I can personally guide you the through the entire process.

Thanks. I am well aware of the process, I have an uncle and a cousin who are consultants in the UK. In case I don't get a job when I return to Pakistan, I will consider it as a backup option. Nonetheless, I can understand the apprehension, but this whole angle of the UK becoming forbidden for Pakistanis due to the Tories is vastly overblown.

The income is tad lesser but the cost of living is several times cheaper too.

Most of them end up doing private clinics as well. PKR 350k is good enough to live a good life in Pakistan, but you won't be able to save much.

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION]

I agree, but the pessimist in me is not hopeful.

Thanks. I am well aware of the process, I have an uncle and a cousin who are consultants in the UK. In case I don't get a job when I return to Pakistan, I will consider it as a backup option. Nonetheless, I can understand the apprehension, but this whole angle of the UK becoming forbidden for Pakistanis due to the Tories is vastly overblown.

I agree. If anyone's educated visas are no problem. I have had my maternal cousins move to Canada, Australia and London and are all very well settled with no visa issues. The former two have now permanent residencies.

Good luck to you re: your education.

Most of them end up doing private clinics as well. PKR 350k is good enough to live a good life in Pakistan, but you won't be able to save much.

I heard doctors are being encouraged to continue their private practice at govt hospitals after working hours instead of private clinics so that govt facilities can be used by patients. I saw a report abiut this in hayat abad medical complex i am not sure if they will do it for other govt hospitals too. They will charge a fix amount just like their private clinics in off hours.

This is no doubt a very positive development. I have no hesitation in giving IK credit where it is due. Now all he has to do is change his views on IoK. His rubbish of demilitarising the valley is sheer nonsense as if India are awaiting instructions from him. Pak Kashmir for his information is already demilitarised.

It wouldn't matter what Imran Khan thinks about Kashmir, he isn't the army general of Pakistan who is the only party who calls the shots on the matter.

If Imran becomes Prime Minister, he should (rightly) channel his efforts toward improving the health and education sector of Pakistan like this.

I agree. If anyone's educated visas are no problem. I have had my maternal cousins move to Canada, Australia and London and are all very well settled with no visa issues. The former two have now permanent residencies.

Good luck to you re: your education.

Thank you.

I heard doctors are being encouraged to continue their private practice at govt hospitals after working hours instead of private clinics so that govt facilities can be used by patients. I saw a report abiut this in hayat abad medical complex i am not sure if they will do it for other govt hospitals too. They will charge a fix amount just like their private clinics in off hours.

Yes that's true.

Well in punjab sory to say education sector and hospitals are in bad position with each passing year :(

That is great we really need to invest big in health and education!

My aunt is a professor in a Medical University in inner Punjab, somewhere near Multan - but not Nishtar and she gets paid around 700,000 PKR. Therefore, I understand why.

international media is recognising pti efforts , Carrying on up the Khyber
Imran Khan’s party improves services in Pakistan’s wildest province

But can the PTI stay in power?

Print edition | Asia
Jun 8th 2017 | PESHAWAR
“THEY are getting away with murder,” says Khalid Masud, director of the Lady Reading Hospital in Peshawar, the largest in a province long racked by insurgency. Dr Khalid was not talking of the Pakistani Taliban or other extremist groups, but of his own doctors. Of the 45 senior consultants at the hospital, many pop in for no more than an hour a day if at all. Then they leave for their private clinics, taking with them those patients who can afford to pay. Patients without money can die before they see a specialist at the 1,750-bed facility. Such is the state of public health care for the 27m residents of Pakistan’s mountainous, troubled border region of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Things may be changing, though. A recent law seeks to pin wayward doctors to their official place of work. Only a handful have reappeared at the notorious Lady Reading. But about 60 are back at work at another Peshawar hospital nearby..
That reform is possible in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is down to improved security following the army’s anti-Taliban campaign in 2014. Better government has helped too. In elections in 2013 the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party of Imran Khan gained control of the province after breaking the national stranglehold of the two traditional rivals, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)—which is in power nationally under the prime minister, Nawaz Sharif—and the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), currently the opposition in Islamabad, the capital.

Ahead of an election due to be held in 2018, Pakistanis wonder how far the PTI has fulfilled its promise to do two unusual things: run a clean government, and transform hospitals and schools. The evidence is clear on corruption. Ministers no longer drive about arrogantly in motorcades a dozen vehicles long. The PTI’s term has seen little scandal. And the party has ended a free-for-all in which provincial assembly members could appoint friends and family to public-sector jobs (many of the 119,000 teachers could hardly read or write). Federal handouts to the provinces have increased, and in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa money is at last ending up where it is meant to.

The PTI now wants to see locals flocking to use public services. It has certainly made schools more appealing: the party has appointed 40,000 more teachers, rebuilt institutions blown up by the Taliban and furnished others with toilets and electricity. Teacher absenteeism has fallen. But the PTI’s claim that about 100,000 students have chosen to switch from private to public schools is based on dodgy data. There are other bones to pick. In 2013 the PTI allowed its coalition partner, the Jamaat-e-Islami, an Islamist group, to remove pictures in textbooks of women without a veil, among other measures.

The diagnosis is less mixed when it comes to health care. The PTI has employed many more medical staff, raising the ratio of doctors per 1,000 people from 0.16 to 0.24. It has also begun, albeit far from smoothly, to roll out a comprehensive health-insurance card for poor families. All this has had an effect. The number of operations in public hospitals has doubled since 2013; inpatient cases have risen by half as much again. Such change comes despite objections from special interests that lose out from reforms. Pharmacists broke the shelves of a new drug dispensary at one Peshawar hospital, so incensed were they by its offering medicine at the wholesale price.

Yet the PTI may struggle to win a second term in 2018. One problem is excessive promises. Mr Khan, who broke into politics after a stellar career as a cricketer, pledged a “tsunami” of change. But it took his inexperienced party two years to get a handle on government, and many of its reforms so far, according to Faisal Bari of LUMS university, need much longer to get entrenched. Some of its more notable improvements are hardly photogenic. It is one thing for people gleefully to take selfies in front of a new flyover in Peshawar, another to do the same in front of new toilets in a rural girls’ school.

That Mr Khan himself appears to have lost interest in the province does not help. He aspires to national office and spends much of his time heckling the prime minister, who is under investigation for corruption. The PTI is starting to look more like the established parties. Having long mocked rapid-transit bus lanes, a favourite pork-barrel project of such parties, as a costly distraction from public-sector reform, the PTI is now building one of its own in Peshawar. It is said to be the country’s most expensive, per kilometre, yet.

http://www.economist.com/news/asia/...-improves-services-pakistans-wildest-province

It wouldn't matter what Imran Khan thinks about Kashmir, he isn't the army general of Pakistan who is the only party who calls the shots on the matter.

If Imran becomes Prime Minister, he should (rightly) channel his efforts toward improving the health and education sector of Pakistan like this.

Of course it matters. Only reason the army doesn't listen to NS is because he is pro India. I don't expect him to comment on IoK when he didn't even mention the name of terrorist Kulbushan Yadav. IK's relationship with the military will be very different. He has already greatly improved KPK.

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] saw this not sure if the numbers are correct?

DCil76JU0AElLx2.jpg

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] saw this not sure if the numbers are correct?

DCil76JU0AElLx2.jpg

yess true but if u include hostel allowance....,,,mine is nt 73 i am frst ye pg....cause i have joned hostl,,but was getting it for good 6 mnths.....

Whats the truth with the strike?

story is long i was part of it for first 3 days but no genuine demands..so did not participate....only 30 doctors out of 3 thousand ..but the situation was misshandeled so thats whu we yung doctorss got angry,,,,none supports them....qasam sa gap shap ha...

I heard they want Biometric attendance system to be removed?