Abid Ali - Opening batsman from Lahore [VIDEO #80]

b.lesner

Local Club Captain
how do you people rate abid ali , he is from lahore , last year scored thousand runs playing for UBL , he also played a match against new zealand the tour game , looked impressive.

That too when people asked selectors that why the top scorer of last year wasnt selected

he should open with naeemuddin in tests untill babar and sami get ready by playing odi.

Abid Ali had a wonderful second last season where he scored close to 1000 FC runs or more.
He has fitness issue like he was overweight so he was overlooked. Than a very insightful anchor / host talked very much about him and he was selected for pakistan A but after 7,8 months had lapsed by the FC season. He was only given one game against aus or nz warmup match and was harshly dropped . He deserved 2,3 games atleast before judging . We wrongly gave israrullah Game after game although he scored for Peshawar team while abid scored for UBL and abid scored more than israr still .
Then concerned people by doing this shook his confidence badly and next season he did not score much . That is why he is not selected in A team nor under consideration for SL series .

he did score some runs against newzealand , that was the only game he played

And than in the next pakistan A squad chances were given to the performers of 2014-2015 FC season .

no never , they just have club players like khurram, shaan and umar amin again and again , did they ever try to groom fakhar zaman in A side

if i was selector i would have naeemuddin and abid ali opener in tests and sami and babar in odi

Agar Naeemuddin pakistan ki khaatir pait khatum ker le tou uska kya chala jaey ga ?

In these days cricket in international cricket you need fitness, skills, performance, discipline and hardwork.

fitness gayi baad mai, uspay work kiya ja sakhta hai not on runs and skills , wo natural hota hai, mai kahu ga usain boult sb say fit hai iska yeh matlab ni hum usaybselect karay

and yaar naeemuddin has scored 2000 in lastbwo seasons about 18 and 19 games , kuch toh fitness hogi na yaar baday hundreds kiyay hai

I respect your opinion
But I think fitness is important .
Johnson revival
Starc pace increase
Adam milne pace
Boult performance
Southee
There is a major role of fitness .
same goes for batting aswell . I am not saying naeemuddin to have fitness like younis khan or misbah ul haq or fitness like umar Amin or shan masood (only quoting last 2 for fitness) but atleast he should not have heavy thighs calves and that belly . Since last 2,3 years he has averaged 40 45 + consistently so why couldn't he loose weight off season ?? He has example of misbah that at what age he made his test return ? All due to both fitness and performances both.

yaar naeem has scored 2000 in his last 17 or 18 matches , he has scored big hundreds kuch toh fitness hogi na ki he remains on pitch for that long.

and what fitness inzi had? i am a big fan of domestic runs not talent

[MENTION=139012]b.lesner[/MENTION]
The fitness required in pak domestic and international , the gap is huge ...
In international cricket there are cameras and u just can't hide in slips.
Then if he get tired by sprints in fields how you will be able to bat ?
Maan jao k domestic n international ki requirements mein farq hai
Sirf aus , sa , eng, nz mein domestic and international ka gap kum hai standards ka
In pak gap is huge

he was recently called to NCA , he had good fitness level.

Inzimam aor ranatunga ka dorr khatum ho chuka
Inzimam was more fit than naeemuddin , he was a lazy character . Remember his bullet throws from boundaries ? And his sprints to save boundaries ? He had little tummy and because he used to get run out lots of time due to bad run judgement uss pe fitness ka tag zayada laga . He was a legend you can't compare him with naeem uddin although naeem is very good .

naeemuddin and abid ali have been top run getters in fc for some time.

Abid Ali - 19 years old talent from Islamabad

Is this a cricinfo mistake or is it a new talent ?

I thought it's Lahore's and UBL'S opener Abid Ali who is representing Islamabad team this season.

But cricinfo says it's some 19 years old Abid Ali playing his first FC season.

He has played 4 matches and has scored 306 runs at an average of 51.00 with 2 hundreds and interestingly both the centuries have been scored against departmental teams of SSGC and PQA. Importantly against Mohammad Amir's bowling.
[MENTION=138241]axl100mph[/MENTION] [MENTION=134359]Cricket lover 27[/MENTION] [MENTION=138379]#GreenRoars[/MENTION] can you confirm if it's a new emerging talent or is it the same Abid Ali mistaken by Cricinfo ?

i think its a mistake its abid ali which played from ubl and lahore because abid ali is not in any team and he is one of the top players in pakistan domestic and future pakistan player.

84 * and wins a game for islamabad. Still not sure whether it's Cricinfo error or its a new talent.

If new , averaging 51 with the bat as opener with 2 centuries against string departmental teams. Aged 19.

[MENTION=133726]GoUgandaCranes[/MENTION] [MENTION=139012]b.lesner[/MENTION] [MENTION=138379]#GreenRoars[/MENTION] [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] [MENTION=138241]axl100mph[/MENTION] [MENTION=139353]ChachaCricket[/MENTION]

Haven't seen him bat yet.

This kid seems special to me by the start of his career. His numbers resemble Saud Shakeel very much.

He either opens the innings or bats at number 3 or number 4 like babar azam.

Today in hi first list A game he scored 56 runs of 61 balls with 7 fours.

He is 19 years old and in his first FC season he scored 548 runs at an average of 49.81 with 2 hundreds and 2 fifties.

SSGC coach former pakistan wicket keeper Atiq uz Zaman rates him highly.

Bright start to his domestic cricket career.

[MENTION=133726]GoUgandaCranes[/MENTION] [MENTION=139012]b.lesner[/MENTION] [MENTION=138379]#GreenRoars[/MENTION] [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] [MENTION=138241]axl100mph[/MENTION] [MENTION=139353]ChachaCricket[/MENTION]

This kid seems special to me by the start of his career. His numbers resemble Saud Shakeel very much.

He is 19 years old and in his first FC season he scored 548 runs at an average of 49.81 with 2 hundreds and 2 fifties.

Me too, never saw him bat. But according to his FC stats he is good. Wont give my final verdict, let him play more.

Which matches are going to be televised of this tournament?

Better Opener compared to Shan Masood & Sami Aslam wrt four day cricket.

Let's see who joins Mohammad Hafeez as Test Opener in England.

Following players are in contention :

1. Fakhar Zaman

2. Shan Masood

3. Sami Aslam

4. Abid Ali

5. Naeemuddin (outside chance) But undoubtedly much much better four day opener compared to Fakhar, Shan, Sami & Abid.

Only Abid is right handed amongst these 5 contenders.

[MENTION=139012]b.lesner[/MENTION]

* Correction last post.

Abid Ali is named in middle order players so replace him with

Mohammad Waqas

He is having a superb season.

Was the top-scoring opener in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, making 541 runs at an average of 49 during a season where almost no opener managed to end up with decent stats due to the Dukes' ball and pitches.

Now he has hit the highest List A score by a Pakistan batsman - 209* off 156 balls (24 fours and 5 sixes).

This guy had only scored 1 List A hundred in 72 innings, had an average of 32, strike rate of 75.

Now suddenly he smashes 209*.

Could this be the fluke of highest order?

From what I remember there were two Abid Ali. One 30 year old from Lahore and a younger one from Islamabad. I hope [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] can shed more light on this.

i think i have seen anyone play new ball better than him , never was given a chance

From what I remember there were two Abid Ali. One 30 year old from Lahore and a younger one from Islamabad. I hope [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] can shed more light on this.

Threads have been merged now. It was a mistake, same person, the (now) 30-year-old opener.

Amazing innings yesterday but his overall stats are nothing special. Can't see him getting a chance for Pakistan.

It is only for some innings then they get floped again and again

Each and every one is a different individual. You can't look at the Akmals and Shehzads and project their shortcomings and failures onto others.

Perhaps this guy has worked hard and finally perfected his technique. We don't know and sadly we might never know.

209* off 156 balls can not be brushed aside or trash talked easily.

Each and every one is a different individual. You can't look at the Akmals and Shehzads and project their shortcomings and failures onto others.

Perhaps this guy has worked hard and finally perfected his technique. We don't know and sadly we might never know.

209* off 156 balls can not be brushed aside or trash talked easily.

Besides that 209* (156) his scores this tournament:

60 (62)
96* (113)
17 (34)
0 (4)
54 (74)
0 (1)

He's been fine, but He's not been doing that great as an opener, 50s are good but all of them were scored with the strike rate of less than 100. So unless he continues to perform well this year, his 209* will be talked about as a fluke of the highest order.

It was a mistake on part of CI.

Abid deserves a go in Pakistan A four day team irrespective of Age.

Performances should be counted.

It was a mistake on part of CI.

Abid deserves a go in Pakistan A four day team irrespective of Age.

Performances should be counted.

He has already played for pakostan A and side matches and he is 30 topped some domestic charts like patrons departmental cup. He should be in Pakistan team straight away

109 for him today off 145 balls against a good bowling line up (Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Asghar and Bilal Asif)

* GADDAFI STADIUM, LAHORE

HBL (first innings) 325-5 in 90 overs: (Abid Ali 131, 254 balls, 19x4s, Rameez Aziz 53*, 83 balls, 7x4s, Imran Farhat 47, 69 balls, 4x4s, Zohaib Khan 30*, 45 balls, 4x4s, 1x6, Salman Ali Agha 28, 73 balls, 3x4s, Muhammad Waheed 2-66)

Lahore Region White

* GADDAFI STADIUM, LAHORE

HBL (first innings) 325-5 in 90 overs: (Abid Ali 131, 254 balls, 19x4s, Rameez Aziz 53*, 83 balls, 7x4s, Imran Farhat 47, 69 balls, 4x4s, Zohaib Khan 30*, 45 balls, 4x4s, 1x6, Salman Ali Agha 28, 73 balls, 3x4s, Muhammad Waheed 2-66)

Lahore Region White

This guy's face is a cross between Salman Butt and Kamran Akmal.

Suffice to say it's very unfortunate.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/X9wQo0XT9GI" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>/.

What an atrocious technique. Where is the foot movement? Playing away from the body most of the times. Dony know how he has scored runs in domestic.

Majority ppers were allergic at 31 years old Abid’s selection.

Inzamam rightly rewarded Abid who has been most successful F.C. opener of last 3 seasons.

Abid proved his selection right by scoring highest runs (85) vs Starc and Lyon where Lyon took 8 wickets in first innings.

If age and cric website stats is only criteria for selection or non selection than no team requires selectors :-)

He scored 85 runs at a strike rate of 30-something. Not really something to be extremely proud of

50 in both innings vs Starc and Lyon.

Proved his selection right.

Well deserved selection and proved it right.

50 in both innings vs Starc and Lyon.

Proved his selection right.

Well deserved selection and proved it right.

Definitely should be given a chance based on performance. Probably should have been in the team a few years earlier, but better late than never.

Majority ppers were allergic at 31 years old Abid’s selection.

Inzamam rightly rewarded Abid who has been most successful F.C. opener of last 3 seasons.

Abid proved his selection right by scoring highest runs (85) vs Starc and Lyon where Lyon took 8 wickets in first innings.

If age and cric website stats is only criteria for selection or non selection than no team requires selectors :-)

I am one of those people who objects on the basis of his age.

I agree with what Mickey Arthur set out in his book: continuous replacement of older players each year do the team never sinks into a “transition phase”.

You need to say:

1. We will allow a maximum of 1 batsman aged 32-34, and he will be forcibly retired when he reaches 34.

2. We will also allow a maximum of 1 other batsman aged 30-32. When he reaches 32, if he is still the most consistent batsman in the team he becomes the single 32-34 year old batsman. If not, he is forcibly retired.

3 We will allow up to 1 fast bowler in the 30-32 age range if his figures are not in decline.

4. We will allow up to 1 spinner or wicketkeeper in the 30-34 age range, on condition that his figures are not in decline.

5. We will never pick more than 3 players aged 30 or over.

If you think of the upcoming Test tour to South Africa, that means that you can only pick 3 out of:

Azhar Ali
Asad Shafiq
Sarfraz Ahmed
Yasir Shah
Wahab Riaz

But that is an opportunity, not a problem: you just play Shadab Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi instead of Yasir Shah and Wahab Riaz.

If you want to select Abid Ali, you make a call whether that entails forcibly retiring Azhar Ali or Asad Shafiq.

Looks like he has the backing of the selectors as he's been picked for every A team squad this season.

Averages 49 and 41 in the 2017 and 2018 QEA Trophy seasons.

Abid Ali's scores for the A team in FC matches this winter:

85 and 52 vs Australia
83 and 61 vs NZL A (1st Test)
10 and 105 vs NZL A (2nd Test)
11 and 113 vs England Lions

Has scored 140 in the first ODI now vs England Lions.

Abid Ali's scores for the A team in FC matches this winter:

85 and 52 vs Australia
83 and 61 vs NZL A (1st Test)
10 and 105 vs NZL A (2nd Test)
11 and 113 vs England Lions

Has scored 140 in the first ODI now vs England Lions.

Should be given a go to open with fakhar in 3rd test vs NZ

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Z3TqSXm0FC4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.