Afghanistan vs Pakistan | Super Four | Asia Cup | Abu Dhabi | Sep 21, 2018 | Afghanistan Innings

Not having a genuine spinner is hurting us and will hurt us in this tournament... suddenly pakistan looks like they don't have a proper spinner. Yes Shadab is good but I believe Afghan spin attack is way above pakistan.

We played a semi-genuine spinner in Naja today and he already picked up three wickets.

But but but pace is pace yaar :ma :inzi2

Enough pressure has been built for Haris to take a wicket

So far Afg doing great, they keep taking singles and scorecard looks great considering their spin attack. Sarfi needed to bring more fielders in to stop those singles, disappointed that he didn't

We played a semi-genuine spinner in Naja today and he already picked up three wickets.

But but but pace is pace yaar :ma :inzi2

exactly my point, even Imad would have done good here. But again long term we need to have a proper spinner before the WC19 but that doesn't look like happening...

Man people here dont read stuff. How many times are they going to ask why Shadab isny playing???

All 3 wickets by Nawaz in 7 overs!!!!

UAE is the best place for Finger spinners, Jadeja also has crashed our line up with identical figure so far - 3/27

Yasir Shah would've been handy here. Plus it would have given him much needed match practice ahead of the Australian series.

For India game we need to go with this lineup:

Fakhar
Haris
Babar
Malik
Sarfaraz
Asif
Shadab
Fahim
Nawaz
Hasan
Shaheen

Asif is useless

1.Shan Masood
2.Fakhar Zaman
3.Babar Azam
4.Sarfraz Ahmed
5.Haris Sohail
6.Shoaib Malik
7.Shadab Khan
8.Mohammad Nawaz
9.Shaheen Afridi
10.Mohammad Amir
11.Junaid Khan

UKS = Wahab Riaz

baqwas bowler

On these pitches you have to be accurate to get wickets. Shinwari is wayward and picks wickets with pace which is not working here so far, not sure if management is seeing it that way :ma

People are forgetting this is dubai pitches. In these conditions fast bowlers wont run over a team for sure. None are as quick as Shoaib akhtar was to dismentle the teams in few overs.

Pakistan should bowl out AF with 200 i think. It will be a tricky chase.

Dropping amir is a fair call, he should not play the next game either, pakistan must save him for final if we reach it.

our pacers not bowling wicket to wicket, any time you give width it 'll be a boundary..

Someone like Rumman Raees (rather than Usman) might have been useful on these pitches due to his style of bowling.

They are mentally very tough.

Batting is a brain game.

They might be mentally tough but they are all crap batsmen. The only thing is that they know what score is appropriate to aim for. Thats why they arent taking any risks and dont look like getting out. Any time they have tried to take a risk, a wicket has fallen.

Afg are barely hanging on. Itni tuk tuk chal rahi hai dono matches mein ke banda so jaaye :))

Almost 30 overs done and still only about 115 runs scored.... but we fans are getting crazy nervous due to lack of wickets.

They might be mentally tough but they are all crap batsmen. The only thing is that they know what score is appropriate to aim for. Thats why they arent taking any risks and dont look like getting out. Any time they have tried to take a risk, a wicket has fallen.

Yeah, I agree.

But they're doing their job, giving the bowlers enough runs to play with.

Almost 30 overs done and still only about 115 runs scored.... but we fans are getting crazy nervous due to lack of wickets.

200 is basically match winning here at Abu Dhabi lol :))

Above 250, basically unwinnable, 3 run chases in 18 games.

Looks like Afg will get a good score.

People thought UKS was nice after getting 3 lucky wickets against Hong Kong tailenders.

Hasan Ali will never be effective enough to be the spearhead on pitches like these. Due to numerous factors: temperament, height, pace, etc.

One of Mickey, Inzi or Sarf needs to be sacked after this tournament. We're not winning and there needs to be some changes.

that's setting up the base, Rashid ll come n smack a few and suddenly score ll be 250:dw

This is PAK bowling not BD. So called rashid will get the taste against the likes of Malik and Sarfraz when they play him like a part timer.

Your prediction of Afghanistan easily scoring 250 isn't gonna happen.

200 at best

Haris has very quietly gone through 5 overs conceding just 20 runs. Very underrated as a bowler. He should surely be playing ahead of Imam, brings much more to the table with both bat and ball, Imam is only better in the field.

If we don't have the self-believe to chase a sub 300 score against a less established team like Afghanistan than when will we.

Afghanistan has good spinners and have defeated Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in this tournament, regardless we should remain level headed and not build them up as some Invincible opponent.

Totally agree!!!! Timidness has cost us so many games.

Looks like Afg will get a good score.

People thought UKS was nice after getting 3 lucky wickets against Hong Kong tailenders.

Hasan Ali will never be effective enough to be the spearhead on pitches like these. Due to numerous factors: temperament, height, pace, etc.

One of Mickey, Inzi or Sarf needs to be sacked after this tournament. We're not winning and there needs to be some changes.

So you want one of them to be sacked, for a meaningless Asia cup. Yah Break the team when finally we have found a decent captain, grt coach and consistent selector who has managed to get rid of garbage like akmal, hafeez and wahab.

Haris is very quietly gone through 5 overs conceding just 20 runs. Very underrated as a bowler. He should surely be playing ahead of Imam, brings much more to the table with both bat and ball, Imam is only better in the field.
Nope. Afg is not looking score here, rather survive and get as many as they can. Both Haris and Malik have not troubled the batsmen at all.

If only another genuine spinner was selected...

Nawaz in his first game back in ages picks up 3 for less than 30.

Nope. Afg is not looking score here, rather survive and get as many as they can. Both Haris and Malik have not troubled the batsmen at all.

Not just talking about today. Haris has proven himself to be a very handy bowler in the past too, and also has the knack of picking up wickets.

Horrible selection of squad costing Pakistan. This is looking dangerous for Pakistan chasing 200 will be hard

One thing for sure and credit must go to Simmons for this - AFG team knows themselves better than any other team here. They are playing exactly the game best for them and knows their range - 3 toss wins also helps in Abu Dhabi, but they did stick to their plan of playing out 50 overs and put a score. This hilarious schedule has put 2 games in 15 hours gap on same venue, therefore I am not sure how groundsmen can work on the foot marks of adjacent wicket, which is being used today. If they simply stroll around at this pace till 45th over, can put 230+, which honestly speaking I don't see any team chasing here at Abu Dhabi against their attack.

You have lost like 1 match after winning quite regularly in the last 1 year, and you judged it as not winning anymore?

This is PAK bowling not BD. So called rashid will get the taste against the likes of Malik and Sarfraz when they play him like a part timer.

OK:srt thinking from heart and mind are two different things.. lets see what happens

Shinwari is a real deal, no fast bowler in Dubai pitches have been successful, evn grt like anderson, starc have gone home crying. Shinwari will be leathel in SA and NZL.

So you want one of them to be sacked, for a meaningless Asia cup. Yah Break the team when finally we have found a decent captain, grt coach and consistent selector who has managed to get rid of garbage like akmal, hafeez and wahab.
Yea decent captain can't score any runs unless it's against Zimbabwe. Great coach doesn't select any spinners for matches in UAE until the team loses matches, then he realizes. Consistent selector who selects hacks like Shan Masood and Asif Ali, backs his nephew who is hot garbage, and doesn't pick any specialist spinner for a tournament in Asia. They've done some good things in the past, but now we have lost to India B team and about to lose to Afghanistan. It's better to make changes now before we get humiliated in the WC.

With India and Afghanistan opting for 3 spinners in their XI. We should've at least looked to play Nawaz and Shadab.

Yea decent captain can't score any runs unless it's against Zimbabwe. Great coach doesn't select any spinners for matches in UAE until the team loses matches, then he realizes. Consistent selector who selects hacks like Shan Masood and Asif Ali, backs his nephew who is hot garbage, and doesn't pick any specialist spinner for a tournament in Asia. They've done some good things in the past, but now we have lost to India B team and about to lose to Afghanistan. It's better to make changes now before we get humiliated in the WC.

I agree except for the Masood part, yes he's done horrible in Tests but he shouldn't have been selected for that format in the first place.

Masood deserves his spot for having a 58 average in domestic.

You have lost like 1 match after winning quite regularly in the last 1 year, and you judged it as not winning anymore?

Not just one match, annihilated by 8 wickets to an Indian team (without their best player) who barely beat Hong Kong.

Just like y'day, there seems to be a strange sense of calm with Afghan players. They give the impression that they belong here and are not some minnow to be rolled over. They don't loose another wicket in the next 5 overs and they will have every chance to get to 225.

Hasan Ali looks very innocuous. Basically trundling and hoping to keep the runs down.

Not just one match, annihilated by 8 wickets to an Indian team (without their best player) who barely beat Hong Kong.

One helluva knee jerk reaction this.

I wonder how you might have felt if Scotland scored 370 odd against us and won.

He has selected domestic performers. So what do u expect from him. Imam is a young and new give him a chance for few games for god sake, stop this political points of selecting nephew. He is a decent batsmen needs backing. Nawaz, shabad, both are good spinners our strength is fast bowling so its coach and captain call.

With India and Afghanistan opting for 3 spinners in their XI. We should've at least looked to play Nawaz and Shadab.

IND is going to bowl 35 overs of spin for sure. Pandeya's injury turned into a blessing.

They'll be playing every game at Dubai which is a better chasing wicket and bowl Jadeja, Kuldeep, Chahal & Jadav for 35-38 overs under dry condition in afternoon, whenever they win the toss and every other team will bat first if they win toss.

Next match XI.

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Sarfraz
Malik
Asif/Haris
Shadab
Nawaz
M Amir
Hasan
Shaheen

He has selected domestic performers. So what do u expect from him. Imam is a young and new give him a chance for few games for god sake, stop this political points of selecting nephew. He is a decent batsmen needs backing. Nawaz, shabad, both are good spinners our strength is fast bowling so its coach and captain call.

This thing that its a B India Team is all rubbish, they are intl side with exceptional talent of pool as back players who representing a country. This india Team looks much better than a full strength team, sharma ji is a better captain than virat.