"Ahmed Shehzad could have left Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar behind" : Abdul Razzaq

Abdul Razzaq:

"Ahmed Shehzad doesn't play according to his talent"

"He was brilliant, he could have left players like Sehwag and Tendulkar behind, he had such talent at the beginning like we saw"

"Umar Akmal was good too"

"You should play according to your talent, though injustices do happen with people, sometimes they are dropped easily"

"The way Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal started their career, I think they were brilliant players but they spoilt their own careers"

Rashid Latif:

"The only player who can play modern day cricket in Pakistan is Kamran Akmal"

"He has proven himself in all domestic formats and is the only player who can perform according to modern standards"

"We could have tried him as an opener, we are instead trying many different openers, bringing back Hafeez, trying Farhan. For T20s we should have tried Kamran"

(Where to hide Kami in the field)" In T20s, fielding is not so important like in ODIs. You can hide players in the field like Mohammad Irfan etc."

"Kamran Akmal is the best player Pakistan has for modern day cricket"

Came across a TV show where these two were talking, thought I would post the quotes here for some entertainment...

Oh god not again utter rubbish from razzaq again
btw Rashid latif g there is guy fakhar zaman and asif ali who are also modern day player

Both of them have lost a plot, honestly I feel sorry for them.

Thank God they are not in charge of Pakistan cricket. Due to this attitude, we struggled in the last decade.

Please keep these two away from all coaching/selection positions related to the national team and NCA. Thanks.

If karachi kings serious about winning psl title they need to remove rashid latif otherwise he will keep selecting his favourite player who will be totally failure in international cricket

Did this guy ever play international cricket? If he did, he can't be so naive for sure.

It's easy for Pak posters to hate on India, and vice versa, but honestly tell me won't you Pak posters be offended if some nimrod former Indian cricketer came on TV and made such similar comments? That's like comparing Abbey Kuruvila and Dodda Ganesh with Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis.

Just like the team from a few years ago, even the ex-players can't move with the times.

Did this guy ever play international cricket? If he did, he can't be so naive for sure.

It's easy for Pak posters to hate on India, and vice versa, but honestly tell me won't you Pak posters be offended if some nimrod former Indian cricketer came on TV and made such similar comments? That's like comparing Abbey Kuruvila and Dodda Ganesh with Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis.

:)) Imagine Manjeraker saying, "Dodda Ganesh could have left Wasim Akram behind"

Its so hilarious, I am having difficulty in imagining that.

Who is Razzaq again?

If Mohammad Hafeez was indeed the person who got him removed from the team, I'll forever be thankful to him.

There was a time when he showed a lot of promise (Shehzad!) but thora ziyada bolgayay Razzaq Sahib

Can always rely on former players views if you're ever in need of a laugh!

There was a time when he showed a lot of promise (Shehzad!) but thora ziyada bolgayay Razzaq Sahib

But when did he actually perform? Seriously? He made his debut in 2009 yes 2009 ! So for 10 years he hasnt been able to bat at a decent SR. Whats more telling is he started in both the world T20 in 2009 and in the CT17 but was dropped and right after our batting clicked.

He is leauges below average INT batsmen and here Razzaq is comparing him to SRT, one of the greatest ever!

I mean like ...:misbah3

Keep these two as far away from Pak cricket administration as possible. They will ruin the team.

Latif saying that fielding is not so important in T20s? Seriously? How can someone who has played international cricket make such an error of judgement? It's shocking to say the least.

Trying to decipher this statement.

I am trying to find the talent...

searching-gif-16.gif

Wow just wow, i dont know which is the worse comment

Shezad shouldve left sehwag and sachin behind or that fielding isnt important in t20s

Goes to prove a little education does come in handy

Idk much about shehzad but razzaq isn't just comparing with sachin and sehwag but saying could have left them behind. IMO till today i used to think razzaq was good cricketing mind.

And what is remarkable is that PTV pay these guys to give such 'expert' opinions.

Move over Atherton and Hussain, Razzaq and Rash are here.

Nobody takes them seriously. Just check the reaction of all the posters. Shehzad is not comparable to Gambhir, let alone Sehwag and Tendulkar.

I have watched few times the show and Razzaq expert opinions are always laughable. This show has good reputation but Razzaq always moans and talks about " yaa after 2007 team went down hill" ...everytime he 'll say the samething.:yk

Abdul Razzaq:

"Ahmed Shehzad doesn't play according to his talent"

Rashid Latif:

"The only player who can play modern day cricket in Pakistan is Kamran Akmal"

"He has proven himself in all domestic formats and is the only player who can perform according to modern standards"

"We could have tried him as an opener, we are instead trying many different openers, bringing back Hafeez, trying Farhan. For T20s we should have tried Kamran"

(Where to hide Kami in the field)" In T20s, fielding is not so important like in ODIs. You can hide players in the field like Mohammad Irfan etc."

"Kamran Akmal is the best player Pakistan has for modern day cricket"

LOL, one format where a fielding effort or a few could cost you a close game, fielders suddenly don't matter HaHaHa

Latif was always a bit crazy but this is insane and it is not even Akmal is a world class batsman any longer (he was that for a very short period till his butter fingered performances ruined his batting as well), the minute he comes up against a good attack, he fails big time!

You would think that someone who played 250+ ODIs and decent amount of Test matches over 15 yrs would know a thing or two about common sense. Surely he would have gotten feedback after the 1st time he made this comment ?

But Iam not complaining at all ... this is just pure Gold and a legendary thread in the making :)))

Before opening the thread I was hoping it would be an old one.

I have fond memories of the great innings by Razak against SA. But this is thoroughly embarrassing.

Mazak ki bi koi had hoti hai.

An absolute goldmine of horrible opinions.

* Ahmed Shahzad and Umar Akmal are talented
* Shahzad could have left Sehwag/Tendulkar behind
* Vouching for Kamran Akmal
* Fielding isn't necessary in T20s

Were they trying to one-up each other?

Before opening the thread I was hoping it would be an old one.

I have fond memories of the great innings by Razak against SA. But this is thoroughly embarrassing.

Mazak ki bi koi had hoti hai.

I was convinced it was an old video. But then I heard Sahibzada Farhan and the Zimbabwe series being discussed then I was like... :O Not again.

Kamran Akmal is a hack who played far too many international games for my liking. I won’t bring upon the point of match fixing as i cant prove that.

On Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal i agree that these two didnt play to their potential. But to compare them to Tendulkar and Sehwag is utter non-sense.

Do you mind shedding some light upon us?

one possibility is that Razzaq probably does not rate Tendulkar and Sehwag that highly and this is his way of saying it .... :91: . Other possibility is that Razzaq holds a grudge against these 2.

I clicked on this thread not because I wanted to have a laugh (that was evident from the title) but to see if there would be anyone on this thread defending this tripe.

To my disappointment even the most hardcore Akmal and Shehzad fans have not turned up while all agree that 'Rash' and 'Razzler' have emphatically lost their minds.

So along with Sarfraz Nawaz, Qadir, Akhtar, Yousuf, Sikandar Bakht, we can now add Razzak and Rashid to the list as well.

The same people laughing at comments like Shehzad and Umar had talent are the same idiots who were their biggest worshippers when they burst on to the scene, Razzaq has merely pointed out their potential and how they did not live up to it. But all I see is desperate people trying to score cheap points in order to push this esteemed idea that they are undisputed experts whilst preaching the gospel truth they always knew and are quick to throw rubbish at one of Pakistan's greatest All Rounders in the modern era, show some god damn respect.

Well not sure how you judge potential. If a player plays for 10 years and hasn't been able to establish himself in the national side, how would you call him a talented player? Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal got lots of chances to prove themselves at the international level and they failed. Everyone here on the forum knows what their flaws are as players. Not sure what Razzak means that they need to play according to their talent. I feel that both the above players played according to their talent and failed. There is nothing over the years which has shown, based on potential, they would have been better than anyone.

Laughable comments. I feel like the majority of Pakistani cricket pundits just speak in the moment, without any thought of what is coming out of their mouths.

Shahzad never had any potential to ever be mentioned in the same sentence as Tendulkar or Sehwag (or Inzi, or Younus or Yousuf, and so on....).

I thought he already did, don't think Tendulkar and sehwag combined have as many selfies as shehzad does.

What have they done to terminate their brain cells and rational thinking?

Absolute joke

Oh Razzaq, you could've left Jacques Kallis behind, but you sank into mediocrity.

They experts never cease to make us laugh. They are as reliable in comedy as Dravid was at the crease.

Popeye (the sailor) would be rolling around his grave.

It's really sad to see these ex-cricketers losing the respect they earned as players by giving statements like these. Simply pathetic. It just shows how ignorant they are of the modern day cricket.

This is the equivalent of Bobby Heenan saying "Jannetty tried to dive through the window to escape" when Shawn Michaels kicked Jannetty and threw him through the barbershop window.

People like Razzaq should not be doing analysis. He was the same person who said rashid and mujeeb could rip India on turning attacks in Afghanistan. Our legends are nothing but a joke and should stay from Television. Could care less what anyone thinks

The same people laughing at comments like Shehzad and Umar had talent are the same idiots who were their biggest worshippers when they burst on to the scene, Razzaq has merely pointed out their potential and how they did not live up to it. But all I see is desperate people trying to score cheap points in order to push this esteemed idea that they are undisputed experts whilst preaching the gospel truth they always knew and are quick to throw rubbish at one of Pakistan's greatest All Rounders in the modern era, show some god damn respect.

Oh bhai woh sab to theak hai:misbah4
But when did Ahmed Shezad perform to his so called talent? Reminder he made his debut in 2009:angelo

Both should never be allowed to hold any position of authority in first class or pcb level.

I guess only people like Razzaq and Latif can talk like this. wonder why we need foreign coaches rather than these *******

He is saying 'could have', not 'have'. Cut him some slack.

You know SRT is one of and for many the GREATEST ODI bat in the world? On what basis Ahmed Shezad could go pass him?

Lets focus on LOI cricket as shezad has played lots of LOI games, what has he achieved since 2009?

You know SRT is one of and for many the GREATEST ODI bat in the world? On what basis Ahmed Shezad could go pass him?

Lets focus on LOI cricket as shezad has played lots of LOI games, what has he achieved since 2009?

Anybody can go past SRT. Records are meant Brocken and all legends get surpassed eventually.

Shehzad has not done anything special in any cricketing format but he was at one time regarded as potential great by Pakistani experts. Quite natural to expect him to surpass the modern LO benchmark which is set by Sachin.

Well we already have another 'senior' batsman who has surpassed Bradman and Sobers, so Shezad has a good role model to follow.. surpassing Kohli and Tendulkar should be no big deal.

Shehzad was always a very limited player not suited to modern cricket from day one. And I called it out from the very first month. It baffles me how experienced cricketers never came to that conclusion. Shehzad had a very poor game and even poorer understanding of it and it was evident in the very first australia series he played in UAE.

I will admit that for Umar Akmal I thought that he could make a solid and successful career for himself. Certainly no tendulkar lol but in ODIs a 40+ average with a 90 SR kind of player. So in that respect I was wrong

But I still maintain that cricketing skills wise Akmal was far ahead of Shehzad

Anybody can go past SRT. Records are meant Brocken and all legends get surpassed eventually.

Shehzad has not done anything special in any cricketing format but he was at one time regarded as potential great by Pakistani experts. Quite natural to expect him to surpass the modern LO benchmark which is set by Sachin.

No. Not every body can go past the SRT. You need to have high potential.
We know Pakistani experts regarded him as a potential great and that is what is being challenged here. No point going circular about it.
Did you ever regard him as a potential great? Or do you think its absurd to believe that from the talent he displayed he could have left Sachin behind?

Nope players like Shehzad, Akmal, Etc have as much chance of going past Tendulkar as any non cricketer like you and me has..

To go past Tendulkar you need to have immense talent and work ethic which very few players have then out of those few players other factors foment into play..
99% of the players can’t go past Tendulkar because they lack the basic requirement.

Eventually Tendulkar’s record might be broken but it will be broken by a player of immense talent and hard worker.. After 5-6 years in international cricket one can guess which player might have that potential, these two blokes certainly don’t have that potential it was obvious 5 years ago.

Rashid Latif comes across as an idiot.. He fell for sehwags troll once and just raged out like a cry baby that too on video.. cringeworthy guy.

Razzaq was a great player but seem to be somewhat delusionaled.

No. Not every body can go past the SRT. You need to have high potential.
We know Pakistani experts regarded him as a potential great and that is what is being challenged here. No point going circular about it.
Did you ever regard him as a potential great? Or do you think its absurd to believe that from the talent he displayed he could have left Sachin behind?

I don't rate any batsmen I have seen from Pakistan in my cricket watching career apart from Babar. Who I think will have good ODI career.

Nope players like Shehzad, Akmal, Etc have as much chance of going past Tendulkar as any non cricketer like you and me has..

To go past Tendulkar you need to have immense talent and work ethic which very few players have then out of those few players other factors foment into play..
99% of the players can’t go past Tendulkar because they lack the basic requirement.

Eventually Tendulkar’s record might be broken but it will be broken by a player of immense talent and hard worker.. After 5-6 years in international cricket one can guess which player might have that potential, these two blokes certainly don’t have that potential it was obvious 5 years ago.

You missed my point. I said records are temporary. And some Pakistani experts believed that these two had potential to break them. I didn't say I agree with them.

Shehzad and U Akmal will feel ashamed by these comments.
But i agree about one part of comment of Rashid.K Akmal is much better opener than Hafeez.He should have been tried as a opener in LOI.I think Kamran has practiced enough to be a so so groundfielder if not the best.

Oh bhai woh sab to theak hai:misbah4
But when did Ahmed Shezad perform to his so called talent? Reminder he made his debut in 2009:angelo

None of them have I accept that but there was a time when all of you jumped on the hype train and are now berating Razzaq for suggesting the two had 'potential'

No one would berate him if he said they had potential.

He is saying they had potential to be GOAT! :danish

It wouldn't be so laughable if he was talking about Shehzad. At least you can successfully argue that UA has some degree of exceptional talent...

No one would berate him if he said they had potential.

He is saying they had potential to be GOAT! :danish

It wouldn't be so laughable if he was talking about Shehzad. At least you can successfully argue that UA has some degree of exceptional talent...

You are right but people have still gone over board with their disrespect @ the Razzler

Razzaq : "He was brilliant, he could have left players like Sehwag and Tendulkar behind, he had such talent at the beginning like we saw"

Dr Noman : "Hainnnnn" and there was a silence :-D

And there i lost you. Potential ATG? His domestic stats are very very average. Which PAK great said he will become ATG?