25 years of PTI - has the party been a success or failure?

Has the PTI been a success or failure over the last 25 years?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Live Stream: Prime Minister of Pakistan <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a>'s Message on Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf 25th Youm-e-Tasees (25.04.2021)<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI25Years_AgainstMafia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI25Years_AgainstMafia</a> <a href="https://t.co/6esxi9rpUf">https://t.co/6esxi9rpUf</a></p>— Prime Minister's Office, Pakistan (@PakPMO) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPMO/status/1386306939437596672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 25, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Sunday lauded his party and said that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf is the only political entity in the country's history to launch a campaign against corruption.

The premier was speaking via a video link on the occasion of PTI's 25th Youm-e-Tasees (foundation day) and said that more than two decades ago, he formed the party in view of the fact that corruption was damaging the country.

"I had studied political science in the university and had played professional cricket in Britain, therefore, I had realised it early on that nations don't move towards destruction due to a lack of resources or because of bombings or war," he said.

"It is corruption which pushes a country towards decline."

The premier said that when people in power resort to corrupt practices, then a nation is destined to face a decline. He said that twenty-five years ago, he and his friends named the party after the concept of Insaf (justice) because, without justice, corruption cannot be eliminated.

"This was the reason why a person like me — who was not only famous but had been bestowed with everything in life — decided to join politics [in a bid to make a change]."

Speaking about the political journey of the PTI, he said that many people joined his party and left but he never gave up despite all odds.

"I learned not to accept a defeat from cricket," he said. "A man only achieves success in life when he continues to move forward without looking back."

He went on to say that his struggle was also inspired by the life of the Holy Prophet (PBUH) who spent 13 years of hardship to work towards the cause of Allah.

"After a long struggle, the PTI held a jalsa at the Minar-e-Pakistan in Lahore on October 30, 2011, which marked the political rise of the party," the PM recalled.

He then talked about the 2013 elections and his 26-day dharna against alleged rigging in the elections to send the message across.

"Unfortunately, no action regarding electoral reforms was taken despite our continued protest," he said. "Since then, we had been determined to introduce a transparent electoral system and my government will now introduce electronic voting machines for the purpose."

Prime Minister Imran Khan then talked about the PTI government after taking over the country in 2018 and said that the period marked the most difficult struggle of his life.

"No other party had to form a government at a time when the country was going through its worst crisis," he said, adding that the economy was declining, there were unprecedented debts because of the previous two governments, foreign exchange reserves were empty, and most importantly, the current account deficit of the country stood at $20 billion.

"I am proud of the PTI government's achievements over the last 2.5 years," he said while giving details of the improvements Pakistan made on several fronts.

"The construction sector in Pakistan is developing at a rapid pace, while we are also making progress in the agricultural sector, large-scale manufacturing industries, and car sales, among others," Prime Minister Imran Khan said.

Speaking about the future course of action and wealth creation to further develop the country, PM Khan said that the government is creating a new city in Sindh and a central business district in Lahore which will add billions to the national exchequer.

The PM also shed light on several other initiatives of the PTI government, including the construction of dams and the launch of the 10 Billion Tree Tsunami Project to tackle climate change.

"The PTI has taken steps to make Pakistan a welfare state — a move which no other government had taken before. These steps include the issuance of health cards in two provinces, the construction of a panah gah (shelter home), and housing loans for the poor," he said.

"Most importantly, the PTI government is fighting for the supremacy of law in the country, which is a battle for the soul of Pakistan," he said, adding that through justice, the government will win this war.

Opposition reacts to PM's speech
Reacting to Prime Minister Imran Khan's speech in which he lauded his government, PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb said that instead of singing praises for itself, the PTI should be "ashamed of itself for creating unprecedented inflation in the country."

"Over the last 2.5 years, inflation has risen from 3% to 16%, while 4 million people are unemployed," she said, adding that the country's growth rate has declined from 5.8% to -4%, which shouldn't be a matter of pride for the PTI government.

Akin to Marriyum, PPP's Central Secretary Information Faisal Karim Kundi said that the last two-and-a-half years of the PTI government had been "tormenting for the masses."

"The PM had previously said that he'd commit suicide but not beg before the IMF," he said, adding the government eventually had to go to the IMF.

"The PTI government has mortgaged the country's economy [by seeking loans from the IMF once again]."

Kundi questioned the government health card initiative and said: "How many people have so far received medical treatments through the health card? First, present statistics to the parliament [and praise your government later]."

On the other hand, JUI-F's central spokesperson Mohammad Aslam Ghauri said that once again, the premier's speech centred around the topis of corruption, theft, and shifting blames.

"Inflation has made life a living hell for the masses, but the PTI has done nothing except for hurling insults and blaming [other parties].

Saved the country from bankruptcy isn't an achievement in your eyes? Remember what they were predicting the Rp to go to?

He choked the economy and couldn’t utter a word when the incumbent Finance Minister S Tareen asserted that the previous PTI finance ministers destroyed the economy.

Imran completely failed on the economic front. In simple words, he destroyed the economy.

For me the greatest achievement is that looting on a mass scale will never be allowed again in PK, and if the courts nd NAB weren't an extension of the mafia, he would have got back most of the money. He has broken up the family business monopoly on power and as they will find when and If they come back, the rules of the game have changed. Ultimately, the people of PK will decide and if they decide he hasn't brought the change they want, then they will have to take their chances.

He choked the economy and couldn’t utter a word when the incumbent Finance Minister S Tareen asserted that the previous PTI finance ministers destroyed the economy.

Imran completely failed on the economic front. In simple words, he destroyed the economy.

He didn't, I gave a you full reply and went through each and every point but you didn't have the courage to reply. Do you have the balls to go back on that thread?

PTI stood for change, and Imran has failed to deliver that change which means PTI has achieved nothing.

Imran got a reality check after 2013 and flushed his manifesto down the toilet, back-tracking on everything and taking a U-turn on every principled stance.

Imran blind supporters called it “politics”, but the rest of the world saw him as a man with no resolve and no commitment to his own cause.

He was only interested in becoming the PM by hook or crook and that meant compromising everything that he stood for.

PTI today is not the PTI the founding members, the supporters and even Imran himself envisioned decades ago.

Imran has become a shell of his former self who can only make castles in the air and offer words and promises that he cannot fulfill.

PTI’s performance in the federal government has been zero. They have not lived up to the expectations and the promises they made.

They have proved to be the most underprepared and clueless government in Pakistan history.

He didn't, I gave a you full reply and went through each and every point but you didn't have the courage to reply. Do you have the balls to go back on that thread?

When PTI assumed federal power, the growth rate was around 5.5%. The economic champion Asad Umar (who was booted after 8 months due to his shocking performance) asserted that the growth rate is only one aspect of economic development, and addressing the debt ratio and the current account deficit were more pressing concerns.

And what did PTI achievement on that front? The debt ratio ballooned from 72 to 94% and the current account deficit was addressed by choking the economy.

PTI made the economic crisis worse than it was because it had no idea what they were doing and what they intended to do, and that is why Imran has ran through 4-5 (I am losing count now) different finance ministers in 3 years.

You don’t chop and change finance ministers every 6 months when the economy is doing well.

When PTI assumed federal power, the growth rate was around 5.5%. The economic champion Asad Umar (who was booted after 8 months due to his shocking performance) asserted that the growth rate is only one aspect of economic development, and addressing the debt ratio and the current account deficit were more pressing concerns.

And what did PTI achievement on that front? The debt ratio ballooned from 72 to 94% and the current account deficit was addressed by choking the economy.

PTI made the economic crisis worse than it was because it had no idea what they were doing and what they intended to do, and that is why Imran has ran through 4-5 (I am losing count now) different finance ministers in 3 years.

You don’t chop and change finance ministers every 6 months when the economy is doing well.

The Nooras borrowed 37 bn in the 5 years, they left the country bankrupt and Ahsan Iqbal said so 2 weeks ago. He claimed the PTI should have gone to the IMF aa soon as they came to power, so it begs the question why? Why did PK need to go to the IMF if you are saying the Nooras left the country in such a good state. What you don't understand is that it was unsustainable, it was based on borrowing and Imports. Hence the lack of Foreign currency and only 8bn reserves. As you will know and the Nooras have admitted, the money borrowed by IK isn't his borrowing, its the Noora legacy. Dar said the Rp would go to 180+ as soon as IK took power, why did he say that, well we know because the pathetic crook did a runner, because he was going to get lynched for his criminal negligence.

Stick to what you know, and that's not economics.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations to PTI on its 25th birthday. I want to especially remember two friends, Ahsan Rashid and Naeem Ul Haque, as well as Saloni Bokhari - all of whom were with me when we launched PTI in Holiday Inn Lahore 25 years ago. Sadly all three are no longer with us.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1386389099280441350?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 25, 2021</a></blockquote>

Sugar is not avaialble in market. His party members like Tareen invovled in sugar mafia, yet we have his fans claiming here that he stopped the looting.

And where is Tareen now? Surely if he was IK's friend he would be no way facing FIA charges etc? What does that tell you about IK? Can you imagine that happening under Sharifs or Zardaris?

Why don't you also be honest and tell us what % is controlled by AZ and the Sharifs.

And where is Tareen now? Surely if he was IK's friend he would be no way facing FIA charges etc? What does that tell you about IK? Can you imagine that happening under Sharifs or Zardaris?
If he isn't investigated it's a fixed game and if he is investigated, he is innocent according to non other than Rana the Qatil and he is being victimised. Do these crooks make any sense.

Bhai they can hang or let Tareen free for all i care, "awam ko tu ik kilo sugar k liye rula dia ramzan me line me lga k faqeerun ke trha," and mind you these are also words of our courts not just mine, but in PTIs bhakts mind anything against iK doesn't count and those who say that are just nooras and haters. Wish you foreigners had to go all this tabdeeli on the ground in Pakistan.

I agree that Sugar should be available but you must also realise that this is a battle for control between the mafia and IK. If you look at the badniyaati of some on here you would know that The Sharifs and AZ together control a bigger portion than Tareen. And I am also sure IK would happily hang these crooks and IA it happens.

He has been given once in a lifetime opportunity to turn around the ship. I'm afraid to say he has stayed busy wasting time. It's been three years and we have had no major reforms of police, justice system, education and health. These are the basic issues plaguing the country. Until he starts with the core issues, he will be a failed Prime Minister in my eyes. I mean start somewhere and build it. Hire the experts of the said fields and get going. My dad is a staunch supporter of Khan, and he losing patience. Khan is all talk. His speech in the DC arena in July 2019 killed it for me. He promised he won't let any of the looter stay in the air conditioned jail and before we knew Sharif flew to London. I don't take listen or take him seriously anymore.

Every lota who has been part of the loot maar is with him right now.

He has been given once in a lifetime opportunity to turn around the ship. I'm afraid to say he has stayed busy wasting time. It's been three years and we have had no major reforms of police, justice system, education and health. These are the basic issues plaguing the country. Until he starts with the core issues, he will be a failed Prime Minister in my eyes. I mean start somewhere and build it. Hire the experts of the said fields and get going. My dad is a staunch supporter of Khan, and he losing patience. Khan is all talk. His speech in the DC arena in July 2019 killed it for me. He promised he won't let any of the looter stay in the air conditioned jail and before we knew Sharif flew to London. I don't take listen or take him seriously anymore.

Every lota who has been part of the loot maar is with him right now.

Imran is nothing but hot air, but to be fair to him, Nawaz leaving the country had nothing to do with him.

Nawaz left as part of the deal between Imran’s boss and PMLN.

Nawaz was giving a one way ticket to London in exchange for PMLN’s signature on the Army Amendment Act.

Imran thought running the country would be like captaining a cricket team. Even his vocabulary is limited to cricket. He has been brutally exposed as a public administrator and a leader.

He has no policies, no vision, no clear picture of what he wants to do. The country has been running on autopilot over the last 3 years and he is doing experiments and taking arrows in the dark.

We have not seen any leadership on any front. It has been total shambles from the word go.

Imran thought running the country would be like captaining a cricket team. Even his vocabulary is limited to cricket. He has been brutally exposed as a public administrator and a leader.

He has no policies, no vision, no clear picture of what he wants to do. The country has been running on autopilot over the last 3 years and he is doing experiments and taking arrows in the dark.

We have not seen any leadership on any front. It has been total shambles from the word go.

You should stick to the PDM. They are more your level- a corrupt Maulvi leading 2 clowns on a merry dance and then getting the 2 losers to fall out over who was more selected

Imran is nothing but hot air, but to be fair to him, Nawaz leaving the country had nothing to do with him.

Nawaz left as part of the deal between Imran’s boss and PMLN.

Nawaz was giving a one way ticket to London in exchange for PMLN’s signature on the Army Amendment Act.

But you claimed on here that NS was for civilian superamacy. :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:

IKs only achievment was that he broke the back of PMLN, however he failed in everything else.

But you claimed on here that NS was for civilian superamacy. :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:

Everyone is fighting for civil supremacy in Pakistan until they get an offer from the establishment.

Imran was also fighting for civil supremacy in the past and called the military “bull in a china shop” until they decided to install him as their new puppet.

It is important to understand that PTI has no long-term future. It is a fake party with no roots.

You have a delusional leader at the top with a bunch of opportunists and turncoats at the bottom, who have jumped on the PTI bandwagon to serve their own interests.

Their is no cohesion and no shared ideology and no concrete succession plan.

PTI exists until Imran does. When he goes, these opportunists will either be absorbed back by the parties they left or they will break away and form their own parties.

20-30 years from now, depends on how long Imran lives, PTI will be reduced to rubble and become history. It will be reduced to a more footnote in Pakistan political history and remembered as a party that thundered for a couple of decades but achieved nothing.

On the other hand, the family name of Sharif, Bhutto and Zardari will continue to live on. People criticize family politics and dynasties but that is what ensures long-term survival in Pakistan politics.

People come and go but it is the family name that lives on. PMLN and PPP will exist long after this generation of Sharifs, Bhuttos and Zardaris are gone.

Everyone is fighting for civil supremacy in Pakistan until they get an offer from the establishment.

Imran was also fighting for civil supremacy in the past and called the military “bull in a china shop” until they decided to install him as their new puppet.

If we go back 2.5 yrs you said that IK was denied a majority, and today you are claiming that he is a installed puppet. Which one of you is lying, that one or this one? &#55358;&#56596;

It is important to understand that PTI has no long-term future. It is a fake party with no roots.

You have a delusional leader at the top with a bunch of opportunists and turncoats at the bottom, who have jumped on the PTI bandwagon to serve their own interests.

Their is no cohesion and no shared ideology and no concrete succession plan.

PTI exists until Imran does. When he goes, these opportunists will either be absorbed back by the parties they left or they will break away and form their own parties.

20-30 years from now, depends on how long Imran lives, PTI will be reduced to rubble and become history. It will be reduced to a more footnote in Pakistan political history and remembered as a party that thundered for a couple of decades but achieved nothing.

On the other hand, the family name of Sharif, Bhutto and Zardari will continue to live on. People criticize family politics and dynasties but that is what ensures long-term survival in Pakistan politics.

People come and go but it is the family name that lives on. PMLN and PPP will exist long after this generation of Sharifs, Bhuttos and Zardaris are gone.

Your Ghulami has no boundaries. Thankfully they are on the run. Btw who is right, Billo for claiming that the family from Lahore is selected or the crooks of Jati Umra claiming that Larkana crooks are selected? Don't you normally run off at this point &#55357;&#56900;

For me the greatest achievement is that looting on a mass scale will never be allowed again in PK, and if the courts nd NAB weren't an extension of the mafia, he would have got back most of the money. He has broken up the family business monopoly on power and as they will find when and If they come back, the rules of the game have changed. Ultimately, the people of PK will decide and if they decide he hasn't brought the change they want, then they will have to take their chances.

Really? So what are all these Lotay in PTI (ex-pml and ex-ppp) now doing in this government?

As for saving Pakistan from Bankruptcy, look at the current foreign debt and inflation. Pakistans economy really is in a mess.

Really? So what are all these Lotay in PTI (ex-pml and ex-ppp) now doing in this government?

As for saving Pakistan from Bankruptcy, look at the current foreign debt and inflation. Pakistans economy really is in a mess.

Sadly it's change of name and optics, no reforms, no vision and nothing much tangible on the ground to show for it, most of achievement are number twisting and that's about it, ask any random thousand people in any city of Pakistan that are they better of after these 2.5 years or worse of and you will have your answer. Because these PTI supporters sitting in 1st world countries and even their well off relatives in Pak can never understand the suffering of 80 to 90 % middle or lowery class Pakistanis. And i don't even blame them much if i was in their position i may have similar opinion because without first hand experience you can't completely comprehend the situation.

Indeed PTI needs to improve it's governance and administration. Even if inflation is partly artificial and caused by various mafias, it is the job of the government to go after them and bring down the prices of essential commodities (food and medicine etc.)

PPP and PML-N have survived not because of any vision or ideology but because these are essentially family limited companies. When the leader goes then his children take over and then their children and so on.

Roti kapra aur makan is still a pipedream in rural Sindh let alone the rest of the countries despite PPP being given 3 or 4 opportunities at the centre (the party is habitually corrupt) and the Sharifs mainly focussed on things (such as roads etc.) from which they could make more money or get kickbacks by using their own various businesses.

There is no doubt that much of those 25 years were spent in planning how to get in power and not enough time was spent in what to do when power is attained.

I still have hope from Imran Khan but he made compromises to get in power and those have come to bite him in the first two and a half years. I pray that he is able to put last 2.5 years behind and steers the country toward the right direction.

I must say though he does not get enough credit for implementing the smart lockdown policy during the initial days of Covid. Country would have been in a disastrous situation otherwise. Hopefully, Pakistan steers out of the current wave too with minimum harm.

There is no doubt that much of those 25 years were spent in planning how to get in power and not enough time was spent in what to do when power is attained.

I still have hope from Imran Khan but he made compromises to get in power and those have come to bite him in the first two and a half years. I pray that he is able to put last 2.5 years behind and steers the country toward the right direction.

I must say though he does not get enough credit for implementing the smart lockdown policy during the initial days of Covid. Country would have been in a disastrous situation otherwise. Hopefully, Pakistan steers out of the current wave too with minimum harm.

He does not get enough credit because he did nothing. He has been clueless right from the beginning.

For the first few months, he constantly downplayed the threat and called it “just a flu”. He would openly contradict the statements of WHO and spread ignorance among the masses.

For a long time, he would regularly appear in crowds without wearing a mask because he thought he was too macho to wear a mask against “just a flu”.

It was all about gimmicks and self-praise for him. The Corona Tiger Force was a cringe-fest. They were given white t-shirts with tigers printed on them as homage to Imran’s cornered tigers speech in 92 World Cup.

They achieved nothing and had no ground presence. We don’t even know if they exist anymore because we haven’t heard about them for a while now.

The lockdown itself was poorly managed. One day it was called selective lockdown and the other day it became a smart lockdown, all though there was nothing smart about it.

It was not implemented efficiently and the government was very late to act. There was no coordination between the federal government and the provincial governments.

Even the federal and KP health ministers were giving contradictory statements even though both were from PTI. It summed up the confusion of the government.

Imran was directly responsible for the surge after Eid-ul-Fitr 2020 when he took the nonsensical decision to ease lockdown restrictions in the last week of Ramzaan.

People go crazy with Eid shopping at that time, and it was the worst possible time to ease restrictions. As a result, it caused a huge spike.

Apart from giving warnings to people after he finally overcame his ignorance and realized that this is not “just a flu”, he has done nothing. There has been no leadership and strong decision-making.

There has also been no accountability over the actions of government ministers. 4-5 months back, in Peshawar, there was a massive wedding in the family of the KP health minister Taimur Jhagra.

SOPs were violated and there was no social distancing. In fact, it was not possible when the crowd was so big. As a result, COVID spread like wildfire and dozens died after getting infected in the wedding, including 3 members from Jhagra’s own family.

This should have been enough to sack him as health minister because if this how our leadership will act, you cannot expect anything from the public. However, no action was taken because Imran does not care about accountability. It just a drama.

Pakistan did not get hit as hard as it could have in the first wave, but it had nothing to do with Imran.

Now in the third wave, the mortality rate is going up and our vaccine distribution is among the worst in the world thanks to the incompetency of the worst PM in Pakistan history.

[/b]

He does not get enough credit because he did nothing. He has been clueless right from the beginning.

For the first few months, he constantly downplayed the threat and called it “just a flu”. He would openly contradict the statements of WHO and spread ignorance among the masses.

For a long time, he would regularly appear in crowds without wearing a mask because he thought he was too macho to wear a mask against “just a flu”.

It was all about gimmicks and self-praise for him. The Corona Tiger Force was a cringe-fest. They were given white t-shirts with tigers printed on them as homage to Imran’s cornered tigers speech in 92 World Cup.

They achieved nothing and had no ground presence. We don’t even know if they exist anymore because we haven’t heard about them for a while now.

The lockdown itself was poorly managed. One day it was called selective lockdown and the other day it became a smart lockdown, all though there was nothing smart about it.

It was not implemented efficiently and the government was very late to act. There was no coordination between the federal government and the provincial governments.

Even the federal and KP health ministers were giving contradictory statements even though both were from PTI. It summed up the confusion of the government.

Imran was directly responsible for the surge after Eid-ul-Fitr 2020 when he took the nonsensical decision to ease lockdown restrictions in the last week of Ramzaan.

People go crazy with Eid shopping at that time, and it was the worst possible time to ease restrictions. As a result, it caused a huge spike.

Apart from giving warnings to people after he finally overcame his ignorance and realized that this is not “just a flu”, he has done nothing. There has been no leadership and strong decision-making.

There has also been no accountability over the actions of government ministers. 4-5 months back, in Peshawar, there was a massive wedding in the family of the KP health minister Taimur Jhagra.

SOPs were violated and there was no social distancing. In fact, it was not possible when the crowd was so big. As a result, COVID spread like wildfire and dozens died after getting infected in the wedding, including 3 members from Jhagra’s own family.

This should have been enough to sack him as health minister because if this how our leadership will act, you cannot expect anything from the public. However, no action was taken because Imran does not care about accountability. It just a drama.

Pakistan did not get hit as hard as it could have in the first wave, but it had nothing to do with Imran.

Now in the third wave, the mortality rate is going up and our vaccine distribution is among the worst in the world thanks to the incompetency of the worst PM in Pakistan history.

There is no country apart from maybe Newzealand that perfectly dealt with the virus.

I am sorry to say but you are just showing your bias against Imran Khan. I distinctly remember during the initial days of Covid the media and opposition was on his case to put the country in 100% lockdown. It was his call to do a smart lockdown and you can call it luck or whatever but it seems to be the right move for that time. The situation right now calls for tougher measures and it seems he is prepared to take them.

Compare him to the opposition, which even used Covid for politics. They initially pressured him to do a full lockdown knowing full well the implications it will have on the poor people. The same opposition than went on to start a movement during this period and brought people out in gatherings w/o social distancing and masks.

PML N and PPP have usually survived because of their joint muk mukka and the billions of rupees they distribute to lifafa journalists, bloggers and Mamoons in Pakistan which is why there is no verbal torture in the print, electronic and social media against it even if they are taking the country into the toilet.

PTI is not doing that which is everyone is targeting them especially a lot of lifafa anchors, bloggers and Mamoons in Pakistan.

[/b]

Are you saying that Covid exists in PK. I am sure that your friends in the PDM told us it was fake. Are you lying or are they? [MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION] Do you remember those Corona Parties?

So lets take this question in two parts: What did the PTI achieve in 25 years and then what have they eventually achieved in only two years in power.

Well the answer is pretty easy. They broke the monopoly of the broken two party merry go around. They stopped the need for Generals to "save" the nation from the corrupt practices of the Nawaz and bhutto clans by imposing what they knew i.e. martial law. They showed the people that one man, determined, honest and full of drive could give people hope. The fact is Imran Khan changed the face of Pakistani politics during this period. His vision and personal drive pushed this initially failed movement from oblivion into the mainstream. Its just sheer bloody mindedness. Something many Pakistanis just simply lack at times (as can be seen on this thread)

He created a new party, it failed, he rebuilt it, and then he destroyed the two main parties who thought they had a right to rule. he has moved the goal posts. How? well people in pakistan now say " why havent you doen this or why havent you done that" rather than " abu nay kaha hay yahan vote kuro"..Imran has started to cerate a culture of accountabulity where the ordinary citizen now looks at inflation, deficits, the economy, health care rather than just bowing their heads coz MP chaudhry sahib built a road and said fatiha at their buzurgs grave. Im sure that stuff still happens but there is now a significant part of the populace who want results.

Just look at Sindh. The sindh govt are panicking. They want to maintain their hegemony but they have got to start producing something otherwise the PTI and it supporters just start pillorying them on social media and in the media. Sure theyll probably just rig the vote in Sindh but when the "naswaar khanay walay" suddenly start getting shiney new buses and IT institutes, and start lording it over the great Sindhi, its time to start questioning your waderas. this is the big fear.

In short he's changed the political discourse and given a new generation of people the chance to change lives. My cousin is a PTI MP, my wifes best friend works for the punjab govt and is a rising PTI star. There are numerous others who had no inclination to get into the game but did coz of Khan. They will be the future.

Finally he did one thing that I predict will change the fate of millions of Pakistanis for generations to come, if future govts dont destroy it, and that is Ehsaas and universal health care.

In 33 years of ruling punjab, the lohaar and his clan couldnt even do this one this. Khan did it in his first five years in KP. If he does nothing else this one acheivement is something Pakistanis will forever thank him for.

Not to mention SKMH and now NAMAL. i will be very bold and say if one person who is poor who gets a house, prays for imran or if one person who gets saved through Ehsaas or SKMH prays for him, he is going to a much better place than us when he passes.

You can sit here on a forum, while your parents or family members leech the blood of innocent ghareeb pakistanis, while you drive around in your big cars, eating your burgers, while the ghareeb aadmi sits and waits for his next meal, and berate Imran. You can do that. But ask yourself, truly, what have you done in comparison?

The PTI have changed and moved the goalposts and that is a very hard thing to do in entrenched corrupt societies. It takes men of vision and determination to do it. Not many come , one thing they do hold in common are their detractors. But history will prove itself.

The PTI would be known as a party that was founded on the slogan of change and it made tremendous and genuine promises to put the country on a road to prosperity. After 23 years of hard work and perseverance, Pakistanis entrusted Imran Khan to bring the change he promised only to see that he was ill-prepared and incompetent and full of hot air.

The PTI would be known as a party that made a lot of noise but failed to deliver anything at all. Imran Khan would be known as a PM who failed to do his homework, who was not able to take strong decisions, who took U-turns at every corner and who was overly-obsessed with India and neglected his own country.

We'll be in a much clearer position two years down the line before the next election. I'd be inclined to label them a failure thus far going by how they had to ride the coattails of establishment politicians to become part of the system. If they had delivered tangible change from the usual suspects, most people living in the country won't have minded the path they took to get elected.

Imran has been a massive failure even on the Kashmir front. He will forever be remembered as the Pakistani PM in whose tenure India revoked Kashmir’s special status and he couldn’t do anything about it.

It is funny when PTI supporters give lectures on the sufferings of the poor when the poor have never suffered as much as they are suffering on Imran’s watch.

By choking the economy, he had made the country unlivable for the middle-class and those below the poverty line.

The poor people are cursing him on a daily basis. You go out to the streets of all the major cities and talk to the street vendors, small shop owners, taxi drivers etc. and all of them are cursing Imran for making life miserable for them.

Imran has been a massive failure even on the Kashmir front. He will forever be remembered as the Pakistani PM in whose tenure India revoked Kashmir’s special status and he couldn’t do anything about it.

For all his flaws on this issue he or any other Pak PM had no other option than ranting on Twitter etc. So gotta give him free pass on that, even his masters could practically only give lip service because Pak can't afford any adventure considering all things.

I think all of you are seeing the point-and yet are missing it.

Imran was handed a pile of garbage from his first day in office. He had a BOP crisis, power generation crisis, debt crisis, export issues, an enormous, undocumented economy that, while helpful for making a living, has caused enormous problems for Pakistan from a macro-economic standpoint. Never mind that in his third year in office he has had to deal with a global pandemic.
You say that he brought on corrupt hacks who made things worse. Yes, yes he did. But he also has been working to bring fresh new leadership into the country. If you'll notice, things are slowly getting better. The biggest problem IK has is that he needs the right people in charge.
Pakistan's problems, as with Pakistan cricket, are in the foundation itself, and that doesn't get fixed over night.
I see a lot of complaints "our exports are going down, Imran is hamstringing the economy, etc." Well, perhaps if people weren't running things under the radar and paying their taxes and duties, Pakistan would never have gotten to this point. When Pakistanis stand up and say "this is our country" and mean it beyond "Pakistan is the home of Muslims"-things will improve because Pakistanis will take it upon themselves.
Is anyone willing to put in the hard work? Are you going to solve the structural inefficiencies by creating an export driven economy? Imran Khan isn't Jesus. He cannot do everything by himself-all he can do is help build an environment where clean, honest business will thrive. If you want to be dishonest, if you want to cheat, then perhaps you would prefer a return to the Bhutto or Sharif dynasties? We saw how well those went.
I am not saying that one should just bend over and take it-it is time for Pakistan to get with the program and start making money by supplying things that people need and want, and stop painting government as the savior. IK is trying to do his part-I will do my part, and look for ways to promote Pakistani business among my own circles, as I already do-but it must start with Pakistanis...in Pakistan. Stand up my friends!

Imran was handed a pile of garbage from his first day in office. He had a BOP crisis, power generation crisis, debt crisis, export issues, an enormous, undocumented economy that, while helpful for making a living, has caused enormous problems for Pakistan from a macro-economic standpoint. Never mind that in his third year in office he has had to deal with a global pandemic.
You say that he brought on corrupt hacks who made things worse. Yes, yes he did. But he also has been working to bring fresh new leadership into the country. If you'll notice, things are slowly getting better. The biggest problem IK has is that he needs the right people in charge.
Pakistan's problems, as with Pakistan cricket, are in the foundation itself, and that doesn't get fixed over night.
I see a lot of complaints "our exports are going down, Imran is hamstringing the economy, etc." Well, perhaps if people weren't running things under the radar and paying their taxes and duties, Pakistan would never have gotten to this point. When Pakistanis stand up and say "this is our country" and mean it beyond "Pakistan is the home of Muslims"-things will improve because Pakistanis will take it upon themselves.
Is anyone willing to put in the hard work? Are you going to solve the structural inefficiencies by creating an export driven economy? Imran Khan isn't Jesus. He cannot do everything by himself-all he can do is help build an environment where clean, honest business will thrive. If you want to be dishonest, if you want to cheat, then perhaps you would prefer a return to the Bhutto or Sharif dynasties? We saw how well those went.
I am not saying that one should just bend over and take it-it is time for Pakistan to get with the program and start making money by supplying things that people need and want, and stop painting government as the savior. IK is trying to do his part-I will do my part, and look for ways to promote Pakistani business among my own circles, as I already do-but it must start with Pakistanis...in Pakistan. Stand up my friends!

Reminds me of a famous 24 TV series encounter when the black US Presidential candidate gets threatened by a bunch of black holligans who ask him what are you going to do for us Mr President and the guy responds, this is your problem, you expect everyone else to do all the work for you, what about you guys taking ownership and responsibility and do something for your selves for a change. Same is applicable to the people of Pakistan.

Also those people complaining about the ban on imports. India would not be where it is today had the govt in the 90's not banned unnecessary imports and had not encouraged domestic industries and entrepreneurs to man up and start producing products domestically

FIA sugar scam investigation head against PTI Jehangir Tareen removed

LAHORE – The authorities removed the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) officer heading the investigation against the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Jahangir Tareen in the sugar scam.

The development occurred in the backdrop of a likely meeting of the disgruntled PTI lawmakers with Prime Minister Imran Khan in Islamabad today.

Reports in local media suggest that FIA Director Lahore Mohammad Rizwan, inquiry team head, got the marching orders with immediate effect as it was the key demand of the Jahangir Tareen group. Additional Director Abu Bakar Khuda Baksh is likely to appointed as a new inquiry officer.

PM Imran Khan addresses the 77th session of UNESCAP
Let it be known that the federal officer not only booked PTI leader but also registered FIR against PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif and his son Hamza Shehbaz in Rs5 billion money laundering and fraud charges in the sugar scam.

https://timesofislamabad.com/27-Apr...tion-head-against-pti-jehangir-tareen-removed

There are a few on this forum who directly benefit from the corruption and haraam khori that is endemic in pakistani society. Hence you will find them the most vocal anti IMran cheer leaders.

FIA sugar scam investigation head against PTI Jehangir Tareen removed

LAHORE – The authorities removed the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) officer heading the investigation against the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Jahangir Tareen in the sugar scam.

The development occurred in the backdrop of a likely meeting of the disgruntled PTI lawmakers with Prime Minister Imran Khan in Islamabad today.

Reports in local media suggest that FIA Director Lahore Mohammad Rizwan, inquiry team head, got the marching orders with immediate effect as it was the key demand of the Jahangir Tareen group. Additional Director Abu Bakar Khuda Baksh is likely to appointed as a new inquiry officer.

PM Imran Khan addresses the 77th session of UNESCAP
Let it be known that the federal officer not only booked PTI leader but also registered FIR against PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif and his son Hamza Shehbaz in Rs5 billion money laundering and fraud charges in the sugar scam.

https://timesofislamabad.com/27-Apr...tion-head-against-pti-jehangir-tareen-removed

You can't have it both ways According to the PPP and the Nooras, he is innocent. Why do they believe he is innocent and why are they so keen for him to join them.

Can't think of any promises made that have been fulfilled. Not sure if the end of drone attacks is due to the PTI.

Not getting involved in the Saudi-Yemen war was another great decision by IK. The Yemeni would be sending suicide bombers to Pak today had we sided with Saudi. Come to think off it IK has made some good decisions:sharjeel

A sitting government is losing Karachi by election badly. These are ominous signs for PTI government that people have rejected them.

People see inflation, service delivery and physical infrastructure as a sign of progress, other things don't matter at all.

Not getting involved in the Saudi-Yemen war was another great decision by IK. The Yemeni would be sending suicide bombers to Pak today had we sided with Saudi. Come to think off it IK has made some good decisions:sharjeel

Pakistan said no to joining the Yemen War in 2015 when NS was the PM.

The saga of Saudi Arabia’s request for Pakistani help for Operation Decisive Storm in Yemen is becoming a milestone in Saudi-Pakistani relations. In response to a direct face-to-face request from King Salman bin Abdul-Aziz Al Saud Salman for ground troops and air craft for the war against Zaydi Shiite Houthi rebels in Yemen last month, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif took the issue to the Pakistani parliament.

After four days of debate this week not one speaker has apparently supported sending ground troops. While many have praised Saudi Arabia as a friend of Pakistan, almost all have called for a political solution and diplomacy to end the crisis. Some have even blamed Riyadh for starting the war. The Sharif government has said it appreciates the emerging consensus against intervention.

https://www.brookings.edu/blog/mark...l-its-relationship-with-saudi-arabia-survive/

It was very courageous of NS to take the matter to the Parliament and keep his country out of the war.

Dude you should really start following Pak politics if you're going to post blatantly false things... :sanga

And it's recent history too....

Most useless government after zardaris
This was the first and last chance for pti which they had based on winning world cup 1992. PTI is dead there is no one to run this party after Imran khan unless someone from his party win us another world cup

Dude you should really start following Pak politics if you're going to post blatantly false things... :sanga

No need to follow every political occurrence in Pak when there are just too many to keep up with. What I meant was it was good how IK did not reverse NS's decision of keeping out of the Saudi-Yemen war despite being a big critic of his they both agreed on this one thing.

This was the first and last chance for pti which they had based on winning world cup 1992. PTI is dead there is no one to run this party after Imran khan unless someone from his party win us another world cup

Do you think Sarfaraz has a chance now that he has won the Champions Trophy? Otherwise it will have to be Babar after WCT20 21, and he is a really nice guy too.

Sarfraz does not have that personality or popularity Imran khan had it has to be someone else.

Could you elaborate why you think its useless compared to the two previous ones? I'm curious. Also could you suggest a way out of the mess the country is in? Thanks

there was a second push from SA after we had to go cap in hand thanks to Baba Nawaz sharief. aND THAT WASNT baba jee's decision. It was the boyz decision. Nawaz gunja is the single most criminal politician in the modern history of Pakistan. He would have gladly sent our boys to die in yemen. The man has no morals and cares about one thing: Paisa!!

Could you elaborate why you think its useless compared to the two previous ones? I'm curious. Also could you suggest a way out of the mess the country is in? Thanks

Economic growth over anything

At whatever price, Achive growth

How can a party that has only been in power for a few years be judged on its performance of the past 25 years? You got to get into power before being judged.

there was a second push from SA after we had to go cap in hand thanks to Baba Nawaz sharief. aND THAT WASNT baba jee's decision. It was the boyz decision. Nawaz gunja is the single most criminal politician in the modern history of Pakistan. He would have gladly sent our boys to die in yemen. The man has no morals and cares about one thing: Paisa!!

So IK handled the second push from SA?... :ba

If I had to pick a PM from the Pakistani team it would be Hafeez for intelligence, and Wahab Riaz for being the guy I could trust the most :)

Where did you get that from... :uak :)

Just from observations over the years, I could be wrong of course :)

I like Hasan Ali too, think he is a guy I could trust. However, I don't think he has the brains to make a good PM. Misbah and YK are smart too, but I don't find them likable like Ali or Riaz.

Just from observations over the years, I could be wrong of course :)

I like Hasan Ali too, think he is a guy I could trust. However, I don't think he has the brains to make a good PM. Misbah and YK are smart too, but I don't find them likable like Ali or Riaz.

Misbah is smart, now I have read it all. I am specifically talking about cricketing intelligence before you come up with his MBA degrees, the guy as clueless as they come.

I meant to say Misbah is smart when it comes to politics, which I assume he is given that he has got the job he wants after retirement. No opinion, either positive or negative, about his cricketing intelligence.