Bangladesh refuses to travel to India for T20 World Cup 2026 (Update @ post#84)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

I have a feeling BCB will openly call ICC as Indian agents. This is a step that even Pakistan didn't take.

If this happens world cricket will experience a massive shockwave and all boards will be challenged to comment on ICC and their neutrality.

Bangladesh may be launching a campaign to save cricket and protect it's future.

I personally don’t think it is in BDs interest to continue this confrontation.

Their players will suffer. Financially the board will as well. They are not big enough to easily recover from this.

Pak had quite a few options including regular series with other top teams. PSL and other leagues are also open.

Yes it’s true BCCI is a bully and classless. Will take time to change and show them their place.

It is about safety/security.

Just a few days ago, a Bangladeshi tourist was killed in India by the hindu extremists.

Cricket is not a matter of life and death. People will not die if they do not play cricket. It is just a sport. Safety/security comes first. :inti

It is about safety/security.

Just a few days ago, a Bangladeshi tourist was killed in India by the hindu extremists.

Cricket is not a matter of life and death. People will not die if they do not play cricket. It is just a sport. Safety/security comes first. :inti

Even in BCBs letter to ICC, its mentioned about national pride. So rest assure, this has nothing to do with safety.

I have a feeling BCB will openly call ICC as Indian agents. This is a step that even Pakistan didn't take.

If this happens world cricket will experience a massive shockwave and all boards will be challenged to comment on ICC and their neutrality.

Bhai are you praising Bangladesh or taking a dig at them?

:misbah

Bangladesh Legend Accused Of Being An 'Indian Agent' For Suggesting BCCI...

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)’s finance committee chairman, M Nazmul Islam, has accused the country’s batting legend, Tamim Iqbal, of being an ‘Indian agent’ for his comments about the ongoing political and cricketing controversy between the neighbors.

Iqbal, Bangladesh’s second-highest run-scorer in internationals, had said that dialogue could solve most issues, urging the BCB to look beyond the national government’s position and think of its cricketing future. BCB is still mulling whether to proceed with touring India for the 2026 T20 World Cup in light of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)-engineered exit of Mustafizur Rahman from IPL.

“This time, the people of Bangladesh witnessed, with their own eyes, the emergence of yet another proven Indian agent," Islam said of Iqbal on social media.

It has drawn severe criticism from the Bangladeshi cricket fraternity. Apart from former cricketers, the Cricketers’ Welfare Association of Bangladesh (CWAB), registered a strong protest against it.

Tamim Iqbal is probably salty he wasn't given a role in BCB leadership. So, he is acting like an Indian agent in revenge. :inti

Bangladesh should free itself from Indian agents ASAP. Otherwise, it cannot be considered as a sovereign country. :inti

Praise. I am with my brothers until the end. They have taken a great stance here to finally exposed the hypocrisy in ICC and BCCI.

Whay hypocrisy? There arent any. ICC has not even made any decision but any logical person would deny the request that BCB is making.

I think there are some clauses in IPL which they can exercise anytime they want. For instance Harry Brook was available when during auction. But just before the season he made himself unavailable. So BCCI banned him for 2 years from participating in auction as he violated the clause. Similarly there must be some clause in the IPL that allows them to let go of any player at any time for any reason. I learnt since termination was a force majeure they are not contractually obligated to him anymore. Not a single penny will be given to him. As you can see it is between a franchisee and an individual.

Let me repeat once more and would like serious poster to challenge me otherwise.

Comparing India's decision of not touring Pakistan and making it as an excuse for Pak and BD asking for hybrid model is wrong. This is not apples to apple comparison.

India has never said they will tour Pakistan. They have not done so since 2008 and no plans of doing it anytime in near future. So their security concerns seems to be genuine and constant.

Pakistan has toured India in 2012, 2016 and 2023. They were even willing to come for WT20 2026. But when India refused to travel Pakistan for CT 2025, they are like 'Tab Hum bhi nehi jayenge, hamare jaan ko bhi khatra hai'. Had India agreed to travel, that jaan ka khatra would have vanished in an instant. So this security thread drama by Pakistan cannot be taken seriously as its conditional. A security issue cant be conditional....it can either be an issue or not. The only reason Pakistan demanded hybrid model because their ego was hurt, Naqvi somehow wanted to show its awaam that he his fighting for the nation and credit to him managing to get a hybrid tournament. However, ffs dont say its due to security reasons.

Exactly the same situation is with Bangladesh. They had no security concerns all along, when ICC published the schedule. Suddenly when Mustafizur was dropped from IPL, security issue propt up. LOL. Again, it is an ego issue which they are trying to sell as security concern trying to emulate Pakistan but failing spectacularly.

India had genuine greaviances with the way our hindu brothers are treated in Bangladesh. So BCCI was forced to drop him in last minute keeping sentiment of Indian hindus in mind. Though it is no fault of Mustafizur per se but it will not look good for a Bangladeshi to earn 10 crore rupees in India, a country with 80% Hindus. I can guarantee you no Bangladeshi player will ever play in IPL again. Indian sposors are also pulling out from anything Bangladeshi.

So you see the difference - India's concerns whether its safety issue in Pakistan or Boycotting most things Bangladeshis seems like genuine. They look proactive.

Pakistan and Bangladesh's stance were reactionary and conditional. So they cannot be taken seriously at a face value. I Hope ICC also think along these lines and takes judgement.

Ofcourse no one can force any team to play anywhere. However, BD matches should not be moved to another location. They are completely free to pull out of the tourney though. This is exactly what should have happened in Last CT as well. Let India pull out and play the entire event in Pakistan.

Even in BCBs letter to ICC, its mentioned about national pride. So rest assure, this has nothing to do with safety.
It is a safety issue.Safety of cricketers comes first.Extremist Hindu mobs are targeting Bangladeshi Muslims.India is not safe for minorities especially Muslims.When a chief minister of an Indian state pulls off hijab of a Muslim lady doctor then it shows the hatred of Hindus against Muslims.

The tournament has less than a month left to start. It is too late to change the venues. Why didnt BCB complained before if they have any genuine grievances of playing in India? They were fine until yesterday and only doing this drama today because KKR team has refused to pick Mustafizur in IPL. This is childish and silly as ICC events has nothing to do with IPL.
Bangladesh is a country with childish behaviour threatening India and claiming themselves as people with Turkish ancestry.

Nazmul Islam represents the other side of the coin, a coin with ugly faces on both sides.

If BCCI was childish and petty in removing Fizz, here’s this oily gentleman with his vindictive and sanctimonious commentary.

Nazmul Mian I suggest you look up again what Tamim has done to bring respect to your country. He was a star batsman, a man who held actual respect on the international stage.

Even today there’s no one really like him in all of BD’s cricket history.

Your aukaat isn’t worth a broken paisa in comparison.

It is not a fight.

Bangladesh simply do not want to be in a country that is run by sanghi terrorists. :inti

Safety/security comes first.

Maybe once India become purified and liberated from the sanghis, BD can visit.
100% agreed. The obsession with hating Bangladeshis is at an all time high, and just to top it off, they’ve rolled out the red carpet for a Bangladeshi fugitive like it’s some kind of achievement unlocked.

And honestly, with that level of unhinged nationalism, you never know which random Raj might decide to cosplay as a patriot and embarrass an entire country by acting out against Bangladeshi players.

When hatred becomes policy and paranoia becomes pride, even sports start needing a risk assessment. 🏏

How are india supposed to make money by playing themselves in a stadium full of empty seats? Without opponents, there’s no schedule, no broadcast rights, no sponsorships and no ticket sales. ICC can’t cash in on a one-team tournament, and India can’t magically create revenue out of thin air. You need actual matches.

So who plays india so india generates money? Other teams

So who funds india so india can fund icc?
Other teams

You can now change your name to shitman

If that is the case why hasn't the teams banded together to boycott India/BCCI? I have proposed this before.

Do you think that will happen now? Pak can lead the effort now that they have BD support. Two stellar block buster teams boycott the world cup. It will screw the ICC and by the 35% revenue share logic also screw BCCI.

Does Pak have the "*****s or will they continue to bring value like the cheerleaders?
Anytime chief

Some people love to start a war they know they can't win under any circumstances. They don't realize the humiliation they will have to go through when they end up losing. Not even CA or ECB would dare to challenge and go against the BCCI, let alone BCB.​

This delusional understanding of the world is fed to gullible people of India and they chuck it down like beer

The truth is as follows:

1 - When you control cricket you don't only boycott the DRS in bilateral series but make other teams to not have DRS in international cricket tournaments. If you can't make all the games of the tournament DRS-less then you still force the other teams to play atleast against you without the DRS in the competition

India played tournaments with DRS during the period it didn't allow the technology in bilateral series. Proving that it can apply pressure on other boards individually for the bilateral series but can't do anything when other boards choose to stand together in a tournament

2 - before the 2015 WC in Australia and NZ a huge crackdown took place in the bowling actions of spinners. The only bowlers who were getting impacted by it belonged to South Asia. It included Indian bowlers. The Anglo boards got their way.

3- After the Mumbai Attacks and many skirmishes with Pakistan, India tried to lobby many boards to boycott Pakistan. No one listened. Boards due the pressure of their own populations chose not to tour Pakistan due to security reasons but continued to invite Pakistan to play on their own soils

4 - Indians even played dirty. Used private individuals to scare the spouses of NZ players through prank calls. Got temporary success but the NZ board promised and executed a larger your to Pakistan shortly after. When you control things, you don't have to use private individuals to scare the wives of other teams' players

5 - A high Executive of ECB got fired after he was lobbied by India to not allow the English team to do a scheduled tour of Pakistan. The English team subsequently tour Pakistan. Indian lobby had a temporary success but failed on long-term

There are many other examples

Power and control, when exist, don't have to be typed on forums by Bhakts. Power and control speak for themselves by not allowing anything to happen against the wishes of the entity that has the power & control

There is not doubt that India is a very important and an influential member of international cricket due to its mass viewership. It brings into play TV rights and sponsorships.

However, it doesn't control cricket. Otherwise at the minimum, it should have been able to get Pakistan out of international cricket. Forget Pakistan. It is struggling to tackle the issue with even BD which started to become a part of f Test cricket far much later than Pakistan

Nobody knows what's going to happen with the BD issue. It's a work in progress. Hopefully, it can be settled in an amicable way. For that BOTH the parties will have to step back a bit and especially Indian government will have to control their media. Both the countries are not in domestic political environments, in which taking a U-turn will be easy. Particularly in BD. Indian U-turn will be easier because Bhakts will call night day if Modi tells them to.

In conclusion, some societies are ultra hierarchical. They rate some people in their society of no value and no rights. They persecute the people whom they perceive of less worth with impunity. The members of such society struggle when comes the moment when they have to interact with other societies. The members of the unequal societies presume that everything can be done like they do in their unequal society but they learn it the hard way that it's not possible

India only influences cricket doesn't control it. Its historical pattern proves that it caves in a lot when it comes to cricket matters. What is acceptable in India is not necessarily acceptable in international community.

Nobody knows what's going to happen with the BD situation, presently. However, there is plenty of time to fix the problem. Both the nations will have to step back a bit and make a slight U-turn to reach and amicable end.

Bangladesh Legend Accused Of Being An 'Indian Agent' For Suggesting BCCI...

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)’s finance committee chairman, M Nazmul Islam, has accused the country’s batting legend, Tamim Iqbal, of being an ‘Indian agent’ for his comments about the ongoing political and cricketing controversy between the neighbors.

Iqbal, Bangladesh’s second-highest run-scorer in internationals, had said that dialogue could solve most issues, urging the BCB to look beyond the national government’s position and think of its cricketing future. BCB is still mulling whether to proceed with touring India for the 2026 T20 World Cup in light of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)-engineered exit of Mustafizur Rahman from IPL.

“This time, the people of Bangladesh witnessed, with their own eyes, the emergence of yet another proven Indian agent," Islam said of Iqbal on social media.

It has drawn severe criticism from the Bangladeshi cricket fraternity. Apart from former cricketers, the Cricketers’ Welfare Association of Bangladesh (CWAB), registered a strong protest against it.

This is nothing new

There are already BD cricketers who are considered siding Sheikh Hasina. Sakib is one of them

It's not only cricketers but even some part of the populations in each cricket playing nation, except for India, have started to see the National team as a profit seeking enterprise

National cricket team and structure is there too keep people busy and fit

Cricket existed way before the T20 money era and will continue to exit after it

Tamim's comments should be respected but if the money won't come from the ICC then the government will invest in the game to divert the attention of the public from the real issues of the country

Let's not forget, soccer is also very popular in BD

Good to see topic has eased into “fun” zone and sarcasm than any credible discussion 👍. Always a symbol that nothing much is going to come out for Bangladesh from it. Suck it up and play or forfeit.

For the sake of true Bangladesh cricket fans and I know most are passionate sports fans, I hope for your sake things diffuse and we all can move on.

Things pointing in that direction. Good to see 👏🏼

Those who don't know how to swim wear a lifejacket

Indians at first were wailing for their "control" and "power" over cricket

They were leaving posts highly abusive not to the BD cricket alone but BD nation in general

Now they are shedding crocodile tears and pretending to care about BD and want them to play the WC for their own sake

Get a lifejacket if you can't swim, you might just drown in Indian tears 🤣🤣🤣

Your post reminds me of a WWE segment where Roman is the BCCI, Paul Heyman is the ICC, Jimmy is the PCB, and Jey is the BCB. Fits perfectly. And yeah Solo Sikoa is Afghanistan. You know what that means? :yk :inti

@shaz619 @RedwoodOriginal @BunnyRabbit @sweep_shot @Rajdeep @The Bald Eagle

Those who don't know how to swim wear a lifejacket

Indians at first were wailing for their "control" and "power" over cricket

They were leaving posts highly abusive not to the BD cricket alone but BD nation in general

Now they are shedding crocodile tears and pretending to care about BD and want them to play the WC for their own sake

Get a lifejacket if you can't swim, you might just drown in Indian tears 🤣🤣🤣
Yeah, Indians would get so embarrassed if Bangladesh forfeit the tournament and kill their own cricket.

Or we can just pretend all this never happened, play in India like originally scheduled, save face for Bangladesh, diffuse any nuisance factor for India. That is win-win for all.

You seem to have very low standards of what you get off on looks like lmao. Makes sense kind of I guess.

Also I think people are sensible enough to separate trash from the good so it’s obvious people don’t mean “all Bangladeshis” whenever people take jibes. Just a certain kind 🤷‍♂😘